Skip to main content

Full text of "History of Henry and Fulton counties, Ohio : with illustrations and biographical sketches of some of its prominent men and pioneers"

See other formats


GENEALOGY COL-UECTIOIM 



1/ 



ALLEN COUNTY PUBLIC LIBRARY 



3 1833 00825 2774 



HISTORY 



OF 



HENRY/'FULTON COUNTIES 



OHIO 



WITH ILLUSTRATIONS AND BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES 
OF SOME OF ITS PROMINENT MEN AND PIONEERS 



EDITED BY 



LEWIS CASS ALDRICH 






^- .^<^a 



SYRACUSE, N. Y. 

D. MASON & CO., PUBLISHERS 
1888 



PRESS OF D. MASON & CO. 

63 WEST WATER ST., 

SYRACUSE, N. Y. 



309ri5 



INTRODUCTION 



HISTORY is a statement of fact, clearly and concisely written, without in- 
ferences or personal opinions. One of the most satisfactory features of 
such a work, both to the writer and to the reader, is accuracy of statements 
and dates of occurring events. In this the historian always largely depends 
and relies upon the official records of the county — a part of the subject 
treated ; and the absence of such records places him in the somewhat em- 
barrassing position of being compelled to omit certain important facts, or else 
to say that they occurred at " about " such a time. 

In the preparation of this volume, and in the department relating to each 
of the counties, the writer was at once confronted with the fact that he must 
proceed without early official records. Twice in the history of Henry county 
has its court-house been destroyed by fire, and, upon the occasion of the first 
of these events its records, almost entire, were consumed. Likewise the court- 
house at Ottokee, the seat of justice of Fulton county for some years, was 
burned, and with it were destroyed all records. But, notwithstanding these 
unfortunate conditions, the compiler has been able to furnish a reasonably ac- 
curate statement of history by virtue of the kind and ever- ready assistance of 
men whose word and memory are almost equal to any record. It is, therefore, 
the province and purpose of these introductory pages to acknowledge and 
make manifest the obligations of the editor and the publishers of this volume 
to those who have so generously contributed in every way to make the work 
not only a success, but possible of accomplishment. 

Among the early chapters, those relating to the Indian occupation of this 
region, will be found the contribution of Colonel Howard, a resident of Wina- 
meg, but who also maintains a domicile at Wauseon. Then, in the same de- 
partment — the general history, will be found chapters from the pen of Judge 
Haag, who is acknowledged to be by far the most versatile writer of Ilcnry 



Introduction. 



county. To his willing labor, also, are we indebted for the Bench and Bar, the 
Press, and several township chapters. To the judge's son, Jackson D. Haag, 
are due the thanks of the editor for the history of the several townships, Ridge- 
ville, Freedom and Washington, of Henry county. The name of James E. 
Scofield heads two chapters relating, respectively, to the townships Flat Rock 
and Pleasant. In the military histor\' of this county we here acknowledge the 
services of Captain C. E. Reynolds, he having contributed important material 
for the same relating to the Sixty- eighth Regiment; and, in the same chapter, 
the muster roll of that regiment is furnished through the courtesy of Elmer A. 
Palmer, esq., now of the adjutant-general's office at Columbus. The geolog- 
ical chapter, and that of Napoleon township as well, are written by Dr. Hunter. 

For the chapters which comprise the history of Fulton county acknowl- 
edgments are made to the following persons : To Hon. Oliver B. Verity, for 
the chapters on Land Titles, Amboy, Chesterfield, Clinton, Dover, Franklin, 
Fulton, German, Gorham, Pike, Royalton and York townships; to L. M. 
Murphy, esq., for the chapters on the Bench and Bar, the village of Wauseon 
and Swan Creek township ; to Hon. Moses R. Brailey (since deceased), for the 
military history ; to Josiah H. Bennett, M. D., for the medical sketches; to 
Thoipas Mikesell, for a valuable meteorological record ; to Hon. John C. 
Rorick, for the recollections of pioneer life. 

And finally, to the people at large of both counties, who, by their generous 
support, have enabled the publishers to produce this Memorial History; to 
each and every one who has by word or act contributed to the work of the 
historian, and lightened the burden of his duty, are due sincere thanks from 
him and from the publishers. 



CONTENTS 



CHAPTER L 

A BRIEF CHAPTER EXPLANATORY OF THIS VOLUME AND ITS SUB- 
DIVISIONS 17 



CHAPTER n. 

Commencement of the Indian Occupation of the Country East of the Mississippi — Orig- 
inal Occupants — The Lenni Lenapes — The Mengwe —The Allegwi — Ancient Tradi- 
tion — The Conflict — The Lenapes and Mengwe Victorious — Their Occupation of the 
Whole Eastern Country 18 



CHAPTER HI. 

From the Close of the Revolution Down to the Time of the Removal of the Last of the 
Indian Tribes from the Valley — Names and Characteristics of the Tribes of the 
Valley — The Part Taken Ijy Them in the Wars — Their Final Removal — Incidents. . 



CHAPTER IV. 

HISTORY OF THE SOIL AND JURISDICTION. 

Province of Louisiana — French Claim — British Claim — Ce.ssion of France to England 

— Cession by England to the Colonies — Cesssion by the States to the United States 

— Extinguishment of Indian Titles — Organization as to Territory — Admission as a 
State — Organization of Counties — Township Organization 32 



Contents. 



CHAPTER V. 

HISTORY OF THE ADVENTURES, INVASION, IMMIGRATION AND SETTLE- 
MENT BY THE WHITES 31 



CHAPTER VI. 

Early Settlers of the Maumee Valley Recalled — The Names of Many of Them, and Some 

Incidents Concernino- Them . . 43 



CHAPTER Vn. 

Erection of Henry County — The Act Creating- It — Other Counties Erected at the Same 
Time — Original Boundaries — Subsequent Reductions to Form Other Counties — 
Geographical Location and Present Boundaries — Events Incident to Its Complete 
Organization — Locating the County^ Seat — Napoleon Designated — First County 
Officers — First Court — The Old Log Court-House — The First Frame Court-House 
— Its Burning — The Records Destroyed — The First Brick Court-House — Its 
Destruction — The Present Court-House and Jail — County Civil List 



CHAPTER VHI. 

Historical Incidents and Localities Connected with Henry County — Simon Girty — A 
Tale of the Earlj' War — Logan's Fidehty Proved — The Black Swamp — Killing of 
Four Indians 55 



CHAPTER IX. 

A GENERAL TOPOGRAPHICAL AND GEOGRAPHICAL VIEW OF HENRY 

COUNTY ; ITS CIVIL DIVISIONS 62 



CHAPTER X. 
GEOLOGY OF HENRY COUNTY 65 



Contents. 9 



CHAPTER XI. 

The Titles to Lands of Ohio — Original Chiiniants- Extiiiguishim'nt of IiKiiaii Titles — 

Surveys in this Region 70 



CHAPTER XH. 
HENRY COUNTY IN TPIE WAR OF 18Gl-6r, 7G 

CHAPTER Xni. 
THE BENCH AND BAR 140 

CHAPTER XIV. 
THE HENRY COUNTY PRESS 156 

CHAPTER XV. 

THE MEDICAL PROFESSION 1G2 

CHAPTER XVI. 

HISTORY OF THE INCORPORATED VILLAGE OF NAPOLEON— THE SEAT 

OF JUSTICE OF HENRY COUNTY 16G 

CHAPTER XVH. 
HISTORY OF BARTLOW TOWNSHIP 199 

CHAPTER XVHI. 

HISTORY OF DAMASCUS 'toWXSMI P 2o:5 

2 



lo Contents. 

CHAPTER XIX. 

HISTORY OF FLAT ROCK TOWNSHIP 208 

CHAPTER XX. 
HISTORY OF FREEDOM TOWNSHIP 227 

CHAPTER XXI. 
HISTORY OF HARRISON TOWNSHIP 230 

CHAPTER XXII. 

HISTORY OF LIBERTY TOWNSHIP 235 

CHAPTER XXIII. 
HISTORY OF MARION TOWNSHIP 239 

CHAPTER XXIV. 

HISTORY OF MONROE TOWNSHIP 243 

CHAPTER XXV. 

HISTORY OF NAPOLEON TOWNSHIP 248 

CHAPTER XXVI. 
HISTORY OF PLEASANT TOWNSHIP 264 



Contents. 



II 



CHAPTER XXVI 1. 
HISTORY OF RICHFIELD TOWNSHIP 270 

CHAPTER XXVHI. 

HISTORY OF RIDGEVILLE TOWNSHIP 273 

CHAPTER XXIX. 
HISTORY OF WASHINGTON TOWNSHIP 277 

CHAPTER XXX. 

THE ORGANIZATION OF FULTON COUNTY. 

Erection of Fulton County — Act Creating It — Fixing the Seat of Justice — Naming It 
— The First Court-House — First Term of Court Held in Pike Township — The First 
Jail — Propositions to Change the County Seat — Burning of the Court-House at 
Ottokee — New Court-House Erected — Removal of County Seat to Wauseon — The 
New Court-House — The Jail — The Infirmary — List of County Otlicials 285 



CHAPTER XXXI. 

Geographical Location of Fulton County — Boundaries — Position of Townsliips — Streams 

— Topography — Ditching and Draining. 293 



CHAPTER XXXII. 
GEOLOGY OF FULTON COUNTY 296 

CHAPTER XXXIII. 
Showing Titles, Grants and Surveys, Native and Foreign, to the Soil of Fulton County. . . 302 



12 Contents. 



CHAPTER XXXIV. 
METEOROLOGY OF FULTON COUNTY 316 

CHAPTER XXXV. 

Early Settlement North of the Fulton Line — Eecollections of Pioneer Life 327 

CHAPTER XXXVI. 
SOCIETIES OF THE COUNTY 331 

CHAPTER XXXVII. 

Military History of Fulton County — Early Militia Organizations 334 

CHAPTER XXXVIII. 
THE BENCH AND BAR OF FULTON COUNTY 387 

CHAPTER XXXIX. 
THE MEDICAL PROFESSION 403 

CHAPTER XL. 

THE PRESS OF FULTON COUNTY 411 

CHAPTER XLI. 

HISTORY OF THE INCORPORATED VILLAGE OF WAUSEON, THE SEAT OF 

JUSTICE OF FULTON COUNTY : 420 



Contents. 13 

CHAPTER XLII. 
HISTORY OF AMBOY TOWNSHIP 434 

CHAPTICR XLIII. 
HISTORY OF CHESTERFIELD TOWNSHIl^ 444 

CHAPTER XLIV. 
HISTORY OF CLINTON TOWNSHIP 45o 

CHAPTER XLV. 
1 1 ISTORY OF DOVER TOWNSHIP 4G5 

CHAPTER XLVI. 
HISTORY OF FRANKLIN TOWNSHIP 475 

CHAPTER XLVH. 
HISTORY OF FULTON TOWNSHIP . . 4sy 

CHAPTER XLVH I. 
HISTORY OF GERMAN TOWNSHIP 50G 

CHAPTER XLLX. 
HISTORY OF GORHAM TOWNSHIP 516 



14 Contents. 



CHAPTER L. 

HISTORY OF PIKE TOWNSHIP 528 

CHAPTER LI. 
HISTORY OF ROYALTON TOWNSHIP 540 

CHAPTER LH. 
HISTORY OF SWAN CREEK TOWNSHIP 551 

CHAPTER LHI. 
HISTORY OF YORK TOWNSHIP 562 

CHAPTER LIV. 
BIOGRAPHICAL 573 

BRIEF PERSONALS 643 



Contents. 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



Allen, Hon. Charles L 573 

Ayers, David 599 

Barber, Col. E. L 575 

Bassett, Dr. L. A 624 

Briggs, Frank 576 

Brown, Hon. Levi W 610 

Canfield, Heman A 612 

Deyo, Hon. Albert 613 

Ely, Lafayette G 616 

Finney, Dr. S. B 618 

Groschner, Hon. H. C 625 

Haag, Hon. John M 578 

Haag, Samuel C. 586 

Hagar, William D 601 

Hamler, John 590 

Handy, William H 587 

Hollister, D. W., M. D 589 

Hornung, Charles 627 



Howard, Hon. D. W. H 581 

Jordan, Amos H 619 

Kilpatrick, Mrs. Mary 1 628 

Kelley, William C 592 

Miller, Joseph H... 621 

Murbach, Andrew J., M. D 623 

Rorick, Hon. John C 603 

Rorick, Hon. E. H 629 

Robinson, Anthony B 594 

Scott, Hon. Robert K 606 

Scofield, James E 632 

Scofield, J ohn N 596 

Scribner, A. B 633 

Thompson, Abraham B 597 

Trowbridge, Lyman 635 

Tyler, Hon. John H 636 

Vaughan, James C 639 

Verity, Hon. O. B 640 



ILLUSTRATIONS. 



Allen, Hon. Charles L facing 524 

Ayers, David facing 470 

Barber, Col. E. L. facing 338 

Bassett, Dr. L. A facing 492 

Briggs, Frank facing 568 



Brown, Hon. Levi W facing 610 

Canfield, Heman A ...facing 520 

Deyo, Hon. Albert. facing 452 

Ely, Lafayette G facing 484 

Finney, Dr. S. B facing 6i8 



i6 



Contents. 



Haag, Hon. John M facing 152 

Haag, Samuel C facing 586 

Hagar, William D .facing 600 

Hamler, John facing 240 

Handy, William H .facing 396 

Hollister, D. W., M. D facing 404 

Hornung, Charles .facing 266 

Jordan, Amos H. facing 448 

Kilpatrick, Mrs. Mary I facing 628 

Kelley, William C facing 398 

Miller, Joseph H facing 502 



Murbach, Andrew J., M. D. facing 514 

Rorick, Hon. John C facing 424 

Rorick, Hon. E. H facing 526 

Robinson, Anthony B facing 594 

Scott, Hon. Robert R facing 96 

Scofield, James E facing 208 

Scofield, John N facing 274 

Scribner, A. B facing 180 

Thompson, Abraham B. facing 564 

Trowbridge, Lyman facing 172 

Tyler, Hon. John H .facing 262 



HISTORY 



OF 



HENRY AND FULTON COUNTIES, 



CHAPTER I. 
A BRIEF CHAPTER EXPLANATORY OF THIS VOLUME AND ITS SUBDIVISIONS. 

FOR an intelligent and proper narration of the events which it is the pur- 
pose and province of this work to record, it has been found necessary that 
the work should be arranged in three general divisions, or departments, and 
each department again divided into chapters. 

The first department contains all that pertains to the two counties, Henry 
and Fulton, that maybe said to be common to both of them, and will be found 
recorded in the earlier chapters, numbers two, three, four, five and six, bring- 
ing the subject down to the time of the erection or formation of Henry count)', 
in the year 1820. These chapters relate in the main to the Indian occupation 
and history, with the fifth, the early settlers of the Maumee Valley prior to 
and about the time the county was brought into existence. Following these 
chapters will be found the history of Henry, the senior of the two counties. 
Henry county was formed in the year 1820, while its fellow in this \'olumc, 
Fulton, was not given an existence until some thirty years later. 

Again, the departments relating especially to the counties will be found 
subdivided and arranged in two departments each; the first treating of sub- 
jects having a general extent over the county, and not of such character as to 
identify them with any particular township or locality, and of themselves form 
the general history of each county. 
3 



1 8 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

By comparing the chapters in the general history of the counties there will 
be found similar subjects treated in each, but these have been carefully pre- 
pared by different writers, and while the subject matter in the general remarks 
will be found the same, and the same conclusion arrived at, the variable style 
of presenting them will be found interesting and instructive to the reader. 

It will be discovered, too, that each township in each county is written sep- 
arately, some longer and some shorter, according to the importance of each, or 
the volume of history that each is found to possess. 

Generally any county cannot be said to possess any history prior to its 
formation, and a narrative of its events would naturally commence with that 
formation ; but notwithstanding this, the territory now embraced within the 
boundaries of Henry and Fulton counties had a history long before such form- 
ation was made, or even contemplated, and that history embraced the whole 
Maumee Valley, of which valley the county of Henry forms an integral part, 
although but few, if any, of the stirring events of the valley can be said to 
have been enacted within the borders of what now constitutes that county ; 
therefore, it may truthfully be said that the history of Henry and Fulton coun- 
ties is auxiliary to that of the whole Maumee Valley, auxiliary to but not co- 
extensive with it. Nevertheless, in an intelligent narrative of the events of 
this locality the history of the whole valley must be included. 



CHAPTER n. 

Commencement of the Indian Occupation of the Country East of the Mississippi — Original 
Occupants — The Lenni Lenapes — The Mengwi —The Allegwi — Ancient Tradition — The Con- 
flict — The Lenapes and Mengwe Victorious — Their Occupation of the whole Eastern Country. 

WHEN the first European adventurers visited this country they found the 
whole land occupied by a tribe, or rather a nation, of Indians, calling 
themselves Lenni Lenapes, meaning original people. Their possessions reached 
from the Hudson River on the east, throughout the whole country west from 
that, including the larger rivers of Pennsylvania, the Delaware, Susquehanna, 
Allegheny, Ohio, Juniata. Schuylkill, and the streams of Ohio as well, even as 
far south as the Carolinas. Their seat of government was on the Delaware 
River, and from this fact they were known to the whites as the Delawares. 
Their sub tribes, that scattered over this vast domain, were subjects of and 
paid allegiance to the sachems and chiefs at the seat of government, although 
each tribe was known by a different name suited to the locality in which they 
respectively lived. 



General History. 



Among them, and with their old antagonists, the Iroquois, for hundreds of 
years there Hved a tradition, handed down from generation to generation ; but 
it is well enough to remark that the story has not in any regard been enlarged 
upon by younger generations ; it has remained the same, told in the same 
simple manner, although without fixed date, and no names except those of the 
tribes or nations engaged. The story, or tradition, is so pure and natural that 
it seems like a reality, and to call it a tradition seems an unworthy charge and 
a gross perversion of Indian character and Indian nature. 

Sometime during the fourteenth century, as the story goes, there came to 
the west bank of the Mississippi River, each journeying eastward, two nations 
of Indians called respectively the Lenni Lenapes and the Mengwe. Neither 
knew of the journey of the other, nor had they any former acquaintance. Their 
first meeting was upon the river. They found the country bordering on the 
river to be in possession of a numerous fierce and warlike nation of Indians 
calling themselves the AUegwi, who claimed all the territory for hundreds of 
miles around and apparently were possessed of sufficient force to maintain that 
claim. The emigrants sent messengers with presents to the chiefs and sachems 
of the Allegwi, and asked of them permission to cross the river and settle in 
their country. After a council of those in authority the request was refused, 
but permission was given that the Lenapes and Mengwe might cross the river 
and journey to the country far east and beyond the lands claimed by the Al- 
legwi. The embarkation was at once commenced and thousands crossed the 
river, when, either deceived as to the number of the emigrants and fearing them, 
or with malice in their hearts, the Allegwi fell upon them with great force and 
slaughtered many, driving them into the forests and scattering them far and 
wide. After a time each of the journeying nations was gathered and all united 
as a common people, and returning, attacked the Allegwi, beat them in a long 
and terrific battle and drove them from the country to the far south. 

The victorious forces now resumed their journey eastward, but with little 
feelings of friendship, for the Lenapes declared that the brunt of the battle fell 
upon them, and that the Mengwe hung in the rear and fought but little. After 
their journey had ended, these nations never had friendly relations, but lived 
aloof from each other, and finally became engaged in war, which ended in the 
entire subjugation of Lenni Lenape, or Delaware country, by the powerful Five 
Nations, who were, or claimed to be, descended from the Mengwe. 

The Lenni Lenapes, as has been stated, settled in the country of the rivers 
and running streams, while the Mengwe took the country bordering on the 
lakes, in Ohio, Pennsylvania, and New York. The former were far more 
numerous, but were peaceful and content to live at peace ; while the latter, 
although less in number, were quarrelsome and inclined to warfare. They 
were wary and crafty, not satisfied with beating an enemy, but sought to anni- 
hilate all against whom they waged war. This people, from about the middle 



History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 



of the seventeenth century down to the time of the last treaty between the 
whites and the Indians, were the acknowledged rulers of our whole country ; 
and although they were variously known as the Iroquois Confederacy, the Five^ 
and subsequently, the Six Nations, and by other names as well, they were, 
nevertheless, the same people, and inasmuch as they were the conquerors and 
rulers of the country in this region, and carried on their depredations in this 
locality, an extended account of their origin and existence, as well as their 
system of government (for it was a perfect one), will be appropriate in this 
place. And although there are no well authenticated accounts of Indian his- 
tory single to the counties of Fulton and Henry, until many years later, the 
history of the Iroquois Confederacy, or Five Nations, will serve to prepare the 
mind of the reader for such events as are to follow in succeeding chapters, 
bringing the subject down to a time within the memory of man. 

The Iroquois Confederacy. 

It should be stated at the outset that the name Iroquois was never applied 
by the confederates to themselves. It was first used by the French, and its 
meaning is veiled in obscurity. The men of the Five Nations (afterwards the 
Six Nations) called themselves " Hedonosaunee," which means, literally, " They 
form a cabin," describing in this expressive manner the close union that 
existed among them. The Indian name just quoted is more liberally and 
commonly rendered "The people of the long house," which is more fully de- 
scriptive of the confederacy, though not quite so accurate a translation. 

The central and unique characteristic of the Iroquois league was not the 
bare fact of five separate tribes being confederated together, for such unions 
have been frequent among civilized and half-civilized peoples, though little 
known among the savages of America. The feature that distinguished the 
people of the Long House from all other confederacies, and which, at the same 
time bound together all these ferocious warriors as with a living chain, was the 
system of clans extending throughout all the different tribes. 

Although this clan system has been treated of in many works, there are 
doubtless thousands of readers who have often heard of the warlike success and 
outward greatness of the Iroquois Confederacy, but are not acquainted with 
the inner league which was its distinguishing characteristic, and without which 
it would in all probability have met, at an early day, the fate of other similar 
alliances. 

The word clan has been adopted as the most convenient one to designate 
the peculiar artificial families about to be described ; but the Iroquois clan was 
widely different from the Scottish one, all the members of which owed undi- 
vided allegiance to a single chief, for whom they were ready to fight against 
ah the world; yet "clan " is a much better word than " tribe," which is some- 
times used, since that is the designation usually applied to a single Indian 
nation. 



General History. 21 



The people of the Iroquois Confederacy were divided into eight clans, the 
names of which were as follows : Wolf, Bear, Beaver, Turtle, Deer, Snipe, 
Heron, and Hawk. Accounts differ, some declaring that every clan extended 
through all the tribes, and others that only the Wolf, Bear, and Turtle clans 
did so, the rest being restricted to a lesser number of tribes. It is certain, 
however, that each tribe — Mohawks, Oneidas, Onondagas, Cayugas or Sen- 
ecas — contained parts of the three clans named, and of several of the others. 

Each clan formed a large artificial family, modeled on the natural family. 
All the members, no matter how widely separated among the tribes, were con- 
sidered as brothers and sisters to each other, and were forbidden to intermarry. 
This prohibition was strictly enforced by public opinion. 

The nations of Indians that formed this confederacy were the Onondagas, 
Mohawks, Oneidas, Cayugas, and Senecas. All the clans being taught from 
earliest infancy that they belonged to the same family, a bond of the strongest 
kind was created throughout the confederacy. The Oneida, of the Wolf clan, 
had no sooner appeared among the Cayugas than they claimed him as their 
special guest, and admitted him to their most confidential intimacy. The Sen- 
ecas, of the Turtle clan, might wander to the country of the Mohawks, at the 
farthest extremity of the Long House, and he had a claim upon his brother 
Turtle, which they would not dream of repudiating. If, at any time, there 
appeared a tendency toward conflict between the different tribes, it was in- 
stantly checked by the thought that, if persisted in, the hand of the Heron 
must be lifted against his brother Heron, the hatchet of the Bear might be 
buried in the brain of his kinsman Bear, and so potent was the feeling, that for 
at least two hundred years, and until the power of the league was broken by 
overwhelming outside force, there was no serious dissension between the tribes 
of the Iroquois. 

Such then was the bond that bound together this nation in common broth- 
erhood, and made them a most powerful league, sufficiently strong to prevail 
against every enemy, nor were they slow in availing themselves of their 
might. Additions to their strength were made from various sources, notice- 
ably in the accession of the Tuscaroras, by which the Five Nations became the 
Six Nations ; but this last acquisition was made after the grand conquest of the 
Iroquois over the whole country. 

First, they overthrew the Kahquahs and the Fries, and then went forth 
" conquering and to conquer." This was probably the day of their greatest 
glory. Having supplied themselves with the arms of the white man they 
smote with direst vengeance whomsoever of their own race as were so unfor- 
tunate as to provoke their wrath. 

On the Susquehannas, the Delaware, the Ohio, the Allegheny, even to the 
Mississippi in the west and the Potomac and Savannah in the south, the Iro- 
quois bore their conquering arms, filling alike with terror the dwellers on the 



History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 



plains of Illinois, and in the glades of the Carolinas. They strode over the 
bones of the slaughtered Kahquahs to new conquests on the great lakes beyond, 
even to the foaming cascades of Michillimacinac, and to the shores of the 
mighty Superior. They inflicted such terrible defeat upon the Hurons, despite 
the alliance of the latter with the French,, that many of the conquered nation 
sought safety on the frozen borders of Hudson's Bay. The peaceful, though 
numerous Lenni Lenapes, fell an easy prey to their united attack, and the land 
of the Delawares passed into the hands of the confederates. In short they 
triumphed everywhere and stayed only before the steady approach of the 
sturdy white- faced pioneer, and even he was, for a time, held at bay by these 
fierce confederates. 

These, then, were they, who, by force of arms, conquered, subjugated and 
ruled the whole Indian country. In this region their depredations were less 
prominent, nevertheless, they were its rulers and owners from an Indian point 
of view. The tribes, who, at a later day occupied this country, are understood 
to have been descendants of the earlier owners, yet no authentic record of 
their relationship can be traced. In the more stirring times of war and civili- 
zation, and the advance of settlement, something greater seems to have 
absorbed the mind of the Indian and the settler, and the connecting links of 
tribal relationship and descent for a time has been found broken. Yet, the 
Indians were here in force and made an Indian history for this region, as will 
fully appear in the succeeding chapters. 



CHAPTER III.i 



From the Close of the Revokition Down to the Time of the Removal of the Last of the Li- 
dian Tribes from the Valley — Names and Characteristics of the Tribes of the Valley — The 
Part Taken by Them in the Wars — Their Final Removal — Incidents. 

AT the close of the Revolutionary War of the American colonies with Great 
Britain, in 1784, and for centuries before that time, so tradition has it, the 
Indian tribes inhabited the valley of the Maumee (Me-aw-mee) and its tribu- 
taries, the St. Mary's on the south, the St. Joseph on the north, the Au Glaize 
on the south, the Tiffin River, or " Bean Creek," on the north, and the Turkey 
Foot (both north and south), and the smaller streams, such as Beaver Creek, 
joining the Maumee near Grand Rapids ; the Tone-tog-a-nee, near the old In- 
dian mission, and the Portage near its mouth. 

At the time of the first American settlement in 1796, and until the last 

1 By Hon. D. W. H. Howard. 



General History. 23 



remnant was removed in 1838, there were a few scattering families gathered 
up and removed in 1842 or '43. The Indian occupants were the Ot-ta-was, of 
the valley proper, and the hunting grounds on the Au Glaize; the Pot-ta-wavv- 
to-mies of the St. Joseph and the upper portions of the Tiffin River, and the 
hunting grounds on the Raisin, River Ruch, and along the eastern shore of 
Lake Michigan (now in the State of Michigan). These latter people were, 
however, more or less intermarried with their neighbors, the Ot-ta-was on the 
south, and the O-gib-e-was on the north, whose lands and hunting grounds 
they adjoined. The Mi-am-ies on the upper Wabash and tiie Eel Rivers, with 
the smaller " bands " of We-aws and Pi-an-ki-shaws, and the lower St. Mary's 
River ; the Wy-an-dotts on the Sanduskies, the Tousaint and their branches ; 
the Shaw-won-no (or Shawnees) on the Hog Creek and upper " Blanchard's 
Fork " of the Au Glaize. 

These various tribes, then quite numerous and powerful, were united into 
the confederation of the Five Nations, or tribes (each speaking a different dia- 
lect, but must not be understood as being in any manner connected with the 
original Five Nations, or Iroquois, mentioned in Chapter I), for the purpose of 
mutual protection and defense against the advance of the American settlements 
north of the Ohio River; they having never signed the treaty or given their 
consent to the treaty made between the British and the American govern- 
ments after the close of the Revolutionary War, but considering themselves the 
sole owners of this vast extent of terrritory, and beautiful and profitable hunt- 
ing country, were determined to defend it until the last, and they were en- 
couraged in this by the emissaries of the defeated British, who furnished them 
with arms, ammunition and clothing, and gave them sustenance and support in 
every way possible. The Indians availed themselves of the military experience 
and teaching of the British officers, and mainly through this were they enabled 
to defeat General Harmer with a large force near Fort Wayne on the St. Mary's 
in 1 79 1, and subsequently General St. Clair with 1,600 men, near Greenville, 
in the summer of 1792. Added to the native strategy of the Indians, the ex- 
perience and military education of the British officers who were their daily 
associates, and constantly hovering on the frontier, and renewing from time to 
time their pledges to sustain them in any event, it is not strange that the poor 
deluded savages closed their ears to the overtures made by Washington and the 
American government, and gave a willing assent to the British propositions. 
This was their home; their fathers slept in graves upon the banks of these 
beautiful streams ; their council fires had burned for many years upon the 
banks of her rivers and had never gone out ; the deer and elk had been 
chased through every tangled break, and open forest and prairie ; the great 
black bear (so numerous then) had been tracked to his winter den, in the hol- 
low of the giant oak, sycamore or poplar ; the cunning beaver and the rich fur- 
covered otter and martin had been out-witted by the wily hunter and trapped 



24 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

in the fastness of his secluded home ; the red fox and the beautiful silver-gray 
fox had furnished the Indian maiden with the rich ornaments she so highly- 
prized, and the valuable wampum to the Indian hunter in barter and exchange 
with the French and British fur traders. Food was abundant in these beautiful 
forests ; the wild turkey hid its nest from the bear and wolf and the wily fox 
(their natural enemy), and came forth with her brood to fill the woods with her 
twitter and call, and flocks of hundreds could be seen any day in a half hour's 
walk. The Indian women manufactured an abundance of the delicious maple 
sugar from the hard maple with which the country abounded. Fish in endless 
numbers and variety abounded in all the streams, and could be taken with net 
or spear at all seasons of the year, and nets were made from the bark of the 
nettle, the linn, or the leathervvood, and the spear from the wood of the supple 
hickory or white ash, hardened by heating the spear points in the fire. The 
rich "bottom lands" along the streams furnished a soil unequaled in fertility 
and productiveness upon which were grown thousands of bushels annually of 
that most valuable product, the Indian corn, maize, beans, squashes, and pump- 
kins were also grown extensively, and dried in the sun or over a slow fire, and 
preserved for future winter use. Much of the corn was also preserved in its 
natural green state in this way. 

When the impartial historian reviews the beauties and attractions of this 
country, the ease with which the Indian could subsist, the sport of hunting and 
fishing, of paddling his frail bark canoe across lakes and on the streams, run- 
ning the rapids of the swift rivers upon whose banks their villages were usu- 
ally situated, where their children, in the limpid waters, sported like dolphins 
in the long summer days, and the hunter slaked his thirst at the bubbling spring 
of pure, cold water that could be found bursting from the banks, and the thou- 
sand attractions natural to the civilized or savage man, who would not con- 
tend for such a country ? Would not civilized and cultured man ? Surely 
the North American Indian might be pardoned, if not exonorated for fight- 
ing for his home, his council fires and the graves of his fathers, that had not 
been already desecrated by the foot of the stranger. 

Such was the situation of the country and this the rich inheritance of these 
savage tribes, when the American government determined to make one more 
grand effort to subdue the Indians and compel the English government to 
fulfill its treaty obligations and evacuate the country, which it still held by gar- 
rison at the outposts of Mackinac, Detroit, St. Joseph and Fort Miami, with 
other points of less importance, as protection for its trading posts throughout 
the entire frontier. In 1792, after the terrible slaughter and defeat of General 
St. Clair's army, Washington prevailed upon Gen. Anthony Wayne, who had 
retired upon his farm in Pennsylvania at the close of the Revolutionary war, 
to once more take the field and strike a blow that would at once subdue the 
hostile savages and teach the emissaries of Great Britain that they too must re- 



General History. 25 



spect the American arms. Wayne, after spending nearly two years mustering 
an army, making such preparations as to secure him against a possible defeat, 
took the field (or forest rather), and leaving the post at Greenville (now in 
Darke county. O.). in July, and although harassed somewhat on the march 
by the Indians, struck the Maumee River at the mouth of the Au Giaize, 
August 8, 1794. where he hastily constructed Ft. Defiance, and leaving the 
fort with a small garrison on the i6th of August, he proceeded down the left 
bank of the Maumee, pursuing the fleeing savages who had made, with the ad- 
vice of the British general, great preparation at Presque Isle, or Fallen Tim- 
ber, to resist Wayne's further advance. Wayne, previous to leaving Ft Defi- 
ance in pursuit of the Indians, had sent a flag of truce requesting an interview 
(agreeably to Washington's desire), offering peace propositions of great advan- 
tage to the Indians; but they were disregarded and the bearer of the flag taken 
prisoner. There was, however, a division of opinion among the leading chiefs 
and warriors as to the proposition of Wayne for a council of peace. Many of 
the more sagacious chiefs saw that their defeat was only a question of time, as 
they could not always successfully contend against so powerful a government 
as that of the United States, and strongly urged a peaceful settlement of the 
long struggle at a council held by the confederated chiefs, under the "Council 
Elm" at the Grand Rapids of the Maumee, only two nights previous to the 
great battle of the Fallen Timbers. The principal advocates of peace in this 
council were the great chief. Little Turtle (Mis-she-kence) of the Miamis, and 
Kine-jo-i-no, a young chief of the Ottawas, but the eloquence of the wily Pot- 
tawatamie chief, Turkey Foot (Mis-sis-sa-in-zit) , and the clamor of the 
braves for war prevailed, and the council closed its deliberations at the dawn 
of day and declared for war. On the 20th of August, 1794, was fought the 
great battle of the Fallen Timbers, which proved so disastrous to the con- 
federated savages and gave a prophetic warning to the English emissaries of 
their future, if they persisted longer in holding their posts within American 
territory. The rout of the Indians at this battle was complete and the 
slaughter great, which taught them that Washington had at last found a gen- 
eral (Che-no-tin, meaning hurricane) that could cope with their most artful 
and sagacious warriors. This also broke the Indian superstition that the Mani- 
too (Great Spirit) would assure their success in any event and the councils of 
the more sensible and far-seeing chiefs were thereafter to prevail ; consequently, 
a treaty of peace was held by Wayne at Greenville with these savages, in 
1795, where the greater portion of the northwest was ceded to the United 
States, thus ending a long and bloody conflict. 

The various tribes were ruled over and governed by a chief and " head 
men," who inherited (not invariably however) their high positions from gene- 
ration to generation, and were, man)' of them, possessed of much native talent 
and statesmanship. They were far-seeing, and well aware of the power and 
4 



26 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

numerical strength of the white man ; and while welcoming him as a stranger, 
and a " trader," they nevertheless feared him as a neighbor and intruder, and 
knew full well that at no distant day, they would be compelled to contend, by 
the force of arms, for their hereditary birthright, their native home, and all that 
was held dear to the savage breast; the beautiful lakes, rivers and forests, sup- 
plied with an abundance of food, furnished by the kindness and generosity of 
the Great Man-i-too (the great spirit) as a home for his red children forever. 

At the time of the commencement of the white settlements proper in the 
Maumee Valley, in 1808 or 18 10, the principal Indian villages were located as 
follows, and were presided over by the following named chiefs: Near the 
mouth of the Maumee was located the Ottawa village of Mis-sis-sa-nog (Tur- 
key Town), whose principal chief was Scho-no. It had a population, in 18 10, 
of about six hundred inhabitants. Their people had fine cornfields and gar- 
dens and fine grazing country on the margin of the bay ; and also beautiful 
forests of timber surrounding them on all sides, which was bountifully supplied 
with wild game in great variety. They still held a large tract of land in their 
own right. The next village of importance was twenty miles up the river, 
called Me-nish-sha-nong (or Island Town), located mainly on a large island, 
(called Indian Island) upon which a French trader had many years previously 
planted an orchard that furnished a never-failing crop of apples. It had also 
large quantities of corn and beans, and also squashes and pumpkin were annu- 
ally produced. They also owned a large tract of rich land on the left bank of 
the river, extending some twelve miles above ; quite a village was also located 
on the main land and the population (of both villages) at this time was not far 
from one thousand souls. This village was governed by two chiefs, 0-to-saw 
and Na-wash, and in later years, previous to their removal west, by Ot-to-kee 
and Wau-se-on. 

A Presbyterian mission was established in 1820 or 1821, by Rev. Isaac 
Von Tassel, and conducted as a school for the young Indians, until their final 
removal to their new homes, west of the Missouri River, in 1838. A portion 
of the old Mission House (a frame building) is still standing, but in a some- 
what dilapidated condition, a landmark of a former age, and upon whose tab- 
lets is written the melancholy history of the vain efforts made by good and 
benevolent people, in behalf of the poor and benighted savage. Surrounded, 
.as he was at this time, from 1820 to 1838, and associated more or less with 
•unprincipled and whisky-selling white men, the education and Christian teach- 
ings received at the mission had a tendency (if anything) to demoralize, rather 
than to elevate him ; and coming in contact with this worthless appendage of 
civilization, who delighted in demoralizing, and then robbing the unsuspecting 
Indian, he soon became a drunken vagabond. 

The more important, however, of the villages of the valley proper, was the 
Ottawa village of Ap-a-to-wau-jo-win, or Half-way, which was located at the 



General History. 



27 



liead of the "Grand Rapids," and near the noted Council Ehii. Here, too, 
was located the band of Ticn-jo- i-no, the noted peace-chief, and colleague of 
Little Turtle in the great council held previous to the battle of Fallen Timbers. 
It had a population of from 600 to 800 in 1820, but had diminished by dis- 
ease and debaucliery, incident to intoxication, to about iialf that number in 
183S, the time of their final removal west. 

They had fine corn-fields and gardens, as had all the other villages on the 
rich river fiats. 

The villages of Shaw-wun no and Xac-i-che-wii, at the iikhhIi of the Au 
Glaize, where now stands the flourishing \illage of Defiance, and where \Va\'ne 
constructed Fort Defiance in 1794, named from its strong position, at the 
junction of the Au Glaize with the Maumee, was the most wealthy of an\' (^f 
the Indian settlements. The people owned large farms and droves of man\' 
horses. 

At the time of General Wayne's march down the river, in their hasty flight 
before his victorious army, the Indians abandoned nearly everything but their 
ponies, which aided them materialK- in their retreat. Wayne destroyed all the 
corn and gardens, and burned their villages, situate on both sides of the river- 

On the Blanchard's F^ork of the Au Glaize, where the village of Ottawa is 
now located, was the Indian settlement of Oc-que-nox-ie, a blood-thirsty and 
savage warrior, who was never (after the treaties of peace) the friend of the 
white man, and who would, on most all occasions, repeat the bloody tales of 
the warpath. He was always feared and hated b\' all whites and peaceably 
inclined Indians. 

Shar-low's Town, on the Au Glaize, some distance above its mouth, was 
of less importance than man\' others, although goxerned by a \ery wise chief, 
and a great friend of the white settlers. 

The principal villages of the numerous and poweiful tribes of the Miamis 
were at the head of the Maumee, where is now the city of Fort Wayne, and on 
the banks of the beautiful Wabash, at Peru, Logansport (mouth of the Eel 
River), and at Wabash Town, in the State of Indiana. The principal chiefs 
were Richardville (Rusheville) and La F'ontaine, with a number f f chiefs of 
much less influence with their people. 

The beautiful bottom-lands of the Wabash furnished a fertile soil for their 
entire cornfields, and the sloping and rolling highlands, covered with hard 
maple, gave abundant sugar orchards for the supply of the delicious maple 
sugar. 

The Wyandott settlements were on the Sandusky River and the Ti-moch- 
tee Creek, under the control of the chiefs of the " Wauker family." The 
Shawnees, or Shaw- wun-no, emigrants from the powerful nations of the 
Carolinas, owned a small reservation on the upper branches of the Au Glaize, 
and the principal villages were on and near the site of the present little city of 



28 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

Wa-pa-kon-net-ta, in Allen county, O. The educated brothers, William and 
Joseph Parks, were the controlling spirits of this tribe of the Shawnee?. 

The principal Indian village within the present limits of Fulton county, was 
that of the Pottawatomie chief, Winameg, located on the banks of Keeg (now 
Bad) Creek, and the high ridge crossing the creek near the post-office of Win- 
ameg (in Pike township), named for the old chief by his early and hfelong 
friend, D. W. H. Howard, whose residence is immediately upon the site of the 
old village and near where his father, Edward Howard, built in the early years 
of the thirtits a trading house, in which was opened a lucrative trade with the 
remnant of this (then) scattered and wandering people, the remnant of a once 
powerful nation, now principalh" inhabiting a small reservation west of the 
Missouri. Smaller settlements were located on Bean Creek and the upper 
branches of the St. Joseph, but were of a more temporary character. At the 
time of the writer's first visit to the village of Winameg, in the spring of 1827 
or 1828, the aged chief, Winameg, whose head was whitened by the snows of 
a hundred winters, yet who was still active in mind and body, ruled the tribe and 
directed its affairs, aided by his son (Wi-na-meg) and other chiefs of less influ- 
ence. Much of the earlier history and tradition of these people was learned 
by the writer some years later from the great Pottawatomie chief, " Billy 
Colwell," an Englishman by birth and without a drop of Indian blood in his 
veins, who was taken prisoner when a child in one of the expeditions from 
the Mohawk by the Iroquois, from Canada, and who was afterwards sold to 
the Pottawatomies of the peninsula of Michigan and adopted by them and 
eventually made their Great Chief By his superior intelligence and tact he 
became the " Head Chief" of all the Pottawatomies and Ogibewas. Within 
the boundaries of the village of Winameg, or more properly Neshe naw-ba, 
or Due- naw-ba (the Twin-Boj's). and at a still earlier day, named De-mutre, 
" the Beaver," for the many ponds in the immediate vicinity, were numer- 
ously inhabited b\' this sagacious little animal, was located the " Mounds," 
which are still plainly seen, although the plow has done much to reduce 
their height in the yielding, sandy soil ; tradition has it, as related to the 
writer by " Billy Colwell," many years previous to their removal west, that 
a great battle was fought between the Pottawatomies (the pioneers of 
the land) and a powerful tribe of invaders from beyond the Mississippi. 
Great slaughter was the result of the battle, and the slain of both armies were 
interred in these mounds by the Pottawatomies, who defeated the invaders and 
still held the place. Billy Colwell died in 1841, and lies buried on a high bluff 
overlooking the muddy waters of the Missouri, near the city of Council Bluffs, 
Iowa. Chief Colwell led the Pottawatomie warriors against General Harrison, 
at the battles of Tippecanoe and the Thames, and was also at the siege of Ft. 
Meigs in July, 1813. 

There were also several small settlements of the Ottawas on the high pop- 



General History 



lar sugar ridges along the banks of the Maumee within the Hmits of Ilcnry 
count}'. A noted and favorite camping place, once of much liistoric interest, 
was " Girtx's Point," situate above Napoleon on the left bank of the Maumee, 
where was held the headquarters of the noted renegade white man, Simon 
Girty. This was a beautiful high bottom land, covered with a forest of large 
oaks, white and blue ash, sugar maple, walnut, and several other varieties of 
timber, and almost entirely unencumbered with small timber or underbrush. 
The surroundings were open and clear as a park that had been through the hands 
of a skilled landscape architect. These trees formed a dense shade, and made 
a place of frequent resort for the Indians during the heated summer months. 
Deer and other wild game abounded and subsistence was easily obtained. The 
grass along the margin of the stream and on the low banks furnished an ;ii)und- 
ance of sweet food for the herds of ponies that the Indians possessed at this 
time. The history of the blood-thirsty Simon Girty, this renegade white man, 
who deserted his own people and joined the savages, and who urged them to 
acts of inhuman barbarity to avenge an imaginary wrong, will be found written 
elsewhere in this work. It is, moreover, written in the blood of innocent 
women and chikiren. In his cruel treatment of Colonel Crawford while burn- 
ing at the stake, and other acts of like character of less note, need not be 
repeated in these pages; but for preserving historic truths, they should never 
have been put upon the historic page. 

The small reservations retained by these tribes, at the treat)' of Greenville, 
as their home, were finally ceded to the United States, and a portion of the 
Indians removed to their homes and hunting grounds west of the Mississippi, 
during the summer of 1832. The remainder, with a few small bands and fam- 
ilies (Chief Winameg and a few others excepted), were taken to their lands 
west in 1838, the writer aiding the government and accompanying them on the 
journey. B. F, Hollister, of Ft. Meigs, was the agent and conductor for the 
removal of those in 1832, both from the immediate valley of the river and, also, 
for the Shaw- wan-noes (or Shawnees), of Wa-pa-kon-ne-to They were moved 
overland in wagons and on horseback, using their own pt)nics on the trip. 
Those removed in 1838 were by the Hon. Robt. A. Forsyth, of Maumee City, 
by contract with the government. The greater number, with their goods, were 
taken to Cleveland by the lake steamer, " Comodore O. H. Perry," commanded 
by the veteran Captain David Wilkinson, and from Cleveland b>' the Ohio 
Canal to Portsmouth ; thence down the Ohio and up the river Mississippi and 
Missouri to the mouth of the Kansas River, where now stands the prosperous 
and thriving Kansas City ; thence to the Indian Territory. Many of the young 
men rode their ponies across the country, crossing the Mississippi at Burlington. 
Thus the original possessors of this beautiful and fertile country passed on their 
long journey " toward the setting sun," and now where the dark and shaded 
forests, the tangled thicket and tnirey swamp, silently proclaimed a wilderness ; 



History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 



where, either in the darkness of the night or in the broad hght of the sun, could 
be heard the dismal howl of the wolf or the Indian's savage yell, now waves 
the golden harvest of the husbandman and the sharp whistle of the locomotive 
speeding along the lightning train over the iron track. The cry of the wolf 
and the " whoop " of the Indian is heard no more in the land, and the plow- 
boy whistles gaily, undisturbed as he wends his quiet way to the fields to turn 
the fertile soil. 

Many of the chiefs hereinbefore mentioned, of these tribes, were men pos- 
sessed of native intelligence, not generally known or understood by the histo- 
rian or the general reader; they were men of noble presence and dignified 
bearing; wise and eloquent in counsel, and sagacious and strategetic managers 
on the battle-field. Few men equaled the Miami chiefs, Richardville and V/a- 
se-on, in the persuasive and eloquent language which dropped from their lips 
in debate. The writer well remembers, when but a boy, of being present at 
the treaty, held opposite Fort Meigs, in 1831, with the Ottowas, by the United 
States commissioner. Governor Porter, of Pennsylvania. The governor, in his 
address to the Indian council, portrayed in glowing and eloquent language, 
the beauties of the country beyond the Mississippi, which was to be their new 
home; the beautiful groves of timber, the rolling and undulating prairie land, 
covered with waving grass, and spangled over with flowers of the many-colored 
hues of the rainbow ; herds of buffalo, elk and deer, were quietly resting in 
the cool shades of the leafy forest; wild turkeys and water- fowls by the million, 
fed upon the luxuriant vegetation. This picture was drawn by a master mind, 
and presented to the untutored savage, in the most seductive language of 
which the eminent statesman and diplomat was possessed. After closing his 
eloquent address, and taking his seat, amid a profound silence throughout the 
council, all eyes were turned upon the stoical and dignified countenance of 
Otto-wau kee (Che-ot tire-wan-kee), the great 0-taw-waw chief, who sat with 
his gaze riveted upon the earth, seeming unconscious of the wild throbbing of 
the thousand anxious hearts of the assembled council. Many minutes passed 
in silent suspense, when he rose to his feet, and with that majestic dignity born 
to the North American savage, scarcely equaled by the cultured prince or 
statesman, folded his arms across his breast, his eyes now riveted upon the face 
of the commissioner, and flashing with the inward emotion of his bosom, he 
spoke as follows: "The ears of my young men are open: they have heard 
what the pale-face chief has said: his voice is like the bird, and the land is as 
beautiful as the flowers, among which it builds its nest and feeds its young ; 
my young men compare it to the beautiful land of the spirits of the dead ; the 
land of the great^Man-i-too, beyond the setting sun. Their heads are young, 
and they are not wise ; they may go, but the old and the wise, will stay where 
the graves of their fathers are ; where the council fires of their people have 
never gone out ; the land and the water given to them by the Great Spirit, so 



General History. 31 



long ago that no one lives who remembers the time — the land of the beautiful 
Me-au-me, and when the Great Man-i-too calls, we will answer — 'here !' My 
pale-face brother is wise ; his beautiful daughters from the sun- rise love the 
shade and the flowers, and the beautiful land toward the sun-down, that he 
sings in the ears of the red children ; will he not go there with his pale- face 
children ? There is no enemy of my brother on the long trail, and no one to 
molest him ; he need not be afraid ; the Great Spirit of his fathers, will protect 
him Go to the wigwam of the great father (the President of the United 
States), and tell him that his red children will give the 'beautiful land' to their 
pale-face brothers, and they will sleep where their father's sleep, and their last 
council fire shall go out on the banks of their beautiful Me-aw-mee. Go, tell 
this to the great father.' 

The wily and adroit commissioner could not answer the native eloquence 
and statesmanlike speech of the great chief, and the council closed. 

Among many like incidents (and several occurred at which the writer was 
present), there was one other worthy of record in these pages, as showing the 
native character of these untutored savages. This incident was related several 
times at the cabin of the writer's father, by one of the principal actors at the 
scene. Governor Lewis Cass, territorial governor of Michigan. Governor 
Cass was sent by the government, in 1824 or 1830, as commissioner to treat 
with the Win-ne-ba-goes, Sacs and Foxes, O-gib-e-was and Kick-a-poos, to 
be assembled on the banks of the Mississippi, at the old French trading- post, 
Prairie du Chien. It took many weeks to assemble them from their distant 
hunting-grounds, and the governor was obliged to be patient, and wait the 
slow movements of the Indians, who were loth to come into the council. He 
put in the time as best he could by talking to the leading chiefs already assem- 
bled, and urging his purpose in many long private conferences. One morning, 
as the governor was seated upon a log on the bank of the Mississippi, the great 
head chief of the Win-ne-ba-goes, Waw-be-see (White Crane), seated himself 
by the side of the governor, and became an attentive listener to all the com- 
missioner had to say ; soon, however, other chiefs and braves came and be- 
gan to take seats on the log (always on the left side of the great chief), and 
soon filled that end of the log, so that the chief requested Cass to move along, 
as more of his braves wished to sit down. After several moves, the general 
reached the end, and could move no farther without falling off, and after noti- 
fying White Crane of the fact, the Indian rose, and taking a position, but a few 
feet in front of the general, said: 

"My brother is a great chief; he speaks the truth and my young men have 
heard it and they will not forget it. " Then raising his right hand and pointing 
towards the rising sun said: "My brother, so many snows have fallen, and it is 
so long ago that none can remember it, that my people looked over the great 
salt lake toward the sunrise and saw a great canoe with white wings coming to 



History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 



the land. My people welcomed the strangers, for they were the people of the 
sun, with pale faces ; we gave them food and shelter and gave them land ; we 
looked again and more canoes with white wings were coming ; we gave their 
people food and we gave them land to plant their corn and we moved away 
to give them room. Many more came, more than we could count, and we 
moved away many times, so far that we could not see the salt lake, to where 
all the water was without salt ; the children of the sun were so many that we 
gave them all the land around the shores and beyond the great lakes that have 
no salt, and we moved to the banks of the 'great river,' the 'father of waters,* 
and now you ask us again to move further; we are at the end of the log, and 
if we move again we shall fall off, fall into the great river, for our canoes will 
not cross the muddy water. Go, and tell the 'Great Father' what we say. I 
have done." 

Thus closed the conference, and the commissioner, knowing that it was use- 
less to prolong his stay, soon left the treaty ground. 

These incidents are related that the reader may be able to judge more cor- 
rectly the Indian character and his ability to cope with the wisest of our states- 
men. As a rule, when treaties were successfully made, there was more or less 
deception practiced to accomplish the objects in view, and it is no credit to so 
noble and generous a government as that of the United States to have, unfor- 
tunately perhaps, appointed among its agents selected to transact the business 
of the government, with these untutored and confiding savages, men who 
were, to say the least, not just. 



CHAPTER IV. 

HISTORY OF THE SOIL AND JURISDICTION. 

Province of Louisiana — French Claim — British Claim — Cession of France to England 
— Cession by England to the Colonies — Cesssion by the States to the United States — Extin- 
guishment of Indian Titles — Organization as to Territory — Admission as a State — Organiza- 
tion of Counties — Township Organization. 

HENRY county was originally embraced in that vast region of territory 
claimed, by virtue of discovery and conquest, by France, lying between 
the Allegheny and the Rocky Mountains, known by the general name of Loui- 
siana. While the king of France had dominion in North America, the whole 
of the United States northwest of the Ohio River was included in this province, 
the north boundary of which, by the treaty of Utrecht, concluded between 
England and France in 1713, was fixed at the 49th parallel of latitude north 
of the equator. 



General History. 33 



After the conquest of the Frencli possessions of North America by Great 
Britain this territory was ceded b\' the former country to the latter, by the 
treat}' of Paris, in 1763, and the dispute of dominion ceased. 

Dominion beyond the Alleghenies had ahva\s been claimed b}' l^ngland. 
The principal ground for the claim was, that the Six Nations owned the Ohio 
\'alley and iiad placed it, with their other lands, under the protection of Eng- 
land. Some of the western lands were also claimed by the British as having 
been actually purchased at Lancaster, Pa., in 1744, at a treaty between the 
colonists and the Six Nations. 

The European powers based their claim to American tcrritor}' upon the 
discoveries made by their subjects, and thus the title to "Louisiana" became 
a subject of contention between France and England. In 1609 the English 
crown granted to the London Company all the territory extending along the 
coast for two hundred miles north and south from Point Comfort and "up into 
ihe \2ind, throtighout, fj'oin sea to sea, west and northwest." Charles II., in 
1662, granted to certain settlers upon the Connecticut, all the territory be- 
tween the parallels of latitude which include the present State of Connecticut, 
from the Atlantic to the Pacific Ocean. During the Revolution Massachusetts 
claimed an interest in these western lands, founded upon a similar charter 
granted thirty years afterwards. 

In 1774 the parliament of Great Britain passed an act by which the whole 
of the northwestern territory was annexed to and made part of the Province of 
Quebec, as created and established by the royal proclamation of October 7, 

The colonies, having, in 1776, renounced allegiance to the British throne, 
assumed rank as free, independent, and sovereign States, and each State claimed 
the right of soil and jurisdiction over the district of country embraced within its 
charter. 

The claim of England to this northwestern territory was ceded to tiie 
United States by the treaty of peace signed at Paris, September 3, 1783. The 
provisional articles which formed the basis of that treaty, more especially as 
related to the boundary, were signed at the same place on the 30th of Novem- 
ber, 1782. Pending negotiation relative to these preliminary articles, the Brit- 
ish commissioner, Mr. Oswald, proposed the Ohio River as the western bound- 
ary of the United States, and but for the indomitable perseverance of John 
Adams, one of the American commissioners, who insisted upon the Mississippi 
as the boundary, the probability is that the proposition of Mr. Oswald would 
have been acceded to by the United States commissioners. 

The charters of several of the States embraced large portions of unappro- 
priated western lands. Those States which had no such charters insisted tliat 
these lands ought to be appropriated for the common benefit of all the States. 
Congress repeatedly urged upon the charter States to make liberal cessions of 
those lands for the common benefit of all. ^ 



34 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

Answering these appeals, the State of Virginia, in March, 1784, ceded the 
right of soil and jurisdiction to the district of country embraced in her charter, 
situated to the northwest of the Ohio River. In September, 1786, the State 
of Connecticut also ceded her claim of soil and jurisdiction to the district of 
country within the limits of her charter, " situated west of a line beginning at 
the completion of the forty-first point degree of north lattitude, one hundred 
and twenty miles west of the western boundary of Pennsylvania, and from 
thence by a line drawn north parallel to and one hundred and twenty miles 
west of said line of Pennsylvania, and to continue north until it came to forty- 
two degrees and two minutes north latitude." Connecticut, also, on the 30th 
of May, 1 801, ceded her jurisdiction claims to all territory called the " Western 
Reserve of Connecticut." The States of New York and Massachusetts also 
ceded all their claims. 

But these were not the only claims which required adjustment before the 
commencement of settlements within the limits of Ohio. Numerous tribes of 
Indians asserted their respective claims, and these had to be extinguished. A 
treaty for this purpose was made at Fort Stanwix, October 27, 1784, with the 
sachems and warriors of the Mohawks, Onondagas, Senecas, Cayugas, Oneidas, 
and Tuscaroras, by the third article of which treaty the Six Nations ceded to 
the United States all claims to the country west of a certain line extending 
along the west boundary of Pennsylvania, from the mouth of the Oyounayea 
to the river Ohio. 

A treaty was also concluded at Fort Mcintosh, January 21, 1785, with the 
Wyandot, Delaware, Chippewa, and Ottawa nations. By this treaty the bound- 
ary line between the United States and the two former nations was declared 
to begin " at the mouth of the river Cayahoga, and to extend up said river to 
the Portage between that and the Tuscaroras branch of the Muskingum, thence 
down that branch to the crossing place above F'ort Laurens, thence westerly 
to the Portage of the Big Miami, which runs into the Ohio, at the mouth 
of which branch the fort stood which was taken by the French in 1752, thence 
along said Portage to the Great Miami, or Omee River, and down the south 
side of the same to its mouth, then along the south shore of Lake Erie to the 
mouth of the Cuyahoga River, where it began." The lands within the de- 
scribed limits were allotted to the Wyandots and Delawares " to live and 
hunt on, and to such of the Ottawa nation as lived thereon, saving and reserv- 
ing for the establishment of trading posts, six miles square (one township) at 
the mouth of the Miami, or Omee, (Maumee) river," and the same at the Por- 
tage, on "the branch of the Big Miami which runs into the Ohio, and also the 
same on the Lake of Sandusky, where the fort formerly stood, and also two 
miles square on each side of the Lower Rapids of Sandusky River." 

In 1789, January 9, another treaty was made at Fort Harmer, between 
Governor St. Clair and the sachems and warriors of the Wyandot, Chippewa, 



General History. 35 



Potawatomie, and Sac nations, in which the treaty of Fort Mcintosh was re- 
newed and confirmed. 

The claim of soil and jurisdiction by France, England, the colonies and the 
Indians to the territory' within the limits of Ohio having been extinguished and 
the title vested in the United States, legislative action by Congress became 
necessary before actual settlements could be commenced, as in the treaties with 
the Indians, and by the acts of Congress, all citizens of the United States were 
prohibited settling on the lands of the Indians as well as on those of the United 
States. 

Ordinances were accordingly adopted by Congress for the government of 
the northwestern territory, and for sale of portions of the lands to which the 
Indian title had been extinguished. In May, 1785, Congress passed an ordi- 
nance for ascertaining the mode of disposing of these lands. Under that ordi- 
nance the first seven ranges, bounded on the east by Pennsylvania and on the 
south by the Ohio 'River, were surveyed. Sales of parts of these were made 
at New York in 1787, parts at Pittsburgh and Philadelphia in 1796, and some 
were located under military land warrants. No further sales were made until 
July I, 1 80 1, when a land office was opened at Steubenville. 3^?)^: J 5 

In 1788 Congress appointed General St. Clair governor ; Winthrop Sar- 
geant, secretary, and Samuel Holden Parsons, James Mitchell Varnum, and 
John Cleves Symmes, judges over the territory. The county of Washington, 
its limits extending westward to the Scioto and northward to Lake Erie, and 
embracing about half the territory within the present limits of Ohio, was estab- 
lished by proclamation of the governor. In 1 790, Hamilton county was erected 
including the country between the Miamies, " extending northward from the 
Ohio River to a line drawn due east from the standing stone forks of the Great 
Miami." Wayne county was established in 1796, including all the northwestern 
part of Ohio, a large tract in the northeastern part of Indiana and the whole 
territory of Michigan, so that the territory of Henry county was as a county 
organization first under the jurisdiction of Wayne county. Wooster is the cap- 
ital of the county retaining the name of Wayne in Ohio. 

In 1789 the first Congress under the constitution passed an act recognizing 
the binding force of the ordinance of 1787, and adapting its provisions to the 
federal constitution. The northwest territory, before the end of -the year 
1798, contained a population of five thousand free male inhabitants, of full age, 
and had eight organized counties, entitling the citizens under the ordinance of 
1787, to a change in their form of government, and a territorial government, 
the first legislature of which met on the 24th of September, 1799. On the 
30th of April, 1802, Congress passed an act authorizing the call of a conven- 
tion to form a constitution. The constitution of that year was adopted at 
Chillicothe on the 29th of November of that year. It became the fundamental 
law by the act of the convention alone and Ohio became one of the United, 



S6 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

States, and county organization, soil and jurisdiction were subsequently con- 
trolled by our own legislature and State officials. 

On the 7th of May, 1800, the northwest territory was divided into two 
governments, that part lying west of a line beginning opposite the mouth of the 
Kentucky River, in Kentucky, and running north to the Canada line, was 
called Indiana, and formed, and still is, the western line of Ohio. 

After the admission of Ohio into the Union, the remainder of the territory, 
was, by act of Congress, January 11, 1805, formed into the county of Michi- 
gan, and is now the State of Michigan, being admitted January 22, 1837, ^^d 
forms the northern boundary of northwestern Ohio. 

After Ohio assumed the sovereignty of a State, county organizations be- 
came rapid, and boundaries were clearly defined. By act of the Legislature, 
passed February 12, 1820, "all that part of the lands lately ceded by the In- 
dians to the United States, which lies within this State" — being northwestern 
Ohio — was erected into fourteen counties, Henry being of the number. By 
this act the boundaries of the county were defined "to include all of ranges 
five, six, seven and eight, north of the second township north, in said ranges," 
[the north line of Putnam county, (which was formed at the same time) and the 
south line of Henry], and to run north with the same to the State [Michigan] 
line. 

By the erection of Defiance county, March 4, 1845, townships three, four 
and five of the fifth range, being Adams, Richland and Powell's Creek — now 
Highland — were taken from Henry, and made a part of Defiance, which with 
Williams county, forms the western boundary of Henry. June 30, 1835, Lu- 
cas county was formed, to which most of the territory now composing P'ulton 
county, and at that time belonging to Henry, was allotted, but by the erec- 
tion of Fulton, February 28, 1850, this territory was given to that county, and 
the line between the two counties, Henry and Fulton, established on the south 
line of section twelve, in township six, north of range eight east, and which is 
now the northern boundary of Henry county. The eastern boundary has 
never been disturbed. 

The county is now divided into thirteen townships as follows : 

Ridgeville Township No. 6, N Range No. 5, E. 

Freedom " " 6, " " " 6, " 

Napoleon " " 5, " " " 6, " 

Flatrock " " 4, " " " 6, '• 

Pleasant " " 3, " " " 6, " 

Liberty " " 6, " " •' 7, " 

Harrison " " 5, " " " 7, " 

Monroe " " 4, " " " 7, " 

Marion '• " 3, " •' " 7, ' 

Washington " " 6, " " " 8, " 

Damascus " " 5, " " " 8, ♦' 

Richfield " " 4, " " " 8, " 

Bartlow " " 3, " " " 8, " 

Napoleon, in Napoleon township, is the county seat. 



General History. 37 



CHAPTER V. 

HISTOKV OF THE ADVENTURES, INVASION, LMMIGRATloX AND 
SETTLEMENT BY THE WHITES. 

THE first footprints of white men in the sands of the Maumee were unques- 
tionably made by the French Jesuits in the seventeenth century. These 
zealous and devoted people came to the red man, unlike the Spaniard with 
sword and brand to civilize by death, torture and depopulation, but with the 
Word of God in their hands, preaching peace and good will to all men, and 
endeavoring to civilize and Christianize by education, kindness, mercy and the 
teachings and virtues of the highest Christian civilization. 

Whatever the motive of the European in his visit- to the American Indian, 
whether trade, agriculture, or missionary labor, prudence, even of those wha 
sought only temporary residence, suggested the necessity of adopting some 
means of safety, of retreat and protection, and to guard against surprise, 
treachery and attack. As early as 1679 the Count de Frontenac, then gover- 
nor of Canada, urged upon the French monarch the importance of erecting 
forts and trading posts in the western country along the chain of the great 
lakes. Frontenac, a man of great energy and spirit, though unaided by the 
profligate Louis, sent out a number of trading parties, authorizing them to 
erect stores and posts and to take possession of all territory visited, in the name 
of the government of France. 

The first effort to form a settlement in the territory now constituting the 
jurisdiction of Ohio, was undertaken by the French in the Maumee Valley, in 
the year 1680. On the authority of the late A. T. Goodman, secretary of the 
Western Reserve and Northern Ohio Historical Society, and founded on data 
obtained from French records at Montreal and Quebec, and papers at Albany 
and Harrisburg, "One of these parties found their way to the Miami or Mau- 
mee River, and, in 1680, built a small stockade just below the site of Maumee 
City. This was an important trading point for several years, and in 1694 was 
under the command of Sieur Courthemanche, but was finally abandoned for a 
more eligible location at the head of the Maumee River, near where the city of 
Fort Wayne now stands. On the very spot where the fort of Maumee stood, 
the British, in 1794, erected Fort Miami." This shows the occupation of the 
Maumee to antedate that sought to be established at Detroit, the first effort at 
settlement being made by the French at the latter place in 1683. 

In 1695 Captain Nicholas Perrot built a trading station "at the west end of 
Lake Erie," the exact location of which cannot now be ascertained. After 
remaining there for two years the Miamis plundered the place, made prisoner 
of Perrot and were about "roasting him alive" when he was rescued by the 
Outawamis. 



38 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

In 1690 war was declared between England and France, and for a century 
after a bitter and malignant feeling existed between the subjects of these nations, 
and especially so among those residing and claiming possessions in America, 
and competing for the lucrative trade with the Indians. In that year we find 
the governor of Canada in a letter to his king expressing " great desire for the 
maintenance of French posts in the west." A bloody war occurred in 1695 
between the Iroquois and the Mianiis, in which the latter suffered severely as 
did also the French traders in the Ohio and Illinois country, and the governor 
of Canada complained that the Iroquois "roasted all the French prisoners" 
who fell into their hands. 

It is probable that English traders began establishing themselves perma- 
nently in the west in 1698-99, as early in the year 1 700 M. de Longueil, at a 
council held with various Indian tribes at Detroit, urged them to make war on 
the English, saying : " It is to the White River and the Beautiful (Ohio) River 
that I expect you will immediately march in quest of him, and when you de- 
stroy him you will seize and divide all his goods among you 

If the English escape you on the Beautiful River you will find them a little 
further off with his brother, the Flat Head." During this same year the Iro- 
quois made a treaty with the French, by which their missionaries and traders 
were allowed in all parts of the west, and about the same time a party of fac- 
tors from Detroit built a small post on the Maumee, where Toledo now stands. 
The English, in 1703, invited the Hurons and Miamis to locate near the 
Senecas, on Lake Erie, but the proposition was rejected. During the year 
1705 Sieur de Joncaire visited the Seneca Indians, and Sieur de Vincennes the 
Miamis, on business of the governor of Canada, and found English traders 
among them. The mission of these Frenchmen seems to have failed, for in 
1707 M. de Cadillac, commandant at Detroit, marched with a small force 
against the Miamis, and soon forced them to terms. In 17 14 Captain de La 
Forest pointed out to the French government the importance of maintaining 
Detroit and keeping possession of Lake Erie and its environs. The French 
had more foresight than the English, and spent large sums of money in ex- 
tending their possessions, and having obtained control of the Indians, the En- 
glish, in 1 7 16, sent agents among them with speeches and presents, but were 
unsuccessful in forming an alliance. Gain seems to have been the great ob- 
ject of these traders, and in a letter addressed about this time to the governor 
of Canada by M. de Ramezay and M. Begon, they urge the French govern- 
ment to build a post at Niagara, on the ground that it " would deter the Mis- 
sisague and Amicone Indians from going to the Iroquois to trade when passing 
from the neighborhood of Lake Erie." 

In 1736 the French claimed to have 16,403 warriors, and 82,000 souls 
under their control in the west, and in 1739 the commandant at Detroit 
crossed the Ohio country, and discovered Bigbone Lick, in Kentucky. He 



General History. 39 



constructed a road from Detroit to the Ohio River, which crossed the Miami 
at the foot of the rapids, and was thereafter used by the Canadians. 

By the treaty at Lancaster, Pa., in 1744, the Six Nations "recognized the 
king's right to all lands beyond the mountains," and the English, encouraged 
by this, formed several settlements and magazines along the Ohio, but were 
driven off by Detroit Indians. 

[It is not the province of this work, and it would much exceed our space 
to give an account of all the PVench, English and Indian troubles, outrages 
and murders which occurred in the western territory during the first half of 
the eighteenth century, and we refer the reader who may be interested in it to 
Knapp's History of the Maumee Valley, while we hasten to history more im- 
mediately connected with the territory of which we write.] 

In 1748 the " Ohio Company" was formed for the purpose of securing the 
Indian trade, and it appears that in 1749 the English built a trading house on 
the Great Miami, at a spot called " Loramie's Store." In 1751 Christopher 
Gist, as agent of the " Ohio Company," was appointed to examine the western 
lands, and made a visit to the Twigtwees, who then lived upon the Miami 
River, about one hundred miles from its mouth. In 1752 the French, having 
heard of this trading house, sent a party of troops to this Indian tribe and de- 
manded the surrender of these traders as intruders on French soil, which 
demand was refused. The French, assisted by the Ottawa and Chippewa 
Indians, attacked the block trading house, and after a battle, in which fourteen 
of the natives were killed and others wounded, took and destroyed the build- 
ings, capturing the traders and carrying them to Canada. The name of this 
fort, or trading house, was Pickawillany, and was the first British settlement of 
which a record can be obtained. 

In order to repel the Indians, who, after Braddock's defeat in 1755, pushed 
their excursions as far as the Blue Ridge, Major Lewis, in January, 1756, was 
sent with a party of troops on an expedition against them. The attempt, on 
account of the swollen condition of the streams and the treachery of guides, 
proved a failure; but in 1764, the year after the French had relinquished their 
claim to this territory. General Bradstreet dispersed the Indian forces besieging 
Detroit, and passed into the Wyandot country, by way of Sandusky Bay. He 
ascended the bay and river as far as navigable for boats, made a camp, and a 
treaty of peace was signed by the chiefs and head men of the Indian nations, 
except the Delawares, of the Muskingum, who still remained hostile. Colonel 
Boquet, with a body of troops, the same year marched from Fort Pitt into the 
heart of the Ohio country, on the Muskingum River, and a treaty of peace was 
effected with the Indians, who returned the prisoners the}' had captured from 
the white settlements. 

During the Revolutionary War most of the western Indians were more 
or less hostile to the Americans, and numerous expeditions were projected 



40 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

against them, but we must confine ourselves to the territory which forms our 
subject, and this will confine us to the period after the Revolution, and after 
the time that England had relinquished all claim to the western lands. 

In the same year, after the treaty at Fort Harmer (1789), referred to in the 
preceding chapter, the Indians assumed a hostile appearance, and were seen 
hovering around the infant settlements near the mouth of the Muskingum and 
between the Miamis, and a number of persons were killed. The settlers be- 
came alarmed, erected block-houses, and in June, 1789, Major Doughty, with 
one hundred and forty men from Fort Harmer, commenced building Fort 
Washington. A few months afterward General Harmer, with three hundred 
men, arrived, took com.mand, and, negotiations proving unavailing, was di- 
rected to attack the Indian towns. In pursuance of orders, he marched, in 
September, 1790, with one thousand three hundred men, from Cincinnati west- 
ward towards what is now Fort Wayne to the Indian villages on the Miami of 
the Lake (Maumee) near the latter place. Harmer, after several reverses and 
severe loss, succeeded in burning the towns and destroying the corn crop of 
the Indians, and commenced his homeward march ; but the savages rallied, 
engaged in battle with a detachment of Harmer's army under command of 
Colonel Hardin, which resulted in the defeat of the latter; and the general, 
dispirited, returned to Cincinnati, his expeditions in intimidating the Indians 
having been entirely unsuccessful. 

The Indians continued hostile. A new army, superior to the former, was 
mobilized at Cincinnati, under the command of Governor St. Clair, a Revolu- 
tionary officer. The regular force numbered two thousand three hundred men, 
and the militia about six hundred. Commencing his march toward the Indian 
towns on the Maumee, he established a fort at Hamilton and one at Jefferson. 
Misfortune attended the expedition from its commencement, desertions and the 
detachments of soldiers to pursue and capture them, and to protect the con- 
voys of provisions which it was apprehended they (the deserters) designed to 
capture, materially weakened the army, and on the 3d of November, 1791, 
when, at what is now the line of Darke and Mercer counties, St. Clair halted, 
intending to throw up slight fortifications and await the return of the troops 
sent in pursuit of the deserters. On the following morning, however, before 
sunrise, he was attacked with great fury by the whole disposable force of the 
northwest tribes. The Americans were totally defeated. General Butler and 
upwards of six hundred men were killed. Indian outrages multiplied and im- 
migration was entirely suspended. 

The president, Washington, now urged the most vigorous prosecution of 
the war and the complete protection of the Northwest Territory ; but the en- 
listment and organization of a new army was retarded by many obstacles, and 
it was not until the spring of 1794 that an army was gathered at Greenville, 
in Darke county, and placed under the command of General Anthony Wayne, 



General History. 41 



the bold, energetic and experienced " Mad Anthony " of the Revolution. 1 lis 
force consisted of 2,000 regulars and 1,500 mounted volunteers from Kentucky. 
The whole force of Indians, amounting to about 2,000 men, had collected near 
the British fort erected after and in violation of the treaty of 1783, at the foot 
of the Rapids of Maumee. [From this point on the 13th of August, 1793, the 
Indians, inspired by Elliott, McGee, Butler, and other English traders and 
emissaries, with hope of British aid, a defiant rejection of all overtures of 
peace made by the United States, was sent. It was signed by fifteen nations 
in addition to the Seven Nations of Canada, and closed all attempts at peace.] 
On the 28th of July, 1794, Wayne moved to Greenville and on the 8th of August 
was near the junction of the Au Glaize and Maumee, at Grand Glaize, now 
Defiance. This had been the Indian headquarters, and Wayne was anxious 
to reach it undiscovered. In order to do this he had caused two roads to be 
cut, one towards the foot of the Rapids (Roche de Bout), tlie other to the junc- 
tion of the St. Mary and St. Joseph, while he pressed forward between the two ; 
but the Indians hearing of the approach of the army from a runaway member 
of the quartermaster's corps, hastily abandoned their town. Being unable to 
make peace with the Indians, who still relied on British aid and support from 
Detroit, Wayne determined to march forward and settle matters at once, and 
on the 1 8th of August he had advanced forty-one miles, and being in the 
vicinity of the foe, threw up some light works which was named Fort Deposit, 
in which to place the heavy baggage during the expected battles. On the 
morning of the 20th, the baggage having been left behind, the whites moved 
down the north bank of the Maumee and encountered .the Indians with their 
English allies about two miles east of where the village of Waterville now 
stands, and there was fought the celebrated battle of Fallen Timbers. The 
Indians were completely routed and fled and were pursued under the guns of 
the British fort, Miami. Wayne returned with his army to Fort Defiance on 
the 27th of the same month, laying waste the Indian villages for a distance of 
fifty miles on each side of the Maumee. The army remained at Fort Defiance 
until September 14, of the same year, and then marched for the Miami villages 
at the junction of the St. Joseph and St. Mary Rivers, and there built Fort 
Wayne, where the city of that name now stands. During this time the troops 
suffered much from sickness, but more for want of flour and salt, the latter 
article, on the 24th of September, selling for six dollars per pint. 

This vigorous prosecution of the war by Wayne, and the failure of the 
British to furnish their promised aid and supplies, induced the various tribes 
to ask for peace, and finally, on the 30th of July, 1795, a treaty by which the 
hatchet was to be buried forever was agreed to at Greenville. 

In a letter, dated August 14, 1794, written from Grand Glaize (Defianci ) 
Wayne says: "The margin of these beautiful streams, the Miamis of the lake 
(Maumee) and Au Glaize (Auglaize) appear like one beautiful village for a num- 

G 



42 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

ber of miles both above and below this place ; nor have I ever beheld such im- 
mense fields of corn in any part of America from Canada to Florida." 

The permanent settlement of Ohio followed closely the treaty of Wayne, 
but was confined mostly to the southern and eastern parts of the territory — 
Marietta, Dayton, Chillicothe, Cleveland, and Cincinnati ; but speculators and 
settlers began to appear in pretty large numbers in western Ohio, settlements 
being established in the Miami of the lakes (Maumee). 

After the death of Wayne, 1796, General Wilkinson was appointed to the 
western command, and but little of interest occurred on the Maumee until the 
outbreak of the war of 18 12. A few white settlements had grown up along 
the river, and more or less Indian outrages occurred and pioneer adventures 
were had, but few can be located with any certainty within the jurisdiction of 
which we write. In 18 12 three points in the west. Fort Wayne, the Wabash 
and the Maumee, needed defense. The troops for the first point were placed 
under the command of General Winchester, a Revolutionary officer then resi- 
dent in Tennessee, and but little known to the frontier men; the Wabash un- 
der Harrison, who had acquired fame at Tippecanoe; while Governor Edwards, 
of the Illinois territory, was to command the expedition on the river of the 
same name. Such were the intentions of the government, but the wishes of 
the people finally led to the appointment, Sept. 17, 1812, of General Harrison 
to the post of commander-in-chief of the west and northwest. In the mean 
time Fort Wayne had been relieved and the line of the Maumee secured, so 
that when Harrison was placed at the head of the western military affairs, his 
main objects were: (i) to drive the Indians from the western side of the De- 
troit River; (2) to take Maiden and (3) to recapture the Michigan Territory, 
surrendered by Hull. To do all this before winter and be prepared to conquer 
Upper Canada, Harrison proposed to take possession of the Rapids of the 
Maumee and to concentrate his forces and stores at that point. He divided 
his troops into three columns — the right to move from Wooster through Up- 
per Sandusky, the center from Urbana by Fort McArthur on the heads of the 
Sciota, and the left from St. Mary's by tlie Au Glaize and Maumee, all meeting 
at the Rapids. The troops of the left, under Winchester, worn out and starved, 
were on the point of desertion; the center, mounted men, under General Tup- 
per, were unable to do anything, mainly by reason of the incapacity of their 
commander, which, together with sickness and the difficulties of transportation 
caused by the autumn rains, obliged a change in this plan and caused a post- 
ponement until winter would bridge the streams; and even when that had 
taken place, Harrison was doubtful as to the wisdom of an attempt to conquer 
Canada without vessels on Lake Erie. And the year of 1 8 1 2 closed with nothing 
effectual having been done towards the re-conquest of Michigan. Winchester, 
his men enfeebled by sickness, in want of clothing and of food, was on his way 
to the Rapids, the right wing of the army was approaching Sandusky and the 
center rested at Fort McArthur. 



General History 



43 



On the loth of Janiuuv, 1813, Winchester readied the Rapids, having 
passed down the north bank of the Maumee from Defiance. Of Winchester's 
misfortunes at Frenchtown, we have not time to speak, nor docs it relate to 
our subject; suflfice to say that Harrison, with the remnants of his army, was 
at the Rapids in the spring of 18 13 and had erected Fort Meigs. Of this fort 
the Enghsh with their Indian alhes commenced the investment, and by the 
1st of May had completed their batteries. 

On the 5th of May, General Clay, with twelve hundred additional troops, 
came down the Maumee in flat boats. Of the events which followed — the de- 
feat of Colonel Dudley, the massacre of his men, the subsequent victories of 
Harrison on land, and Perry on the lakes — general history speaks. 

White settlement on the Maumee was very tardy, and in 1800 Colonel 
John Anderson was the only white trader of any notoriety on the river, having 
in that year settled at Fort Miami. Peter Manor, a Frenchman, was here 
previous to that time, and was adopted by the Indian chief, Tontogany. He 
did not however come to reside until 1808. During the year 1810 Major 
Amos SpalTord, Andrew Race, Thomas Learning, Harvy W. Leaming, James 
Carlin, William Carter, George Blalock, James Slason, Samuel H. Ewing, Jesse 
Skinner, David Hull, Thomas Dick, William Peters, Ambrose Hickox and 
Richard GifTord came here, and when the War of 1 8 1 2 broke out there were 
sixty-seven families residing at the foot of the Rapids. The war made the 
Maumee an exceedingly unhealthy climate, and the white settlers were com- 
pelled to flee for their lives. After peace was declared, most of those who had 
resided here before the war, returned, and the actual settlement of the Maumee 
Valley began, but progressed very slowly until the location of the Miami and 
Erie Canal. The last remnant of the powerful tribe of Ottawa Indians was 
not removed until 1838, and their burying-grounds and village sites are scat- 
tered along both banks of Maumee from its mouth to Defiance. 



CHAPTER VI. 

Early Settlers of the Maumee Valley Recallt-d— The Name.=; of ^lany of Them, and Some 
Incidents Concerning Them. 

IX the year 1830, according to the census of population then made, the 
county of Henry contained two hundred and sixty persons, young and old ; 
in 1840, two thousand five hundred and three; in 1850, three thousand four 
hundred and thirty-four; in i860, eight thousand nine hundred and one; in 
1870, fourteen thousand and twenty-eight; in 1880, twenty thousand five hun- 



44 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

dred and eighty-five. From these facts it is fair to assume that in the year 
1820 there was not to exceed a dozen famihes within the borders of the county, 
and upon this basis, not more than fifty or sixty white inhabitants. Although 
Henry county was formed-, and only formed, in the year 1820, there were not 
then living therein enough people to organize a township, and it was not until 
three years later, 1823, that the whole county was populous enough to be 
formed into one township, called Damascus. The county, it is true, was given 
an existence at the time named, and while conveyances of land may have recog- 
nized such an existence, the residents knew no county boundaries beyond their 
warrant or deed ; they were residents and pioneers of the whole Maumee Val- 
ley, and as such will be mentioned so far as their names can be ascertained. 

It is possible that in the following record the names of some may be inad- 
vertently omitted, as the names, as obtained, are somewhat incomplete, still it 
will serve to show who were a large majority of the residents of the valley 
prior to the year 1825, together with some incidents concerning them and their 
families. 

The list was prepared by a person now past the alloted " three score and 
ten" years of life, and will be found substantially authentic so far as given. It 
is arranged to commence at Defiance and record the names as the people were 
found on going down the river, and is as follows : Pierce Evans and family, 
Indian fur trader; Dr. Jonathan F. Evans, physician and surgeon; Colonel 
Evans, on the Au Glaize ; Allen Browher, father and brother, farmer and 

trader; Brubecker, farmer ; James Laughlin, Indian jewelry manufacturer 

and river boatman ; the " Snook Boys," two brothers, farmers and pirogue 
men (river boatmen). 

Flat Rock: (Down the river four miles), old Uncle Hively, Pennsylvania 
Dutch farmer; Adam Kepler, on south side of the river, also Pennsylvania 
farmer. There were a few other settlers near this point, whose names cannot 
now be recalled. 

The next settlement was at or near Damascus, below the present village of 
Napoleon: John Patrick and wife, farmer and Indian trader; " Sammy " and 
David Bowers, brothers, on south side, both farmers ; Elisha Scribner, father 
and family, farmer ; Charles Bucklin and father, " Squire " Bucklin, farmers ; 
Samuel Vance and wife, farmers and Indian fur traders, brother to ex- Gov- 
ernor Vance, of Ohio ; Richard Gunn and family, farmer ; Carver Gunn and 
family, farmer ; Osman Gunn and family, farmer ; Judge Cory, the largest 
farmer in the valley ; David De Long and sons "Jeff" and " Nicky." 

Grand Rapids : Uncle Peter Manore, Frenchman, farmer ; he built the first 
saw-mill on the river ; his son, Frank, now or recently living on the old home- 
stead, a part of the Indian grant of one and one-half sections, at the head of 
the Grand Rapids, was born at the foot of the rapids, where Maumee City now 
is, in 18 1 2. 



General History. 45 



On the south side of the river, at this place, was settled Thomas Howard 
and his sons, Edward, Robert A. and Richard M. W., and their famihes, as 
also William Pratt and family, son of Captain Pratt, of Fort Meigs, all farmers. 

A few miles below this, at Raccoon Rapids, was John Morgan, an old 
Rocky Mountain hunter and trapper, and his "man Frida\'," " Bob" R\'an, a 
farmer. 

A short distance further down, on what afterwards was known as the 
Hedges (grandfather of Judge David Commager) farm, was a "squatter," by 
the name of Adam Teel, farmer, and still further down the river, near the 
mouth of Tone-tog-o-nee Creek, and opposite the " Indian Island," was erected 
and in full operation, the Presbyterian Indian Mission, under the general man- 
agement of Rev. Isaac V^an Tassell, assisted by Revs. Coe and Sackett, with 
their families, and the Misses Riggs and Brewster; Dayton Riley (brother of 
William Riley, of African slavery fame, who after his release and return to 
America, built the first mill to crack corn, on the St. Mary's River, near the 
line of the Toledo, Cincinnati and St. Louis Railroad, near the present village 
of Wilshire, Van Wert county, Ohio). This Dayton Riley was a very good 
carpenter, and performed much work for the Indian mission people, but loved 
the woods so well that most of his time was spent in hunting and trapping for 
the fur-bearing animals, and lining the little busy bees to their homes in hol- 
low trees, for their rich stores of wild honey. 

Still on down the river opposite the present village of Waterville, was the 
commodious and hospitable log cabin of " Uncle " Guy Nearing, whose cabin 
latch-string always " hung out " to welcome the neighboring settler, or the tired 
and often belated traveler. Near him, in a snug little cabin, lived one Thomas 
Dix, usually called " Uncle Tommy Dix," a full-blooded Irishman, from Cork, 
and the only pauper on the river. He was, however, very industrious, but be- 
ing quite aged, was unable to entirely maintain himself, and was aided consider- 
ably by the town poor-masters. He was quite a hand at making maple sugar in 
the spring. He had seven large trees near his cabin into which he put numerous 
spiles, and, as he counted it, made quite a sugar bush. A settler once asked 
him how many trees he had, and he answered " seventy." The settler could 
not see so many and so remarked. Uncle Tommy replied that he had " tin 
taps in a tree, and sure that's sivinty." 

Just below this were the families of John Race and the Deckers and John 
Charter. Going back to Roch te Bout (Bushteboo) was found Isaac Richard- 
son, the man who was afterwards murdered by Porter, the " Old Gay Lark," as 
he was usually called, who was the first man ever hanged in the valley under 
the civil laws of the United States ; and also Hughs, a millwright, living at Rich- 
ardson's. 

At Waterville was John Pray and family, Colister, and Whitcomb Haskins 
(a little below), and the two brothers Farnsworth and their families ; Deacon 
Cross, Mr. Martindale, Orson Ballou, Alex. Howard and family ; Warren 



History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 



Gunn, and on the high bank of the river, a Httle below was the white- washed 
log cabin of " Count" Pierre Louie La Point, known as " Uncle" Peter La 
Point, whose roof often sheltered and made glad many a heart from the posts 
at Detroit, and along the river to Fort Wayne, by the hospitality of this genial 
and kind-hearted old Frenchman ; Deacon Barlow (on Presque Isle), Judge 
Jonathan Jerome, at Turkeyfoot Rock, " Old" Haynes, and one or two others 
whose names cannot now be recalled. 

At Maumee City proper were General John E. Hunt, and Robert and 
James H., and Duncan Forsyth, all merchants and Indian fur traders; Judge 
Wolcott, also a fur trader ; David and Isaac Hull, fur traders ; Dr. Conant, 
James Wilkison, Hezekiah Hubel, hotel keeper and farmer; " Old" Haynes, 
George, John and James Knaggs, farmers and traders ; Parley Carlin and his 

brother. Esquire Carlin, Mr. Gibbs and family, Whitney, Peter Rebedow, 

a blacksmith ; Mr. Mashor, the Rand family, Trombley, and a number 

of other French families, including Peter Nevar and brothers ; " Deacon " 
Keeler, and Indian agent Major Stickney and family, Mr. Whitney and 
"Uncle Peter" Shaw, Mrs. Mary Ann Gilbert {nee Miss Wolcott, daughter ot 
Judge Wolcott), Ralph Keeler. There maybe yet a number whose names 
have been forgotten. 

Passing back to the vicinity of Fort Meigs : First was found Captain Pratt 
and sons, Jonas, Hiram, Amos, James, and Foster, and daughters Sally and 
Jane. Also in the family of Captain Pratt was his mother, known by every- 
body as " Granny" Pratt, Judge James Spafford and brother, and their fam- 
ilies, Dr. Coulton, John and Frank HoUister, merchants and Indian fur 
traders, as also a brother, Harry; Thomas McKnight, John Webb, who built 
the first house in Perrysburg and who died August 28, 1885 ; Jacob Wilkin- 
son and Captain David Wilkinson; the Jenison family, Nathaniel, Julius, Leon- 
ard, and Blinn, brothers, and sister Mary: Philander B. Brown and father, a 
blacksmith, and sister Jane; Elijah Herrick, Thomas McElrath and the Leam- 
ing families, Carter, a tailor, and Wm. Ewing, then a boy, but later known as 
ex- Judge Ewing ; Judge Thomas Powell, " Sile" Morehouse and brothers, and 
Vickers, a gunsmith and blacksmith, employed by the United States government 
for the Indians; Griffith, John Chartier, Wm. M. Billings, Valentine Winslow, the 
Deckers, Races, John J. Lovett, Hawley, Wilsons, Baldwin, Prentice, Hubbard 
Worden, Sibley, Whitmore, Noyes, Elijah Huntington, Joshua Chapel, Charles 
C. P. Hunt, brother of John E., of Maumee, Mrs. Major Skinner {nee Miss 
Mary Ann, daughter of Maj. Spafford, of Ft. Meigs), James Mackelrath. Ft. 
Meigs ; Louis Trombla and Mr. Daget, of Maumee ; Mr. Adams, Waterville ; 
Mrs. Isaac Hull, daughter of Mr. Spafford; Mrs. Perrin, now living, daughter 
of Jacob Wilkison and brothers Merrill and Samuel, Jerry Crane and father, 
Mr. Crane, "Old" Loup, "Sister" Knowles, an old bachelor, who finally 
married and was supposed to have lost his Ufe from poison given him by his 
wife; Charles and Curtis, " Curt." Roby, and possibly others. 



General History. 47 



CHAPTER Vn. 

Erection of Henry County — The Act Creating It — Other Counties Erected at the Same 
Time — Original Boundaries — Subsequent Reductions to Form Other Counties — Geographical 
Location and Present Boundaries — Events Incident to Its Complete Organization — Locating 
the County Seat— Napoleon Designated — First County Onicers — First Court — The Old Log 
Court-House — The First Frame Court-House — Its Burning — The Records Destroyed — The 
First Brick Court-House — Its Destruction — The Present Court-House and Jail — County 
Civil List. 

IN the early part of the year 1820, and soon after the (then) last treaty with 
the Indians, by which their right of possession to the soil in this part of 
Ohio was extinguished, there was at the disposal of the authorities a vast tract 
of land in the northwestern portion of the State that was practically uninhab- 
ited by whites ; and, for the better administration of the affairs of this countr\-, 
and the desire on the part of tlie authorities that the territory should be occu- 
pied and improved by settlers, it was deemed prudent that the country should 
be erected into several counties. It was, therefore, by such provisional action 
that the county of Henry was brought into existence. 

By the act which was passed on the I2th day of February, 1820, it was 
declared " That all that part of the lands lately ceded by the Indians to the 
United States, which lies within this State, shall be, and the same is hereby 
erected into fourteen separate and distinct counties," to be bounded and named 
as in the act provided. These counties so formed were: Allen, Crawford, 
Hancock, Hardin, Henry, Marion, Mercer, Paulding, Putnam, Sandusky, Sen- 
eca, Van Wert, Williams, and Wood. 

Separating Henry county from its fellows formed at the same time, it is 
found that the same was made to include " all of ranges five, six, seven, and 
eight north of the second township north, in said ranges, and to run north with 
the same to the State (Michigan) line as aforesaid, and to be known by the 
name of Henry." The county was so named in honor of Patrick Henry, 
that distinguished statesman whose eloquent voice had been so frequently 
heard in upholding the cause of the struggling American colonies in the days 
of her infancy. 

At the time of this erection there undoubtedly was not a sufficient number 
of residents within the broad limits of the county to fill the county's offices, or 
to in any manner administer its aftairs ; but the act made further provision, by 
the second section, that the newly created counties of Hancock, Henry, Put- 
nam, Paulding, and Williams should be attached to the county of Wood until 
otherwise directed by law. The temporary seat of justice of Wood county was 
fixed at Maumee. The first election for county and township officers for Wood 
county, and the counties attached to it, as well, was ordered and directed to be 
held on the first Monday of April, 1S20. 



History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 



Under this provision and by this enactment was Henry county attached to 
Wood county, and so continued for about four years, when, by an act passed 
on the 2d of February, 1824, it was provided that WiUiams county be fully 
organized for all purposes, and that the other counties of Henry, Putnam, and 
Paulding be attached thereto for judicial purposes ; that on the first Monday 
of April, 1824, the legal electors residing in the counties of Williams, Henry, 
Putnam, and Paulding " shall assemble within their respective townships, at the 
usual place of holding elections, and shall proceed to elect their several county 
and township ofificers, who shall hold their several offices until the next annual 
election." 

It was further provided that the courts for the several named counties 
should be held at Defiance, in the county of Williams, until otherwise provided 
by law ; further, " that suits or actions, whether of a civil or criminal nature," 
which should be pending at the time of the passage of the act, should be pros- 
ecuted to final judgment and execution in the county of Wood, in the same 
manner as they would have been had not Williams county been fully organ- 
ized. Otherwise than as above provided, Williams county became the seat of 
justice for Henry county after February, 1824. 

By virtue of an act passed June 20, 1835, entitled "An act to erect the 
county of Lucas," Henry county was called upon to surrender a portion of her 
territory to the formation of the new, and the portion so taken passed under 
the jurisdiction of Lucas county, except as related to suits or actions then 
pending in Henry county, which grew out of transactions in the land so taken. 
It was also provided by this act that the counties of Lucas, Darke, Shelby, 
Mercer, Allen, Van Wert, Putnam, Henry, Wood, and Williams, should partic- 
ipate in common in the election of a representative to the General Assembly 
of the State, and with the additional county of Miami, should elect one State 
senator. 

Again, in the year 1845, by an act passed March 4, Henry county was 
called upon to surrender a part of her territory to the formation of Defiance 
county, thus taking from her lands on the western border, and her jurisdiction 
and authority over the part so taken ceased, except as to suits and actions then 
pending. 

For a third time the county was made to surrender her territory to a new 
formation, in the year 1850, under an act passed on the 28th day of February, 
creating the county of Fulton. This will be found fully set forth elsewhere in 
this work, in the department relating to Fulton county, so that a detail of the 
facts need not be given here. 

In the year 1834, Henry county became fully organized for all purposes; 
authorized to elect its own officers, hold courts within its boundaries, and per- 
form all of the acts and duties incumbent upon all counties. But, before go- 
ing into the facts relative to this organization, and the proceedings and events 



Henry County. 49 



that occurred at that time, a brief description of the location and characteris- 
tics of the county will at this time be appropriate. 

Henry county occupies a central position among the counties in that sec- 
tion of the State of Ohio, that is usually termed the Northwest. Its bounda- 
ries, after the formation of the several counties in the region, are as follows : 
north by Fulton county, east by Wood county, south by Putnam count}-, and 
west by Defiance and a small part of Williams counties. 

In the formation of Defiance county, the lines were so run as to leave a 
portion, or fragment of Henry, projecting westward between Fulton and De- 
fiance counties, and reaching out an average township length to Williams 
■county. This strip, or projecting tract of land, now comprises the township of 
Ridgeville. With the exception of this deformity, caused by the erection of 
Defiance county, this is, perhaps, as regular in formation and boundary, as any 
of the counties of the State. 

Under an act of the State Legislature passed during the session of 1834, 
the civil organization of Henry county was completed, and it was thereafter 
no longer annexed to Williams county, but authorized to elect its own officers, 
administrate its own affairs, and govern itself. The act made provision, also, for 
the appointment of three commissioners, not residents of the county, to whom 
fell the duty of locating the seat of justice for the county. In the performance 
of the trust the commissioners visited the county, and viewed the several locali- 
ties proposed, heard the arguments of the people, pro and con, and finalh% and 
with no opposition, or but very little, fixed the seat of justice at the town of 
Napoleon. 

The first proceeding necessary, after the complete organization of the 
county was the selection of county officials. They were as follows : Pierce 
Evans, Reuben Waite and David J. Corry, judges ; Newton Evans, clerk of 
the courts : Xenophen Mead, Amos Cole and Allen Brougher, county commis- 
sioners; Hazel Strong, auditor; Israel Waite, treasurer; Elkanch Husted, 
sheriff; William Bowen, coroner; Frederick Lord, prosecuting attorney. They 
were to hold their respective offices until the general election in October fol- 
lowing, and at that time all were re-elected except that Samuel Bowers was 
elected to the office of sheriff in place of Elkanch Husted, who had left the 
county. The whole number of votes cast at this election was ninety-seven. 

A term of court, the first in the county, was held at the public house of 
George Stout, a short distance north of the Maumee River. Judge David 
Higgins presided upon this occasion, having reached the place by coming up 
the river on horseback. Unfortunately, the journal of the proceedings of this 
pioneer court was destroyed by fire upon the occasion of the burning of the 
frame court-house, in the year 1847, '^"^ "° record of the same is now obtain- 
able. 

It became necessary that, for the proper conduct of terms of court, and the 



50 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

administration of the affairs of the county, there should be provided a court- 
house, and this became one of the first duties devolving upon the commission- 
ers. These officials made an agreement with George Stout that he should 
build an addition to his log tavern for the purpose indicated. This was done 
within a reasonable time, and a suitable room was thus provided in which just- 
ice was " meted out " until the county was sufficiently strong in point of popu- 
lation and wealth to afford a more pretentious building. The court-room 
proper was located upon the second floor of the log addition, while the other 
part was used by " mine host " Stout, for the purposes of trade. Courts at this 
time were held but twice each year, so the worthy landlord enjoyed undis- 
puted possession most of the time. It was the custom, too, upon the adjourn- 
ment, for all to participate in a jolly, old-fashioned country dance, in which the 
officials, attendants, litigants, witnesses and general hangers-on should partici- 
pate. 

This old log court-house answered the demands of the county for a num- 
ber of years, but, as the town grew more populous, and the county became 
settled, a more adequate and attractive appearing building became necessary. 
In the year 1844, the first frame court-house building was erected. It stood 
near the corner of Perry and Washington streets, about on the site of the pres- 
ent building. It was a plain, two-story structure, with court-rooms on the 
upper floor, while the offices of the county officials were on the lower or 
ground floor. It was built by Michael Shuman, and cost about two thousand 
dollars. 

During these years the old jail continued in use as a place of confinement 
of prisoners and offenders. This log jail stood about south from the present 
jail, across and on the south side of the canal. This was used for all cases dur- 
ing the early days of the county, but as law-breakers became more frequent 
and desperate, the old building proved no longer secure, and until the first 
brick court-house was built with the jail in its basement, many of the more 
serious offenders were taken to Maumee City, and perhaps a few to other 
places. The most noted escapade from the old log jail was that of the mur- 
derers of the three unoffending Indians, an account of which will be found else- 
where in this volume. 

In the month of April, 1847, by an incendiary fire, the frame court-house 
was entirely destroyed, with it all records, books and valuable papers belong- 
ing to the several departments of county government, except a few of the 
tax duplicates, which were saved through the efforts of James G. Haly, then 
auditor of the county. This was a serious loss to the new and struggling 
county, and for a time each arm of the local government seemed paralyzed. The 
commissioners held a meeting to consider the misfortune, but with no unneces- 
sary delay determined upon the erection of another and more substantial court- 
house. But here another question was presented that for a time seriously 
threatened the removal of the county seat from Napoleon. 



Henry County. 51 



About this time there was some effort making looking toward the erection 
of another county, and for that purpose taking again of the lands of Henry 
county. But this project seemed not to have been popular and found not 
much determined support, but very much determined opposition. With the 
burning of the court-house an effort was made to have the county seat moved 
to Florida by the people on the west of the county, and to Damascus by those 
residing on the east. These movements were made most apparent in the 
nomination of candidates for the office of county commissioner, each locality 
using the greatest endeavor to nominate and elect a commissioner favorable to 
the particular locality he should represent. 

The commissioners then in office were under contract with the firm of 
James B. Steedman & Co. for the erection of a new county jail, and in fact 
the work was already commenced when the fire occurred. For a modest con- 
sideration the contractors were induced to stop work and surrender their con- 
tract. Following this, on the 7th of March, 1848, the commissioners adopted 
a resolution as follows: 

" Whereas, the subject of erecting public buildings for the county of Henry 
is being agitated in different parts of the county at this time ; and whereas, a 
majority of the people of the county are opposed to the erection of such build- 
ings, or any contract for the same, until the subject of the removal of the 
county seat shall have been fairly and fully canvassed by the people at the next 
annual election, and their wishes acted upon by the Legislature at its next ses- 
sion ; therefore, 

"Resolved, that the subject of erecting, contracting for or constructing pub- 
lic buildings for Henry county, be postponed until after the rising of the next 
General Assembly." 

The result of this agitation and discussion was in the determination of the 
commissioners to erect new buildings on the site of the old. Two town lots 
were, in December, 1849, donated by the proprietors of the town for the ad- 
ditional grounds required for this purpose. It was provided that the court- 
house and jail should be in one building, and that the county officials' quarters 
should be in another, separate from the first. The former to be two stories in 
height, and in dimensions, forty by sixty feet. The offices for county officials 
were to be in a building (fire-proof), twenty by sixty feet in size, and divided 
into four equal apartments. In January, 1850, the contract for these buildings 
was awarded to James Durbin, Achilles Smith and William Russell, at the price 
of $7,495.75. 

In due course of time these buildings were completed ; the combined court- 
house and jail, a plain brick structure, two stories high, built with reference 
to convenience and practical utility rather than ornamentation. It was never- 
theless a substantial and attractive appearing house of justice, and received much 
favorable commendation from visiting magistrates and layman of the legal fra- 



52 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

ternity. The apartments for the incarceration of offenders occupied the lower 
portion, which was protected on the sides by heavy stone-walls, while the 
court- room occupied the second story. The rooms for the jury and such of 
the officers as were required to have offices in the building, were situated in 
convenient parts and well ordered. 

This building answered well the needs of the county for many years, but^ 
like its predecessor, was doomed to fall a victim to the ravages of the fiery 
fiend. On the night of the 8th of November, 1879, a fire broke out in what 
the residents were pleased to designate as "Dutch Row," which soon commu- 
nicated to the adjoining buildings, and ended in a sweeping and disastrous con- 
flagration. The court-house " caught fire " from the burning buildings and 
it was soon a mass of ruin and debris. Henry county was again without a 
court-house. Fortunately, none of the records of the county were destroyed^ 
they being saved before fire could reach their place of keeping. 

On the 25th of March, 1880, the commissioners entered into a contract 
with Jacob Karst and William Woodruff for the erection of the new and ele- 
gant court-house, an ornament to the village of Napoleon and an honor to the 
county. The contract price for its construction was $79,825, and added to 
this the cost of furnishing, made its aggregate cost about $95,000. At the same 
time and in the same contract these parties were awarded the work of build- 
ing the present jail and sherift^'s residence, at the price of $20,000. The jail 
was completed during the latter part of the year 1880, but the court-house 
was not finished until the early months of the year 1882. During its building 
Beckmann Hall was used for county and court purposes. Fulton county un- 
doubtedly has the finest court-house in northwestern Ohio. It stands on an 
elevated tract of land at the corner of Perry and Washington streets, from each 
of which avenues there is an entrance. The building is of brick with heavy 
and finely cut Berea sandstone trimmings. Its height, including basement 
and mansard roof, is four stories. In the central part and rising to a height of 
about one hundred and fifty feet from the ground, is a well built square tower, 
surmounted by a figure of justice. Beneath the figure and in the upper part of 
the tower is a four-dial clock. The interior of the building is admirably ar- 
ranged, the main floor containing the most important of the county officers'' 
apartments. The prosecuting attorney, sheriff" and clerk have offices on the up- 
per floor, on which, also, is the spacious and well arranged court-room, while the 
county surveyor, infirmary directors and janitor have offices in the basement. 

In rear of the court-house, and fronting on Washington street is the sub- 
stantial and secure jail, connected with which is a comfortable sheriff's resi- 
dence. 

These public buildings will stand a lasting monument to the generosity and 
public- spiritedness of the people of Henry county, and in this age of progress 
and elaboration they can point with pardonable pride to this magnificent 
structure that bears favorable comparison with any in the State. 



Henry County. 53 



Having reviewed the leading events in connection with the erection of the 
county, and have furnished a record of its several public buildings, it is fully- 
proper that this chapter should close with a roster of the persons who have been 
in charge of the several departments of its civil government ; but owing to the 
destruction of the records at the time of the first fire, in 1 847, and the loss of many 
since, it is impossible to furnish a complete and civil list of the county from 
the date of its complete erection. In fact, the list here given from 1852 down 
to a very recent date, is taken from the files of the North- West, the leading 
newspaper of the county. To attempt to give a list of the officers prior to 
1853, would involve the statistician in a mass of inaccuracies, as all information 
would necessarily be based upon the memory of man, which, at best is unre- 
liable. The first officers of the county are mentioned in the early part of this 
chapter. The following record contains the names of county officers who were 
elected at the time indicated by the \-ear given in each case, and will be found 
to be reliable. 

In the year 1852, those holding office under the county government were 
as follows: Probate judge, Harvey Allen; clerk of the courts, A. H. Tyler; 
auditor, William J. Jackson ; sheriff, Daniel Yarnell ; treasurer, George Steb- 
bins ; prosecuting attorney, Edward Sheffield ; recorder, A. Craig ; county 
surveyor, Paul P. Doud ; county commissioners, David Harley, D. F. Welsted, 
Charles Hornung. 

Elected in 1852, sheriff, Henry N. Low; commissioner, Matthew Reid; cor- 
oner, David Leist. 

1853. County auditor, Edward Sheffield; treasurer, Daniel Yarnell ; re- 
corder, Rensselaer Hudson; commissioner, John Hamler; prosecuting attorney. 
Justin H. Tyler ; coroner, Abel Montgomery. 

1854. Probate judge, Harvey Allen; clerk, Asa H. Tyler; sheriff, Henry 
N. Low^ ; commissioner, Ward Woodward; surveyor, W. II. Brownell. 

1855. Auditor, Edward Sheffield; treasurer, Daniel Yarnell; commissioner, 
Matthew Reid ; prosecuting attorney, Justin H. Tyler. 

1856. Sheriff, C. R. McWilliams ; recorder, Rensselaer Hudson; commis- 
sioner, John Hamler. 

1857. Probate judge, T. S. C. Morrison; clerk, D. M. McCann ; auditor, 
J. E. Cowdrick; treasurer, H. D. Taylor ; prosecuting attorney, W. A. Choate; 
commissioner, George Crawford; surveyor, Charles Hornung; coroner, Mi- 
chael Neff. 

1858. Sheriff, C. R. McWilliams; coroner, John Powell. 

1859. Auditor, James E. Cowdrick; treasurer, H. D. Taylor; recorder, 
Thomas Yarnell ; prosecuting attorney, William A. Choate ; commissioner, 
Levi Spangler ; coroner, Reuben Reiter. 

i860. Probate judge, T. S. C. Morrison; clerk, Thomas W. Durbin ; sheriff, 
John P. Rowan ; commissioner, George Crawford ; surveyor, Levi Coffman. 



54 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

1 86 1. The records for this year are missing, yet James A. Parker was pros- 
ecuting attorney, and Augustin Pilloid treasurer. 

1862. Sheriff, John P. Rowan; recorder, Wilham F. Daggett; commis- 
sioner, Levi Spangler ; coroner, Edward Lingle ; surveyor, Strong. 

1863. Probate judge, T. S. C. Morrison; auditor, Rensselaer Hudson; treas- 
urer, Augustin Pilloid ; clerk, Charles Reiter ; prosecuting attorney, James A. 
Parker; commissioner, John C. McLain ; surveyor, Samuel L. Adams. 

1864. Probate judge, John M. Haag ; sheriff, Oscar E. Barnes; commis- 
sioner, Harrison Hudson ; coroner, Edward Lingle. 

1865. Prosecuting attorney, James A. Parker; auditor, B. F. Stout; treas- 
urer, C. R. McWilliams; recorder, W. F. Daggett; commissioner, Henry Schall. 

1866. Probate judge, John M. Haag; clerk, Charles Reiter; sheriff, Oscar 

E. Barnes ; commissioner, John C. McLain ; surveyor, James C. Crawford ; 
coroner, Jacob Diemer. 

1867. Auditor, B. F. Stout; treasurer, W. A. Tressler ; prosecuting attor- 
ney, J. L. Robertson ; commissioner, H. Hudson. 

1868. Sheriff, John C. Jaqua ; recorder, J. F. Hoskinson ; commissioner, 
Henry Schall ; coroner, Jacob Diemer. 

1869. Probate judge, James G. Haly ; clerk, Oscar E. Barnes; auditor, 
Frederick Theek ; prosecuting attorney, J. L. Robertson ; treasurer, W. A. 
Tressler ; commissioner, Thomas W. Durbin ; surveyor, J. C. Crawford ; cor- 
oner, Henry Seeling. 

1870. Sheriff, Charles Reiter; commissioner, R. B. Calkins. 

1871. Prosecuting attorney, J. L. Robertson; treasurer, H. H. Van Fleet; 
recorder, R. P. Osborn; commissioner, A. J. Saygers; surveyor, Henry Kolbe; 
coroner, Henry Seeling. 

1872. Probate judge, James G. Haly; clerk, Oscar E. Barnes; auditor, J. 

F. Theek ; sheriff, George Daum ; commissioner, Tighlman Miller. 

1873. Treasurer, Henry H. Van Fleet ; prosecuting attorney, John L. Rob- 
ertson ; commissioner, John Powell ; coroner, Henry Seeling. 

1874. Auditor, W. F. Daggett ; sheriff, George Daum; recorder, R. P. Os- 
burn; prosecuting attorne}^ David Meekison ; commissioner, Charles Hornung; 
surveyor, Henry Kolbe. 

1875. Probate judge, James G. Haly; clerk, Oscar E. Barnes; treasurer, 
John C. McLain ; commissioner, Daniel Yarnell ; coroner, Henry Seeling. 

1876. Auditor, B. F. Stout; sheriff, D. W. Spangler; prosecuting attor- 
ney, David Meekison ; commissioner, Reuben Reiter. 

1877. Treasurer, John C. McLain; recorder, Daniel Hartnett ; commis- 
sioner, Charles Hornung ; surveyor, George Welsted ; coroner, Michael Neff. 

1878. Probate judge, James G. Haly; clerk, Oscar E. Barnes ; auditor, H. 
L. Ennes ; sheriff, George Daum ; prosecuting attorney, Martin Knupp; com- 
missioner, Daniel Yarnell. 



Henry County. 55 



1879. Treasurer, Charles H. Gidley ; commissioner, Reuben Reiter ; cor- 
oner, Dr. Henry Woesterfcldt. 

1880. Sheriff, George Daum ; prosecuting attorney, Martin Knupp; re- 
corder, Daniel Hartnett ; commissioner, W. H. Booher ; surveyor, D. V. Hud- 
son. 

1881. Probate judge, David Meekison ; clerk, Oscar E. Barnes; auditor, 
Charles Evers ; treasurer, Charles Gidley ; commissioner, Henry Rohrs; cor- 
oner, R. M. Cloud. 

1882. Sherift", Frederick AUer : prosecuting attorney, R. \V. Cahill ; com- 
missioner, James Connelly. 

1883. Treasurer, A. Pilliod ; recorder, Thomas W. Durbin ; commissioner, 
\V. H. Booher ; surveyor, D. P. Hudson ; coroner, R. M. Cloud. 

1884. Probate judge, David Meekison; clerk, James Donovan; sheriff, P'red- 
erick Aller ; auditor, Charles Evers ; commissioner, Henry Rohrs. 

1885. Treasurer, J. C. Waltemire; prosecuting attorney, R. W. Cahill; com- 
missioner, George Daum ; coroner, R. M. Cloud. 

1886. Sheriff, E. T. Barnes; recorder, Thomas \V. Durbin; commissioner, 
VV. N. Zierolf ; surveyor, Charles N. Schwab. 

The present officers of Henry county are as follows: Probate judge, David 
Meekison; treasurer, J. C. Waltemire; auditor, Charles Evers; clerk of the 
courts, James Donovan ; recorder, Thomas W. Durbin ; sheriff, Elbert T. 
Barnes ; prosecuting attorney, R. W. Cahill ; surveyor, Charles N. Schwab ; 
coroner, Conrad Bitzer ; county commissioners, George Daum, Henry Rohrs, 
William N. Zierolf; infirmary directors, Henry Bostleman, Kimball Rakestraw 
and Peter Schall. 



CHAPTER VHI. 

Historical Incidents and Localities Connected Avith Henry County— Simon Girty — A Tale of 
tlie Eady War — Logan's Fidelity Proved — The Black Swamp — Killing of Four Indians. 

THERE is, perhaps, no locality within the bounds of the State of Ohio that 
has been more rich with historic events, during the latter part of the past 
and the early part of the present century, than the valley of the Maumee River; 
and while the whole valley has been the scene of many a bloody tragedy, 
many a conflict at arms between contending hosts, there was enacted but com- 
paratively few scenes of strife and bloodshed within the borders of that which 
now constitutes the county of Henry. The early chapters of this volume have 
recounted the various events and incidents of the valley, and it does not be- 
come this chapter to furnish more than to such incidents as can be located ia 
their occurrence to this county. 



56 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

From the village of Napoleon up the Maumee, a distance of about five 
miles, is located what have been termed " Girty's Point," and " Girty's Island," 
so named and called from the fact of its having been the residence and place 
of refuge of Simon Girty, the renegade white savage, who, in his desire to be 
hke the Indians, by whom he was in boyhood adopted, and to imitate them 
in all their barbarous customs "out-Indianed" the savages themselves, and 
perpetrated acts of devilishness and inhuman cruelty upon white captives that 
would have brought a blush of shame upon the most depraved of the red men 
of the forest. 

The history of Simon Girty has been read by, and is familiar to every man, 
woman and child in the whole Maumee Valley, and all historians generally 
agree upon the facts of his life and deeds ; yet, of late years, in which there 
seems to be a general tendency to lessen the seriousness of past events, some 
writers have inclined to deal more moderately with Girty, and some have even 
gone so far as to intimate that he was "more sinned against than sinning," thus 
showing him and his character in the light of a martyr, rather than of the in- 
human, rapacious, merciless, and devilish cut-throat and villain that he was. 

There seems to have been a strong vein of inhuman and unnatural inclina- 
tion running throughout the whole Girty family; the father was given to the 
excessive use of intoxicants, to obtain which he was restrained by no influence; 
he had no loftier ambition than to get drunk, and usually found means to grat- 
ify it. He was abusive and heartless, possessed of no sense of manliness or 
even decency. His wife, too, formed improper associates, but for her there is 
a sentiment of charity and forgiveness. They had four sons, Thomas, Simon 
George and James. All of these, except Thomas, were taken by the Indians 
in Braddock's unfortunate campaign on the Pennsylvania frontier. Each was 
adopted by an Indian tribe, Simon, the subject of this sketch, by the Senecas, 
the most fierce of the tribes forming the Iroquois confederacy. 

One act of honor, however, must be credited to Simon Girty. He and 
Simon Kenton were scouts together during what was known as Dunmore's 
war, serving faithfully and efficiently under command of Lord Dunmore. Some 
years after this war Kenton was captured by the Indians, subjected to the most 
cruel torture, and finally condemned to death at the stake. About this time 
Girty, who was known among the savages as "Katepacomen," appeared, rec- 
ognized his friend and at once interceded in his behalf, but without avail ; for 
once the mighty influence of Katepacomen over his savage ^sociates had no 
force. Kenton, however, was not burned, but through the power of "Logan," 
he was transferred to another quarter, and subsequently managed to escape. 

It is not the purpose of this sketch to furnish a detail of the life of Simon 
Girty, but only to describe briefly the renegade, who, without friends, having 
antagonized the Indians and outraged the whites in every possible manner, 
found a place of refuge and concealment within the bounds of what is now 



Henry County. 57 



Henry county. It was not that a price was set upon the head of the renci^ade 
that he was sought, but there were many hardy, determined men, sulTcrers 
through the loss of friends and relations, at the hands of Girty, who had deter- 
mined upon vengeance. It was these men who wanted Simon Girty and 
made his later life one of misery and remorse, hunted like a deer, yet he es- 
caped them. 

Every part of the Northwest was well known to Girty, and in looking for 
a refuge of safety none more secure could be found than the famed " black 
swamp." It was in this, and opposite an island of some considerable e.xtcnt, 
on the bank of the Maumee. that the renegade fixed his temporar}' abocic. 
His cabin stood upon the bank of the river and here he lived, but in times of 
pursuit, for the scoundrel seemed to scent danger in the air, he would retire to 
the densely wooded island, where any attempt to find him was useless and 
only exposed the pursuers to the unerring aim of his deadly rifle. How long 
Girty remained in this place is not known accurately. Authorities seem to 
disagree and but few furnish information that can be relied upon on this point, 
and on th^ finale of Girty 's career as well. Some affirm that he died of the 
infirmities of age, while others assert that his end was tragic. It is of no great 
moment, however, as to what his life's ending was, and the cxent did not occur 
here. The place of his habitation on the river is, of course, entirely obliterated, 
and the island, too, is, in part, cleared and in a state of cultivation ; a portion, 
however, remains something as it was in the days of Girty, densely wooded 
and covered with a thick and almost impenetrable undergrowth. The whole 
locality is so changed now b)^ improvement and cultivation that were the ren- 
egade to return in person he would not recognize the place. A story is cur- 
rent that the ghost, or spirit, of Girty still haunts the island, and can be seen 
(but not interviewed) occasionally. Concerning this we may hope, charitably, 
that his spirit may find some respite from everlasting torment, and if it com- 
mits no greater offense than to occasionally visit the uncultivated part of the 
island, the quiet people of the vicinity will pardon such an intrusion. It is 
not thought, however, that an)- person will seriously maintain a belief that the 
redoubtable Simon still lingers about the place, even in spirit. 

It has been said that none of the tragic scenes of the war were enacted within 
the limits of Henry county, but rather that this country bordering on the river 
was only the thoroughfare of travel between more important points The .sev- 
eral Indian tribes living along the Maumee frequently passed up and down, as 
occasion prompted, either on errands of peace or war ; and it is true, too, that 
the army of General Wayne, and other forces of armed whites, passed through 
this locality. Wayne camped for a short time at the place formerly called 
" Prairie du Masque," but now known as " Damascus," yet there was no hostile 
meeting in these parts, unless verification be given the story as related and 
written by an old and respected resident of the country, whose annals this vol- 

8 



58 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

ume contains. The story, or legend, or tradition, whichever it may be, was 
written for one of the county papers, and from that it is wholly taken, except 
the name of the writer. The scene of the contest was on, or very near, the site 
of the village of Napoleon. 

It seems, as the story goes, that Logan's fidelity to the cause of the Amer- 
icans was seriously doubted by many persons, and the suspicion coming to the 
ears of that famous warrior, seriously mortified him, whereupon he determined 
to prove anew his loyalty and honor. 

Accordingly, on the 22d of November, 1812, accompanied by Captains 
John and Brighthorn, he started the second time for the Rapids, resolved to 
bring in a prisoner or scalp, or lose his own. Having proceeded down the 
north side of the Maumee about ten miles, the present site of Florida, they met 
a British ofificer — the eldest son of Captain Elliott — accompanied by Winne- 
mac, the celebrated Pottawattamie chief, and five Indians, four of them being 
on horseback and too strong for Logan's force, there being seven of the enemy 
to only three of his party. Seeing no chance of escape, Logan at once deter- 
mined to pass them under the pretense of friendship and a desire to communi- 
cate to the British certain information. With this determination he and his 
two men advanced to the party, and to the surprise of Logan he found one of 
them was his old enemy, VVinnemac, who knew Logan well, and fully aware 
of his friendship for and adherence to the American cause. But nevertheless 
Logan still persisted in his first course, telling them he was on his way to com- 
municate with the British. After a conversation with them for some time, 
they moved towards the British lines, wdiereupon VVinnemac and his com- 
panions turned and followed them, desiring to accompany them thither. As 
they traveled on together, says McCafifee, Winnemac and his party closely 
watched them, and when they had proceeded seven or eight miles to the 
mouth of a creek, which would bring them to a point between Trowbridge's 
stave factory and the river, as the old trail run at this point between the canal 
and river, Winnemac at this point proposed to the British officer that they 
seize Logan and his party and tie them. The officer replied that they were 
completely within his power, and that if they attempted to run the horses could 
easily run them down, or they could be shot. This conversation was over- 
heard by Logan. He previously intended to go on with them peaceably until 
night and then make his escape, but he now formed the bold design of extri- 
cating himself by a combat with more than double his number. 

Having signified this determination to his men, Logan commenced the at- 
tack by shooting down Winnemac himself The action lasted until they had 
fired three rounds apiece, during which time Logan and his brave companions 
drove the enemy nearly two miles, and separated them from their horses. By 
the first fire both Winnemac and Elliot fell ; by the second a young Ottawa 
chief lost his life, and another of the enemy was mortally wounded. About 



Henry County. 59 



the conclusion of the combat, which must have been on or near the farm now- 
owned by George Patrick, at which time Logan himself, while stooping down, 
receixed a ball just below the breast bone. It ranged downward and lodged 
under the skin on his back. In the mean time l^righthorn was also wounded 
by a ball that passed through his thigh. Another of the enemy also bit the 
dust at this time. As soon as Logan was wounded he ordered a retreat. Both 
he and Brighthorn jumped on horses of the enemy, and both rode to Winches- 
ter's camp at Defiance, a distance of about twenty miles, in five hours. Cap- 
tain John, after taking the scalp of the Ottawa chief, also retreated in safety 
and arrived in Defiance the next morning. 

Logan had now vindicated his character as a brave and faithful soldier and 
friend to the American cause from the obloquy which had been unjustly 
thrown upon him ; but he preserved his honor at the expense of the next best 
gift of heaven — his life. His wound proved mortal. He lived days in agonyi 
which he bore with uncommon fortitude, and died with the utmost composure 
and resignation. More firmness and consummate bravery has seldom ap- 
peared on the military theatre. Said Winchester in his letter to the command- 
ing general : "He was buried with all the honor due to his rank, and with 
sorrow as sincerely displa\'ed as I ever witnessed." Said Major Aardin in a 
letter to Governor Shelly : " His physiognomy was formed on the best model, 
and exhibited the strongest marks of courage, good humor and sinceritw" It 
was said by the Indians that the British offered one hundred and fifty dollars 
for his scalp. He had been very serviceable to our cause by acting as a guide 
and spy. He had gone with (jeneral Hull to Detroit, and with the first Ken- 
tucky troops who marched to the relief ot Fort Wayne. 

The foregoing story will not, in all respects, accord with the life and death 
of Logan, as it has been written by historians of recognized ability and re- 
search, nor will it fully harmonize, in some particulars, with statements made 
in this work relating to the Indian occupation and events of the territory un- 
der consideration; yet on the whole, the story is a good one and worthy of a 
place in these annals, and an earnest desire to portray the facts and incidents, 
and all of them, of the territory treated, impels its reproduction here. 

TJie Black Swamp. — Here was, many years ago, an extensive tr.ict of land, 
lying in part within the county of Henr)-. It has its history, and like all other 
parts of this comparatively new country, that history has been made in its 
transformation from swamp lands into broad and well culti\ated fields, no bet- 
ter than which lies within the State of Ohio. 

In the \-ear 1846, when this county was in a comparatively unimpro\'ed 
condition, Henry Howe, with assistants, made a tour of the State, gathering 
data for his "Historical Collections" of Ohio. In his journeyings Mr. Howe 
visited the famous "Black Swamp," and at a tmie when the same existed in 
its "full force and virtue." In describing it in his sketch of Henry county, he 



6o History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

says: "A greater part of this county is covered by the famous 'Black Swamp.' 
This tract reaches over an extent of country of one hundred and twenty miles 
in length, with an average breadth of forty miles, about equaling, in area, the 
State of Connecticut. It is, at present, thinly settled and has a population of 
about fifty thousand; but probably in less than a century, when it shall be 
cleared and drained, it will be the garden of Ohio, and support half a million 
of people. The surface is generally high and level, and sustains a dense 
growth of forest trees, among which beech, ash, elm and oak, cotton-wood, 
and poplar most abound. The branches and foliage of this magnificent forest 
are almost impenetrable to the rays of the sun, and its gloomy silence remained 
unbroken until disturbed by the restless emigrants of the west. It is an inter- 
esting country to travel through. The perfect uniformity of the soil, the level 
surface of the ground alike retaining and alike absorbing water, has given to the 
forest a homogeneous character; the trees are all generally of the same height, 
so that when viewed at a distance through the haze, the forests appear like an 
immense blue wall stretched across the horizon. It is yet the abode of wild 
animals: flocks of deer are occasionally seen bounding through its labyrinths, 
flowers and flowering shrubs bloom in its midst and beautiful birds make it 
vocal with melody. 

"Throughout the swamp, a mile or two apart, are slight ridges of limestone, 
from forty rods to a mile wide, running usually in a westerly direction, and 
covered with black walnut, butternut, red elm and maple. The top soil of the 
swamp is about a foot thick and composed of black, decayed, vegetable matter, 
extremely fertile. Beneath this and extending several feet, is a rich, yellow 
clay having large quantities of fertilizing substances of lime and silex. Lower 
still is a stratum of black clay of great depth. The water of the swamp is un- 
pleasant to the taste from containing a large quantity of sulphur; it is, how- 
ever, healthy and peculiarly beneficial to persons of a costive habit, or having 
diseases of the blood. The soil is excellent for grain and almost all produc- 
tions." 

Such, then, was tiie " Black Swamp," forty and more years ago. It is true, 
as the historian states, that it covered a major portion of Henry county, but 
from its vast extent, this county lay on the margin of the swamp, the Maumee 
being practically its northern boundary. It is frequently understood that the 
swamp occupied the territory on both sides of the river, but this theory seems 
hardly well founded. The lands generally throughout the county were, be- 
fore being drained, swampy or marshy, and the soil in many places partook of 
the peculiar distinguishing character of the swamp lands proper, but they 
formed no part of what has properly been termed the "Black Swamp." The 
speculations, too, of the worthy historian have proved true, wherein he says : 
"But probably in less than a century, when it shall be cleared and drained, it 
will be the garden of Ohio." There is to-day no more fertile land, or more 



Henry County. 6i 



productive land within the State than can be found within tlie old " Hlack 
Swamp." While its fertility was quite well known during the earl}' da}'s of 
the county, there were but few of the pioneers that had the hardihood to at- 
tempt the development of it; its locality was exceedingly unhealthy and it 
abounded in agues and fevers and other kindred diseases. For these reasons 
the development of this section was delayed and the struggling pioneer sought 
other lands which were less difficult of improvement, and wherein health and 
life were not endangered. 

It was in the year 1835, soon after the civil organization of the county 
was completed and its officers chosen, that one Brown was charged with hav- 
ing murdered an Indian. The culprit was arraigned before "Squire" Strong, 
but for a lack of evidence sufficient to hold him, he was discharged. He im- 
mediately left the vicinity, fearing that the companions of the Indian would 
enforce the law according to their own "primitive custom." 

It was but a short time after the event just narrated happened, that three 
Wyandot Indians were found murdered in the south part of the county, whither 
they had come to hunt and trap game. Two young men named Lyons and 
Anderson were arrested and charged with the crime. They stoutly protested 
innocence, however, but were confined in the old log jail awaiting trial. They 
managed to escape and made themselves scarce in these parts. One was sub- 
sequently re-captured, tried and acquitted. The Indians were quite inoffen- 
sive creatures, named Summadewat, Canwaan and Nancy, the wife of Canwaan. 
One of them was a minister of the gospel among the Wyandot Indians. 



62 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 



CHAPTER IX. 

A GENERAL TOPOGRAPHICAL AND GEOGRAPHICAL VIEW OF HENRY 
COUNTY; ITS CIVIL DIVISIONS. 

HENRY county occupies a position in that portion of the State of Ohio, 
that is generally termed the Northwest, and in northwestern Ohio its 
position is nearly central ; it is removed but the width of a single county, Ful- 
ton, from the Michigan State line on the north, and but a single tier of coun- 
ties intervene between its west boundary and the State of Indiana. It is 
bounded on the north by Fulton, east by Wood, south by Putnam, and west 
by Defiance county. The county seat. Napoleon, is of latitude north forty- 
one degrees and twenty- two minutes, and longitude west eighty-four degrees 
and seven minutes. 

The geographical location, in the county, of the county-seat is in the 
northwest part, perhaps some eight or ten miles from the central part of the 
county, and was established by the commissioners appointed by the Legislature, 
at variance with the usual custom of locating the seat of justice as near as pos- 
sible to the geographical center of the county. But in justice to the worthy 
commissioners who fixed the county seat, it must be said that their duties were 
as faithfully and conscientiously performed as could be done. The county 
seat must be situate on the beautiful and historic Maumee, and no more avail- 
able, appropriate, or central location could be designated than the then little 
settlement in Napoleon township. The commissioners couid not, of course, 
foresee the reduction of the county's territory in the erection of Defiance and 
Fulton counties, but by these formations, and the surrender of Henry county's 
territory for them, the county seat was left in a position still further removed 
from the geographical center of the county, as now constituted. 

As originally laid out by the act of the Legislature creating it, the county 
was embraced in a substantially square, solid block of land, containing near 
five hundred and seventy-five square miles of territory ; but the erection of 
Defiance county took three townships from the west side, or some one hundred 
and eight square miles, leaving to the county its extreme northwest township, 
Ridgeville, projecting westward from this, between the counties of Defiance 
and Fulton. 

Again, in the erection of Fulton county, Henry was called upon to yield 
her lands therefor, and, although no whole townships were taken, the town- 
ships of Ridgeville, Freedom, Liberty and Washington lost each at least eight 
square miles, or a total of thirty- two. It is not deemed necessary for the pur- 



Henry County. 63 



poses of this chapter to recite the erection of Lucas county, and a description 
of the lands of this county that were taken therefor. 

By far the most important of the natural characteristics, or features of 
Henry county, is the presence and existence of the Maumee River. This 
stream enters the county from the west, at a point abont two miles south of 
the boundary line, between the townships of Flatrock and Napoleon, thence 
it flows in a course generally east by north, until section two, of Flatrock town- 
ship is reached, at which point the course of the river bears north with a slight 
inclination west, and so holds for a distance of about three miles, when it bears 
to the northeast, and passes from Napoleon lownship into the northern part of 
Harrison, which it crosses in a generally east direction, until Damascus town- 
ship is reached. Its course across the latter is also about due east, with a 
slight bend in the vicinity of Texas; and it leaves the county at the northeast 
part of the last named township, nearly between sections one and twelve. On 
the north side of the river and bearing substantially the same course, is the 
Miami and Erie Canal ; and, while the latter is by no means one of the natural 
characteristics of the county, it is, nevertheless, an important factor in connec- 
tion with the drainage system of the county. This canal was projected dur- 
ing the " thirties ; " the contracts for construction, in this neighborhood, at 
least, were let in or about the year 1837, ^^^ the highway proper was not 
opened for traffic until the year 1843. Old settlers, who have watched the 
events of the past, will recall this memorable occasion, upon which Lewis Cass 
made the opening address. The event, however, did not take place within this 
county or State, but in the State of Indiana, on the west. 

In addition to the utility of the canal as a thoroughfare for boat navigation, 
and as a receptacle for drainage water in many parts of the county, its waters 
also are utilized as a source of powers for many mills and manufactories in the 
county that are situate between it and the river. That, by drawing off of this 
water for mill and factory purposes, the supply for regular navigation purposes 
may not be exhausted, the river has been dammed at convenient points, and 
its water used to replenish and keep up the canal supply, which process and 
erection necessary for the purpose are termed as "feeders." 

In the county, on the north side of the river, the canal receives nearly all 
of the drainage water, both natural and artificial, while on the south side the 
river alone carries off the surplus. None, however, of the streams of the 
county, except the river, is of any considerable magnitude, and few, if any, 
can be relied upon to furnish power at any time except during the winter and 
early spring; for this reason, therefore, there are found no water-mills away 
from the channel of the Maumee. 

Another of the natural characteristics of Henry county (now a thing of 
the past) was the existence of the famous Black Swamp, which originally cov- 



64 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

ered the larger part of the county's area, and struck terror to the heart ot the 
early pioneer. The vast body of land that was formerly a part of this swamp, 
is now^ counted among the richest and most productive farming lands to be 
found within the borders of the county. Being the subject of special mention 
in another chapter of this work, no repetition of it is here needed. 

In the year 1820, by an act of the State Legislature, the count)' of Henry 
was given a life. At that time, and for several years afterward, there were but 
very few residents within its borders, as defined by the act. For the purpose 
of perfecting some system of organization, and exercising some sort of civil 
jurisdiction over it, it was, with other counties, consolidated, thereby including 
a sufficient population within the whole of them to warrant municipal control 
subordinate to the civil control of the State. 

In the year 1821 the county was surveyed and townships established, not 
however, established, or formed to the extent of having a local civil organi- 
zation, but in accordance with the necessity and order for sub-division into 
convenient bodies of land for purposes of designation, and in contemplation of 
future settlement, growth, and development. In the year 1823 the county 
entire was organized into a township, or election district, and called Damascus. 
There has been, and still is, some speculation as to the origin, or derivation of 
the name Damascus, as applied in this connection. There did exist, at a 
point down the river some miles, many years ago, a trading post, or village, 
known by the French name of "Prairie du Mask," or " Prairie du ^klasque," and 
it is thought, and with much show of reason, that the prefix word "Prairie" had 
been dropped, and the remainder corrupted, or transformed into the name Da- 
mascus, changing its original character entirely and adding the last syllable to 
give euphony. However this may be, it is a question quite impossible to 
solve at this day, as difficult at least as it is to determine why the county seat 
was named " Napoleon." In regard to each of these, and the reason of it we 
must be content with the old and familiar saying : " It was done because it 
was done, and that's the end on't." 

In the year 1835, by virtue of an act of the Legislature, passed at the last 
preceding session, the civil organization of Henry county was perfected, and 
from that time dates the separate organization of her several townships, al- 
though they were not so organized at the same time. It seems, unfortunately, 
that in the disastrous fire of 1847, the court-house, together with all the 
county records, was destroyed, and with that loss was also destroyed the posi- 
tion and exact date of the formation of the several townships previously erected, 
leaving only the imperfect township records, and the " memory of man " to be 
relied upon. The former have, to say the least, been carelessly kept, in most 
instances, thus placing them on the same level with the memory of man, not 
confidently to be relied upon. Such records, however, as have been preserved 



Henry County. 65 



concerning the formation of the townships, and dates thereof, will be found in 
connection with the history of each, which appears elsewhere in this volume. 

There are, in Henry county, thirteen separate township organizations, each 
of which, with the exception of the four constituting the north tier, contains, or 
at their original survey did contain, thirty- six square miles (sections) of land. 
The four townships excepted from the above statement are Ridgeville, Free- 
dom, Liberty and Washington. Liberty and Washington, however, since their 
original survey, have been extended so as to embrace all the land lying be- 
tween their then south boundary and the Maumee River, h^or this extension 
the townships of Harrison and Damascus surrendered territory, the former to 
Libert}-, and the latter to Washington. 

The several townships of the county, naming them promiscuousl}', arc as 
follows: Ridgeville, Freedom, Liberty, Washington, Napoleon, Harrison, Da- 
mascus, Flat Rock, Monroe, Richfield, Pleasant, Marion and Bartlow, concern- 
ing each of which a detailed chapter will be found elsewhere in this work. 



CHAPTER X. 
GEOLOGY OF HEXRY COUNTY. 

BEFORE speaking of the geology of Henry county, it will be well to give a 
short sketch of the general geological conditions of the Maumee Valley. 

Mannice Valley. — The latest open sea that covered the valley of the Mau- 
mee was that of the Devonian age, and the highest grade of fossils that were 
found in its rocks are those of fishes. The Carboniferous age being above the 
Devonian, it is then useless to look for coal in the valley. 

After the Devonian age came the Glacial epoch with its mighty glaciers, 
that extended from the pole to Southern Ohio, covering Northwestern Ohio 
many hundreds of feet deep in ice, which was not in a state of rest, but went 
plowing with resistless force across the country, scooping out the beds of the 
great lakes, grinding off the surface of the rocks, reducing them to powder 
and scattering the debris over the bare rocks, covering- them up, and thus 
laying the foundation of soil upon which vegetation could grow, and air- 
breathing animals could live. The marks upon the rocks show that the 
general course of the glacial flow was up the valley in a general southwestern 
direction. There is a continuous ridge along the eastern banks of the St. Jo- 
9 



66 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

seph and St. Mary's rivers, which marks the point at which a change of cHmate 
took place. The glacial stream was arrested and a deposit of boulders, sand 
and gravel was made. During the melting of this large body of ice there were 
great floods of water, which could not be discharged in the direction of Lake 
Erie, as the space was covered with ice many hundreds of feet in thickness. 
This water was, therefore, discharged through what is now known as the 
Wabash Valley, into the Mississippi and the Gulf This great flow of water 
dug out the present bed of the Wabash River, which is now an unimportant 
stream, yet the width and depth of the valley shows that it was once the bed 
of a mighty river. 

After the melting of the ice the Maumee Valley was covered with an im- 
mense lake, having its western shore at the ridge just mentioned. This lake 
remained for ages a quiet sea of fresh water, and with its deposits of fine clay 
covered up the scars left by the ice, and left a smooth plain covered with a 
material in itself rich in plant food, which, owing to its tenacity formed the best 
possible basis for the remarkably fertile soil which now covers it. 

After a long period of time another ridge was formed near to and parallel 
with the first ridge, which had a height of 220 feet above the present surface 
of the lake. This second ridge had an elevation of 195 feet. Again after a 
long lapse of time, the third ridge was formed, parallel with the two others, at 
an elevation above the lake of 170 feet. This ridge is known as the Belmore 
Ridge, and enters Henry county at Freedom Mills post-office, passing through 
Ridgeville Corners, and crossing the Maumee River at Independence, in De- 
fiance county. This ridge, after crossing the river, passes through Pleasant 
township, and also Marion township, in Henry county, near the villages of New 
Bavaria and Richland. This is a low sandy ridge, generally but a few rods 
wide, and only four or five feet high. The fourth beach is marked by a sandy 
territory reaching from Sylvania, in Lucas county, to a point a few miles below 
Napoleon, and lies north of the Maumee River. This tract, though not re- 
markable for its fertility, contains a mine of wealth, inasmuch as it furnishes an 
inexhaustible supply of the best quality of glass sand. It is now being shipped 
in immense quantities from Sylvania and Monclova, in Lucas county, for that 
purpose. The shipping of the sand has received a great impetus since the dis- 
covery of natural gas. Large glass manufactories will soon be established on 
this beach and will be supplied with gas by piping, and the shipping of the 
sand saved. 

This beach has an elevation of from sixty to ninety feet. The fifth beach 
constitutes the present shore of the lake. 

If present conditions continue, it is only a question of time when Lake Erie 
will disappear, and in its valley there will flow an immense river, which will 
carry the waters of the Great Lakes, that now flow through and constitute Lake 



Henry County. ej 



Erie. Niagara Falls has already worn its way from Lewiston to its present 
location. This wearing away of the barrier will continue until Lake Erie is 
tapped at or near Buffalo, when Lake Erie will be a thing of the past, and the 
space now occupied by its shallow waters, will be a fertile plain, supporting an 
immense population. 

At no distant date northwestern Ohio (of which the Maumee Valley consti- 
tutes the greater portion), owing to its late discoveries of gas and oil, will be 
called upon to support a denser population than any other portion of the con- 
tinent of equal area. The great agricultural resources of this region will enable 
it to comply with this demand of the future. 

Di'ainage. — The drainage of the Maumee Vallex^ is towards the Maumee 
River and Lake Erie ; that on the north side of the river is southeast, while 
that on the south side is towards the northeast. A peculiar feature of the 
drainage of the valley is that the St. Joseph River, which, uniting with the 
Au Glaize at Defiance, forms the Maumee River, receives all its important 
tributaries from its right bank. This is also true of Bean Creek, the waters 
from the left bank flowing away from these streams. This is reversed on the 
south side of the Maumee, the Au Glaize receiving all its important tributaries 
from the left bank. The Wabash takes its rise near the edge of the Maumee 
Valley, and receives its tributaries from its left bank, the water from near the 
right bank flowing into the Au Glaize. 

Henry County. — Henry county lies very near the center of the famous 
Black Swamp. The Maumee River divides it very nearly in the center. Its 
area aggregates two hundred and sixty-two thousand one hundred and six- 
acres of land. The average assessed value of this land in i88o was $12.78. 
An assessment made at this time (1887) would place it at from sixteen to 
twenty dollars per acre. 

The general character of the drainage of the county is that of the Maumee 
Valle}'. Several small streams empty into the Maumee from its northern side, 
while but one of importance, the South Fork of Turkey Foot, flows into it 
from its southern side. The southeastern portion of the county is drained by 
the Portage River and Beaver Creek, which unite and empty into Lake Erie 
at Port Clinton, in Ottawa county, Ohio. 

The county is an even prairie, having few undulations, except those made 
b\- the washing of the streams. The amount of fall is from four to six feet to 
the mile, giving all the fall needed for effectual drainage, if done with a reason- 
able amount of engineering skill. 

The rock exposures of the county are confined to the bed and banks of 
the Maumee. Near Florida, in Flat Rock township, there are exposures of 
the Huron shales and the Hamilton Group. In the lower portion of the for- 
mer there is a strata of black limestone, which is very hard, and makes a good 



68 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

quality of water-lime. In the effort to find gas, a well was bored in 1886 in 
Napoleon. The following strata were passed through by the drill, viz. : Forty 
feet of clay, under which there was found eight feet of sand and gravel, which 
furnished an abundant supply of pure water, making forty-eight feet of drift. 
Then followed Huron shale, a portion of which was hard black limestone, 
sixty-five feet. Then followed the Upper Helderberg limestone, one hundred 
feet deep. Beneath this was six hundred feet of the Lower Helderberg lime- 
stones ; Niagara limestone, two hundred and twelve feet ; Clinton limestone, 
ninety-five feet ; Medina and Hudson River shales, three hundred and sixty 
feet; Utica shales, three hundred feet. Underneath this there lies an un- 
known depth of Trenton limestones. No strata of sandstone was found in the 
well. 

At a depth of seventy- five feet a strong stream of sulphur water was found, 
which rises to within a few feet of the top. Several other streams were found, 
the last at a depth of one thousand feet. The surface of the ground at the well 
is six hundred and sixty-seven feet above the level of the sea. 

Another well is being bored one- half mile north of well No. i, which be- 
gins at six hundred and fifty-four feet above tide. The present depth (Sep- 
tember 3, 1887) is one thousand, five hundred and eighty-two feet. The 
strata passed through are very similar to No. i, meeting the different strata at 
somewhat less depth. In well No. 2 a very strong stream of sulphur water was 
found at a depth of two hundred and fifty feet, which flows with a powerful 
stream from the top of the well. Another well was bored in Napoleon some 
years ago, and also one in the village of Texas, about ten miles below, on the 
river. No record of the geology of these wells was kept. All of these wells 
furnish an abundant supply of valuable water for medicinal purposes, and are 
thronged with persons seeking their curative properties. 

Drainage. — The character of the drift in Henry county makes thorough 
and deep drainage an absolute necessity — without it, the best results in the 
production of crops cannot possibly be attained. 

The surface being very level, and the underlying clay very retentive of 
moisture, the natural condition of the soil in a wet season is wet and cold, 
producing poor crops. In a dry season the ground is hard and dry, so that 
the roots of crops cannot penetrate deeply enough to reach moisture, and again 
a short crop results. But this difficulty can be overcome through tile drain- 
age to the average depth of four feet. The soil is warmed and pulverized to 
the depth of the tile, and i's prepared for planting at least ten days earlier in 
the spring, and the soil is kept warm and free from frost, at least ten days 
longer in the fall, thus adding about three weeks to the growing season. This 
gives abundant time for any crop to mature that is suitable to this latitude. 

Deep drainage is at once a safeguard against too great an amount of rain, 



Henry County. 69 



and also against too little. This may appear strange, yet it is true. Air is 
admitted to the depth of the tile, and forms a constant circulation through the 
ground. If the tile is placed at the depth of four feet, it insures the cooling of 
the air below the dew point. The result of this is, tliat the moisture that it 
always in the air, even in the driest time, will be deposited in the soil that sur- 
rounds the tile. If you dig down to the tile, you will find the soil and tile 
moist and cool, and you will find that the roots of the clover, timothy, wheat 
or corn, have reached down to the moist earth, and their growth shows clearly 
that they have not suffered from drouth, while on undrained land the surface 
soil is entirely exhausted of moisture, and the underlying clay is baked so hard 
that the roots cannot penetrate it. A failure of the crop results. Suppose the 
tile is laid at a depth of thirty inches — this will insure a crop in a wet season. 
Let us see how it will work in a dry one. The air enters the tile just as freely 
when thirty inches deep as when four feet deep ; but in the former case the 
earth is warmed to a depth of thirty inches or more, and the air is not cooled 
below the dew-point, and consequently does not deposit its moisture, therefore 
no benefit results; on the other hand it may be a damage, as the warm air in 
passing through the soil will carry along'with it what little moisture there is in 
the soil. This is not mere theory, but has long been a demonstrated fact, and 
is thoroughly consistent with scientific principles. The difference then between 
a deeply drained soil and a shallow drained or an entirely undrained soil, is the 
exact difference between success and failure in a series of years. 

The latitude of Napoleon, the county seat, is N. 41 ° 22'. The longitude 
is W. 84^ 7'. 

Areas of low barometer are mostly formed west of the Mississippi River ; 
are somewhat elliptical in shape and pass across the country in a direction some- 
what north of east, passing out of the country, a majority of them, along the line 
of the St. Lawrence River. The centers of these low areas usually pass north 
of Toledo, but a small per cent, of them passing south of that point. Now it 
is a well established law of tornadoes, that they almost invariably occur in the 
southeastern quadrant of the storm or low areas. This accounts for the fact 
that we so seldom suffer from these terrible visitations, as we are too far north 
for this storm area; while tornadoes are common, and very destructive to life 
and property, in Central and Southern Ohio, we are seldom seriously affected. 

The annual temperature of this county is between 50 and 52 degrees Fah- 
renheit, and the rainfall from thirty-six to thirty- eigljt inches, giving all the 
climatic conditions needed for the best results in agriculture. The extremes 
of temperature are about 100^ in summer, and 20^ below zero in winter. 

The advantages of Henry county, are a remarkably fertile soil, a favorable 
climate, and freedom from epidemic diseases. Therefore, nothing but ignorance 
and want of enterprise can hinder her from taking her place as one of the most 
prosperous counties of the State. 



70 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

Gas. — Up to this date (Sept. 5, 1887) no high pressure gas has been found 
in the county. The Huron shale is the surface rock in the northwestern por- 
tion of tiie county ; this disappears a short distance south of the Maumee 
River. When digging a well on the fair ground in the southern part of the 
corporate limits of Napoleon, low pressure gas was found near the surface of 
the Huron shale, sufficient in quantity to heat and hght a large dwelling. In 
many places gas been found when searching for water ; sometimes in consid- 
erable quantities. 

In the northwestern part of the county, low pressure gas could be found in 
a great many places in sufficient quantities to warm and light one or more 
dwellings, and possibly furnish power for some light machinery. All that is 
required is a small amount of money, and some enterprise. If some enterprising 
farmer sets the example, others will soon follow. Owing to the fact that the gas 
is found in the surface rock, high pressure gas need not be looked for in that 
strata. In order to have high pressure gas, a solid cover of rock must overlie 
the stratum that contains the gas, to prevent its easy escape. Gas springs are 
very common in this part of the county. It is, therefore, believed by many 
that gas may be found at such places,' by deep boring. This reasoning is fal- 
lacious. The gas from the gas springs escapes from the surface rock, because it 
has nothing to confine it. Gas is always found near the surface of the rock 
that contains it, and is no indication that deeper lying rocks also contain it. 



CHAPTER XL 



The Title.s to Lands of Ohio — Original Claimants — Extinguishment of Indian Titles — Sur- 
veys in this Region. 

THE territory that now constitutes the S.tate of Ohio was first of all in the 
full possession of the race of Mound-builders; afterwards, but still in the 
pre-historic age, its sole occupants and owners for some centuries were un- 
questionably those Indian tribes who are found already mentioned in this vol- 
ume. They, as well as the Mound-builders, held titles acquired by priority of 
discovery, by conquest, by occupancy or possession. 

Various historians of accredited veracity and research state that the adven- 
turous La Salle, in 1670, accompanied by a {^w heroic followers, passed from 
Lake Erie south, over the Portage into the Allegheny River, perhaps by way 
of one of its numerous tributaries, and from thence down into the Ohio, which, 
they descended as far as the falls on that river (at Louisville), and that they 
were therefore the first of European birth to enter upon the soil of Ohio. 



Henry County. 71 



In 1679 the intrepid La Salle, with a party of some thirty or more French- 
men sailed along the entire length of the southern shore of Lake Erie in the 
Griffin, a small vessel of about sixty tons burthen. Again, three years later, 
1682, the same voyager descended the Illinois and Mississippi Rivers, the latter 
to its mouth ; and in 1684 he sailed along the Gulf of Mexico, past the mouth of 
the Mississippi, to a point in Texas, and landing there became its discoverer. 
These facts are noted for the reason that upon these voyages of discovery, re- 
inforced with the provisions of some European treaties, that France laid her 
claim of title to the whole territory north-west of the Ohio River. 

France not onU' asserted ownership anJ held possession of the territory 
that now constitutes Ohio, from the time of the treaty of Utrecht, in 17 13, until 
the treaty of Paris, in 1763, by which peace was established between France 
and England, but she also exercised authority and maintained control over it 
by military force, and this, too, in defiance of titles set up by Great Britain, 
one of which was based upon the treaties made with the Iroquois or Six Na- 
tion Indians, who claimed title to the whole country by conquest and subjuga- 
tion. 

By conquest and treaty provisions, Great Britain came into possession in 
1763, which possession she maintained substantially, until the close of the 
Revolution, when, by the treaty at Paris, in 1783, and ratified in the Ameri- 
can Congress in January, 1784, ownership was vested in the United States. 
The latter, in October of the same year, extinguished the title of the Six Na- 
tions to the Ohio Valley. By the treaties at Forts Mcintosh and Finne)', held 
respectively in 1785 and 1786, all Indian titles to Ohio territory were extin- 
guished, except that portion situate chiefly between the Cuyahoga and Mau- 
mee Rivers. 

By tJie terms of the treaty at Fort Stanwix, concluded with the Iroquois, 
or Six Nations, in October, 1784. the indefinite claim of the confederacy to the 
greater part of the Valley of the Ohio River was extinguished. The commis- 
sioners of Congress acting upon this occasion were Oliver Wolcott, Richard 
Butler and Arthur Lee. The chiefs Cornplanter and Red Jacket represented 
the Indians. 

The treaty at Fort INIcIntosh, in January, 17S5, extinguished the title of 
the resident Indians to the Ohio Valley, and established the western boundary 
line of the lands confirmed to the United States at the Cuyahoga River and 
along the main branch of the Tuscarawas to its forks, near Fort Lawrence ; 
then westerly to the Portage between the headwaters of the Great Miami and 
-the Maumee or Miami of the lakes ; thence down the river to the lake (Erie) 
and along the lake to the mouth of Cuyahoga. This treaty relinquished the 
rights of the Delawares, Wyandots, Ottawas and Chippewas. The subsequent 
treaty of Fort Finney, in January, 1786, extinguished the rights of the Shaw- 
Jiese in the territory bounded above. 



72 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

The treaty made in January, 1795, and known as the treaty of Fort Har- 
mer, was, in the main, confirmatory of treaties aheady jnade. So, also, was 
that made by Gen. Wayne at Greenville, in October of the same year. 

The lands to the northern and western boundaries of the State were ac- 
quired by purchase on the part of the State in the year 18 18. The last pos- 
session of the Delawares was purchased in 1829. 

Virginia acquired title to the great northwest by its several charters,, 
granted by James I., bearing dates respectively, April 10, 1606; May 23, 1609, 
and March 12, 1611. The Colony of Virginia first attempted to exercise au- 
thority in, or jurisdiction over that portion of its extensive domain that was 
organized by the ordinance of '87 into "the territory northwest of the Ohio 
River," when in 1769, the House of Burgesses of said colony passed an act es- 
tablishing the county of Botetourt, with the Mississippi River as its western 
boundary. It was provided by the act that, "whereas, the people situated on 
the Mississippi, in the said county of Botetourt, will be very remote from the 
court-house, and must necessarily become a separate county as soon as their 
numbers are sufficient, which probabh' will happen in a short time; be it there- 
fore enacted by the authority aforesaid, that the inhabitants of that part of the 
said county of Botetourt which lies on the said waters shall be exempted from 
the payment of any levies to be laid by the said county court for the purpose 
of building a court-house and prison for said county." 

Civil government, however, between the Ohio and Mississippi Rivers was 
more in name than reality until 1778, after the conquest of the country by 
General George Rogers Clark, when the Virginia Legislature organized the 
county of Illinois, embracing within its limits all the territory owned by Vir- 
ginia west of the Ohio River. Under an appointment from the governor of 
Virginia, Colonel John Tod served as civil commandant and lieutenant of the 
county, until his death at the battle of Blue Licks, in 1782, less than two years 
before Virginia ceded 'the country in the United States. In the year 1783,. 
however, the General Assembly of Virginia passed an act authorizing the con- 
veyance of the great northwest to the general government. Having thus se- 
cured the absolute right of possession of this vast domain, the United States at 
once took measures for its civil conduct and government, the outcome of which 
was the act entitled, "An ordinance for the government of the territory of the 
United States northwest of the river Ohio." This has generally and more 
popularly been known as "The Ordinance of '87," and otherwise as "The Or- 
dinance of Freedom." This also was the fundamental law upon which has 
been based all the statutory enactments and subsequent laws for the govern- 
ment of this State. 

The Ohio Land Company was an organization formed in the State of 
Massachusetts, having for its object, the purchase and settlement of a large 
tract of land in the new territory. The purchase was effected October 27,. 



Henry County. 73 



1787, and embraced a tract of something like a million and a half of acres 
without the present counties of Washington, Athens, Meigs and Gallia, subject 
to certain reserv^ations. This was the second purchase and survey. 

The first survey of the public lands in Ohio was the seven ranges of Con- 
gress lands, and was made pursuant to an act of Congress, of May 20, 1785. 
The present counties of Jefferson, Columbiana, Carroll, Tuscarora, Harrison, 
Gurnsey, Bellmont, Noble, Monroe and Washington, are, in whole or in part, 
within this survey of seven ranges. 

The next survey was the " Symmes purciiasc," under a contract of pur- 
chase made with Judge Symmes in October, 1787, but subsequently, May, 
1792, modified by an act of Congress. The Symmes purchase embraced the 
entire Ohio River front between the Big Miami and the Little Miami Rivers, a 
distance of twenty-seven miles, and reaching sufficiently northward to include 
an area of one million acres ; but by the modification, the area was reduced 
only three hundred and eleven thousand six hundred and eight}'- two acres, 
exclusive of certain reservations held by the government. 

The lands between the Little Miami and Sciota Rivers, known as the " Vir- 
ginia military lands," was never regularly surveyed into townships, but pat- 
ents were issued by the president to such persons, residents of Virginia, as had 
rendered service on the continental establishment of the army of the United 
States (hence the name), and in the quantities to which they were entitled un- 
der the act of Congress of August 10, 1790. These military lands embraced a 
body of some six thousand five hundred and seventy square miles, or four mill- 
ion two hundred and four thousand eight hundred acres of land. 

The Connecticut claim was ceded to the United States, excepting the west- 
ern reserve, by deeds of cession, bearing date of September 14, 1786. 

When Ohio was admitted into the Federal Union as an independent State, 
one of the terms of admission was, that the fee-simple to all the lands within 
its limits, excepting those previously granted or sold, should vest in the United 
States. Difterent portions of them, were, at different times, granted or sold to 
individuals, companies, and bodies politic. The following are the names by 
which the principal bodies of the land are designated, on account of these dif- 
ferent forms of transfer, viz.: i. Congress Lands; 2, United States Military; 
3, Virginia Military; 4, Western Reserve; 5, Fin Lands; 6, Ohio Company's 
Purchase; 7, Donation Tract; 8, Symmes Purchase; 9, Refugee Tract; 10, 
French Grant; 11, Dohrman's Purchase; 12, Zane's Purchase; 13, Canal 
Lands; 14, Turnpike; 15, Maumee Road Lands ; 16, School Lands ; 17, Col- 
lege lands; 18, Ministerial lands; 19, Moravian Lands; 20, Salt Sections. 

It is thought that this will furnish a sufficient record of the various grants, 
without giving a detailed description of the tracts themselves. 

The System of Surveys. — The land surveys under the United States were 
uniform, and done under what was known as the " rectangular system." This 
10 



74 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

system of surveys was reported from a committee of Congress, May 7, 1784. 
The committee consisted of Thomas Jefferson, chairman ; Messrs. Williamson,, 
Howell, Gerry and Reas. 

This ordinance required the lands to be divided into "hundreds" of ten geo- 
graphical miles, and those again to be subdivided into lots of one mile square 
each, to be numbered from one to one hundred, commencing in the north- 
western corner, and counting from west to east and from east to west continu- 
ously ; and also that the lands thus subdivided, should be first offered at public 
sale. This ordinance was considered, debated and amended ; and on the 3d 
of May, 1785, on motion of Mr. Grayson, of Virginia, seconded by Mr. Mon- 
roe, the size of the townships was reduced to six miles square. After further 
discussion the measure finally. May 20, 1785, passed. 

The origin of this system is not known beyond the report of the committee. 
There had been land surveys in the different colonies for more than a hundred 
years ; still the method for granting land for settlements in vogue in all the 
colonies, was in irregular tracts, except in the colony of Georgia, where, after 
1733, eleven townships of twenty thousand square acres each were divided 
into lots of fifty acres each. 

The act of cession of the State of Virginia of her western territory provided 
for the formation of States from the same, not less than one hundred, nor more 
than one hundred and fifty miles square. 

This square form of States may have influenced Mr. Jefferson in favor of a 
square form of survey, and besides the even surface of the country was known, 
the lack of mountains and the prevalence of trees for marking it, also favoring 
a latitudinal and longitudinal system. Certain east and west lines run with the 
parallels of latitude, and the north and south townships with the meridians. 

The system, as adopted, provided for sale in sections of six hundred and 
forty acres, one square mile. In 1820 a quarter section, or one hundred and 
sixty acres could be purchased. In 1832 sub-divisions were ordered by law 
into forty-acre tracts or quarter-quarter sections to settlers, and in 1846 to all 
purchasers. On May 18, 1796, the ordinance of May 20, 1785, was amended; 
also on May 10, 1800, on the introduction of land offices and credit sales, and 
on February 11, 1805, April 14, 1820, April 5, 1832, and May 30, 1862. 

Since the adoption of the rectangular system of public surveys. May 20, 
1785, twenty-four initial points, or the intersection of the principal bases with 
surveying meridians, have been brought into requisition to secure the certainty 
and brevity of description in the transfer of public lands to individuals. From 
the principal bases townships of six miles square are run out and established,, 
with regular series of numbers counting north and south thereof, and from the 
surveying meridians a like series of ranges are numbered both east and west of 
the principal meridians. 

The first principal meridian divides the States of Ohio and Indiana, having 



Henry County. 75 



for its base the Ohio river, the meridian being coincident with 84° 5 i' of longi- 
tude west from Greenwich. This meridian governs the surveys of public lands 
in the State of Ohio. 

Exccjition of Surveys. — The principal meridian, base, standard, and guides 
having been first measured and marked, and the corner boundaries established 
thereon, the process of surveying and marking the exterior lines of townships, 
north and south of the base, and east and west of the meridian, within those 
standard lines, is commenced. 

The public lands are first surveyed into rectangular tracts, according to the 
true meridian, noting the variation of the magnetic needle. These tracts are 
called townships, each six miles square, having reference to an established prin- 
cipal base line on a true parallel of latitude, and to longitude styled principal 
meridian. Any series of contiguous townships, north and south of each other, 
constitutes a range, the townships counting from the base, either north or 
south, and the ranges from the principal meridian, either east or west. 

The first survey of Henry county lands was made in the year 1821, soon 
after the count}' was organized. In the work of making this survey the engi- 
neers, James Riley, P. F. Kellogg, Nathaniel Beastley, and James Heaton were 
engaged. 

The township of Ridgeville was surveyed by James Riley, and was town- 
ship number six, north, range five, east. 

Pleasant township was surveyed by P. F. Kellogg, and was numbered 
three, north, range six, east. 

Flat Rock township, surveyed by P. F. Kellogg, and was number four^ 
north, range six, east. 

Napoleon township, surveyed by P. F. Kellogg, and being township num- 
ber five, north, range six, east. 

Freedom township, surveyed by P. F. Kellogg, and being township num- 
ber six, north, range six, east. 

]\Iarion, surveyed by Nathaniel Beastley, and being township number three, 
north, range seven, east. 

Monroe, surveyed by Nathaniel Beastley, township number four, north, 
range seven, east. 

Harrison, surveyed by Nathaniel Beastley, township number five, north, 
range seven, east. 

Liberty, surve}-ed by Nathaniel Beastley, township number six, north, 
range seven, east. 

Bartlow, surveyed by James Heaton, township number three, north, range 
eight, east. 

Richfield, surveyed by James Heaton, township number four, north, range 
eight, east. 

Damascus, surveyed by James Heaton in 1821 ; re-surveyed by A. Rice 
in 1833 ; township number five, north, range eight, east. 



^6 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

Washington, surveyed by James Heaton in 1821 ; re-surveyed by A. Rice 
in 1833 ; township number six, north, range eight, east. 

The above designates the surveys of the several townships, and their loca- 
tion in the county. The county was composed of township number six, of 
range five, east ; also townships three, four, five, and six, of ranges six, seven, 
and eight, east. 

The reader must not be misled by the fact that the several townships being 
so surveyed at the time indicated above, are evidence that the special civil 
organization of them was made complete at that time. Such was not the case. 
The surveys were made then, it is true, and the territory embraced by each 
survey, substantially includes the townships as named and bounded, respec- 
tively. They were so surveyed in accordance with the system of surveys then 
adopted and hereinbefore fully set forth. The separation is made for the pur- 
pose of locating the survey in each case. 



CHAPTER Xn. 

HENRY COUNTY IN THE WAR OF 1861-6.5. 

FOR several years prior to this great event in our national history, Henry 
county had no military organization of any kind. To be sure, there had 
been, many years before this time, a militia company in the county, an organ- 
ization complete and well equipped for the time, but its deeds of valor were 
narrowed down to "general training " on muster day and the customary wrest- 
ling match, and eating of ginger-bread and doughnuts. But this old militia 
company had been broken up many years before that fateful day, early in 
April, 1861, when the words were written on our political horizon, '' civil %var,'' 
and the news spread instantly throughout the length and breadth of the land. 
At this time Henry county had not to exceed ten thousand population, but 
nobly did she respond to the president's call for seventy-five thousand volun- 
teers to "put down the rebellion." In less than one week from that call. Com- 
pany F, of the Fourteenth Regiment, was recruited and ready for duty with 
over one hundred men, and in just ten days the regiment left Toledo for Camp 
Taylor, near Cleveland. From that time to the close of the war, in 1865, 
Henry county was never behind her quota. In addition to the several sepa- 
rate organizations that left the county for the service, there were many men 
that went to other counties to enlist, for which the county did not receive 
credit. It is, therefore, safe to assume that in the service, Henry county con- 
tributed more than one per cent, of her entire population. From the time of 



Henry County. i7 



the fall of Fort Sumter, until the final surrender in 1865, there went from 
Henry county between eleven and twelve hundred volunteers. 

Money was not lacking and contributions to the several relief funds were 
generous and prompt. Volunteers were ready, therefore but little money was 
needed to provide substitutes, and the volunteer had the fullest assurance that 
in his absence his family would be provided for. 

During the war Henry county, through her soldiers, made an excellent 
record, a record that has borne favorable comparison with the best and richest 
counties of the State. But turn to that record and let the deeds of her 
soldiers prove the statement. 

The Fourteenth Regiment — Three Months Service. 

The records of the services of men and regiments of the three months ser 
vice are decidedly incomplete. The Fourteenth was recruited very soon after 
President Lincoln's first call for troops, from the counties of Lucas, P'^ulton, 
Williams, Paulding, Wood and Henry. The latter contributed Company F to 
the formation of the regiment.' The commission for the command of the com- 
pany was issued to Andrew Crawford, who was afterward killed by accident 
at Phillipi, West Virginia. John D. Belknap was elected first lieutenant, and 
he, too, was accidentally killed at Cheat Mountain. Samuel Pomeroy was 
commissioned second lieutenant and subsequently became a veteran captain. 

The organization of the regiment was made complete at Toledo, during 
the latter part of April, 1861, by the election of field officers. They were as 
follows : colonel, James B. Steedman ; lieutenant colonel, George P. Este ; 
major, Paul Edwards; surgeon, J. A. Coons; assistant surgeon, W. C. Daniels. 

With nearly one thousand men in line, the Fourteenth left Toledo and 
went to Cleveland, arriving there on the 25th of April. Here they went into 
camp for drill and instruction in the duties of active field service. On the 22d 
of May the regiment left Camp Taylor and proceeded to Columbus, where they 
were fully equipped, and thence went forward to service in Virginia. On the 
27th the regiment reached Parkersburg, Va.,and/or the first time unfurled and 
floated its flag on rebel soil. The enemy retreated at once from the place and 
commenced burning the bridges on the line of the Baltimore and Ohio Railroad. 
A company was immediately double-quicked along the line of the road and 
the fires were extinguished, and several of the rebels were captured in the act 
of firing the bridges and some other property. For several days the regiment 
was engaged in repairing the bridges and preventing further destruction. On 
the 2d of June, a dark and dismal night, the command marched to Phillipi, 
and on the morning of the 3d drove out the rebel cavalry stationed there, tak- 
ing a few prisoners and capturing the stores with five wagon loads of arms and 
ammunition. 

In this little affair the Fourteenth had four men wounded. On the 7th of 



78 ■ History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

June the rebels appeared in force on Laurel Hill ; several cavalry charges were 
made by the enemy, and repulsed by the Union troops. On the I2th General 
Garnett began his retreat ; the Union forces, with the Fourteenth in the lead, 
pressed on after the retreating forces ; the rebel columns were so closely 
pressed that the road was littered with with trunks, boxes, tents, stalled bag- 
gage-wagons and tired out Confederates. At Carrick's Ford, the rebels made 
a stand in order to save their trains, and taking a strong position awaited the 
approach of the Union force. The advanced guard of the Fourteenth were 
soon under fire from the rebel guns, and they Avere greeted with a shower of 
rebel bullets. The Fourteenth immediately closed on its advance, and an- 
s\vered the rebels' first volley before they fired the second. In twenty minutes, 
and just as the main column came up, the enemy gave way, leaving everything 
behind, and "ran for dear life." The fruits of this victory were two hundred 
and fifty prisoners, three stand of colors, one battery, and thirty well laden 
baggage-wagons. The next morning the regiment returned to Phillipi with 
the prisoners and captured trains, but owing to the heavy rains, the rivers and 
creeks were swollen, and there being no bridges, they did not reach Phillipi 
until the 15th of July. On the 22d the Fourteenth started on its homeward 
trip, and arrived at Toledo, on the 25th of July, where after a few days it was 
mustered out and paid off". 

Whitelaw Reid, in his ''Ohio in the War," says: "After partaking of a 
sumptuous feast, prepared by the citizens at the Oliver House, the regiment 
dispersed, and after a few days' rest at home, the men re-assembled, and again 
volunteered in a body, for three years, or during the war." In this statement, 
the worthy compiler is most certainly in error. But few, comparatively, of the 
men from this county re-entered the Fourteenth, for the three years service, 
although nearly all did re-enlist, but in different regiments then forming. 

Of the contingent from Henry county, some re-enlisted in the three years 
service in the Fourteenth (the regiment still retaining that number in the line), 
but a fair proportion of those who made up Company D, were recruits gath- 
ered and enlisted by Samuel Pomeroy and William H. Brownell. But this 
company more properly forms the subject of a separate sketch and follows this. 

The Fourteenth Regiment — Three Years Service. 

Toward the original strength of this regiment, the county of Henry contrib- 
uted one company, which in the completion of regimental organization was 
given the name of " D." This company as well as the regiment, was com- 
posed, in part, of men who had but recently returned from the three months 
service, but it is questionable whether or not a majority of the regiment were 
formerly of the Fourteenth, in the short term. However this may be, this reg- 
iment held the same number in the line of Ohio soldiery as when first organ- 
ized. 



Henry County 



79 



The roster of Ohio soldiers, now being pubhshed by authority of the State 
Legislature, says: "This regiment was organized at Toledo, from August 14, 
to September 5, 1861, to serve three years. On the expiration of its term of 
service, the original members (except veterans) were mustered out, and the 
organization, composed of veterans and recruits, retained in service until July 
II, 1865, when it was mustered out in accordance with orders from the War 
Department." 

Company D was raised by Samuel Pomeroy and William H. Brownell, both 
of whom were veterans of the three months service. The former was com- 
missioned captain, and the latter first lieutenant, upon the complete organiza- 
tion of the company. On the 23d day of August, 1861, the regiment left 
Toledo, and proceeded to Cincinnati, and after receiving its arms and equip- 
ments on the 25th, crossed the Ohio River to Covington, Ky., and took cars 
for Lexington and Frankfort. On this trip the train was assaulted b}' some 
of the Kentucky chivalry, with a volley of stones and other missiles, by which 
the windows of the officers' car were broken, and some slight injuries inflicted. 
The train was stopped and two of the assaulting party captured and taken to 
Frankfort. While marching up Main street, a citizen rushed through the ranks 
and drew a butcher's knife across the throat of one of the prisoners, severely 
wounding him. 

From Frankfort the regiment moved to Nicholsville, and from there about 
the 1st of October to Camp Dick Robinson. About this time news was re- 
ceived that a small garrison situate on Wild Cat Mountain, about sixty miles 
from Camp Dick Robinson, was being surrounded by the rebels. The 
Fourteenth, with the Thirty-eighth Ohio and Barnett's Battery, immediately 
marched to their relief, and on the morning of the 21st of October, after a 
double-quick of three miles through mud and slush up the Wild Cat Hills, 
they found five companies of the Thirty-third Indiana Regiment nearly sur- 
rounded by rebel troops under General Zollicofier. Barnett's Battery was im- 
mediately placed in position and commenced shelling the enemy, while two 
companies of the Fourteenth crawled through the brush, and with shovels and 
picks soon fortified the knob on the crest of the hill. The other troops now 
coming up, and the enemy meeting with so warm a reception, after twice 
charging the little fortified position abandoned the attack and retreated towards 
Loudon, leaving about thirty killed and wounded on the field. The Four- 
teenth and Thirth-eighth pursued the fleeing enemy as far as Loudon. Zol- 
licofier having already retreated from that place, the Union forces went into 
camp and threw up fortifications a short distance north of the town. The reg- 
iment remained here about two weeks, when they were ordered to march back 
towards Lancaster by the way of Crab Orchard and Mount Vernon. The 
march was made in the night, in a terrible storm of rain. Rock Castle River 
had to be forded, and the mud and slush being deep, on arriving at Crab 



8o History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

Orchard next morning the men were completely exhausted, and unable to 
march. 

After resting one day, the regiment marched to Lebanon and went into 
winter quarters. It remained at Lebanon until the latter part of December, 
when it was ordered to join its brigade at Somerset, where it arrived January 
I, 1862. It remained in camp at Somerset until the 19th of January, when 
the brigade to which the Fourteenth belonged was ordered out and marched 
rapidly towards Mill Springs, where ZollicofFer had been strongly intrenched 
during the winter. General Crittenden having recently a-ssumed command 
of the rebel forces at that place, on that morning marched out of his fortifi- 
cations to give battle before General Thomas could concentrate the Union 
forces, hoping to whip them in detail. The rebels met the Union forces at 
Logan's Cross-roads, about six miles north of Mill Springs, and a lively little 
battle took place. The Fourteenth and Thirty- eighth Ohio coming up, the 
rebels gave way, and in confusion retreated to their fortifications at Mill 
Springs, closely pursued by the Union forces. Owing to the delay in fording 
Fishing Creek, the water being up to the arm-pits, and the current swift, a 
cable was stretched across the stream for the men to hold on while crossing. 
But one company of the Fourteenth — Compan}' C — reached the field in time 
to take part in the action. On the arrival of the Union forces at the enemy's 
fortifications, the batteries commenced shelling the works, and the Fourteenth 
lay on their arms all night in a driving rain, ready for the assault which Avas 
ordered for early dawn. The Fourteenth in advance carried the works, and 
found that the enemy had crossed the river during the night, except one regi- 
ment which was captured with twenty pieces of artillery, all their camp and 
garrison equipage, together with a large number of horses, mules, wagons, and 
other property. 

The Fourteenth did not arrive at Pittsburgh Landing in time to take part 
in the battle, but took part in the slow siege on Corinth. After the siege the 
regiment marched to luka. Miss. ; thence to Tuscumbia, Ala., and from there 
to Nashville, Tenn., where it arrived on the 7th day of September, 1862 ; 
thence to Bowling Green, Ky., in pursuit of Bragg's army; then moving on 
toward Louisville, which last named place was reached September 22. This 
was a severe march on the men, the weather being intensely hot, roads dusty, 
and water scarce, and of poor quality. From Louisville the regiment marched 
to Perryville, but being detailed as guard to the ammunition train, did not take 
part in the battle. After the pursuit of Bragg was abandoned, the regiment 
marched to Gallatin, and on the 15th of November went into winter quarters, 
and during the winter was almost daily skirmishing with John Morgan's guer- 
rillas, and, at the Robling Fork, giving Morgan's entire command a severe 
drubbing. The regiment left Gallatin June 13, 1863, and reached Nashville on 
the 15th; from there to Laverque, and thence to Triune, Tenn., and was 
placed in the advance of Rosecrans's army on TuUahoma and Chattanooga. 



Henry County. 8i 



On the 26th of June the Fourteenth with its brigade, had a sharp engage- 
ment with the enemy, and lost thirty men in killed and wounded. On June 
28 TuUahoma was reached, and the Fourteenth drove in the enemy's pickets, 
and got near enough the town to see the enemy was evacuating the place. 
An advance was ordered early next morning, and on crossing Elk Run several 
men were drowned. On the last day of August, 1863, the National forces 
crossed the Tennessee river on rafts, the pontoons not having arrived, ami on 
the 19th of September encountered the enemy at Chickamanga Creek. The 
Fourteenth, under command of Lieutenant-Colonel Kingsbury, being in the 
advance, was deployed in line of battle. The regiment having been on the 
march for the previous twenty-four hours, were much fatigued ; but it became 
immediately hotly engaged with the enem)', and from nine o'clock in the iiiorn- 
ing until four o'clock P. .M., was continually under fire, after which it was re- 
lieved for a short time to replenish its cartridge boxes, when it was again 
engaged and so remained until sundown. The next morning it had a desper- 
ate encounter with a part of Longstreet's Division, after which the Union 
forces fell back to Rossville. In these several encounters the regiment lost 
two hundred and thirty-three men in killed, wounded and missing, out of a 
total of four hundred and forty- nine. Among the wounded were eight line 
ofificers. On the 21st of September the regiment was in line of battle all da)', 
but was compelled to fall back into hastil}' constructed entrenchments near 
Chattanooga, closely pursued by the enemy. 

About the middle of November in the brilliant assault on Mission Ridge, 
the Fourteenth charged and took a battery of three guns, loosing in this en- 
counter sixteen killed, ninety-one wounded and three missing. 

On the 17th of December, 1864, all but thirty men of the Fourteenth re- 
enlisted for another three years, and on Christmas day and night they were 
re-mustered into the United States service. They were then sent home on 
veteran furlough and arrived in Toledo on the 6th of January, 1864. On the 
6th of February it again left Toledo for the front, and arrived at Chattanooga 
on the 29th, it having, in the mean time, while on veteran furlough, recruited 
its decimated ranks to a full regiment, many of whom came from Fulton and 
Henry counties During the months of March and April, 1864, the h'our- 
teenth was engaged doing picket duty and building corduroy roads between 
Chattanooga and Ringgold. On the 9th of May it moved with its brigade on 
Dalton, driving in the enemy's videttes near Tunnell Hill, at which place com- 
menced that long and terrible campaign for the possession of Atlanta, in which 
in all the marches, incessant skirmishing and fighting, the Fourteenth bore an 
honorable part and lost heavily in officers and men; and while lying in front 
of Atlanta the regiment lost twenty men in killed and wounded. 

On the 26th of August, in a flanking movement towards Jonesboro, the 
Fourteenth and other regiments of its brigade captured two hundred prisoners. 
11 



82 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

On the 1st of September the division of the Fourteenth army corps, with 
which the Fourteenth was brigaded, marched towards Jonesboro, destroying 
the railroad as it marched, and at 4 o'clock that P. M., confronted the enemy's 
works surrounding that place. The third brigade, to which the Fourteenth 
belonged, commanded by Colonel Este, of Baird's Division, Fourteenth Corps, 
was in line of battle directly in the rear of General Carlin's Division, which had 
just made an unsuccessful charge on the rebel works, when Colonel Este, with 
the Fourteenth and Thirty-eighth Ohio, Tenth Kentucky and Seventy-fourth 
Indiana, being all ready for the fight, Colonel Este gave the command : Bat- 
talions, forward ! guide center ! His lines moved steadily forward amid a shower 
of balls. A battery was also opened with grape and canister, but the brigade 
moved steadily on; the edge of the abattis was gained, and with a yell and a 
charge the rebel works were gained and a hand to hand fight ensued. The 
rebels fought with desperation and not until many of them were killed did the 
remainder surrender, and were marched as prisoners to the rear. The Four- 
teenth took about three hundred prisoners and several stand of colors, but the 
cost was frightful, as fully one-third of the Fourteenth were killed or wounded. 
This was the last severe fight for the regiment, although it marched from At- 
lanta, with Sherman, to the sea and through the Carolinas to Goldsboro and 
Raleigh, thence to Washington, where it was reviewed by the president and his 
cabinet, and on the 13th of July, 1865, was mustered out of service and re- 
turned home, having spent four years in active military duty in the field. 

As has already been stated Company D of the Fourteenth was enlisted in 
Henry County and as a complete roster of its officers and men can be obtained, 
it is proper that they be mentioned in connection with this sketch. 

Field and Staff Officers. 

James B. Steedman, colonel; promoted to brigadier general July 16, 1862. 

George P. Este, colonel ; prom, from lieut. col., July 17, 1862; mustered 
out July 7, 1865. 

Paul Edwards, lieut. col.; prom, from major July 17, 1862; resigned Nov. 
26, 1862. 

Henry D. Kingsbury, lieut. col.; prom, from capt.. Company A, to major, 
July 17, 1862; lieut. col, Dec. 27, 1862; mustered out Nov. 8, 1864. 

Albert Moore, lieut. col. ; prom, from capt., Company A, to lieut. col. Nov. 
18, 1864. 

John W. Wilson, major; prom, from capt.. Company P2, Jan. 20, 1863; 
died Oct. 3, 1864, from wounds. 

Roster of Company D. 

Samuel Pomroy, capt., enl. Sept. 4, 1861 ; wd. at Chickamauga, Sept. 19^ 
1863; mustered out Sept. 12, 1864. 



Henry County. 83 



Oscar N. Gunn, capt. enl. Sept. 5, 1861 ; prom, to second lieut., com- 
pany I, Dec. 20, 1862 ; first lieut. Nov. 18, 1864, and to capt. Jan 6, 1865 ; 
must, out with company, Jul}' i i, 1865. 

William H. Brownell, first lieut., enl. Sept. 4, 1861 ; resigned Sept. 10, 
1864. 

John P. Crawford, first lieut. enl. Aug. 25, 1861; prom, sergt., company 
K., Jan. 6, 1865; mustered out with company, July ii, 1865. 

Wm. B. Steedman, second lieut., Sept. 4, 1861; prom, to first lieut., Dec. 
21, 1862, and assigned to company C. 

Joseph Reynolds, first sergt., Sept. 4. 1861 ; mustered out with companj-. 

Joseph B. Wilder, sergt. Sept. 4, 1861, mustered out with company. 

William Nanna, sergt. Sept. 4, 1861, prom, from corp.; mustered out with 
company. 

John Plegstone, sergt. Sept. 4, 1861, prom, from corp.; mustered out with 
company. 

John Heckler, sergt. Sept. 4, 1861, prom, from corp.; mustered out with 
company. 

Andrew McConnell, sergt. Sept. 4, 1 861, disch. for disability Aug. 8, 1862. 

James W. Barrett, sergt. Sept. 4, 1861, mustered out Sept. 12, 1864. 

Smith Cadwalader, sergt. Sept. 4, 1861, prom, to q. m. sergt. Dec. 17, 1863, 
assigned to field and staff 

James P. Stout, corp. Sept. 4, 1861, appt. Apr. i. 1864, mustered out with 
company ; veteran. 

Joseph Snyder, corp. Sept. 4, 1861; appt. Apr. i, 1864; mustered out 
with company ; veteran. 

W^illiam Hollis, corp. Sept. 4. 1861 ; appt. Apr. 20, 1864; mustered out 
Avith company ; veteran. 

Henry Houston, corp. Sept. 4, 1861 ; appt. Apr. 20, 1864; mustered out 
with company ; veteran. 

George W. Williams, corp. Sept. 4, 1861 ; appt. Oct. i, 1864; mustered 
out with company ; veteran. 

Henry A. Anglemeyer. corp. Sept. 4, 1861; appt. Oct. i, 1864; mustered 
out with company ; veteran. 

Peter Storch, corp. Sept. 4, 1861 ; appt. Oct. 4, 1864; mustered out with 
company ; veteran. 

James Swanger, Corp. Sept. 4, 1861 ; appt. June 5, 1865; mustered out 
with company ; veteran. 

George Zefange, corp. Sept. 4, 1861 ; died of wounds received at Chicka- 
mauga Sept. 19, 1863. 

George B. Hartman, corp. Sept. 4, 1861 ; wounded at Chickamauga Sept. 
19, 1863; mustered out Sept. 12, 1864. 

James Wells, corp. Sept. 4, 1861 ; killed at Chickamauga Sept. 19, 1863. 



84 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

Andrew B. Clements, corp. Sept. 4, 1861 ; killed at Chickamauga Sept. 
19, 1863. 

George W. Long, corp. Sept 4, 1861 : disch. for disability Aug. 19, 1862. 

Philip Hueston, corp. Sept. 4, 1861 ; mustered out Sept. 19, 1864. 

Lewis Kramer, corp. Sept. 4, 1861 ; died Sept. 23, 1863, from wounds. 

Harvey B. Bartell, corp. Sept. 4, 1861 ; died from wounds received at At- 
lanta, Ga., Sept. 10, 1864. 

John Zink, corp. Sept. 4, 1861 ; mustered out with company; veteran. 

William F. Barret, musician, Sept. 4, 1861 ; mustered out Sept. 12, 1864. 

George M. D. Steadman, musician, Sept. 4, 1861 ; mustered out with 
company ; veteran. 

Philip Frankhouse, wagoner, Sept. 4, 1861 ; captured Feb. 28, 1865; no 
record. 

Henry Andrex, private, Oct. 5, 1862 ; wounded at Chickamauga Sept. 19, 
1863; mustered out Sept. 12, 1864. 

Jasper Allen, Feb. 22, 1864; mustered out July 11, 1865. 

James H. Brown, Sept. 4, 1861 ; mustered out July 11, 1865 ; veteran. 

David Burk, Sept. 4, 1861 ; mustered out July ii, 1865 ; veteran. 

George Bruker, Sept. 4, 1861 ; died from wounds received Sept. 19, 1863. 

Thomas Burke, Sept. 4, 1861 ; wounded at Chickamauga Sept. 19, 1863; 
mustered out Sept 12, 1864. 

Samuel R. Bottomfield, Sept. 4, 1861 ; wounded at Chickamauga Sept. 19, 
1863 ; mustered out Sept. 12, 1864. 

John Bottomfield, Sept. 4. 1861 ; disch. for disability July 3, 1862. 

Edmund Borden, Sept. 4, 1861 ; died Feb. 27, 1862, at Lebanon, Ky. 

Stephen H. Bates, Sept. 4, 1861 ; missing at Chickamauga Sept. 19, 1863. 

John Bowker, Sept. 4, 1861 ; captured at Chickamauga Sept. 19, 1863; 
mustered out Oct. 9, 1864. 

David K. Bowker, Sept. 4, 1861 ; prom, to com. sergt. Dec. 15, 1863, and 
transferred to field and staff. 

Robert Bowen, Sept. 4, 1861 ; died Jan. 2, 1864, at Chattanooga, Tenn. 

Henry F. Benchie, Sept. 4, 1861 ; discharged. 

Martin W. Bowker, Feb. 11, 1864; disch. June 10, 1865, at Camp Chase, 
O., by order of War Department. 

Andrew Christy, Sept. 4, 1861 ; mustered out with company ; veteran. 

Daniel Cook, Feb. 11, 1864; mustered out with company July 11, 1865. 

Zachariah T. Cole, Jan. 19, 1864; mustered out with company. 

James Cunningham, Sept. 4, 1861 ; disch. Sept. 2, 1862, for disability. 

William Casteele, Sept. 4, 1861 ; wounded at Chickamauga Sept. 19, 1863; 
mustered out Sept. 12, 1864. 

Joseph Click, Sept. 4, 1861 ; died Oct. 24, 1862, at Nashville, Tenn. 

Henry C. Clark, Sept. 4, 1861 ; killed at Jonesboro, Ga., Sept. i, 1864. 



Henry County. 85 



John Deetrick, Sept. 4, 1861 ; nnistered out with conijian)- ; veteran. 

Jacob Dixon, Sept. 4, 1861 ; disch. for disabiHty at Louisville, Ky. 

Thomas Davis, Sept. 4, 1861 ; killed near Huntsville, Ala., Au<,^ 7, 1862. 

William Edsul, Sept. 4, 1861 ; died Oct. 18, 1863, from wounds received 
at battle of Chickamauga Sept. 19, 1863. 

James S. Ensminger, Sept. 4, 1861 ; mustered out with company ; veteran. 

William Foster, Sept. 4, 1861 ; mustered out with company; veteran. 

Isaiah Fox, Sept. 4, 1861 ; died Sept. 8, 1862, at Tuscumbia, Ala. 

John Gewars, Sept. 4, 1867 ; mustered out with company; veteran. 

William Gallagher, Sept. 19, 1863; absent; mustered out July 11, 1863. 

Hiram E. Gruber, Sept. 4, 1861 ; disch. for disabilities July i, 1862. 

Benjamin Houk, Sept. 4, 1861 ; mustered out with company ; veteran. 

Philip HoUingshead, Sept. 4, 1861 ; mustered out with company ; veteran. 

Joseph F. Hill, Sept. 4, 1861 ; trans, to Vet. Res. Corps March 14, 1865 ; 
mustered out July 25, 1865 ; veteran. 

Stephen Hain, Jan. 22, 1864; mustered out with company. 

Henry Hain, Feb. 22, 1864; mustered out with company. 

Aaron Heaton, Sept. 4, 186 1 ; mustered out with company ; veteran. 

Philemon Hendrix, Jan. 19, 1864; died Sept. 4, 1864, from wounds re- 
ceived at battle of Jonesboro, Ga., Sept. i, 1864. 

William Halter, Sept. 4, 1861 ; disch. Dec. 6, 1862, for disability. 

Alfred W. Hinds, August 28, 1861 ; trans, from Co. F March 24, 1864; 
mustered out with company, July 1 1, 1865 ; veteran. 

John Keller, Sept. 4, 1861 ; mustered out with company ; veteran. 

Robert Kelsey, September 4, 1861 ; disch. Oct. 13, 1863, for disability. 

Smith Knowles. Sept. 4, 1861 ; wounded at Chickamauga, Ga., Sept. 19, 
1863; mustered out Sept. 12, 1864. 

Samuel Kilbourn, Sept. 4, 1861 ; trans, from Co. F, Mch. 14, 1864; mus- 
tered out Oct. 22, 1864. 

Frank Long, Sept. 4, 1861 ; mustered out with company; veteran. 

Jacob Lohr, Sept. 4, 1861 ; mustered out with company; veteran. 

John F. Luderman, Feb. 14, 1864; mustered out with company. 

Alonzo Lamphere, Aug. 18, 1861 ; died November 23, 1681, at Lexing- 
ton, Ky. 

Ephraim Long. August 18, 1861 ; died Dec. 12, 1862, at Nashville, Tenn. 

Walter Linn, Aug. 18, 1861 ; discharged July 21. 1862, at Louisville, Ky. 

Jarvis Long, ¥eh. 11, 1864; absent, sick; mustered out July 11, 1865. 

Joseph Long, Aug. 18, 1861 ; mustered out Sept. 12, 1864. 

Austin Leach, Feb. ii, 1864; disch. Oct. 10, 1864. for disability. 

Bass R. Myrice, Sept. 4, 1861 ; mustered out July 11, 1865 ; veteran. 

Barney McGee, Sept. 4. 1861 ; mustered out July ii, 1865 ; veteran. 

Samuel Myrice, Oct. i, 1862 ; mustered out with company. 



History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 



David Marsh, Sept. 4, 1861 ; mustered out with company ; veteran. 

Lee Morrow, Aug. 18, 1861 ; no record. 

Bruce D. McBane, Aug. 18, 1861 ; discharged Dec. 5, 1862, at Colum- 
bus, O. 

William B. Morris, Aug. 18, 1861 ; died Oct. 16, 1863, at Chattanooga 
Hospital. 

Matthew Morrison, Aug. 18, 1861 ; left at Corinth Hosp., Miss.; died Sep. 
17, 1862. 

James Mann, Aug. 18, 1861 ; mustered out Sept. 12, 1864. 

John W. Miller, Aug. 1861 ; killed at Chickamauga, Sept. 19, 1863. 

George S. Myers, Oct. 15, 1862 ; discharged May 12, 1865. 

Daniel Marsh, Oct. 18, 1861 ; killed at Jonesboro, Ga., Sept. i, 1864. 

Theron McMillen, Aug. 28, 1861 ; trans, from Co. F, March 15, 1864; 
mustered out Sept. 12, 1864. 

David C. Meek, Sept. 4, 1861 ; trans, to Vet. Eng. Corps, Aug. 10. 1864; 
veteran. 

Noah J. Overmeyer, Oct. 15, 1862 ; mustered out with company. 

Samuel Overmeyer, Oct. 18, 1862 ; mustered out with company. 

James Ostrander, Aug. 18, 1861 ; trans, from Co. F, March 15, 1864; 
mustered out Sept. 12, 1864. 

Thomas Patton, Aug. 18, 1861 ; wounded at Chickamauga, Sept. 19, 1863; 
mustered out Sept. 12, 1864. 

George Pretenious, Sept. 4, 1861 ; trans, to Vet. Eng. Corps, Aug. 26, 
1864; veteran. 

Robert L. Roberts, Aug. 18, 1861 ; no record, 

Ahusiel Rhone, Aug. 18, 1861 ; mustered out Sept. 12, 1864. 

Granville Russell, Aug 18, 1 86 1 ; died F'eb. 24, 1862, at Lebanon, Ky. 

Allen Rich, Aug. 18, 1861 ; wounded at Chickamauga, Ga., Sept. 19, 1863 ; 
discharged on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Converse P. Russell, Aug. 18, 1861 ; discharged Jan. 10, 1864, for wounds 
received at Chickamauga, Ga., Sept. 19, 1863. 

Jacob Richler, Aug. 18, 1861 ; disch. Jan. i, 1863, at Louisville, Ky. 

Peter Shauteen, Aug. 18, 1861 ; died Sept. 27, 1863, at Nashville, Tenn., 
from wounds received at Chickamauga, Ga., Sept. 19, 1863. 

James W. Smith, Aug. 18, 1861 ; died March 14, 1862, at Nashville, Tenn. 

Orlando B. Stout, Sept. 4. 1861 ; mustered out with company; veteran. 

Robert W. Showman, Aug. 18, 1861 ; mustered out Sept. 12, 1864. 

Jacob Sill, Aug. 18, 1861 ; disch. Mch. 20, 1863, for disability. 

Frederick Speigle, Aug. 18, 1861 ; capt. at Chickamauga, Ga., Sept. 19, 
1863 ; died Aug. 1 1, 1864, at Andersonville Prison. 

James O. Smith, Aug. 18, 1861 ; disch. Nov. 12, 1862, for disability. 

Milo Smith, Aug. 28, 1861 ; trans, from Co. F; mustered out Sept. 12, 1864. 



Henry County. 87 



Thomas Taylor, Sept. 4, 1861 ; mustered out with company; veteran. 

Allen F. Thatcher, Aug. 18. 1861 ; capt. at Chickamaut;[a, Sept. 19, 1863 ; 
mustered out Sept. 12, 1864. 

George C. Westcott, Sept. 4, 1861 ; mustered out with compan\- ; veteran. 

John C. Williams, Dec. 17, 1863; mustered out with compaii)-, July 11, 
1865. 

Martin Westcott, Sept. 4, 1861 ; mustered out with compan}' ; x'cteran. 

W^illiam Weaver, Feb. 2, 1864; mustered out with company, Jul}- 1 1, 1S65. 

John White, Dec. 29, 1863 ; mu.stered out with company. 

Isaac Wells, Aug. 18, 1861 ; disch. for disability Jan. 28, 1862, at Louis- 
ville, Ky. 

The Thirtn-Eighth Recimgnt. 

The second regiment raised for the three years service to which Henry 
county contributed was the Thirty-eighth O. V". Infantr)', raised during the 
summer and fall of the year 1861, in answer to the call of President Lincoln 
for three hundred thousand men for three years. Company B of this regi- 
ment was recruited in this county, and there may have been other men in other 
companies, but they were scattering and went in singly and not as a regular 
organization as did Company B. The regiment was organized at Defiance, on 
the 1st of September. On the 2 2d of the same month it was transferred to 
Camp Dennison, where the men received their arms and field equipments, and 
were drilled preparatory to active service, after which they were ordered to 
proceed to Kentucky, where they arrived October i. On the next day the 
regiment passed through and encamped near Nicholasville. About two weeks 
later it was ordered to the relief of the garrison at Wild Cat, Ky., and after a 
forced march of some sixty miles reached its destination on the 19th of Octo- 
ber. Afterward it pursued the enemy to Loudon and Barboursville ; marched 
on all of the subsequent campaigns during the fall, and went into winter quar- 
ters about Christmas time near Somerset. During the winter months the men 
suffered severely, not being accustomed to the climate and the rough usages 
of camp life, so that in a short time less than three hundred in the entire reg- 
iment were fit for duty. The regiment participated in the campaign of Mill 
Springs, and marched to Louisville, arriving there on February 28, 1862. 

Early in March the regiment proceeded to Nashville where preparations 
were made for the spring campaign ; thence it proceeded with the army of the 
Ohio through Middle Tennessee, and encamped during the month of Aprii on 
the battle-field of Pittsburg Landing, and then again marched under General 
Hallet toward Corinth, Miss., and took an active part in the siege of that place 

After the evacuation of Corinth, May 27, 1862, the Thirt>'-eighth marched 
with the army in pursuit of Beauregard as far as Boonville, and on returning 
encamped near Corinth until the 20th of June, when it marched with the army 



History of Henry and i^ulton Counties. 



to Tuscumbia, Ala., arriving there on the 28th. On the 28th the regiment 
proceeded to Winchester, Tenn., where it arrived on the 7th of August. From 
this point several reconnoitering parties were sent out, and among them none 
were more actively engaged than the Thirty-eighth. A party of eighty men 
from this regiment made a forced march upon Tracy Creek, which was cap- 
tured and a large quantity of stores destroyed. For this event those engaged 
made the march and return, a total distance of seventy-two miles, in less than 
twenty- four hours. 

The regiment participated in the battle with the enemy at Chaplain Hill, 
and afterward in the campaign in Kentucky, and went into camp late in Octo- 
ber, on Rolling Fork, near Lebanon. From here it soon proceeded toward 
Nashville, Tenn. During the montlis of November and December it was 
guarding railroads betw^een Gallatin and Nashville, but in the latter part of the 
year it marched to Nashville and took a prominent part in the battle at Stone 
River, and fortunately met with but slight loss. After the battle the Thirty- 
eighth went into winter quarters near the city and remained until March 13, 
1863, when it joined with the forces at Triune. 

Commencing in June, the year 1863 witnessed for the regiment these 
events : Marched with the Army of the Cumberland and took part in the Tul- 
lahoma campaign; began the march to Chattanooga August 17 ; moved with 
the center corps, crossed the Cumberland mountains to the Tennessee River, 
which was crossed on log rafts on the night of September 2, and proceeded 
over Lookout and Raccoon Mountains and arrived in the Lookout Valley 
about the middle of September ; acted as guard for an immense wagon train 
to Chattanooga, by special order of General Thomas, and thus escaped the 
battle of Chickamauga, but successfully accomplished the task assigned it. On 
the 25th of November the division to which the regiment was attached as- 
saulted the enemy's works at the foot of Mission Ridge and carried them, driv- 
ing Bragg's forces. In this brief engagement the Thirty-eighth was on the 
extreme left, and was subjected to a terrible fire from the rebel infantry. In 
this charge the regiment lost seven killed, and forty-one wounded. 

After pursuing the enemy as far as Ringgold the Thirty-eighth returned 
to camp near Chattanooga, where on the 26th of December the men re-enlisted 
as a veteran organization, and was furloughed home. At the expiration of 
the furlough the regiment joined the army then at Ringgold, Ga. Recruits 
were sent forward and when Sherman started on the memorable Atlanta cam- 
paign the regiment numbered seven hundred and forty-one men. 

On May 5, 1864, the regiment broke camp and marched to Buzzard's Roost 
Gap, where it was brought into action. After skirmishing about for a few 
days, in which the Thirty- eighth took an active part, several men were killed 
and wounded. The regiment then participated in the campaign that followed; in 
the siege of Kenesaw and elsewhere, fortifying and skirmishing, and brought up 



Henry County. 89 



July 5, 1864, on the Chattahoochie River. On the 17th they advanced, crossed 
the river, and on the 22d had the honor of estabHshing the picket Hne of the 
Fourteenth Corps in front of Atlanta. On the 3d of August it moved to Utoy 
Creek, where two days later Companies A, C and K of the reginiL-nt charged 
the enemy's line successfully. 

By a series of movements the arm_\- arrixed at Jonesboro, Ga., carl\' in 
September, coming upon Hardee's pickets at four o'clock P. >[. of the ist. 
Este's brigade at once charged the works. The regiment lost here, in killed 
and wounded, one hundred and fifty men, nearly one-half its entire strength. 

Following the Jonesboro campaign came the campaign of Georgia. The 
army broke camp on October 3, 1864, and retraced its lines as far north as 
Dalton, Hood in the mean time having reached the rear of Sherman's army. 
The Thirt\'-eighth accompanied the expedition thus far, and mox'cil thence 
t'ia Gaylesville, Ala., to Rome, and reached Kingston, Ga., November 5. Ar- 
riving at Milledgeville on the 24th of November, the regiment was assigned to 
provost dut}^ in the city. It was soon sent to destroy the bridge across the 
Big Ogeechee, which was done, the regiment marching on that day a distance 
of forty- four miles before reaching Louisville, to which place the arm\^ had 
gone. From Louisville the army went to Savannah, arriving there on the 21st 
of December, where the regiment went into camp. During their stay here the 
regiment received two hundred drafted men and substitutes. 

On the 30th of January, 1865, the Thirty- eighth left Savannah with the 
army, and participated in the " Campaign of the Carolinas," and after forty 
days came to Goldsboro, N. C. From there it went to Holly Springs, where 
it remained until after the surrender of Johnston's army. From Holly Springs 
the regiment marched to Raleigh, thence to Richmond, and finally to Alexan- 
dria, Va., where it remained until after the grand review at the capital, when 
it encamped near Washington. It remained there until June 15, and then pro- 
ceeded to Louisville, Ky., where it arrived on the 23d. On the 12th of July 
the muster out was completed, and the regiment proceeded to Cleveland, 
where it was finally discharged on the 22d day of July, 1865. 

Thirty- Eighth Regiment — Field and Staff. 

Edwin D. Bradley, col.; resigned Feb. 8, 1862. 

Edward H. Phelps, col. ; prom, from lieut. col. ; killed in action Nov. 25, 
1863. 

William A. Choate, col. ; prom, from lieut. col. ; died of wounds. 
Charles Greenwood, maj. ; prom, to lieut. col. 
William Irving, maj. ; promoted to lieut. col. 
Andrew Newman, maj. ; mustered out with regiment. 
Epaphras L. Barber, maj.; resigned Jan. 12, 1862. 
Moses R. Brailey, maj. ; resigned Feb. 9, 1862. 
12 



90 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

Israel Coons, surg. ; resigned July 13, 1863. 
James Haller, surg. ; mustered out Jan. 4, 1865. 

H. B. Powell, surg. ; prom, from asst. surg. ; mustered out with the regi- 
ment. 

Company Roster. 

The muster roll of Company B is hardly as complete as could be desired, 
but owing to the fact that the State roster is not yet published, the same can- 
not now be given in full. The following roll is made from a company memo- 
rial, and shows the name of each officer and man, but its record is not full : 

William A. Choate. capt. ; prom, to col. 

Edmund Metz, first lieut. ; mustered out with regiment. 

William E. Kintigh, first lieut. ; prom, to capt. ; resigned March 24, 1863. 

Benj. S. Pindar, second lieut. ; prom, to capt. ; resigned. 

William H. EUis, sergt. ; prom, second lieut. March 6, 1862; first lieut. 
May 5, 1863 ; resigned September 15, 1864. 

Sergeants. — James E. Eidson, first serg't, veteran ; Edward T. Gray, 
wounded Aug. 4, 1864, veteran ; Jacob Altenberger, veteran ; Cornelius Nye, 
veteran ; George W. Ford, veteran ; Forman Evans, first serg't, prom, to 
second lieut., to first lieut., Co. K ; James M. Patterson, first serg't, prom, to 
second lieut. Co. C, to first lieut. Co. E ; Henry P. Urquhart, trans, to Vet. 
Res. Corps. 

Corporals. — John Babcock, disch. Dec. 13, 1862 ; Samuel M. Powell, disch. 
April 18, 1862; David Kilpatrick, disch. Dec. 29, 1862; William W. Wad- 
dams; Daniel Hartley, disch. Sept. 13, 1864; Loyal L. Bly, disch. Sept. 13, 
1864; James McEwen, veteran; John Burnhour, wounded Sept. i, 1864; 
William C. Eidson, captured Feb. 26, 1864, veteran ; Israel Weamer, veteran; 
David Bost, wounded Sept. i, 1864, veteran; Robert Babcock, wounded Sept. 
I, 1864, veteran; George Brown, veteran; Wilson Quick, captured Feb. 26, 
1864, veteran; Jacob Hafer, prom, to com. serg't. 

Privates. — Cyrus Altman, vet. ; Samuel Bost, captured Feb. 26, 1865, ^'^t. ; 
Lemuel Howard, vet. ; William D. Hudson, vet. ; James M. Knox, wounded 
Sept. I, 1864, vet. ; George Lighthiser, vet. ; John McCracken, vet. ; Joseph 
Mares, vet. ; Leander Mares, wounded Sept. i, 1864, vet. ; William Mares, 
vet. ; Edmund B. Magill, vet. ; Henry C. McHenry, vet. ; William F. Reig- 
hard, vet. ; Hugh M. Reighard, vet. ; William H. Sprague, vet. ; Philip Witt- 
mer, vet.; Valentine Zink, vet.; Daniel Climer, wounded July 21, 1864; 
Thomas Chambers, Levi Donnelly ; William H. Dennis, wounded Aug. 4, 
1864; Daniel W. Frease, Adam Lighthiser; George Myers, wounded Au- 
gust 5, 1864; Thomas Rose, Elmer Struble, Silas Wright, Joseph Wells, 
George M. Zink, William H. Ellis, Frank Kitsmiller; John Babcock, wounded 
Sept. I, 1864; Patrick Cassidy, Levi Frysinger, David Kennedy, John Sim- 



Henry County, 



erly, William A. Babcock. Alva Spade, William H. Atherton. William H. 
Bestor, Cornelius Carder, Peter Doiibenmycr, Dudley T. Fields, Henry Gear- 
hart, James Garretson, ^Alexander Henry, Jasper L. Jones, David Nessley, 
George Ream, Andrew Barnhart, captured July 9, 1864. 

Members Discharged. — Philip B. Walterhouse April 18, 1862 ; Lulius Kelly, 
July 16, 1862 ; George B. Corbett, Aug. 18, 1862 ; Thomas Barrett, Dec. ii, 
1862; Presley C. Durbin, Dec. 29, 1862; Robert McEwen, Jan. 26, 1863; 
Lawrence A. Durbin, date not given ; Joseph W. Davis, Dec. 27, 1862 ; D. H. 
Latta, July 27, 1862 ; Henry Shatzer, July 27, 1863; Frederick Sprow, July 

27, 1863; Adam Bost, Juh- 27, 1863; John Booher, July 27, 1863; Seth 
Renter, July 28, 1863 ; John Sprague, Jan. 4, 1862 ; Smith Cowdrick. Jan. 4, 
1862; George Smith, Jan. 4, 1862; F'rancis M. Bascom, Sept. 13, 1864; 
Charles Gillespie, Sept. 13, 1864; W^illiam H. Russell, Sept. 13, 1864; Will- 
iam Sands, September 13, 1864; Daniel W. Davis, September 13, 1864; 
F'rancis M. Kinney, Sept. 13, 1864; Perry S. C. Durbin, April 22, 1862. 

Company Death Roll. — Corp., Robt. Frees, March 6, 1864; corp., Henry 
\\'ittmer, July 26, 1864; corp., James Cowan, June 6, 1862 ; corp., Oscar P. 
Randall, killed Sept. i, 1864; corp., George Struble, killed Sept. i, 1864; 
Henry Ellis, date not given ; Perry S. Pinder, April 28, 1862 ; Henry Weaver, 
May 28, 1862; Benjamin F. Wright, Sept. 15, 1862; Joseph W. Britnell, Sept. 
25, 1862; James M. Frederick, Oct. 22, 1862; Samuel Lorah, Dec. 15, 1862; 
John W.Carter, May, 1863; Philip Naugle, Feb. 15, 1863; Balser Borts, 
March i, 1863; Lewis F. Frysinger, April, 8, 1863; Robert McCracken, Oct. 
II, 1863; David McCracken, of wounds, Nov. 4, 1864; O. D. Rilc)% Dec. 

28, 1863; James M. Green, March 20, 1864; William Richmond, March 12, 
1864; Azariah Bast, March 22, 1864 ; Andrew Saltsman, April 5, 1864; 
Philo W. Amy, Dec. 27, 1861 ; Thomas J. Richmond, date not given ; Michael 
Hayes, date not given; Samuel A. Palmer, Jan. 26, 1862; George Ceiling, 
Nov. 13, 1861 ; George Price, Sept. 13, 1861 ; William Manley, Nov. 24, 1861 ; 
Joseph Huston, June i, 1864; Michael Bast, date not given; William Parker, 
killed Aug. 11, 1864; Charles A. Alexander, killed Aug. 19, 1864; Bennett 
Ponteous. killed Sept. i, 1864; Jacob Green, Feb. 9, 1864; S. L. F. Jones, 
Dec. 30, 1864; William Fellers, wounded Sept. i, 1864; died Sept. 10, 1864. 

Sixty-Ei(;mth Lxfantry. 

This regiment was composed mainly of young men of from seventeen to 
thirty years of age. Fulton, Williams, Paulding and Defiance counties, each 
furnished one company, and Henry county furnished the great majority of the 
men of the other companies. The regiment commenced to rendezvous at 
Camp Latty, Napoleon, O., November 21. 1861. Sibley tents, with stoves and 
plenty of straw, gave the boys sumptuous quarters. The rations furnished 
were of the best quality, and abundant, and the supplies of delicacies sent 



92 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

them by their friends at home were frequent, and generous in quantity and 
variety. 

On the 5th of January, 1862, the regiment moved to Camp Chase, where 
it remained until February 7, when it moved to Fort Donelson, Tenn., arriv- 
ing on the 14th. The regiment was assigned to General Charles F". Smith's 
division and occupied a very important position on the left of the lines during 
the two days' operations. After the surrender the regiment encamped near 
Dover until the 15th of March, when it moved to Metal Landing, on the Ten- 
nessee, and from there to Crump's Landing, and from there to Pittsburgh Land- 
ing. Up to this time the health of the men had been comparatively good ; but 
now bad water, bad weather and bad rations operated very seriously upon 
the boys, fresh from the comforts of home life, and the strength of the regi- 
ment was reduced by sickness from one thousand to less than three hundred 
men fit for duty. The regiment was assigned to General Lew Wallace's 
division, and during the battle of Pittsburgh Landing was engaged in guarding 
ordnance and supply trains. Lieutenant-Colonel Scott and Captain Richards 
went as volunteer aids to General Thayer, and were mentioned in his official 
report for gallant and efficient service. During the operations around Corinth 
the regiment was constantly on duty in building roads, bridges and entrench- 
ments. After the evacuation the Sixty-eighth with the Twenty-third Indiana, 
was stationed at Bolivar, Tenn., where they rebuilt the bridge across the 
Hatchie, and formed the guards along the railroad for a number of miles. 

The first regular engagement participated in by the regiment was the bat- 
tle of Metamora (or the Little Hatchie), and for gallantry in which the regiment 
was complimented in general orders. The regiment also participated in the 
battle of luka. It closed the campaign of 1862 by forming the advance of an 
expedition which attempted to get into the rear of Vicksburg by the way of 
Holly Springs and Granada, Miss. The design was frustrated by the surren- 
der of Holly Springs, and the regiment returned to Memphis. During the 
campaign in Missi.ssippi the regiment was assigned to the Second Brigade, 
Third Division, Seventeenth Army Corps, where it remained until the close of 
the war. 

In the spring of 1863 the regiment moved with its command to Lake 
Providence, La., on the Mississippi River, where it worked on the Lake Provi- 
dence canal in the fruitless attempt to clear a passage for the river boats 
through Bayou Tensas. It engaged in similar work in the vicinity of Walnut 
Bayou in the vicinity of Eagle Bend. About the loth of April, 1863, the 
regiment moved down to Milliken's Bend, where it was engaged in working 
on the military road toward Richmond, La. While here Lieutenant John C. 
Banks, of Company C, and privates John Snyder of Company A, Joseph 
Longbury and William Barnhart, of Company C, volunteered to take one of 
the transports, a common river steamer, past the Vicksburg batteries. They 



Hexrv County. 93 



succeeded in this undertaking on the night of April 21. On the 23d of April 
the regiment began its march for the rear of Vicksburg. It marched more than 
seventy miles over low bottom lands, still partly submerged, crossed innumer- 
able bayous on bridges hastily constructed of timber from neighboring houses 
and cotton gins, and reached the Mississippi at Grand Gulf The regiment 
moved down to Bruinsburg, where it crossed the river, and by a forced march 
was able to participate in the battle of Thompson's Hill, May i, 1863. The 
regiment pursued the retreating rebels and was engaged in the battles of Ray- 
mond, May 21 ; Jackson, May 14; Champion Hills, May 16, and Big Black. 
The regiment lost heavily in all these engagements, especially at Champion 
Hills, where Lieutenant- Colonel John S. Snook was killed. 

The regiment engaged in an attack on the rebel works in the rear of Vicks- 
burg on May 18, and in the assault on Fort Hill on the 22d. During the early 
part of the siege the regiment was constantly in the trenches, and it also furn- 
ished large details of sharp-shooters ; but during the latter part of the siege it 
was placed in the army of observation, near Big Black. It was on the recon- 
noissance toward Yazoo city, in the latter part of June, and participated in the 
■engagement at Jackson on the 12th of July. After the battle it guarded 
about six hundred prisoners into Vicksburgv The regiment was quartered 
comfortably in the suburbs at Vicksburg until the middle of August, when 
it moved on an expedition to Monroe, La., and returned with one- third of 
its men either in the hospital, or on the sick list. In October the regiment 
moved on a reconnoissance with the Seventeenth Corps, and was engaged in a 
skirmish at Bogue Chitta Creek, and on the 5th of February, 1864, it partici- 
pated in the fight at Clinton and Jackson, Miss, while on the Meridian raid. 
This expedition prevented the regiment from going north on veteran furlough 
as promptly as it otherwise would have gone. It was one of the first regi- 
ments in the Seventeenth Corps to report three-fourths of its men re-enlisted, 
it having done so on the 15th of December, 1863. Upon its return from 
the Meridian raid the men were supplied with clothing, and the regiment em- 
barked for the North, leaving one hundred and seventy recruits at Vicksburg, 
who arrived just as the regiment was moving down to the landing. The regi- 
ment arrived at Cairo on the 23d of March, and embarked on the cars, moved 
by way of Indianapolis, Bellefontaine and Columbus to Cleveland, where it 
arrived the 26th. Through Illinois and Indiana the regiment was welcomed 
everywhere with banners and flags. It was royally entertained at the Soldiers' 
Home in Indianapolis on the morning of the 24th, and was feasted bountifully 
by the citizens of Muncie, Ind., on the evening of the same day. The regiment 
was detained ten days at Cleveland before a paymaster could be obtained, and 
soon after payment the regiment started for Toledo, where it arrived at three 
•o'clock P. M., on the 6th of April. It was met by a delegation of citizens, 
headed by the mayor of the city, with bands of music, and after marching 



94 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

through the principal streets it was escorted to the Island House, where a 
splendid dinner was in waiting. This was the first welcome the regiment had 
received since entering the State. Special trains were made up on the differ- 
ent roads, and by night all the men were at home. 

On the 7th of May the regiment again took the cars at Cleveland, and pro- 
ceeded to Carlo by way of Cincinnati. At Cairo it was joined by the recruits 
left at Vicksburg, and these, with those obtained during furlough, numbered 
over three hundred. Here, too, the regiment turned over its old arms and 
drew new Springfield muskets. On the 12th of May the regiment, with more 
than seven hundred men for duty, embarked for Clifton, Tenn., and thence 
it marched by way of Huntsville, Decatur and Rome, to Acworth, Ga., 
where it joined the main army under Sherman on the lOth of June. During 
the remainder of the Atlanta campaign the Sixty-eighth was under fire almost 
constantly. It was on the advance line for sixty- five days and nights, and it 
was engaged at Kenesaw Mountain, Big Shanty, Nicojack, Atlanta, July 22d 
and 28th, Jonesborough and Lovejoy. On the 22d of July the regiment was 
engaged very heavily. It had been selected to go to the rear, and to picket 
the roads in the vicinity of army and corps headquarters; but upon reaching 
its position it discovered in its front, instead of cavalry, a corps of rebel in- 
fantry ; while, at the same time, another line of rebel troops was forming 
across the road in its rear. Thus the Sixty-eighth was sandwiched between 
the enemy's advance and rear lines. The rebels were totally unaware of the 
position of this little Buckeye band. The commands of the rebel officers could 
be distinctly heard, and prisoners were captured almost from the rebel line of 
file closers. As the rebel line moved forward the Sixty-eighth advanced, 
cheering, on the double-quick, and dropping behind a fence, poured a volley 
into the rebels, who were in the open field. The batteries of Fuller's brigade, 
Sixteenth Corps, responded to the alarm thus given, and the fight opened in 
earnest. The Sixteenth Corps engaged the enemy so promptly that the regi- 
ment was enabled by a rapid movement by the flank, and a wide detour, to 
pass around the enemy's right, and to rejoin its brigade, which it found warmly 
engaged. The attack came from front and rear, and the men fought first on 
one side of the works and then on the other. At one time a portion of the 
brigade was on one side of the works, firing heavily in one direction, while a 
little way lower down the line the remainder of the brigade was on the other 
side of the works, firing heavily in the other direction. The left of the brigade 
swung back to the crest of a small hill, the right still resting on the old works, 
and a few rails were thrown together, forming a barricade, perhaps a foot 
high, when the last charge of the day was made by two rebel divisions. On 
they came in splendid style, not firing a shot, arms at " right shoulder shift," 
officers in front, lines well dressed, following each other in quick succession. 
The brigade held firm until the first line had crossed a ravine in its front, and 



Henry Couintv. 95 



the second line of reserves could be seen coming down the opposite slope. 
Then came a terrific crash of musketry, and then volley after volley. The 
rebels fell back, leaving the ground thickly strewn with the dead and dying. 
After the engagement at Lovejoy, September 2-6, the regiment was stationed 
on the Rough and Ready road, near East Point, for two weeks, when it moved 
in pursuit of Hood. The regiment advanced as far as Gaylesville, Ala., and 
here quite a number of men were mustered out by reason of expiration of term 
of service. The regiment commenced its return march about the ist of No- 
vember, and moved by way of Cave Springs and Lost Mountain to Smyrna 
camp-meeting ground, where the men were supplied with clothing, and every- 
thing was thoroughly overhauled. The railroad was destroyed, and on the 
14th the regiment moved to Atlanta, and at daylight on the 15th commenced 
the march to the sea. With the exception of an engagement with the Georgia 
militia at the crossing of the Oconee, and the destruction of the railroad build- 
ings at Millen, the regiment experienced no variation from the easy marches 
and pleasant bivouacs, which all enjoyed. On the loth of December the regi- 
ment reached the works around Savannah. On the 12th the Seventeenth 
Corps moved well around to the right of the main road running from the city 
to King's Bridge. Here the regiment assisted in throwing up a heav}' line of 
works, and furnished two companies daily as sharp-shooters. During the op- 
erations around Savannah the regiment subsisted almost entirely upon rice, 
which was found in large quantities near camp, and which the men hulled and 
ground in rude hand-mills. Upon the occupation of the city the regiment 
was ordered on guard duty in the town, and was quartered comfortably in 
Warren and Oglethorp parks. Here, too, the regiment lost some valuable men, 
who were mustered out by reason of expiration of term of service. A large 
number of commissions were received, and the regiment was supplied whh a 
fine corps of young and enthusiastic officers. 

On the 5th of January, 1865, the regiment embarked at Thunderbolt Bay 
for Beaufort, and from there it formed the advance of the corps for most of the 
way to Pocotaligo. Here some heavy works were thrown up, and after rest- 
ing about two weeks the troops moved on the campaign of the Carolinas. 
The regiment marched by way of Orangeburg, Columbia, Winnsboro and 
Cheraw, destroying property, both public and private ; but upon entering the 
State of North Carolina this destruction of property was forbidden by orders 
from superior headquarters. The march was continued through Fayetteville 
to Goldsboro ; where the regiment arrived ragged, bare-footed, and bare- 
headed, and blackened and begrimed with the smoke of pine knots. On the 
morning after its arrival the adjutant's report showed forty-two men bare- 
footed, thirty-six bare-headed, and two hundred and sixty wearing some 
article of citizen's clothes. The regiment rested ten days and then moved out 
to Raleigh. 



96 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

After the surrender of Johnson the regiment marched by way of Dinwid- 
dle C. H., Petersburg, Richmond, Fredericksburg and Alexandria to Wash- 
ington city, where it participated in the grand review on the 26th of May, 
After the review the Sixty-eighth camped at Tenallytown for a week, when it 
was ordered to Louisville, Ky. It went into camp about two miles from the 
city, and a regular system of drill and discipline was maintained until the loth 
of July, when the muster out rolls were signed, and the regiment was ordered 
to report to Camp Taylor, near Cleveland, for payment and discharge. Upon 
arriving at Cleveland the Sixty-eighth was met at the depot by a delegation 
of citizens, and was escorted to Monument Square, where a splendid breakfast 
was served. After this the regiment marched to camp, where it remained 
until the i8th of July, 1865, when it was paid and discharged. 

During its term of service the regiment was on the " sacred soil " of every 
rebel State except Florida and Texas. It marched over seven thousand miles, 
and traveled by railroad and steamboat over six thousand miles. Between 
nineteen hundred and two thousand men belonged to the regiment, and of 
these ninety per cent, were native Americans, the others being Germans, Irish, 
or English, the Germans predominating. Colonel R. K. Scott commanded the 
regiment in all its engagements except Metamora, when Lieutenant- Colonel 
J. S. Snook commanded until after the Vicksburg campaign, when the com- 
mand devolved upon Lientenant-Colonel George E. Wells, and he continued 
to hold the command in all subsequunt engagements, skirmishes and marches 
until the close of the war. The regiment was presented with a beautiful ban- 
ner by the citizens of Henry county just before its muster out; it having been 
impracticable to send the flag to the regiment at Atlanta, as was intended, 
the flag was returned by Colonel Wells, on behalf of the regiment, to the 
citizens of Henry county. The regimental colors were turned over to the 
adjutant-general of the State, and were deposited in the archives. Upon 
these flags, by authority from corps and department headquarters, were in- 
scribed the names of the following battles : Fort Donelson, Pittsburgh Land- 
ing, Siege of Corinth, luka, Metamora, Thompson's Hill, Raymond, Jackson, 
Champion Hills, Big Black, Vicksburg, May 22, and siege; Jackson, July 12; 
Monroe Raid, Bogue Chitta, Meridian Raid, Kenesaw, June 27, and siege ; 
Nicojack, Atlanta, July 21, 22 and 28, and siege; Jonesboro, Lovejoy, Oc- 
onee, Savannah, Pocotaligo, Salkehatchie, Orangeburg, Columbia, Cheraw, 
Bentonville and Raleigh. 

This regiment was organized in the State of Ohio at large, in October, 
November and December, 1861, to serve three years. On the expiration of 
its term of service the original members (except veterans) were mustered out, 
and the organization, composed of veterans and recruits, retained in service 
until July 10, 1865, when it was mustered out in accordance with orders from 
the war department. 




'''y-^^y'^y^z--^^'- yy 




yc 



Henry County 



97 



The official list of battles, in which this regiment bore an honorable part, is 
not yet published by the war department, but the following list has been 
compiled, after careful research, during the preparation of this work: Thomp- 
son's Hill, Miss., May i, 1863; Raymond, Miss., Ma)-, 12, 1863; Jackson, 
Miss., May 14, 1863; Champion Hills, Miss., May 16, 1863; siege of Vicks- 
burg. Miss., May 18 to Jul)' 4, 1863 ; Clinton and Jackson, Miss., F'ebruary 5, 
1864; Kenesaw Mountain, Ga., June 9 to 30, 1864; Big Shanty, Ga., June 
15, 1864; Kenesaw Mountain, Ga. (general assault), June 27, 1864; Atlanta, 
Ga. (Hood's first sortie), July 24, 1864; siege of Atlanta, Ga., July 28 to 
September 2, 1864; Jonesboro, Ga., August 31 to September i, 1864; Love- 
joy Station, Ga., September 2 to 6, 1864. 

Roster. 

Field and Stajf. — Mustered out July 10, 1865, at Louisville, Kw. b_\- C\-- 
rus M. Roberts, captain Seventy-eighth C). V. Infantry. No record of mus- 
ter in found. 

Company A. — Mustered in December 13, 1861, at Camp Latty, Napoleon, 
O., by Lewis Y. Richards, captain Sixty-eighth O. V. I. Mustered out July 
ID, 1865, at Louisville, Ky., by Cyrus M. Roberts, captain Seventy-eighth O. 
V. Lifantry. 

Field and Staff. — Samuel H. Steedman, colonel, October i, 1861, three 
years. Promoted from lieut.-col. Nov. 29, 1861 ; disch. July 5, 1862. 

Robert K. Scott, col., Oct. i, 1861, 3 years; prom, to lieut-col. from maj. 
Nov. 30, 1861 ; to col. July 5, 1862 ; brev. brig-general Jan. 25, 1865 ^ ^^''t,^-- 
general March 31, 1865 ; brev. maj. -general Dec. 5, 1865. 

John S. Snook, lieut.-col, Nov. 29, 1861,3 years; prom, from maj. jul\- 
5, 1862; killed May 16, 1863, in battle of Champion Hills, Miss. 

George E. Wells, lieut-col., Oct 29, 1861, 3 }-ears ; prom, to maj. from adj. 
July 5, 1862 ; to lieut-col. May 16, 1863 ; to col. June 16. 1865 ; not must. ; 
must, out with reg. July 10, 1865. 

Arthur Crocker, maj., Nov. 2, 1861, 3 years; prom, from capt. company 
D, Feb. 26, 1864, to lieut-col. June 16, 1865; "ot must; must, out with reg. 
July 10, 1865. 

Eugene B. Harrison, surgeon, Nov. 6, 1861, 3 years; resigned June 9, 
1864. 

M. A. Brown, surgeon, Sept. 26, 1864, 3 years; declined. 

John G. Brigham, surgeon, Dec. 7, 1864, 3 years; must, out with regt. 
July 10, 1865. 

Benjamin F. Berkley, ass't-surgeon, Oct. 21, 1861, 3 years; resigned Dec. 
31, 1862. 

S. C. Chase, ass't-surgeon, Aug. 19, 1862, 3 years; resigned Oct. 31, 1862. 

David C. Rathburne, ass't-surgeon, Feb. 4, 1863, 3 years; declined. 

13 



History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 



W. C. Catlin, ass't-surgeon, April 28, 1863, 3 years; declined. 

William Massie, ass't-surg., July 10, 1863, 3 years; appt. July 20, 1863; 
prom, to surg. July 13, 1864; declined — ; resigned Aug. 20, 1864. 

L. B. Vorhees, ass't-surg., July 13, 1864, 3 years; declined. 

E. C. De Forest, ass't-surg., Oct. 25, 1864, 3 years; declined. 

Andrew Jackson, adjt , Oct. 10. t86i, 3 years; prom, from second lieut. 
company F, July 5, 1862 ; resigned Feb. 24, 1863. 

Thomas T. Cowan, adjt., Oct. 4, 1861, 3 years; appt. from first lieut. com- 
pany H, Feb. 28, 1863; prom, to capt. May 9, 1864; declined — , ; must. 

out Oct. 27, 1864, on the expiration of term of service. 

Henry Welty, adjt, Oct. 10, 1861, 3 years; appt. from first lieut. company 

A, Oct. 24, 1864; prom, to capt. Nov. 26, 1864; declined — , ; must, out 

with reg. July 10, 1865. 

James G. Haley, quartermaster, Oct. 10, 1861,3 years; appt. Oct. 26, 
1 861 ; resigned Oct. 26, 1862. 

Leverett G. Crandall, quartermaster, Nov. 2, 1861, 3 years; appt. from first 
lieut. company D, Oct. 26, 1862 ; detailed April 24, 1863, to command mortar 
boats which opened bombardment of Vicksburg May 20, 1863 ; returned to 
regiment May 25, 1863 ; prom, to cap. and ass't-adjt-gen'l on staff" of Gen'l 
Robert K. Scott, 2d Brigade, 3d Div., 17th Army Corps Nov. 8, 1864; mus- 
tered out March 20, 1865. ' 

Charles Bates, quartermaster, Oct. 16, 1861, 3 }^ears ; prom, to serg't-maj. 
from private, company K, Nov. 23, 1861 ; to second lieut. company B, April 
I, 1862 ; first lieut. company B, May 16, 1864, but declined to accept; must, 
out April 9, 1865, on expiration of term of service. 

Elmer Y. Smutz, quartermaster, Oct. 16, 1861, 3 years; appt. from first 
lieut. company C, April 10, 1865 ; must, out with regiment July 10, 1865. 

Martin Perkey, chap., Dec. 24, 1861, 3 years; resigned Sept. 17, 1862. 

Samuel R. Adams, serg't-maj., Oct. 17, 1861, 3 }'ears ; prom, to quarter- 
master-sergeant from private company F, Nov. 20, 1861. 

Isaac McCoy, serg't-maj., Oct. 22, 1861, 3 years; prom, from first serg't 
company C, Oct. 26, 1862 ; to second lieut. company A, Nov. 10, 1863. 

Milton Stout, serg't-maj., Oct. 26, 1861, 3 years; prom, from first serg't 
company F, April 30, 1864; to capt. company F, Jan. 11, 1865 ; veteran. 

Alfred M. Russel, serg't-maj., Dec. 3, 1863, 3 years; prom, from private 
company C, Jan. 27, 1865 ; mustered out with regiment July 10, 1865. 

Jacob Bruner, quartermaster-sergeant, Nov. 23, 1861, 3 years; prom, from 
serg't company C, April i, 1862 ; disch. April 9, 1863, to accept promotion in 
9th Louisana Volunteers, African descent; killed June 7, 1863, at action in 
Milliken's Bend, La. 

Charles E. Reynolds, quartermaster-sergeant, Jan. 5, 1862, 3 years; prom, 
from private company F, April 20, 1863; captured May, 1863, at Clinton,. 



Henry County 



99 



Miss., while carrying dispatches; exchanged Aug., 1863 ; captured Feb. 10, 
1864, at Morton, Miss.; exchanged April 17, 1865; must, out June 16, 1865, 
at Camp Chase, O., by order of war department; veteran. 

W'illiam G. Lamb, com.-scrg't., Nov. 26, 1861, 3 years ; prom, from private 
company I, No\'. 27, 1861 ; disch. July 2T,, 1862, at Cincinnati, O., on sur- 
geon's certificate of disability. 

Jacob A. Dorshimer, com.-serg't, Nov. 9, 1861, 3 years; prom, (vom pri- 
vate company K, I'eb. 14, 1863 ; to first lieut. company K, Nov. 26, 1864 ; 
veteran. 

Frank Flemmer, com.-serg't. Oct. 29, 1861, 3 years; prom, from private, 
company F, Dec. 25, 1864; must, out with regt. July 10, 1865 ; veteran. 

James M. McGrifiin, hosp. steward, Oct. 10, 1861, 3 years; prom, from 
private, company I, Nov. 26, 1861 ; disch. May 8, 1862, at Shiloh, Tcnn., on 
surgeon's certificate of disability. 

John G. Parry, hosp. steward, Oct. 8, 1861, 3 years; prom, from private, 
company F, Oct. 23, 1863; wounded May 6, 1863, in battle of Champion 
Hills, Miss.; must, out Oct. 28, 1864, at Chattanooga, Tenn., on expiration of 
term of service. 

Cary E. McCann, hosp. steward, Dec. 13, 1861, 3 years; prom, from pri- 
vate, company I, Oct. 8, 1864; to second lieut. Jan. ii, 1865 ; not must.; 
must, out with regiment July 10, 1865 ; veteran. 

Larkin Linthicum, prin. mus., Oct. 19, 1861, 3 years; prom, from private 
company A, March 12, 1862; mustered out with regt. July 10, 1865; vet- 
eran. 

Ithamer Culbertson, prin. mus., Dec. 5, 1861, 3 years ; prom, from private, 
company E, April 12, 1862; must, out with regiment July 10, 1865 ; veteran. 

Guy E. Eastman, drum-maj., Nov. 15, 1861, 3 years; disch. April 9, 1862, 
by order of war department. 

John B. Mikesell, fife-maj., Dec. 5, 1861, 3 years; died March 11, 1862, at 
Fort Donelson, Tenn. 

Company A. — Lewis W. Richards, captain Oct. 3, 1861, 3 years; app't 
Nov. 5, 1861 ; mus. out Oct. 26, 1864, on expiration of term of service. 

Isaac McCoy, captain, Oct. 22, 1861, 3 years; prom, to second lieut. from 
serg't-maj. Nov. 10, 1863; capt. Nov. 26, 1864; mus. out with company Jul)- 
10, 1865. 

Abram C. Urquhart, first lieutenant, Oct. 28, 1861, 3 years; appt. Nov. 
21, 1861 ; prom, to captain Nov. ii, 1862, but declined to accept; mus. out 
Dec. 19, 1864, near Savannaii, Ga., on expiration of term of service. 

William F. Williams, first lieut., Oct. 12, 1861,3 years; appt. second 
lieut. Nov. 21, 1 86 1 ; prom, to first lieut. Oct. 26, 1862 ; to capt. company D, 
May 9, 1862. 

Henry Welty, first lieut., Oct. 7, 1861, 3 years; prom, to second lieut. com- 
pany F, Feb. 26, 1864; appt. adj. Oct. 24, 1862. 



loo History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

Upton, Spurgeon, first lieut., Oct, 8, i86i, 3 years; appt. corp. Dec. i, 
1861; serg't July i, 1862; first serg't Jan. i, 1863; prom, to first lieut. Nov. 
26, 1864; mus. out with company July 10, 1865. 

Samuel R. Adams, second lieut., Oct. 17, 1861, 3years; prom, from serg't- 
maj., Oct. 26, 1862 ; to first lieut. company K, Feb. 26, 1864. 

Peter Huner, first serg't, Oct. 28, 1861, 3 years; mus. as private; appt. first 
serg't Dec. i, 1861 ; died Dec. 6, 1862, at Bolivar, Tenn. 

Elmer Y. Smutz, first serg't, Oct. 16, 1861, 3 years; mus. as private; appt. 
serg't. Jan. i, 1863; first serg't, Dec. 26, 1864; prom, to first lieut. company 
C, Jan. II, 1865 ; veteran. 

Andrew J. Treslar, first serg't, Dec. 12, 1861, 3, years; appt. corp — , ;. 

wounded May 16, 1863, in battle of Champion Hills, Miss.; appt. serg't. March 
9, 1864; first serg't, Jan. 30, 1865 ; mus. out with company July 10, 1865 ; 
veteran. 

Jacob Battenfield, serg't, Oct. 24, 1861, 3 years; appt. corp. — , J 

serg't, Dec. 24, 1864; mus. out with company July 10, 1865 ; veteran. 

Horace Waters, serg't, Oct. 12, 1861, 3 years; appt. corp. ; serg't, 

Dec. 24, 1864; mus. out with company July 10, 1865 ; veteran. 

Elias Kigar, serg't, Oct. 15, 1 86 1, 3 years; appt. from private Dec. 24, 
1864; mustered out with company July 10, 1865 ; veteran. 

Robert B. Wood, serg't, Oct. 28, 1861, 3 years; appt. corp. Dec. 24, 1864; 
serg't. Jan. 30, 1865 ; mus. out with company July 10, 1865 ; veteran. 

Samuel Morse, serg't, Oct. 5, 1861, 3 years; mus. as private; appt. serg't, 
Dec. I, 1861 ; died Dec. 14, 1863, at Vicksburg, Miss. 

Elmer Y. Baker, corp., Oct. 22, 1861, 3 years; appt. corp. Dec. 24, 1864; 
mus. out with company July 10, 1865 ; veteran. 

Richard, Steward, corp., Oct. 5, 1861, 3 years; wounded May 16, 1863, in 
battle of Champion Hills, Miss.; appt. corp. Dec. 25, 1864; mus. out witb 
company July 10, 1865; veteran. 

Thomas Jenkins, corp., Oct. 11, 1861, 3 years; appt. corp. Dec. 24, 1864; 
mus. out with company July lo, 1865 ; veteran. 

Ebenezer W. Schooley, corp., Oct. 25, 1863, 3 years ; appt. corp. Dec. 24, 
1864; mus. out with company July 10, 1865 ; veteran. 

Joseph Rickey, corp., Oct. 16, 1861, 3 years; appt. corp. Dec. 24, 1864;. 
mus. out with company July 10, 1865; veteran. 

John Kigar, corp., Oct. 17, 1861, 3 years ; appt. corp. Dec. 24, 1864; mus. 
out with company July 10, 1865 ; veteran. 

Henry Dickerson, corp., Oct. 27, 1861, 3 years; appt. corp. Dec. i, 1861 ; 
disch. — , , at Columbus, O., on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Henry C. Williams, corp., Oct. 21, 1861, 3 years; appt. corp. — , ;, 

died Sept. 3, 1864, ^t Cairo, 111., of wounds received June 12, 1863, i^ action 
near Vicksburg, Miss. 



Henry County. lor 



Barr, William J., private, Oct. 5, 1861, 3 years; mus. (nit with company 
July 10, 1865 ; veteran. 

Thomas Burrow, private, Oct. 5, 1861, 3 years; captured Feb. lO, 1864, at 
Morton, Miss.; mus. out June 16, 1865, at Camp Chase, O., by order of war 
department ; veteran. 

Bortz, George, private, Oct. 7, 1861, 3 years. 

Buchele, Louis, private, Oct. 12, 1861, 3 years; mus in as Lewis Buckley; 
mus. out with company July 10, 1865 ; veteran. 

Beck, Adam, private, Oct. 14, 1861, 3 years; wounded Ma\' 16, 1863, in 
battle of Champion Hills, Miss.; mustered out with company July 10, 1865; 
veteran. 

Beck, Benton, private, Oct. 19, 1861, 3 years ; mus. out with company July 
10, 1865 ; veteran. 

Beck, Paul, private, Aug. 26, 1862, 3 years; died June 8, 1863 at hospital 
at Lake Providence, La. 

Battenficld, William D., private, Oct. 16, 1861, 3 years; mus. out with 
compan}-, July lo, 1865 ; veteran. 

Bear, Abraham, private, Oct. 19, 1861, 3 years; mus. out with company 
July 10, 1865 ; veteran. 

Brenner, Nathaniel, private, Dec. 24, 1861, 3 years; captured May 10, 1864, 
at Morton, Miss.; died Sept. 11, 1864, in rebel prison at Andersonville, Ga.; 
veteran. 

Bowman, Frederick, private, Oct. 24, 1861, 3 years; trans, to compan\- D. 

Bowman, Frederick, private, Jan. 5, 1863, 3 years ; mus. out with company 
July 10, 1865. 

Bordner, Henry, private, Dec. 10, 1863, 3 years; mus. out with company 
July 10, 1865. 

Branghno, John, private, Feb. 7, 1864, 3 years; mus. out with company 
July 10, 1865. 

Babcock, John D, private, Dec. 23, 1863, 3 years ; mus. out with company 
July 10, 1865. 

Babcock, William O., private, Jan. 25, 1864, 3 years ; mus. out with com- 
pany, July 10, 1865. 

Babcock, Alonzo A., private, Jan. 16, 1864, 3 years; mus. out with com- 
pany July 10, 1865. 

Babcock, James H., private, Feb. 7, 1864, 3 years; died June 4, 1865, 
Flarewood General Hospital at Washington, D. C. 

Brackham, F^rederick, private, Oct. 7, 1861, 3 years; trans, from company 

F, — , ; mus. out Oct. 28, 1864, at Chattanooga, Tenn., on expiration of 

term of ser\'ice. 

Berthmyer, David, private, Oct. 12, 1861, 3 years; died May 22, 1862, at 
Napoleon, O. 



I02 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

Best, Azariah, private, Oct. 17, i86r, 3 years; died March 26, 1862, at 
Crump's Landing, Tenn. 

Baker, John K., private, Dec. i, 1861, 3 years; disch. July i, 1862, at Co- 
lumbus, O., on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Bonny, Joseph M., private, Oct. 31, 1861, 3 years ; disch. June 20, 1862, at 
Camp Chase, O., on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Cross, Abel, private, Oct. 18, 1861, 3 years; disch. May 2, 1862, at Pitts- 
burgh, Tenn., on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Cary, Harlan P., private, Oct. 22, 1861, 3 years; transferred to 8th Michi- 
gan Light Art, Dec. 10, 1862. 

Dunbar, John, private, Aug. 26, 1862, 3 years; mus. out May 29, 1865, 
at Washington, D. C, by order of war department. 

Dunbar, Boyd, private, Oct. 11, 1861, 3 years; vv'd May 16, 1863 in battle 
of Champion Hills, Miss; mus. out with company July 10, 1865 ; veteran. 

Dunbar, James, private, Oct. 20, 1862,3 years; discharged June 26, 1863, 
on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Davis, George R., private, Oct. 20, 1862, 3 years; mus. out with company 
July 10, 1865. 

Davis, John, private, Dec. 23, 1862, 3 years; mus. out with company July 
10, 1865. 

Drummond, Levi, private, Jan. 15, 1864, 3 years; mus. out July 21, 1865, 
in New York city by order of war department. 

* Dennis, Andrew J., private, Sept. i, 1862, 3 years; mus. out May 29, 1865, 
at Washington, D. C, by order of war department. 

Done, Eugene O., private, Dec. i, 1863, 3 years; mus. out June 8, 1865, 
at Camp Dennison, O., by order of war department. 

Duell, Eugene P., private, Dec. 31, 1863, 3 years; died April 22, 1864, 
at Yicksburg, Miss. 

Delong, Charles, private, Dec. 31, 1863, 3 years; died Sept. 15, 1865, at 
Vicksburg, Miss. 

Edson, John B., private, Dec. 4, 1863, 3 years; mus. out with company, 
July 10, 1865. 

Edgar, John, private, Oct. 12, 1861, 3 years; discharged Oct. 8, 1862. 

Frantz Henry, private, Oct. 7, 1861, 3 years; mus. out with company, 
July 10. 1865 ; veteran. 

Frederick, Erastus, private, Oct. 17, 1861, 3 years; mus. out with com- 
pany, July 10, 1865; veteran. 

Foster, Charles E., private, Oct. 19, 1861, three years; on mus. roll but 
never reported for duty. 

Foster, Charles E., private. May 5, 1864, 3 years; mus. out with company 
July 10, 1865. 

Flenner, George, private, Oct. 28, 1861, 3 years; discharged Dec. 23, 
1862, at Columbus, O., on surgeon's certificate of disability. 



Henry County. 



105 



Friend, Jacob, private, Feb. 22, 1864, 3 years; killed June 22, 1864 in 
action at Kenesaw Mountain, Ga. 

Galman, Joseph, private, Oct. 16, 1864, 1 year; nius. out with company, 
July 10, 1865. 

Goodwell, Nathaniel, private, Oct. 21, 1861, 3 years; mus. out Oct. 28, 
1864. at Chattanooga, on expiration of term of service. 

Garret, Jacob, private, Oct. 28, 1861, 3 years; mus. out Oct. 28, 1S64, at 
Chattanooga, Tenn., on expiration of term of service. 

Helberg, Christian H., private, Oct. 5, 1861, 3 years; mus. out with com- 
pany, July 10, 1865 ; veteran. 

Helberg, Frederick, private, Oct. 5, 1861, 3 years; discharged Oct. 17, 
1862, at Bolivar, Tenn., on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Hutchins, Simon J., private, Oct. 14, 1863, 3 years; mus. out with com- 
pany, July 10, 1865. 

Howe, William H., private, Jan. 5, 1864, 3 years; mus. out with company 
July 10, 1865. 

Haller, William, private, Dec. 13, 1861, 3 years; appointed corporal ; 

sergeant, March 9, 1864; reduced to ranks, Dec. 17, 1864; wounded, June 
II, 1863, in action "^'^'' Vicksburg; mus. out with compan}% July 10, 1865; 
veteran. 

Hershbcrger, Wil.son, private, Oct. 5, 1861, 3 years; died April 24, 1862, 
at Pittsburgh Landing, Tenn. 

Hershberger, Thomas, private, Oct. 14, 1861, 3 years; on mus. roll, no 
further record found. 

Hissong, Lyman J., private, Oct. 21, 1861, 3 years; trans, to company I, 
Dec. I, 1 86 1. 

Hiser, John, private, Dec. 13, 1861, 3 years; died Jan. 22, 1864 in ho.spi- 
tal at Vicksburg, Miss. ; veteran. 

Konzen, Leanord, private, Jan. 18, 1864, 3 years; captured Nov. 17, 1864, 
on march from Atlanta to Savannah, Ga. ; no further record found. 

Kriling, John, private, Oct. 5, 1861, 3 years; died Oct. 18, 1862, in hos- 
pital at Jackson, Tenn. 

Kemm, Christian, private, Oct. 7, 1861, 3 years; died July 9, 1862, at Na- 
poleon, O. 

Knapp, James H., private, Oct. 22, 1861,3 years ; transferred to company D. 

Kittering, John, F., private, Oct. 20, 1861, 3 years; absent March 13, 
1862, in general hospital, Mound City, 111.; no further record found. 

Kelly, Alvey, private, Oct. 28, 1861, 3 years; discharged July 29, 1862, at 
Columbus, O., surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Laher. Gottlieb, private, Oct. 19, 1861, 3 >-ears; mus. out with company, 
July 10, 1865; veteran. 

Lawrence, George F., private, Oct. 19, 1861, 3 years; mus. out with com- 
pany July 10, 1865; veteran. 



104 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

Lettick, Simon, private, Oct. 9, 1862, 3 years; also borne on the rolls as 
Simon Leetlirk; mus. out with company, July 10, 1865; veteran. 

Large, Erastus, private, Oct. 13, 1861, 3 years; on mus. roll, no further 
record found. 

Large, Erastus D., private, Jan. i, 1864, 3 years; mus. out with company, 
July 10, 1865. 

Linthecome, Larkin, private, Oct. 19, 1861, 3 years; promoted to princi- 
pal musician March 12, 1862. 

Lesnet, Lafayette, private, Oct. 28, 1861, 3 years; discharged Oct. 17, 
1862, at Bolivar, Tenn., on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Lyman, Nathan, private, Nov. 11, 1861, 3 years; killed Sept. 24, 1862, in 
railroad accident near Jackson, Miss. 

Miller, John, priv^ate, Oct. 24, 1864, i year; mus. out with company July 
10, 1865. 

Mapes, James F., private, Jan. 16, 1864, 3 years; mus. out with company, 
July 10, 1865. 

Mitchell, Andrew, private, Feb. 8, 1864, 3 years; mus. out with company, 
July 10, 1865. 

Mitchell, Aaron, private, Oct. 16, 1861, 3 years; died April 16, 1862, at 
Savannah, Tenn. 

Myers, George, W., private, Oct. 27, 1861, 3 years; appointed sergeant, 
July I, 1861; reduced to ranks March 9, 1864; mus. out with company, July 
10, 1865; veteran. 

Mann, Abraham, private, Oct. ii, 1861, 3 years; discharged Oct. 27, 1862, 
at Cincinnati, O., on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Miller, Fenelson G., private, Oct. 12, 1861, 3 }'ears; discharged June 27, 
1862, at Columbus, O., on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Moore, John, private, Oct. 12, 1861, 3 years; discharged June 27, 1862, 
at Columbus, O., on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Merris, James M., private, Oct. 17, 1861, 3 years; also borne as James M. 
Morris; discharged Sept. 27, 1862, at Columbus, O., on surgeon's certificate 
of disability. 

Moses, Charles W., private, Oct. 21, 1861, 3 years; detached as hospital 
steward 42d United States colored infantry, June 29, 1864; mus. out Octo- 
ber 31, 1864, at Chattanooga, Tenn., on expiration of term of service. 

Ottinger, Jacob G., private, Oct. 14, 1861, 3 years; mus. out with com- 
pany, July 10, 1865 ; veteran. 

Onweller, James, private, Nov. 10, 1861, 3 years; discharged June 24, 
1862, at Columbus, O., on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Parker, George, private, Dec. 5, 1863, 3 years; transferred to veteran re- 
serve corps, July i, 1864. 

Prentice, Jacob, private, Sept. i, 1862, 3 years; mus. out May 29, 1865, 
at Washington, D. C, by order of war department. 



Henry County. 105 



Preston, George W., private, Feb. 6, 1864, 3 years; died March 23, 1864, 
in Washington general hospital at Memphis, Tenn. 

Preston, William, private, Oct. 11, 1861, 3 years; died on or about March 
16, 1862, at Cincinnati, O. 

Plossman, Frederick, private, Oct. 5, 1861, 3 years; discharged Oct. 17 

1862, at Bolivar, Tenn., on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Parsons, William H., private, Oct. 7, i86r, 3 years ; discharged , 1861, 

at Napoleon, O., by civil authority. 

Primmer, Simon, private, Oct. 8, 1861, 3 years; discharged Oct. 13, 1862 
at Cincinnati, O., by order of war department. 

Percy, Perrin S., private, Oct. 8, 1861, 3 years; mus. out Oct. 28, 1864, 
at Chattanooga, Tenn., on expiration of term of service. 

Peters, David W., private, Sept. 3, 1862, 3 years; discharged Sept. 16, 

1863, ^t Keokuk, la., on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Retig, George, private, Oct. 7, 1861,3 years; mus. out with company, 
July 10, 1865; veteran. 

Roddy, John, private, Oct. 12, 1861, 3 years; mus. out Oct. 28, 1864, ^t 
Chattanooga, on expiration of term of service. 

. Roddy, William, private, Oct. 12, 1861, 3 years; mus. out with company, 
July 10, 1865 ; veteran. 

Roddy, Daniel, private, Sept. 3, 1862, 3 years; mus. out May 29, 1865, 
at Washington, D. C. 

Reed, George, private, Oct. 5, 1861, 3 years; wounded May 16, 1863, •'! 
battle of Champion Hills, Miss; mus. out with company July 10, 1865 ; vet- 
eran. 

Reed, John, private, Nov. 2, 1863, 3 years ; mus. out with company, July 
10, 1865. 

Reed, Jesse, private, Oct. 12, 1861, 3 years; died March 12, 1864, at 
Vicksburg, (?) Miss. 

Robinson, Lorenzo, private, Oct. 12, 3 years; mus. out with compan}-July 
10, 1865 ; veteran. 

Robinson, Benjamin F., private, Oct. 5, 1861,5 years; discharged Dec. 12, 

1862, at Columbus, O., on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Rhodes, Jacob, private, Feb. 22, 1864, 3 years; mus. out with company 
July 10, 1865. 

Rose, Daniel, private, Dec. 13, 1861, 3 years; mus. out May 29, 1869, at 
Washington, D. C, by order of war department ; veteran. 

Richmond, Thomas, private, Oct. 27, 1861, 3 \'ears ; discharged March 22, 

1863, at Lake Providence, La., on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Rhiad, John, private, Oct. 22, 1861, 3 years; died April 22, 1862, at Cin- 
cinnati, O. 

Simmons, Frederick, private, P'eb. 7, 1864, 3 years; mus. out with com- 
pany July 10, 1865. ■^^ 



io6 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

Simmons, Thomas, private, Oct. 15, 1861, 3 years; mus. out with com- 
pany July 10, 1865 ; veteran. 

Spurgeon, Lemuel, private, Oct. ii, 1861, 3 years; died Dec. 9, 1863, at 
Vicksburg, Tenn. 

Spurgeon, Jeremiah, private, Oct. 12, 1861, 3 years; mus. out with com- 
pany July 10, 1865 ; veteran. 

Sworden, Harvey, private, Jan. 16, 1864, 3 years; died Sept. 7, 1864, at 
17 the Army Corps Hospital, Marietta, Ga. 

Stout, George H., private, Dec. 8, 1863, 3 years ; mus. out with company 
July 10, 1865. 

Spade, William H., private, Oct. 12, 1861, 3 years; died March 27, 1862, 
at Napoleon, O. 

Snyder, George, private, Jan. 15, 1864, 3 years; mus. out with company 
July 10, 1865. 

Snyder, Noah, private, Jan. 15, 1864, 3 years; mus. out with company 
July 10, 1865. 

Snyder, John, private, Oct. 8, 1861, 3 years; veteran. 

Sweet, Charles R., private, Jan. 15, 1864, 3 years; mus. out with company 
July 10, 1865. 

Stickler, Peter, private, Oct. 5, 1861, 3 years; discharged July 18, 1862, 
at Columbus, O., on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Siford, Frederick, private, Oct. 7, 1861. 3 years; died May 27, 1863, near 
Vicksburg, Miss., of wounds received May 22, in action near Vicksburg, Miss. 

Taylor, James, private, Nov. 9, 1863, 3 years ; mus. out with company July 
10, 1865. 

Trouby, Samuel, private, Oct. 16, 1861, 3 years. 

Vonness, William G , private, Oct. 12, 1861, 3 years ; discharged Aug. 25, 
1862, at Bolivar, Tenn. 

Van Hyning, Julius, private, Nov. 13, 1861, 3 years; discharged July 18, 
1862, at Columbus, 0.,on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Willard, Samuel D., private, Sept. 9, 1863, 3 years; discharged July 18, 
1865, at Finley Hospital, Washington, D. C. 

Willard, Elias, private, Oct. 12, 1861, 3 years; wounded May 16, 1863, in 
battle of Champion Hills, Miss.; mus. out with company July 10, 1865 ; vet- 
eran. 

White, John M., private, Oct. 12, 1861, 3 years; mus. out with company 
July 10, 1865 ; veteran. 

Withrow, John, private, Oct. 5, 1861, 3 years; trans, to 103d company, 2d 
battalion V. R. C, Nov. 22, 1863. 

Whilton, Orrin S., private, Oct. 28, 1861, 3 years; also borne as Orrin S. 
Whitten ; discharged Jul}' I, 1862, at Columbus, O., on surgeon's certificate of 
disability. 



Henry County. 107 



Company D, 6%th Regiment. — Arthur C. Crockett, captain, Nov. 2, 1861, 
3 years; appointed Nov. 21, 1861 ; promoted to major P^cb. 26, 1864. 

William F. Williams, captain, Oct. 12, 1S61, 3 years ; i^romoted from first- 
lieut. company A May 19, 1864; mu.s. out with compan)- July 10, 1861. 

Leverette G. Crandall, first licut., Nov. 2, 1861, 3 years; appointed Nov. 
21, 1 861 ; appointed regimental quartermaster Oct. 26, 1862. 

Levi Cofifman, first lieut, Oct. 19, 1861, 3 years; appointed second hcut. 
Nov. 21, 1861 ; promoted to first heut. Nov. 21 1862; transferred to com- 
pany B March 3, 1863. 

William Gilson, first lieut., Oct. 18, 1861, 3 years; appointed corporal Dec. 
I, 1861; sergeant, Dec. i, 1861; first sergeant, Dec. 16, 1863; wounded Aug. 
31, 1864; promoted to first lieut. Jan. 11, 1865 ; mus. out with compan}- July 
10, 1865 ; veteran. 

Elias Rottinger. second lieut., Oct. 11, 1861, 3 years; appointed sergeant 
from private Dec. i, 1861 ; first sergeant May i, 1862 ; promoted to second 
lieut. April i, 1864; to captain company E Nov. 26, 1864. 

Michael Neff, first sergeant, Oct. 12, 1861, 3 years; appointed from private 
Dec. I, 1861 ; discharged Aug. 27, 1862, at Columbus, O., on surgeon's cer- 
tificate of disability. 

Angelo Emery, first sergeant, Oct. 21, 1861, 3 years; appointed corporal 
Dec. I, 1861 ; sergeant Dec. 16, 1863; first sergeant Jan. 27, 1865; mus. out 
with company July 10, 1865 ; veteran. 

Rezen H. Moore, sergeant, Oct. 11, 1861, 3 years; appointed from private 
Dec. 1, 1861 ; mus. out Oct. 28, 1864, at Chattanooga, Tenn., on expiration of 
term of service. 

Wesley Pontius, sergeant, Oct. 12, 1861, 3 years; appointed sergeant from 
private Dec. i, 1861 ; mus. out July 15, 1865, at Washington. D. C. by order 
of war department. 

Henry De Long, sergeant, Oct. 28, 1861, 3 years; appointed corporal Dec. 
I, 1861 ; sergeant Oct. 12, 1864; mus. out with company July lO. 1865 ; vet- 
eran. 

Levi Hoy, sergeant, Oct. 18, 1861, 3 years; appointed corporal Dec. i, 
1861 ; sergeant Oct. 12, 1864; mus. out with company July 10. 1865 ; vet- 
eran. 

Benjamin Parker, sergeant, Oct. 15, 1861, 3 years; appointed from private 
Dec. I, 1 861 ; discharged by civil authority. 

Jerry Hollinshead, sergeant, Nov. 6, 1861 ; 3 years; mus. as private; ap- 
pointed sergeant; wounded May 16, 1863, in battle of Champion Hills, Miss.; 
mus. out Dec. 15, 1864, near Savannah, Ga., on expiration of term of service. 

John W. Kelly, corporal, Oct. 21, 1861, 3 years; appointed corporal. Dec. 
I, 1861 ; mus. out with company Juh' 10, 1865. 

John Getz, corporal, Dec. 7. 1861. 3 years ; appointed corporal, Jul>' 1, 
1864; mus. out with company July lO. 1865. 



io8 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

Frank W. Smith, corporal, Nov. ii, 1861, 3 years; appointed corporal 
Dec. I, 1 86 1 ; mus. out Dec. 19, 1864, near Sav^annah, Ga., on expiration of 
term of service. 

William Booher, corporal, Oct. 21, 1861, 3 years; appointed corporal July 
I, 1864; mus. out with company July 10, 1865; veteran. 

Stephen Shartzer, corporal, Dec. 13, 1861, 3 years; appointed corporal 
July I, 1864; mus. outAvith company July 10, 1865; veteran. 

Eugene M. Rugg, corporal, Aug. 26, 1861. 3 years; appointed corporal 
July I, 1864; mus. out May 29, 1865, at Washington, D. C , by order of war 
department. 

Samuel McConn, corporal, Nov. 11, 1861, 3 years; appointed corporal 
Dec. I, 1861 ; died May 5, 1862, in general hospital at Keokuk, la. 

Thomas Gilson, corporal, Oct. 25, 1861, 3 years; appointed corporal Dec. 
I, 1861 ; discharged April 15, 1862, at Columbus, O., on surgeon's certificate 
of disability. 

Charles Morey, corporal, Oct. 24, 1861, 3 years; appointed corporal Dec. 
I, 1861; died Aug. 23, 1863. in McPherson Hospital, Vicksburg, Miss., of 
wounds received May 22, 1863, in action near Vicksburg, Miss. 

Andrews, John, private, Oct. 14, 1861, 3 years; mus. out with company 
July 10, 1865 ; veteran. 

Altman, George, private, Oct. 26, 1861, 3 years; absent, sick since May 
30, 1865, at Washington, D. C; mus. out July 28, 1865, at Cleveland, O., by 
order of war department; veteran. 

Altman, Andrew, private, Oct. 26, 1861, 3 years; mus. out with company 
July 10, 1865 ; veteran. 

Adams, Samuel L., private, Oct. 27, 1861, 3 years; transferred to non- 
commissioned staff; no further record found. 

Adams, Noah T., private, March 18, 1863, 3 years; prom, to first-lieut. 
135th U. S. Colored Inf, March 27, 1865. 

Bloomfield, John, private, Nov. 4, 1861, 3 years; mus. out with company 
July 10 ; veteran. 

Beamen, Samuel, private, March 2, 1864, 3 years ; mus. out with company 
July 10, 1865. 

Bunting, Levi, private, Jan. 15, 1864, 3 years; trans, from company K 
June 29, 1864; mus. out with company July 10, 1865. 

Bonghna, Hacob, private, Feb. 29, 1864, 3 years; wounded August 17, 
1864, in action near Atlanta, Ga. ; disch. June 21, 1865, at General Hospital, 
Cleveland, O. 

Bowman, Frederick, private, Oct. 24, 1861, 3 years; trans, from company 

A ; mus. out Oct. 28, 1864, ^t Chattanooga, Tenn., on expiration of 

term of service. 

Booher, George W., private, Oct. 21, 1861, 3 years; died April i, 1862, in 
hospital at Cairo, 111. 



Henry County. 109 



Berry, Heiir}', private, Nov. 5, 1861, 3 years; died April i, 1862, at Cov- 
ington, Ky. 

Brown, William H., private, Nov. 27, 1861, 3 years; disch. Dec. 13, 1862, 
on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Babcock, James H., private. Dec. 12, 1861, 3 years; disch. March 31, 
1862, at Crump's Landing, Tenn., on surgeon's certificate of inability. 

Bowker, Harman, private, Oct. 18, 1861, 3 years; trans, to 126th com- 
pany, ind. battalion Vet. Reserve Corps Jan. 25, 1864. 

Ikirgess, Owen, private, Oct. 19, 1861, 3 years; mus. out Oct. 28, 1864, at 
Chattanooga, Tenn., on expiration of time of service. 

Crossman, Hiram, private, Oct. 18, 1861, 3 years ; mus. out with company 
July 10, 1865 ; veteran. 

Crockett, John, private, Oct. 26, 1861, 3 years; wounded May 25, 1863, in 
action near Vicksburg, Miss. ; mus. out with company, July 10, 1865. 

Crockett, Jonathan, private, Oct. 27, 1861, 3 years; disch. Oct. 23, 1S62, 
at Bolivar, Tenn., on surgeon's certificate of inability. 

Crockett, Eber, private, Oct. 26, 1861, 3 years; died Sept. 22, 1862, at Bol- 
ivar, Tenn. 

Churchill, James M., private, Jan. 15, 1861, 3 years; trans, from company 
K, June 29, 1864; trans, to company K 6th V. R. C. Dec. 22, 1864; mus. 
out July 26, 1865. at Cincinnati, O., by order war department. 

Dewell, Clark W., private, Feb. 23, 1864, 3 years; mus. out with company 
July 10, 1865. 

Dobbs, Judson, private, Jan. 18, 1864, 3 years; trans, from company K 
June 29; mus. out June 19, 1865, at Columbus, O., by order of the war de- 
partment. 

Durbin, William, private, Oct. 15, 1861, 3 years; mus. out Oct. 28, 1864, 
at Chattanooga, on expiration of term of service. 

livans, Amos E., private, Feb. 23, 1864, 3 years; mus. out May 29, 1865. 
at Columbus, O., by order of war department. 

Emery, Nathaniel, private. Oct. 27, 1861, 3 years; died June 28, 1863. at 
Milliken's Bend, La. 

Eastman, G. C, private, Nov. 15, 1861, 3 years; discharged April 9, 1862, 
on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Edwafds, Swuire C, private, Oct. 23, 1861, 3 years ; disch. Nov. 24, 1862, 
at La Grange, Tenn., on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Ellis, William F., private, Oct. 20, i86i, 3 \'ears ; wounded May 25, 1863. 
in action near Vicksburg, Miss.; mus. out Dec. 19, near Savannah. Ga., on 
expiration of term of service. 

Freeman, Albert, private, Nov. ii, 1861, 3 years; disch. July 8, 1862, at 
Columbus, O. ; re-enlisted Dec. i, 1863; wounded August 31, 1864, in battle 
of Jonesboro, Ga. ; trans, to company H, 6 Vet. Reserve Corps, March 3, 1865 ; 
mus. out July 23, 1865, at Johnson's Island, O., by order war department. 



no History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

Fisher, Jacob, private, March 23, 1864, 3 years; mustered out with com- 
pany July 10, 1865. 

Francis, WiUiam H. H., private, Feb. 29, 1864, 3 years; disch. May 2, 
1865, at Cokmibus, O., for wounds received July 22, 1864, in battle of At- 
lanta, Ga. 

Frederick, John L., private, Oct. 23, 1861, 3 years; veteran. 

Finigan, John, private, Oct. 26, 1861, 3 years; disch. Jan. i, 1862, at 
Camp Latty, O. 

Getz, Michael, private, Dec 8, 1861, 3 years; wounded May 23, 1863, in 
action near Vicksburg, Miss. ; mustered out with company July 10, 1865 > 
veteran. 

Gillette, Theodore, private, Feb. 27, 1864, 3 years ; mus. out with company 
July 10, 1865. 

Gilson, David, private, Oct. 24, 1861, 3 years; disch. June 18, 1862, at 
Columbus, O., on surgeon's certificate of disability. . 

Goaky, Joseph, private, Nov. 7, 1861, 3 years; discharged July 14, 1862, 
on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Goon, Moses, private, Oct. ii, 1861, 3 years; mus. out Oct. 28, 1864, at 
Chattanooga, Tenn., on expiration of term of service. 

Hill, David, private, Oct. 23, 1861, 3 years; mus. out with company July 
10, 1865 ; veteran. 

Haynes, William I., private, Dec. 5, 1863, 3 years ; mus. out with company 
July 10, 1865. 

Hoffman, Sebastian W., private, March 25, 1864, 3 years; mus. out with 
company July 10, 1865. 

Hughes, Evan M., private, Jan. 5, 1864, 3 years ; trans, from company K 
June 29, 1864, while absent; died April 23, 1864. 

Hudson, Horace, private, Oct. 4, 1861, 3 years; disch. Dec. 21, 1862, at 
La Grange, Tenn., on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Hopkins, Phineas, private, Nov. i, 1861, 3 years ; discharged 1861, on 
surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Hamm, James, private, Oct. 12, 1861, 3 years; on muster roll, no further 
record found. 

Haines, Orelious, private, Oct. 13, 1861, 3 years; wounded May 16, 1863,. 
in battle of Champion Hills, Miss. ; mus. out to date Oct. 13, 1864, at Colum- 
bus, O., on expiration of term of service. 

Harman, Jacob, private, Oct. 14, 1861, 3 years; died April i, 1862, at 
Covington, Ky. 

Harman, John, private, Dec. 13, 1861, 3 years; mus. out Dec. 19, 1864, 
near Savanah, Ga., on expiration of term of service. 

Hartman, Joseph, private, Oct. 18, 1861, 3 years; detached in 8th Ohio 
Battery June i, 1862; mustered out Dec. 6, 1864, at Columbus, on expiration 
of term of service. 



Henry County. m 



Hoy, Daniel, private, Oct. 21, 1861, 3 years; disch. August 26, 1863, at 
Columbus, O., on surgeon's certificate of disabilit}'. 

High, Johnson N., private, Dec. 13, 1861, 3 years; discharged Jul\- 11, 
1862, at Columbus, O., on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Johnson, Joseph D., private, Oct. 12, 1861, 3 years; mus. out Oct. 28, 
1864, at Chattanooga, Tenn., on expiration of term of service. 

Jones, William, private, Nov. i, 1861, 3 years; discharged, 1861, on sur- 
geon's certificate of disabilit}'. 

Kelley, James, private, Dec. 13, 1861, 3 years; disch. May 18, 1865, at 
Cleveland, O., from wounds received July 22, 1864, in battle at Atlanta, Ga. ; 
veteran. 

Knapp, James H., private, Oct. 22, 1861, 3 years; trans, from company A 
; died Nov. 13, 1863, at Vicksburg, Miss. 

Keek, George, private, Feb. 29, 1 864, 3 years ; trans, to Vet. Reserve 
Corps Jan. 10, 1865 ; mus. out July 20, 1865, at Indianapolis, Ind., by order 
war department. 

Kneule, William, private, Oct. 15, 1861, 3 years; transferred from com- 
pany F ; disch. Nov. 24, 1862, at La Grange, Tenn., on surgeon's certifi- 
cate of disability. 

Lamphire, Austin, private, Nov. 25, 1861, 3 years; disch. May 9, 1862, at 
Shiloh, Tenn., on surgey3n's certificate of disability. 

Love, Reuben, private, March 3, 1864, 3 years; mus. out with company 
July 10, 1865. 

Losh, Daniel, private, Feb. 25, 1864, 3 years; died July 9, 1864, at Rome, 
Ga. 

Long, William J., private, Nov. 16, 1861, 3 years; discharged May 9, 
1862, at Shiloh, Tenn., on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Morey, Albert, private, March 29, 1864, 3 years; died Oct. 6, 1864, at 
Atlanta, Ga. 

Morey, Justus, private, Oct. 13, 1861, 3 years ; mustered out with company 
July 10, 1865 ; veteran. 

Meech, W^elcome, private, Oct. 20, 1861, 3 years; mus. out with company 
July 10, 1865 ; veteran. 

Marris, David, private, Dec. i, 1863, 3 years ; mus. out with company July 
10, 1865 ; veteran. 

Marris, James, private, Feb. 25, 1864, 3 years; mus. out with company 
July 10, 1865 ; veteran. 

Maul, John, private, Oct. 23, 1861, 3 years; disch. , 1861, by civil 

authority. 

Maul, John, private, Sept. 29, 1862, 3 years; died Feb. 5, 1864, at Clinton, 
Miss., of wounds received in action same day. 

Mayman, Robert, private, Oct. 24, 1861, 3 years; died Dec. 10, 1864, in 
rebel prison at Andersonville, Ga. ; veteran. 



112 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

Miller, Warren, private, Oct. 12, 1861, 3 years; mus. out Dec. 19, 1864, 
near Savannah., Ga., on expiration of term of service. 

Miller, Eli, private, Oct. 14, 1861, 3 years ; died April 8, 1862, at Crump's 
Landing, Tenn. 

Myers, Lorenzo, private, Oct. 23, 1861, 3 years; discharged , by 

civil authority. 

Ozier, Cyrus M., private, Feb. 17, 1864, 3 years; mus. out with company, 
July 10, 1865. 

Osgood, Marquis, private, Feb. 29, 1864, 3 years; mus. out with company, 
July 10, 1865. 

Overlightner, Jacob, private, Dec. i, 1863, 3 years; died May 22, 1864 at 
Vicksburgh, Miss. 

Overmire, Hiram, private, Oct. 16, 1861, 3 years ; mus. out Oct. 28, 1864, 
at Chattanooga, Tenn., on expiration of term of service. 

Ottman, George, private, Dec. 15, 1863, 3 years; mus. out July 28, 1865^ 
at Camp Cleveland, O., by order of war department. 

Pontius, David, private, Oct. 29, 1861, 3 years; mus. out with company 
July 10, 1865 ; veteran. 

Palmer, William F., private, Dec. 2, 1861, 3 years; discharged April 11, 
1862 at Crump's Landing, Tenn., on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Palmer, William F., private, Oct. 2, 1863, 3 years; mus. out with company 
July 10, 1865. 

Palmer, Rundle, private, Dec. 9, 1863, 3 years; mus. out with company 
July 10, 1865. 

Primmer, Lewis A., private, Feb. 8, 1864, 3 years; wounded Aug. 26, 
1864, near Atlanta, Ga. ; mus. out with company July 10, 1865. 

Parsons, Thomas, private, Feb. 17, 1864, 3 years; mus. out Julj^ 27, 1865, 
at Newark, N. J., by order of war department. 

Parsons, William H., private, Feb. 17, 1864, 3 years; mus. out with com- 
pany July 10, 1864. 

Patrick, Martin, private, Feb. 18, 1864, 3 years; died June 30, 1864, at 
Chattanooga, Tenn. 

Pearse, Joseph, private, Oct. 24, 1861, 3 years; died May 12, 1863, at 
Grand Gulf, Miss. 

Price, Allen, private, March 29, 1864, 3 years; died May 17, 1864, at Pu- 
laski, Tenn., of accidental injury received on railroad. 

Packard, James, private, Nov. i, 1861, 3 years; died Nov. 6, 1862, at Bol- 
ivar, Tenn. 

Reed, Aaron, private, Dec. 31, 1861, 3 years; died March 4, 1862, at Camp 
Chase, O. 

Reid, James, private, Dec. 22, 1863, 3 years; discharged June 7, 1864, to 
accept promotion in 4th United States Heavy Artillery, 



Henry County. i 13 



Reeves, John H., private, Feb. 29, 1864, 3 years; died Nov. 9, 1864, at 
Chattanooga. Tenn. 

Roqers, James P., private, Nov. 30, 1861, 3 years; inus. out with com- 
pany, July 10, 1866; veteran. 

Reneule, Wilham, private. Oct. 26, 1861, 3 years; on mus. roll, no further 
record found. 

Toberson, Chester, private, Oct. 19, 1861, 3 )'ears; dischargeii , 1S61, 

on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Rehl, John, private, Oct. 25, 1861, three years. 

Stephens, Harman, private, Oct. 21, 1861, 3 years; mus. out Oct. 28, 
1864, at Chattanooga, Tenn., on expiration of term of service. 

Sunnyfrank, George, private. Feb. 8, 1864, 3 years; mus. out with com- 
pany July 10, 1865. 

Snide, Peter, private, March 22, 1864, 3 years; mus. out June 30, 1865 at 
Washington, D. C, by order of war department. 

Smith, George, private, March 6, 1864, 3 years; mus. out with company 
July 10, 1865. 

Slee, John, private, Dec. 13, 1861, 3 years; discharged Nov. 10, 1862, at 
La Grange, Tenn., on surgeon's certificate of disabilitx'. 

Saul, William, private, P'eb. 29, 1864, 3 years; mus. out June , 1865 

at Camp Chase, O., b}' order of war department. 

Stockman, Frederick, private, Nov. 3, 1861, 3 years; discharged Nov. 12, 
1862, at Cincinnati, O , on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Spangler, Joseph, private, Oct. 15, 1861, 3 years; discharged Dec. i, 1861, 
at Napoleon, O., by civil authority. 

Spangler, Frederick, prix^ate, Dec. 14, 1 861, 3 years; discharged June 18, 
1862, at Louisville, Ky., on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Stickley, Jacob, private, Oct. 14, 1861, 3 years; wounded May 22, 1863, 
in action near Vicksburg, Miss.; mustered out Oct. 28, 1864, at Chattanooga^ 
Tenn., on expiration of term of service. 

Snow, John, private, Oct. 16, 1861, 3 years; discharged , 1861, by 

civil authorit}'. 

Slack, Wilbur G., private, Oct. 14, 1 86 1, 3 years; wounded May 16, 1863, 
in the battle of Champion Hills, Miss.; discharged May 21, 1864, at Jefferson 
Barracks, St. Louis, Mo., on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Seeling, Henry, private, Nov. 22, 1861, 3 years; mus. out Dec. 19, 1864, 
near Savannah, Ga., on expiration of term of service. 

Tharp, Harrison, private, Feb. 8, 1864, 3 years; mus. out with company 
July 10, 1865. 

\"an Pelt, George, W., private, Nov. 7, 1861, 3 years; mus. out Dec. 19, 
1864, near Savannah, Ga., on expiration of term of service. 

Wells, Robert, private, Nov. 10, 1861, 3 years; mus. out Dec. 19, 1862 
at St. Louis, Mo., on surgeon's certificate of disability. ^^ 



114 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

Wells, Joseph A., private, Dec. 13, 1861, 3 years; see Company B, 38th 
O. V. I. 

Wolf, John G. private, Nov. 3, 1861, 3 years; discharged Dec. 31, 1861, 
on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Company E. — Nelson A. Skeele, captain, Oct. 11, 1861, 3 years; appt. 
Dec. I, 1861; killed July 22, 1864, in battle of Atlanta, Ga. 

Elias R. Ottinger, captain, Oct. ii, 1861, 3 years; prom, from 2d lieut., 
company D., Nov. 26, 1864; mus. out with company July 10, 1865. 

Thomas T. Lamberg, 1st lieut, Oct. 14, 1861, 3 years; appt. Dec. i, 1861 ; 
detached at brigade headquarters, June 27, 1865; mus. out with company, 
July 10, 1865. 

Jacob Bartlett, 2d lieut., Oct. 14, 1861, 3 years; appt. Dec. i, 1861 ; re- 
signed Feb. 14, 1863. 

Henderson J. Hunter, 2d lieut., Nov. 9, 1861, 3 years; prom, from serg't, 
company K., April 14, 1863; trans, to company I. 

William Harrison Highshew, 1st serg't, Nov. 18, 1861, 3 years; mus. as 
private; appt. ist sergeant, ; wounded May 16, 1863, in battle of Cham- 
pion Hills, Miss; prom, to ist lieut. Nov. 26, 1864, but not mus.; mus. out 
Dec. 19, 1864, near Savannah, Ga., on expiration of term of service. 

Mortimer Belding, ist serg't, Oct. 24, 1861, 3 years; appt. serg't Oct. 24, 
1861; 1st serg't, Dec. 20, 1864; prom, to ist lieut., company G., Jan. 11, 
1865; veteran. 

Enos M. Shaw, ist serg't, Oct. 22, 1861, 3 years; mus. as private; appt. 

serg't ; wounded May 16, 1863, '^^ battle of Champion Hills, Miss.; appt. 

to 1st serg't, Jan. 27, 1865; mus. out with company, July 10, 1865. 

William A. Ling, serg't, Oct. 15, 1861, 3 years; mus. as pYivate; appt. 
serg't, ; mus. out with company, July 10, 1865, veteran. 

Charles W. Cornell, serg't, Oct. 21, 1861, 3 years; appt. corporal, ; 

serg't Oct. I, 1864; mus. out with company July 10, 1865; veteran. 

Miles W'. Higgley, serg't, Dec. 5, 1 86 1, 3 years; appt. corporal, ■ ; 

wounded May, 16, 1863 in battle of Champion Hills, Miss; appt. serg't Jan. 
27, 1865; mus. out with company, July 10, 1865; veteran. 

John B. Stites, serg't Oct. 28, 1861, 3 years; appt. corporal, ; serg't 

Jan. 27, 1865; mus. out with company July 10, 1865; veteran. 

Edward Williams, serg't Nov. 18, 1861, 3 years; appt. from private Dec. 
15, 1 861; died March 23, 1862, at Savannah, Tenn. 

Daniel Jones, corp., Nov. 14, 1861, 3 years; appt. corp. — , ; mus. 

out with company July 10, 1865 ; veteran. 

Martin D. Palmer, corp., Oct. 24, 1861, 3 years ; appt. corp. Dec. 16, 1864; 
mus. out with company July 10, 1865 ; veteran. 

Samuel Kelley, corp., Nov. 4, 1861, 3 years; mus. in as Samuel Kelly; 
appt. corp. Jan. 27, 1865 \ rn"S. out with corp. July 10, 1865 ; veteran. 



Henry County. 115 



Andrew J. Wheeler, Corp., Oct. 14, 1861, 3 years; appt. corp. Jan. 27, 
1865 ; mus. ont with company July 10, 1865 ; veteran. 

Francis M. Barnes, corp., Oct. 1861, 3 ycar.s; appt. coi-[). — , ; wounded 

May 16, 1863; battle of Champion Hills, Mi.ss.; mus. out Oct. 28, 18(34, at 
Chattanooga, on expiration of term of service. 

Sanford, Reese, corp., Oct. 21, 1861, 3 years; appt. corp. — , ; mus. 

out Oct. 28, 1864, at Chattanooga, Tenn., at expiration of term of service. 

Andrew, Daniel, pri\-ate, Oct. 14, 1861, 3 years; died March 22, 1863, at 
Savannah, Tenn. 

Austin, James C, private, Oct. 29, 1861, 3 years; disch. Nov. 1, 1862, at 
Detroit barracks, Michigan, on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Barber, Oscar 11., private, Oct. 14, 1861, 3 years; mus. out with company 
July 10, 1865 ; veteran. 

liirber, Osmer, private, Dec. 5, 1861, 3 years; died March 25, 1862, in 
hospital at Savannah, Tenn. 

Biery, Samuel, private, Oct. 14, 1861, 3 years; died Sept. 3, 1862, in hos- 
pital at Bolivar, Tenn. 

Bayes, Thomas M., private, Oct. 19, 1861, 3 years; disch. Oct. 30, 1862, 
at St. Louis, Mo., by order of war department. 

Burville, Judson, private, Oct. 18, 1861, 3 years ; mus. out as Judson Bur- 
well, Oct. 28, 1864, at Chattanooga, Tenn., on expiration of term of service. 

Burke, John, private, Nov. 2, 1861, 3 years; disch. July 18, 1862, at Co- 
lumbus, O., on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Brink, Watson W., private, Nov. 6, 1 861, 3 years; died Sept. 6, 1862 in 
hospital at Bolivar, Tenn. 

Baty, William C, private, Nov. 31, 1861, 3 years; on muster in roll ; never 
reported for duty. 

Call, Thomas J., private, Oct. 28, 1861, 3 years; mus. in as Thomas I. Cole ; 
mus. out with company July 10, 1865 ; veteran. 

Connelly, Elisha C, private, Nov. 30, 1861, 3 years; mus. out with com- 
pan\' July 10, 1865; veteran. 

Connelly, Andrew H., private, Nov. 30, 1 86 1, 3 years ; mus. out with com- 
pany July 10, 1865 ; veteran. 

Connelly, John D., private, Dec. 25, 1863, 3 years; disch. May i8th, at 
Washington, D. C, on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Clark, William B., private, Oct. 7, 1863, 3 years; trans, to company C, 
22d Veteran Reserve Corps, Aug. 10, 1864; mus. out July 17, 1865, at Camp 
Cleveland, O. 

Cix, Straus, private, Oct. 15, 1861, 3 years; died June 4, 1864. in hospital 
at Vicksburg, Miss. 

Creglow, Noah, private, Oct. 24, 1861, 3 years; died March 20, 1862, at 
Crump's Landing, Tenn. 



ii6 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

Cottman, Oscar, private, Nov. 8, 1861, 3 years; disch. Feb. 1864, to enlist 
in Battery 8th 1st Mich. L. Artillery. 

Culbertson, Ithamer, private, Dec. 5, 1861, 3 years; prom, to principal 
musician April 12, 1862. 

Dickson, Charles, private, Oct. 14, 1861, 3 years; disch. Nov\ 25, 1862, at 
St. Louis, Mo., on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Duke, Thomas, private, Nov, 7, 1861, 3 years. 

Duck, Than, private, Nov. 20, 1861, 3 years. 

Elsvort, Silvester, private, Oct. 23, 1861, 3 years; on muster-in roll, never 
reported for duty. 

Emick, James P., private, Oct. 21, 1861, 3 years; disch. April 21, 1862, at 
St. Louis, Mo., on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Ford, Henry H., private, Feb. 8, 1865, ^ year; mus. out with company 
July 10, 1865. 

Fowler, John, private, Oct. 16, 1861, 3 years; disch. Dec. 15, 1862, at St. 
Louis, Mo., on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Fowler, Benjamin, private, Oct. 18, 1861, 3 years; disch. Jan. 3, 1863, at 
Columbus, O., on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Foster, Thomas B., private, Oct. 21, 1861, 3 years ; mus. out Oct. 28, 1864, 
at Chattanooga, Tenn., on expiration of term of service. 

Fowty, Stephen, pri^'^te, Oct. 28, 1861, 3 years; trans, to 141st company, 
2d bat. vet. reserve corpb July 25, 1863, 

Graets, Francis G., private, Oct. 16, 1863, 3 years; mus. out Oct. 28, 1864, 
at Chattanooga, Tenn., on expiration of service. 

Gilbreth, James, private, Nov. 31, 1861, 3 years ; disch. March 6, 1863, at 
Memphis, Tenn., on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Gayler, James, private, Nov. 2, 1861, 3 years; on muster in roll; never 
reported for duty. 

Hall, Lewis, private, Feb. 8, 1865, i )-ear ; mus. out with company July 10, 
1865. 

Hayward, Ralph D., private, Dec. ii, 1863, 3 years; trans, to vet. reserve 
corps Jan. 10, 1865 ; mus. out July 20, 1865, at Indianapolis. Ind., by order of 
war department. 

Haverfield, James, private, Dec. 10, 1863, 3 years ; killed July 22, 1864 in 
battle of Atlanta, Ga.; veteran. 

Hart, Julius C, private, Oct. 14, 1861, 3 years; disch. April 22, 1862, at 
Crump's Landing, Tenn., on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Higler, Austin, private, Oct. 14, 1861, 3 years; died July 25, 1864, in 3d 
div. hospital, 17th army corps near Atlanta, Ga. 

Higley, Sheldon, private, Aug. 28, 1862, 3 years; disch. Sept. 20, 1863, at 
Vicksburg, Miss., on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Higby, William, private, Oct. 15, 1861, 3 years; died April 5, 1863. at 
Memphis, Tenn. 



Henry County, 



117 



Higby, Elisha, private, Oct. 15, 1861, 3 years; died March 2. 1862. at St. 
Louis, Mo. 

Ihitchins, Meredy, private, Oct. 18, 1861, 3 years; died April 14, 1862, at 
Savannah, Tenn. 

Iloffniire, John, pri\-ate, Oct. 21, 1861, 3 }'ears ; disch. Jul)- 25, 1862, on 
surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Hale, Smitii. private, Nov. 6, 1861, 3 years; died Oct. 8, 1862, at Bolivar, 
Tenn. 

Hone, Daniel H., private, Nov. 20, 186 1, 3 years ; discii. — , , on sur- 
geon's certificate ot disabilit}\ 

Kelley, John, prix-ate, Dec. 8, 1863, 3 years; nius. out with company July 
10, 1865. 

Lingie, Elmore Y., private, Feb. 7, 1865, i year; mus. out with company 
Jul}- 10, 1865. 

Lingie, Oscar B., private, Oct. 15, 1861, 3 years; mus. out with company 
July 10, 1865 ; veteran. 

Lyons, EHas, private, Oct. 17, 1861, 3 years ; disch. July 31, 1862, at Camp 
Chase, Columbus, O., on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Lyons, Sylvester, private, Nov. 2, 1861, 3 years; died Oct. 15, 1862, in 
hospital at Jackson, Tenn. 

Loozcr, John I., private, Oct. 18, 1861, 3 years; died June 17, 1862, at 
W'^auseon, O. 

Longer, George, private, Nov. 23, 1861, 3 years. 

Larimer, Linos L., private, Oct. 21, 1861, 3 years; mus. in as Linos Lar- 
mar ; mus. out with company July 10, 1865 ; veteran. 

Matteson, George E., private, Dec. 8, 1863, 3 years; mus. out with com- 
pany July 10, 1865. 

Markly, George H., private, Dec. 17, 1863, 3 years; died May 19, 1865, 
at Findley Hospital, Washington, D. C. 

Moyer, Daniel, private, Oct. 24, 1861, 3 years ; died May 20, 1862, in hos- 
pital at Pittsburg Landing, Tenn. 

Mily, Benjamin, private, Dec. 5, 1861, 3 years; disch. May 3, 1862, at St. 
Louis, Mo., on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Mikesell, John B., private, Dec. 5, 1861, 3 years; died March 11, 1862. at 
Fort Donelson, Tenn. 

Osborn, George, private, Dec. 5, 1861, 3 years; disch. April 21. 1862, at 
St. Louis, Mo., on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Oldfield, Gilbert, private, Dec. 5, 1861, 3 years; disch. Oct. 17, 1862, at 
Bolivar, Tenn., on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Fennel, John, private, 3 years; mus. out with company July 10, 1865; 
veteran. 

Purdy, Alfred, j)rivate, P^cb. 4, 1862, 3 years; mus. out l^'eb. 3, 1865, at 
Beaufort, S. C, on expiration of term of service. 



History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 



Purdy, John, private, Feb. 4, 1862, 3 years; mus. out Feb. 3, 1865, at 
Beaufort, S. C, on expiration of term of service. 

Pomeroy, Timothy, private, Oct. 21, 1861, 3 years; disch. Aug. 14, 1863, 
at St. Louis, Mo., for wounds received May 16, 1863, in battle of Champion 
Hills, Miss. 

Richards, "Wilson S., private, Nov. 8, 1861, 3 years; mus. in as Richard 
Wilson; mus. out with company July 10, 1865 ; veteran. 

Richards, Israel, private, Oct. 28, 1861, 3 years; died March 14, 1862, at 
Cairo, 111. 

Richards, Curtiss, private, Feb. 2, 1864, 3 years; mus. out with company 
July 10, 1865. 

Reese, Charles M., private, Oct. 20, 1863, 3 years ; mus. out with company 
July 10, 1865. 

Radclifif, Thomas, private, Jan. 14, 1862, 3 years; disch. Feb. 10, 1865, at 
Columbus, O., on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Roasner, Daniel, private, Oct. 14, 1861, 3 years; mus. out Dec. 19, 1864, 
near Savannah, Ga., on expiration of term of service. 

Rogers, George W., private, Oct. 14, 1861, 3 years; died March 15, 1862, 
at Mound City, 111. 

Reeder, David, private, Nov. 18, 1861, 3 years; died April 25, 1862, at 
Keokuk, la. 

Somer, Edward, private, Oct. 18, 1861, 3 years; mus. out Oct. 28, 1864, 
at Chattanooga, Tenn., on expiration of term of service. 

Somers, Martin, private, May 4, 1864, 3 years; mus. out with company 
July 10, 1865. 

Sweeney, Elijah, private, Oct. 14, 1861, 3 years; mus. out with company 
July 10, 1865; veteran. 

Shellenberger, Daniel, private, Jan. i, 1862, 3 years; mus. out Jan. 10, 
1865, by order of war department. 

Shellenberger, Nicholas, private, Dec. 5, 1861, 3 years; disch. July 24, 
1862, at Columbus, O., on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Shank, Henry H., private, Oct. 14, 1861, 3 years; disch. Jan. 29, 1863, at 
Memphis, Tenn., on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Smith, Lewis O., private, Oct. 28, 1861, 3 years; disch. June 18, 1862, at 
Columbus, O., on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Silsbee, Morris, private, Oct. 28, 1861, 3 years; died April 25, 1862, at 
Keokuk, la. 

Stites, Alonzo, private, Oct. 28, 1861, 3 years; died May 28, 1862, at 
Camp Dennison, O. 

Swartz, David, private, Nov. 2, 1861, 3 years; died Sept. 18, 1862, at 
Bolivar, Tenn. 

Stewart, James C, private, Nov. 6, 1861, 3 years ; disch. April 21, 1862, at 
St. Louis, Mo., on surgeon's certificate of disability. 



Henry County. n^ 



Sloan, Wilson, private, Nov. 30, 1861, 3 years. 

Stilwell, Oliver, private, Oct. 30, 1861, 3 years. 

Spencer, Daniel C, private, Dec. 4, 1861, 3 years ; discli. Feb. 14, 1863, ^t 
Columbus, O., on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Spencer, Allen H., private, Oct. 4, 1861, 3 years; disch. June 24, 1862, at 
Columbus, O., on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Sisco, John, private, Dec. 5, 1861, 3 years ; disch. July, 1862, at Columbus, 
O., on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Strictcraub, Christ, private, Nov. i, 1861, 3 years; on muster in roll, never 
reported for duty. 

Terpening, William II., private, Oct. 7, 1863, 3 years; mus. out of com- 
pany, July 10, 1863. 

Taylor, Hiram, private, Nov. 23, 1861, 3 years; disch. April 11, 1862, at 
Crump's Landing, Tenn., on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Taylor, Edward, private, Nov. 15, 1861, 3 years. 

Woodworth, James O., private, Jan. 14, 1864, 3 years; killed July 22, 1864, 
in battle of Atlanta, Ga. 

Wilcox, Anza, private, Oct. 19, 1861, 3 years; died April 10, 1862, at Sa- 
vannah, Tenn. 

Warner, Dexter, private, Oct 24, 186 1, 3 years ; mus. out Oct. 28, 1864, at 
Chattanooga, Tenn., on expiration of term of service. 

Warner, Orrin B., private, Sept. i, 1862, 3 years; wounded May 16, 1863, 
in battle of Champion Hills, Miss.; trans, to 4th Veteran Res. Corps Feb. ii, 
1864; mus. out July 12, 1865, at Milwaukee, Wis. 

Williams, Walker, private, Oct. 28, 1861, 3 years; died May 23, 1862, at 
St. Louis, Mo. 

Waters, William A., private, Nov. 2, 1861, 3 years ; died Nov. 16, 1861. 

Weaver, Michael, private, Nov. 19, 1861, 3 years ; on muster in roll; never 
reported for duty. 

Company F. — Wesley W. Bowen, captain, Oct. 3, 1861, 3 years; appt. Dec. 
17, 1861 ; mus. out Dec. 25, 1864, at Savannah, Ga., on expiration of term of 
service. 

Milton Stout, captain, Oct. 26, 1861, 3 years; mus. in as private; appt. 
serg't Dec. 20, 1861 ; 1st serg't Jan. i, 1863 ; prom, to serg't-maj. April 30, 
1864; to captain Jan. ii, 1865; mus. out with company July lO, 1865 ; veteran. 

James Lannen, first lieut, Oct. 10, 1861, 3 years; appt. Dec. 17, 1861 ; 
prom, to captain Feb. 26, 1864; not mus.; mus. out Dec. 20, 1864, at Savan- 
nah Ga., on expiration of term of service. 

Jasper H. Smith, first lieut., Oct. 23, 1861, 3 years; mus. as private ; appt. 

serg't — , ; first serg't April 30, 1864; prom, to first lieut. Jan. 1 1, 1865 ; 

mus. out with company July 10, 1865 ; veteran. 

Andrew Jackson, second lieut., Oct. 10, 1862, 3 years; prom, to first lieut. 
and adj. July 5, 1862. 



History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 



Henry Welty, second lieut., Oct. 7, 1861, 3 years; appt. first serg't from 
private Dec. 20, 1861 ; prom, to 2d lieut. July 5, 1862 ; to ist lieut. company 
A, Feb. 26, 1864. 

George W. Scott, first serg't, Nov. 30, 1861, 3 years; mus. as private; 

appt. serg't — , ; first serg't Jan. 27, 1865; prom, to second lieut. Jan. 

II, 1865 ; not mus.; mus. out with company July 10, 1865 ; veteran. 

Remus Howard, serg't, Nov. 21, 1861, 3 years; mus. as private; appt. 
serg't; mus. out Avith company July lO, 1865 ; veteran. 

John W. Leach, serg't, Oct. ii, 1861, 3 years; mus. as private; appt. serg't 
— , ; mus. out with company July 10, 1865. 

Abraham V. Wilson, serg't, Oct. 7, 1861, 3 years; appt. corp. — , ; 

serg't April 30, 1864 ; mus. out with company July 10, 1865. 

William Moore, serg't, Dec. 5, 1861, 3 years; appt. corp. — , ; serg't 

Jan. 27, 1865 ; mus. out with company July 10, 1865 ; veteran. 

Robert Wheeler, corp., Dec. 2, 1861, 3 years; appt. corp. — , ; mus. 

out with company July 10, 1865 ; veteran. 

John A. Brukaker, corp., Oct. 9, 1861, 3 years; appt. corp. June i, 1864; 
mus. out with company July 10, 1865 ; veteran. 

Samuel W. May, corp., Jan. i, 1861, 3 years; appt. corp. June i, 1864; 
mus. out with company July lO, 1865 ; veteran. 

William Mollett, corp., Nov. 25, 1861, 3 years; appt. corp. June i, 1864; 
mus. out with company July lo, 1865 ; veteran. 

David Schleiser. corp., Oct. 14, 1861, 3 years; appt. corp. — , ; mus. 

out June 23, 1865, at Camp Dennison, O., by order of war department; 
veteran 

Patrick Brennan, corp., Oct 15, 1861, 3 years; appt. corp. — , ; 

wounded May 16, 1863, in battle of Champion Hills, Miss.; died May 6, 1864, 
at Monroeville, Huron county, O.; veteran. 

Agler, George W., private, Jan. i, 1862, 3 years; mus. out with company 
July 10, 1865 ; veteran. 

Adams, Lorenzo, private, March 8, 1864, 3 years; mus. out with company 
July 10, 1865. 

Adams, Samuel R., private, Oct. 17, 1861, 3 years; prom, to quartermaster- 
sergeant Nov. 20, 1 86 1. 

Albough, John, private, Jan. 5, 1864, 3 years; mus. out with company 
July 10, 1865. 

Berry, Henry, private, Oct. 14, 1861, 3 years; trans, to company D. 

Boorman, Isaac H., private, Oct. 14, i86r, 3 years; died May 17, 1862, at 
Camp Pea Ridge, Tenn. 

Brackan, Frederick, private, Oct. 7, 1861, 3 years; trans, to company A. 

Bullen, Ignatius L., private, Oct. 7, 1861, 3 years; mus. out with company 
July 10, 1865 ; veteran. 



Henry County. 



Bowen, Jesse P., private, Oct. 8, 1861, 3 years; nuis. out with c(Miip;iiiy 
July 10, 1865; veteran. 

Burbaker, William D., private, Oct. 16, 1861, 3 years; disch. Jan. 13, 1863, 
at Jackson, Tenn., on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Burbaker, Levi H., private, Oct. 12, 1861, 3 years; nuis. out with company 
July 10, 1865. 

lUirbaker, Francis M., private, Oct. 9, 1861, 3 years; mus. out with com- 
pany July 10, 1865 ; veteran. 

l^raily, David C , private, Nov. 30, 1861, 3 years; mus. out Jan. 1 i, 1865, 
at Nashville, Tenn., on expiration of term of service. 

Billow, James L., private, Jan. 5, 1864, 3 years; mus. out with company 
July 10, 1865. 

Biglow, Edward A., private, Dec. 31, 1863, 3 years; mus. out with com- 
pany July 10, 1865. 

Barnhart, Edward, private, Oct. 8, 1861, 3 years; died Aug. 29, 1863, in 
hospital at Keokuk, la. 

Barnhart, George, private, Oct. 19, 1 863, 3 years; mus. out with com- 
pany July 10, 1865. 

]-5arnhart, John, private, Dec. I, 1861, 3 years; transferred to 8th Ohio 
battery, Jan i, 1864; veteran. 

Breachisen, Lewis, private, Sept. 6, 1862, 3 years; wounded May 16, 1863, 
in battle of Champion Hills, Miss.; mus. out May 29, 1865 at Washington, D. 
C, by order of war department. 

Bruncr, John L., private, Oct. 10, 1863, 3 years; died Jul)' 12, 1864, in 
field hospital at Rome, Ga. 

Babcock, Solomon, private, Nov. 12, 1861, 3 years; discharged Dec, — ,. 

1 86 1, on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Baker, Charles, private, Dec. 3, 1861, 3 years; died March 31, 1862, at 
Crump's Landing, Tenn. 

Bailey, Philander, private, Oct. 21, 1861, 3 )-ears; died March 31, i86j,at 
hospital in Cincinnati, O. 

Carr, Samuel, private, Nov. 27, 1 86 1, 3 years; mus. out with company 
Jul}- 10, 1865; veteran. 

Clark, Hiram, private, Aug. 30, 1862, 3 years. 

Cooper, William, private, Dec. 8, 1863, 3 years; mus. out witJi company 
July 10, 1865. 

Cooper, Charles, private, March i I, 1864, 3 years; mus. out with company 
July 10, 1865. 

Cole, Newton, private, Nov. 30, 186 1, 3 years; (?) transferred to signal 
corps Sept. 7, 1863. 

Chester, Burget, private, Dec. 12, 1861, 3 years; discharged June 20, 

1862, at Louisville, Ky., on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

16 



122 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

Day, William, private, Nov. 29, 1 86 1, 3 years; died Feb. 3, 1862, at Camp 
Chase, O. 

Davison. William, private, Nov. 8, 1861, 3 years; discharged Dec. — , 1861, 
on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Durbin. Rodney C, private. Jan. 5, 1864, 3 years ; mus. out with company 
July 10, 1865. 

Dodd. William, private, Oct. 15, 1861,3 years; died Oct. 12, 1862, at 
Jackson, Tenn. 

Dikeman, Christian, private, Oct. 19, 1861, 3 years; died July 9, 1862, at 
Bolivar, Tenn. 

Eis, Peter, private, Nov. 5, 1861, 3 years; died April 3, 1862, in general 
hospital, Cincinnati, O. 

Emery, John G., private, Nov. 19, 1861, 3 years; discharged July 5, 1862, 
at Columbus, O., on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Fleming, Michael, private, June i, 1862, 3 years; mus. out with company 
July 10, 1865 ; veteran. 

Flenner, Frank, private, Oct. 29, 1861, 3 years; promoted to com. serg't 
Dec. 25, 1864; veteran. 

Fuller, Frank M., private, Oct. 15, 1861, 3 years; died April 10, 1862, at 
Crump's Landing, Tenn. 

Feeny, Michael, private, Oct. 7, 1861, 3 years; mus. out Oct. 29, 1864, at 
Chattanooga, Tenn., on expiration of term of service. 

Gunn, Julian H., private, Oct. 18, 1861, 3 years; wounded May 16, 1863, 
in battle of Champion Hills, Miss.; mus. out with company July 10, 1865; 
veteran. 

Grififiey, Leo, private. Feb. 28, 1864, 3 years; discharged June 13, 1864, 
3 years; discharged June 13, 1864, at Jefferson Barracks, St. Louis, on sur- 
geon's certificate of disability. 

Grim, Jacob F., private, Oct. 10, 1861, 3 years; died March 10, 1862, on 
board steamer on Tennessee River. 

Grabel, George, private, Oct. 21, 1861, 3 years; died March 29, 1862, at 
Crump's Landing, Tenn. 

Groshner, Frederick, private, Dec. 7, 1861, 3 years; killed May 16, 1863, 
in battle of Champion Hills, Miss. 

Hopkins, George W., private, Oct. 11, 1S61, 3 years; wounded May 26, 
1863, in action in rear of Vicksburg, Miss.; mus. out with company, July 10, 
1865; veteran. 

Hartman, Watson, private, Oct. 11, 1861, 3 }-ears; mus. out with company 
July 10, 1865, veteran. 

Hughes, Cyrus, private, May 7, 1864, 3 years; mus. out with company 
July 10, 1865. 

Hughes, James R., private, Jan. 21, 1864, 3 years; mus. out with company 
July 10, 1865. 



Henry County. 



123 



Hileman, Jacob, private, Oct. 11, 1861, 3 }cars; dischar;;cd ; re- 
enlisted Jan. 5, 1864; nuis. out with conipaii)' July lO, 1865. 

Hnward, Samuel F., private. May 7, 1864, 3 \'cars ; mus. out witii com- 
pany July 10, 1865. 

Hague, James B., pri\-atc, March 3, 1864, 3 years; mus. out with company 
July 10, 1865. 

Harper, Hiram, private, Jan. 2, 1864, 3 years; died Sept. 2, 1864, in fk-ld 
hospital at Atlanta, Ga. 

Heath, Alvero, private, Oct. 7, 1861, 3 years; n)us. in as A Kin llcath; 
died March 7, 1865, at home in Henry count^^ (). ; veteran. 

Heath, John F., private, Nov. 2, 1861, 3 years; mus. out Nov. 10, 1864, 
at Columbus, O., on expiration of term of service. 

Houston, Jeremiah, private, Oct. 9, 1861, 3 years. 

Hartley, Samuel, private, Oct. 20, 1861, 3 years. 

Herrick, Egbon O., private, Oct. 6, 1861, 3 years; discharged Feb. 16 
1863, at Overton hospital, Memphis, Tenn., on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Homan, Samuel, private, Nov. 27. 1861, 3 }'ears; discharged Sept. 17, 

1862, at Columbus, O. on surgeon's certificate of disabilit}'. 

Jones, John, private, Oct. 19, 1865, 3 }'ears; mus. out Oct. 29, 1864; 
mus. out Oct. 29, 1864, at Chattanooga, Tenn., on expiration of term of ser- 
vice. 

Jones, Allen, private, Oct. 19, 1865, 3 years; discharged July 15, 1862, at 
Columbus. O., on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Kaylor, Samuel, private, Oct. 1 1, 1861, 3 years; mus. out with comjian)', 
Jul\- 10, 1865; veteran. 

Kannerst, August, private, Oct. lO, 1861, 3 years; mus. in as August 
Kahnast; discharged July 25, 1862, at Columbus, O. ; re-enlisted Jan. 5, 1864; 
mus. out with company Jul)' 10, 1865. 

King, Oliver, private, April 20, 1864, 3 years; mus. out with company 
July 10, 1865. 

Krisinger, Joseph, private, Oct. 7, 1861, 3 years; died March 12, 1862, at 
Mound City, 111. 

Kneule, William, private, Oct. 15, 1861, 3 years; transferred to company 1). 

Lewis, Joseph J., private Oct. 7, 1861, 3 years; captured Feb. 10, 1864, 
at Morton, Miss.; mus. out June 16, 1865, at Camp Chase, O. ; veteran. 

Lowr\', George O., private, Sept. 29, 1863, 3 years; mus. in as George 
O'Lary ; mus. out with company July 10, 1865. 

Limestall, Joseph, private, Nov. 27, 1863, 3 years; killed Aug. 4, 1864, in 
action near Atlanta, Ga.; veteran. 

McCullough, James, private, Oct. 18, 1865, 3 years; discharged March 26, 

1863, at Memphis, Tenn., on surgeon's certificate of disability ; re-enlisted Dec. 
15, 1863 ; discharged May 30, 1865, at Camp Dennison, O., on surgeon's cer- 
tificate of disability. 



124 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

McBlaine, John, private, Jan. 5, 1864,3 years; mus. out with company 
July 10, 1865. 

Morrison, John, private, Oct. 14, 1861, 3 years; mus. out with company 
July 10, 1865 ; veteran. 

Morrison, George, private, Feb. 21, 1865, i year; mus. out with company 
July 10, 1865. 

May, Harrison T., private, Oct. 8, 1861, 3 years; wounded May 16, 1863, 
in battle of Champion Hills, Miss.; mus. out with company July 10, 1865; 
veteran. 

Morrow, John D., private, Dec. 2, 1863, 3 years; mus. out June 3, 1865, 
at N. Y. City by order of War Department. 

Morse, Curtiss L., private, March 8, 1865, i year; mus. out with company 
July 10, 1865. 

Miller, Ferdinand, private, Oct 8, 1861, 3 years; died Oct. 23, 1864, in 
general hospital at Rome, Ga.; veteran. 

Murphey, John, private, Nov. 2, 1861, 3 years; discharged Oct. 17, 1862, 
at Bolivar, Tenn., on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Marlow, Christoff, private, Nov. 12, 1861,3 years; discharged July 25, 

1862, at Columbus, O., on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Mall, John, private, Oct, 22, 1861, 3 years; died April 7, 1862, in general 
hospital. Savannah, Tenn. 

Myerholtz, Henry, private, Oct. 30, 1861, 3 years; discharged Jan. 22, 

1863, at Cincinnati, O., on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Newell, Ira, private, Oct. 18, 1863, 3 years; trans to 97th co. 2d Battalion 
Veteran Reserve Corps Sept. 28, 1863. 

Parry, John G., private, Oct. 8, 1861, 3 years ; promoted to hospital stew- 
ard Oct. 23, 1863. 

Pearce, Albert, private, Nov. 28, 1863, 3 years; mus. out with company 
July 10, 1865. 

Parmer, Jacob W., private, March i, 1864, 3 years; mus. out with com- 
pany July 10, 1865. 

Paul, William P., private, Sept. 29, 1864, I year; drafted; discharged 
Aug. 31, 1865, at Washington, D. C, on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Potter, Alexander, private, Feb. 29, 1864, 3 years; discharged May 16 
1865, at McDougal Hospital, New York Harbor, on surgeon's certificate of 
disability. 

Robison, Jeremiah, private, Nov. 6, 1861, 3 years ; mus. out with company 
July 10, 1865 ; veteran. 

Rapp, Jacob, private, Dec. i, 1861, 3 years ; discharged June 10, 1862, on 
surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Reynolds, Charles E., private, Jan. 5, 1862, 3 years; promoted to q. m. s. 
April 20, 1863. 



Henry County. . 125 



Sisler, Stephen, private, Oct. 15, 1861, 3 years; mus. out with compan>' 
July 10, 1865 ; veteran. 

Stephens, John, private, Oct. 11, 1861, 3 years; mus. in as John StitVens; 
mus. out with company July 10, 1865 ; veteran. 

Shupe, John, private, Oct. 26, 1861, 3 years ; mus. out with company July 
10, 1865 ; veteran. 

Schaaf, Peter, private, Oct. 24. 1861, 3 years ; mus. out with company July 
10, 1865, as Peter Schawf; veteran. 

Squires, Mortimer, private, Oct. 26, 1861, 3 years; mus. out with company 
July 10, 1865 ; veteran. 

Smith, James O., private, Dec. 2, 1863, 3 years; mus. out with company 
July 10, 1865. 

Smith, James S.. private, Oct. 8. 1861, 3 years; died May 8, 1862, at Cov- 
ington, Ky. 

Smith, James A., private, Oct. 8, 1861, 3 years; mus. out Oct. 29, 1864, 
at Chattanooga, on expiration of term of service. 

Sheffield, Byron E., private, Feb. 23, 1864, 3 years; mus. out with com- 
pany July 10, 1865. 

Seibert, Anthony G., private, Oct. 19, 1861,3 years; killed June 22, 1864, 
in action near Kenesaw Mountain, Ga; veteran. 

Sinkep, John, private, Oct. 8, 1861, 3 years; mus. out Oct. 29, 1864, at 
Chattanooga, Tenn., on expiration of term of service. 

Sinkey, William, private, Oct. 29, 1861, 3 years; discharged Jan. 24, 1864. 
at Vicksburg, Miss., on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Shinneman, Adam, private, Oct. 16, 1861, 3 years; discharged Aug. 2, 
1862, at Columbus, O., by order of war department. 

Steedman, George, M. D., private, Dec. 7, 1 861, 3 years. 

Telliga, Jerome, private, Jan. 28, 1864, 3 years; discharged June 8, 1865, 
on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Thompson, George W., private, Jan. 9, 1862, 3 years; captured March i, 
1865, near Black Creek, South Carolina; mus. out June 19, 1865, at Camp 
Chase, O., by order of war department; veteran. 

Vanness, Comfort J., private. Oct. 16, 1861, 3 years. 

Walters, William, private, Oct. 23. 1863. 3 years; mus. out with company 
July 10. 1865. 

Young, Reuben, private, Dec. 13, 1861,3 years; discharged Aug. ii. 1862, 
at Columbus, O., on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Company (7.— William C. Comstock, captain, Oct. 7, 1861. 3 years; ap- 
pointed Dec. 18, 1861; resigned Nov. 22, 1862. 

John C. Harmon, captain, Oct. 5, 1861, 3 years; promoted from ist lieut., 
company B, Nov. 23. 1862; mus. out Oct. 28, 1864, on expiration of term of 



service. 



126 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

Joseph Ice, captain, Oct. 7, 1861, 3 years; promoted from 2d lieut., Co. B, 
Nov. 26, 1864; mus. out with company, July lO, 1865. 

Robert Matthews, 1st lieut., Oct. 10, 1861, 3 years; appt. Dec. 18, 1861; 
promoted to captain, company B, May 9, 1864. 

Mortimer Belding, 1st lieut, Oct. 24, 1861, 3 years; promoted from ist 
serg't, company E., Jan. 11, 1865; mus. out with company, July 10, 1865; 
veteran. 

Alexander Boyd, 2d lieut., Oct. 10, 1861, 3 years; appt. Dec. 18, 1861; 
resigned Aug. 15, 1862. 

Lay W. Richardson, 2d lieut., Oct. 10, 1861, 3 years; appt. serg't from 
private, Dec. 20, 1861; ist serg't, July 14, 1862; promoted to 2d lieut. Aug- 
15, 1862; to 1st lieut., May 9, 1864 but not mustered; mus. out Jan. 3, 1865, 
on expiration of term of service. 

Henry Rust, ist serg't, Nov. 27, 1861, 3 years; mustered as private; ap- 
pointed 1st serg't Dec. 20, 1861; discharged July 17, 1862, at Grand Junction, 
Tenn., on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Chandler I. Richmond, ist serg't, Oct. 19, 1861, 3 years; mus. as private; 
appt. serg't Dec. 20, 1861; 1st serg't Jan. 5, 1863; wounded May 16, 1863, 
in battle of Champion Hills, Miss., died July 1st, 1863, at Evansville, Ind. 

John D. Travis, ist serg't, Nov. 17, 1861, 3 years; appt. corporal Jan. — , 
1863; 1st. serg't, Sept. — . 1863; promoted to captain, company I, Jan. 1 1, 
1865; veteran. 

William Glime, 1st serg't, Dec. i, 1861, 3 years; appt. corporal Dec. 20,. 
1861; serg't July 28, 1862; ist serg't Jan. 27, 1865, "f^^s. out with company 
July 10, 1865; veteran. 

Pope Gordon, serg't, Oct. 27, 1861, 3 years; appt. corporal Dec. 20, 1861, 
serg't, April i, 1863; mus. out with company July lO, 1865; veteran. 

William B. Smith, serg't, Oct. 14, 1861, 3 years; appt. corporal Dec. 24, 
1862; serg't April 11, 1863; wounded May 16. 1863, in battle of Champion 
Hills, Miss.; mus. out with company July 10, 1865; veteran. 

Abram E. Neer, serg't, Dec. 3, 1861, 3 years; appt. corp. April i, 1863; 
wounded May 16, 1863, in battle of Champion Hills, Miss.; appt. serg't, Nov. 
I, 1864; mus. out with company July 10, 1865 ; veteran. 

Joshua Shellhart. serg't, Nov. 12, 1861. 3 years; appt. corp. Nov. i. 1863 ; 
serg't Jan. 27, 1865 ; mus. out with company July 10. 1865 ; veteran. 

James W. Clark, serg't, Oct. 16, 1861, 3 years; nuis. as private; appt- 
serg't; mus. out Oct. 29, 1864, at Chattanooga, Tenn., on expiration of term 
of service. 

James M. Haguerman, serg't, Nov. 6, 1861, 3 years; appt. corp. Dec. 20,. 
1861 ; serg't May i, 1862 ; died June 10. 1862, at Pittsburgh Landing, Tenn. 

Benjamin Sincox, serg't, Oct. 15, 1861 ; mus. as private; appt. serg't Dec. 
20, 1861 ; disch. Nov. 11, 1862, at La Grange, Tenn., on surgeon's certificate- 
of disabilit3^ 



Henry County. 127 



Samuel Miller, corp., Nov. 22, 1861, 3 years; nppt. corp. July 7, 1864; 
mus. out with company July 10, 1865 ; veteran. 

Adam Shatter, corp., Nov. 12, 1861, 3 )-ears ; appt. corp. Jul}- 7, 1864; 
mus. out with company July 10, 1865 ; veteran. 

Riley Shaffer, corp., Nov. 11, 1861, 3 years; appt. Corp.; mus. out Dec. 9, 
1864, near Savannah, Ga., on e.xpiration of term of service. 

William S. Willeman, corp., Oct. 14, 1861, 3 years; appt. corp. July 7, 
1864; mus. out with company July 10, 1865 I veteran. 

Isaiah Shull, corp., Nov. i, 1861, 3 year=; ; appt. corp. Oct. 22, 1864; mus. 
out with company Jul}' lO, 1865 ; veteran. 

Elmer Cohow, cor[)., Jan., 1862, 3 years; appt. corp. Jan. 27, 1865; mus. 
out with compan}' July 10, 1865 ; veteran. 

George T. Shadford, corp., Oct. 14, 1861. 3 years; appt. corp. Dec. 7, 
1861 ; disch. May 9, 1862, at St. Louis, Mo., on surgeon's certificate of disa- 
bility. 

Arch, Joseph, private, Nov. 15, 1861, 3 years; died ^larch 24, 1862, at 
Savannah, Tenn. 

Allman, George, private, Nov. 3, 1861, 3 years; died June 20, 1862, at 
Pittsburg Landing, Tenn. 

Arnold, George D., private, Dec. 13, 1861, 3 years; disch. June 23, 1862, 
at Columbus, O., on surgeon's certificate of disabilit}^ 

A}'res, Oscar, private, Nov. 7, 1861, 3 years; died April 5, at Savannah, 
Tenn. 

I^ear, Samuel, private, Oct. lO, 1861, 3 years; mus. out with compan}- Jul}' 
10, 1 865 ; veteran. 

Bennit, James G., private, March 10, 1863, 3 years; mus. out with compan}- 
July 10, 1 865 ; veteran. 

Baltozer, John H., private, Dec. 24, 1863, 3 years ; mus. out with compan}- 
July 10, 1865. 

Bundy, Isaac, private, Oct. 10, 1862, 3 years; trans, to Vet. Res. Corps 
June 3, 1865 ; mus. out Aug. 3, 1865, at Jackson, Mich., by O. W. D. 

Bunday, Jacob, private, Oct. 10, 1863, 3 years; died Nov. 22, 1864, at 
Chattanooga, Tenn. 

Bundy, Eli M., private, Oct. 9, 1861, 3 years ; died July 16, 1862, at Bol- 
ivar, ""Tenn. 

Blackman, Ransom G., private, Nov. 6, 1861, 3 }'ears ; died May i i, 1862, 
at Cincinnati, O. 

Beatty, William C, private, Nov. 8. 1861, 3 years; died April 16, 1862, 
in hospital at St. Louis, Mo. 

Clark, Perry W., private. Oct. 12, 1861. 3 }'ears ; mus. out with company 
July 10, 1865 ; veteran. 

Cox, John, private, Jan. 4, 1864, 3 years ; mus. cmt with compan}- Jul}- lO, 
1.865. 



History of Henry and Fulton C(3Unties. 



Clay, Samuel, private, Jan. 4, 1864, 3 years ; mus. out with company July 
10, 1865. 

Clay, Jeremiah, private, Feb. 15, 1864, 3 years; mus. out. with company 
July 10, 1865. 

Crall, John H., private, Dec. 22, 1863, 3 years; died Aug. 27, 1864, at 
Marietta, Ga. 

Comens, John, private, Jan. 3, 1864, 3 years ; mus. in as John Curinims; 
died May 29, 1864, at his home in Ohio. 

Coon, Harmon, private, Nov. 3, 1861, 3 years; disch. by civil authority. 

Culbertson, William, private, Nov. 7, 1861, 3 years. 

Crane, Edward I., private, Nov. ii, 1861, 3 years; disch. March 22, 1862, 
at Crump's Landing, Tenn., on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Curtis, Orlando, private, Nov. 1 1, 1861, 3 years; mustered out Nov. 1 1, 
1864, at Columbus, O., on expiration of term of service. 

Couts, Peter, private, Dec. 6, 1861, 3 years ; disch. Sept. i i, 1864, at At- 
lanta, Ga., on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Connelly, William, private, Dec. 4, 1861, 3 years; died Nov. 18, 1863, at 
McPherson's Hospital, Vicksburg, Miss. 

Coe, William L., private, Dec. 6, 1861, 3 years; died March 23, 1862, at 
Savannah, Tenn. 

Chamberlain, John E., private, Jan. 7, 1864, 3 years; drowned in Ohio 
River, near Louisville, Ky. 

Des Granges, Daniel, private, Dec. 23, 1863, 3 years ; mus. out with com- 
pany July 10, 1865. 

Diemer, Frederick, private, Jan. 13, 1864, 3 years ; mus. out with company 
July 10, 1865. 

Dillon, Charles R., private, Dec. 20, 1861, 3 years; disch. June 26, 1862, 
at Camp Chase, O., on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Dillon, Carlisle, private, Dec. 20, 1861, 3 years; died Sept. 15, 1863, at 
Vicksburg, Miss. 

Esterline, Henry J., private, Jan. 4, 1864, 3 years ; mus. out with company 
July 10, 1865. 

Eaton, Frank, private, Jan. 1, 1862, 3 years; mus. out June 27, 1865, at 
Columbus, O., by order of War Department. 

Eaton, Azur, private, Oct. 25, 1861, 3 years; disch. July 24, 1865, at 
Cincinnati, O., on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Evers, Joseph, private, Jan. 27, 1864, 3 years; disch. June 26, 1865, at 
Cleveland, O., on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Emery, Robert G., private, Oct. 3, 1861, 3 years; disch. Dec. 17, 1862, 
at Columbus, O., on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Ennis, Jacob, private, Nov. 5, 1861, 3 years; disch. June 55, 1862, at Co- 
lumbus, O., on surgeon's certificate of disability. 



Henry County. 129 



Fryed, Georcre D., private, Jan. 26, 1864, 3 years; died Aug. 19, 1864, at 
Marietta, Ga. 

Ferguson, William, private, Nov. 16, 1861, 3 j'ears ; died March 15, 1862, 
in hospital at Paducah, Ky. 

Fulke, Jacob, private, Nov. 25, 1861, 3 years; discli. Aug. 9, 1863, at 
Vicksburg, Miss., on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Forrester, Luther, private, Dec. 4, 1861, 3 years; disch. Aug. 2, 1862, at 
Columbus, on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Gerver, Jacob R., private, Jan. 4, 1864, 3 years; mus. out with company 
July 10, 1865. 

Greek, Joseph, private, Dec. 25, 1863, 3 }'ears ; mus. out with company 
July 10, 1865. 

Gittord, Charles, private, Jan. 25, 1864, 3 years; mus. out I\Iay 21, 1865, 
at Cleveland, O., by order of war department. 

Gleason, Nelson, private, Nov. 12, 1861, 3 years; died March i, 1863, in 
hospital at St. Louis, Mo. 

Gorsuch, Thomas, private, Oct. 22, 1861, 3 years; disch. Nov. 7, 1862, at 
St. Louis, Mo., on surgeon's certificate of disabilit3^ 

Gilbert, William, private, Dec. 4, 1861, 3 years; on muster in roll, no 
further record found. 

Gilbert, Austin, private, Dec. 4, 1861, 3 years; disch. June 26, 1862, at 
Camp Chase, O., on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Harbaugh, John, private, Nov. 7, 1861, 3 years; mus. out with company 
July 10, 1865 ; veteran. 

Hammond, John M., private, Dec. 23, 1863, 3 years; mus. out with com- 
pany July 10, 1865. 

Honicl, Otto, private, Jan. 13, 1864,3 ye^irs ; mus. out with company 
July 10, 1865. 

Hames, Ephraim, private, Jan. 27, 1864, 3 years; mus. out with company 
K, July 10, 1865. 

Haight, David, private, Jan. 21, 1862, 3 years; disch. Jan. 31, 1865. at Co- 
lumbus, O., on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Hutchinson, James, private, Jan. 7, 1864, 3 years; died April 7, 1864, at 
Vicksburg. Miss. 

Hamblin, Anson, private, Nov. 8, 1861, 3 years. 

Hamblin, Benjamin, private, Nov. 12, 1861, 2 years; disch. June 19, 1862, 
at Columbus, O., on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Haller, Benjamin, private, Oct. 14, 1861, 3 \'ears. 

Haguerman, Nathaniel, private, Nov. 18, 1861, 3 years; disch — , 1X64, 
by civil authority. 

Haguerman, William, private, Nov. 9, 1861, 3 years; mus. out Dec. ly, 
1864, near Savannah. Ga., on expiration of term of service. 

17 



I30 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

Hager, Christopher, private, Nov. 20, 1861, 3 years. 

Haguerman, Abram, private, Nov. 11, 1861, 3 years. 

Jayne, Ebenezer, private, Jan. 13, 1864, 3 years; disch. June 6, 1865, at 
St. Louis, Mo., on surgeon's certificate of disabihty. 

Johnson, Salander, private, Nov. 22, 1861, 3 years; disch. 'July 12, 1862, 
at Detroit, Mich., on surgeon's certificate of disabihty. 

Jackson, WilHam C, private, Nov. 11, 1861, 3 years; died March 3, 1862, 
at hospital in St. Louis, Mo. 

Kennedy, James, private, March, 4, 1863, 3 years ; mus. out with company 
July 10, 1865. 

Kinsey, Moses, private, Jan. 4, 1864, 3 years; mus. out with company 
July 10, 1865. 

Kinsey, Jacob, private, Dec. 10, 1861, 3 years; on muster in roll, no further 
record found. 

Kunkel, Benjamin E., private, Dec. 23, 1863, 3 years; killed July 22, 1864, 
in battle of Atlanta, Ga. 

Kirkenberry, John M., private, Nov. 14, 1861, 3 years; on muster in roll, 
no further record found. 

Kewley, William, private. Oct. 30, 1861, 3 years; wounded May 16, 1863, 
in battle of Champion Hills, Miss.; died — , , at Memphis, Tenn. 

Lesh, Charles H., private, Dec. 9, 1863, 3 years; mus. out with company 
July 10, 1865. 

Lewis, Charles, private, Nov. 3, 1861, 3 years; disch. May i, 1862, at 
Benton Barracks, St. Louis, Mo. 

Leonard, Albert, private, Nov. 10, 1861, 3 years; disch. Jan. 13, 1863, at 
Columbus, O., on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Lindlay, Nathan, private, Oct. 24, 1861, 3 years; disch. July 7, 1862, at 
Camp Chase, O., on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Moore, William, private, Oct. 31, 1861, 3 years; died July 3, 1864, at At- 
lanta, Ga. 

Miller, David, private, Nov. 23, 1861, 3 years; disch. Nov. 8, 1863, at La , 
Grange, Tenn., on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Miller, Frederick, private, Nov. 12, 1861, 3 years; died March 8, 1862, at 
St. Louis, Mo. 

Miller, Henry, private, Nov. 22, 1861, 3 years; died Nov. 20, 1862, in 
Henry county, O. 

Miller, George, private, Nov. 22, 1861, 3 years; died Sept. 15, 1863, at 
Vicksburg, Miss. 

Morris, Solon, private, Dec. 11, 1861, 3 years; died Sept. 15, 1863, at 
Vicksburg, Miss. 

Norrick,^Samuel, private, Dec. 4, 1861, 3 years; died Dec. 8, 1862, at St. 
Louis, Mo. 



Henry County. 131 



Osmond, John, private, Dec. 4, 1861, 3 years; discli. Dec. 20, 1864, at 
Camp Dennison, O., on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

P}-le, Ephraini, private, Jan. 20, 1863, 3 years; mus. out with company 
July 10, 1865. 

Porter, Edmund R., private, Dec. 7, 1863, 3 years; mus. in as ICdward R. 
Porter ; mus. out with company July 10, 1865. 

Porter, Joseph, private, Nov. 26, 1861, 3 years; prom, to chaplain 6ist U. 
S. Colored Infantry Aug. 27, 1863. 

Porter, John F., private, Nov. 8, 1861, 3 years; disch. Nov. 3, 1862, at Co- 
lumbus, O., on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Palmer, James, private, Nov. 26, 1861, 3 years; died March 18, 1862, at 
St. Louis, Mo. 

Page, James D., private, Oct. 19, 1861, 3 years; disch. June 28, 1862, at 
Camp Chase, O., on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Page, Nathaniel, private, Oct. 19, 1861, 3 years; mus. out Oct. 29, 1864, 
at Chattanooga, Tenn., on expiration of term of service, 

Rasley, Solomon, private, Oct. 10, 1862, 3 years; died Jan. 31, 1865, at 
Jeffersonville, Ind. 

Remo, John, private, Oct. 23, 1861, 3 years; mus. in as John Remmes ; 
wounded May 16, 1863, in battle of Champion Hill, Miss.; mus. out with 
company July 10, 1865 ; veteran. 

Remo, F"rederick, private, Oct. 10, 1862, 3 years; mus. out with company 
July 10, 1865. 

Rosey, Joseph, private, Oct. 25, 1861, 3 years; mus. out with comp;iny 
July 10, 1865 ; veteran. 

Richardson, Myron, private, March 4, 1863, 3 years; mus. out with com- 
pany July 10, 1865. 

Roub, Michael, private, Dec. 30, 1863, 3 years; mus. out with company 
July 10, 1865. 

Rhodes, William, private, Jan. 27, 1864, 3 years; died Sept. 12, 1864. at 
Marietta, Ga. 

Rogers, Lewis, private, Nov. 7, 1861, 3 years; died Oct. 8", 1862, at Boli- 
var, Tenn. 

Rogers, John, private, Nov. 8, 1861, 3 years; died Oct. 5, 1863, at Vicks- 
burg. Miss. 

Rogers, Elmore, private, Nov. 28, 1861, 3 years; mus. out Dec. i, 1864, 
at Columbus, O., on expiration of term of service. 

Randall, Leonard A., private, Nov. 9, 1861, 3 years; on muster in roll, 
never reported for duty. 

Rosse, Joseph, private, Oct. 25, 1861, 3 years; mus. out with company 
July 10, 1865 ; veteran. 

Stoutsenberger, Daniel R., pri. ..te, Nov. 8, 1861, 3 years; mus. in as 
David R. Stoltzenberger ; mus. out with company July lo, 1865; veteran. 



132 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

Shaffer, Henry B., private, Jan. 3, 1864, 3 years ; mustered out with com- 
pany July ID, 1865. 

Shaffer, Henry, private, March 4, 1863, 3 years; mustered out with com- 
pany July 10, 1865. 

Stilwell, William H., private, March 28, 1864, 3 years ; mus. out with com- 
pany July 10, 1865. 

Shelhart, William, private, Dec. 31, 1863, 3 years; disch. May 3, 1865, at 
Columbus. O., on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Shelhart, Christian, private, Dec. 30, 1863, 3 years ; died July 29, 1864, at 
Marietta, Ga., of wounds received in action. 

Shellhart, Daniel, private, Jan. 4, 1864, 3 years; mus. out May 25, 1865, 
at McDougal Hospital, New York Harbor by order of war department. 

Spencer, Allen H., private, Jan. 4, 1863, 3 years; disch. Aug. 12, 1864, at 
Cleveland, O., on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Spencer, Daniel, private, Jan. 18, 1864, 3 years; trans, to Veteran Re- 
serve Corps April 6, 1885. 

Spencer, William H., private, Nov. 14, 1861, 3 years; disch. June 26, 
1862, at Columbus, O., on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Snider, Jacob, private, Sept. 21, 1862, 3 years; captured Nov. 13, 1864, 
at Kingston, Ga. ; disch. June 26, 1865, at Columbus, O., on surgeon's certifi- 
cate of disability. 

Snider. Thomas C, private, Nov. 15, 1861, 3 years; disch. Sept. 24, 1862, 
at Cincinnati, O., on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Sloan, Joseph B., private, Oct. 14, 1861, 3 years; disch. July 16, 1863, at 
Cincinnati, O., on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Scott, Caleb, private, Nov. 23, 1861, 3 years; disch. Dec. 10, 1864, at 
Chattanooga, Tenn., on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Thorp, James R., private, Nov. TO, 1861, 3 years; mus. out with company 
July 10. 1865 ; veteran. 

Thompson, David, private, Jan. 25. 1864, 3 years; disch. Nov. 2, 1864, at 
Cleveland, O., on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Taylor, Allen, private, Nov. 20, 1861, 3 years; disch. July 30, 1862, at 
Columbus, O., on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Thomas, Roger W., private, Nov. 19, 1861, 3 years; discharged June 23,^ 
1862, at Columbus, 0., on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Tremain, Andrew I., private, Nov. 16, 1861, 3 years; disch. July 12, 1862, 
at Columbus, O., on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Terrill, Charles, private, Nov. 17, i86r, 3 years; on muster-in roll; never 
reported for duty. 

Utter, Joseph, private, Jan. 21, 1864, 3 years; died May 21, 1864, at St 
Louis, Mo. 

Vanarsdalen, William, private, Jan. 18, 1864, 3 years; died June 10, 1864 
at Madison, Ind. 



Henry County. 133 



Vanarsdalen, Cornelius, private, Jan. 18, 1864, 3 years; mustered out with 
company July 10, 1865. 

Wyrick, Michael, private, Feb. 15, 1864, 3 years; mus. out June 26, 1865, 
at Washington, D. C, by order of war department. 

Wyrick, George W., private, Jan. 18, 1864, 3 years; nius. out with com- 
pany July 10. 1865. 

Wallace, George W., private, Jan. 18, 1864, 3 years; mus. out with com- 
pan}- July 10, 1865. 

Wolverton, John A., private, Nov. 19, 1861, 3 years; disch. Nov. 2, 1864, 
at Camp Dennison, O., on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Weaver, Solomon, private, Nov. 31, 1861, 3 years; died Feb. 23, 1862, at 
St. Louis, Mo. 

Weaver, Frederick, private, Nov. 16, 1861, 3 years; died March i, 1862, 
at St. Louis, Mo. 

Yoing, William H., private, Nov. ii, 1861, 3 years; died March 25, 1862, 
at St. Louis, Mo. 

Yoha, William H., private, Jan. 12, 1864, 3 years; died Aug. 4, 1864, at 
Marietta, Ga. 

Zook, John, private, Jan. 13, 1864, 3 years; mustered out with company 
July 10, 1865. 

The One Hundredth Regiment, Infantry. 

To the formation of this regiment the county of Henry contributed more 
than one full company, and the surplus was transferred to a separate company 
in the same regiment. Company B was made up wholly of residents of this 
county, and it is in recognition of their services in the regiment that this re- 
cord is made. 

The One Hundredth regiment was organized at Toledo, during tlic months 
of June and July, 1862, and was mustered into service on the 15th of July fol- 
lowing, by Captain Dodds, U. S. Army. On the 8th of the same month, the 
regiment moved to Cincinnati, for the defense of that city. On the 9th it went 
into position on Covington Heights, a few rods in front, and to the left of Fort 
Mitchell. 

The regiment marched for Lexington, Ky., on the 8th of October, and re- 
mained there, undergoing a thorough course of instruction, until about the 1st 
of December, when it moved to Richmond. It was engaged in work on the 
fortifications until the 26th of December, when it moved to Danville, and on 
the 3d of January, 1863, it moved to Frankfort. Toward the last of February it 
marched to Lexington to intercept a rebel raid, and from that point it marched 
to Crab Orchard, Mount Vernon, Somerset, and to various other points where 
the presence of the enemy rendered it necessar\-. On the 13th of August, the 
regiment went into camp at Danville, preparatory for the march for East Ten- 



134 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

nessee. Upon arriving at Knoxville, a portion of the regiment was sent up to 
the Virginia State line, to guard the raih'oad. The detachment, two hundred 
and forty strong, was captured by the enemy on the 4th of September, and 
was sent to Richmond, Va. The regiment participated in the defense at Knox- 
ville, and was on active duty during its stay in East Tennessee. Early in the 
spring of 1864, the regiment marched in the Twenty- third Army Corps, to 
join General Sherman, then at Tunnell Hill, Ga. It moved on the Atlanta 
campaign, and was engaged at almost every battle from Rocky Face Ridge 
to Atlanta. On the 6th of August it was engaged in an assault on the rebel 
works in front of Atlanta, and lost one hundred and three men out of three 
hundred. Thirty-six men were killed on the field, and eighty more died of 
wounds within the next thirty days. The colonel was disabled for life. After 
the evacuation of Atlanta, the regiment joined in the pursuit of Hood's army, 
and participated in the battles of Franklin and Nashville. It moved with the 
Xwenty-third Corps to Wilmington, N. C, and was there actively engaged. 
It marched into the interior, and moved from Goldsboro to Raleigh, with Sher- 
man's army. It next moved to Greensboro, and from there to Cleveland, O , 
where it was mustered out of the service on the 1st of July, 1865, having 
served nearly three full years with the Union army. 

The One Hundredth lost during its term of service sixty-five men killed 
in action, and one hundred and forty-two wounded ; twenty-seven died of 
wounds; one hundred and eight died of disease; three hundred and twenty- 
five were captured by the enemy, and eighty-five died in rebel prisons. The 
regiment participated in the battles of Lenox Station, Knoxville, Rocky Face 
Ridge, Resaca, Dallas, Etowah Creek, iVtlanta, Columbus, Franklin, Nashville, 
Town Creek and Wilmington. 

Field and Staff Roster. 

.John C. Groom, colonel; resigned May 13, 1863. 
Patrick Slevin, colonel; prom, from lieut-col. ; honorably discharged 
Nov. 30, 1864. 

Edwin L. Hayes, colonel ; prom, from major to lieut-col.; prom.- to col. 

Franklin Rundell, lieut-col.; prom, from major; mus. out with regiment. 

John A. Shannon, major; mus. out May 11, 1864. 

Henry D. Taylor, major; prom, from captain. 

George A. Collamore, surgeon ; mus. out with regiment. 

Leonard B. Griffing, chaplain; discharged Aug. 9, 1864. 

Roll of Company B. 

Henry D. Taylor, captain; prom, to major. 

George W. Waterman, first lieut.; resigned Jan. 8, 1863. 

George D. Forsyth, second lieut; prom, to first lieut. 



Henry County. 



'35 



Douglas O. Kellcy, first serg't ; prom, to second licut. Jan. 8, 1863. 

Absalom Yager, serg't; prom, to first serg't Jan. 8, 1863. 

M. V. Marsh, serg't ; voluntaril}- returned to ranks. 

Samuel Foltz, serg't. 

Philo H. Holly, serg't. 

Corporals. — William M. Simpson, promoted to sergeant, January 8, 1863; 
A. S. Clark, Henry Shaftner, John A. Haly. Samuel R. Elerton, voluntarily 
returned to ranks; Frederick Stockman, appointed color corporal; George W. 
Savage, Laran Emery. 

Musicians. — John L. Halter, Joseph Grinn. 

Wagoner. — Edward Pearse. 

Privates. — Milton Atkinson, Montcalm Armstrong, John Bauman, Nicho- 
las Barnhart, Philip Bordner, John E. Bates, Conrad Bower, Alonzo A. Bab- 
cock, discharged Jan. 5, 1863 ; Peter Bump, Henry H. Beaver, Elisha T. Coon, 
appointed ward-master, Sept. 7, 1862 ; Orrin Crockett, deserted from hospital 
at Lexington, Jan. 6, 1863 ; James Crockett, Adam Councilman. Godfrey 
Councilman, Stephen B. Coon, died at Lexington, Ky., Nov. 16. 1862; Ed- 
ward H. Dawson, Joshua Dornor, Joseph M. Dornor, Joseph C. Dornor, Levi 
Dresback, William Dirr, Azra Freeman, Newton Freeman, died at Lexington, 
Ky.. March 15, 1863 ; Henry Friday, John J. Falkinghor, Frederick Gherkin, 
Hezekiah Guyer, Walter F. Hunter, died at Lexington, Ky., Nov. 26, 1862 ; 
Daniel Hess, detailed as teamster ; Michael Hockman, died at Lexington, Ky., 
Nov. 15, 1862; Daniel D. Haly, Daniel D. Hartlett, Wilson Heaton, died at 
Lexington, Ky., Nov. 9, 1862; Gideon W. HoUopeter, appointed sergeant, Jan. 
27, 1863; Benjamin ¥. Haynes, David O. Howard, Lewis Hitt, Isaac Howe, 
George H. HoUis, detailed as teamster; Lewis Hartley, William B. Hutchins. 
deserted Jan. 6, 1863, from Danville, Ky.; William Jackson, Edward L. Jaco- 
bus. William Kaufman, Lorenz Kaufman, John B. Lowry, Albert Lane, Henry 
Marsh, James McClure, David McClurc, Alexander Morgan, August Maier, 
William H. Moorhead, F'rancis M. McKinnis, James C. Murray, William Meyril, 
Norman C. Rose, John Ricard, John H. Rhodes, Samuel Redman, Gilmore Red- 
man, Joseph T. Redman, James Simmons, Daniel O. Shepard, Samuel Stein- 
aker, appointed corporal ; Henry Stephens, Hiram Sisco, George W. Starr, Jo- 
seph Siford. John Siford, Joseph Shull, Henry Snyder, John Stickler, deserted ; 
Garrett Salsbury, Isaac Shook, joined company as recruit, Feb. 14. 1863; Jacob 
Snow, William Thrapp, James Taylor, George Vogic, Joseph W. Wells, John 
M. Zuber. 

The One Hundred .\nd TwKNTV-h^nkrii Reciiment. 

To the formation of this regiment, the county of Henry contributed parts 
of two companies, D and G, but the contingent of men in each was so small 
that it can hardly be said that either company was a Henry county contribu- 



136 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

tion. The regiment was recruited from tlie northern counties of Ohio, with 
the exception of Company I, which came from Cincinnati. The regiment ren- 
dezvoused at Camp Taylor, and on the first day of January, 1863, marched 
into Cleveland, seven hundred and fifty strong, ready to take the cars for the 
field. 

When the regimental organization became perfect, it was commanded as 
follows: Colonel, Oliver H. Payne ; lieut- col., James Pickards ; major, James 
B. Hameson. 

After leaving for the field the regiment made its first camp at Elizabeth- 
town, Ky., where it ren^ained until March, when it returned to Louisville, and 
embarked on board transports, and in company with twent}^ thousand other 
troops, proceeded to Nashville, Tenn., where it arrived on the loth. From 
Nashville it went to Franklin and encamped, remaining there until June 2d, 
building forts, perfecting its drill, and getting ready for active field service. 
On the 5th of March the " boys " had a sharp skirmish with the rebels who 
were in the vicinity. 

The One Hundred and Twenty- fourth, with three otbfrr infantry regiments, 
a battery and some cavalry, under General Colburn, were sent on a reconnois- 
sance down the Columbia Pike. For a time they drove back the enemy, until 
Thompson's Ford was reached, when a general engagement ensued. The ene- 
my were much stronger and better posted than was expected, but the fight was 
stubbornly contested for some time, until the One Hundred and Twenty- fourth 
were enabled to safely guard the ammunition train and take it from the field. 

On the 2d of June the camp at Franklin was abandoned and another 
pitched at Triune. A few days later the regiment was ordered to join General 
W. B. Hazen's brigade at Readyville. Again, after a reconnoissance to Elk 
River, they went into camp at Manchester. Here the regiment was assigned 
to the Second Brigade, Second Division of the Twenty-first Army Corps, with 
General Palmer as division, and General Crittenden as corps commander. 

The corps then in August, crossed over the Cumberland Mountains in time 
to participate in the battle at Chickamauga, where it held a position on the left. 
Although this was the first severe fight in which the regiment took part, it 
nevertheless held its ground firmly, and stood well up to the work, and only 
after the lines were broken and the full force of the enemy's charge and fire 
were concentrated upon them, did the regiment fall back. During the Chick- 
amauga battle the regiment lost in killed, wounded and missing, one hundred 
and forty men. They then retreated to Chattanooga, and went into camp on 
the 22d of September While here the army was reorganized, and the One 
Hundred and Twenty-fourth was assigned to the Second Brigade, Third Divis- 
ion, of the Fourth Army Corps. 

It next participated in the engagernent at Raccoon Mountain, where the 
enemy's position was taken, and after camping there a few days, was relieved, 
and returned to camp at Chattanooga. 



Henry County. 137 



The regiment next took part in the battle of Mission Ridge, in whicli the 
men performed nobly, fought lively, and captured seven pieces of artillery, two 
cassions, eighty stand of arms, and a wagon-load of ammunition. Its loss here 
was twenty-three killed, four wounded, and nineteen missing. 

On the 30th of November the regiment, with a portion of the arm)% marched 
to the relief of Knoxville, where it arrived on the lOth of December, but other 
re-enforcements having come earlier, the siege was raised, and the enemy 
retired from before that place. After remaining here a few da}s. the regiment 
went into camp at Clinch Mountain. From here they were driven b\- a large 
force of Confederates. 

About the 15th of April, 1864, under an order from the war department to 
concentrate the army, preparatory to the spring campaign, the One Hundred 
and Twenty- fourth moved to McDonald Station, about thirty miles east of 
Chattanooga, where it was thoroughly clothed and equipped. 

After a tew days of rest the regiment marched to Tunnel Hill Station, on 
the railroad, and thence to Rocky Face Ridge. At this point the enemy was 
engaged, making a strong charge against his works, in which it suffered severely. 
Marching and fighting continuously, it made its way to Dalton, and from 
there to Resaca, Cassville aud New Hope Church. Here, again, it was en- 
gaged, and lost many brave men. The regiment then participated in the flank- 
ing movement to Jonesboro, and consequent evacuation of Atlanta, after which 
came a much needed rest of thirt}^ days. 

It then followed Hood's army to Gaylesville and Athens, Ala. ; thence to 
Pulaski and Columbia, passing through Franklin, and reaching Nashville in 
advance of the main forces, and went into camp behind the entrenchments of 
that place. In the battle of Nashville it took an active part, and at its close, 
joined in the pursuit of the defeated and demoralized rebel army. At Hunts- 
ville the chase was given up, and the force went into camp. From here it was 
ordered to Strawberry Plains, in East Tennessee. Thence back through Green- 
ville to Nashville, where, on the 9th of July, 1865, the regiment was mustered 
out of service. It was then sent home, and was paid off and discharged at 
Camp Taylor, near Cleveland, the place from which it started two and one- 
half years before. 

On account of the small number of men from this county who were in 
companies D and G, of the One Hundred and Twenty- fourth Regiment, and 
the great difficulty in locating them accurately, no roster is given. 

One Hundred and Sixty-third Regiment — One Hundred D.ays 

Servicp:. 

The One Hundred and Sixty-third Infantry Regiment was composed of the 
Forty-eighth Regiment, Ohio National Guard, of Richlandjcounty , the Sev- 
enty-second Battalion, Ohio National Guard, of Henry county, the Ninety- 
is 



38 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 



sixth battalion, Ohio National Guard, of Ashland county, and the Ninety- 
ninth Battalion, Ohio National Guard, of Stark county. The regiment was 
mustered into the United States service at Camp Chase, Ohio, on the I2th 
day of May, 1864, and on the 13th of the same month it proceeded to Wash- 
ington City, under orders from General Heintzelman, commanding the depart- 
ment of Ohio. Upon arrival at Washington the regiment was assigned to the 
First Brigade, First Division, Twenty-second Army Corps, with headquarters 
at Fort Reno, District of Columbia. The regiment remained here on duty 
until the 8th of June, when it was ordered to the front, and proceeded in 
transports to White House, Virginia, and thence to Bermuda Hundred. It 
reported to General Butler, at Point of Rocks. Va., on the 12th of June, and on 
the 14th took part (with General Turner's division) in a reconnoissance on the 
Petersburg and Richmond Railroad. Two hundred and fifty of the men were 
engaged in a severe skirmish on the 15th, and were highly complimented by 
the brigade commander, who said, " they comported themselves like veterans." 
On the 1 6th the regiment proceeded to Wilson's Landing, and from that point 
made several reconnoissances to the west side of the James River. It also 
assisted in building a large portion of the works known as Fort Pocahontas. 
On the 29th of August the regiment was relieved from duty, and proceeded 
to Columbus, O., where it was mustered out September 10, 1864. The Sev- 
enty-second Battalion, Ohio National Guard, of Henry county, when mustered 
into service became Company G, about eighty-five strong. 

Field and Staff Officers. — Hiram Miller, colonel ; John Dempsey, lieuten- 
ant-colonel; Aaron S. Campbell, major ; Alex. Sutherland, surgeon; James O. 
Carter, ass't-surgeon ; David C. McMillen, ass't surgeon ; Andrew M. Burns, 
adjutant ; Samuel L. Nash, quartermaster ; Samuel D. Bates, chaplain. 

Muster Roll of Company G. — Ransom P. Osborn, captain; Charles W. 
Kalo, first lieut.; Henry E. Cary, second lieut.; Thomas R. Carroll, John Gard- 
ner, Wellington D. Golding, Henry Yeager and John Waterman, sergeants ; 
Jabez Dennis, David Foulk, Cyrus Gunn, Hampton Harrison, Luke Lemmest, 
Wallace Blair, Milton E Heller and Thomas Williams, corporals; John Ball- 
ner, drummer ; Jonas Adams, fifer. 

Privates. — F'rederick AUer, John Battenfield, John Battles, Fenton Brooks, 
Daniel Bascom, Wheaton P. Barnes, Jacob Breikhiser, Baxter Burgess, George 
Banks, James Corbin, William Campbell, George Davis, William Dota, Benja- 
min F. Dennis, Edward Dodd, Gifford D. Ellenwood, Stillwell Hess, Henry 
Howard, James Henry, Hiram Gilson, Rease Gilson, Lewis A. Groff, Thomas 
Ireland, Stephen H. Jacobs, Charles Kegler, Morris Killets, William Lowry, 
William Lighthiser, Miller Long. John Leiter, Samuel Leiter, Samuel Margratt, 
Isaac Masdeen, Maxwell F. Mealey, Philetus Merriman, Frank Mason, Elton 
Masten, David Mofifett, William McComb, Martin Ohler, John Paul, Lewis 
Pearce, Volney Powell, George Powell, Winfield Randall, Joseph N. Ritter, 



Henry County. 139 



George W. Raff, Landon Raff, Washingte^n Radle, George Smith James Shas- 
teen, Hiram S. Shoemaker, Robert B. Smead, Joseph M. Spangler, Asa C. 
Senter, Israel Smith, Achilles Smith, Romaine Tyler, Joseph Travis, George 
Valentine, Isaac Williams, John Yeager, George W. Zellner, Solomon Zeddi- 
ker, Nathaniel Hartman, discharged ; Charles DeLong, transferred ; Archibald 
Worthington, deserted. 

The One Hundred and Eic.hty-Fourth Infantry. 

7 his was one of the regiments raised under President Lincoln's last call for 
one year troops. It was organized in February, 1865, at Camp Chase. To 
the formation of the regiment Henry County contributed one full compan\-, B. 
Immediately after muster the regiment was ordered to Nashville, and from 
thence proceeded to Chattanooga; thence to Bridgeport, Alabama, reaching 
the latter point about the 21st of March, and was engaged in the duty of guard- 
ing an important railroad bridge over the Tennessee river. It also acted as 
guard over a considerable line of railroad between Bridgeport and Chattanooga 
and frequently came in contact with guerrillas that infested the region, and 
squads of rebel cavalry. 

On the 25th of July the regiment was ordered to garriscm duty at Edgfield 
and remained at that place until mustered out of service. Returning to Camp 
Chase, the men were paid off and discharged on the 27th day of September, 
1865. 

In the One Hundred and Eighty- fourth was much excellent material — 
man\- of the men having been in the service in other regiments — and although 
while in this command they were in no general engagement, they, nevertheless, 
rendered important .service in the country to which they were assigned. 

In 0th kr Commands. 

While the record above mentioned purports to, and does contain the expe- 
riences and vicissitudes of the regiments and parts of regiments from Henry 
county, still there were other commands in which the county was represented, 
but with so small a number of men as to make an extended notice of them un- 
necessary. Looking over the records of the county's soldiery it is found that 
there was a small contingent of the One Hundred and Twenty-fifth represent- 
ing the county in Company I. On the field and staff roster is found the name 
of Dr. Henry AIcHenry, who was the regimental surgeon. In all there were 
about fifteen men from this county that belonged to the regiment. 

Then, again, it is found that several, not more, men of the county enlisted 
in the Ninth Cavalry, which was commanded by Colonel William D. Hamil- 
ton. The Eighth, Ninth and Tenth Regiments, O. V. Cav., were raised late 
in 1862 by Governor Tod, under the instructions of the president. 

Other regiments that had a few representatives of Henry County, were the 



I40 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

Third Cavalry, the Twenty-first Infantry, the Eighty-eighth Infantry, the 
One Hundred and Eleventh Infantry, the One Hundred and Eighteenth, the 
One Hundred and Twenty-eighth Infiintry, and perhaps others of which no 
record can be accurately obtained. 



CHAPTER XIII. 
THE BEXCH AND BAR. 

IT was many years after the organization of Ohio before the northwestern 
portion of the State had either Bench or Bar ; and for a long time after the 
territorial government had ceased the only courts known were the Indian coun- 
cil and the court martial, while the bar consisted of the feathered chief and the 
uniformed commander. 

The jurisprudence of the State, as of all the northwestern territory embraced 
in the Virginia cession, was founded on the common law of England, modified 
and. construed by the several charters of King James I to the early settlers of 
Virginia, and by the ordinance of 1787. In 1793, by the territorial legisla- 
ture, a statute was adopted from Virginia declaring " that the common law of 
England and all statutes made in aid of the common law prior to the fourth 
year of James I, which were of a general nature, should be a rule of decision 
until repealed." By the second section of the act of February 22, 1805, this 
act was repealed, but by the first section of the act was re-enacted ; it was 
again repealed January 2, 1806. So it may safely be said that the British 
statutes never had any effect in Ohio save as adopted by the Legislature. [i 
Chase, 190, 512, 528]. The English common law, however, so far as reason- 
able in itself, suitable to the condition and business of our people, and consist- 
ent with the letter and spirit of the Federal and State constitutions and stat- 
utes, ever has been and is followed by our courts and maybe said to constitute 
a part of the common law of Ohio. [2 O. S. 387.] 

After the organization of the State by the adoption of the constitution of 
1802, the written law of Ohio may be said to have commenced, but the prac- 
tice was far from uniform, and it was not until 1845, when the able work of 
Joseph R. Swan, whose name needs no title to the bar of Ohio, Practice and 
Precedents, was published, that uniformity began to prevail with either bench or 
bar. Previous to that time, paraphrasing from the preface of that able work, 
most of the members of the bar and bench, whose opinions moulded our judi- 
cial system, had pursued their legal studies in other States of the Union, and 
brought with them a high respect for the practice and decisions of the courts 



Henry County. 141 



where they were educated. Ahiiost all the States of the Union had been thus 
represented at our bar and upon our bench, and had produced a very great 
diversity of law in different parts of the State. In truth, a local common law 
existed to some extent in each judicial circuit. In one the English common 
law was looked to as the only pure fountain ; in another the common law of 
England was modified by the laws of New York; in another the common law of 
IMassachusetts ; in another of Connecticut ; in another of Pennsylvania. The 
statutes of the State indicated the same heterogeneousness. The practice act 
came from New Jersey ; the attachment law from Pennsylvania ; the adminis- 
tration law from Massachusetts, and the non-imprisonment act from New York. 
This state of things sometimes gave rise to divisions of opinions in the court 
in bank, and often subjected the adjudications to severe and unjust criticism. 

It is certainly no disparagement to the many able jurists who aided in giv- 
ing to Ohio a uniform and perfect system of jurisprudence, to say that to Judge 
Swan is the bench and bar of Ohio most indebted for the desirable consumma- 
tion ; and his work at once became the law of practice to bench and bar through- 
out the State, and remained so until the enactment of the code of civil proced- 
ure in 1853, after the adoption of the Constitution of 1851. 

The common law as to crimes, and the mode of procedure in criminal cases, 
was never in force in Ohio — all this was the matter of legislative enactments, 
[i O. 132, 2 O. S. 387, 10 O. S. 287.] 

The history of the various revisions and codifications of the statutory law 
and modes of procedure within Ohio is interesting, and is so concisely and ac- 
curately stated in the preface to the first addition of the revised statutes made 
by the codifying commission, appointed under the act of March 27, 1S75. and 
published in 1880, that we copy literally : 

" The first revision was made during the session of the Legislature held at 
Chillicothe, in 1804-5, at which all the laws, with few exceptions, adopted by 
the governor and judges, or enacted by the Legislature under the territorial 
government were repealed. That revision embraced statutes for the adminis- 
tration of justice, the conveyance of property, the collection of the revenue, the 
organization of the militia and the punishment of crime, and other statutes pre- 
viously adopted or enacted were amended and re-enacted. 

"With these statutes for a basis other legislatures followed the example, 
and, accordingly, the laws were revised at the session of 1809-18 10, the ses- 
sion of 1815-1816, the session 1823-1824 and the session of 1830-1831, each 
revision being an improvement on that which preceded it, the practice and 
other remedial statutes gradually becoming more liberal and the penal enact- 
ments more humane. 

"In 1835 the statute relating to felonies was again revised and further pro- 
vision was made to simplify the practice, and in 1840, an act relating to the 
settlement of the estates of deceased persons, based on the statute of Massa- 



142 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

chusetts, was prepared by Joseph R. Swan and enacted by the General Assem- 
bly. The principal part of it has remained without change to the present day. 
At the same session the statutes in relation to wills, elections and other sub- 
jects, were revised. 

"Meanwhile the statutes had become so numerous and had fallen into such 
confusion that a systematic republication of the laws in force had become a 
necessity. Fortunately the work was undertaken by one competent for the 
task, and it is only just to say that with the material before him, and in the ab- 
sence of all power to change it, perhaps no other man would have been able to 
produce a collection of our statutes so admirable in all that pertains to the 
work of an editor, as Swan's Statutes of 1841. In 1854-5, in i860 and in 1868, 
Judge Swan performed the same task of collecting and arranging the statutes 
in force, the notes to the edition of i860 having been prepared by Leander J. 
Critchfield, and the notes to the edition of 1868 by Milton Sayler. While these 
editions of the statutes have now become comparatively useless, they are none 
the less monuments to the industry and ability of the gentlemen who were en- 
gaged in their preparation. 

"In this connection it will not be out of place to notice a collection of the 
statutes of a more permanent character. In 1833-183 5 (subsequently Chief 
Justice) Chase prepared an edition of the statutes. It included the territorial 
laws, whether adopted by the governor and judges, or enacted by the territo- 
rial legislatures and the statutes down to and including those of 1833. This 
embraced seven volumes of territorial laws and thirty volumes of the statutes of 
the State, and the whole was republished in chronological order in three vol- 
umes. The work was continued on substantially the same plan by Maskell E. 
Curwen, who republished in four volumes, the general laws from 1834 to i860, 
inclusive. Since the death of Mr. Curwen, the work has been continued by J. 
R. Sayler, who has republished, in four volumes, the general laws from 1861 to 
1875, inclusive. 

"It will thus be seen that the statutes of Chase, Curwen and Sayler — all 
admirably edited — are a republication of all the general laws adopted or en- 
acted under the territorial and State governments from 1788 to 1875, inclu- 
sive, in the order of the original publication. While only a very small num- 
ber of the statutes which these volumes contain remains in force, the remarks 
of Judge Chase witli respect to them in his first volume are entirely just. 
'Many questions of right and remedy,' said he, 'depend upon the provisions of 
repealed statutes. In reference to such questions the examination of the whole 
series of laws affecting them is a matter of absolute necessity. In addition to 
this, a knowledge of the acts repealed is olten essential to a correct understand- 
ing of the law in force. No lawyer, nor intelligent legislator ought to be sat- 
isfied with knowing what the law is, unless he also knows what the law has- 
been." 



Henry County. 143 



" Recurring to the subject of codification it is evident that it had engaged 
the attention of the people to some extent, previous to the adoption of the 
present constitution. Provision was made in that instrument for a commission ; 
and it was ordained that ' said commissioners shall revise, reform, simplify and 
abridge the practice, pleadings, forms, and proceedings of the courts of record 
of this State ; and as far as practicable and expedient shall provide for the 
abolition of the distinct forms of actions at law now in use, and for the admin- 
istration of justice by a uniform mode of proceeding, witliouf reference to any 
distinction between law and equity.' 

" In obedience to that provision an act was passed and William Kennon, 
William S. Groesbeck, and Daniel O. Morton were appointed commissioners. 
They confined their labors to the subject of practice in civil cases, and reported 
what was known as the code of civil procedure, to the fiftieth General Assem- 
bly, and that body on March ii, 1853, adopted it Though 

somewhat changed in language and arrangement, the principal part of it re- 
mains substantially as it was reported by those commissioners. 

"With the growth of the State in population and wealth, the annual vol- 
umes of the general laws increased in size until the statutes of a general nature, 
in force, exceed two thousand in number. The subject of codification then 
began to attract attention here as in other places. In 1869 a bill prepared by 
Senators Charles H. Scribner, Daniel B. Linn, and Homer Everett, codifying 
the statutes in relation to municipal corporations, became a law, as did also a 
bill embodying a code of criminal procedure, which had been prepared by Sen- 
ator Frank H.Hurd. The subject was further agitated and finally, in 1874, 
Representative George W. Boyce, of Hamilton county, introduced a bill pro- 
viding for such codification. Subsequently, Senator Lucian C. Jones, of Trum- 
bull, Trumbull county, introduced a bill on the same subject, which, on March 
27. 1875, became a law. [72 v. 87]. The following are its leading features: 

"The governor was required, by and with the advice and consent of the 
Senate, to appoint three competent commissioners to revise and consolidate the 
general statutes of the State, and he was authorized to fill any vacancy in the 
commission, 

" In performing the duty the commissioners were required to bring together 
all the statutes and parts of statutes relating to the same matter, omitting re- 
dundant and obsolete enactments, and such as had no influence on existing 
rights or remedies, and making alterations to reconcile contradictions, supply 
omissions, and amend imperfections in the original acts, so as to reduce the 
general statutes into as concise and comprehensive a form as might be con- 
sistent with clear expression^of the will of the General Assembly, rejecting all 
equivocal and ambiguous words and circuitous and tautological phraseology. 

" They were required to arrange the statutes under suitable titles, divisions, 
subdivisions, chapters, and sections, with head notes briefly expressive of the 



144 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

matter contained therein, with marginal notes of the contents of each section, 
with reference to the original act from which it was compiled, and foot notes of 
the decisions of the Supreme Court upon the same ; and they were required 
to report the whole, in print, to the general assembly for its adoption. 

" On the day of the passage of the bill Governor Allen appointed, and the 
Senate unanimously confirmed, Michael A. Daugherty, Luther Day, and John 
W. Okey as the commissioners. Commissions were issued to them on that 
day, and immediately thereafter they entered upon their duties. Judge Day 
continued to be a member of the commission until February i, 1876, when he 
resigned, having been appointed a member of the Supreme Court commission, 
and John S. Brasee was appointed by Governor Hayes to fill the vacancy, 
and Judge Okey continued to be a member of the commission until November 
9, 1877, when he resigned, having been elected a judge of the Supreme Court, 
and George B. Okey was appointed by Governor Young to fill the vacancy. 
No other changes were made in the commission." 

The codified or revised statutes consist of four parts. The first part (Polit- 
cal) contains the enactments which are organic, being the frame-work and ma- 
chinery of our government ; the second part (Civil) relates to person and prop- 
erty ; the third part (Remedial) includes everything connected with civil pro- 
cedure in all the courts ; and the fourth part (Penal) embraces the provisions 
relating to crimes, criminal procedure, and jails and the penitentiary. 

Constitution ^/"i8o2. — Under the Constitution of 1802 the judicial power 
of the State, both as to matters of law and equity, was vested in a Supreme 
Court, in Court of Common Pleas for each county, in justices of the peace, 
and in such other courts as the Legislature might establish. " Such other 
courts" were never established in this section of the State. 

The Supreme Court consisted of three judges — two of whom formed a 
quorum. It had original and appellate jurisdiction, both in law and in chan- 
cery, in such cases as the Legislature might direct, and which would be beyond 
tlie province of this chapter to enumerate. The Legislature was empowered 
to add another judge to the number after five years, and in that event the 
judges were authorized to divide the State into two circuits within which any 
two could hold court. 

The Courts of Common Pleas consisted of a president and two associate 
judges. The State was required by law to be divided into three circuits with 
a president judge for each circuit, and not " more than three nor less than two " 
associate judges for each county. Any three of these judges constituted a 
quorum and composed the Court of Common Pleas, and had common law and 
chancery jurisdiction, and also jurisdiction of all probate and testamentary mat- 
ters and of guardians and minors, and of criminal cases. Clerks were appointed 
by the court for a term of seven years. Power was conferred on the Legisla- 
ture to increase the number of circuits and of the president judges after the 



Henry County. 145 



•expiration of five years. The Supreme Court was required to be held once a 
year in each county. 

All judges were appointed by a joint ballot of both houses of the General 
Assembly, and held office for the term of seven years, " if so long the>- behaved 
well." 

Justices of the peace were elected in each township and held office for three 
years. Their " powers and duties" were "regulated and defined by law." 

The destruction of the records by the fire of 1S47, renders it very difficult 
to give a detailed or concise history of the courts held in the count)- or the 
names and time of service of the officers. 

Henry county was formed by an act of the Legislature passed 1820 [3 
Chase, 2134]. By act of February 2, 1824 [3 Chase, 2137], the county was 
for judicial purposes attached to Williams, with the county seat at Defiance, 
and became a part of the second circuit, [i Curwen, 115.] In 1834 the 
county was authorized to elect county officers, but it was not until 1835 that a 
perfect organization was had, and in that year the first court was held in Napo- 
leon, which had been made the county seat. The officers of that first court 
were: David Higgins, president judge; David J. Cory, Reuben Waite, and 
Pierce Evans, associate judges; J. N. Evans, clerk; E. Husted, sheriff, and 
Frederick Lord, prosecuting attorney. 

Judge Higgins was succeeded as president judge in 1837 by Ozias Bowen, 
who continued to hold the courts of the county until the Legislature on the 
l6th of February, 1839 [i Curwen, 518], created the thirteenth judicial cir- 
cuit, which was composed of Lucas, Wood, Henry, Williams, Paulding, Put- 
nam, Van Wert, Allen, Hardin, and Hancock — Defiance, Auglaize, and Fulton 
had not then yet been created. Of this circuit Emery D. Potter was elected 
first president judge in the same month that the circuit was created, and con- 
tinued to hold the courts of the county until in the winter of 1844, when he 
resigned to take a seat in Congress, to which he had been elected in October 
preceding. 

Judge Potter was succeeded by Myron H. Tilden, who continued in office 
about eighteen months, when he also resigned. 

In February, 1845 [2 Curwen, 1086], the sixteenth circuit was formed and 
the thirteenth reorganized so as to be composed of the counties of Henry, 
W^ood, Lucas, Ottawa, Sandusky, Huron, and Erie. Ebenezer B. Saddler, of 
Sandusky City, was elected president judge, and held court in the county until 
February 22, 1847 [2 Curwen, 1374], when the eighteenth circuit was created, 
consisting of the counties of Putnam, Van Wert, Paulding, Defiance, Williams, 
and Henry. To this circuit Fulton county was attached January 10, 1851 [2 
Curwen, 1593]. George B. Way, of Defiance, was elected president judge at 
the same time the circuit was formed, and continued to hold the courts of 
Common Pleas until the Constitution of 185 i took efTect. 

]9 



146 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

The last term of the Court of Common Pleas, under the old judicial system^ 
was begun and held in Napoleon, on the 19th day of November, 1851. The 
president judge was George B. Way, the associates, Amos Cole, Samuel B. 
Jones, and John Knapp ; Hazel Strong was clerk, and Daniel Yarnel, sheriff; 
the prosecuting attorney was Edward Sheffield. At that term, which lasted 
only four days, the following preamble and resolutions were entered on the 
journal, vol. i, p. 342: 

" Whereas, By the organization of our new judicial system under the 
new Constitution, our worthy and esteemed president judge of this judicial cir- 
cuit, the Hon. George B. Way, leaves the bench, we feel it not only a high 
privilege but a duty to express our opinion and appreciation of his distinguished 
judicial career; therefore, as embodying our feelings, we adopt the following 
resolutions : 

" Resolved, That we look with regret upon the retiracy from the bench of 
the Hon. George B. Way, for, while occupying that high position, the clear- 
ness of his judgments, his high legal abilities, the variety of his attainments, 
the amenity of his manners, has shed a lustre upon his high station, and made 
the practice of our profession before him not only a pleasure but a sort of im- 
provement ; that it delights us to approve his official conduct and to pay spon- 
taneously this tribute to his judicial worth. 

" Resolved, That, if in our practice before him, we may have said or done 
anything that has pained or temporarily wounded his sensibilities, we ask that 
it may be forgotten and forgiven. 

" Resolved, That a copy of these resolutions be signed by the members of 
the bar present and presented to the Hon. George B. Way, and entered upon 
the minutes of the court, and a copy furnished to each of the Defiance papers 
for publication." 

This paper was signed by H. F. Wait, William Sheffield, William H. Hall, 
H. S. Comminger, J. C. Spink, James O. Caldwell, James G. Haly, E. Shef- 
field, and William H. Moe. 

Of these early president judges there are still living Emory D. Potter, of the 
city of Toledo, and Ebenezer B. Saddler, of Sandusky City. Myron H. Til- 
den, after his resignation, became president of the Cincinnati law school. Ozias 
Bowen was afterwards elected one of the supreme judges of the State, retiring 
in February, 1858. . 

The Early Bar. — It was a good many years before the bar had a " local 
habitation" in Henry county. At the time of its organization Frederick Lord, 
who has already been mentioned as prosecuting attorney, and William B. 
Berry, who succeeded Lord as prosecutor, were the only attorneys living in 
the county. In 1840 James G. Haly was admitted to the bar, and became the 
third prosecuting attorney. He in turn was succeeded by James McKenzie, 
who, after serving one year, resigned and took editorial charge of the Venture^ 



Henry County. 147 



a Democratic paper started at Kalida, then the county seat of Putnam county. 
Mr. McKenzie afterwards became one of the judges of the third judicial district 
under the new constitution. Mr. Haly was appointed and filled the unexpired 
term. Mr. Haly was succeeded by Edward Sheffield, and he in turn b\' Justin 
H. Tyler. Edward Sheffield, with his brother, William, settled in Napoleon 
about the year 1841, both being members of the bar. Ebenezer Lathrop, dur- 
ing the years 1 841 and 1 842, was a practicing attorney resident in the county. 
These persons constituted the resident attorneys under the old constitution. 
Much, however, of the little legal business then in the county was conducted 
by the 

Circuit Riders. — There was a class of lawyers, eminent at least locally, who 
rode from county to county, mostly on horse-back, through the entire circuit 
along with the president judge. Among the most prominent of these practi- 
tioners may be mentioned all of those who had been president judges. An- 
drew (better known as Count), Coffinberry, John C. Spink. 

The Constitution of 185 i — The judicial system of the State of Ohio was 
considerably changed by the constitution of 185 i, and is defined by the IV. 
Art. of that instrument. 

The courts were then made to consist of a Supreme Court, District Courts, 
Courts of Common Pleas, Courts of Probate, Justices of the Peace and such 
other courts, inferior to the Supreme Court, in one or more counties, as the 
General Assembly might from time to time establish. 

The Supreme Court is composed of five judges, a majority of whom consti- 
tute a quorum, and has an original jurisdiction in quo zvarranto, mamiainus, 
habeas corpus and procedendo, with such appellate jurisdiction as may be pro- 
vided by law. 

The District Courts were composed of the judges of the Courts of Common 
Pleas of the respective districts and one of the judges of the Suprem'e Court, 
any three of whom constituted a quorum, and it was seldom, after the lapse of 
a few years that; a supreme judge was present, as it was held [19 O. S., 5^7] 
that the presence of a supreme judge was not necessary to give validity to 
the court. This court was required to be held at least once a year in each 
county, and had like original jurisdiction with the Supreme Court and such ap- 
pellate jurisdiction as was conferred by law. 

The jurisdiction of the Courts of Common Pleas, and of the judges thereof, 
is also to be fixed by law. 

A Probate Court, which is made a Court of Record, is established in each 
county, and given "jurisdiction in probate and testamentary matters, the ap- 
pointment of administrators and guardians, the settlement of the accounts of 
executors, administrators and guardians, and such jurisdiction in habeas corpus, 
the issuing of marriage licenses, and for the sale of land by executors, admin- 
istrators and guardians, and such other jurisdiction, in any county or counties" 
as may be provided by law. 



148 History of Henrv and Fulton Counties. 

All judges are elected by the electors, the supreme judge in the State at 
large ; common pleas judges in the several sub- divisions of the districts, and 
probate judges in the county. The term of offices of the probate judges is 
three years, of all other judges five years. The first election was in October, 
185 I, and the term of office commenced on the first Monday of February, 1852. 

Justices of the peace were, as under the old constitution, elected in the 
several townships. 

The State was divided into nine common pleas districts, with power in the 
Legislature to sub-divide the district. Henry county was placed in the third 
district, and by act of the Legislature, February 18, 1852, in the second sub- 
division thereof [3 Curwen, 17 10]. 

John M. Palmer was the first judge of this sub-division, being elected in 
October, 185 i, and assuming office in the following February. His first term 
of court in Henry county was commenced on the 24th day of May, 1852. 

In October, 1856, Alexander Sankey Latty, then of Paulding county, was 
elected judge of the sub- division. He was four times elected and served for 
twenty years, retiring in February, 1877. During most of his first term his 
sub-division consisted of the eight counties already mentioned, and necessitated 
twenty-four terms of the Common Pleas, with the district courts in addition. 
May I, 1862 [i Sayler, 328], the rapidly increasing business induced the Leg- 
islature to so remodel the districts and sub-divisions as to make the third sub- 
division of the third district consist of the counties of Paulding, Defiance, Will- 
iams, Fulton, Henry and Wood. It so remained until February 21, 1868 [2 
Sayler, 1453], when Wood was transferred to the fourth sub-division. 

In 1876, Selwyn N. Owen, of Williams county, was elected judge, and held 
the courts of Henry county until June 7, 1879 [R. S., Sec. 8020], when this 
district was so changed as to make Paulding, Defiance and Williams constitute 
the second sub-division, to which Judge Owen was then assigned ; Fulton^ 
Henry and Putnam composed the third sub-division. John J. Moore, of Put- 
nam county, who had been elected in the second sub-division, of which Put- 
nam was then a part, became the judge for Henry county. Judge Moore was 
re-elected in 1883, but resigned in P'ebruary, 1885, to take his place on the 
circuit bench, to which he had been elected the fall before. 

After the resignation of Judge Moore, William H. Handy, of Fulton county, 
was appointed by Governor Hoadly. He was elected the fall following, and is 
now the judge of the sub-division, which still consists of the three last named 
counties. 

Circuit Court. — On the 30th of March, 1883 [O. L. vol. 80, 383], the Leg- 
islature submitted to the electors of the State an amendment to the constitu- 
tion. This amendment was ratified at the October election of that year and 
became, and now is, a part of our fundamental law. By this amendment the 
judical system was so changed as to abolish the District Court and substitute 



Henry County. 149 



the Circuit Court. The material change consists in the latter court being com- 
posed of three independent judges elected in the circuit, instead of the interme- 
diate court between the Common Pleas and the Supreme being held by the 
judges who held the Common Fleas. The State was divided into seven circuits 
and Henry county placed in the third, of which Thomas Beer, of Crawford 
county, John J. Moore, of Putnam count}', and Henrj' VV. Seney, of Hardin 
county, are the judges. 

The Probate Court. — Harvey Allen was the first probate judge for the 
county. He was elected in 1851 and took charge of the office in February, 
1852. He served tw^o terms and died shortly after his term of office expired. 
He was succeeded by Thomas S. C. Morrison, elected in 1857, re-elected in 
i860, again in 1863. ^'Ir. Morrison was editor of the Northwest, had been 
admitted to the bar but never practiced law. He died in March, 1864, when 
William M. Beckman was by the governor appointed to the vacancy. In the 
following fall John M. Haagwas elected, and re-elected in 1866. He was suc- 
ceeded by James G. Haly in 1869. Mr. Haly served for four terms, and was 
in 1 88 1 followed by David Meekison, who is at present on his second term, 
which will expire in February, 1888. 

Prosecuting Attorneys. — We have already given the names of the prose- 
cuting attorneys under the old constitution and will, in like manner in succes- 
sion, give those who have served since : 

Edward Sheffield, William A. Choate, James A. Parker, James L. Robert- 
son, David Meekison, Martin Knupp, Richard W. Cahill. 

Attorneys. — Among the attorneys who have been members of the Henry 
county bar since 185 i, and not now in practice, here may be mentioned William 
H. Moe, John M. McFadden, Benjamin E. Sheldon, Joseph R. Swigart, John- 
son N. High, Wm. H. Hubbard, F. M. Rummell, A. L. Lessick, and C. E. 
Selfridge, removed ; Sanford R. McBane, Hiram H. Poe, James L. Robertson, 
James A. Parker, William and Edward Sheffield, A. R. Scheble, and Romaine 
Tyler, deceased; Andrew Crawford, who was a captain in the 14th O. V. I., 
three months service, was shot by mistake by one of his own men in West Vir- 
ginia; W'illiam A. Choate, the colonel of the 38th O. V. I., was killed at the 
battle of Jonesboro. James G. Haly and Asa H. Tyler, who still reside here, 
have retired from practice. 

The Present Bar. 

There has been no time during the existence of the Bar in Henry county 
that the same can be said to have been strong in point of members, but in 
point of intellectual strength and ability and legal attainments on the part of 
its practitioners there never has been a bar in the county equal to the present, 
and it is these practitioners that this branch of the present chapter is intended 
to be devoted. 



150 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

James G. Haly — Although now practically retired from the active work of 
his profession, Judge Haly still remains a member of the present bar, and is, in 
fact, its senior member. Mr. Haly was born in Holmes county, Ohio, on the 6th 
of December, 1816. He was born of parents in quite modest circumstances, 
his father being a farmer in that county. James received a common school 
education, but on account of the need of his service on the farm his education 
was quite limited. When about twenty years of age he came to Napoleon, 
following to that place Alexander Craig, to whom he was well known and with 
whom he afterward, for a time, lived. While in Napoleon he attended school 
and received a fair elementary education, after which he read law under the 
instruction of Curtis Bates, esq., of Defiance. After a course of study Mr. 
Haly was admitted to practice in July, 1840, and soon afterward came perma- 
nently to Napoleon and engaged in practice. At the second regular county 
election he was chosen to fill the ofiice of prosecuting attorney, and served four 
years by election and one year by appointment. He then resumed the prac- 
tice, but was soon elected to the position of justice of the peace, serving in that 
capacity six years. In 1845 he was elected county auditor and held that office 
four years. 

Still later Mr. Haly was elected to the Lower House of the State Legisla- 
ture, representing the counties of Henry and Putnam at the session of that body 
commencing in January, 1852. This was the first session under the new con- 
stitution. During the years 1853-4-5 he held the position of collector of tolls 
at the junction of the Wabash and Miami Canals, in Paulding county, and dur- 
ing his incumbency of this trust Mr. Haly received, by way of collections, and 
paid over to the State treasurer, the gross sum of a quarter of a million dollars. 

After his duties at the junction had ceased Mr. Haly returned to Napoleon 
and bis profession, and formed a law partnership with Edward Sheffield, which 
relation was maintained until the fall of 1 86 1 when our subject enlisted in Com- 
pany D, Sixty- eighth O. V. Inf , which company he was chiefly instrumental 
in raising and to the command of which he was entitled, but, giving the com- 
mand to others, he accepted the office of regimental quartermaster and at once 
proceeded to Columbus, where he obtained the complete equipments of the 
regiment for field duty. Mr. Haly's service with the regiment continued for 
something over a year, when failing health^compelled his resignation and re- 
turn home. He then resumed the practice of law alone for a time, but later, 
in partnership with John M. Haag and William Sheffield, under the name and 
style of Sheffield, Haly and Haag. Mr-. Haly continued in the successful prac- 
tice of the law until the year 1869, at which time he was elected to the office 
of probate judge of the county. In this capacity he served for a term of twelve 
years, and in 1881 was succeeded by David Meekison, the present incumbent. 
From that time Judge Haly has been retired from the active arduous duties of 
the profession and devotes his attention to his farming interests. 



Henry County. 151 



Justin H. Tyler. Inasmuch as the hfe, social, political and professional, 
of Mr. Tyler is made the subject of a more extended sketch elsewhere in the 
work, it will be necessary to produce here only the briefest outline of iiis ca- 
reer in connection with his profession. Mr. Tyler was born in Franklin county. 
Mass, November 15, 1815, but during his infancy his father moved to 
Oswego county, N. Y. At this place Justin received an education at the 
common schools, and also the academy, after which he taught school in 
Oswego county. In the }'ear 1839 M^- Tyler came to Circleville, O., where 
he engaged in teaching, and during the same time read law under the direc- 
tion of D. Lord Smith, esq., a practicing attorney of that place. After a 
course of study of about two years Mr. Tyler was admitted to the bar at Mt. 
Vernon, O., in the year 1841. Three years later he went to Huron county 
where he established himseif in the general practice of the law. About this 
time he visited Napoleon with a view to permanent location, but did not come 
here until 1852. In the year 1854, after a residence in this county of but 
two years, Mr. Tyler was elected prosecuting attorney of the county and was 
re-elected at the expiration of the first term. From that time to the present 
Justin H. Tyler has occupied a position of prominence and importance in the 
affairs of Henry county. In 1881 he was elected a member of the Legislature, 
representing his county in the sixty-fifth General Assembly of the State. Al- 
though now retired from active practice, and devoting his attention to private 
interests, Mr. Tyler is still frequently in attendance at court when cases of im- 
portance arise. His legal business, in the main, has been given into the hands 
of his son, Julian H. Tyler, and his partner, Michael Donnelly, both of whom 
are young and active practitioners at Napoleon. 

Sinclair M. Hague. The subject of this sketch was born at Leesville, 
O., July 6, 1834. During youth he acquired only a common school educa 
tion, but became sufficiently proficient to enable him to teach school, which he 
commenced in 1851. In the year 1855 he went to New Philadelphia, this 
State, and entered the law office of Hon. G. W. Mcllvaine as a student at law, 
and two years later, September 24, 1854, was admitted to the bar. During 
his two years of study Mr. Hague supported himself by performing clerical 
work in the public offices of the county. In April, 1858, he opened an office 
in New Philadelphia for the practice of the law and here he remained until the 
month of December, 1859, when he came to Henry county, where he has since 
resided and engaged in a successful practice, except during the first four months 
of his residence in the county, which time was employed in teaching school at 
Plorida. Mr. Hague has always enjoyed a fair share of the professional busi- 
ness in the county ; a man of quiet, unassuming manners, popular in the com- 
munity and having no desire for political preferment. He has outlived a ma- 
jority of those who constituted the Henry county bar in i860, which then con- 
sisted of Justin H. Tyler, James G. Haly, Edward Sheffield, Sanford R. Mc- 



152 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

Bane, William A. Choate, Thomas S. C. Morrison and H. H. Poe, all of whom, 
except Mr. Tyler and Judge Haly, have been dead for many years. 

Jolin M. Haag. The life of John Marion Haag is elsewhere made the sub- 
ject of a special sketch, but any reference to the bar of the county and its mag- 
istrates and practitioners, without some allusion to Judge Haag would be in- 
deed incomplete. Judge Haag was a native of Pennsylvania, born at Mifflins- 
burg, Union county, on the i6th day of August, 1836, but during his early 
childhood the family moved to York county, and soon thereafter to Lancaster 
county, Penn. In the last named county Mr. Haag continued to reside until 
arriving at the age of seventeen years, when he left home, crossed the moun- 
tains and entered the office of the Free Press at Millersburg, O., where he 
learned the printer's trade, but subsequently took a position on the editorial 
staff of that paper. After about a year he went to Nevv Philadelphia, Tuscar- 
awas county, whither his parents had removed, and here his time was passed 
in the office of the Ohio Democrat and in part in reading law in the office of 
Belden & Haag. Other than this he received legal instruction from Judge 
Mcllvaine, late justice of the Supreme Court of the State. 

In 1859, Mr. Haag was admitted to the bar and commenced practice at 
Canal Dover, Tuscarawas County. Three years later, 1862, he came to Na- 
poleon and formed a law partnership with S. R. McBane, under the name of 
McBane & Haag. This partnership continued until 1863, when the senior 
partner died, after which he became a member of the law firm of Sheffield, 
Haly & Haag, but which firm was soon thereafter dissolved by Mr. Sheffield's 
accepting a government appointment. Mr. Haag then purchased and edited 
the NortJnvest, a leading Democratic newspaper of this section of the State. 
In the fall of the same year, 1864, Mr. Haag was elected probate judge of 
Henry County, after which he retired from active law practice and gave his 
attention to his judicial duties, still retaining, however, his editorial connection 
with the NortJiivcst. In 1866 he was re-elected for another term of office as 
probate judge. At the expiration of his second term he sold his interest in 
the paper and resumed the practice of the law in partnership with I. L. Rob- 
ertson. 

In the fall of 1 87 1 Judge Haag was elected to the State Legislature, and 
at the expiration of his first term, was re-elected for a second term. Dur- 
ing his second term in the Legislature, Judge Haag was made chairman 
of the judiciary committee. Returning from the Legislature, he has since de- 
voted himself to professional work, engaging no further in political life than 
naturally became a man of his prominence and experience. In 1880 he 
formed a law partnership with James P. Ragan, a young and rising lawyer of 
the county. This relation has since continued and the firm is now looked up- 
on as one of the leading law firms of Henry county. 

David Meekison. The subject of this sketch was born in Dundee, Scotland, 



Henry County. 



•53 



on the 14th day of November, 1849. When David was but five years old his 
parents came to this country and located in the Genessee Valley, in New York 
State. Here the faniil)- resided until 1853, when the father, attracted by the 
offer of cheap lands in the Maumee Valley, came to this place, and two years 
later, brought his family here. Young Meekison attended the common school 
at Napoleon for a time, and in 1865 entered the office of the Nortln^'cst, a news- 
paper published by Judge Haag, where he remained about one year, learning 
the printer's trade. He was then away from Napoleon for four years, three years 
of which he served in the regular army of the United States, two years at De- 
troit and one \-ear in the South, after which he returned home. In 1 871 he 
entered the office of Justin H. Tyler, esq., for a course of law study, and after 
two }'ears was admitted to the bar. He then engaged in practice as a partner 
with Mr. Tyler, which relation was continued about a year, when Mr. Meeki- 
son received an appointment from Judge Latty, as prosecuting attorney of the 
county, in order to fill a vacancy in that office. At the next election Mr. 
INIeekison was elected to the same position, and at the expiration of his first 
term was re-elected for a second, serving in all, in that capacity, five years. 
After the expiration of his second term as public prosecutor of the county, Mr. 
Meekison resumed practice, and so continued until the year 1881, when he 
was elected to the office of probate judge of Henry county, and, at the expi- 
ration of his first term, was re-elected for another. Judge Meekison is known 
as a careful, shrewd lawyer, having a good understanding of the law, and 
strong before the court and jury. In 1886 Judge .Meekison established a 
banking house in Napoleon, in which he is doing a safe and successful business. 
His time is now divided between the duties of his office as probate judge, and 
his banking business, the regular law practice having been allowed to decline. 

Martin Kniipp was born at Tiffin, Seneca county, Ohio, August 4, 1841. 
He received a common school education, and afterward attended Heidelburg 
College at Tiffin for about two years, but did not graduate from that institution. 
He read law in the office of Judge James Pillars, of Tiffin, and, after two years, 
was admitted to the bar at Bryan, in September, 1863. From that time until 
1867 he practiced at Tiffin, and then went to Ottawa, Putnam county, where 
he remained in practice until 1876, when he came to Deshler, this county, but 
two years later, 1878, he came to the county seat, having been elected to the 
office of prosecuting attorney of the county. This office Mr. Knupp held two 
terms, commencing in January, 1879, and continuing four years. In August, 
1884, the law partnership of Stephenson & Knupp was formed. 

Walter Stephenson, the senior member of the law firm of Stephenson & 
Knupp, was born near Greenville, Darke county, O., on the 19th day of No- 
vember, 1843. Up to the age of about eighteen years he lived on a farm, 
receiving in the mean time a common school education. Then for three years 
he attended Wittenburg College, but did not graduate therefrom. In the 
20 



154 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

summer of 1864 Mr. Stephenson enlisted in Company D, One Hundred and 
Fifty-second Ohio Volunteer Infantry, for the four months service, holding a 
commission as second lieutenant. At the expiration of his term of enlistment 
Mr. Stephenson returned to Ohio and engaged in teaching school, and reading 
law at Greenville with Judge McKenry, and was so employed until the latter 
part of the year 1868, when he entered the University of Michigan, at Ann 
Arbor, and from which he was graduated in March, 1870. In May following 
he came to Napoleon and opened an office for the general practice of the law. 
During the fall of the same year he formed a law partnership with S. M. Hague, 
esq., which firm relation continued until 1874, and then ceased. For ten 
years following Mr. Stephenson practiced without a partner, but, in 1884, the 
present firm of Stephenson & Knupp was formed, which firm has ever since 
ranked among the leaders at the Henry county bar. 

Richard Udl/are CaJiill, the present prosecuting attorney of Henry county, 
was born at De Kalb, Crawford county, this State, on the 22d day of April, 
1853. He was educated at Wittenburg College, and graduated therefrom after 
a regular four years course of study, on the 28th day of June, 1878. Prior to 
his collegiate course Mr. Cahill had taken a preparatory course of study at the 
University at Wooster. After graduating from college he read law one year in 
the office of Griffin & Williamson, at Norwalk, and came to Napoleon in No- 
vember, 1879. After another year of study at the latter place, in the office 
of S. M. Hague, esq., he was admitted to practice October 8, 1880. In 1881 
the law partnership of Haly & Cahill was formed, and so continued until Jan- 
uary I, 1883, at which time Mr. Cahill retired to assume the duties of the office 
of prosecuting attorney of the county, a position he has since held. 

James Patrick Ragan, the junior member of the law firm of Haag & Ra- 
gan, was born at Gilead (now Grand Rapids), Wood county, O., on the 17th 
of March, 1852. When James was but three years old his father's family 
moved to Damascus township, in this county. Young Ragan attended the 
school at Grand Rapids, taking an academic course, and was graduated in the 
year 1871. Prior to this time of graduating he began teaching school, and 
taught in all twenty-one terms. For one year he was principal of the White- 
house school, and for the same length of time filled the same position in the 
school at Milton Center. In May, 1875, Mr. Ragan commenced a course 
of law study in the office of Justin H. Tyler,"esq., of Napoleon, and was admit- 
ted to practice in March, 1879. The law partnership of Haag & Ragan was 
formed in March, 1880, and has since continued. 

James Donovan, the clerk of the courts of Henry county, was born in the 
township of Washington, this county, on the 8th day of July, 1855. At the 
age of eighteen he commenced teaching school in Washington township, and 
afterward continued his pedagogical course at the Texas and Colton schools. 
He was educated at Lebanon, O,, where he pursued an academic course of 



Henry County. 155 



study for four \'ears. In 1877 Mr. Donovan commenced a course of law study 
in the office of J. H. T}ler, esq., and in October, 1880, was admitted to prac- 
tice. For the year next following he practiced in Laclede county, Mo., but 
returned to this county in 1881. In 1882 he was elected justice of the peace, 
serving in that capacity two and one-half years. In February, 1885, his term 
of office as clerk of the courts commenced, he hax'ing been elected t<^ that 
position during the fall of 1884, 

John 1\ Citjf. The subject of this sketch was born in Fulton county, O., 
August 25, 185 I. He received an education at the district and high schools, 
after which, at the age of sixteen }'ears, he entered the profession of teacher, 
and taught his first term in Hillsdale county, Mich. He was a successful 
teacher for sixteen years, after which he was admitted to the bar. During the 
last few years he has figured prominently in politics ; was defeated as a candi- 
date for county auditor of Fulton county in 1880, and during the same year 
removed with his family to Henry county, locating at Liberty Center, where 
he has since resided. In 1883 he was elected to the House of Representatives 
of Ohio, and re-elected in 1885. 

Michael Donnelly was born in Washington township, this county, on the 
1 8th day of August, 1856. He was educated at the common schools of the 
county, after which he took a scientific course of study at the Normal School at 
Lebanon, O., from which institution he was graduated in 1878. In the month 
of August, following, he commenced a course of law study, under the instruc- 
tion and direction of Justin H. Tyler, esq., and was admitted to practice in the 
month of December, 1880. He remained in Mr. Tyler's office until the fol- 
lowing spring, when, in April, a partnership was formed with his late instructor, 
which continued up to November, 1886, at which time Mr. Tyler retired, yield- 
ing his practice to his son, then recently admitted. The firm thereupon became 
Donnelly & Tyler, and has so since continued. 

Williavi \V. Campbell \\7i% born in Windsor county, \'t., April 2, 1853. 
He received a good common school education in his native county, and after- 
wards entered Goddard Seminary, a preparatory school, at Barre, Vt. From 
here he entered Tufift's College, at Bedford, Mass., in 1874, but left during his 
senior year. He then read law and was admitted to the bar in Massachu.setts, 
in 1879. In the year 1881 Mr. Campbell came to Napoleon and commenced 
practice, and, two years later, 1883, formed a law partnership with Hiram \'an 
Campen, which firm still exists. In connection with their general law practice, 
this firm have established an abstract office. 

Hiram Wrii Campen, the junior partner of the law firm of Campbell & 
Van Campen, was a native of Massachusetts, born at New Bedford, on the loth 
day of February, 1859. Having received a common school education, and 
taking a preparatory course, he entered Tufft's College, from which he was 
graduated in 1880. He then came to Findlay, O., where he remained two 



156 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

years, teaching and reading law with Colonel Bope and Henry Brown, after 
which he went to Toledo and read about one year with Haines & Potter. He 
was admitted to the bar in October, 1882, but continued some months after- 
ward in the office of his instructors. Mr. Van Campen came to Napoleon in 
July, 1883, and formed a law partnership with William W. Campbell, under 
the firm name of Campbell & Van Campen. 

Julian H. Tyler, the junior member of the law firm of Donnelly & Tyler, 
and the youngest member of the legal fraternity of Henry county, was born at 
Napoleon, January 2, 1862. He was educated at the Union school, of this 
place, after which he entered the University of Michigan, at Ann Arbor, for a 
regular classical course, and from which institution he was graduated in 1874. 
He read law, for a time, in the office of his father, Hon. Justin H. Tyler, at 
Napoleon, and later, with John N. Jewett, of Chicago, 111., at which city he 
was admitted to the bar in March, 1886. He then returned to Ohio and was 
admitted to practice in this State, after an examination at Columbus, in Octo- 
ber, 1886. Returning to Napoleon he formed a law partnership in November, 
1886, with Michael Donnelly, succeeding to the practice of his father, Justin H. 
Tyler. 

Earnest N. Warden was born February 9, 1859. He graduated from Ober- 
lin in 1880, and read law with Albert Lawrence, of Cleveland. He was ad- 
mitted to the bar in May, 1883, and after a brief time in practice at Norvvalk, 
O., came to Deshler, this county, where he is now established. 

There are a few other attorneys in practice in the county, of whom no 
sketch has been obtained, although requested of them. Of these James M. 
Patterson is at Deshler, in Bartlow township, while the other, E. L. Hartman, 
practices at Holgate, in Pleasant township. 



CHAPTER XIV. 
THE HENRY COUNTY PRESS. 

EDUCATION is the great civilizer, and printing is the greatest auxiliary. 
, Were it not for the aid furnished by the press the great mass of the peo- 
ple would still be groping in the darkness of the middle ages, and knowledge 
would still remain confined within the limits of the cloister. 

It is surprising, when searching our libraries, to discover how little has 
been written of the "Art preservative of all Arts," and the educator of all edu- 
cators. While printing has been the chronicler of all arts, professions and 
learning, it has recorded so little of its own history and progress as to leave 



Henry County. 157 



even the ston- of its first invention and application wrapped in m\'stery and 
doubt. We only know that from tlie old Ramas^e press which Faust and 
FrankHn used, capable of producing a hundred impressions per hour, we have 
now the ponderous machine which turns out one thousand copies per minute. 

In glancing over the pages of history, we discover the gradual develop- 
ments in the arts and sciences. We notice that they go hand in hand — one 
discovery points to another, one improvement in the arts leads to others con- 
tinual]}', and the results of the last few centuries show that observations of no 
apparent use lead to the most important discoveries and developments. The 
falling of an apple led Newton to unfold the theory of gravitation and its rela- 
tions to the solar system ; the discovery of the polarity of the loadstone lead 
to the construction of the mariner's compass; the observation of the muscular 
contraction of a frog lead to the numerous applications of galvanic electricity ; 
the observation of the expansive force of steam lead to the construction and 
application of the steam engine ; the observation of the influence of light on 
the chloride of silver lead to the art of photograph)- ; the observations of the 
communication of sound by the connected rails of a railroad lead to the inven- 
tion of the telephone ; the impressions taken from letters cut in the smooth 
bark of the beech tree lead to the art of printing — the art which transmits to 
posterity a record of all which is valuable to the world. 

Thus is progress discernible in every successive generation of man. Grad- 
ually has he advanced from a state of rude barbarism and total ignorance to a 
degree of perfection which gives him almost absolute dominion over all el- 
ements, and in the pride of glorious and enlightened manhood he can exclaim 
with Cowper : 

" I am monarch of all I survey, 

My right there is none to dispute ; 
From the center all round to the sea 
I am lord of the fowl and the brute !" 

So long as mind shall occupy its seat, so long will progress be the watch- 
word of man, and onward and upward will be his march to an endless and lim- 
itless ascent — where all the hidden and occult secrets of creation will unfold 
their mysteries to his comprehension and crown him master of them all. 

The printing office has well been called the " Poor Boy's College," and has 
proven a better school to many; has graduated more intellect and turned it 
into useful, practical channels; awakened more active, devoted thought, than 
any ahna niatcr on the earth. Many a dunce has passed through the univer- 
sities with no tangible proof of fitness other than his insensible piece of parch- 
ment — himself more sheepish, if possible, than his "sheep-skin." There is 
something in the very atmosphere of a printing office calculated to awaken the 
mind to activity and inspire a thirst for knowledge. Franklin, Stanhope, Ber- 
anger, Thiers, Greeley, Taylor, and a host of other names illustrious in the 
world of letters and science have been gems in the diadem of typography and 
owe their success to the influence of a printing office. 



158 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

The newspaper has become one of the chief indexes of the intelHgence, civ- 
ihzation and progress of the community in which it is pubHshed, and its files 
are the foot-prints of the advancement and refinement of the period of its 
pubUcation ; and the printing office is now deemed as essential as the school- 
house or church. It has taken the place of the rostrum and the professor's 
chair, and become the great teacher. No party, organization, enterprise or 
calling is considered perfect without its "organ" — the newspaper — as a 
mouth piece. 

Tradition, we have no record, says that in 1845 there was a sickly paper. 
Whig in politics, printed in Napoleon by one Martin Shrenk. It was about 
the size of the Newsletter, the first paper printed in America, /. e., the size of a 
sheet of letter paper. It was named The Journal, and died "a bornin'." 

On the 8th day of September, 1852, the newspaper, in fact, uttered its natal 
cry in Henry county. It was born in Napoleon and was christened the North- 
%vest. It entered life with "high hopes for a low heaven," praying God to 
"grant it patience." Alpheas M. Hollabaugh was the venturesome knight 
who acknowledged its paternity and assumed its support. It was an unassum- 
ing folio of five columns, and as a visible means of support contained less than 
one column of advertisements and a circulation resembling the shadows in the 
gloamings. Sickly as the infant was, it grew in strength, and the first volume 
was enlarged to a six column folio. It remained under the parental control of 
Mr. Hollabaugh until April 19, 1854, when he disposed of his offspring to 
Thomas S. C Morrison, who saluted its readers on the 26th day of the same 
month, with an increased circulation and nine columns of advertising patronage. 

Mr. Morrison continued in the editorial management and ownership of the 
paper until his death, which occurred on the 31st day of March, 1864. After 
the death of Mr. Morrison the publication of the paper and its editorial man- 
agement was conducted by John M. Haag until the 4th of May of the same 
year, when a temporary suspension was had. On the 28th of the same month 
the office was sold at administrator's sale, and purchased by Mr. Haag, who 
resumed the publication of the paper on the i6th day of June, 1864, and on 
the 24th of August, 1865, enlarged it to a seven column folio. 

On November 16. 1865, the business management passed into the hands 
of Messrs. Adams and Pomeroy, Mr. Haag remaining in editorial control. Mr. 
Adams retired December 28, 1865, when a co-partnership was formed between 
John M. Haag and Samuel Pomeroy, under the firm name of Haag & Pome- 
roy, by whom the paper was published until the 26th day of July, 1866, when 
Rensselaer Hudson, who purchased the interest of Mr. Pomeroy, associated him- 
self with Mr. Haag, and the publication was continued byJHaag & Hudson until 
May 16, 1867, at which time Mr. Hudson retired and Mr. Haag again became 
the sole proprietor and editor, and so continued until March 25, 1869, when 
he was succeeded by E. W. Trift. On the 22d of April, 1869, the paper passed 



Henry County. 159 



into the h.inds of Coughliii & Hubbard, tlic latter, William H., became the 
editor. On the 8th of Ma\' of that }-ear the paper was enlari;ed and converted 
into a fi\-c column quarto. June i, 1871, the paper was again enlarged and 
became a six column quarto, and so remained and was so conducted until the 
death of Mr. Hubbard, which occurred May 11, 1872. 

After the death of Mr. Hubbard the paper passed into the management of 
Thomas Coughlin, who had been associated with Mr. Hubbard, and his brother 
Michael, by whom it was conducted until the 5th of December, 1872, when 
the ofiice was sold to Messrs. Orwig & W'isler. Mr. Wisler retired in 1875, at 
which time the senior partner, Luther L. Orwig, became sole editor and pro- 
prietor and so remains. 

The iV^^r/Z/ttr^/ has well earned its present position — one of the leading 
country journals in the State, and an accredited mouthpiece of its party. It 
has had its trials and tribulations and passed through all the vicissitudes of 
childhood and manhood. It has had measles, whooping cough and the scarlet 
fe\'er. On March 25, 1859, it first passed through that destructive element to 
which sinners are finally consigned, and on the morning of the next day every- 
thing consumable was found converted into ashes. The metal of the old Smith 
press, upon which the paper was printed, was picked up and drayed to the 
foundry, where it was cast into a cannon and became a campaign and Fourth of 
July thunderer. After having killed and mutilated five or six men, it exploded 
at a political meeting held at Chroninger's school- house, in Liberty township, 
in the fall of 1872, fortunately causing no serious injury. The office was again 
destro}-ed by the fire of 1869, and a complete new outfit was required. These 
fiery ordeals proved a benefit to the office, and it always came forth much im- 
proved. Mr. Haag introduced the first "jobber " — a small " Alligator" press, 
and soon followed with a full sized " Gordon." 

After the fire of 1869 Messrs. Coughlin & Hubbard brought on a Potter 
c) linder and much improved the office, both for news and job printing. But 
to Mr. Orwig is due the credit of planting in Napoleon one of the best appointed 
printing offices in the State. He has added steam power and stereotyping, and 
is prepared to compete in fine job work with any office outside of the big cities. 

Evanescent Papers. — The Democratic party being in the majority in the 
county, it was difficult for the opposition, with the sparse population, to main- 
tain a paper; it, however, had the pluck to make eftbrt after effort until it finally 
succeeded. The Star was started as a Whig paper, in 1854, and was published 
by George Weimer. It glimmered for a year or so when it disappeared from 
the firmament. 

In 1865 one L. H. Bigelow, then a druggist in Napoleon, started a Repub- 
lican paper called the Rcpnbliean. It was printed in Toledo and had an exist- 
ence of only a few months, being in fact nothing but a campaign paper. It 
was not until the loth of September, 1865, that a Republican organ was estab- 



i6o History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

lished. At that date the pubHcation of the Signal was commenced by George 
W. Redway. It was a seven column quarto and started out with about 650 
subscribers. After pubHshing it eight weeks Mr. Redway sold the office to J. 
S. Fouke and D. B. Ainger, who continued its publication with varying suc- 
cess until January, 1870, when J. S. Fouke sold his interest to D. B. Ainger, 
who became sole proprietor and editor. In 1872 Mr. Ainger enlarged the pa- 
per to nine columns, and its circulation ran up to about 900 copies. About 
October i, 1873, Mr. Fouke, who had been foreman of the office for the two 
previous years, bought the office of Mr. Ainger, paying him $3,500 for the 
same. Mr. Fouke continued its publication for eleven years, when he sold 
the concern to H. M. Wisler, who published it sixteen months, when he resold 
it to Mr. Fouke. The latter retained the office only seven months, when he 
sold it to J. P. Belknap, its present proprietor. It cost Mr. Redway about 
$1,500 for the material and expenses in establishing the Signal. 

Mr. Fouke assisted Mr. Redway in getting out the two first numbers of the 
Signal and of the twenty- two years of its existence he was connected with it 
as editor and proprietor sixteen years and about two years as foreman. Mr. 
Redway is now, and for a number of years has been, a department clerk in 
Washington. Mr. Ainger is at present editor and proprieter of the Charlotte 
(Mich.) Republican, and is also adjutant-general of Michigan. Mr. Wisler 
has removed to Kansas, and Mr. Fouke still remains in Napoleon. The Signal 
office is, with the possible exception of the Northzvest, as well equipped as any 
in the county. The columns of the paper contain the latest local and general 
news, while its editorial department faithfully and ably guards the interests of 
the Republican party in the county, the organ of which party the paper is, and 
for many years has been. The Signal is established on a safe paying basis, 
and is considered as one of the leading papers of the northwestern territory of 
the State. 

The Deshler Flag. The initial number of the Flag made its appearance 
in October, 1876, under the proprietorship of J. P. Lockhart. After about six 
months the office and paper were sold to W. H. Mitchell. The latter contin- 
ned its publication and sole editorial management until the month of June, 
1885, when it passed into the hands of George W. Wilkinson, by whom it was 
conducted about one year, when he retired and bought the Weekly Beacon, of 
North Baltimore, of which paper he is still editor and proprietor. L. S. Smith 
next succeeded to the proprietorship of the Flag and remained one year, after 
which he accepted a position on the Canton Advance, a paper published in the 
interest of the Prohibition party. 

In June, 1887, M. G. Marron, of Wood county, leased the paper, changed 
its tone from neutrality to independence, and still fills its editorial chair. The 
Flag is a five-column quarto, enjoys a liberal advertising patronage and fair 
circulation. During the eleven years of its existence it has been a five, six 



Henry County. i6i 



and seven column folio and a five, six and seven column quarto. From the 
Fl(7g office, which is remarkably well equipped, several papers have been 
started, notably the Wood county Herald, the llicksvillc Independent, the 
Payne Star, the Tiffin Daily Courier and others. The last two are not now 
in existence. 

T/ie Ho/gate Times. This is the name of a five-column quarto with patent 
sides, published in the incorporated village of Holgate, at the crossing of the 
Baltimore and Ohio railroad with the "Clover Leaf" route, in the township of 
Pleasant. The paper was established in i88i by William J. Johnson, and pub- 
lished by him for about three years, when it was purchased by William Kauf- 
man and William E. Decker and by them published about six months, when 
Mr. Decker became the sole proprietor and editor. He still continues .so. 
The 7>';«t'j has a circulation of about five hundred and enjoys a healthy adver- 
tising patronage. 

TJie Liberty Press is a six column folio, published at Liberty Center, in 
Liberty township. It was established and its publication commenced by Rev. 
J. L. Bushbridge, Nov. 17, 1881. It was by him sold August 31, 1882, and 
passing into the hands of N. W. Emery, who, in May, 1886, was succeeded by 
J. H. Russell. A few numbers were issued by Mr. Russell under the name of 
" TrissottJi." The paper was then suspended for several weeks, when its pub- 
lication was resumed by J. H. Smith and D. S. Mires, under the firm name of 
Smith & Mires, and restored to its maiden name of Liberty Press, and is still 
published by them. It is neutral in politics and religion. 

The German Press. The first German paper published in the county was 
the Demoeratischer Wegzveiser. It was established by J. M. Haag, then of the 
Northwest,'\w 1867, was a six column folio. Democratic in politics, and was edited 
by Dr. John M. Evers. Its publication was continued about one year, when 
Mr. Evers purchased the office and removed it to Toledo. 

Der Henry County Demokrat was started June 26, 1885, by C. W. Bente & 
Co. (M. R. Voll & F. Howe, of Wauseon), C. W. Bente, editor. About Oc- 
tober I Henry Holterman bought out the compan}^ and printed the inside in 
Napoleon, which had previously been printed in Wauseon altogether. The 
circulation at that time was about 450, and did not increase much until May 
14, when Mr. Holterman also bought out C. W. Bente and engaged C. F. 
Clement as editor. From this time on Mr. Holterman, who had formerly been 
treasurer of the county, also gave more attention to the paper and it com- 
menced to boom. On June 24, 1886, Mr. Holterman also bought out the 
Fulton and Williams county Gazette, consolidating the three papers, there- 
by adding greatly to the already large circulation. On Jan. i, 1887, C. F. 
Clement bought one-half interest. 



1 62 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 



CHAPTER XV. 

THE MEDICAL PKOFESSION. 

IT is a common remark that Henry county possesses as strong an array of 
medical practitioners, as any of the northwestern counties of the State, that 
holds no greater population than does this county. This, it is said, has charac- 
terized the county for many years. And it seems, too, that there has been 
a noticeable freedom from that branch of the profession that infests nearly 
every community, pretending and assuming a knowledge of the healing 
art, without possessing a single honest qualification therefor. This class in 
Henry county is noticeable for its absence. There seems to have been a com- 
mendable desire on the part of each of the past and present physicians of the 
county, to fit themselves at the best and most thorough medical institutions of 
the country, and in looking over the brief sketches of practitioners of the county, 
in this chapter, it will be found that nearly every one of them has taken a 
■course of medical study at some well-established college for the instruction of 
physicians and surgeons. 

Of the pioneer physicians of the county, there is but a single record, the 
duplicate for the year 1837, the only valuable document that was saved from 
the disastrous fire of 1847, by which the court-house was entirely destroyed. 
It is found that, in that year, the practicing physicians of the county were 
William D. Barry, Harris Howey, Lorenzo L. Patrick and Jonathan F. Evans; 
at least, they were the only persons at that time assessed as physicians. 

Dr. William D. Barry was, undoubtedly, the first and pioneer physician in 
the vicinity of Napoleon, and he is well remembered by the old residents. Af- 
ter having practiced medicine for a time he engaged in the legal profession, and 
became quite a personage in the community, holding various positions of trust. 
He left here many years ago and went to Illinois, where, it is understood, he 
still lives. 

Dr. Harris Howey came to this locality from the State of New York, and 
was in practice for some years. While a resident of Napoleon, he married a 
daughter of General Leonard. In later years he emigrated west. Dr. Gibbs 
came to the place at an early day, and remained here until the time of his 
death. 

The name of Dr. Lorenzo L. Patrick, recalls one of the early families of the 
Maumee Valley. He was practicing here as early as 1836, and continued for 
many years after. He was prominent in all of the affairs of the town and 
county, and did much toward building up and improving the county seat. He 
was one of the leading spirits in the movement looking to the incorporation of 
Napoleon, and acted as the agent of the petitioners for that purpose in the 
year 1853. 



Henry Coixtv. 163 



Dr. Jonathan F. Evan?, who is also mentioned in the old duplicate of 1837, 
resided in Richland township, one of three townships that were set off to the 
erection of Defiance county, and by that act he thenceforth became a resident 
of the newly created count}-. He had a large practice in the county, and be- 
came extensively acquainted, frequently being called to the county scat in line 
of professional duty. At one time he held the office of county commissioner 
of Henry count}'. 

Dr. Bamber came to Napoleon about, or soon after, the }'car 1840. He is 
remembered as a good physician, and enjoyed a considerable practice, althouj^h 
he left and went to New York State. 

Among the other physicians, more recent comers to the county, some of 
whom are still living here, although not now actively engaged in practice, ma}'- 
be mentioned the names of Dr. D. M. McCann, Dr. Asa H. Tyler, Dr. O. H. 
T}-ler, Dr. Henry McHenry, Dr. Gibbons Parry, and perhaps others whose 
names have been forgotten. Dr. Asa H. Tyler still lives in the county, on a 
farm not far from Napoleon. Dr. Gibbons Parry resides in I-'lat Rock town- 
ship, not far from the village of Florida. 

Present Physicians of the County. — As a matter of course there are more 
physicians residing at the county seat than in any other of the county's vil- 
lages. At Napoleon there are at the present time nine persons engaged in the 
practice of medicine and surgery, while the village contains a population of 
less than four thousand souls. Those so engaged are Drs. Eugene B. Harri- 
son, John M. Shoemaker, Hazael B. Powell, John Bloomfield, Alfred E. H. 
Maerker, James Haly, Morrison J. Marvin, Thomas C. Hunter and Mrs. Hulda 
H. Sheffield. 

Eugene B. Harrison was born at Dover, England, on the 21st da}' of Ma}-, 
1831. When he was less than a }'ear old his parents emigrated to America. 
Eugene read medicine w-ith his father, who was a physician of Licking county, 
this State, and subsequently with Dr. M. McCann, then a resident of Martins- 
burg, Knox county, this State. Dr. Harrison took a course of medical lectures 
and study at the Ohio Medical College, at Cincinnati, and conmienced practice 
about the year 1853. In 1855 ^^^ came to Napoleon, where he has since 
resided, and been engaged actively in professional duty, except for a brief 
period of time spent in the west. In addition to his lecture course at Cincin- 
nati, Dr. Harrison attended the Jefferson Medical College at Philadelphia, Pa., 
from which he was graduated in 1857. He is a member of the American Medi- 
cal Society, the Ohio State Medical Society, the Northwestern Ohio Mctlical 
Society, and the local Medical Society of Henry county. 

John M. Shoemaker was born in Columbiana county, ()., February ii, 
1834. He read medicine in the office of Dr. R. J. Hagerty, of Mount Blanch- 
ard, O., and attended the medical department of the University of Michigan, 
at Ann Arbor, from which he was graduated in the year 1859. He practiced 



164 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

for a short time at Mount Blanchard and at Van Buren, O., and came to Na- 
poleon in 1 86 1. In 1S64 he entered the army as assistant-surgeon of the 
Seventy-first Infantry, but was detailed as acting surgeon of the First Illinois 
Light Artillery, which latter position he resigned in March, 1865. He then 
returned to Napoleon and resumed the practice of his profession. Dr. Shoe- 
maker is a member of the American Medical Association, the Ohio State Medi- 
cal Society, the Northwestern Ohio Medical Society, the Toledo Medical Soci- 
ety, and was formerly a member of the Indiana Medical Society, and the 
Northeastern Medical Society, both of the State of Indiana. ' In the year 1863 
Dr. Shoemaker was appointed, and has since held the position of examining 
surgeon for pensions. 

Hazael Benjamin Powell w^as born in Napoleon on the 24th day of Feb- 
ruary, 1837. He read medicine under the instruction of Dr. Henry McHenry, 
for about five years, devoting such time thereto as could be spared from his 
duties as clerk in his father's store. He attended the medical department of 
the University of Michigan during the winters of the years 1857 and 1858. 
He afterward attended the Jefferson Medical College, at Philadelphia, and was 
graduated from that institution in the spring of 1861. He then commenced 
practice at Napoleon in partnership with Dr. McHenry, and so continued until 
August, 1861, when he enlisted as private in Company B, Thirty-eighth In- 
fantry. The knowledge of his professional ability coming to the commanding 
officers, he was detailed to surgical duty in the hospitals at various places. He 
became a veteran at the expiration of his enlistment term, and was subse- 
quently advanced to the rank of surgeon-in-chief of the Third Brigade, Third 
Division, Fourteenth Army Corps. At the close of the war he was mustered 
out of service and returned to his practice at Napoleon, where he has since con- 
tinued. 

John Bloomfield was born at Akron, O., January i, 1842. At the age 
age of sixteen years he came to Damascus, in this county, where he engaged 
as clerk in a store. In November, 1861, he enlisted in Company D, Sixty- 
eighth Volunteer Infantry, and served with that regiment throughout the war. 
On returning to this county he purchased a farm in Harrison township where 
he resided until the fall of 1873, when he removed to Napoleon. The next 
year he commenced the study of medicine in the office of Dr. Hazael B. Powell, 
and continued for a period of three and one- half years. He attended the Med- 
ical College of Ohio, at Cincinnati, and was graduated therefrom in the spring 
of 1879, since which time he has been engaged in practice at Napoleon. 

James Ha!y was born at Napoleon on the 25th day of July, 185 I. He 
commenced the study of medicine in the office of Dr. E. B. Harrison, and 
afterward attended lectures at the University of Michigan, and also, at the 
Jefferson Medical College at Philadelphia, Pa., graduating from the latter in- 
stitution in the spring of 1 862. From that until the present time Dr. Haly has 
been a resident practitioner at Napoleon. 



Henry Count v. 165 



Alfred E. H. Maeiker was born at Posen, Germany, on the 25th day of 
May, 1857. At the age of fifteen years he came to this country, locating at 
Niles, Mich., but remained there only two years when he came to Napo- 
leon. He read medicine with Dr. E. B. Harrison, and afterward took a med- 
ical college course at Cleveland, O., graduating in 1882. From that date 
until the present he has practiced at Napoleon. 

Morrison J. Marvin, was a native of Ohio, born in Hancock county on 
August 4, 1844. His early life was spent on a farm. In 1862 he enlisted in 
Company E, Tenth Ohio Cavalry, and served two years, when he was wounded 
and placed in a hospital, and remained there until discharged from the service. 
He read medicine at Findlay, O., and attended the Cleveland Medical Col- 
lege, from which he was graduated in 1870. 

Hulda Harrington Sheffield, widow of the late William Sheffield, and the 
only acti\'e resident practitioner in the field of homeopathy, was born in Erie 
count)', O., and began the study of medicine with Dr. Allen, of Defiance, 
some thirty years ago, not then, however, with an intention of practicing that 
branch of the profession. She subsequently continued her studies with Dr. 
Thomas C. Hunter, of Napoleon, after which she attended the Homeopathic 
Medical College at Cleveland, and was graduated therefrom in the spring of 
1877. Since then Mrs. Sheffield has resided at Napoleon and practiced through- 
out the county. 

Of the physicians of the county, outside the county seat, very little infor- 
mation is at hand, although each has been requested to furnish data, and ample 
time granted therefor. Of such as have answered the request a record will be 
found in these pages, but those who have not responded must content them- 
selves with a mention of their names and location of residence. 

The village of Holgate, in Pleasant township, has four resident physicians : 
Dr. J. Townsend, Dr. J. M. Stout, Dr. J. C. Becker and Dr. J. D. Archer. 

Dr. Townsend was born in Cattaraugus county, N. Y., August 25, 1833, 
and emigrated to Ohio with his parents in 1844. He commenced the practice 
of medicine at Freeport, Wood county, in 1855, but moved to Maysville, Ind., 
in 1856. Ten years later he returned to Ohio and located at Edgerton, in 
Williams county, where he practiced until 1874, when he came to Holgate, this 
count}'. 

J. Dall Archer was born October 30, 1858, in Wood county. He read 
medicine with Dr. W. F. Thomas, of North Baltimore, for three years, when 
he entered the Starling Medical College. After receiving the first degree he 
went to Dundee, Mich., for practice, and remained there until the year 1885, 
when he came to Holgate. 

The prosperous village of Dcshler, Bartlow township, has three resident 
physicians: Dr. T. M. Garrett, Dr. J. C. Donaway, and Dr. Slaughter. 

Hamler, in the south part of the county, has two physicians, Dr. Elmer 
Cowdrick, and Dr. C. M. Townsend. 



1 66 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

Liberty Center, the central and trading point of Liberty township, has three- 
resident members of the medical profession : Dr. E. T. Martin, Dr. D. E. Haag, 
and Dr. Viers. 

Daniel E. Haag, the twin brother to Hon. John M. Haag, of Napoleon,, 
was born in Pennsylvania. He read medicine with Dr. Bull, of New Phila- 
delphia, O. He first practiced in partnership with Prof. Pomeroy, and after- 
ward moved to Mt. Eaton. He came to Henry county in the spring of 1863, 
practicing for a time at Texas, but soon found a better field for professional 
labor at Liberty Center. 

The enterprising village of Florida, in Flat Rock township, is the residence 
of four of the county's physicians, although all are not at present professionally 
engaged. The M.D.'s at this place are Dr. Gibbons Parry, Dr. George Parry, 
Dr. A. M. Pherson, and Dr. S. E. Miller. The last named. Dr. Miller, is a 
graduate of the Chicago Medical College. 

John W. Sharp, of McClure, was born at Simcoe, Ontario, Can., on the 
15th day of June, 1858. He graduated from the Toronto LTniversity in 1874, 
after which he entered Trinity Medical College, and was graduated therefrom 
in March, 1879. He then spent a year at the different hospitals, and located 
for practice at Ridgeville, this county, in April, 1880. In October of the same 
year he moved to McClure where he now resides. 

At other points within the county are located practicing physicians as fol- 
lows : At Malinta, Dr. E. B. Mauk; at Colton, Dr. A. J. Munn; at Ridgeville, 
Dr. Shaffer. 

The county, in former years, possessed a Medical Society, strong in point 
of numbers and productive of much good to the profession in general ; but 
owing to some cause, not susceptible of explanation, it has been allowed to 
decline and meetings are rarely held. 



CHAPTER XVL 

HISTORY OF THE INCORPORATED VILLAGE OF NAPOLEON — THE SEAT OF 
JUSTICE OF HENRY COUNTY. 

WHl'LN the commissioners, appointed by the Legislature, to fix the seat of 
justice for the county of Henry, determiined to, and by their act, did 
locate the same at the town of Napoleon, that place then had an existence, but 
hardly more. There were a few log houses scattered about that gave the place 
something of the appearance of a cross-roads settlement, with nothing to at- 
tract notice from the traveler except the natural beauty of its location. Of 



Henry County. 167 



the possibilities of a future, such reasoning was hardly indulged in before the 
county seat was fixed. Still Messrs. Phillips, Leavell & Cory, the proprietors 
of the town, may have entertained the idea of future growth, but the idea was 
but crude and undeveloped. 

According to their original plan the town was laid out, or intended to be 
laid out, some distance further down the river, and on lower ground, at a point 
that, in after years, attained the characteristic and dignified name of " Goose- 
town," but a rise of the waters of the historic Maumee flooded this district, 
making it imprudent to attempt a settlement, much less the building up of a 
town at that point ; wherefore the proprietors moved the to\\'n to the higher 
and more desirable lands it, with its enlargements, now occupies. 

The proprietors, who were Horatio G. Phillips, Benjamin Leavell and 1^1- 
nathan Cory, had a large amount of land along the river, not a solid tract lying 
in one body, but many sections at various places throughout the county, and 
even in the county west of this. They called this place " Napoleon," why, is 
a question not to be demonstrated or solved at this time. Nevertheless they 
named it so, and so it has since remained to this day, and undoubtedly will 
continue notwithstanding the fact that an effort was made some years ago to 
have it changed to represent something more American. 

Napoleon became the county seat in the year 1835, ^"<i ^""om that date its 
history has been made, although that history, perhaps, belongs to the township 
of Napoleon, from which it was separated about a score or more of years later. 

Many important events occurred, each of which contributed to build up^ 
improve and enlarge the town, and make it the neat, attractive and well-or- 
dered village that it now is. The first of these events was the location of the 
county seat ; and while this was undoubtedly the most important occurrence, 
and gave a good start to the town, it was followed soon after by the surveying 
of the Miami and Erie Canal, the letting of contracts for which, in this vicinity, 
was done in the year 1837. 

But before this time the town had a few substantial residents ; substantial 
because they were thrifty, go-ahead, energetic, industrious and honest people, 
who worked hard for the town and its welfare; and inasmuch as the names of 
most of them can be recalled, it is fitting that some recollections of them be 
noted here. They were George Stout, " Gen." Henry Leonard, John Glass, 
John Mann, Alexander Craig, John Powell, Hazel Strong, James Magill, James 
B. Steedman, and perhaps a few others whose names cannot now be recalled. 
The first log house in the town was built either by Mr. Andrews or Huston. 
Hazel Strong worked on this house, and in speaking of the event he said that 
at their "feast" (for what was a raising without a feast?) they had biscuit made 
of wheat flour and " shortened " with " coon fat." Wheat flour in those days 
was considered a luxury rarely indulged in, in fact it was a commodity seldom 
to be had. 



1 68 History of Henry and Fultox Counties. 

George Stout will be remembered as the tavern-keeper of the town, in 
whose house the first term of court was held ; and he, too, at the request of the 
county commissioners, built a log addition to his hostelry to be used for the 
purpose of a court-house. Terms of court were then great events, and their 
infrequency (two terms annually, and holding only two days), gave them ad- 
ditional importance, and were generally concluded with a genuine old-time 
country dance. Mine host Stout was quite a celebrity in the town, and gen- 
erally master of ceremonies on all great occasions. He was, withal, a good and 
worthy citizen. He raised a large family, but they have all gone from the 
town, and the name has now but few, if any, living representatives in the 
county. 

Henrv Leonard, or as he was commonly known, " General" Leonard, like 
his fellow-townsman, Stout, was a tavern-keeper, whose log house stood at the 
corner now occupied by John Higgins's store buildings, between the canal and 
the river. The town was then down near this "corners," and the extending 
toward the north was the work of after years. General Leonard was a prom- 
inent personage in early days ; a good citizen and neighbor, and whose tavern 
was a resort for all the worthies of the neighborhood. He died many years 
ago, leaving a family, but they are here no more. 

John Glass had a more pretentious home than most of his neighbors, being 
a frame structure, not large, but having sufficient room for the necessities of 
his family. He was a man of all work, a butcher, stone-mason, chimney 
builder, and in fact turned his hand to any kind of employment, and did every- 
thing well. He was one of the first county officers, having been elected treas- 
urer to succeed Israel Waite. John Glass was a good, hard-working citizen, 
and an efficient public servant. He died many years ago leaving a family, the 
descendants of v^-hom still reside in the county, and are among its highly 
respected people. 

John Mann was another of the pioneers of the town. He was a blacksmith 
and gunsmith by trade, but could turn his hand to almost any kind of repair 
work. His shop stood on the bank of the river, east of Judge Craig's tavern. 
Around this shop, nearly every day, was from a half a dozen to ten Indians 
waiting to have their guns "fixed up." It seemed as if the gun of the average 
Indian was always getting out of repair, and the services of John Mann were in 
constant demand among them. John was popular among these natives and the 
whites as well, and a very useful person in the settlement. He had a good 
military record, having served at Fort Meigs under General Harrison, and 
elsewhere during the war, but his chief occupation in the army was that of 
gunsmith. Both he and his wife died here. They were respected residents. 

Alexander Craig, or, as he was afterward titled, "Judge" Craig, came here 
during the year 1835. He built a tavern east of General Leonard's. The 
building had a frame front, with a log kitchen in the rear. It was one of the 



Henry County. 169 



more pretentious houses of the town, and on this account, and the further fact 
that its landlord was a very genial person, it became a popular resort. The 
frame part of this old pioneer building is still standing. Craig was a tailor by 
trade, but did not follow the business in this locality. He was elected sheriff 
of the county in 1837, and served four years; was afterward appointed asso- 
ciate judge of the county, and held that office seven years. From this he 
received the title of "judge," by which he was known down to the time of his 
death, a few years ago. After his service as associate judge had ceased he was 
elected recorder of the county and held the office six years. When the town 
had increased in population Judge Craig built another public house further up 
the hill, toward the court-house. By honesty, industrx- and econoni)' Judge 
Craig became possessed of a fair competency. His famil}- was not large, but. 
they were very highly respected people. 

John Powell came to the town in the year 1835, f'om Huron county, tiiis 
State. He was the merchant of the town, and had a store and dwelling oppo- 
site Judge Craig's tavern, and on the bank of the river. Mr. Powell was one 
of the most enterprising men of the town, and took a prominent part in its 
affairs, and that of the county as well. He held the office of county auditor, 
and afterward associate judge ; the latter he held seven years. In after years 
he moved out of town and on a farm, where he died about a, year ago. He 
had quite a family who grew up highly respected in the community. Dr. 
Powell, a leading physician of Napoleon, is a son of the pioneer, John Powell. 

Hazel Strong, a Vermont "Yankee," from the vicinity of Rutland, came, 
with his young wife, to this county about the year 1834. He located on a 
tract of land outside the town, about three miles east, where he cleared and 
improved a fine farm ; later he moved into town and built a residence. From 
the very first Hazel Strong occupied a position of prominence among the peo- 
ple of the county, and was soon called into its administrative department. He 
was the first auditor of the county, and afterwards was appointed clerk of the 
courts in place of J. M. Evans, resigned. The latter position he held nearly 
fifteen years. His penmanship was good, and in mathematics he was well 
versed. As a surveyor he was exceedingly well occupied, and there is no part 
of the county in which he was not, at some time, called to run lines. Every 
trust reposed in him was well executed, and he proved competent in every 
thing he undertook to accomplish. He helped build the first log-house in the 
town. Hazel Strong died a few years ago, leaving a wife, who is still living, 
although now past her eightieth year of life. 

James Magill was a brother-in-law to John Powell, and came to the town 
at or about the same time. He built a residence and lived here, although iiis 
occupation was farming. He is remembered as a man straightforward and 
honest in his business transactions, and possessing the respect of the people 
generally. He died about twenty years ago. Edward B. Magill is a son, and 
22 



I/O History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 



the widow of Colonel William A. Choate a daughter, of the late pioneer, James 
Magill. 

Every one of the older residents of the town and vicinity well remember 
James B. Steedman, better known in after years as General Steedman, who came 
here during the infant days of the county in connection with the construction 
•of the canal, in which work he was a contractor. General Steedman knew 
-everybody, and everybody knew Steedman. If once a person met him it would 
always be remembered. He was a good business man, made money and many 
friends, and had the faculty of retaining the latter, but the former invariably 
slipped away from him. He married Sarah Miranda Stiles, niece of General 
Leonard. The ceremony was performed in the parlor of Leonard's log tavern. 
While a resident of this county General Steedman was elected to the Legisla- 
tnre, the district comprising eight counties. This was in 1841. After he left 
the town the general used frequently to come back and renew his old ac- 
quaintance. Although now some years dead, his memory is still fresh in the 
minds of the people. He made an excellent war record, and an elegant mon- 
ument at Toledo keeps alive his memory and services as a citizen and soldier. 

Frederick Lord,''a " Down-easter " from the State of Maine, is another per- 
son entitled to recognition among the pioneer residents of the town and county. 
Mr. Lord was an attorney by profession, and, so being, was appointed prose- 
cuting attorney for the county in 1835, and afterward elected to the same posi- 
tion. Still later he was elected county surveyor. He was a highly educated 
person, and filled an important position among the people of the new county 
when good judgment and ability were required. After many years of resi- 
dence here, Mr. Lord went to Michigan, and is said to be still living, although 
of advanced years. 

William D. Barry came from New York State and practiced medicine for 
a time. He then studied law and was admitted to practice at the courts. He 
was subsequently chosen to fill the office of prosecuting attorney of the county, 
succeeding, in the incumbency of that office, Frederick Lord. From here Mr. 
Barry went to Illinois, and is thought to be still living. 

These, then, were they who laid the foundation in social, business, and pro- 
fessional life, for the town of Napoleon ; and of and concerning them there is 
no w^ord of criticism and no word of reproof There may have been others 
whose names are, by error, omitted. The town was then small, and had but 
few needs, but such things as were required seem to have been performed and 
done well. 

From this time, about 1837, new residents were constantly coming to the 
place, and its pioneer work, in a measure, became lost in the general progress 
of the town. From the tax duplicate for the year 1847, twelve years or there- 
abouts after the settlement commenced, the following names are taken show- 
ing land, or lot owners, but not necessarily residents. They w-ere as follows : 



Henry County. 17] 



Amos Andrews, John Amour, Bri^ham. Samuel Bowers, Benjamin 

Coffin, John Crist, James Cain, David 1. Coiy, Alexander Craig, David Cross, 
A. Daughinbaugh, I. N. Evans, David Edwards, Eorman l'>ans, Daniel Eng- 
lish, John Glasgon, John Glass, Hezekiah Hubbell, Frederick Room, Solomon 
Render, James S. Irwin, George R. Lewis, Henry Leonard, Frederick Lord, 
E. Lathrop, John Mann, McHaughey and heirs, Powell & Magill, Philips & 
Cory, Abel Rawson, R. W. Shawn, George Stout, Hazel Strong, John Taylor* 
John W'arnox. These were taxpayers on town lots. Following this list ap- 
pears others who were residents and were assessed as having chattels or ta.x- 
able professions. The)' were : Alexander Craig, three horses, two cows ; Will- 
iam Dodd, one horse ; Samuel Dawson, one horse ; John Glass, one cow ; 
James G. Haly, law practice, $200; Henry Leonard, two horses, four cows; 
E. Lathrop, law practice, $200; Jacob Mann, two cows; James Magill, seven 
cattle ; John Powell, two horses, five cattle ; Andrew Peam, three cattle ; L. 
L. Patrick, medical practice, $200; Lucy Patrick, one cow; John Rafferty, 
two cattle ; Hazel Strong, one horse, two cattle ; George Stout, one cow ; 
William Sheffield, lawyer, $200; Jacob Shott, one cow^ ; Benjamin P. Smith, 
lawyer, $200; Michael Sherman, three horses, one cow. 

Original Plat of the Toi^'ii. — It has been mentioned in this chapter that 
the proprietors of the land, or large tracts of land, Horatio G. Phillips, Ben- 
jamin Leavell and Elnathan Cory, laid out the same about the time the first 
settlements were commenced therein. This was in the year 1834, with the fol- 
lowing description, notes and references made on the original draft ; 

" Each street is five rods wide, and each alley is one rod wide; each lot is 
five rods in front, and ten rods back. Twelve feet is reserved along the streets 
in front of each lot for sidewalks. The streets intersecting the Maumee, run 
north thirty degrees west, and are crossed at right angles by streets running 
north, sixty degrees east. In the center of Main Cross street, and on the north 
line of P'ront street, and between lots numbers 24 and 25, is placed a stone 
with a cross cut upon the same, the center of which cross is precisely in the 
center of the stone aforesaid; and ten rods north, in the center of Main Cross 
street, is a second stone, with a like cross upon it. 

" In the center of Front street, and directly in the east line of Monroe street, 
is a third stone ; and also ten rods east, in the center of P^-ont street, is a fourth 
stone, both of which contain a cross, the center of which is the precise center 
of said Front street. (Signed) H. G. Phillii)s, B. Leavell, P^l'n Cory. Wit- 
nesses present, William Leonard, A. Brancher." The certificate of the sur- 
veyor in charge of the work was as follows: " I, Miller yXrrowsmith, de[)uty- 
surveyor of the county aforesaid, hereby certify the within to be a correct plat 
of the town of Napoleon, as surveyed and platted by me, at the instance of the 
proprietors, to-wit : Horatio G. Phillips, Benjamin Leavell and Elnathan Cory. 

" Given under my hand officially this lOth day of October, in the year A, 
D. 1834. Signed, Miller Arrows.mitil" 



1/2 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

This certificate was duh' acknowledged before William Leonard, justice of 
the peace, on the 15 th of October, of the same year. 

From the original draft it seems that Perry street, now the central thor- 
oughfare of the village, then formed the west line, there being no lots platted 
on the west of it, and the whole town lying on the east. The north and south 
streets, naming them from the west, were Perry, Monroe, Main Cross, Jeffer- 
son and Wayne, with intermediate alleys. The east and west streets, naming 
them from the river toward the north, were, Front, Main, Washington and Clin- 
ton, with intervening alleys. Each block contained eight town lots, and these 
were divided into four smaller blocks of tw^o lots each by the intersecting alleys 
in the center of each main block. The plat of the town contained twelve blocks 
bounded by streets, each having eight lots, while on the south side ot Front 
street, and between it and the river, was a row of twelve lots, facing north on 
Front street. The whole number of lots in the town was one hundred and 
twelve. 

The first settlements made were in the vicinity of the intersection, or place 
of meeting, of Perry and Front streets, and it was in that locality that lived 
the persons of whom record is made in the early portion of this chapter. 

Under this arrangement and disposition of the lots of the town, it was built 
upon, and continued to grow and enlarge for a period of nearly twenty years. 
But there was not, as yet, any act or proceeding that made Napoleon a town 
or village, except as a part of the township of Napoleon. The town had no 
independent or separate organization, and was, in its government, attached to 
and subject to the jurisdiction of the officers of the township. The lots were 
rapidly taken, some for speculation, and others for regular building purposes, 
in making residences and places of business, manufacture and trade; and, as 
there was nothing to keep it within the limits of the plat made by the proprie- 
tors, it of course grew and extended beyond that limit, so that at this present 
time, the place retains nothing of its original conformation, except as to that 
portion originally platted, and its former area is but a small fractional part of 
the village within its present boundaries. 

Incorporation of the Village. — Soon after the year 1 850, the residents of 
the town began to feel the necessity of a corporate organization separate and 
apart from the township, of which it had hitherto formed a part. The place 
had assumed proportions, and had acquired a population sufficient to war- 
rant such procedure. The subject was agitated and discussed, but it was not 
until the early part of the year 1853, that any decided action was taken look- 
ing to the end sought. ; 

In the mean lime a feature of the case had developed that in the proceed- 
ings of the incorporation of the town, it was desired by many of the petition- 
ers that the name should be changed from Napoleon to some other more ex- 
pressive of "^things American." The first step in the matter was the presen- 



Henry County. 173 



tation of a petition to the commissioners of the count}', w hich petition was as 
follows : 

"To the commissioners of Flemy county. The undersigned, legal voters 
of the town of Napoleon, respectfully ask your honorable body to incorporate 
the following territory, to wit: Northeast fractional quarter, containing 116.93 
acres; northeast fractional south half, 82.24; east half northwest quarter, 80 
acres; west fractional south half. 75.44; west half, northwest quarter, 80; con- 
taining four hundred and thirty-four and sixty-one hundredths acres, and be- 
ing all in section thirteen, in township number five, north of range number six 
east, (sec. 13, T. 5, R. 6, E.). Said territory to be incorporated into a village, 
and to be called 'Henry'; for a more particular description of which territory, 
and the relative position thereof, you are referred to the accompanying plat, 
showing that portion of section thirteen north of the Maumee River proposed 
to be included in said limits of incorporation. We also state that Dr. Lorenzo 
Patrick is fully authorized to act in behalf of the petitioners in prosecuting this 
petition. Napoleon, O., Feb. 28, 1853. (Signed) W. J. Jackson, L. L. Pat- 
rick, \Vm. C. Brownel), \V. H. Moe, George Stebbins, John Glass, John Pow- 
ell, Enoch L. Mann, J. P. Rowen, Isaac Lightcap, John McCartney, Paul P. 
Doud, Thomas Yarnell, A. Craig. D. M. McCann, Alph. M. Hollabaugh, Wil- 
liom Dodd (out of the limit), W. H. Mallory, Harrison V. Conway, James O. 
Caldwell, Henry N. Low, Josiah Pearce, J. W. Stewart, James Armstrong, 
Thomas Barrett, G. C. Eastman, Adam Howk, Israel Strole (not a resident), J. 
H. Tyler, Jer. Glass, A. H. Tyler, S. R. McBane, Isaac Van Horn, H. D. Tay- 
lor, George McCann." 

This petition to the commissioners was followed by another, to wit: "We, 
theundersigned, citizens and taxpayers of the town of Napoleon, in said county, 
and vicinity, pray that your honorable body will, upon the incorporation of 
said town, change the name thereof, and. in the stead of 'Napoleon,' name the 
same 'Henry.' (Signed) Edward Sheffield, James G. Haly, William Dodd, 
George W. McCann, S. R. McBane, H. McHenry, David Hartman, G. Grim, 
Jeremiah Glass, A. H. Tyler, H. Allen, H. D. Taylor, William Halter, C. R. 
McWilliam, D. Yarnell, J. P. Rowan, James Armstrong, W. A. Tressler, G. C. 
Eastman, Thomas Yarnell, Jesse Frost." 

This proposition, so far as related to the changing of the name of the cor- 
poration, met with a decided opposition, led by Augustin Pilliod, a French- 
man, and then a prominent resident of the town, who preferred the name of 
Napoleon. There appears to be no preserved record of a remonstrance being 
presented against the petition, but there was, nevertheless, a strong opposition 
which ultimately prevailed, as will appear hereafter. The question came before 
the commissioners for hearing and action on June 7, 1853, at which time the 
following order was made: 

"This being the day appointed for the hearing of the petition and proposi- 



174 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

tion to incorporate said territory, Loronzo L. Patrick, agent named in the said 
petition to act for the petitioners, personally appeared and asked leave to 
amend and change said petition by striking out the name 'Napoleon,' pro- 
posed for said town when incorporated, and inserting the name 'Henry' in 
lieu thereof, which was granted by the commissioners, whereupon said appli- 
cation was heard upon the petition herein filed, the affidavits, etc., and the 
jcommissioners being satisfied that more than fifty qualified voters actually 
reside within the limits described in the petition, and that said petition has 
been signed by a majority of them; that said limits have been accurately 
described, and an accurate map and plats thereof made and filed in said 
petition, and that the name proposed by said petition as amended, for said 
incorporated village, is proper and sufficient to distinguish it from others of 
the like kind in the State; and it being deemed right and proper in the 
judgment and discretion of the commissioners that the prayer of said petition 
be granted. It is therefore ordered that said territory described in said plat, 
attached to said petition, be incorporated and organized as a village, under 
the name of ' Henry,' as named and described in said petition. June 7, 
1S53. (Signed) D. Harley, Charles Hornung, Matthew Reid, Commission- 
ers of Henry county, O." 

Having been defeated in their endeavors to retain the name of Napoleon 
for the village, the friends and supporters of it were by no means wholly dis- 
couraged or disposed to let the fight drop. They renewed their opposition 
more earnestly, and, it is thought, gained some strength. The loth day of Oc- 
tober, 1853, was the date fixed for the election of mayor and councilmen for 
the new incorporated village, and here the friends of "Napoleon" made such a 
demonstration that the election could not proceed. 

In the mean time the Northwest, the newspaper of the town, had dropped 
"Napoleon" from its head-line and substituted " Henry." No records appear 
to exist concerning the events of the day of election and such information as 
can be accurately derived is taken from the editorial columns of the Northzvest. 
It seems that the fi'iends of Napoleon were out in force, and when an attempt was 
made to choose officers to conduct the election they by some means managed 
to defeat it. After balloting several times, but without securing a board, the 
meeting was adjourned for one year. This was a decisive victory for the op- 
ponents to the petition over those who desired to change the name of the town, 
and from this time all effort, both as to changing the name, the incorporation 
of the village and the election of village officers as well, was stopped. The 
next issue of the Northivest found the old name of "Napoleon" restored, and 
after a few days of discussion the excitement passed away and the incorpora- 
tion of the county seat w^as delayed for ten years. 

The next attempt to effect the incorporation of the county seat was made 
in the early part of the year 1863, based upon a petition signed by nearly one 



Henry County. 175 



hundred and fifty persons, residents and taxpayers, residing within the hniits of 
the territory aftected. The petition, which contained a description of tlie lands 
proposed to be incorporated, was as follows : 
" To the Honorable, the Commissioners of Henry county, Ohio : 

" Your petitioners respectfully represent to your honorable body that they 
are inhabitants of a part of the said county of Henry, not embraced within the 
limits of any city or incorporated village; that they desire to be organized into 
an incorporated village, under the name and style of the ' incorporated village 
of Napoleon ;' that they desire to have the following described territory em- 
braced in such incorporated village, to wit : Parts of sections thirteen (13) and 
fourteen (14) in township number five (5), north of range number six (6), east, 
and bounded and described as follows : Commencing at the northwest corner 
of the east half of the northeast quarter of section number fourteen (14); thence 
east to the township line ; thence south to the Maumee River ; thence south- 
westerly along said river to the west line of the east side of the north part of 
the northeast fractional quarter, section number twenty- three (23) of said town- 
ship and range ; thence north along said line to the northwest corner of the 
east half of the southeast quarter of section number fourteen (14) of said town- 
ship and range, and thence north along the west line of the east half of the 
southeast and northeast quarter of said section number fourteen (14) to the 
place of beginning. Your petitioners appoint and authorize S. M. Hague to 
act in their behalf in the prosecution of the petition ; they also ask that your 
honorable body will appoint a time and place for the hearing of this petition, 
the said time not to be less than sixty days from the date hereof Napoleon, 
March 2, 1863." 

The question came before the corrmiissioners for a hearing and final deter- 
mination on the 2d day of June, 1863, whereupon the following order was 
made : 

" Ordered, that the incorporated village named and described in the within 
petition be organized. 

"George Crawford, \ 

"Levi Spangler, > Commissioners. 

"John Powell, ) 

" Napoleon, Henry county, Ohio." 

It was, therefore, on the 2d day of June, 1863, that the county seat became 
an incorporated village, separate from the township of Napoleon, of which it 
had formerly formed a part. Its organization was complete and thorough ; 
authorized to elect its own officers and administer its own affairs, which it has 
done from that until the present time. 

This act of incorporation was unquestionably the most beneficial to the 
residents of the county seat that could have been performed. It not only gave 



176 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

Napoleon a distinct organization, but gave it, moreover, the dignified title of 
" village." By the organization its officers and people could make such ex- 
penditures for public improvements as were deemed advisable, without being 
subject to the adverse opinion of the residents of the township, outside the 
town, who, not being directly benefited by such improvements, were exceed- 
ingly inclined to oppose them on account of a slight increase in taxation. 

The village of Napoleon has frequently, by the action of its municipal au- 
thorities with the approval of other powers, been enlarged, so far as its corpor- 
ate limits are concerned, so that at the present time it covers a much larger 
area than was included by the proceeding of 1863. These several extensions^ 
a detail of each of which is not necessary in this chapter, have included a large 
tract of land with its occupying buildings, on the south side of the Maumee 
River. This enlargement brought to the village a considerable population, 
and some few unimportant business interests. This locality south of the river 
is known as South Napoleon. 

Napoleon proper occupies a pleasant location on the river, from which, to the 
center of the business portion of the village, is a gradual ascent. At a point not 
far from the court-house the greatest elevation of the place is reached ; and 
from this point there seems to be a gradual depression of the surface in each 
direction as the village limits are approached. This favorable situation affords 
excellent natural drainage, notwithstanding which trunk and lateral sewers are 
frequent for the better carrying oft" of surface water and sewage. 

The principal business street (Perry) has been substantially paved with stone, 
giving the locality a decidedly metropolitan appearance, and creating much 
favorable comment from visitors. The general substantial and attractive ap- 
pearance of the business blocks, and the goodly number of them too, has much 
to do with favorable impression that is already gained for the place, and it is a 
questionable fact whether there can be found in Northwestern Ohio, a place 
having no greater population than this that can present a better or cleaner busi- 
ness center. Where, at the time of the incorporation of the village in 1863, 
there was not a single three-story brick business block, there now stands dozens 
of them. The first of them was the " Heller Block," built in the year 1865. 
Since that time there has been a general tendency to erect substantial and 
attractive brick buildings, and this has been done to such an extent that the 
objectionable " frame row " is the exception, not the rule. There are, to be 
sure, many frame business houses, but they are not found continuous, and such 
as are still standing are generally kept well painted and neat in exterior ap- 
pearance. In the year 1863 there was hardly a dozen stores in the entire 
town, and but very few manufactories of any kind ; it is proper, therefore, that 
a mention should be made of the various business houses in the locality that 
now as well as then was known as the center of trade. 



Henry County. 177 



Mercantile and Other Business Interests. 

In making the following record classification has been found impossible, 
owing to the mixed character of the stock generally carried by merchants, and 
for that reason, they are arranged with reference to their street location in con- 
secutive order, beginning with the west side of Perry street, from north to 
south, and showing such facts as may be of interest regarding the business 
conducted at each place. 

F. C. Fisk & Co., grocery and provision store, glass and queen's ware ; 
established by Clewell & Fisk in 1880; succeeded by F. C. Fisk, and in 1887, 
John Thiesen became a partner, and is one of the present firm. 

C. H. Suydam, boots and shoes, also manufacturing and repairing same; 
established in April, 1885, as successor to R. W. Suydam. 

R. Hudson, harness store and manufactory, horse and carriage goods ; L. 
H. Diehl, manager; established 1883. 

Eggers & Son, restaurant and saloon ; established 1886. 

J. C. Saur & Co , bankers (the firm being J. C. Saur and F. O. Blair) ; 
commenced business April i, 1886, as successors to Heller & Saur, bankers. 
While this firm can hardly be considered as having succeeded the First Na- 
tional Bank of Napoleon, their business is the oulgrowth of that commenced 
by the corporation named. The First National Bank was incorporated in 
1872, with a capital stock of $50,000, which was afterwards increased to $100,- 
000. The first officers were, E. S. Blair, president ; J. W. Miller, vice-presi- 
dent, and A. D. Tourtillott, cashier. On July i, 1877, E. S. Blair succeeded 
the banking corporation, and was, in turn, succeeded by Heller & Saur. 

Frease Brothers (D. W., J. H. and W. S. Frease constituting the firm); 
jewelers, also dealers in boots and shoes; established in 1879. 

A. J. VanDerBroek, merchant tailor, clothing and furnishing goods ; estab- 
lished in 1869, by Van Der Broek & Co., and succeeded in 1887 by A. J. Van 
Der Broek. 

D. & J. Wilson, dealers in dry goods, boots and shoes, hats and caps, and 
carpets ; established in 1866, succeeding in business the firm of Roach & Wil- 
son, pioneers in the business at Napoleon. 

Gustav Kohler, groceries, provisions, crockery and saloon ; established in 
1879 in copartnership with William Spengler; the latter retired in 1880, since 
which the business has been conducted solely by Mr. Kohler. 

Isa Leist, drugs, books and stationery; established in the year 1882. 

H. C. Groschner, general hardware, stores, carriages, wagons and plows; 
the hardware branch of this business was established about 1862, by Henry 
Kahlo, who was succeeded by the firm of Imber & Gillis, and they in turn by 
Groschner & Heller, and subsequently the firm became Groschner & Redder- 
son. In 1887 the present proprietor became sole owner and has since man- 
aged the business. '^ 



1/8 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

Saur & Balsley, drugs, books and stationery ; established April i, 1865, by 
J. C. Saur, who in May, 1887, formed a partnership with Mr. Balsley. 

Shoemaker Brothers (Milton J., Frank C. and Charles W. Shoemaker con- 
stituting the firm). This business, general dry goods, notions, boots and shoes, 
hats and caps, clothing and carpets, was established by Scott & Heller, on 
March 4, 1861, but in May following Mr. Scott sold his interest to his partner, 
who managed it alone until 1866, when W. L. Heller became a partner, under 
the firm style of S. M. & W. L. Heller; in 1871 W. L. Heller sold to Colonel 
S. A. Hissong, when the firm became Heller & Hissong ; in 1873 Colonel His- 
song sold to M. E. Heller, and the firm then became S. M. & M. E. Heller. 
This firm continued until i886, when Shoemaker Brothers succeeded to the 
business. 

D. J. Humphrey, dealer in drugs and medicines, books, stationery, paints, 
oils, wall paper, and picture and other frames ; Mr. Humphrey was the pio- 
neer of the drug business in Napoleon, having started in 1859, on Washington 
street. About the year 1872, he established at his present location, corner of 
Perry and Washington streets. 

Henry Meyer, merchant tailoring, clothing, hats and caps, and gents' fur- 
nishings ; established in partnership with George Hahn, in 1870, under the firm 
name of Hahn & Meyer, and continued until 1886, when Henry Meyer suc- 
ceeded the firm. 

H. A. Meyerholtz &' Brother (H. A. & H. F. Meyerholtz composing the 
firm) ; established in 1866; dealers in groceries, provisions, crockery and glass- 
ware. This firm are also proprietors of the Napoleon Tile and Brick Works, 

Rensselaer Hudson & Co. (W. P. Hudson being the Co.); jewelry, watches, 
clocks, musical instruments and repairing ; the business, except musical instru- 
ments, was established by G. W. Pardee, in 1855, but some years later R. 
Hudson became a partner, and in about the year 1870 sole owner; still later 
W. P. Hudson, son of R. Hudson, became a partner. 

Multon & Fate, saloon. 

Ulrich & Co. (A. J. Ulrich and E. F. Weinland) ; general hardware, stoves 
and agricultural implements ; established 1886. 

J. B. Couch, general dry goods, boots and shoes ; Mr. Couch started in 
business in Napoleon in 1873, in partnership firm of Imber & Couch, and in 
1876 sold to his partner. In 1878 he again commenced and has since contin- 
ued as sole proprietor. 

S. M. Honeck, merchant tailoring, furnishing goods, and hats and caps ; 
established in 1879 under firm of Honeck & Grosscup, but after five months 
the firm was succeeded by Mr. Honeck, who has since conducted the business. 

H. E. Cary, established i860, but for four months during the war the pro- 
prietor was in the service, and the business left to a clerk's management ; in 
1873 T. R. Carroll purchased an interest but retired in 1880. Stock, grocery 
and queen's ware. 



Henry County. 179 



S. F. Shower, established 1862 ; harness store, horse goods, manufacturing 
and repairing. The proprietor has twice taken a partner, but for a very short 
time. 

Charles Polkea, saloon and restaurant. 

M. Reiser, boots, shoes and rubber goods ; established 1886. The pro- 
prietor has been engaged in business in Napoleon for many years, but in other 
branches. 

S. L. Curtis, established in business as dealer in furs, pelts and hides in 

1862 ; about 1865 or '66 had Henry Tressler as partner for about six months. 
Reccnth- Mr. Curtis has established an extensive variety store. As a dealer 
in furs he is one of the oldest in the region. 

John Keil, saloon and lunch room; established 1887. 

William Hoffman, saloon and lunch room ; established 1887. 

The business interests on the east side of Perry street are as follows : 

Conrad Bitzer, furniture and undertaking ; Bitzer Block, corner of Perry 
and Clinton streets; established in 1873 ; three story brick block built in 1875. 

George Hahn, merchant tailoring, clothing, and furnishing goods. 

David Halter, bakery, confectionery, and shelf groceries ; business estab- 
lished about 1878 by Harmon Heber, who was succeeded in July, 1887, by 
the present proprietor. 

John Diemer, meat market; established in Napoleon in 1859; prior to 

1863 he had a partner, but since that time has conducted business alone. 
William Newman, saloon and pool-room ; estabhshed 1871. 

William Spengler, groceries, provisions, and saloon; established in 1879, 
with Gustav Kohler, but sold to his partner in 1883, and started similar bus- 
iness at the last named date. 

Anthony Hahn, tobaccos, cigars, and saloon. 

David Meekison, banker; established March, 1886, at the same location 
formerly occupied by the banking firm^of Sheffield & Norton ; but in no manner 
can Mr. Meekison be said to have succeeded to the business of the former firm 
other than that his place of business is at the same location. 

J. M. Myers, tobacco, cigars, and confections; established 1887. 

Jacob Sens, saloon ; established 1882. 

John Hahn, saloon ; established about 1870. 
. Oliver Higgins, jeweler and watch repairer ; successor, in 1884, to the bus- 
iness that was established in 1883 by Higgins & Brother. 

The following are the leading business interests on the north side of Wash- 
ington street : 

Halter & Gidley, marble and granite dealers, manufacturers of monuments; 
established 1875, as successors to R. W. Hartman. 

S. Bernstein, clothing and furnishing goods; established 1878. 

W. G. Coover, general hardware; established 1868, by Groschner & Hell- 



i8o History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

er, and in 1871 sold to Groschner ; in 1871 Hellers & Coover was established 
and continued to 1879, when W. L. Heller, the senior partner, sold to his son^ 
R. B. Heller, whereupon the firm became Heller & Coover; in March, 1886^ 
Mr. Coover succeeded to the entire business. 

R. B. Shasteen, grocery, provisions, and queensware ; established 1884, 
succeeding the firm of Shasteen Brothers. 

Davison Sisters (C. L. and H. D. Davison), millinery and dressmaking ; 
estabhshed 1886. 

A. Bradley, general grocery, crockery, and glassware; established 1874. 

George Baum, harness manufacturing and repairing, horse goods and sup- 
plies ; established 1878. 

Pohlman Brothers (C. F. and H. F. Pohlman), meat market ; established 
1881. 

Rohrs & Suhr (George H. Rohrs and Thomas H. Suhr), dry goods, notions, 
hats and caps, boots and shoes, carpets ; established 1884, succeeding the older 
firm of Rohrs & Vocke, which latter firm was established about 1879. 

J. W. Tietjen, tobacco, cigars, and saloon; established 1870. 

S. E. French, art gallery and studio. 

Miss A. M. Weaver, millinery; established 1883. 

F. W. Rohrs, saloon and pool room. 

George Curdes, bakery aud confectionery; established 1880. 

On the south side of Washington street is found these business houses: 

Frederick Schroeder, furniture dealer and manufacturer; established 1884,^ 
as successor to Musser & Wilson. 

A. B. Scribner, general hardware and agricultural implements ; established 
1880 (formerly proprietor of foundry and machine shops). 

Redderson & Westhoven, meat market; established May 21, 1877, ^^ suc- 
cessors to William Redderson. 

W. P. Stockman, grocery, provisions, and crockery; established 1877. 

Norden & Bruns, dry goods, boots and shoes, hats and caps, furnishing 
goods; established 1884, succeeding Henry Norden, who was established in 
1879. 

The following are business interests not classified as above: 

Hotels. The village has two well appointed hotels — the " Miller House," 
a first-class hostelry, situate at the corner of Perry and Clinton streets, and the 
" Capitol," located near the Wabash depot ; the former under the proprietor- 
ship of Wallace Blair, and the latter managed by Harry^Webb. 

General Insurance Agents. C. E. Reynolds (also real estate dealer), estab- 
hshed i860; H. H. French, 1878; S. F. Long. 1886. 

Liverymen. Russell Jones, established 1859, formerly in mercantile busi- 
ness ; Charles Van Hyning, established 1876; J. B. Foster, established 1879; 
Ira Hayes. 



Henry County. i8i 



Dentists. Ezra W. Talbott, established 1865; A. S. Condit, established 
1878; William J. Pierepont, established 1884. 

MANL'FACrURlXCr INTERESTS. 

Napoleon Flouring Mill. This industry was commenced during the \oar 
1856, by Augustin Pilliod, but it was not until some time later that the build- 
ing was completed and in running order. Power was obtained from the canal 
and carried thence through the mill and discharged into tlie river. It was of 
the class commonly known as a "stone mill," having two run of stone — one for 
wheat and the other for buckwheat and feed, or chop. In the year 1864 the 
property was purchased by John H. Vocke, who rebuilt and otherwise improved 
it by enlarging its capacity. It was operated by his sons, Harmon H., Clement> 
Bernard, and John. They continued its management until 1882, when Ber- 
nard and Clement both died, after which its operation was continued by Har- 
mon H. and John Vocke to the present time. In 1885 the mill underwent 
radical changes, and " roller process " machinery was placed therein ; there 
was also added two run of stone for producing chop and buckwheat flour. 
The size of the building is 48 by lOO feet, four stories high. It has a capacity 
of one hundred and twenty-five barrels of flour per day. It is located on 
I-'ront street, west of Perry street. 

X'ocke's Distillery. The distillery building is located on the north side of 
and near the canal, east of Perry street. It was built in the year 1866. by 
John H. Vocke, and run for a number of years as a " high wine distillery," by 
the sons of the owner. In 1878 it was changed to an " alcohol and spirit" 
distillery. The manufacture of distilled spirits at this place was stopped in 
1883, since which time the building has been idle. It had a capacity for pro- 
ducing daily from thirty-five to forty barrels of spirits, using therefor about 
five hundred bushels of grain. 

Roller's Flouring Mill. This is one of the oldest of the manufacturing 
industries of Napoleon, and bears no resemblance whatever to the original 
building of which the present substantial structure is the outgrowth. The mill 
on this site was built in the year 1850, by John Ritter, he taking power from 
the canal, and, by means of a conduit, conveying the same through the mill 
and discharging the waste, or utilized water, into the Maumee, on the bank of 
which the mill was erected. Originally the mill had but two run of stone. 
J\lr. Ritter owned and operated it up to the time of his death, 1871, after which 
it passed, by purchase, into the ownership of Josiah Kohler. The latter at 
once substantially rebuilt the mill, and increased its capacity by adding two 
run of stone, making a total of four. In this manner it was operated until 
1885, when the owner again made material improvements by changing its 
machinery from stone to the more modern " roller process," placing therein 
fourteen sets of rollers, thus giving the mill a total producing capacity of one 



History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 



hundred barrels of flour daily. Mr. Kohler continued in sole management 
until February, 1887, at which time Jacob B. Augenstein became a part owner. 
The mill in size is 42 by 50 feet, four stories in height, Avith a large addition 
on the south side. 

In connection with their business the proprietors have a large storage ele 
vator near the Wabash depot, which was built in the year 1876 and has a 
storage capacity for thirty thousand bushels of grain. 

Napoleon Woolen Mill. The only manufacturing enterprise of this kind 
in Napoleon is that which was established by Jacob Augenstein in the year 
1863. The building stands on Front street, west of Perry and between the 
canal and the Maumee River. After having operated the mill for about a 
year the proprietor and founder took two partners, H. B. Lantzenheizer and 
Samuel Bigger, which partnership continued in successful business operation 
until the year 1873, when Mr. Lantzenheizer retired, J. B. Augenstein taking 
his place in the firm. In 1883 the senior partner gave his sons, Charles and A. 
Augenstein, an interest in the business. Two years later, 1885, J. B. Augen- 
stein sold his interest to A. E. Augenstein. In the spring of 1887 A. Augen- 
stein died, his interest, however, remaining in the firm and owned by his estate. 
The present members of the firm are Jacob Augenstein, Charles F. Augenstein, 
Samuel Bigger, Allison E. Augenstein and Acquilla Augenstein, the interest 
of the latter being now in an estate. 

The firm manufacture woolen goods, mainly flannel shirtings; also yarn 
and other commodities. They employ about twenty-five persons. 

Saygers's Saw-mill. This is one of the oldest industries on the river in 
this vicinity, having been established in the year 1843, by John Powell and 
Hazel Strong, both pioneers of the town, of whom mention has been made 
in the early part of this chapter. The mill built by them at this place is 
said to have been the first on this "level" of the canal, and from the canal the 
motive power was obtained. From the time of its erection in 1843 until it 
came to the present owner, its several changes have been about as follows : 
Powell & Strong sold to Welsted & Halter, and the latter to Richards & Em- 
ery; Richards sold his interest to William Martell, and Martell to George 
Sipler. It then went on forced sale back to Mr. Martell, the title to the whole 
property vesting in him. In 1877 ^^^ sold to Saygers & Imber, but the Imber 
interest was afterward transferred to his partner, Andrew Jackson Saygers, who 
is still its owner. This is but an ordinary water-power saw-mill, its chief prom- 
inence attaching on account of its early construction. The mill stands on 
the river bank south of Front street, being the farthest west of any of the man- 
ufactories which abound in this neighborhood. Very near it and almost form- 
ing a part of it, is the Napoleon Boat Oar Factory, concerning which a more 
detailed mention will elsewhere be found. 

The Napoleon Brewery. This, the only industry of its kind within the vil- 



Henry County. 185 



lage, was started in the year 1862 by one Kopp, and although the present 
brewery is the outgrowth of the original, founded as above stated, it bears so 
little resemblance to Kopp's brewery as to be scarcely recognized as once hav- 
ing formed a part thereof Its dimensions have been frequently enlarged to 
meet the increased demand of its production. After managing it for about 
five years Mr. Kopp sold it to John Herbolsheimer, and he, after conducting it 
until 1885, sold to the present owner and proprietor, Ferdinand Roessing. 
Under his ownership the most frequent enlargements have been made, nearly 
every year marking some improvements, so that, at the present time it has a 
capacity for producing twenty- four hundred barrels of lager beer annually. 
From here every dealer in this commodity in the village is supplied and quan- 
tities are shipped to other points. The works occupy three lots situate at the 
corner of Ferry and Front streets. The building is a large, three- story, brick 
structure, well arranged for the business conducted. 

Bruner's Hoop Factory. Although the manufacture of barrel hoops is but 
a comparatively recent industry in Napoleon, it is rapidly assuming a fair pro- 
portion among the interests of the place. It was started here in the year 1885, 
by A. Bruner, he leasing the building formerly occupied as the Napoleon Ag- 
ricultural Works. The affairs and business of the latter were managed by an 
incorporated company, of which Harmon H. Vocke was president; A. H. Ty- 
ler, secretary ; J. D. Norton, treasurer, and H. H. Vocke, Joseph A. Stout, H. 
E. Gary, J. D. Morey and Charles Reiter, were directors. The company was 
organized about the year 1 874. The object of the company was to manufacture 
grain reapers, but during the first two years it was operated only as a machine 
shop. It was then rented to one Turnbull, who continued its operation as a 
machine shop and works for about fi\e years, when the building and plant was 
sold, Harmon H. Vocke & Brothers becoming the owners. This firm made 
radical changes and operated it as a stave factory, under the firm name of Vocke 
Brothers & Wheeler. It was so conducted until the fall of the year 1885, 
when Mr. Bruner leased the plant and established the present business of hoop 
manufacture, which can be said to be about the only successful and profitable 
production connected with the life of the building. The works are situate near 
the line of the Wabash railroad, in the northeastern part of the town. 

Thiesen & Hildred's Planing-mills. The name applied to this important 
branch of Napoleon's industries is adopted simply for convenience, and is but 
poorly expressive of the character or extent of business done by the firm. To 
be sure, they have an extensive planing-mill, but in addition to that feature of 
the business, they are manufacturers of doors, sash, blinds, mouldings, and deal- 
ers in lumber, lath, shingles, lime, cement and plastering hair The works 
are situate on the south side of Front street, and west of Perry street, in the 
center of the extensive manufacturing area of the village; the firm also have 
an extensive lumber yard on the north side of the canal, some distance from 



1 84 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

the factory, and one of less extent near that building. The plant was founded 
in the year 1864, by John Thiesen and William Shepard, by whom the first 
business was done. After about a year Shepard sold his interest to Levi 
Wells, the latter replacing the former in the firm, which then became Thiesen 
& Wells. Some years later Wells sold to Frederick Aller, and the firm name 
was changed to Thiesen & Aller. Again, after a lapse of about seven years, 
the senior partner sold his interest to Daniel Richards, and at the same time 
Mr. Hildred went into the firm which became Aller, Richards & Co., Mr. Hil- 
dred being the company. In 1877, September i, Mr. 'Thiesen bought in, 
taking Richards's interest, and again the firm name changed to Aller. Hil- 
dred & Co. In 1 88 1, Thiesen and Hildred, with J. D. Norton, purchased the 
Aller interest and changed the firm name to Thiesen, Hildred & Co. The 
last change was made in May, 1887, when Thiesen and Hildred bought the 
other interest, and the present firm of Thiesen 81 Hildred was established. 
Notwithstanding the frequent changes made in this firm establishment, the 
business has always been successfully conducted and proved a fairly profitable 
investment of means. To be sure, in times of stagnation in trade and business 
circles, the firm have felt the general depression, but at no time can the busi- 
ness be said to have been conducted at a loss. 

Napoleon Foundry. This industry was established by T. J. Clay, in the 
year 1858, or thereabouts, but after operating some time was sold to A. B, 
Scribner. The latter subsequently sold a half interest to R. M. Bedeau, and 
business was managed under the firm style of Scribner & Bedeau. In 1874 
the Bedeau interest was sold to Ephraim James and the firm name changed to 
Scribner & James ; one year later Mr. James became sole owner and proprie- 
tor, and with some changes of no strong account has so continued to the pres- 
ent time. The works are located on the street first east of Perry, and a short 
distance north of Front, but when first started were on a common some dis- 
tance further east. At the foundry is manufactured all kinds of iron and brass 
castings, particularly light castings. 

Tile and Brick works. In the year 1869 the firm of H. A. Myerholtz & 
Brothers established a plant for the manufacture of drain tile and building brick. 
The works are situate on Washington street, east. No tile was made by them, 
however, until the year 1876, since which it has ranked equal with their other 
branch of manufacture. The manufacture of tile is governed largely by the 
demand for it through the agricultural districts, as much of the land, through 
this county at least, requires draining before it can be made profitable for farm- 
ing purposes. The annual production of brick by this firm reaches about one 
and one-half millions. In the year 1886 they manufactured about four hun- 
dred thousand feet of drain tile of all sizes. At their works there is a visible 
future supply of clay to run about three more years, but when that is ex- 
hausted they have an abundant supply elsewhere and within convenient dis- 
tance. 



Hexry County. 185 



Miller's Carriage Works. This branch of trade and manufacture under 
this name was started by John and Florence Miller in the year 1870, and so 
continued until 1877, when John Miller sold his interest to Joseph and Conrad 
Miller, the firm still retaining the original style of Miller Brothers. In 1883 
the firm changed and M. R. Rummell and John Miller succeeding. The build- 
ing occupied by them is a substantial three story brick, situate on Perry street, 
south of and near the canal. As indicated by the heading, the firm manufac- 
ture carriages and wagons of all descriptions, and also do general repair work. 

Shah's Carriage Works. About the j'ear 1870 Mr. ShafT, the proprietor, 
commenced in a small way the manufacture of cirriagcs and wagons in Napo- 
leon. Four years later he erected the present commodious brick factory build- 
ing on East \\'ashington street. Here, since that time, he has been engaged 
in the business above mentioned, in connection with which is a general black- 
smith and repair shop ; also he holds the agency for the Champion mower, 
reaper and binder. 

Napoleon Machine Works. In the year 1878 Charles F., Alfred, and James 
Beard commenced business in establishing a machine shop and repair works 
on Front street, west of Perry, under the firm name of Beard Brothers. Sub- 
sequently, and in connection with this business, was started a brass and iron 
foundry. About the year 1882 Charles F. Beard became sole proprietor of 
the entire business. At these works are made steam engines, shafting, hangers, 
pulleys and wood-sawing machines, also all kinds of iron and brass castings. 

Napoleon Boat Oar Factory. Although this is a comparatively new in- 
dustry to the town it is by no means new to its proprietor. Mason Britton, who 
started the business at Ashtabula, O., thirty-five years ago. He was the in- 
ventor of the machinery now in use at a similar factory at Wauseon, and was 
for some years interested in the business at that place. In March, 1887, Mr. 
Britton erected works and commenced business on Front street, near Saygers's 
mill in this village. 

It is a known fact that the United States supplies the foreign and domestic 
trade with the best quality of boat oars, and for their manufacture there are 
nine regular factories in this country, besides five others that make this produc- 
tion auxiliary to some other. A ready market is found at all seaport towns, 
but this factory ships mainly to San Francisco. 

Shoemaker & Zaenger's Cigar Factory was started in Napoleon on the 4th 
day of May, 1887, and is therefore the youngest of the town's industries. The 
members of the firm are George C. Shoemaker and John C. Zaenger. The)' 
emplo)' at present but si.x workmen and produce about one thousand cigars 
daily. The factory is located on the east side of Perry street in the main busi- 
ness part of the town. 



[86 History of Henry and i^ulton Counties. 



The Village Fire Department. 

There appears to have been no well conducted eftbrt looking to the organ- 
ization of this important adjunct of the municipality until the early part of the 
year 1870, and the agitation the subject received was brought about by a most 
■disastrous and sweeping conflagration that occurred during the year preced- 
ing, 1869, by which an entire square of business blocks and dwellings, with 
small exceptions, was destroyed. Prior to this time the village possessed no 
fire apparatus whatever, not even so much as a " bucket brigade ;" nor was 
there in existence any organization, volunteer or other, for the prevention or 
extinguishment of fires. To be sure, at the first alarm of fire the whole people 
stood ready to render such assistance as lay in their power, and volunteers, 
with a plentiful supply of pails and buckets, were always on hand, but the 
serious fire losses in the town showed the inefficiency of this kind of service and 
protection. It was, therefore, after the extensive destruction by fire of prop- 
erty, during the year 1869, that the subject became so seriously discussed that 
the complete organization of a fire department was determined upon and event- 
ually effected. 

The municipal authorities took the matter in hand, and by an ordinance of 
the council, passed January 10, 1870, the proposition was submitted to the 
electors of the village, whether a fire department should be organized and nec- 
essary and complete apparatus procured. On the 3d day of February, of that 
year, the election was held, and the proposition carried. 

Then followed much discussion as to the kind of apparatus that should be 
secured, some favoring the purchase of a hand engine and the procuring of 
ladders to be built "at home," while others believed in purchasing a complete 
set of apparatus, including steamer, hose cart and truck (hook and ladder) of 
approved patterns To a certain extent both were successful, although it was 
not until some time later that the excellent fire apparatus, now in use, was 
secured. 

At the time of the election a tax of five mills was voted for the purpose of 
organizing the department and procuring fire apparatus. 

On February 14th the council appointed members Barnes and Vocke a 
committee to enquire concerning the necessary apparatus and supplies. 

The council subsequently, March 14, voted on the question whether a hand 
engine or a steam engine should be procured for the department, upon which 
vote the result showed four members in favor of a hand engine and but one 
favoring a steamer, whereupon a committee, consisting of members J. M. Haag, 
O. E. Barnes, and J. L. Vocke, was chosen to contract for and purchase a hand 
engine. 

It seems that this resolution to purchase for the village a hand engine was 
never carried out, although it had been voted, and O. E. Barnes had been 



Henry County. 187 



selected to proceed to Adrian and examine an eni^ine that was oftered for sale 
at that place. 

About this time too. the ciiicstion of iiitroducinL; the I lolly system of wa- 
ter-works was being discussed somewhat, and owing to the great diversity of 
opinion, and conflict of sentiment, matters were at a standstill. The hand 
engine scheme seems to have been abandoned. The town of Defiance had 
procured a steamer from the Clapp & Jones works of Hudson, N. Y., and upon 
being tested, so full\- met the approval of all interested that, on the ist of Oc- 
tober, 1872, the Mayor and J. L. Robertson were directed to close a contract 
with the representative of Clapp & Jones for the purchase of a steamer, jumper, 
and three hundred feet of rubber hose, at the agreed price of $4,600, which 
was done. In the mean time a lot and building was secured for the uses of 
the department, situate on Washington street, not far from the present location 
of Norton & Bruns's store. 

The building here was destroyed by fire, after which the department ap- 
paratus was stored in convenient places until the new building on Washing- 
ton street, east of Perry, was completed. 

This building was erected during the year 1875. by George Lightheiser. 
It is a plain, but substantial three story brick building. Tiie lower floor is 
used by the department for storing their apparatus; also in the rear are rooms 
fitted for purposes of a city lock- up. The second floor is arranged for the 
corporation use, in part for council room and mayor's office, firemen's meeting 
room, and additional room for confining oftenders. The upper floor contains 
a hall for general assemblage uses. The total cost of the building, according 
to the bid of George Lightheiser, was $8,900. 

The apparatus now in use by the village fire department consists of one 
Clapp & Jones's piston steamer, one jumper, one four-wheeled hose cart, and 
one hook and ladder truck. 

The department was first organized and managed in tlie same manner as 
the departments of many other towns and villages throughout the State, but in 
i88i,byan ordinance passed October 3, the whole underwent a material 
change. By this ordinance it was provided that the council should appoint a 
resident freeholder to enlist not less than fifteen, nor more than twenty-five 
men to act as hose-men ; not less than twenty-five and not more than forty 
men as engine-men ; not less than twent}- nor more than fort}- men to act as 
hook and ladder-men ; also providing for the election, for each company, of 
one foreman, one first assistant, and one second assistant foreman. 

Tliis ordinance met with some considerable opposition from the " fire lad- 
dies," and was modified somewhat to meet their wishes. The first engineer of 
the steamer was J. B. Reno, but he was soon succeeded by George Flenner„ 
Next was Joseph Wheeler, who served until 1878. when James Shay was 
elected and has served to the present time. The first chief of the department 



History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 



was Oscar E. Barnes. The present officers of the Napoleon fire department 
are as follows : Chief engineer, Josiah Kohler ; first assistant, Jacob Brown ; 
second assistant. B. F. Pontius ; secretary, Joseph Kopp ; treasurer, J. M. Mar- 
tin ; engineer of steamer, James Sha}-. 

Education in Napoleon. 

In matters pertaining to education, and educational institutions, the town 
and subsequent village of Napoleon can furnish a record, which, for advance- 
ment and prosperity, has kept even step with the other of her institutions, 
from the founding of the town to the present day. The beginning, like that 
of the other branches, was, of course humble, but from it has grown an institu- 
tion that stands, not only an ornament, but an honor to the village and its resi- 
dents as well. The first place for the education of the youth of the town was 
a little log building, not, however, built for school purposes, that stood quite 
near Craig's old tavern. School was held here as early as 1837, and, for a time, 
was under the charge of Miss Mary Whipple. There is still living in Napo- 
leon, at least one person who attended Miss Whipple's school, at the age, 
then, of four years. 

This building, of course, was illy arranged for school use, but it was a be- 
ginning, and served the purpose until the building of a frame school-house that 
stood not far from the present court-house location. This is said to have been 
a one-story frame structure, not large, but sufficient for the times. A number 
of the older residents of the town went during their younger days to school 
there, among them Judge James G. Haly, and his wife, or she whom he after- 
ward married. Samuel Powell also attended this school. The teacher, about 
1838, was a young man named Watson. He came from New York State. 

Then again, during the "fifties," another school was built in rear of what is 
now Bitzer's block, about where Mr. Bitzer's residence stands. This also was 
a one-story frame building, but in later years was changed materially, an ad- 
dition built two stories high, and a bell was provided to be placed in a belfry 
on its top, and "rung" with a rope. This building w^as destroyed in the ex- 
tensive fire that took place in the earh' part of November, 1869. From that 
time down to 1.87 1, or until the completion of the present elegant Union School 
building, the board of education hired several rooms in different places in the 
town. 

Prior to the year 1858 the town of Napoleon, or what then was known as 
the town, with surrounding territory, within prescribed limits, formed a part of 
school district number one of the township of Napoleon, and its schools were 
under the control and direction of the school directors of that township. On 
the 9th day of August, 1858, upon the petition of T. S. C. Morrison, James G. 
Haly, J. A. Stout, John Powell, William Dodd and Justin H. Tyler, an elec- 
tion was held by which the question was submited to the electors whether a 



Henry County. 189 



ynion school district should be created in the territory that had formerly formed 
a part of district number one of the township. 

The law authorizing this action was passed by the Legislature of Ohio, Feb- 
ruary 21, 1849, '^^^^ ^^'ss amended at the next session by a further act passed 
March 13, 1850, but it was not until the year 1858 that the people of Na- 
poleon availed themselves of its provisions. The vote upon the question 
resulted in forty- three ballots for, and three against the adoption of the pro- 
visions of the law, and the subsequent organization of the town into a union 
school district. 

On the 20th day of August following the electors again met for the pur- 
pose of chosing six school directors, which resulted in the election of the fol- 
lowing persons: William Dodd, John Powell, J. A. Stout, W. J. Jackson, H. 
McHenry and Justin H. Tyler. These constituted the board of education. 
They met for organization and election of officers on the 21st day of August, 
at which meeting Justin H. Tyler was made president, John Powell, secretary, 
and W. J. Jackson, treasurer. They employed G. V. Bailey as teacher of the 
High School, at a salary of fifty dollars per month, and Misses S. S. Powell and 
H. E. Reynolds, also employed as teachers of the primary department at a 
salary of eighteen dollars per month each. 

^ r^The next year, 1859, S. L. Adams was employed as principal at a salary of 
forty dollars per month ; Miss Powell for the second department, at a salary of 
eighteen dollars per month, and Miss E. A. Craig for the third department, at 
a salary of sixteen dollars per month. 

In the year i860 the board materially increased the school facilities by the 
erection of a new building and enlarging the old. 

At a meeting of the board held March 7, 1865, i^ ^^^s unanimously agreed 
to purchase a certain tract of ground " lying south of the Methodist church, 
and joining the canal," and authorized J. E. Cowdrick to negotiate with Henry 
Yeager, the owner, for the purchase of the same at the price of four thousand 
dollars. 

By the incorporation of the village in 1863, the limits of Napoleon, proper, 
were defined ; but by subsequent extensions of those limits, much more terri- 
tory was brought to the town, and as frequently as these changes have been 
made, just so frequently have the limits of the Union School district been en- 
larged, and they now run co-extensive with the village limits with some ex- 
ceptions, noticeably on the south side of the river, but it is hardly within the 
province of this brief sketch to pursue them in detail. 

By an extensive conflagration that occurred in November, 1869, the school- 
building of Napoleon was entirely destroyed. Upon the following day the 
board held a meeting, and engaged the house of Mrs. McCann, Craig's Hall, 
and rooms over Wilson's store for school use until another school-house could 
be provided. In December, following, it was ordered that the board petition 



ipo History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

the Legislature for permission to issue bonds, upon the credit of the village, to 
the extent not exceeding the sum of fifty thousand dollars, for the purpose of 
building a union school. This law was passed, whereupon the board entered 
into a contract with George Platfoot, of Toledo, for the erection proposed, to 
be built on the lands that, in 1865, had been purchased from Henry Yeager. 
In September, 1871, the building was completed and occupied. It was dedi- 
cated with appropriate ceremonies, the address upon that occasion being deliv- 
ered by Hon. John M. Haag, of Napoleon. 

The Napoleon Union School is a three story brick building, three stories 
high, and with a mansard story and basement. Its interior is well arranged 
for its purpose, having four primary department rooms, including German, on 
the lower floor; three intermediate school-rooms, and one "C" grammar de- 
partment on the second floor; the " A " and " B " grammar rooms, with reci- 
tation rooms, on the third floor, while the large hall is arranged to be used for 
the high school department. 

The building stands on a desirable and large piece of land in the west part 
of the village. It is a large and substantial appearing structure, entirely suffi- 
cient for the present wants of the place. The board of education, with com- 
mendable zeal, have succeeded in reducing the bonded indebtedness to about 
six thousand dollars, an amount that will be entirely paid within the next few 
years. 

This school is under the care of the following instructors: W. W. Weaver, 
superintendent ; J. F. Smith, principal ; Miss Fanny Godman, assistant princi- 
pal ; Mary E. Fanning, teacher of " A " grammar department ; Alta Suydam, 
"B" grammar department; Nettie Hibbard, "C" grammar department; 
Lalah Hague, " A " intermediate department ; Hannah Peterson, " B " inter- 
mediate department ; Mary Ketring, " C " intermediate department ; Lena 
Miller, third primary ; Jennie Fouke, second primary ; Belle King, first pri- 
mary ; Mr. C. F. Clement, teacher of German, which is limited to the fourth 
grade. 

By an extension of the village limits, a considerable tract of land was 
acquired on the south side of the Maumee River, and which locality is now 
designated as South Napoleon. Its lands of course came within the jurisdic- 
tion of the board of education of the village ; but in 1879, upon a petition duly 
presented to them, the lands embraced within sections twenty-five, twenty-six, 
thirty-five and thirty-six, were released to the jurisdiction, for school purposes, 
of the school directors of the township of Napoleon. 

The South Napoleon brick school- house was erected by the board of edu- 
cation, in the year 1884, at a total cost of $2,540. It has accommodations for 
nearly one hundred scholars; contains two school- rooms, each 24 by 28 feet 
in size, with a hall-way ten feet wide. The rooms for the school are situate 
one on the first, and one on the second floor. The teachers are Miss Mary E. 
Barnes and Miss Blanche Leonard. 



Henry County 



191 



This furnishes a record, substantialh^ of the schools, past and present, of 
Napoleon, except the parochial school connected with St. Augustine's Roman 
Catholic Church, and its society, an account of which will be found in connec- 
tion with the sketch of that society. 

Much of the information upon which is written the sketch of the early 
schools of Napoleon, is derived from recollections of old residents of the town 
and vicinity, and it is possible that some inaccuracies in statement may be 
found ; on the whole, howex-er, the record may be regarded as substantially 
correct. 

Churches of Napoleon. 

St. Augustine's Roman Catholic Church and Parochial School. In the year 
1856 Bishop Rappe visited this place, and found about eight Catholic families, 
whom he encouraged to build a little church. They were mostly poor people, 
who had large families to support by their daily labor, and could spend but lit- 
tle of their hard earnings in the cause of religion. However, a liberal-hearted 
Frenchman, Augustine Pilliod, took the matter in hand and, assisted by James 
Brennan, and with what little help he could get from the other families and 
some outside the church, put up a small frame building 24 by 30 feet in size, 
but for want of funds the church was not plastered until about 1858. When 
finished the church cost about $500, and Mr. Pilliod named it St. Augustine's 
Church, after his Christian name. 

The mission was then attended at certain times by the priest in charge at 
Defiance, in 1858, by Rev. F. Westerholt, and from 1859 to 1861 by Rev. A. 
J. Hoeffel. The care of it was then given to the priest of Providence, being 
attended from 1861 until July, 1863, by Rev. James P. Maloney, and from 
July, 1863, until September, 1864, by Rev. J. M. Pietz. In November, 1864, 
the congregation had considerably increased, and it received, in that year, its 
first resident pastor, Rev. P. J. Carroll, who had charge until 1868. Under 
his administration an addition, 24 by 25 feet, was built to the church, and also 
a tower erected in front, the latter being paid for by John H. Vocke ; he also 
built a little frame school-house, 26 by 36 feet in size. In 1865 he organized 
a Catholic school, Avhich he placed in charge of his sister, Ellen Carroll, and 
since that time Napoleon has not been without a parochial school. Father 
Carroll was succeeded, in November, 1868, by Rev. N. A. Moes. Under his 
pastorate the Napoleon and Providence congregations, which for nine years 
had been attended by one priest, were separated, and each received a resident 
pastor. In October, 1 870, Father Moes was succeeded by the present pastor. 
Rev. Michael Pietz, who found the church encumbered with a debt of about 
$1,100, about two-thirds of the value of its entire property. Under his min- 
istry the debt was paid and about $i,000 worth of furniture purchased. In 
the latter part of 1875 Father Pietz purchased the lot on which the present 



192 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

church stands, at a cost of $4,000, and which was paid for in three years. In 
1878 a new school-house was built on the lot, and also a new house for the 
sisters. For more satisfactory educational facihties the school was placed in 
charge of the sisters of Notre Dame, Cleveland. 

In the year 1880 the congregation with the sanction of the Rt. Rev. Bishop 
Gilmour of Cleveland, took the first steps toward the erection of the new and 
elegant church edifice. The committee chosen to share this labor and respon- 
sibility with the pastor, were H. H. Vocke, Fred F. Shoner, Michael Wirth, 
Fred'k Fisher and Otto Honeck. According to their original intention the edi- 
fice was to cost not exceeding $15,000, but its actual cost reached something 
over $21,000. The work of building was let to various persons for the dif- 
ferent classes of work to be performed. The Gothic style of architecture was 
adopted, and the building was faithfully done, reflecting much credit on all 
enc^ao-ed in the work. The corner-stone was laid June 19, 1881, by Rt. Rev. 
Bishop Gilmour, assisted by Rev. N. A. Moes, Rev. J. B. Lung, Rev. James 
Christophany, Rev. Edward Hannin and the pastor. The church was formally 
dedicated with appropriate and impressive ceremonies, on the 17th of June, 
1883. The interior compares favorably with the exterior in design and finish. 
It is well furnished and carpeted, and supplied with a fine pipe organ. The 
extreme height from the ground to the top of the cross is one hundred and 
seventy-five feet. 

The First Presbyterian Church of Napoleon was organized June 15, 1861. 
The congregation met for this purpose in the court house. Rev. E. B. Rafens- 
bero"er, one of the members of the committee of organization appointed by the 
Presbytery of Maumee, preaching the sermon. The text chosen for the occa- 
sion was the third verse of the third chapter of the prophecy by Amos ; " Can 
two walk together except they be agreed ?"' The committee of organization 
was composed of Revs. Rafensberger and D. L. Anderson. 

Many of the older members of the church and congregation have passed 
away, while some have gone to other places. The following is a complete list 
of members at the time of organization : James A. Parker, Rachel VV. Parker, 
Rosana Steedman, Christina Stout, Susanna D. McCann, Rebecca P. Steed- 
man, John Babcock, Rachel B. Tressler, Anna McWilliams, Harriet Gary, Sa- 
rah Durbin, Harriet Tyler, Margaret Tressler, Mary Babcock. With these 
members the church was organized in June, 1861. The society in its early 
existence met for worship in the court-house, the Episcopal Church edifice, 
and in the rooms in the Gary block, but feeling the need of a church home, 
resolved to build for its own use. When nearly completed the edifice was 
almost wholly destroyed by a severe storm, but the ruins were at once cleared 
away, and the erection of a neat and comfortable brick edifice was begun, and 
in due time completed on the same site, at the corner of Washington and Web- 
ster streets. The lot was donated to the society by Justin H. Tyler. 



Henry County 



193 



The first pastor of the church was Rev. D. K. Richardson, chosen by the 
congregation in 1864. He was followed four 3'ears later, 1868, by Rev. Daniel 
Edgar. In 1871 Rev. J. P. Lloyd was called, and continued pastor in charge 
for a period of nine years. In 1882 the present pastor, Rev. Donahey, was 
called to the field. Prior to his call the church was supplied for about six 
months by a Mr. Abbey, a student under the care of the Presbytery of Mau- 
mee, but now a foreign missionary. 

The Methodist Episcopal Church. The early records of this church and its 
society are unknown to the people of the present day. Such written records 
as have been kept are at the seat of the conference district, and an effort to 
obtain accurate data concerning the early days of the church in Napoleon has 
proved fruitless. The early members are nearly all dead or gone from the 
locality, and those who came into the church later have a very imperfect rec- 
ollection of the matter. The early meetings of the society, however, were held 
at the court-house, the school-house, and in halls, and the church edifice at the 
corner of Washington and Webster streets, was erected somewhere between 
the years 1857 and 1861. 

The society is large, ranking about second or third in point of numbers in 
the village. It is impossible from such information as is at hand, to furnish a 
list of its pastors. The society is at present under the pastoral charge of Rev. 
Mr. Pates. 

The German Evangelical Lutheran St. Paul's Church. This society was 
organized in Napoleon during the year 1856, and held its meetings in the 
court-house and other convenient places until the year 1867, when the church 
edifice on Monroe street was erected. Up to this time the church was a 'sup- 
ply station, having no resident pastor. The first supply pastor was Rev. A. 
W. Bergt, who organized the church, and to whom the credit therefor is mainly 
due. He was succeeded in 1864 by Rev. Paul Rupprecht, who was in charge 
until 1867, during which year the church edifice and pastor's residence was 
built. The first resident pastor came to the place in 1867, Rev. Karrer, who 
remained until 1871, and was then succeeded by Rev. L. Dulitz. The latter 
continued until 1 883, a period of nearly thirteen years. The present pastor, 
Rev. W. L. Fisher, was then called and has since remained in charge, officiat- 
ing at this church and two missions outside the village. The society now in- 
cludes about seventy-five families, and the church membership reaches nearly 
two hundred and fifty persons. Connected with this church is a thriving par- 
ochial school, having an average attendance of about fifty scholars, and under 
the tutorship of Frank P'irks. The society erected the school-house that is 
now occupied during the year 1885. 

The Evangelical Association Church. The mission of this association was 
organized at the conference of 1872, and placed under the charge as supply of 
Rev. Elisha Hoffman. The class at that time was composed of but nine per- 



194 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

sons. Rev. Hoffman was assisted in 1873 by Rev. W. H. Ingle. In 1874 the 
commodious church edifice was completed and dedicated on the 12th day of 
April, of that year. It is situated on Clinton street, one block west from Perry 
street. Its cost was about ten thousand dollars. 

The pastors or supplies in charge of the mission (for being still partly sup- 
ported by the conference is still a mission) have been as follows: 1872-3-4, 
Rev. Elisha Hoffman; 1875-6, Rev. A. W. Orwig; 1877-8, Rev. G. Miesse ; 
1879-80, Rev. S. P. Spreng; 1881-2, Rev. S. J. Gamertsfelder ; 1883, Rev. 
F. G. Stauffer; 1885, Isler M. Houser ; 1886, Rev. E. M. Spreng, the latter 
being the present incumbent. This society is not large but is steadily increas- 
ing in numbers. 

The German Evangelical Lutheran Emanuel Church was formed during 
the year 1883, under the form of church government prescribed by the Ohio 
Synod. Among the early members of the society were Frederick Theek and 
family, Henry Rohrs and family, Frederick Soehnholtz and family, George 
Behrens and wife, August Hirseland and family, Theodore Suhr and family, 
H. C. Groeschner and family, George H. Rohrs and family. Otto Kuntzner and 
family, Ferdinand Roessing and wife, Henry Holterman and family, Mrs. Wues- 
tenfeldt and some others. Not all, however, of those above named are still 
connected with the church, some having moved to other places, while others 
have withdrawn from the society. 

No church edifice has ever been erected, the society occupying the church 
formerly occupied by the society of the Protestant Episcopal church. The 
church was organized by Rev. Louis Dammann, who has been continued in 
pastoral charge to the present time. 

Of the other church societies that should be mentioned in connection with 
this chapter are those of St. John's Protestant Episcopal Church, and that of 
the United Brethren, the latter being located in South Napoleon. 

St. John's Church was organized many years ago and was among the first 
societies formed in the town. They built a neat chapel on Clinton street, west 
of Perry street, but the society was never large or particularly prosperous ; on 
the contrary, its membership decreased and finally the church was closed. The 
building still stands, however, and is now rented to the society of Emanuel 
Church. 

The United Brethren Church of South Napoleon is a comparatively new 
organization, whose house of worship was recently built. The society and 
membership are small, but are nobly struggling to retain an existence. 

Local Organisations, Societies and Orders. — Napoleon Lodge, No. 256, F. 
and A. M., was chartered October 25, 1855, with the following charter mem- 
bers, who were chosen its first officers, there being only sufficient members to 
perfect the organization : G. R. McBane, W. M.; D. M. McCann, S. W.; H, 
D. Taylor, J. W.; Julius Kellogg, treasurer; Harvey Allen, secretary; Will- 



Henry County. 195 



I iam J. Jackson, S. D.; Henry Seeling. J. D.; Jolin McCartney, tyler. I'^rom 
these original members the lodge has increased to about fifty. The present 
officers are as follows: Samuel Bigger, W. M.; A. E. H. Maerker, S. \V.; 
Oliver Higgins, J. W.; John Wilson, treasurer ; A. S. Coiidit, secretary ; S. 
Jacquay, S. D.; John Frease, J. D.; E. James, tyler; G. F. Curtis and John 
Hoy, stewards. 

Haly Chapter, R. A. M., No. 136, was chartered September 26, 1871, with 
the following members, who were chosen to the offices indicated : Jonathan D. 

■ Norton, M. E. H. P.; Charles E. Reynolds, capt. of host ; Henry E. Cary, 
king; James G. Haly, G. M. 3d vail; S. M. Hague, R. A. capt; H. B. Lantz- 

; enheizer, G. M. 2d vail; R. P. Osborn, P. S.; Samuel Bigger, scribe; L. G. 

\ Randall, G. ]\I. ist vail; A. Bridge, guard. Succession of most eminent high 
priests: Jonathan D. Norton, 1871-4; H. J. Bigley, 1874-6; J. D. Norton, 

1 1S76-8; S. M. Hellor, 1878-80; J. F. McCaskey, 1 880-1 ; E. T. Martin, 

I 1881-4; 1- G. Randall, 1884-7. The chapter has a present membership of 
forty-one, and is officered as follows: E. T. Martin, H. P.; Samuel Bigger, 
king; J. V. Cutf, scribe; C. E. Reynolds, C. of H.; William Humphrey, P. 

: S.; Seth Jacquay, R. A. capt.; F. O. Blair, G. M. of 3d vail ; William Brook, 

j G. M. of 2d vail ; George Wright, G. M. of 1st vail; J. H. l^^rease, treasurer; 
George Dann, secretary ; Oliver Higgins, guard. 

Napoleon Lodge, No. 260, I. O. O. F., was instituted January 23, 1855, 
with charter members as follows : George W. Waterman, Robert K. Scott, 
Robert Boyle, Joseph Rogers, and Andrew J. Schofield. Its present officers 
are Otto A. Stuve, N. G.; Charles Van Hyning, V. G.; T. C. Clewell, secre- 
tar)- ; S. Martin, treasurer; D. Wilson, warden; James P^mery, R. S. N. G.; 
A. J. Ulrich, L. S. N. G. 

Maumee Valley Enc, No. 177, L O. O. F., was instituted July 8, 1870, 
with the following charter members : C. N. Smith, F. N. Powell, L. T. Calkins, 
David Wilson, John M. Shoemaker, Seth L. Curtis, and James W. Brown. 
This is not a strong organization, numbering at present but sixteen members. 
Its officers are as follows: Samuel C. Haag, C. P.; James G. Kitter, M. P.; 
Otto A. Stuve, S. W.; J. Y. Housell, J. W.; D. Wilson, scribe; A. Bradley, 
treasurer. 

Patriarchs Militant, Canton of Napoleon, No. 50, I. O. O. F., was instituted 
by charter in June, 1 887. The degree is new to Napoleon but not to the order. 
It has a membership of eighteen, and is officered as follows: T. C. Clewell, 
captain; J. P. Belknap, lieutenant; J. Y. Housell, ensign; S. C. Haag, clerk; 
David Wilson, accountant. 

Choate Post No. 66, G. A. R., so named in honor of Colonel William A. 
Choate, of the Thirty-eighth O. V. Inf , and formerly a prominent member of 
the Henry county bar, was organized by charter May 4, 1881. The charter 
members were L. G. Randall, Charles E. Reynolds, L. Y. Richards, Otto 



196 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

Honeck, Henry E. Gary, John M. Shoemaker, R. M. Cloud, J. P. Watson, H. 
H. Fast, A. S. Condit, G. H. Reeber, H. B. Powell, H. McHenry, M. J. Mar- 
vin, John Siford, James Shay, Frederick Yockee, E. B. Magill, F. M. Bascom^ 
Abner Yeager, Levi Drummond, W. F. Balsley, Joseph Grim, Henry Lazenbe^ 
and Charles Newton. 

TJie first officers were ; Post Com. L. G. Randall ; S. V. Com., Otto 
Honeck; J. V. Com., L. Y. Richards; adjt., C. E. Reynolds; q. m., Henry E. 
Gary; surg., John M. Shoemaker; chaplain, R. M. Cloud; officer of the day, 
J. P. Watson ; officer of the guard, H. H. Fast; sergt. maj., A. S. Condit; Q. 
M. sergt., George H. Reeber; aid, H. B. Powell. Comrade Randall held the 
office of post commander for three years, when he was succeeded by Comrade 
Reynolds. The membership of the post now reaches one hundred and sixty 
persons, officered as follows: P. Com., C. E. Reynolds ; S. V. C., D. M. Jones; 
J. V. C, George Baum ; adjt., Henry Kobe; Q. M., Henry E. Gary; chap., 
David Musser ; surg., John Bloomfield ; officer of day, Joseph Grim; officer of 
guard, Samuel Martin ; Q. M. sergt, J. B. Hague ; aid, H. B. Powell. The 
post treasury has a relief fund aggregating seven hundred dollars. 

The Napoleon Light Guard, Company F Sixteenth Regiment Infantry, 
Ohio National Guard, was organized under the State military law, in the year 
1877. Company F is fully equipped and armed, ready for use. At present it 
numbers seventy members, officered as follows: C. E. Reynolds, captain; F. 
W. Reiter, first lieutenant; A. E. Augenstein, second lieutenant; sergeants, 
W. L. Fouke, first; Julius B. Bernstein, W. N. Hess, C. H. Suydam; corpo- 
rals, William Hudson, James N. Putt, W. W. Lenert, Joseph Kopp, Joseph A. 
Musser; musician, Charles W. Jackson. 

Henry County Agricultural Joint Stock F'air Company. The fair company 
was incorporated in 1883, by J. C. Saur, Josiah Koller, Robert K. Scott, C. H. 
Gidley, Henry Rohrs, R. B. Heller, J. C. McLain and N. H. Hartman. Cap- 
ital stock, $10,000, divided into four hundred shares. The company's grounds 
embrace about thirty-eight acres of land, situate in South Napoleon. Annual 
premiums are offered averaging about $5,000. The officers are Josiah Koller, 
president; M. Reiser, vice president; O. Parker, treasurer; J. L. Halter, sec- 
retary; board of directors, the officers, ex- officio, and William Booher, C. F. 
Wilson, J. Brinckerman, G. W. Lester and H. Rohrs. The company is in the 
fifth year of its existence. 

Village Civil List. The following list of officers of the incorporated village 
of Napoleon is extracted from the Journal of Council Proceedings, and includes 
the names of such officers as were elected by the electors of the village from 
the date of incorporation: 

1863. Mayor, Justin H. Tyler; recorder. Ransom E. Reynolds; George 
W. Waterman, Henry Kahlo, Daniel Yarnell and George Bogart, councilmen. 

1864. Mayor, Justin H. Tyler; recorder, Ransom E. Reynolds; Henry 



Henry County. 197 



Kahlo, John Sidliiiger, George W. Waterman, Davitl Iloneck, George Bogart, 
councilnien. 

1865. Ma\-or, Asa H. Tyler; F"rederick M. Daggett, recorder; John 
Thrapp, Henry D. Taylor, Daniel Honeck, David Hartman, James Breiinan, 
councilnien. 

1866. Mayor, Asa H. Tyler; Ransom T. Osborn, recorder; John M. 
Haag, John H. Vocke, Ssth L. Curtis, William Ditmer, Harmon J. Tressler, 
councilnien. 

1867. Mayor, Joseph R. Swigart; Charles M. Smith, recorder; Klisha B. 
Harrison. Daniel J. Humphrey, Edwin S. Blair, Henry Lantzenheiser, Joseph 
A. Stout, councilnien. 

1868. Mayor, Joseph R. Swigart; Thomas R. Carroll, recorder; Joseph 
A. Stout, Edwin S. Blair, Henry D. Lantzenheiser, Lyman Trowbridge, John 
Theisen, councilnien. 

1869. Mayor, John L. Robertson; M. E. Heller, recorder; John M. Haag, 
Oscar E. Barnes, Frederick Theek, John M. Shoemaker, John H. Vocke, 
councilnien. 

1870. Mayor, Justin H.Tyler; Henry Westervelt, clerk (name changed 
from recorder); Henry B. Lantzenheiser, Henry Rafif, John Wilson, Henry E. 
Gary, J. W. Brown, Joseph Vocke, councilnien; C. B. Waters, marshal. 

1 87 1. Mayor, Justin H. Tyler; Henry Westervelt, clerk; Elijah B. Bel- 
den, John Kuntz, Joseph L. Robertson, councilnien elected; street commis- 
sioner, Samuel J. Roche. 

1872. Mayor, William A. Tressler; marshal, Orrin A. Parker ; treasurer, 
Jesse D. Norton; clerk, Henry Westervelt; councilnien, Charles M. Smith, 
Seth L. Curtis, John Theisen, David W. Shoemaker. 

1873. Mayor, William A. Tressler ; David Meekison, clerk ; D. W. Shoe- 
maker, Leverett G. Randall, David Wilson, councilnien elected. 

1874. Mayor, Benjamin E. Sheldon; clerk, Jacob B. Augenstein ; treas- 
urer, Jesse D. Norton ; Albert M. Wright, David D. Turnbull, Samuel Biggar, 
councilnien elected. 

1875. Mayor, Benjamin E. Shelden ; clerk, Jacob B. Augenstein; street 
commissioner, John Sullivan ; Henry E. Gary, John Theisen, Matt. Reiser, 
councilmen elected. 

1876. Mayor, Frank M. Rummell ; clerk, Jacob B. Augenstein; marshal, 
D. M.Jones; treasurer, Daniel J. Humphrey; Oscar E. Barnes, Frederick Al- 
ler, Leverett G. Randall, councilmen elected. 

1877. ^layor, Frank M. Rummell ; Henry E. Carey, Matt Reiser, George 
Daum, councilmen elected ; street commissioner, Daniel Hess; clerk, Jacob B. 
Augenstien. 

1878. Mayor, Frank M. Rummell; councilmen elected, Frederick F. 
Shoner, Albert Bradley, Oscar E. Barnes; J. B. Augenstein, clerk; Daniel J. 
Humphrey, treasurer; David M. Jones, marshal. 



198 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

1879. Mayor, Frank M. Rummell ; Jacob M. Augenstein, clerk ; coun- 
cilmen elected, Henry E. Gary, Henry Rohrs, Matt. Reiser ; street commis- 
sioner, John Langdon. 

1880. Mayor, John M. Shoemaker ; clerk, Jacob B. Augenstein ; coun- 
cilmen elected, William J. OverhuUs, George Daum, Frederick Aller; treas- 
urer, Daniel J. Humphrey ; marshal, William A. Tressler. 

1881. Mayor, John M. Shoemaker; clerk, Jacob Augenstien ; street 
commissioner, Daniel Hess ; councilmen elected, Asa H. Tyler Otto Honeck, 
Nathaniel McGolley. 

1882. Mayor, John M. Hagg; clerk, Jacob B. Augenstein ; treasurer, Jo- 
seph B. Vocke ; marshal, John D. Ritter; councilmen elected, Andrew Jack- 
son Sagers, Henry A. Meyerholtz, Edward Brown. 

1883. Mayor, John M. Hagg; clerk, Jacob B. Augenstein; street com- 
missioner, Daniel Hess; councilmen elect, David Meekison, Orrin Parker, Geo. 
Hahn. 

1884. Mayor, William A. Tressler ; clerk, Edwin C. Dodd ; marshal, John 
D. Ritter ; treasurer, Joseph B. Vocke; councilmen elected, Joseph Schoff, Lu- 
ther L. Orwig, William Tietjen. 

1885. Mayor, William A. Tressler; clerk, Edwin C. Dodd ; street com- 
missioner, Joseph Grim ; councilmen elected, John Withers, Lemuel Fellers, 
Oscar E. Barnes. 

1886. Mayor, John Theisen ; clerk, Edwin C. Dodd ; marshal, S. O. Rake- 
straw ; treasurer, Oliver Higgins ; councilmen elected, Richard W. Cahill, Matt. 
Reiser, Ferdinand Roessing. 

1887. Mayor, John Theisen; clerk, Edwid C. Dodd ; street commissioner, 
Daniel Hess; councilmen elected, James Donovan, Henry Halterman, Jerome 
Martin. 

Present Municipal Ojficers. — Mayor, John Theisen, salary, $100; clerk, 
Edwin C. Dodd, salary, $240 ; treasurer, Oliver Higgins, fee office ; marshal, 
S. O. Rakestraw, salary, $1.50 per day; street commissioner, Daniel Hess, 
salary per diem allowance ; councilmen, Richard W. Cahill, James Donovan, 
Henry Halterman, Matthias Reiser, Jerome Martin, Ferdinand Roessing (not 
salaried.) 

Committees of the council, finance, Cahill, Roessing and Donovan. 

Fire department, Martin, Roessing and Reiser. 

Sewers, Donovan, Martin and Halterman. 

Sanitary, Reiser, Halterman and Cahill. 

Streets and sidewalks, Halterman, Martin and Donovan. 

Purchasing, Roessing, Cahill and Reiser. 



Henry County. 199. 



CHAPTER XVn. 
HISTORY OF BARTLC)\V T0WXSIII1>. 

THIS, original number three in range five, is the youngest in the sisterhood 
of townships, and is situated in the southeast corner of the county where 
Henry, Wood, Hancock and Putnam join. It was not organized until 
1854, at which time there were not enough electors living on the territory to 
fill the township ofliices, and it became necessary at the first election, which 
was held on a pile of railroad ties, for one person to assume the duties of sev- 
eral official positions. There was not much electioneering, politicians were not 
in demand, and no charges of bribery or corruption were made. 

The township was named in honor of Cornelius Bartlow, who located on 
section thirty-six, where he still lives, in 185 i, and was the first settler in the 
township, it at that time being a part of Richfield. 

From the duplicate of 1855, the first upon which Bartlow appears as an 
independent organization, we learn that there were at that time but four resi- 
dent taxpayers, namely : Cornelius Bartlow, Jesse Bensle}', James F. Russell, 
Jonathan W. Vanscoyoc, who, with the Dayton & Michigan Railroad, paid 
taxes on personal property valued at $1,331. There were 22,429-5- acres of 
land valued at $28,874 listed for taxation, and the total tax paid was $488.12. 

A contrast may as well be drawn here. The duplicate of 1887 shows 21- 
633 acres of land valued at $152,930, the number of acres having been reduced 
by railroad right-of-ways and town plats. The chattel property is assessed at 
$123,450, and the ta.x paid aggregates $8,207.98. The population in i860 
was only thirty-two (32) ; in 1870 it had reached one hundred and twenty-six 
(126) ; in 1880 it amounted to eighteen hundred and sixteen (1816), and must 
at present be at least twenty-five hundred (2500). There are seven school- 
houses, in addition to the graded one at Deshler. 

INIany causes contributed to retard the improvement and development of 
this township: (i) It was the only part of the county that formed a part of the 
actual "Black Swamp," and it was indeed a swamp — low, flat, wet, no outlet of 
any kind for the water which covered the whole surface, and timber and 
underbrush, and all kinds of wild vegetable growth, made it a place where 
indeed "beasts with man divided empire claimed." and to the first settler may 
well be applied the words of- Moore : 

"His path was rugged and sore, 

Through tangled juniper, beds of reeds, 
Through many a fen, where the serpent feeds, 
And man never trod before." 

(2) Nine-tenths of the land was owned by non-residents of the county. 
The late John G. Deshler, of Columbus, himself owned about one-fourth of the 



200 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

township ; these lands were held for speculation, and were not for sale. (3) 
There were no roads nor access to market. (4) There were plenty of more 
desirable and eligibly located lands to be had at a cheap price. 

The construction of the Dayton and Michigan Railroad, which enters the 
township on the east near the half section line of section twelve, running south- 
westerly and leaving near the middle of section thirty-four on the south, was 
the first break made in the wilderness. The construction of this road necessi- 
tated drainage, but it was very superficial. A large reservoir was constructed 
at the place where Deshler now stands, and the surface water drained into it 
through Brush Creek, and became a main watering place for the railroad. 
The real improvement of Bartlow began with the construction of the Baltimore 
and Ohio Railway in 1869. A frame building was erected and a supply store 
for the contractors and employees opened at the reservoir, and the D. and M. 
then made that place a regular station, giving it the name of Alma. The B. 
and O. enters the township near the middle of section twenty- four and runs in 
a northwestern direction, leaving at the northwest corner of section eighteen. 
The Deshler and McComb Railroad runs through sections thirty-six and twen- 
ty-five, terminatiiig at Deshler in section twenty-three. 

The West Branch of Beaver Creek, Hammer Creek, Beaver Creek, Brush 
Creek, all cleaned out, widened and deepened, and surface and underground, 
together with the railroad ditches, affords good and sufficient drainage ; and 
fair roads are now constructed to almost every part of the township. 

The Village of Deshler. 

This is the only town in the township. It was so named in recognition of 
John G. Deshler, the large land owner already referred to, but was laid out and 
platted by Frederick H. Short for himself and as trustees for a syndicate com- 
posed of Daniel McLane, Stephen S. L'Hommedieu, William Beckett, William 
E. Boven, Theodore Stanwood, John W. Hartwell, and John G. Deshler. The 
plat was recorded August 23, 1873. It is located in the southeast corner of 
section twenty-three, and the southwest corner of section twenty- four. It con- 
sists of two hundred lots, twenty out lots, and two public squares. North, 
Plum, Elm, Maple, Main, Mulberry, and Walnut streets, and five alleys, run 
east and west; Wood, Vine, Park, East, Lind streets, Keyser avenue and four 
alleys run east and west. 

On the 8th of February, 1875, Silas D. Stearnes, Justus Stearnes, and Josiah 
H. Stearnes platted an addition in the north side of the southwest quarter of 
section twenty-four, east of the D. & M. Railrord, and on both sides of the 
B. & O. Railway. North, Plum, Elm, Maple, Main, and Mulberry streets were 
continued and Short street added, running east; East and Lind streets were 
continued, and Ash and Oak added, running north ; Water, Holmes, and Bart- 
low streets and four alleys run southeast, and Stearnes avenue, Pine, Beach, 



Henry County. 



Sycamore, and Butternut streets, with five alleys, run northwest. One stjuare 
is dedicated to the public. 

On the 1 8th of September, 1875, Short, for himself and as trustee, as already 
mentioned, added addition to the village embracing eighteen of the out lots in the 
original plat, the part of the northeast quarter of section twenty- three not before 
platted, eighty acres in the northwest quarter of section twenty-three, fifteen 
and a half acres in the southwest quarter of section twenty-three, thirty-five 
acres in the southeast quarter of the same section, forty-nine acres in the south- 
east quarter, and seven acres in the southwest quarter of section fourteen. The 
addition was on both sides of the B. & O. Railway. It continued North, Plum, 
Elm, Maple, Main, and Mulberry streei"s, with the alleys on the north side of 
the railway, and continued Walnut, and added South, Buckeye, Marion, and 
Harrison, running east and west, on the south of the railway. It also con- 
tinued Keyser avenue. Park, Vine, and Wood streets, and alleys, and added 
Washington, Chestnut, and Deshler streets, running north and south. 

The incorporation of the village was perfected on the 30th day of April, 
1876. It has now a population of about fourteen hundred ; maintains a fire 
department, is grading and improving its streets, sidewalks, etc. It has a fine 
$5,000 brick school building, and an excellent graded school is taught nine 
months in the year. A Methodist Episcopal brick church, a Roman Catholic 
frame church, and a Free Methodist frame church furnish sufficient places for 
worship. The Deshler Flag, a five-column quarto weekly journal, is pub- 
lished here. 

There is also a machine' shop and foundry. One of the most extensive 
stave factories in northwestern Ohio is owned and operated by Mr. A. W. Lee. 
A large saw-mill, owned by Messrs. Ball and Smith, has a capacity of 35,000 
feet per day, and turns out annually 2,000,000 feet of sycamore lumber, used 
almost entirely for tobacco boxes, besides a large amount of ash, oak, and hick- 
ory for domestic and shipping purposes. Heidelbach Brothers are manufac- 
turing tobacco boxes, and deal in lumber, sash, doors, etc., on an extensive 
scale. Mitchell & Widdner are the proprietors of the Deshler brick and tile 
works, an industry which is assuming large proportions. Through the enter- 
prise of Mr. Mace Baer, a large brick block has been erected within the last 
two years. The citizens are energetic and enterprising. 

When we glance back and see the wonderful changes and transformations 
which have taken place within so few years, eastern fable assumes a shade of 
plausibility, and Aladdin's lamp seems a possibility. William Hubbard, when 
editor of the Northivest, in appreciation of the wonderful improvement, and 
partly joking Tontogany, a village in Wood count)-, wrote the following fable, 
which is worth preserving : 



202 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 



THE OLD TIME AND THE NEW. 



BY A FROG AND AN OWL. 



There was a great big Frog, and he 
Sat on a great big log, and he 
Croaked thus : " I'm old Mahogany, 
' First settler at Tontogany I 

" Boola-ba-lum ! — Lum ! — Lum ! 

" Eoola-ba-lum 1 — Lum I — m I — m ! 

' I've seen a ' settler ' shiver and shake. 
Until I thought his liver would break I 
Then bitters and barks ' endivver ' to take, 
And gag, and 'hid-je-ous ' faces make ! 

• I've known the fog so thick at night 
You'd get from your candlewick no light ; 
But stir the air with a stick, you might, 
And the smell it would make you sick outright. 

' The doctor he kept a mercury can. 
And found the practice hard work for a man ; 
But feeling your pulse with a jerk, he ran 
To measure your calomel out in a pan ! 

' The sick were as ten to one veil, you know. 
And the loell one a doctor would tell to ' Go ! 
' For daddy and mamma is awful low, 
' And you'll find our house by the cow-bell, O I ' 

' The doctor behind him fastened a boat, 
A life-preserver tied round his throat, 
And with rubber pants and vest and coat, 
He was ready to ride, or row, or float ! 

If an old she-bear didn't cross his way, 
Or a catamount ' chaw him up ' for prey, 
He would reach the house by break of day, 
And on the road home would whistle for pay !" 

Thus spoke the old bull-frog, and he 
Dodged under his slippery log, then he 
Croaked out : " Good-bye, Tontogany ! 
'You'll see no more of Mahogany ! 

" Boola-ba-lum ! — Lum ! — LumI 
" Ker-chug 1" 

There was an owl perched on a tree ; 
She oped her eyes that she might see — 
She wondered what in the world could be 
The cause of the croak at Tontogany. 

" Too-hoot ! — To-hoot ! — To-hoo ! 

" To-hoot ! — To hoot ! — To-hoo-oo-oo I 

'^No 'fevernagur' now is near, 
Nor barks nor bitters are wanted here — 
The fog is gone and the sky is clear. 
And health has reigned for many a year. 



Henry County. 203 



' The doctor lias sold his meicuiy can. 
He keeps no more a calomel pan, 
His life-preserver was ' bought by a man,' 
And he made of his boat a bin for bran. 

• A thousand channels are digged, you see, 
Our rich, wild lands from water are free ; 
And the rivulets ripple and roll in glee 
To swell the waves of the broad Maumee. 

■ The she-bear and her cubs are gone — 
The wolves died howling one by one. 
To the crack of the settler's deadly gun, 
When the day was past and the chopping done. 

Let croakers such as Mahogany, 
Do jusi as did that frog, when he 
Went under the slippery log, and he 
Said ' Good-bye, old Tontogany I 

' Boola-ba-lum I — Lum I — m I-l 
' Ker-chug 1 
" The old time's past — to-hoot I — to-hoo oo ! 
We welcome now the new I" 



CHAPTER XVni. 

HISTORY OV DAMASCUS TOWNSHIP. 

IT would appear that the biography of a middle aged man could be easily 
written, and the information obtainable from one person. So should the his- 
tory of a county, young as that of Henry, be accurately and speedily compiled. 
We are, however, confronted with a mountain of difficulties seemingly insur- 
mountable. The smoke of the element, to the music of which Nero is said to 
have kept time with his fiddle, has obscured the early foot- prints ; ignorance 
has made no record, and when made carelessness has permitted it to be de- 
stroyed. Unlike an old settled county one generation has not stepped into 
the tracks of its predecessor, and tradition preserved the record ; but like the 
Toltecs and the Aztecs, the successor has inherited no history of its predeces- 
sor, and it is only from a few landmarks and the impaired recollection of a 
very few of the remaining members of the original tribe of Abraham that we are 
enabled to gather a few recollections worth preserving and embalming in print. 

Three Stages of Civhjzation. 

We find three types of civilization as having existed here. Pioneer is rather 
a misnomer for the first, as he came not as a settler, removed but few obstruc- 



204 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

tions, and cleared a very narrow way for those who were to follow ; he was 
rather an adventurer, restless in civilization and happy only in the solitude 
of wild nature ; the rifle and the dog were his companions, and the fruit of the 
hunt and trap his only means of support. Very little improvement was made 
by this type ; a small corn and truck patch was cleared, and a rude log cabin 
erected, but the immense forests remained comparatively undisturbed. He 
was followed by the man with the ax, and in his footsteps came the saw-mill. 
This was the timbering period, and the giants of the forest fell rapidly before 
the woodman's ax. The monster oaks were felled, hewed, sleded to the Mau- 
mee, rafted to Toledo, thence on vessels to Montreal and Quebec, and then to 
Liverpool, England, where they were converted into vessels. The walnut, ash 
and poplar were converted into lumber and shipped to Eastern markets. The 
soft wood has become valuable onU- in late years and since the advent of the 
stave factory and hoop maker. With the lumbermen came many who re- 
mained, and accompanied or followed by others in search of cheap homes. 
These with their descendants, eastern arrivals and foreign immigration make 
up the present population and civilization. 

Civil Organization. 

Damascus township was organized as a voting precinct in 1823, included 
the whole of what was then Henry county, with the voting place at Independ- 
ence, now in Defiance county. As time advanced improvements multiplied 
and population increased, new civil townships were formed, until Damascus is 
at present limited to the original government-surveyed township No. Five, 
north of range eight, east, minus so much as lies north of the Maumee River, 
and forms part of Washington township, being sections i and 6, the most of 5 
and 7, and parts of three and 4. It is, of course, bounded on the north by the 
Maumee, on the east by Wood county, on the south by Richfield, and on the 
west by Harrison township. In 1840, when its territory, divided with Rich- 
field and Flat Rock, embraced all of the county south of the river, it had a pop- 
ulation of only 489. In i860, reduced to its present dimensions, it contained 
761 souls, which in 1870 had increased to 1,179, this grew to 1,415 in 1880, 
and at present, estimating from the voting population and including the village 
of McClure, which has sprung up since, must number not less than 2,000 
persons. 

Topography. 

The township, in common with the county, is very level, or rather flat. It 
is, however, easily drained into the several natural water courses which run 
through the township, emptying into the Maumee. 

The south branch of Turkey Foot, the main creek south of the Maumee, 
enters the township in the southwest quarter of section nineteen, running north- 



Henry County. 205 



easterly through sections nineteen, eighteen and seventeen and emptying into the 
river in the west half of section eight. Lick Creek starts in the southwest cor- 
ner of section twenty-nine, also running in a northeasterly direction until it 
reaches the river in the northwest corner of section three, a fragment of which 
lies south of the river. The east branch of this creek commences in the south- 
west corner of section sixteen, uniting with the main creek in the southeast 
corner of section nine. Big Creek starts in the southwest quarter of section 
thirty-four, running south, tending slightly to the east, through sections twen- 
ty-seven, twenty-two, fifteen and eleven, reaching the river in the southwest 
quarter of the latter section. The channels of these creeks have been greatly 
improved by widening and deepening, and with the system of artificial drain- 
age, both surface and under- ground tiling, completety drain the township, 
which is now one of the best improved and most productive in the county, the 
soil being mainly black alluvium and its fertility seemingly inexhaustible. 

The Coldwater, Mansfield and Lake Michigan Railroad is located through 
the township, its road commencing at the east side of the southwest quarter of 
section twenty-five and running in a southwestern direction through sections 
twenty- five, twenty- six, twenty-seven, twenty-eight, twenty and nineteen. 
The "Narrow Guage," now converted into a standard, and known as the 
"Clover Leaf" route, also runs through the township, entering on the east 
line at the northeast corner of section thirteen and running diagonally through 
the township, southwesterly to the southwest corner of section thirty-one. It 
crosses the road bed of the C. M. & L. M. Railroad, in the northeast quarter 
of section twenty-eight. The location of the railroads, and especially the con- 
struction of the narrow guage, gave birth to the 

Village of McClure. 

This, the only village in the township, was laid out and platted into town 
lots by John McClure, and entered of record in the office of the recorder of 
Henry County, April 15, 1880, and is situated "in the northeast part of the 
northeast quarter of section twenty-eight," on the line of the Delphos and To- 
ledo (narrow guage) Railroad. The original plat was 711 feet square and was 
divided into twenty-eight lots, including the depot grounds. On the 7th day 
of February, 1881, Mr. McClure added an addition of thirty-two lots on the 
south of the town, increasing the number of lots to sixty. April 7, 1881, Da- 
vid Foltz platted an addition of six lots to the east side of the town, and August 
26. 1 88 1, added another addition of four lots on the south of the town. Oc- 
tober 19, 1 88 1, J. G. Markley's addition of twenty- four lots was added to the 
north of the town. Sept. 23, 1 88 1, Mr. McClure added his second addition of 
twenty-six lots on the west of his first addition. Sept. 5, 1882, Ammond 
Smith platted an addition of five lots to the west of McClure's second addition. 
April 10, 1885, J. G. Markley added a second addition of sixteen lots on the 
west of his first addition. 



2o6 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

The village was incorporated in 1886, and the plat admitted to record on 
the 1 0th day of August of that year. 

The first substantial building erected in the village was in 1880, on lot fif- 
teen on the original plat, by Thomas W. Durbin, who for a number of years 
had been merchandising at Texas, in Washington township. The building is 
a two- story frame, one hundred and thirty feet deep, and twenty- two feet wide. 
A general mercantile business is carried on by the "Durbin boys" — Dickin- 
son, Charles and Clark, sons of the proprietor. The same year Andrew John- 
son erected a commodious hotel ; the year following the Rowland brothers put 
up an elevator and also a store-room ; following were the Counselman broth- 
ers with still another store ; then came the stave factory, planing-mill, etc. 
The town at present contains a population of five hundred, has a post, express 
and telegraph office, one church, a large two-story school-house, three general 
stores, one drug store, a hardware store, saw-mill, stave factory, planing-mill, 
and the various mechanical artisans. Gas and oil have lately been struck, 
mains and pipes have been laid, and the town is now heated and lighted by 
the natural vapor. 

Early Settlers. 

In 1837 there were but three hundred and eighty-five acres of land in what 
is now Damascus township, on the duplicate for taxation, and it was a number 
of years after that date before settlement commenced. John Savage was, per- 
haps, one of the very first actual settlers ; Abraham Snyder came from Vir- 
ginia in 1840, but first settled in Washington, at that time called Myo town- 
ship ; James Reid came in 1843 ; James Fiser, also from Virginia, came the 
same year; Samuel Domer in 1849, ^^^ Solomon Domer the year following; 
Milton Jennings came in 1851; Jacob Beaver was one of the early settlers ; 
WiUiam Bell, Philip W. Counselman, the Shepard family, John M. McClure, 
John Foltz, John C. McLain, may be mentioned among the pioneers to whom 
is due the credit of converting the forests of Damascus into a garden. 

Present Condition. — Not less than three-fourths of the lands of this town- 
ship were under a high state of cultivation, worth from $25 to $85 per acre- 
The township is well ditched, has good roads on almost every section line ; its 
residences and farm buildings are surpassed by few localities, and it has more 
churches and school-houses than any other township in the county, or, in fact, 
in most any other county. Its population is very moral, sober and industri- 
ous, in fact a more desirable community or better county in which to live, will 
be hard to find. 

Damascus township presents several sad examples from which the farmer 
and agriculturist should profit. Several of her pioneer and best to do farmers 
who purchased government lands at a low price in the early days of the county, 
settled in the wilderness, and patiently enduring all hardships and deprivations. 



Henry County. 207 



were in their old age induced by their boys, who had become fascinated with 
town Hfe, or felt too proud to farm, to sell their hard earned homes, now valu- 
able, and remove to the neighboring town and engage in merchandising, a 
business of which neither they or their boys knew anything. 

In discussing the reasons why so many of the boys born and bred on farms, 
become dissatisfied with rural life, and why so few follow the occupation at 
which their fathers had won success, there is one that is too little considered. 
Most of these j'oung men expect some day to marry, and seeing how hard a 
time their mothers usually have, are properly unwilling to oblige the girls they 
love to assume such arduous responsibilities. In fact, they cannot oblige a girl 
to become a farmer's wife if they would. The time for such obligation has not 
yet come, and in ninety- nine cases out of one hundred, ambitious girls, who 
like a man well enough for himself, suppress their feelings and give him the. 
go-by, if this be the prospect in life that he holds out " for better or for worse." 
It is, unfortunately, not altogether a prejudice that thus influences young wo- 
men against the farm, or rather it is the natural prejudgment of their own fate 
from the facts in farmers' wives' experiences with which they are themselves 
familiar. 

Undoubtedly the greatest improvement in farming life now needed con- 
sists in greater comforts and conveniences for farmers' wives. The farmer him- 
self has all sorts of labor-saving machinery. The wife often has to do with 
only the same conveniences provided for her mother and grandmother before 
her. As social duties become more exacting her time and leisure are less than 
formerl}-. Children on the farm do not "rough it" as much as they used to. 
Just all the difference in their appearance marks so much the greater care 
thrown upon the mother. It is more difficult than formerly to get good help 
in the house in the country. Girls who work in private families prefer city life. 
They, too, had rather find a beau among the young men in some city avoca- 
tion than on a farm. Now, as far as possible, a farmer should make his wife's 
work proportionately as easy as his own, or he .should quit the business if sat- 
isfied that this cannot be done. Usually the hardest jobs in the house may be 
saved by a little timely thoughtfulness on the part of the husband and men 
folks. Having a good supply of wood or other fuel in a convenient place 
ought to be a requirement from every housewife. So, too, should good hard 
and soft water convenient for use. Many steps may be saved by constructing 
sewage drains to convey slops from the house. This drain should terminate 
in some receptacle at a distance from the house, which, kept disinfected, will 
more than pay its way in providing fertilizers for the farm. 

It is presumed that most farmers' wives have sewing machines. They are 
as great help in the house as mowers and harvesters are on the farm, and may 
be used many more days in the year. The ice-house and creamery should be 
maintained wherever a cow is kept. They make a great saving in the labor of 



2o8 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

caring for milk, and are besides well worth their cost in making more and better 
butter than by the old laborious methods. The ice-cold milk from the creamer 
is an excellent drink for hard working men. With every particle of cream re- 
moved it is as nutritious as it ever was, and its coolness, combined with nutri- 
tion, makes it valuable for a drink to men in the hay and harvest fields. Then, 
too, with plenty of ice it is easy to have ice cream easily, made cheaply and 
better than nine-tenths of what is sold in cities. With beautiful home-grown 
flowers in the dooryard, and perhaps a green-house for them in winter, the 
farmer's wife need ask no odds of her city sisters with equal wealth in the 
pleasures and refinements of life which each may enjoy. 

The trouble with most farmers is that they do not make the most of little 
things where they can easily and cheaply increase the comforts and luxuries of 
life. Lacking these they look with greater envy on the supposed advantages 
of city residents, and of course become discontented and unhappy. If farmers 
asked the advice of their wives more than they do about household arrange- 
ments, and gave them their way in these, the}^ would find the comforts of their 
homes greatly increased thereby. Perhaps then their sons, whom they hope 
to leave as prosperous farmers, would not be deterred from their father's busi- 
ness by their inability to find lovable and intelligent young women willing to 
share such a life with them. 



CHAPTER XIX. 

HISTORY OF FLAT ROCK TOWNSHIP.i 

IN the year 1833, about September, my parents (Jared and Susanna Scofield) 
left Delaware county, N. Y., for the Maumee Valley. We boarded a canal 
boat at Utica, N. Y., on the Erie Canal, which took us to Buffalo; thence by sail 
up Lake Erie. After a tedious journey of several days we arrived at a place 
called Portland (now Sandusky City) east of the mouth of Sandusky River ; 
thence by wagon to Lower Sandusky (now Fremont); thence across to Perrys- 
burg, through what was then called the Black Swamp, which, indeed, was prop- 
erly named. The road is now macadamized, but then was black swamp the 
entire distance. I recollect one day our progress was so slow that we did not 
get far enough to find a place to stay over night without camping in the mud 
and water, and we were without horse feed. We left the wagons, went back 
and stayed at the place we had stayed the night before. After this tedious 

1 Written and contributed for this volume by James E. Scofield, a pioneer of the Maumee Valley, 
from personal recollections, records, and information derived from other early settlers. 




v,'^ 





^ id^O^^t^^ 



Henry County. 209 



journey of several days (thirt\'-one miles) we arrived at Pcrrjsburg-, there 
forded the Maumee River, and went up the north bank to Providence. There 
we camped in a log cabin, without floor or windows, and allowed the teams to 
return to their homes in Portland. 

Our emigrant train consisted of father, mother and seven chiltircn, ft)ur 
boys and three girls, and grandmother ; also Uncle and Aunt Lucinda Morse 
(mother's sister), with two children, a boy and a girl. My father went pro- 
specting (being some acquainted with the country from a visit here the year 
before) with his neice and her husband, Joseph Heath, who also located here 
in the spring of the same year, on the north bank of the river, opposite Girty's 
Island. The remainder of the family remained in camp in regular Indian style, 
hunting and fishing. Game and fish were plenty. Upon my father's return, 
after an absence of a week, we broke camp and embarked on a double pirogue, 
which consisted of two huge trees being dugout in proper shape, with reason- 
abh' thin sides and bottom to make them light as possible, and yet substantial 
enough to endure some hardships, then laid side by side matched together and 
caulked in the seam to prevent leaking. Then " wales '■' were added around 
the top of the sides for poling, or propelling purposes. I believe they had a 
name for the craft to designate it from a pirogue, which is one huge tree dug 
out like a canoe. 

Thus equipped, and under command of Captain Carver, we weighed anchor 
and glided up the placid INIaumee, using poles for power, and arrived late in the 
evening of the same day at Girty's Island, and the residence of Joseph Heath, 
before mentioned. AH the parties were mutually acquainted in the State of 
New York. In this neighborhood I have resided since. On coming up the 
river a fine buck was seen swimming across at some distance above us. Uncle 
Orrin being anxious to have the first deer made a shot, at a long distance, but 
failed to hit him. Shortly after when nearer, father made a better shot, killing 
the deer. Upon arriving at the spot, the water being shallow and full of grass, 
the deer did not sink but was easily pulled into the boat. This was our first 
venison captured in Ohio, or perhaps any other place. It is ni)- first recollec- 
tion of venison. 

At this time (about October, 1833) Napoleon was not known. Not a tree 
was cut. The branches of trees hung over the banks of the river on either 
side all the way up, and indeed, all the way to Defiance, and also Fort Wayne, 
Ind. Now and then were observed small clearings, one of which was that of 
John Patrick, (a pioneer of 1824) three miles east of Napoleon. Another 
owned by widow Bucklin, near the mouth of Turkey Foot Creek; Mr. Gunn's, 
at Prairie du Masque; Samuel Bowers's about one mile west, and Elisha Scrib- 
ner's, off the river farther north. The next clearing west of John Patrick was 
that of Elijah Gunn, a pioneer of 1826, at Girty's Point, opposite of the east 
end of Girty's Island, in (now) Flat Rock township; then Joseph Heath's, op- 



2IO History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

posite the west end of the island, on the north bank of the river. On the 
south bank were Reuben Wait and Amos Cole. The three last named families 
were pioneers of 1833. Then came John Lovvry's plan, up near Snake Town, 
formerly an Indian town on the south bank, opposite the (now) town of Florida ; 
then John Carver, at Snake Town. William Hunter's inn, or hotel, was a 
double log cabin on the north bank (now Florida); Thomas Brown lived a half 
mile east ; William Bovven, who afterward laid out the town of Florida, lived 
on his land. He had a small clearing, as also had Mr. Hunter and Mr. Brown. 
The next clearing, west of Florida, was that of Richard Grimes, on the north 
side of the river and a little back (now the residence of Dr. Gibbons Parry). 
The next on the river bank, in succession, now in Richland township, Defiance 

county, were Mr. Tuttle, Samuel Rohn, Dr. Jonathan Evans, Hively, Isaac 

Brancher and Pierce Evans (near Defiance). On the south bank were Dr. J. 
L. Watkins (in now Flat Rock), Graves (now Richland) and Samuel Kep- 
ler. Then Fort Defiance, at the junction of the Au Glaize and Maumee Rivers. 

Township Organization — Election Records. 

Flat Rock township was organized on the 23d day of May, 1835. The 
records show the election of its first officers of that date. William Bowen and 
Samuel Rohn were judges, and Jared Scofield and Amos Cole, clerks of elec- 
tion. The book shows ten votes polled. Amos Cole was elected justice of the 
peace; John L. Watkins, Richard Grimes and Jared Scofield, trustees; Joseph 
Heath, clerk and constable; William Bowen and George Lowry, overseers of 
the poor; John Lowry and Jesse King, fence viewers; John L. Watkins and 
Elijah Gunn, road supervisors. 

June 22, 1835. Trustees met and divided the township into school dis- 
tricts. Number three included Pleasant township and Marion and Monroe, if 
they had any inhabitants. The records do not show when these townships 
were detached, neither do they show how Richland and Flat Rock were to- 
CTcther, but from memory (as a boy fifteen years old), the election was held on 
the bank of the river, on the territory now of Richland, using a hat for the 
ballot box. Some of the voters lived there then, and since to time of their 
decease. 

The first State and county election was held October 13, 1835. John L. 
Watkins, Jared Scofield and Richard Grimes were the judges, and Samuel 
Rohn and William Wait, clerks of said election. Patrick G. Good received 
eight votes for senator, Stacy Taylor five, John E. Hunt, five, and John C. 
Spink, three; Samuel Marshal had five votes for representative; for county 
commissioner, Amos Cole had thirteen, Isaac Brancher, ten, and Jonathan 
Mead, eight votes; for surveyor, John L. Watkins had ten, and Frederick Lord 
two; for sheriff, Samuel Bowers had thirteen; for coroner, William Bowers 
had thirteen; for auditor, Hazael Strong had thirteen; for recorder, John N. 



Henry County 



Evans had thirteen; for prosecuting- attornc}-, I-^cderick Lord had four; for 
treasurer, Israel Wait had twelve, and for county assessor, Willis Wait had 
thirteen votes. 

The first settlement with township ofiicers was held March 7, 1836. Trus- 
tees present, John L. Watkins, Jarcd Scoficld and Richard Grimes. The next 
township election was held April 4, 1836. Jared Scofield, John L. Watkins 
and Richard Grimes were judges, and Joseph Heath and Reuben Wait, clerks. 
Reuben Wait, Jared Scofield and Richard Grimes were elected trustees, and 
Joseph Heath clerk. The following October my father, Jared Scoficld. died, 
which ended his further action in developing this, then, wilderness. 

The second State and county election was held October 11, 1836, with 
twenty-four electors present. For governor, Joseph Vance had seventeen 
votes, and Eli Baldwin seven; for congress, Patrick G. Good had seventeen, and 
James Brown seven; for representative in State legislature, John Holister had 
seventeen votes, and Amos Evans seven ; for county commissioner, John Pat- 
rick had twenty-four votes ; for recorder, Hazael Strong had eighteen votes, and 
John Glass six. From this record it would seem that the Whigs were in the 
ascendancy. (A much different state of affairs now exists.) From my recol- 
lection the persons receiving the larger number of votes were all Whigs. The 
Democratic majority over the Republicans will run an e\'en hundred, and per- 
haps a little more at this time (1887). 

The next township election was held April 3, 1837. Sixteen electors were 
present. Reuben Wait, Richard Grimes and Jesse King were elected trustees ; 
Joseph A. Brewer, clerk; William Bowen, treasurer; for school examiner, 
Wm. C. Brownell had fifteen votes, Isaac P. Whipple sixteen, and Reuben 
sixteen. The record does not show how the tie vote was settled. The next 
State and county election was held October 10, 1837, with thirty-two electors 
present. For State senator, John Patterson had twenty-one votes, and Curtis 
Bates eleven ; for representative, George W. Crawford had twenty-one, and 
Parley Carlan eleven; for county commissioners, Isaac Brancher had twenty- 
two, and James Magill eight; for treasurer, Israel Wait had twenty-two, and 
John Glass, five ; for auditor, John Powell had twenty-one and Frederick Lord 
eleven ; for sheriff", Alexander Craig had nineteen votes, and Henry Leonard 
twelve; for coroner, John B. Rundel had twenty-one, and Joseph Heath ten ; 
for prosecuting attorney, William D. Barry had ten, and Frederick Lord twen- 
ty-one ; for assessor, Adolphus Patrick had eleven, and Willis Wait twenty-one. 

The next township election was held April 2, 1838." Reuben Wait, Rich- 
ard Grimes and Jesse King were elected trustees, and William C. Brownell 
clerk. At this election William C. Brownell, Richard Grimes and Amos Cole 
were elected school land trustees. On the lOth day of May, 183S, Amos Cole 
was elected justice of the peace for a second term, and John B. Kundel for a 
first term, making two ju.stices in the township. 



212 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

The next State and county election was held October 9, 1838. Number of 
electors present, 25. For governor, Joseph Vance had 14 votes, and Wilson 
Shannon 11 ; Congress, Patrick G. Good had 14, William Sawyer 11 ; State 
senator, John Hollister 14, and Curtis Bates ii ; representative, William Tay- 
lor had 14, and Perley Carlin ii ;. county commissioner, Jonathan F. Evans 
12, and Henry Leonard 13 ; surveyor. William C. Brownell 24, Frederick 
Lord I. 

The next township election was held April i, 1839. Reuben Wait, Rich- 
ard Grimes and Jesse King were elected trustees, and Wm. C. Brownell, clerk ; 
William Bowen, treasurer, and Jacob Barnhart, justice of the peace, in place of 
John B. Rundel, deceased. 

The next State and county election was held October 8, 1839. For State 
senator, John E. Hunt had 17 votes, and Jonathan Taylor 14; representative, 
Moses McNelly had 16, and William Taylor 14; sheriff, Alexander Craig had 
22, and William D. Barry 5 ; treasurer, John Patrick 16, and Samuel Bowers, 
14; auditor, John Powell 16, and Lorenzo L. Patrick 12; commissioner, John 
Knapp 14, and David Edwards 14; assessor, Benjamin B. Abell 17, and Will- 
iam C. Brownell 14; recorder, Hazael Strong 21, and John Glass 3 ; coroner, 
Joseph Heath 18, and John Patrick 10. On the second day of March, 1840, 
George A. Young, a citizen of T. 3, N. R. 6, E. (now Pleasant township), pre- 
sented a petition signed by citizens of that part of territory of Flat Rock town- 
ship, praying to be set off in a separate school district, known as No. 4, to in- 
clude No. 3 north of ranges 6 and 7, east (now Pleasant and Marion town- 
ships), which was granted ; also, at the same time, altered that part of school 
districts Nos. 2 and 3, as originally divided, as follows : All of No. 3, in Flat 
Rock township (T. 4. north of range 6, east), to be included in No. 3 ; also to 
include all of No. 4, north, range 7, east (now Monroe township). This left 
Nos. I and 3, all on the north side of the river, in No. 4, north of range 6, east, 
which has ever since remained in Flat Rock township. 

The next township election was held April 6, 1840. Reuben Wait, Jesse 
King and Richard Grimes were elected trustees; Isaac Bowen, treasurer. The 
records for federal, State and county election do not appear on the minutes 
for this year. The writer of this chapter was attending school at Lancaster, 
Fairfield county, O., that summer. There he saw General William H. Har- 
rison, candidate for president on the Whig ticket, and Colonel Richard M. 
Johnson, candidate on the Democrat ticket for vice-president; also Thomas 
Corwin, candidate for governor of Ohio, and Hon. William Allen, since mem- 
ber of Congress from that portion of Ohio, and governor of the State, and 
many other leading politicians of that day. 

The next township election was held April 6, 1840. Trustees elected, Reu- 
ben Wait, Jesse King and Richard Grimes ; clerk, William Wait ; treasurer, 
Isaac Bowen. P'or the first time, G. A. Young, a citizen of the territory of 



Henry County. 213 



(now) Pleasant township, was elected supervisor of road district No. 4. The 
records do not show when this road district was created. Road districts Nos. 
I, 2 and 3, were in existence some time before this, and, at this election, 
George Luciobel was elected for district No. i ; William Miller for No. 2, and 
Isaac P. Whipple for No. 3 ; overseers of the poor, Isaac Bowen and Washing- 
ton Lo\vr\- ; fence \ie\vers, Addison Goodyear, C\tus Howard and Jesse 
King; constables, Adam Stout and Henr)' Hanks. 

The next township election was held April 5, 1841. Richard Grimes, Jesse 
King and Amos Cole were elected trustees, and David Harley, clerk ; treas- 
urer, Isaac Bowen ; overseers of the poor, David Harley and Cyrus Howard. 
On Ma\' 21, Cyrus Howard was elected justice of the peace at a special elec- 
tion. 

The next election was held April 4, 1842. School land trustees, John 
Lowry, Amos Cole and Isaac P. Whipple ; trustees of township, Cyrus How- 
ard, David Harley and William Wait; clerk, George W. Patterson; assessor, 
William C. Brownell ; treasurer, Isaac Bowen. The records do not show State 
and county election. 

The next township election was held April 3, 1843. Cyrus Howard, Wash- 
ington Lowry and Adam Stout were elected trustees; George W. Patterson^ 
clerk; treasurer, Isaac Bowen; assessor, Andrew Rundel. 

The next annual township election was held April i, 1844. Amos Cole, 
Robert Newell and Reuben Wait were elected trustees; Jared McCarty, clerk; 
Andrew Rundel, assessor ; Cyrus Howard, treasurer. The latter did not qual- 
ify, and Lyman Back was appointed by the trustees to fill the vacancy. Cyrus 
Howard was also elected justice of the peace, at this election, but did not 
qualify, and, on the 22d day of June, 1844, Amos Cole was elected to fill the 
vacancy. 

At the next annual election, held April 7, 1845, Reuben Wait, Amos Cole 
and Robert Newell were elected trustees ; Jared McCarty, clerk ; Daniel A. 
Blodget, treasurer; Amos Cole, assessor. 

The next annual township election was held April 6, 1846. Robert Newell, 
Reuben W'ait and Lemuel Sapp were elected trustees ; Gibbons Parr\-, clerk ; 
Daniel Blodget, treasurer, and Jared McCarty, assessor. 

The next annual election for township was held April 5, 1847. Amos 
Cole was elected justice of the peace ; Robert Newell, Amos Cole and ICIijah 
Gunn, trustees ; Lyman Back, clerk ; Adam Stout, treasurer, and James E. 
Scofield, assessor. 

The next annual election was held April 6, 1848. Lyman Back was elected 
justice of the peace ; Emanuel Barnhart, David Harley and Amos Cole, trus- 
tees ; Andrew J. Scofield, clerk; Adam Stout, treasurer, and James E. Sco- 
field, assessor. 

The next annual election was held April 2, 1849. Emanuel Barnhart, Ivli- 



214 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

jah Carr and David Harley were elected trustees ; Andrew J. Scofield, clerk ; 
Adam Stout, treasurer, and James E. Scofield, assessor. 

The next annual election was held April i, 1850. Emanuel Barnhart, Eli- 
jah Carr and Amos Cole were elected trustees ; J. C. McCracken, clerk ; Adam 
Stout, treasurer, and Charles G. Shull, assessor ; also, Elijah Carr was elected 
justice of the peace. On June 25, Lyman Back resigned his office of justice of 
the peace, and Jonathan Cook was elected to fill the vacancy, October 8, 1850. 

The next annual election for township officers was held April 7, 185 1. 
Amos Cole, Elijah Carr and John Brubaker were elected trustees ; Adam 
Stout, treasurer ; Charles G. Shull, assessor, and J. C. McCracken, clerk. 

The next annual township election was held April 5, 1852. Amos Cole, 
John Brubaker and Elijah Carr were elected trustees ; treasurer, Adam Stout ; 
clerk, George W. Waterman, and assessor, James E. Scofield. 

The next annual election was held April 4, 1853. Amos Cole, Elijah Carr 
and John Brubaker were elected trustees ; George W. Waterman, clerk ; Eman- 
uel Barnhart, treasurer and assessor. 

The next was held April 3, 1854. Amos Cole, John Brubaker and Jere- 
miah Huston were elected trustees ; George W. Waterman, clerk ; R. K. Scott, 
assessor, and James E. Scofield, treasurer. This year the election for State 
and county officers appears again, and was held October 10, 1854. For rep- 
resentative in Congress, Richard Mott received 90 votes ; Henry S. Com- 
mager, 28 ; Joseph R. Swan, 85, and Shepard F. Norris 35, for judge of State 
Supreme Court. Board of Public Works, Jacob Blickensderfer, 87, and Alex- 
ander P. Miller 33 ; probate judge, Hazael Strong 78, and Harvey Allen 42 ; 
county clerk, George B. Pfeifer St,, and Asa H. Tyler, 37 ; sheriff", William 
Durbin yy, and Henry N. Low 42 ; surv^eyor, William H. Brownell 84, and 
Charles Hornung 33 ; commissioner, James E. Scofield 81, and Ward Wood- 
ward 35. Whole number of votes polled 120. At that time the people were 
dividing some in politics, caused largely by Congress agitating the slavery 
question ; the persons receiving the majority vote being Whigs, except two of 
the commissioners, both of whom belonged to the Democratic party. James 
E. Scofield, the Republican member of the board, was wavering, and voted for 
Richard Mott, which undoubtedly caused his Whig friends to give him a good 
vote. The vote .shows that something did it. 

The next annual township election was held April 2, 1855. Amos Cole, 
John Brubaker and Jeremiah Huston were elected trustees ; George VV. Water- 
man, clerk ; Isaac Karsner, treasurer, and Robert K. Scott, assessor. On the 
third day of March, 1856, James E. Scofield was appointed clerk to fill vacancy 
caused by G. W. Waterman's removing from the township. 

The next annual election for township officers was held April 7, 1856. 
James E. Scofield was elected justice of the peace ; Amos Cole, John Brubaker 
and Jeremiah Huston, trustees ; Robert K. Scott, clerk ; Matthias Diemer, as- 



Henry County. 



215 



sessor, and Isaac Karsner, treasurer. James IC. Sccifield was contiiuied clerk 
by appointment, as R. K. Scott did not qualify. 

The next annual election was held April 6, 1857. Amos Cole, John l^ru- 
baker and Henry R. Andrews were elected trustees; Isaac Karsner. treasurer; 
Milton Stout, assessor, and James E. Scofield, clerk. 

The next annual election for township officers was held April 5, 1858. 
John A. Vincent was elected justice of the peace ; Amos Cole, H. R. Andrews 
and John Brubaker, trustees ; James E. Scofield, clerk ; Isaac Karsner, treas- 
urer, and Henry Banks, assessor. 

The next annual township election was held Aj)ril 4, 1 859. Amos Cole, 
H. R. Andrews and Joiin Brubaker were elected trustees ; James K. Scofield, 
clerk; R. K. Scott, treasurer, and Henry Banks, assessor; James K. Scofield, 
justice of the peace. 

The next annual township election was held April 2, i860. Amos Cole, 
Henry R. Andrews and John Brubaker were elected trustees ; James E. Sco- 
field, clerk; George W. Armund, treasurer; Matthias Diemer, assessor. 

The next annual township election was held April i. 1861. Henry R. 
Andrews, Amos Cole and John Brubaker were elected trustees; James E. Sco- 
field, clerk ; George W. Armund, treasurer, and Henry Banks, assessor. John 
A. Vincent was also elected justice of the peace. 

The next annual election was held April 7, 1862. Henry R. Andrews, 
John Brubaker and John Knipp were elected trustees ; James E. Scofield, 
clerk ; Isaac Karsner, treasurer, and Henry Banks, assessor; James E. Scofield 
was also elected justice of the peace (his own successor), receiving all the votes 
polled, 81 ; and 137 out of 142 for clerk. 

The next annual election, April 6, 1863. John Knipp, Henry R. Andrews 
and Joseph Bachman were elected trustees; James E. Scofield, clerk ; Isaac 
Karsner, treasurer (being his own successor without opposition ; as also was 
James E. Scofield, clerk). Curtis L. Morse, assessor. 

The next annual election was held April 4, 1864. John Knipp, Henry R. 
Andrews and John Brubaker were elected trustees ; Isaac Karsner, treasurer ; 
John A. Vincent, clerk, and George Schneider, assessor ; also, John A. Vincent, 
justice of the peace, being his own successor. The minutes do not show who 
was the successor of James E. Scofield, resigned, and moved out of the town- 
ship temporarily, which event, to his knowledge, occurred the 24th day of 
February in the year 1864. He resigned, both as clerk and justice of the 
peace, and also postmaster at Florida. 

James E. Scofield was assistant postmaster at l-'lorida in the year 1850. In 
July, of that year, Lyman Back, the postmaster, died, leaving the office inSco- 
field's possession. Shortly after this time the latter was appointed postmaster 
and remained such until after the nomination of James Buchanan, for president, 
in 1856. This official refused to support Mr. Buchanan, in consequence of 



2i6 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

which his " head went into the basket," and Henry Andrews was appointed 
his successor. Mr. Andrews remained a year or two, when he, too, was de- 
posed, and Isaac Karsner was appointed his successor. Shortly after the elec- 
tion of Abraham Lincoln, in i860, Mr. Karsner turned the office over to Sco- 
field, as assistant, and, after the inauguration of President Lincoln, in 1861, the 
latter was appointed postmaster, and remained as §uch until his resignation, in 
February, 1864, leaving in charge John A. Vincent, who was shortly after- 
ward appointed to fill the vacancy. In 1833 there was no post-office nearer 
than Defiance, but one was established in about 1834, called McLean, after 
John McLean, the postmaster-general. Jared Scofield and Isaac P. Whipple, 
his brother-in-law, were both candidates for postmaster, which was amicably 
settled between them, and Isaac P. Whipple became the appointee, this being 
the first post-office in the township, and perhaps the first one in the territory 
of Henry county. Mail was received about once each month, carried on horse- 
back, by John Omens, as near as can be ascertained. This post-office was situ- 
ated about one mile east of the present town of Folrida. 

Florida was laid out about this time, or soon after, by William Bowen, 
who recorded tw^enty-four lots on the Williams county records. The records 
of Henry county being destroyed in the year 1847, by the burning of the 
court-house, left Florida without any available plat. About 1872 it became 
necessary for some cause, to search for records of some lots and corners in dis- 
pute, and it was found that none of the lot lines and alleys would correspond 
with others. Owing to this unfortunate state of affairs, many and serious com- 
plications and disputes arose, but the surveyor had, fortunately, recourse to 
the records of Williams county, to which Henry county was formerly attached, 
where he found the original twenty-four lots there recorded. An application 
was made to the Legislature for a special act for replatting the town, which was 
granted in the winter of 1873, but it was found that no law authorizing such 
an act existed, and therefore the act was made general. By that act the com- 
missioners of Henry county appointed the writer to re-survey and plat Florida, 
which was done. About the year 1865 or '66, a post-office was established and 
called Okolona, and Mr. Scofield was appointed postmaster and remained as 
such until about January, 1872, when John H. Benson, who succeeded to the 
business of the former incumbent, was appointed. 

The next election for the township offices was held April 8, 1865. Henry 
R. Andrews, John Brubaker and John Knipp were elected trustees; Isaac 
Karsner, treasurer ; John A. Vincent, clerk, and George Schneider, assessor. 

The next annual election was held April 2, 1866. Henry Andrew, John 
Brubaker and John Knipp were elected trustees; Isaac Karsner, treasurer; 
John A. Vincent, clerk ; and George Schneider, assessor. At this election 
John A. Vincent failed to qualify, and Andrew J. Scofield was appointed April 
2i.st by John Knipp and H. R. Andrew (two of trustees) to fill vacancy. Da- 



Hknrv C(R'\tv 



217 



vid Smith was also elected justice of the peace at this election. On May 26, 
1866, an order was received from the probate judge for an additional justice 
of the peace, and on the 12th day of June, 1886, M. V. B. McKinney was 
elected. On the 9th day of October, 1866, Jerome Thayer was elected justice 
of the peace. The next annual township election was held April i, 1867. 
Henry R. Andrew, John Brtibaker and John Kiiipp were elected trustees; An- 
drew J. Scofield, clerk ; Henry L Wea\er, treasurer ; George Schneider, asses- 
sor ; Andrew J. Scofield was also elected justice of the peace. 

The next annual township election was held April 6, 1868, John Knipp 
John Brubaker and Henry R. Andrew were elected trustees ; Joseph Ice, clerk ; 
Henry L. Weaver, treasurer, and George Schneider, assessor. 

The next annual election was held April 5, 1869. John Brubaker, Henry R. 
Andrew and John Knipp were elected trustees ; Andrew J. Scofield, clerk ; 
Henry L. Weaver, treasurer, and William Kemmer, assessor. On the 12th day 
of October, 1869, Elias Parker was elected justice of the peace, and James E. 
Scofield land appraiser. 

The next annual township election was held April 4, 1870. John Brubaker, 
John Knipp and Henry R. Andrew, trustees; Andrew J. Scofield, clerk; 
Henry L. Weaver treasurer, and William Kemmer, assessor. Andrew J. Sco- 
field was also elected justice of the peace on the same day. 

The next annual election was held April 3, 1871. John Brubaker, John 
Knipp and Henry R. Andrew were elected trustees; Andrew J. Scofield, clerk* 
Henry L. Weaver, treasurer ; William Kemmer, assessor. 

The next annual election was held April i, 1872. James E. Scofield, 
George Hoffman and John Brinkman were elected trustees ; Andrew J. Sco- 
field, clerk; Henry L. Weaver, treasurer, and William Kemmer, assessor. 

The next annual election was held April 7, 1873. John Brinkman, George 
Bortz and John Brubaker were elected trustees ; Andrew J. Scofield, clerk ; 
Henry L. Weaver, treasurer ; William Kemmer, assessor. At the same elec- 
tion Newton S. Cole and William J. Barr were elected justices of the peace. 

The next annual election was held April 6, 1874. John Brinkman, George 
Bortz and Martin Lowry were elected trustees ; Joseph Weibel, clerk ; Frede- 
erick Loenhart, treasurer, and William H. Stockman, assessor. 

The next annual election for township officers was held April 5, 1875. 
Martin Lowry, John Brinkman and George Bortz were elected trustees ; 
Frederick Loenhart, treasurer ; Joseph Weibel, clerk, and William Kemmer, 
assessor. 

The next annual township election April 3, 1876. John J^rinkman, Mar- 
tin Lowry and George B. Rettig were elected trustees ; Joseph Weibel, clerk ; 
Lewis F. Richholt treasurer, and William Kemmer assessor. 

The next annual election was held April 2, 1877. John Brinkman, Martin 
Lowry and George B. Rettig were elected trustees ; Lewis F. Richholt, treas- 
urer ; Joseph Weibel, clerk, and William Kemmer, assessor. 2s 



2i8 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

The next election for township officers was held April i, 1878. John 
Brinkman, George B. Rettig and Martin Lowry were elected trustees ; Lewis 
F. Richholt, treasurer ; Andrew J. Scofield, clerk, and William Kemmer, as- 
sessor. 

The next township election was held April 7, 1879. John Brinkman, 
George B. Rettig and James E. Scofield were elected trustees ; Joseph Weibel, 
clerk ; Lewis F. Richholt, treasurer, and William Kemmer, assessor. At this 
election Joseph Weibel and Abraham Huff" were elected justices of the peace. 

The next annual election for township officers was held April 5, 1880. 
James E. Scofield, George B. Rettig and John Brinkman were elected trustees; 
Joseph Weibel, clerk ; Lewis F. Richholt, treasurer, and William Kemmer, as- 
sessor. 

The next annual election for township officers was held April 4, 1881. John 
Brinkman, James E. Scofield and George B. Rettig were elected trustees ; Jo- 
seph Weibel, clerk; Lewis F. Richholt, treasurer, and William Kemmer, as- 
sessor. 

The next annual election for township officers was held April 3, 1 882. Frede- 
rick Nischwitz, George B. Rettig and James E. Scofield were elected trustees; 
John W. Long, clerk ; Lewis F. Richholt, treasurer, and Abraham Hough, 
assessor. Also at this election James E. Scofield and Abraham Hough were 
elected justices of the peace. The next annual election for township officers 
was held April 2, 1883. Frederick Nischwitz, William Art and William N. 
Brubaker were elected trustees ; Frederick B. Loenhart, treasurer ; John W. 
Long, clerk, and William H. Dancer, assessor. 

The next was held April 7, 1884. Gotleib F. Rothenberger, John A. 
Knipp and James E. Scofield were elected trustees ; Frederick B. Loenhardt, 
treasurer ; John W. Long, clerk, and Martin V. Brubaker, assessor. 

The next election was held April 6, 1885. James E. Scofield was elected 
justice of the peace ; John A. Knipp, Conrad C. Groll and James E. Scofield, 
trustees ; F. B. Loenhardt, treasurer ; John W. Long, clerk, and William E. 
Decker, assessor. 

The next April 5, 1886, Conrad C. Groll was elected trustee for three 
years ; G. F. Rothenberger for two years, and Philip Huston for one year ; F. 
B. Loenhardt, treasurer ; John W. Long, clerk, and Martin V. Brubaker, as- 
sessor. 

The next minutes of election do not appear on the books, but the meetings 
of the trustees for the qualification of the officers elected was held April 11, 
1887. The trustees of Flat Rock township met April 11, 1887, for the pur- 
pose of qualifying officers for the respective offices to which they had been 
elected as follows ; James E. Scofield, trustee for three years ; Conrad C. 
Groll two years, and Gotleib F. Rothenberger one year ; Frederick Loenhardt, 
treasurer, one year ; John W. Long clerk, i year ; Peter Kemmer assessor, 



Henry County. 219 



one year; Joseph H. Rennicker, and Sanuicl Travis constables, one year each ; 
Henry Egler, supervisor road district No. i, one year; Christian Baur, No. 2; 
Wilh'am Rush, No. 4; John Sell, No. 5 ; Peter Loenhart, No. 6; John Cur- 
rans, No. 7 ; Jacob Brecheisen, No. 8 ; Charles Crossman, No. 9; C. H. Wes- 
lenhausen, No. 10, and Frederick Kemmer No. i i ; Henry J. Kesler, justice 
of the peace, three years, and James E. Scofield yet to serve one year. Road 
district No. 3 has been recently attached to No. i, therefore no supervisor of 
that district was elected, but it is in charge of No. i. 

The reader will see that the growth of this county has been rapid when he 
considers that only three road districts existed at the commencement, and the 
territory comprised four original surveyed townships — Flat Rock, Pleasant, 
Marion and Monroe — twelve miles square, which will appear separately written 
in this work. Each now has its own road districts, and good farms along their 
roads ; but formerly it was a wilderness, the haunt of wolves, bear, deer, wild 
turkeys and frogs. No pen picture can make the reader realize the change 
that this region has undergone. In all this territory were only a few inhabi- 
tants, and they settled along the river in the original survey (Flat Rock town- 
ship), within a distance of about three miles, and the land they tilled would 
not equal a section (640 acres) of territory. Now good farms and roads are all 
over this territory. Flat Rock township, six miles square, contains eleven 
road districts and good roads. 

Florida, the first village in the township and county, is situated on the 
Miami and Erie Canal and Maumee River, and here the township records are 
kept, and township business done. Its early business men have passed away. 
Many are dead ; some have removed, and a few are yet living here. Adam 
Stout, Lyman Back and Jared McCarty, the last two under the firm name of 
Back & McCarty (all deceased) were its first permanent merchants. There 
were a few others at the commencement of digging the canal — Adam Stout 
as early as 1840, and Back & McCarty about the autumn of 1842. About 
1846 Back & McCarty dissolved partnership, Mr. McCarty retiring. Mr. 
Back continued the business until his death, in 1850, and Mr. Stout until about 
1852, when he sold to Emanuel Barnhart and Isaac Karsner, who continued 
the business for a time, when they dissolved, Mr. Barnhart retiring. Mr. Kars- 
ner continued for some years, when he sold to Dr. Robert K. Scott. 1 )rf 
Scott sold out to Mr. Karsner, and removed to Napoleon and associated him- 
self with S. M. Heller, then in business at that place. Mr. Karsner continued 
the business until about the close of the war, when he took as partner his step- 
son, Captain Washington \V. Bowen. This firm was of short duration, when 
the firm name was again changed to Weaver & Viers, Dr. Henry L. W'eaver 
and Ezra Viers having purchased the stock of goods. This also was a short- 
lived firm, Mr. Viers selling to Mr. Karsner, when the firm name became 
Weaver & Karsner, and continued until about 1875, when it again changed to 



History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 



Isaac Karsner & Son. This firm continued to perhaps about 1879, when they 
closed their business entirely, leaving the house out of business. About this 
time, or before, S. M. Heller & Co., of Napoleon, opened a branch store in the 
building erected by Tuttle & Egler, and continued the business for a time 
when they removed their goods and left the village. About 1869 Andrew 
Tuttle, of Defiance, and Jacob Egler erected a store building on the present 
site of John Dancer & Son's storeroom, and opened a stock of dry goods, 
groceries, boots and shoes, etc., under the firm name Tuttle & Egler. About 
1 87 1 Mr. Egler sold his interest to E. Y. King. Shortly after Mr. Tuttle 
sold to Miner Ice. Shortly after Mr. Ice sold to David F. Brubaker, and the 
store was continued for a time by King & Brubaker, when the latter retired 
and Mr. King became sole proprietor. Shortly after this Mr. King closed out 
entirely and went to Harvey county, Kan., and engaged in farming. About 
this same time George C. Weaver opened a stock of dry goods, groceries, 
boots and shoes, queensware, etc., in the old building of Isaac Karsner & Son, 
where he continued to the time of his death, in April, 1881, when John Dan- 
cer bought the stock and removed it to the old stand of E. Y. King. After 
having erected a new building in place of the former, which was destroyed 
by fire, the business was continued for a time under the firm name of John 
Dancer & Son, the son, William H. Dancer, being the partner. This firm was 
succeeded by John W. Long and Andrew Tuttle, under firm name of Long & 
Tuttle, by whom the purchased goods were removed to their newly repaired 
building which they yet occupy. This firm is doing an extensive business in 
dry goods and groceries, boots and shoes, besides buying grain of all kinds, 
and selling agricultural machinery. Long & Tuttle bought and repaired two 
of the old warehouses and storerooms occupied in earlier times when the canal 
was doing a lively business, and until the railroads were built on either side, 
the Wabash first, then the Baltimore and Ohio. This firm have repaired two 
of these buildings — one a commodious storeroom and the other a warehouse, 
in which they have placed an engine for elevating grain and shelling corn. 
Their grain business this year w^ill amount to about forty-five thousand bushels 
of wheat, besides barley, rye, corn and oats. 

In the year 1850 James E. Scofield engaged in the mercantile business at 
Florida, which was of short duration, when he took a partner in the person of 
George W. Waterman, under the firm name of Scofield & Waterman. They 
erected an ashery, and ran it in connection with their other trade. The firm 
soon dissolved, Mr. Waterman taking the ashery, and Mr. Scofield the store. 
Mr. Waterman added an oven for pearl-ash, which he continued for some time, 
wlien he closed out and removed to Hutchinson, Kan., but was, during or 
since the war, in South Carolina with his brother-in-law. Governor R. K. 
Scott, in the raih'oad business. Mr. Scofield continued in the dry goods and 
grain business up to about 1 85 2, when he sold his goods to Barnhart & Kars- 



Henry County. 221 



ncr, but continued in his storeroom, selling drugs and medicines. On Vch- 
ruar\- 24, 1 864, he went to Oakland Station (now Okolona), on the Wabash 
Railroad, in Napoleon township. 

In about the autumn of 1849 David Harley erected the storeroom now 
known as the old school-house, and engaged in merchandising, which he con- 
tinued for a time when he sold the building to the school directors, the)- con- 
verting it into a school- house. 

In about 1852 John and Jacob Frease bought, at administrator's sale of the 
estate of L}'man Back, the plank warehouse and storeroom combined, erected 
by him just before his death in 1850. They put in it a stock of t^oods usually 
kept in a first-class country store. It was placed in charge of George P'rease. 
This firm sold their stock of goods to David Harley and F. A. Woodward, and 
removed to Napoleon. The new firm of Harley & Woodward continued the 
business in all its parts for a time, when C. K. Woodward bought Mr. Harley's 
interest. Soon after this John J. Stockman bought the warehouse and store- 
room, when the old firm removed their goods to a small storeroom in the 
house now occupied by Long &Tuttle. The storeroom at that time was much 
smaller than now, it having since been remodeled and enlarged by the latter 
firm. The firm of Woodward Brothers continued for a time, when they closed 
out, C. K. Woodward returning to his farm in Liberty township, and F. A. 
Woodward and David Harley moving to Napoleon, where they again engaged 
in merchandising. Some time after this, about 1865, John J. Stockman opened 
a store in the plank warehouse, of which he was now the owner, and continued 
the business, together with grain buying, for a time, when he took a partner 
in the person of Joseph Ice. This firm continued for a time, when William H., 
a son of the elder Stockman, became the partner, which latter firm was con- 
tinued up to the death of John J. Stockman, when the entire stock of goods 
was closed out at administrator's sale. Since that time there has been nothing 
of any importance in the old plank warehouse. A hardware slock of small 
amount was continued there for a time, supposed to be the property of W. H. 
Stockman, but the store was in charge of W. T. Faucet, neither of which per- 
sons are now residents. The business now being generally closed along the 
canal, the little village of Florida began to decline. The probable cause of 
this may not be out of place. The firm of Smith & Scofield, at Oakland Sta- 
tion, on the Wabash Railroad, north of Florida, drew largely from all the former 
patrons of the place, and, moreover, the county seat. Napoleon, had grown 
since 1835, a»d down to 1850 in more than double proportions, and became a 
natural trading center to which the farming people were glad to resort. The 
Wabash road went into operation about 1852. It passed about two miles 
north of the town, and w here once had been the most flourishing village of the 
county, there was nothing but a way station on the old canal, which, too. had 
practically gone into disuse. Many business men left about this time, of com- 



222 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

pletion of the Wabash Railroad. About twelve or fourteen years later the 
the Baltimore & Ohio Railroad was finished, passing the town on the south, 
and Holgate, a new town on that road, cut the trade again. Florida, however,, 
has not become wholly depopulated. The country in the vicinity contains 
many fine farms, and the village still holds some small trade. The village is 
pleasantly situated on the river in the northwest part of Flat Rock township, 
and contains some two hundred and fifty inhabitants. It has had some manu- 
facturing industries. David Harley, a contractor on the canal during its con- 
struction, shortly afterward erected a saw- mill on the present site of the 
flouring-mill of J. E. Klingelhofer. To this was added one run of stone for 
flouring and grinding corn. This was the first grist-mill in Henry county 
after its organization in 1835. Isaac Karsner was foreman in the mill for a 
time. It afterward became the property of Gibbons Parry and Isaac Karsner, 
under the firm name of Karsner & Parry. This continued for a time when 
Daniel Fribley and Peters Gibbons were added to the firm, and Mr. Karsner 
retired and went to merchandising. The firm name then changed to Parry, 
Gibbons & Fribley, who in about 1856, erected the flouring-mill now owned 
by J. E. Klingelhofer. This mill had two heavy run of stone, together with 
the light ones in the old mill. This firm remained until about i860, when it 
dissolved, Dr. Parry retiring, and Mr. Fribley selling His interest in the saw- 
mill, but retained it in the flouring-mill, of which he became sole proprietor. 
Austin F. Gitchel became a partner with Peters Gibbons. They entirely 
rebuilt the saw-mill. The firm name became Gibbons & Gitchel, which was 
continued until choice timber was scarce and portable mills became frequent, 
after which it went into disuse and decay. But little of it is now left, only the 
flume which supplies the flouring-mill. About 1865 the flouring-mill passed 
into the hands of John Spangler and David Boor, of Defiance. This firm re- 
mained for a time when Mr. Boor sold his interest to Alfred Elkins, and the 
firm then changed to Elkins & Spangler. After a short time Mr. Elkins be- 
came sole proprietor and continued up to his death, in March, 1881, he being 
killed in the mill. His widow, with her two sons, John and Newton Elkins, 
continued the business for a time, when it was sold to Sigg & Klingelhofer, 
under whom it was quite extensively repaired. In 1886 it passed to J. E. 
Klingelhofer, Mr. Sigg retiring. J.|E. Klingelhofer, the present enterprising 
owner, had all the old machinery taken out and replaced with full roller pro- 
cess, second to none in northwestern Ohio. 

Florida, being located in the center of a large grain growing country, with 
a good flouring-mill, for sale and custom work, will add materially to its present 
trade. Mr. K. intends manufacturing flour for shipment, which will give em- 
ployment in winter when the canal is closed. The first physician of the vil- 
lage was Dr. John L. Watson. He was here on a farm in the woods, on the 
south side of, and up the river from Florida. Whether a graduate is not 
known, but it is presumed that he was, as he was a man of excellent education. 



Henry County. 223 



About 1842 Dr. George W. Patterson located in Florida and practiced for 
some years, when he moved away. In 1840 Dr. Gibbons Parry located at 
Independence, some five miles above F'lorida. His practice extended to this 
point, and further east along the canal, then in course of construction. Shortly 
after he removed to Florida, where he has since remained. He obtained a 
lucrative practice, and now lives on his farm a little out of town, enjoying the 
fruits of his well spent life, and is aged over eighty years. There were sev- 
eral other physicians, but of short residence, man\' of whose names are forgot- 
ten by the present inhabitants. 

In about i860 Drs. Henry L. Weaver and Abraham McKinney located 
here and commenced practice under the firm name of Weaver & McKinney. 
They remained for a time, when a dissolution occurred, Dr. Weaver retiring, 
and went to merchandising. Dr. McKinney continued for a time, when he 
removed to Defiance, and i.s yet in practice. About 1866 Dr. Tyler located 
here and practiced, but soon returned to Napoleon. About 1872, Dr. J. M. 
Stout came here and practiced and Dr. H. L. Weaver became associated with 
him. This firm practiced for a time, when Dr. Weaver returned, went into 
other business, and Dr. Stout moved to Holgate. where he is yet in practice. 
About 1876 Dr. Albert M. Pherson located at Florida, and yet continues in 
his practice. Dr. Stanton E. Miller located here in the spring of 1887. About 
1848 Dr. John L. Arnold located here and practiced in connection with his 
other business (groceries and provisions) together with his farm, which he 
obtained soon after his location. Issac Karsner read medicine with Dr. Gib- 
bons Parry to better prepare himself for the profession, having had some prac- 
tice in earlier days of the country. He practiced in connection with his other 
business for a time, and is yet living in the town, but doing no other business 
than looking after his farm. He is now in the sixty-seventh year of life. 

Among the business interests of Florida not before mentioned, there may 
be named the following: R. A. Wood opened a stock of dry goods and boots 
and shoes, which was continued for a time, and then sold to Jones & Andrew 
(Millet Jones and Calvin R. Andrew). These firms were in the building now 
occupied by Long & Tuttle. The business was, after a few years, closed out, 
Mr. Andrew going to Dakota, and Mr. Jones resumed his trade as a carpenter. 
About 1846 Lyman Back, in connection with his dry goods business on the 
street north of the canal, opened a grocery and feed store for the accommoda- 
tion of the boating people. This was soon followed by Adam Stout and 
others, some adding "fire water " and other beverages for the inner man. The 
saloon business became common, and in fact at one time outranked other 
branches of trade, but with the general^decline these went down, so that there 
is but one saloon in Florida at this time. About 1847 Matthias Diemer and 
Andrew BoUey opened a general boat and feed store, all kinds of groceries and 
provisions, vegetables, including " fire water," and did a prosperous business 



224 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

for some years. Diemer Brothers' business so increased that they were com- 
pelled to add more room, which they did by erecting a new and more commo- 
dious building to accommodate their increasing trade. Boatmen made it a 
point, when going east, to lay in supplies, such as oats, potatoes, cabbage, and 
other commodities for the round trip to Toledo and return, including as much 
water as vessels would hold. Diemer Brothers continued this business until 
about i860, when Jacob Diemer retired and went to Napoleon, and engaged 
in the grocery and saloon business. Matthias Diemer continued in the old 
stand until about 1866, when he sold to Lewis F. Richholt, and went to Na- 
poleon, where he engaged with his brother. Mr. Richholt continued for a 
time in connection with his saloon. When the canal became of little impor- 
tance for trade he purchased the old warehouse of Karsner & Son, remodeled 
it, and engaged in the grain trade both here and at Toledo. He also erected 
a grocery house in town. Mr. Richholt was elected treasurer of Flat Rock 
township three terms. He erected the new school-house in 1882-3, after 
which he closed out and went to Dakota, leaving his treasury bondmen and 
grain creditors to account his folly in grain gambling and the neglect of other 
business. About 1838 Robert Newell engaged in blacksmithing. He was 
the first regular smith in the village, and continued up to his death, in 1851 or 
1852. Peter Sester was the next, who now lives on his farm in Napoleon 
township. William Calhoun, Jacob T. Groshner, William Goldenstar, all fol- 
lowed in the same trade. Frederick Loenhart, John J. Andrew and F. B. 
Loenhart are the present smiths in the village. About 1850 Henry Andrew 
(now deceased), together with his son-in-law, Joseph Rogers, engaged in cab- 
inet work. About 1844 John Truby engaged in wagon making. He was fol- 
lowed by George Hopkins, Jasper H. Smith, Smith & Loenhart, and F. B. 
Loenhart, who yet continues in connection with blacksmithing. The first 
shoemaker of the town w^as Jacob Barnhart, about 1840; the last were Henry 
Harris and D. Rasmus, who are now in that business. The first hotel was 
erected about 1840 by Joseph A. Brewer, but was first used for store pur- 
poses and as an ashery. Mr. Brewer moved away, when the storeroom, with 
additional buildings, was converted into a hotel, and the ashery into stables by 
John B. Rundle, and by him occupied as a hotel. The subsequent propri- 
etors were Hiram Scobel, Dr. Gibbons Parry and William Goldenstar. It was 
finally converted into a dwelling and occupied by different families. This house 
is yet standing and occupied as a dwelling by its owner. The next hotel was 
erected soon after the first, and was occupied by Christian Stoat. Then J. C. 
McCrackin became host; then Joseph Stout. The property was afterward sold 
to George Hopkins, who continued it for a time and called it " White Hall." 
It was again sold to John Dancer for a private dwelling, but eventually be- 
came the property of the M. E. Church society for parsonage and church pur- 
poses. 



Henry County. 225 



In 187 1 this society erected their church on the property. This was the 
first church building in the village. Soon afterward followed the United 
Brethren Church in 1874; then the Evangelical German Reform Church in 
1875. A few years later the German Lutheran society built a brick church 
edifice. These four buildings are neat and substantial edifices sufficient for 
the necessities of their respective societies. Prior to the several church erec- 
tions worship was conducted in private dwellings and school-houses. 

At an early day William Bowen, a devout Methodist, and proprietor of the 
village, donated a portion of his lands for church and school purposes. A 
small frame building was erected by the school authorities and church mem- 
bers and was used by both up to and after the death of Mr. Bowen, when it 
was found that neither had any title in fee simple. The property was deeded 
by the heirs to the school authorities, and was used many years for school and 
church purposes. 

The first post-ofiice at or near Florida was established about 1834, with 
Isaac P. Whipple as postmaster. It remained there until about 1842, when, at 
the death of Mr. Whipple, it was moved to Florida and George W. Patterson 
appointed postmaster. In about two or three years Mr. Patterson left the 
town and Lyman Back became postmaster, and continued as such to the time 
of his death in 1850, when James E. Scofield became his successor. He con- 
tinued to 1856, when he was deposed for refusing to support James Buchanan 
for president, and Henry Andrew became his successor. In about a }'ear Mr. 
Andrew was succeeded by Isaac Karsner. In i860 James E. Scofield became 
Mr. Karsner's assistant and removed the office back to its old quarters. In 
1861 Mr. Scofield was appointed to fill vacancy caused by Mr. Karsner's resig- 
nation, and continued to 1864, w^hen he resigned and removed to the little sta- 
tion of Oakland, on the Wabash railroad (now Okolona) where he again be- 
came postmaster for a term of years, mention of which has been made in this 
chapter. John A. Vincent became his successor at Florida, but soon moved 
away, and Henry L. Weaver became his successor and remained until his resig- 
nation in 1885. John W. Long, the present incumbent, next succeeded to the 
office. It may be well here to mention that during Mr. Weaver's term the 
office was in the hands of an assistant, and at three different locations besides 
the first. 

Early mid Prominent Settlers. — Elijah Gunn, in about 1826, settled on 
what is known in history as " Girty's Point," which contains a large extent of 
as fertile land as is in the State. The Gunn tract is now owned by his heirs 
who reside thereon. Much of this rich and highly productive land, which 
gently rises back from the river at this historic point, and including Girty's 
Island, is owned by different parties, among whom are Leroy Wait, Anthony 
Shultz's heirs, and Henry Boesling. All these farms are under excellent culti- 
vation, having good buildings, rendering them very valuable farming lands. 

29 



226 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

In 1833 Girty's Island was a dense forest with an undergrowth of whortleberry, 
wild grapes, buckeye, and other growth indigenous to the rich soil. On some 
of the small islands surrounding it, grew great quantities of wild onions. The 
smaller islands have disappeared. The larger portion of the main island, con- 
taining about thirty acres, has been somewhat diminished from its original size 
by ice and wash. About one- half is now under cultivation. This island is 
yet the favorite resort of pleasure seekers for recreation. It was commonly 
reported that a cannon was shoved off the foot of the island during the war 
along the Maumee. Some of the boys of 1833-4 have sought for it without 
result, the water at that point being extremely deep. Many relics of warfare 
have been plowed up on the farms adjoining the river, such as sabres, gun- 
barrels and bullets ; also Indian relics such as rings, brooches, buckles, toma- 
hawks, pipes, stone hammers and arrow heads of flint. At that time (1833) 
the Indians were more numerous than the whites, but perfectly civil. They 
had camps near this island on the south bank of the stream, and came each year 
and burned bones at the graves of their deceased friends. The old forest farms 
of Judges Wait and Cole, on the south bank of the river opposite and west of 
this island, are now in the possession of heirs and purchasers, but in a good 
state of cultivation, now having but little woodlands as compared with their 
state fifty years ago. No pen picture can make the reader realize the change 
from then to the present. Among the enterprising residents might be named 
Henry L. Weaver, Ernest Weaver, Joseph Lowry, John A. Andrew, John 
Brinkman, William Goldenstar, Isaac Karsner, Dr. Gibbons Parry, Christian 
Stout, James E. Scofield, John Brubaker and David Brubaker. All of these 
owned and lived on their farms between, 1833 and 1850, except Ernest Weaver, 
John Brinkman and William Goldenstar the latter two having bought improved 
farms. There are many other excellent old farms near Florida, but they are 
mostly owned by farmers that bought already cleared farms from heirs and 
some of the older inhabitants who have removed from the township. Many 
others in the immediate neighborhood and in Richland township, Defiance 
county, contribute liberally to the trade of Florida, which makes it a village of 
much prosperity and likely to remain so in the future. It will grow in number 
of inhabitants as the country and soil is capable of sustaining a population mul- 
tiplied by ten or twenty of its present. The same may be said of the county 
in general, and indeed, of all northwestern Ohio. Flat Rock is one of the best 
" cleared up " townships in the county, containing more of the " old " farms, 
perhaps, than any other section. 



Henry County. 227 



CHAPTER XX. 

HISTORY OF FREEDOM T()\VNSHIP. 

EVERYWHERE we turn we are bewildered by the fire of 1847. Even 
the record of the civil organization of the townships cannot be found. It 
is known, however, that Freedom was one of the first of the five townships 
organized in the territory now composing Henry county; that it, and Napo- 
leon township, in 1840, included nearly, if not all of the said territory north of 
the Maumee River, together with all of Fulton county, which was organized 
in 1850. At that time, with all of its territory, it had a population of only 
one hundred and five. By the organization of Fulton county, there was left 
to Freedom township not even the originally surveyed territory — two tiers of 
sections having been taken from the north and given to Fulton county; and 
there is now left to Freedom township but twenty-four sections of land. Not- 
withstanding this, the township has had a wonderful growth both in population 
and valuation. In 1850 it contained four hundred and sixty souls, and the 
taxable valuation of the property amounted to $27,602. In i860 the popula- 
tion, with greatly diminished territory, was four hundred and fifty and the val- 
uation $71,697. In 1870 the population was eight hundred and twelve, 
and the valuation of land $85,279. In 1880 the census showed twelve hundred 
and thirty-five population, and the land was valued for taxation at $230,480. 

The township is situated in the northern part of Henry county. Is bounded 
on the north by Fulton county, on the east by Liberty township, on the south 
by Napoleon township and on the west by Ridgeville township. The topog- 
raphy is that in common with the balance of the county, level, and the soil ex- 
ceedingly good and fertile. The township is devoid of waterways, with the 
exception of three small creeks, the largest being Napoleon Creek and Ober- 
haus Creek. These traverse nearly the whole width of the township. 
Through the southwest corner of the township runs the bed of the defunct 
Coldwater and Mansfield Railroad. 

The early settlers of this section were few; not more than a score lived in 
the township prior to i860; among those who did live in this part of the 
county, from 1838 to 1850, may be mentioned Daniel Shinaman, John Miller, 
Samuel and Lewis Eckhart, John Sorrick, John Knapp, Harmon Klin*e, junior 
and senior, Conrad Clay, George Struble, John Harmon and Benjamin Holler. 

The first-school house ever erected in this township was one of unhewed 
logs, a very primitive and small building. It stood in what is now section 
twenty-eight. Daniel Shinaman, John Harmon, Benjamin Holler and Har- 
mon Kline were the builders. 

The first church was a United Brethren. It was built in 1852, or there- 



228 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

abouts, and also stood in section twenty-eight. Here the settlers from far and 
near would congregate on Sabbath day and listen to the Word of God inter- 
preted by George Struble. 

The township is, as far as is possible to learn, devoid of many of those stir- 
ring incidents which make the life of the settler exciting, and for this reason 
facts of record can only be dealt with, "pleasing incidents of frontier life" will 
be conspicuous by their absence. And we will proceed to what the town- 
ship was after the year i860; not that it was civilized by this time, but because 
the facts are within our grasp. 

From i860 up to the present time there has been an influx of Germans to 
this county, and especially to Freedom township. To this frugal people may 
be given a great deal of the credit of converting a wilderness into a garden, 
for the reason that they were not choice as to the kind of land Uncle Sam gave 
them, and whether a swamp or ridge it was the same to them and they went 
to work. Now Freedom township is a model of well-kept farms; now there 
are six fine school-houses, a couple of churches and scores of brick dwellings. 
The first one was built by Harmon Kline and the others followed thick and 
fast, and now as one rides through the county, a palatial brick residence, well 
kept grounds — a sure sign of thrift and wealth — is an ordinary sight. 

Although this township is not a locality for pioneer reminiscences it has a 
history which entitles it to the name of the "dark and bloody ground of Henry 
county," three persons having been murdered by the pretended friends of the 
victims, for the sole purpose of gain. 

The Murder of W. IV. TreadwelL — On July 14, 1864, Math. Bowen 
while walking through the woods near what was known as the little Red 
School-house, suddenly came upon the body of a man. The body had evi- 
dently lain for some time as the birds of prey, and decomposition, had so dis- 
figured the remains that identification was well-nigh impossible. Two bullet- 
holes were found in the skull, the bullet evidently entering just back of the 
right ear, and coming out above the right eye. The right side of the head 
was also beaten with a club, which was found near by. On his person was 
found a number of trifles, together with an upper set of false teeth, on a heavy 
gold plate ; seven dollars in bills and some eatables. Some weeks later a re- 
port came from Adrian, Mich., saying that two men had escaped from the jail 
there. The description of one of the men tallied with that of the murdered 
man. Investigation was at once begun, and it was learned that the name of 
the murdered man was W. W. Treadwell, formerly a banker of Hudson, Mich., 
who had been confined in the Adrian jail for operations not exactly legitimate. 
The man with whom he escaped was incarcerated for horse stealing. His name 
was John Crowell, and he was subsequently arrested in Sandusky, tried and 
bound over, and on the loth of May, 1865, his trial begun with Hon. A. S. 
Latty on the bench. The facts disclosed were as follows : Treadwell having 



Henry County. 229 



secured large loans from other banks, absconded, was arrested in Mansfield, 
O., taken back, tried, convicted, and remanded in jail to await sentence. Crow- 
ell was arrested in Erie county, this State, for stealing horses in Michigan, tried 
and convicted at the same term of court as Treadwell was, and also remanded. 
In jail they were put together, and at five o'clock on the ist of July escaped. 
Identification of the two men now became an easy matter ; they traveled 
through the northern part of the county inquiring for lost cattle. The club 
now became an important factor, and every witness pointed it out as being car- 
ried by Crowell. The chain of evidence was quickly woven around him. The 
identification of Treadwell was established beyond a doubt. The object of the 
crime was $900 in the possession of Treadwell. The sum having been given to 
him by his wife shortly before his escape. It was all in $100 bills, and the most 
of them upon the bank of Rochester. One of these Rochester bills was found 
upon Crowell. 

On Monday, May 15, 1865, the case was given to the jury; an hour later, 
came the verdict of "guilty." A motion for a new trial was made but denied. 
Judge Latty then sentenced Crowell to be hanged on Friday, the i ith of July, 
1865. 

The execution was under the direction and charge of O. E. Barnes, who 
was then sheriff. While making preparations for the execution, and even upon 
the scaffold, the prisoner was the most collected of all present. Upon the scaf- 
fold the sheriff asked him if he had anything to say before the sentence of the 
court was executed, and he replied, "No sir, I am guilty." The sheriff asked 
him if he wished it understood that he was guilty of the crime for which he 
stood condemned. Crowell replied slowly and distinctly, " Yes sir, my punish- 
ment is just." He then knelt with his .spiritual adviser. Father Carroll, after 
which the pinioning, placing of the cap, etc., was proceeded with, and all the 
time Crowell showed the least emotion of any present. At sixteen minutes 
before i P. M., the trap was sprung, and John Crowell had expiated his crime. 

The Murde}' of George Williams and Wife. The second murder was the 
one of George Williams and wife, by Wesley Johnson, on October 23, 1883, 
the details of which are as horrible as any instance of the kind in the State. 

On the evening of October 25, 1883, Addison Crew, a farmer living near 
the farm of George Williams, had occasion to go to Williams's place. On first 
going to the barn his eye met a ghastly sight. There, upon the floor he saw the 
lifeless body of George Williams, with head split open, and throat cut from ear 
to ear. He raised a cry and with several others went to the house, where, upon 
the floor of their sleeping room, lay the body of George Williams's wife, terri- 
bly mutilated. Upon the bed was a nearly famished infant. From the state 
of the bodies it was supposed that they had lain in this state for several days. 
Suspicion immediately fell upon Wesley Johnson, a young man in the employ 
of John W'illiams, because of his behavior, and the hour he retired two or three 



230 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

nights previously. He was arrested but stoutly maintained his innocence. But 
proof was not lacking, and at the preliminary examination, there was proof 
enough to bind him over. His trial began in January, 1884, and long will it be 
remembered as the most exciting trial ever witnessed in the county, and during 
the whole trial, Johnson's demeanor was that of a statue, showing no emotion 
or feeling. When, on the evening of February 12, 1884, the jury brought in a 
verdict of " guilty," there was a general "amen." 

The case was conducted for the State by prosecuting attorney R. W. Cahill 
and J. M. Haag ; for the defense Messrs. Martin Knupp and William H. Hub- 
bard. Judge J. J. Moore presided. He was sentenced on the i6th of Febru- 
ary, to be hanged on the 29th of May, 1884. 

The execution was conducted by Frederick Aller, then sheriff, and took 
place in the jail. With the same nerve that marked Crowell, Johnson dis- 
played, he ascending the scaffold with the same fearless step. When the sheriff 
asked if his punishment was just, he answered "yes." At 10 A. M. the trap 
was sprung, and Johnson's soul was dangling in the balance, and his body be- 
tween heaven and earth. 



CHAPTER XXI. 
HISTORY OF HARRISON TOWNSHIP. 

THIS township, named in honor of the hero of Tippecanoe and Fort Meigs, 
and the ninth president of the United States, when first organized, early 
in the forties, embraced townships three, four and five of range seven. Number 
three is now the township of Marion ; four was, in 1850, organized into Mon- 
roe. On the north of the Maumee River, which is now the northern boundary 
of the township, sections one, two, three, four, five, six, most of seven and 
parts of eight, nine, ten, eleven and twelve were, previous to 1850, attached to 
Liberty township as a convenience for voting purposes. The township lies 
immediately west of Damascus, and all that has been said of the latter town- 
ship, of the general character of the soil, drainage, roads, early settlement, 
present degree of improvement, and population may be applied to Harrison. 

Among the earliest settlers of the county may be named Hazael Strong. 
He came to the county as early as 1833, and lived in what is now Harrison 
township for several years before coming to Napoleon to take charge of the 
auditor's office. The Sheats family came in 1834; Alonzo Packard in 1843; 
Americus M. Spafford, 1845; Harper Centre, 1847; Isaac Ingle, 1849; 
Noah Jackson, 1852; John C. Lighthiser, 1853; Michael Kryder, 1853; 



Henry County, 



'■31 



the Ritter family, as also that of the Reiter, the Spangler and the Palmer 
families were among the early settlers, as were also Campbell W'ilford and 
Gideon G. Creger. 

In 1847, according to the oldest preserved duplicate we have, there were, 
on the seventy- two sections of land which then constituted the township, only 
forty-nine persons who paid personal tax, and the value of all this land, — 
69,120 acres, — was $22,168; and the personal property was valued at $5,217. 
The total tax collected was $2,071.61. The duplicate for 1887 shows that at 
present this township, with less than twenty-eight sections remaining to it, has 
a real estate value, for taxable purposes, of $323,905, and personal property, 
listed for the same purpose, amounting to $59,340. 

This township was tardy in settlement and slow to improve. There were 
good reasons for this. The construction of the canal and especially the Wa- 
bash Railroad, on the south of the river, affording convenient shipments to 
market. The construction of the dam at Providence had made the river un- 
fordable between that point and the rapids at Florida ; on the south side were 
not only no railroads, but no roads of any kind, and, in order to reach a mar- 
ket of any sort, it became necessary to ferry the river, which in seasons was 
difficult. Lands being equally cheap on the north the early settlers naturally 
secured homes there. 

True, there were men hardy and courageous enough to enter these dense 
forests, and, braving all the difficulties and encountering all the inconveniences, 
made homes in the wilderness. Along the river bank, in section ten, was Sam- 
uel Bowers ; in nine Hazael Strong had settled ; in section eight the Rugg farm 
farther up the river and nearly opposite Napoleon, in section eighteen, 
Charles and Reuben Reiter had made large clearings; on section fifteen road 
were the Palmers, John D. Thorn and a few others ; John Sheats was in sec- 
tion twenty-two ; and on Turkey Foot road were John C. Lighthiser. Levi 
Spangler and others. There were also a few settlers along the banks of Tur- 
key Foot Creek. G. G. Creager was on section twenty-four, and Campbell 
W'ilford on section twenty-five. It was not, however, until after the construc- 
tion of the bridge across the Maumee at Napoleon, in i860, that settlement 
can be said to have really begun in earnest in Harrison township. After that 
roads were cut out and improved and a system of drainage commenced. This 
led to heavy taxation and assessments, compelling non-resident land owners to 
dispose of the lands they had purchased for speculative purposes, and these 
passed into the hands of persons who became actual settlers and made farms 
from the forest. To assist in this, and in many cases to pay for the land itself, 
the giant oaks, walnut and poplar were sold to the ship-timber and other tim- 
ber merchants, who brought great gangs of men from Canada, and soon made 
room for the sunshine to dry the swamps. Then came the saw-mill and the 
stave-factory, so that to-day Harrison township has no more timber than is 



232 History of Henry and tulton Counties. 

necessary for her fences and family fuel ; fully four-fifths of her soil being under 
cultivation and all highly productive. 

The township is well drained, naturally, by Turkey Foot Creek which runs 
through the south and southeastern part ; Randall Creek through northeast, 
and Bowers' Creek with its branches runs through the center, all emptying 
into the Maumee ; and by artificial surface and underground ditches. Good 
roads are established and kept in repair in almost every section line. The 
township is divided into eight school districts, with a good building on each, 
most of them brick. There are six churches, all Protestant, in the township. 
The dwellings and farm buildings are new, large, convenient and well appointed. 

The township is without railroads and without villages. The Mansfield, 
Coldwater and Lake Michigan Railroad bed was graded through the township 
and the "Clover Leaf" route passed close to the southeast corner where Har- 
rison, Damascus, Richfield and Monroe come together, and here is laid out the 

The Hamlet of Grelleton. 

The original plat of this hamlet was laid out in the southeast corner of sec- 
tion thirty-six in Harrison, by William Mead, and was recorded August 14, 
1880. It consisted of fifteen lots. Main street on the east, Monroe street on 
the south. Fourth street on the west, Emery street on the north, and three 
alleys. The subsequent additions to the hamlet were in the adjoining township, 
mainly in Monroe, and will be treated of in the history of that township. 

The Henry County Fair Grounds 

Are located on section fifteen in this township. A short sketch of the or- 
ganization and management of this institution may not be uninteresting: 

In the summer of 1883 the Patrons of Husbandry decided to hold a one 
day fair at the hall of Harrison Grange, each member of the order to bring 
some of their best stock and farm products for display, and to invite their fel- 
low farmers outside the order to assist. The object was to get farmers together 
to discuss the best methods of growing the various kinds of crops adapted to 
the climate and soil of Henry county, also as to the most profitable kind of 
stock to raise, etc. ; the Grange Hall being used as a floral and vegetable hall. 
An admission fee often cents was charged and about five hundred tickets were 
sold. The unexpected success of this the first attempt to hold a fair encouraged 
the Grange to organize, for the following year, what was known as the Henry 
County Grange Fair. The constitution provided that the officers of the 
County Grange should be the officers of the fair, including a board of ten 
directors chosen from among its members. Under these provisions John 
Garster was made president; E. M. HolHpeter, secretary, and John Sheets, 
treasurer. Under this organization the ground was leased and buildings 
erected, four miles east of Napoleon in Harrison township, on the farm of 



Henry County. 2^^ 



Mr. Henry Blytlie, and a very successful fair was held. The followiriL,^ year 
there was a change made in the provision of the constitution for the elec- 
tion of officers and the name was changed and called the Henry County 
Farmers' Association, and the following officers elected: E. M. HoUipeter, 
president; John Ervin, vice-president; Eli Culbertson, secretary ; John Gar- 
ster, treasurer. There was but one change made in the election of officers for 
1886, the year following, Rufus Spangler being elected president. In 1887 't 
was reorganized under a constitution according to the provision of the laws of 
Ohio regulating agricultural fairs, and is now known as the Henry County 
Agricultural Fair. 

Each year the fair has proven a grand success in the display of the best 
stock and farm products of Henry and from adjoining counties. 

List of officers of the Henry County Fair: Rufus Spangler, president; Jo- 
seph Leatherman, vice-president; John C. McClain, treasurer; C. E. VVeaks, 
secretary. Directors : Isaiah Foor, D. D. Myers, Joseph Leatherman, Peter 
Deitric, Eli Culbertson, C. E. Weaks, John Shelt. S. L. Snyder, Rufus Spang- 
ler, Francis Ginsel, John Garster, J. C. McCIain. 

It may not be out of place in this connection to give a few facts pertaining 
to the origin and history of agricultural associations. 

The number of societies in England holding fairs relating to agriculture, 
live stock, etc., is officially stated at one hundred and ten. Among those are 
the Bath and West of England Society, organized in 1777, the first farmers' 
club in England. The Royal Agricultural Society, which has exerted so wide 
an influence upon improved processes and cultivation in soil and animal farm- 
ing of the world, was founded in 1838. Its motto was "Practice with Science." 
In 1 8 10 England had organized a board of agriculture, of which Sir John Sin- 
clair was president, and Arthur Young secretary. There were in this year 
eighty-one agricultural societies in regular working order, and of one of these 
the Badenach and Strathspey Society, the celebrated Duchess of Gordon was 
president. 

The first agricultural society formed in America was The Philadelphia 
(Pa.) Society for Promoting Agriculture. Among the awards of this society 
in 1790, was a gold medal to Mr. Matheson for the best sample and greatest 
quantity of cheese. 

The first agricultural society ever incorporated in America was the Soci- 
ety for the Promotion of Agriculture, of South Carolina, established in 1795. 
Its objects included, among others, the institution of a farm for e.xperiments, 
and the importation and distribution of products suited to the climate of that 
State. 

In New York, a Society for the Advancement of Agriculture was incor- 
porated in 1 79 1, but it died at the age of ten years. 

The Society for the Promotion of Useful Arts, in which agriculture was 
30 



234 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

first named, established in 1804, published seven volumes of transactions pre- 
vious to 181 5. The New York State Agricultural Society held its first regular 
fair in 1840, the admission being twelve and one-half cents. 

In Massachusetts, in 1803, the trustees of the Massachusetts Society for 
Promoting Agriculture offered, among others, a premium of one hundred dol- 
lars, or the society's gold medal for a cheap and effectual method of destroy- 
ing the canker worm. From the beginnings thus noted, agriculture, horticul- 
ture, pomology, forestry and floriculture have gradually increased. Agricul- 
tural societies offering premiums are found in every State and most of the Ter- 
ritories. Popular interest is especially active in agricultural societies in the 
West and is constantly increasing in the South. It is safe to say the agricultu- 
ral societies of the United States have exercised a greater influence for the ad- 
vancement of agriculture than any other means. 

Harrison township has furnished her full quota of both military and civil 
officers. Wm. A. Choate was not only prosecuting attorney of the county, 
but also colonel of the Thirty-eighth Regiment, O. V. I. ; L. G. Randall was 
quartermaster of the Sixty-eighth O. V. I., and was also postmaster at Napo- 
leon; Arthur Crockett was major of the Sixty-eighth O. \". I.; Benjamin F. 
Pindar was captain of Company B, Thirty-eighth O. V. I. Levi Spangler was 
a county commissioner, Reuben Rieter both clerk and sheriff, his brother Reu- 
ben a commissioner, Benjamin F. Stout, auditor; William M. Becknam, was, 
by the appointment of the governor, probate judge to fill a vacancy, and 
Thomas Castel was infirmary director. 

Booming may do for Kansas and other western States, for the mining, 
the gas and the oil regions, but he who is content to lead a quiet, honest life 
in the quiet luxuries and enjoyments of a home, need not go beyond the boun- 
daries of Henry county. Here can be had a cheap, comfortable and produc- 
tive home, where the investment is certain, sure and cannot diminish in value, 
but must increase; here is education and culture, refinement and the highest 
civilization; here, right at hand, are not only the necessaries and comforts, 
but the luxuries of life. Many of our people who were induced to "go west" 
by the glittering promises of speculators and jobbers, have been glad to return, 
and many more are sorry that they have not means left to do so. Harrison 
township furnishes one notable example. We refer to the Crockett family, and 
know that we will be pardoned for doing so. Being among the early settlers, 
they had made and owned a good and valuable farm in the township. Se- 
duced by the brilliant pictures of the West, they sold out and followed the 
westward star. They met with disappointment; sickness and death overtook 
them, and but a year ago, the mother, aged and impoverished, save for a grate- 
ful government which rewarded her for the patriotism of her sons, returned to 
Henry county and purchased the old Rugg farm in her old township, where 
she now lives, happy, comfortable and contented with her only remaining son, 
Edward. 



Henry County 



235 



The growth of this township, in common with all in tlie count)-, has been 
rapid. In i860 it contained a population of 7.S1 ; in 18-0 it was 1295 and in 
1880 it had grown to 1382, and by the next census it may be safely predicted 
will amount to 2,000. 



CHAPTER XX H. 
HISTORY OF LIBKRTV TOWNSHIP. 

THIS is one of the best, one of the earliest settled and first improved town- 
ships in the county. It possesses more intrinsic historic interest than any 
of the thirteen. In the government survey it is known as township six, north 
of range seven, east. This territory was reduced by the detachment of the two 
northern tiers of sections in the formation of Fulton county. It was, however, 
increased by the annexation of sections one, two, three, four, five and six, and 
the most of seven and half of eight, nine and twelve, and a small slice off the 
northern part of ten and eleven of township five in the same range (Harrison) 
at the time the Maumee River was made the dividing line between the town- 
ships. 

The part of section twelve taken from Harrison, and section seven of Wash- 
ington (originally Damascus) constituted what was known to the pioneers as 
Prairie du Masque, having been so named by the early PVench adventurers, 
traders, or religious enthusiasts, who were attracted to the valley of the Mau- 
mee, ambitious of conquest, for greed of gain, or desire for religious pros- 
elytism. This was a camping ground for the army of General Wayne on his 
marcli to the battle field of Fallen Timbers. 

Upon this division of land, thus designated as Prairie du Masque, and long 
before the division of the northwestern territory into counties, much less town- 
ships, the white man had dared to penetrate. He invaded the wilderness 
which then enshrouded the county of Henry and the outposts of which were 
guarded by the most savage of the Indian tribes, and settled there. The names 
of the representatives of the white man as can now be ascertained, were John 
Butler, David and Jacob Delong, Charles Gunn, George Chilson, David Buck- 
lin and Samuel Vance. These brave men located on the prairie in 1814, and 
Elisha and Edwin Scribner came in r8i8. These early settlers are, alas, all 
dead. The ashes of some of them rest in obscurely marked and almost for- 
got\:en graves along the banks of the Alaumee. The last survivor of these pio- 
neers was Edwin Scribner, who died during the present (1887) year, at the 
residence of his son-in-law in Napoleon. 



236 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

At a date so early that its date cannot now be determined with certainty, 
but surely no later than 1820, Samuel Vance, already mentioned, erected on 
section twelve, a double log house, called it a tavern and suspended a sign an- 
nouncing "accommodation for man and beast." The cellar of this primitive 
tavern still remains on the banks of the Maumee, close to the " old orchard " — 
the first planted in the county — near the town of Damascus. The brick for 
this cellar were boated from Toledo (so at present named) on pirogues. At 
that time this was the only house between Defiance and the Rapids, where 
Peter Manor then lived. A short time afterwards Joseph Cowdrick, whose sons 
are now residents of Napoleon, built a small house on the river below Vance's, 
but subsequently removed further up the river about half way between Da- 
mascus and Napoleon, where Joseph Rogers now lives. 

In 1826, on the 17th of November, John Patrick, the father of George, who 
still resides on the old place, settled on the river three miles east of Napoleon. 
He purchased the land of one Cornelius Thompson, who obtained it from the 
government on land scrip issued to him for services under Wayne in his Indian 
campaigns. Mr. Patrick erected a large house at this place, and also opened 
a house of public entertainment, and which subsequently became the main 
" tavern," as they were called in those days, between Defiance and Toledo 
during the days of canal navigation and packet travel, which began in 1843 
and remained brisk until the construction of the Wabash Railroad. 

Long before work on the canal had commenced Edwin Scribner, already 
referred to, erected a " thunder gust " saw-mill on Dry Creek, and this was 
the first saw-mill in the county. After the completion of the canal, Burlin & 
Taylor started a mill at Damascus, and the mill has ever since been retained 
and is still one of the principle stationary ones in the county. Burlin & Tay- 
lor also opened a general store, the first in the county, and managed the tavern 
which had been established by Vance. A town was laid out at this point, but 
if ever platted the plat was destroyed in the fire of 1847. I" i859. however, 
under direction of the auditor, the assessor made a plat of the lots in section 
twelve (Damascus), which was recorded on the 5th of December of that year. 
By this it is learned that there were in all seventeen lots — fifteen of which are 
on the north of the canal and two on the south. In early days this was the 
most promising business point on the canal within the county of Henry, and was 
ambitious enough to rival Napoleon for the county seat. The inability of the 
canal to compete with the railroads and retain the carrying trade, has ruined 
Damascus as a town and converted it into a magnificent farm. 

In those early days, to use pioneer language, "it was pretty rough sledding." 
When John Patrick came to the river in 1866, the nearest mill was at Waterville, 
a distance of twenty- five miles, and the settlers were often compelled to go to 
Brunersburg, on Beam Creek, in what is now Defiance county, and not unfre- 
quently to Monroe, in Michigan, taking along an ax and log chain to clear out 
the Indian trail, the only road to travel. 



Henry County. 237 



After the completion of the canal, and the commencement of navigation on 
its muddy waters, the settlers along its banks began to multiply with geomet- 
rical progression, and in 1847, ^^^^ earliest preserved duplicate discloses the fact 
that there were residing on the territory which at present is embraced within 
the limits of Liberty township, sixty-six persons who paid tax on personal 
property. Among these contributors to the public revenues who resided on 
the sections detached from Harrison, were General Ezra S. Dodd, whose ashes 
repose in the Damascus grave-yard ; Joseph Cowdrick, ahead}' referred to ; 
Samuel Bowers, dead and buried on the farm he cut and cultivated from the 
wilderness ; and George Bowers, who is still living and rejoicing in great- 
grandchildren ; Judge Meekison, a banker at Napoleon, being the father of the 
latest addition. Prominent among those who resided in the other part of, or 
rather the orignal township, may be named: Alonzo, Lorenzo, Solomon, James 
H., and a large family of Babcocks, most of whom are still living ; George 
Chroninger, one of the jolliest old men, surrounded by a happy family, who 
still lives in the township, having by his industry, frugal habits and honest 
dealings, acquired a competency which v.ill certainly protect him from the char- 
ity of the infirmary director; Hosea Harrison, Rensselaer, and several others of 
the Hudson family, whose names have become interwoven into the official his- 
tory and progress of Henry county ; John and several others of the Knapp 
family, still prominent in the township; John M. Meek, a brother-in-law of 
Judge Cory, who came to the county at a very early period, was prominent in 
local government, and whose only remaining descendant by his first marriage, 
is the wife of Judge J. M. Haag, of Napoleon ; the Redfield family; Samuel H. 
Steedman, who was the first colonel of the Sixty -eighth O. V. Infantry; James 
B. Steedman, subsequently the hero of Chickamauga, and whose monument is 
now the chief ornament of the city of Toledo ; John Wright, sr., John Wright, 
jr., and Nathan Wright; Ward Woodward, now of Liberty Center, Samuel 
Winters, and George Crawford, at one time county commissioner and prt)mi- 
nent in local politics, whose children still reside in the vicinity. 

The duplicate of 1847 shows the township charged with eighteen thousand 
four hundred and forty-two acres of land, valued at $38,764.95, and chattels 
valued at $4,988. The total tax paid was $1,316.66, with an additional for 
school-house of $49.22. 

A comparison and a calculation of the growth and prosperity of the town- 
ship may be made from the following figures : 

The duplicate of 1887 shows seventeen thousand five hundred and ninety- 
one acres of land, exclusive of town sites, and railroad right-of-ways, valued 
at $330,725 ; chattels listed at $136,487, paying a total tax including the vil- 
lage of Liberty Center, of $10,139. The township had a population of 1,1 19 
in i860; 1,766 in 1870; in 1880 the population amounted to 1,946. It may 
be safely estimated at present at 2,400. 



238 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

Outside of the town of Liberty Center, there are eight school-houses, most 
of them brick, and all well appointed, with school maintained for at least half 
the year. The Christian Union has a church edifice in section thirty- two and 
also in section fifteen, and the United Brethren have a chapel in section fifteen. 

The main and several branches of Turkey Foot Creek (north of the Mau- 
mee) and Dry Creek, afford the township very good natural drainage, and ar- 
tificial surface and underground ditches have contributed to make this perhaps 
the best farming township in the county ; and which, together with good roads, 
commodious, comfortable and well-constructed residences and iarm buildings 
give to it, as a body, an average value greater than that possessed by any other 
farming land in northwestern Ohio. 

The construction of the Wabash Railway did much to develop the town- 
ship and hasten its improvement. While it destroyed the plant of the towns 
along the canal, it converted the wilderness along its track into many flourish- 
ing villages. Among them is 

Liberty Center, 

at present a flourishing village with a population between five and six hun- 
dred. It was the second village in the county to become incorporated, and has 
taken advantage of its corporate franchise to secure good sidewalks, streets 
and drainage. It is located in sections twenty-five and thirty-six of the original 
surveyed township, is a railroad and telegraph station on the Wabash, has the 
third best post-ofiice in the county, and a printing office from which the Liberty 
Press is issued weekly. The village has a good hotel, a livery stable, a hard- 
ware store, a drug store, three dry goods stores, several saloons and restau- 
rants, several fine brick blocks, and the mechanical artists usual to all villages. 
A handsome roller process grist-mill is a considerable attraction to the trade 
of the village, and a saw-mill furnishes a market for the few trees which re- 
main to be converted into timber. It has four churches, — one Methodist 
Episcopal, one German Reformed, one United Brethren and one Seventh Day 
Adventist. Its greatest ornament, however, and its chief pride is its new 
graded school building, erected during the year 1886. It is a two-story> 
finely finished building, in which is maintained one of the best educational 
schools in the county. 

On the 4th of June, 1863, Alpheas Buchanan first conceived the idea of 
establishing a trading-point in Liberty township, and on that day recorded a 
plat of twelve lots in the northeast quarter of section twenty-five, on the south 
side of the Wabash Railway. To this was added his first,"second and third 
additions. 

January 7, 1867, Calvin C. Young added an addition of twelve lots; and 
June 7, 1868, E. T. Coon contributed an addition often lots more, with requi- 
site streets and alleys; January 2, 1869, G. P. Parrish stimulated the growth 



Henry County. 239 



of the village by adding eighteen more lots to the town plat, being in the 
northeast corner of section thirty-six. Ward Woodward, one of the earl)- set- 
tlers of the township already mentioned, not wishing to be outdone by those to 
the manor born subsequent to himself, on the 19th of July, 1869, contributed 
to the village a triangular addition of ten lots and an alley, on the south side 
of the Wabash Railway. Orle Buchanan, awakening from a sort of Rip Van 
Winkle sleep, determined not to be outdone by those whom he termed the 
"boys," and, on the 24th of July, added an addition of eight irregular lots, and 
a street of thirty feet on the north of the railway, and caused the erection of a 
handle and excelsior factory in his addition. This enterprise served to again 
arouse old " Uncle George " Parrish, who, getting on his muscle, added a sec- 
ond addition of four irregular lots on the west of his former addition and sepa- 
rated from it by Parrish street. On the 22d day of September, 1882, Daniel 
Ehrgood gave to the village its last contribution, which consisted of sixteen 
lots, continuing East street and adding Garfield, Lincoln, Cherry and Plum 
and an alley, which gives to the village one hundred and forty- one platted lots 
upon most of which are neat and handsome residences or business buildings, 
and is the site of one of the pleasantest, most prosperous and enterprising 
towns along the line of the Wabash Railway. 

This township is divided into two voting precincts. The elections for the 
eastern is held at Liberty Center, and that for the western at Chroninger's 
school-house. 



CHAPTER XXni. 
HISTORY OF MARION TOWNSHIP. 

MARION is the extreme southern town.ship in the county of range seven, 
being bounded on the south by township two of that range, the line be- 
tween the two forming the line between Putnam and Henry counties. 

There is little to distinguish this township from the balance of the county 
except the south or (as named by the geologists of the State) Belmore Ridge, 
which runs through it, entering the township near the half section line of sec- 
tion thirty, and running in a winding track eastward through sections twenty- 
nine, twenty- eight and twenty-seven, when it turns southeasterly through 
sections twenty-six, thirty-five and thirty-six, crossing the township line near 
the southeast corner of the latter section. The lands along this ridge are high 
and dry. The remainder of the township is, or rather was, very wet, but ex- 
ceedingly well timbered with burr and white oak, walnut, maple, poplar, ash 
and the softer woods. 



240 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

The settlement of the township has been slow, and even comparatively- 
modern. Located in a dense forest, no roads, not even " cow paths," and no 
way to reach market except on foot, it was absolutely inaccessible, except from 
the ridge, which made a good natural road to Defiance. The wetness of the 
soil, the density of the forest and the isolation of the territory from market 
and civilization, were, however, not the only causes which retarded the settle- 
ment and improvement of the township. In the years 1850-51, before the 
adoption of the new constitution, Samuel Medary, then editor of the Ohia 
Statesman, and other Columbus gentlemen and capitalists, conceived the idea 
of founding a settlement in the " Black Swamp," and laid out a village, which 
they named Medary, in township two of this range of land, in Putnam county. 
About the same time a scheme was formulated by John M. Palmer, who sub- 
sequently became a judge of the Court of Common Pleas, to construct a plank 
road from the above village, northward, to intersect the Kalida pike in section 
thirty, Monroe township. The road is still known as the Medary road. Pal- 
mer, by some process of manipulation in which rascality is ever fruitful, suc- 
ceeded in getting a board of stupid trustees to issue the bonds of Marion 
township, which at that time had scarcely any population, in the sum of five 
thousand dollars for the ostensible purpose of building this plank road. Hav- 
ing secured the bonds Palmer negotiated them at once, put the proceeds in 
his pocket, and the road was never built. The debt, however, was entailed on 
the township, and to that extent was a mortgage on all the land. The lands 
were valued very low, and the duplicate being small, the tax was correspond- 
ingly high, and the debt was not finally paid until 1864. This aided materi- 
ally in preserving Marion as the camping and squatting ground of the hunter, 
and gave to it the name of " Big Woods." 

The township was organized in the spring of 1847, ^^ which time there 
were but ten voters living in it. The duplicate of that year shows but seven 
chattel tax payers: John Hamler, Samuel H. Harshberger, Daniel Harshberger, 
William Bales, William Rayle, S. K. Warnick and W. M. Warner. The value 
of the personal property was $680; that of the land, there being but 9,266 
acres listed for taxation, was $13,031.15, and the total tax paid Avas $480.45. 
Most of the persons named are either dead or removed. The descendants of 
Samuel H. Harshberger and of William Rayle still reside in the township and 
are the owners of some of the best farms in Marion, well improved, good, and 
large buildings erected, and the land under a high state of cultivation. W. M. 
Warner soon tired of wood life and sold out to Casper Zeirolf, now dead, but 
the old farm, perhaps in all respects, being situated on the ridge, the best in 
the township, is owned and occupied by his son William, at present one of the 
commissioners of the county. Samuel Harshberger, son of Samuel H., was the 
first white child born in the township, and inherited from his ancestors one of 
the best farms in the township, upon which he now resides. 




Q^^ 



Henry County. 241 



Of these pioneers John Hamler deserves more than a passinij notice, al- 
though he is elsewhere spoken of in this book. He was the first settler in the 
township, having entered land and locatetl in section t\vent\'-one, September 
16, 1846. The forest was dense, and wild beasts and mosquitoes the only 
inhabitants. The Indians, a remnant of the Ottowas, were only twenty-six 
miles east ; the nearest house was fourteen miles, twenty miles to the nearest 
trading point, and thirty miles to mill, may give some idea of the incon- 
veniences and hardships of frontier life. Vet Mr. Hamler says that his life 
was not devoid of enjoyment, and that he took almost as mucli pleasure in the 
rude and wild life of the woods as he does now surrounded by all the com- 
forts and luxuries of civilization. 

The real improvement and settlement of the township did not commence 
until 1869, when the Baltimore and Ohio Railroad was constructed. This road 
enters the township at the southeast corner of section twelve and runs north- 
w^esterly to the northwest corner of section six. The construction of this road 
assisted largely in draining the lands, lead to the erection of saw-mills and 
stave factories ; the cleaning out and deepening of the creeks, the main ones of 
which are Turkey Foot, Beaver, Brush and Lost creeks, and to the location, 
construction and improvements of roads. These improvements caused heavy 
taxation and assessments, and this obliged the non-resident land speculator to 
dispose of his holdings, which, passing into the hands of those who became 
permanent settlers, improvements seemed to spring up like Jack's bean pole, 
in a single night, and makes Marion to-day as good a township as there is in 
the county. 

The growth of the township may be indicated by the tax duplicate and the 
census returns. We have already shown the duplicate of 1847. That for 
1887 shows 22,962 acres of land for taxation valued at $203,035, and personal 
property to the amount of $130,613, and the amount of taxes paid to be 
$7,541.17. The population in i860 was only 195 souls; in 1870 it amounted 
to 513 ; in 1880, to 1,202, and at present maybe safely estimated at 1,500. 

The educational interests of the township have been carefully provided for 
and there are at present, in addition to the graded school at Hamler, nine good 
and substantial schools- houses erected. In each of the villages and at one or 
two points in the country, church buildings have also been erected. 

The growth of this township has certainly been phenomenal and is owing 
largely to foreign immigration, the population outside of the descendants of 
the pioneers and the few Yankees who have been attracted by the wealth to be 
made of the great forests of timber, being composed mostly of industrious, so- 
ber, quiet and religious classes of Irish and German. These people mixing 
and inter-marrying, including the native born, make the progressive and ener- 
getic homogeneous American, and indicates that our national motto, e plnribus 
unuvi, means not only one State for many States, but one nation from all the 

31 



242 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

nations of the earth, and that the motto has not yet degenerated into a trade 
mark for the standard dollar, but still deserves a place on the broad standard 
of human rights and human hopes. It also indicates a population of healthy 
sentiment. No agrarian or communism here. An honest, industrious people 
came here into the wild forest, when cheap lands could be obtained, and lands 
inexhaustible in fertility, which by, hard work could be converted into homes, 
where old age might rest in comfort and its descendants live in luxury. Men 
like these, who settled and peopled Marion, were present in the mind of the 
poet when he asked: "What constitutes a State?" and answered: 

" Not raised battlement and labored mound, 
Thick wall or moated gate; 
Not cities proud, .... 
Men, high-minded men. 
Men who their duties know. 

But know their rights, and knowing, dare maintain — 
Prevent the long aimed blow. 

And crush the tyrant while they rend the chain — 
These constitute the State ! " 

Edwardsville 

Is a triangular tract of land in the northeast corner of the northwest quarter of 
section twenty-eight, formed by the crossing of the Medary road and the Ridge 
road. It consists of seven lots and two out lots, and was laid out by George 
W. Edwards and John Rayle on the 6th of September, 1863, and recorded on 
the 7th of the same month. A post-office was established here as early as 1861 
and named Ridgeland. The post-office still remains, but the hamlet has not 
grown beyond two or three dwellings. William P. Young has, however,. 
erected a saw-mill, stave factory and tile manufactory within a stone throw, 
and is doing a thriving business. 

Hamler. 

This flourishing village, named in honor of John Hamler, is situated in sec- 
tion eleven, where the Baltimore and Ohio Railroad crosses the Turkey Foot 
road. It has a population of about five hundred, a post-office, and is a tele- 
graph and express station. A large and extensive stave factory is located here,^ 
affording a good and profitable market for the large quantity of soft wood still 
growing in the township. A fine two- story brick building afibrds excellent 
accommodation for the graded school held in it. A new commodious Catho- 
lic church, and a Methodist Episcopal furnish places of worship, and indicates 
the religious leaning of those with enterprise sufficient to erect a building. The 
various mechanical trades are represented ; three dry goods stores, doing a 
general business ; one hardware store, an agricultural implement warehouse 
indicate a thrifty business ; and a good hotel, two saloons and restaurants fur- 
nish accommodations for the stranger. The Odd Fellows have a lodge here 
and the Grand Army a post. 



Henry County. 243 



The village was originally platted by Hon. William D. Hill, of Defiance, 
and his wife, Augusta B., on the loth of Juh^ 1874, and recorded December 
~3> ^'^75- ^^yyc and one-third acres were appropriated to depot grounds; 
seventy-five lots were platted on the south side of the railroad, and ninety si.x 
on the north ; there were ten alleys, and the streets running east and west 
were named respectively, Green, English, l^dgerton, Baltimore, Randol])h, 
Benton and Cowan ; and those running north and south were christened White, 
Main, Lee and Pendleton. Turkey Foot road, known as Marion street, runs 
diagonally southwesterly through the village. The lots are four by eight rods, 
except those lying west of Marion street, which are eighteen links in width. 

On the 6th of January, 1875, J. W. Sargent laid out an addition of seven- 
teen lots, which was recorded on the 8th of the same month. It comprises 
four acres of land, including streets and alleys, and is the east part of the north- 
east corner of the north half of the southeast quarter of section ten. 

Mr. Hill and wife added their first addition of three out lots November 28, 
1 88 1. It is triangular, west of Marion street, south of the railroad and cast of 
the west section line of section eleven. 

On the 7th of April, 1887, recorded on the 21st of the same month, Mr. 
Hill and wife added a second addition of ninety-six regular lots, six irregular, 
and blocks A and B. Chestnut, Cleveland, Blaine and Hubbard streets run 
east and west, and First, Second, Third, Fourth and Fifth north and south ; 
there are seven alleys. This addition is in the southwest corner of section 
eleven and southwest of the original plat. 



CHAPTER XXIV. 

HISTORY OF MONRO!-: T( )\VX.^IIIP. 

THIS is another township which has recently been cut out of the " Big 
Woods," and thus destroyed a large part of the happy hunting ground of 
the sportsman. It was organized as a geographical township in 1850. being 
detached from Harrison to which it had previously belonged. In the govern- 
ment survey it is known as township four, north of range seven, east. The 
duplicate of 1851 shows only seven chattel taxpayers resident in the township. 
We give the names with the amount of tax paid by each : Samuel E. lul- 
wards (author of the " Ohio Hunter," who then resided on the farm now owned 
and occupied by Philip Heckler), $2.40; William Hill. $1.89; Michael Hill, 
$2.02; Waite Hill, jr., $1.09; Christopher Kemm, $3.38 ; Matthias Knops- 
Jey, $.97; Amonah Parkison, $1.05 ; Paulus Quitman, $1.01. The number of 



244 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

acres of land entered and subject to taxation was 14,463, valued at $22,268.21 ; 
while the value of the chattel property was only $476, and the total tax paid, 
including specials, was $1,698.35. In this connection the duplicate of 1887 
may as well be given. It shows 22,960 acres of land, valued at $233,210^ 
subject to taxation ; the chattel property is valued at $80,376, and the total 
tax paid $7,244.62. The population of the township was, in i860, three hun- 
dred and fifty-two souls ; in 1870 six hundred and fifty-eight; in 1880 it had 
grown to one thousand one hundred and forty-eight, and is at present not less 
than fifteen hundred. The township is divided into nine school districts and 
has as many good and commodious school buildings ; and five churches, all 
Protestant, — one a United Brethren, near Levi Dresbeck's ; two Lutheran 
churches.'one on section 18, and one on section 33. The others will be spoken 
of when we write of the villages. 

Among the early settlers of the township, in addition to those already 
named, we may add : David Latta, Matthew Hill, Daniel and W. H. Bigford, 
Rev. Williamson Barnhill, Charles Huber, John Bensing, John Frankforther, 
Peter Reimond, John B. Meyers, Rev. Frederick VVitzgall, and Jacob Snyder^ 
who made the early improvements on the valuable farm now owned and occu- 
pied by John Rentz. All of these persons or their immediate descendants or 
families are still living in the township. 

For many years this township was a stunted child, and its healthy growth 
commenced with the construction of the Toledo, Delphos and Burlington Rail- 
road, a narrow guage, but which has in the present year been extended to a 
standard guage, and is now known as the "Clover Leaf" route. The road 
enters the township at the northeast corner of section one, on the east line, runs 
in a southwest direction, leaving the township in the northwest quarter of sec- 
tion thirty- one, on the west line. • 

The lands in this township, as in the whole county with the exception of 
the ridge, are low, flat, level, and were wet, requiring considerable drainage. 
This has been accomplished and three-fourths of the township is now under a 
good state of cultivation. The drainage is accomplished by the cleaning out, 
widening and deepening of the natural water courses, the main one of which is 
Turkey Foot. This creek enters the township in the south at the line between 
section thirty-five and thirty-six, running north in a winding direction through 
sections thirty- five, twenty- six, twenty-three, twenty-two, fourteen, fifteen, ten, 
three, four and five, entering Harrison township near the center of the latter 
section on the south township line. School Creek enters the township in the 
west near the southwest quarter of section nineteen, and runs northerly, wind- 
ing through sections eighteen and eight, emptying into Turkey Foot in section 
four. Lost Creek and Ash Creek also run from the south to the north, both 
adding their waters to Turkey Foot. Into these several streams artificial 
drainage, both surface and sub-soil, have been constructed, pretty thoroughly 



Henry County. 245 



draining the township and fitting it for cultiwition. Good roads have been 
constructed on almost every section Wnc, botli nortii ami south and east and 
west, many of which have by the county commissioners been improved under 
the laws of the Legislature enacted for that purpose, and the townshii) to-day 
ranks among the best and wealthiest in the county. 

The hamlets and villages in the township are ICllery (or, as known on the 
plat book, Herrtown) Grelleton and Malinta. Of these in order : 

HeRRTOWN or ILl.LERW 

On the plat book tiiis hamlet is known as Herrtown, l)ut the postoffice 
located there having been named Kllery, the latter has become the accepted 
name. It is situated in the south part of the east half of the southwest quarter 
of section sixteen on the " Clover Leaf" route. It consists of seventeen lots; 
is a railway station, has a postoffice and small store. It was platted by Peter 
Ritter, January 29, 1 88 1. It may be said to be extensively laid out but thinly 
settled. 

Grelleton. 

This village, or more properly hamlet, is located where the township of 
Harrison, Damascus, Richfield and Monroe corner. It is also on the " Clover 
Leaf" route. On the 23d of March, 1881, Eli C. Clay laid out an addition of 
seventeen lots and erected a saw-mill in the northeast corner of section one in 
the latter township. On the loth of May, 1884, Mr. Clay platted another 
addition in this township, in the southeast corner ot the northwest quarter of 
the same section. It consists of thirteen lots, and was recorded December 27, 
1884. The hamlet has a good school-house, two dry goods stores, a meat 
market, restaurant, a saw-mill, hoop factory, stave factory, a railroad depot, 
express, telegraph and post-offices, and contains a population of from three bun- 
dled to three hundred and fifty. Among the first settlers and present resi- 
dents of the place may be enumerated Thomas B. Emery, Joseph B. Ward, 
Eli C. Clay, William Mead, C. H. Thompson, Jonathan Scheidler, Leroy 
Thompson, Randall & Hughes, hoop factory, and the Dewey Sta\e Company. 

M.\LINT.\. 

This is the principal village in the township. It is also on the line of the 
" Clover Leaf," and is located in sections ten and eleven. It contains a popu- 
lation of from four hundred to four hundred and fift)-. It has four dry goods 
and general stores, two hardware stores, two saloons and restaurants, one saw- 
mill, stave factory, tile and brick factory, picture gallery, blacksmith shops, 
shoemaker, etc. It is a railroad station and has an express, telegraph and post- 
office. Two churches, one Lutheran and one United Brethren, are erected 
here. 



24^ History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

The village was first platted and laid out by John Bensing, September 
21, 1880, in the west part of the northwest quarter of section eleven, on the 
north side of the railroad. Turkey Foot avenue bounded it on the west. Main 
street on the north, an alley on the east, and an alley between the plat and the 
railroad on the south. It was constituted of twenty lots, with Center street 
running east and west, and Henry street and an alley north and south. De- 
pot grounds were also laid out on the south of the railroad. 

Mr. Bensing platted and recorded his first addition to the village, April, 
1 88 1. It is in the west part of the northwest quarter of section eleven, south 
of the railroad, west of the depot grounds and east of Turkey Foot avenue. It 
consists of twenty-six lots. Washington and Adams streets and one alley run 
east and west; Henry street continued and two alleys run north and south. 

May 28, 1 88 1, L. and L. Horn added an addition to the village, located in 
part of the southeast quarter of the northeast quarter of section ten. It em- 
braced four and a half acres west of Turkey Foot avenue. It consists of twelve 
lots, two alleys running east and west and one north and south, on the south 
side of the railroad; and seventeen lots, Monroe street and three alleys, east 
and west and one alley north and south, on the north of the railroad. 

The town is thrifty, the population enterprising, and it will doubtless, before 
many years, rank among the foremost villages in the county. 

Before closing this chapter a word should besaid in memory of the men 
who first undertook the task of making delightful homes of the "tangled for- 
ests." 

The Sturdy Pioneer. 

"Peace has her victories as well as war;" with equal truth may civil life be 
said to have its heroes as well as the tented field, and if ever man deserved the 
title of hero, that man is the pioneer. Language cannot be woven into a 
fitting uniform for this hero ; he was not an adventurer ; he possessed all the 
elements of the true soldier ; courage, fortitude, determination, endurance, 
self-reliance, perseverance were his characteristics. He went forth, venturing 
where no other white foot had ever trod, a colonist, founding new homes and 
building new States. The race of pioneers was a constructive one, and its 
conquests were pushed, not only beyond the mountains, but from ocean to 
ocean, and where its seeds of thought, religion and civilization were once 
planted, there they grew^ and flourished. 

Time too readily blots from the memory of the rising generation the glori- 
ous achievements of their ancestors, and the hardships, trials and deprivations 
suffered by them that they might crown "a youth of labor with an age of ease" 
and leave behind them homes of comfort as inheritances to their posterity; and 
the bravest, the best and the noblest are laid away, in a (e\v years to be for- 
gotten. 



Henry County. 247 



There is something grand in the gradual development of human history 
and human progress. The actors at any period may wholly fail to appreciate 
the effect of their action on the future, and be ignorant of the links and succes- 
sion of events which connect past, present and future. The actor knows only to 
face and to do his duty as day by day it is presented to him, and he too often re- 
mains unconscious of his relation to predecessor and successor and of the grad- 
ual unfolding of the great plan of human development and progress. In all 
human movements we have the temporary and the permanent, the transient 
form and non-essential incident with the permanent substance and the essen- 
tial truth. There must be personal actors, as well as potential causes and irre- 
sistable current. Every age has its heroes, martyrs and victims, and every 
cause its defenders, advocates and enemies, and to the heroic men who preceded 
us to the pathless wilderness we owe the heritage we now enjoy, and it is 
proper that to them honor be paid and their memories cherished. No nation 
ever did anything worth remembering that failed to honor its heroic dead and 
count among its national treasures the fame of its illustrious ancestors. 

As we gaze over the expansive and fertile fields and see the comfortable 
and pleasant homes of Henry county, reflect that but a few years ago it was 
but a "matted woods, where birds forget to sing," and recall the labors, toils, 
sacrifices and dangers which made up the life of the pioneer heroes whose 
graves indent our soil, and as we appreciate the triumphs won by them which 
have given to us the noble heritage we now enjoy, and cast ourselves into the 
beckoning future which these men and their labors made possible, our hearts 
cannot fail to fill with pride, and love and gratitude, and in the sight of coun- 
try and of the world we lift up their honored names, and ask posterity to em- 
ulate the pioneer. 

There seems to be a neglect of duty on the part of the children of the pi- 
oneer. There should be monuments erected to commemorate the achieve- 
ments of these brave and great men. Monuments are the links which connect 
names and events to fame. Let monuments be built in each township and 
stand as a silent, but eloquent witness, not only to the devotion and daring, 
but as a constant witness that we, the sons and daughters of these pioneers, 
hold in greatful recollection those to whom we are so largely indebted for the 
blessings we to-day enjoy. 



248 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 



CHAPTER XXV. 
HISTORY OF NAPOLEOX TOWNSHIP. 

THIS township was organized in the spring of 1 835, soon after the full organi- 
zation of Henry county. The population in 1880 was 1,472 not including 
the town of Napoleon ; this has increased considerably. The township con- 
tains thirty-six square miles, without deducting the space covered by the Mau- 
mee River. The larger portion of this area is in an advanced state of cultiva- 
tion. It lies near the middle of the famous Black Swamp, which was formerly 
such a terror to emigrants, and which caused it to be passed by by early settlers, 
who were seeking homes, in Avhat was in the beginning of the century, the " far 
west." Its surface is remarkably even, except in the immediate vicinity of its 
water courses, where the surface drift has been washed away, during and since 
the glacial epoch. The soil, like that of the Black Swamp generally, is remark- 
able for its great fertility. It is underlaid by what is known as the Erie clay, 
which was deposited during the long ages when the township formed a portion 
of the bed of Lake Erie. This clay on account of its great tenacity, furnishes 
the best possible foundation for a fertile soil. In itself it furnishes a large 
amount of plant food, and after being exposed to the disintegrating effects of 
frost and heat, becomes a very productive soil. The great growth of vegeta- 
tion, previous to its discovery and settlement by the white man, gave it a rich 
coat of soil, which the retentiveness of the clay preserved for future use. 

The beautiful Maumee River furnishes the great center of drainage to the 
township, as well as to the greater portion of the county. The general trend 
of the surface is towards the Maumee River, and Lake Erie, /. r., on the north- 
ern side of the river the slope is toward the southeast, while that of the south- 
ern side of the river is at right angles, or towards the northeast. 

The rate of descent is between four and six feet to the mile, which gives 
sufficient fall, when skillfully distributed, to secure the benefits of thorough un- 
derdraining, which in the Black Swamp is the one great necessity in securing 
the conditions of successful agriculture. There are five small streams with their 
branches, that empty into the river from the northern side, while there are none 
of importance in that small portion of the township lying south of the river. 

Much time, labor and money have been expended in bringing the township 
out of its original condition of a dense swampy forest, to its present advanced 
state of productiveness. Much, however, remains to be done. 

It took no small amount of courage to attack the swamps and forests of this 
locality half a century ago. More hardships were endured, and more lives lost 
in the work of clearing up and preparing the conditions which now exist in the 
form of beautiful productive farms, which are to be seen throughout the town- 



Henry County. 249 



ship, than were endured to subdue the hostile and treachcrnus Iiulians which 
once occupied the countr}'. 

We have here no early history of Indian or other wars, throut;h which the 
earlier settlers of this region had to pass. Ihe battle of the Fallen Timbers at 
Presque Isle, on the Maumee River, three miles above Maumee, so bioke the 
power of the Indians, that no further trouble was had with them. As that mem- 
orable battle occurred in the latter part of the eighteenth century, when there 
was probably iTOt a single white resident (unless it may have been the renegade 
Simon Girty), in the whole county, we have therefore no blood-curdling stories 
of hair-breadth escapes from the Indians, or of ambuscades or battles. All has 
been peaceful since the organization of the count}-. Our modest story will 
therefore lack interest to those who require something of a blood-curdling na- 
ture. The early settlers here had enough to contend with in the shape of inhos- 
pitable nature, and were very well satisfied with the fact, that the lives of their 
wives and little ones, as well as their own scalps were in no danger from the 
savage Indians. 

We see around us now many of the aged pioneers both male and female, 
who took part in this great contest with savage nature, whose tottering frames 
show very clearly that they have endured great privations, such as but few of 
their children would undertake. Fortunately for the children, they have noth- 
ing to do but enjoy the fruits of their parents indomitable pluck and persever- 
ance. 

These old pioneers are rapidly passing away, and soon will be only kno\\n 
by the works they have done. Yet, before passing away they have had the 
great satisfaction of knowing that they have left a heritage for their children, 
where they may enjoy all tlie comforts of life without enduring the trials, pri- 
vations and inconveniences they were compelled to endure. 

It is to be hoped that the children will continue to develop the resources 
of the land their parents have done so much to make ready for their occupa- 
tion. In the very nature of things the future resources of this township will 
mainly depend upon agriculture. There seems, at present, to be little else upon 
which the people of Napoleon township can depend except that which may be 
gained from the cultivation of the soil. This is not a cause for discouragement. 
We have the city of Toledo, with its piienomenal growth, which may fairly en- 
title it to the appellation of the "Future Great;" also the embryo cities of 
Findlay, Bowling Green and Lima, with their great flow of oil and gas, which 
cannot help making them great manufacturing centers. All of these are our 
near neighbors, and they will need everything we can produce, and will there- 
fore furnish a market at our very doors, and at remunerative prices. The early 
settlers of the township are rapidly passing over to the majority beyond the 
river, therefore it is well to place on record their early trials and privations, and 
their heroic struggles with poverty and disease ; in their efforts to subdue the 

32 



250 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

unbroken wilderness; in the process of developing its resources to the present 
condition. This furnishes a reason for the existence of this volume. It is in- 
tended to be a memorial of inestimable value to the descendants of these worthy- 
pioneers, as well as to all who may hereafter partake of the benefits of their 
indomitable industry and perseverance. 

We had almost neglected to speak of our beautiful Maumee River, the pride 
of northwestern Ohio. The dam built by the State to feed the Miami and Erie 
canals, backs the water more than twenty-five miles, extending nearly to the 
western line of the county, thus giving us a beautiful and placid stream which 
is a marvel of beauty. It furnishes navigation for pleasure boats of all kinds ; 
and excursions up and down the river are of almiost daily occurrence through 
the summer season, and in winter gives our young people the best of skating, 
which they are not slow to utilize. Accomplished skaters are very numerous 
among those who live along its beautiful banks. 

The following is a list of the chattel taxpayers of Napoleon township in 
1837, ^'^- • Amos Andrews, Samuel Bowers, Catharine Belong, Jesse Essex, 
John Glass, Henry Leonard, George Bowers, Alexander Craig, Frederick 
Lord, James Magill, Jonathan Kneely, Lorenzo Patrick, Adolphus Patrick, 
John Patrick, John Powell, Edwin Scribner, George Stout, Hazael Strong, 
Reuben Straight, Israel Wait and J. P. Whipple, — twenty-five names in all. 
We believe all of them are dead with the exception of Frederick Lord, who, at 
last account, was living at Paw Paw, Mich. Among our best citizens many of 
these names are found, showing that they are well represented. 

The value of the real estate in the township at that time was $18,792 ; 25 
horses valued at $1,000 ; 88 hedd of cattle valued at $700 dollars; money and 
merchandise to the amount of $425, making a total valuation of $20,941, on 
which was assessed a tax of $286.97.8. In the present year, 1887, just fifty 
years, the same items are as follows : 

Religion is also not neglected. Besides the numerous church edifices, filled 
with attentive congregations, in the county seat, there are two Lutheran and 
one United Brethren churches outside of the town of Napoleon, where neigh- 
bors can attend worship nearer home. 

Okolona is a small village with post-office on the W^abash, St. Louis and 
Western Railway, in the southwestern part of the township. It has considera- 
ble local trade, and is a convenience to the people in that locality. 

Sketches of Pioneer Residents of Napoleon Township. 

Hazael Strong was born in Vermont, March 23, 1804. He was married to 
Sabrina Garrey in 1833. Mrs. Strong was also born in 1804. They settled 
in Henry county and Napoleon township in the same year they were married. 
Mr. Strong was the first auditor of Henry county, having been appointed to 
that position by the associate judges at the time the county was organized. 



Henry County. 



251 



He held the office until his successor was elected at the first general election. 
He afterwards held the office of county recorder ; he was clerk of the Com- 
mon Pleas Court fourteen years ; he also held the office of county surveyor, for 
which office he was peculiarly well fitted, as he took great pride in doing his 
work with the greatest possible accuracy; he also served as deputy treasurer 
of the county during the term for which Israel Wait was elected, doing the 
greater portion of the work of the office. They had only one child, a son, who 
died in 1861. Hazael Strong died in 1877. His widow still survives at the 
ripe age of eighty-three years. 

Hon. John Powell was one of the first settlers in Henry count)-, having per- 
manently located here in 1835. He was born in Oneida county, X. Y., Dec. 
14, 1806 ; was married in Erie county, O., Jan. 9, 1831, to Esther Magill, who 
was born in Huron county, O., Dec. 7, 181 1. They had a family of twelve 
children, five of whom are dead ; one of them, Volney Powell, having been 
murdered in a South Carolina massacre, Oct. 20, 1870. Four of their sons 
served their country in the War of the Rebellion. Samuel I'owell belonged to 
Co. B, 38th Regiment O. V. I., of which regmient Hazael H. Powell, M.D., 
then quite a young man, was surgeon. Volney Powell belonged to the 14th 
Regiment O. \'. I., and was afterwards in the one hundred day service. George 
Powell was also in the one hundred day .service. When Mr. Powell settled in 
this county Napoleon consisted of one log hou.se, owned by a man named An- 
drews. Several log houses were added to the place during the summer of 
1835. In the same year Mr. Powell was elected township clerk, and in 1837 
was elected county auditor. After serving two terms, he served as deputy 
sheriff. He was then elected justice of the peace, and in 1840 was, by the 
Legislature, appointed associate judge of Henry county, which office he held 
one term. He also filled the office of county commissioner, three terms. He 
began business in Napoleon, as a shoemaker ; in 1836 he began merchandising, 
which vocation he followed until 185 i. He then kept a hotel or tavern, as it 
was then called, but soon again entered the mercantile business which he con- 
tinued until 1862. After the first court-house burned, in 1847, the question of 
removing the county seat to the town of Te.xas, a few miles farther down the 
river, in Washington township, arose. The people of the county were divided 
on the question, and upon that issue Mr. Powell was elected county commis- 
sioner, which fixed the county seat at Napoleon. Mr. Powell died July 27* 
1886, and his aged wife followed him in December of the same year. 

Edwin Scribner, was born in New York in 1808. and brought to Henry 
county when a lad of eight years old, in 18 16. There was not at that time a 
wagon road in the county, nothing but Indian trails. Flour and meal could 
only be obtained by taking wheat to mill at Monroe, Mich. When a lad of 
thirteen years of age, he rode on horseback and alone, to Greenville, Darke 
county, O., and brought back with him a bundle of rolls of wool to be spun 



252 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

and woven into clothing for the family. Mr. Scribner erected the first saw- 
mill in Henry county in 1838, on Dry Creek, in what is now Washington town- 
ship. He died May 16, 1887. 

Allen B. Scribner, a son of the above, was born in Henry county May 25, 
1825. He was married in Delaware county, O., August 24, 1863, to Mary C. 
Potter, who was born in that county in 1841. They have had four children. 
Mr. S. is at present engaged in the sale of hardware and agricultural imple- 
ments in Napoleon. 

George Stout came to Napoleon in the autumn of 1834. Napoleon town- 
ship was then an almost unbroken wilderness. He purchased a town lot in 
Napoleon and built the second log cabin in the place. He lived in this cabin 
while he built a public house or tavern, into which he moved his family in 
March, 1835. This he opened for the entertainment of guests as soon as it 
could be made ready. The first two or three terms of the Common Pleas 
Court, was held in the dining room of this hostelry, and the first grand jury of 
Henry county slept in the hay-mow in the barn. At this time there were but 
few settlers in the county. Those nearest were Hazael Strong, John Patrick, 
and Amos Andrews, who lived four miles down the river, and Elijah Gunn, 
who lived on Girty's Island, five miles above town. For a distance of fifteen 
miles from the river, on both sides, the county was a vast unbroken wilderness. 
As an inducement to settlers, a town lot was offered by the original proprietors 
of the town, Messrs. Phillips, Cory and Level, to the first permanent settler. 
Upon this lot a log cabin had been built by a man named HoUoway, being 
the first erected in the place. It was quit- claimed by Mr. Holloway, and also 
afterwards by several others, none of whom remained long enough to entitle 
them to a deed, and was finally deeded to Mr. Stout as the first actual settler 
in the town. This was lot No. 25 on the origin^ll plat of Napoleon. The house 
was somewhat pretentious for those days, as it was built of hewed logs, the 
greater portion of the buildings of that day being of round logs. It was after- 
wards weather- boarded and plastered, and is still standing, being the oldest 
house in town. 

Joseph A. Stout, a son of the above, was born in Holmes county, O., July 
13, 1 8 19. He was married to Sarah C. Palmer. They raised two children, 
Albert T. and Ella A. Stout. The latter married Johnson N. High, and re- 
sides with her husband in Kansas. Mr. Stout came to Henry county with his 
parents in 1834, and had with all the settlers of that early period an abundant 
experience of the trials of pioneer life. 

John G. Stout, a brother to the above, came to Henry county with his 
parents in 1834. He was at one time a superintendent of public works in 
Ohio, Indiana and Illinois. He was married to Sarah Ryan January 24, 1841, 
They had a family of eight children, one of whom, John P. Stout, is an exam- 
iner of pensions in Washington. 



Henry County. 253 



Adam Stout was born in Richland county, O., September 29, 18 19. He 
was married to Mary J. l^arnhart, who was born in Maryland, ()., in 1S26. 
They had eight children. He moved with his parents to this county in 1833. 

Hon. James G. Haly was born in Holmes county, O., Dec. 6, 18 16. He 
was married August 12, 1845, to Harriet Conkling, who was born in Mont- 
gomery county, O., February 3, 1821. He was admitted to the bar of Ohio 
in the summer of 1840; was elected prosecuting attorney for the county in 
the same year. He served four years by election and one year by appoint- 
ment of the court. He served six yc;irs as justice of the peace of Napoleon 
township, was elected county auditor in 1845, •'^"'-^ served four years. In 1851 
he was elected to the Legislature from Putnam and Henry counties, and sat 
during the first session of that body under the present constitution. He was 
appointed collector on the Miami and Erie Canal, and was stationed at Junc- 
tion, in Paulding county, where the Wabash and Erie Canal joins the Miami 
and P>ie. He filled the position for a term of three years, during which he 
collected and paid over to the State of Ohio, more than a quarter of a million 
dollars. He then entered into partnership at Napoleon with I'^dward Sheffield 
(since deceased) in the practice of law. This partnership continued until the 
beginning of the War of the Rebellion in 1861. He recruited and organized 
Company D, Sixty-eighth Regiment, O. V. I., and was appointed quarter- 
master of the regiment, in which capacity he served one year, when he resigned 
on account of failing health. He then formed a law partnership with J. M. 
Haag and William Sheffield (since deceased), which continued until he was 
elected probate judge of Henry county, which office he held twelve years. 
Since his retirement from the judgeship he has retired t'rom active life and oc- 
cupies himself superintending his farm near town. Six children were born to 
them. 

Hon. Alexander Craig settled in Napoleon township in 1835. He and his 
wife were both born in Pennsylvania in 1800, and 1 80 1, respectively. The}' 
were married in 1827. Mr. Craig held the office of sheriff two terms, and that 
of associate judge of Henry county one term. They had a family of four chil- 
dren. Mr. C. is now dead. 

William C. Brownell, with his wife, whose maiden name was Lydia O.sborn, 
came to Henry county in the autumn of 1835, and settled in what is now known 
as Flat Rock township, and came to Napoleon in 1842 or '43 ; was elected 
sherift'of the county in 1843, and served one term ; was school examiner sev- 
eral years, and was also county surveyor for a longtime, doing a larger amount 
of surveying in the county than any other man. They had seven children. 
He lived and died a consistent member of the society of Friends. 

William H. Brownell, a son of the above couple, was born in Rensselaer 
county, N. Y., September 6, 1832, and was brought to this county in 1835 
with his parents. He remembers seeing many Indians in his boyhood, as they 



254 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

frequently stayed all night at his father's house. Mr. B. held the office of county 
surveyor one term. ' He was a farmer in his early life, then learned the trade 
of carpenter, which he followed until the Rebellion. He enlisted in Napoleon 
in Company F, Fourteenth Regiment, Ohio three months men, and served 
the time in West Virginia. He took part in the battles of Phillippi, Laurel 
Hill and Carrick's Ford. After their term of enlistment expired the regiment 
re- enlisted and reorganized as the Fourteenth Regiment O. V. I., for three 
years. He was appointed first lieutenant of Company D ; was in the fight 
at Wild Cat, Ky., and in numerous skirmishes between Ringgold and Atlanta. 
When he reached Atlanta he was compelled to resign on account of his health. 
When he arrived home he weighed only 1 1 5 pounds. He has since filled many 
responsible positions, and is now cashier of Meekison's bank. He has had six 
children. 

John O. Palmer settled with his parents in Henry county in 1837. He was 
born in New York June 22, 1832, and married in Napoleon, O., September 
24, 1857, to Margaret Tressler, who was born in Ohio August 19, 1837. They 
had three children. Mrs. Palmer's mother came to Henry county, a widow, 
in 1849. 

James Shasteen was one of the earliest settlers in the county. He came 
with his parents in 1826. He filled the offices of justice of the peace and 
assessor. He furnished three sons to the Union army. Peter Shasteen be- 
longed to the Fourteenth Regiment O. V. I.; was wounded at Chickamauga, 
and died from the effi^cts of the wound soon after. Emanuel Shasteen belonged 
to the artillery corps, and died in the service. James Shasteen, jr., belonged 
to the One Hundred and Eighty-fourth Regiment, O. V. I., and survived the 
war. 

S. L. Curtis was born in Java Lake, N. Y., October 11, 1836, was married 
to Mary Chapman, who died in 1872 leaving two children. He married Mar- 
garet A. Guaintance, in Napoleon July i, 1874. He settled in Henry county 
in 1838. 

William Dodd was born in New Jersey June 18, 1810. He was married to 
Mary Thompson in Henry county about the year 1837. When quite young 
Mr. Dodd enlisted in the U. S. Army, then stationed at Fort Leavenworth. 
During the three years he served in the army they were engaged in a very 
active campaign, under the command of Colonel Dodge, against the Comanche 
Indians, near the Rocky Mountains. After his term of enlistment expired he 
returned to the States in 1836. He also took part in the Canadian Rebellion 
in 1837. He held a colonel's commission from the Provincial Congress of 
Upper Canada. He was a contractor during the construction of the Miami 
and Erie Canal. He held the office of sheriff, and also that of treasurer of 
Henry county. He died April 22, 1859. Mrs. Dodd was brought to the 
Maumee Valley in 1821, when she was four years old. She is believed to 



Henry County. 255 



have taught the first school in Henry county. The school room was in the 
residence of John Patrick, three miles below Napoleon on the river. She 
also taught at Independence, six miles below Defiance on the river. Many of 
our oldest citizens attended her school in their early days. She also taught 
at W'aterville, in Lucas county and the Indian mission school, near Water- 
ville. She is now spending the evening of her days with her children in 
this vicinity. She has spent sixty-nine years of her life on the Maumee river ; 
the greater portion of this time she resided in Napoleon. This couple had six 
children. Their eldest son, Ezra S. Dodd, was attending school in St. Louis 
when the war began. He at once enlisted in the First Missouri Regiment of 
Infantry for one year. At the battle of Wilson's Creek he was taken prisoner 
and was held eighteen months. After his release he came to Napoleon, and 
raised Company B, One Hundred and Eighty-fourth Regiment, O. V. I., and 
was appointed captain. He was in numerous engagements, and was on board 
of the first gunboat that passed the gauntlet at Vicksburg. He was promoted 
to the rank of major of the regiment, and held that position when mustered 
out of the service. He now resides in Toledo, O. 

William Dodd, jr., was a member of Company I, Sixty-eighth Regiment, 
O. \'. I., and died in the service October 12, 1862. 

Edwin C. Dodd, another son, was a member of the One Hundred and 
Eighty-fourth Regiment, O. V. I., Company B, and served to the end of the 
war. 

George Frease was born in Pennsylvania, August 20, 18 12. He was mar- 
ried in Summit county, O., June 7, 1835, to Elizabeth Willard, who was born 
in Ohio, December 10, 1812. They had eight children, several of whom are 
prominent in business circles at this time. Mr. Frease settled in Henry county 
in 1843. 

Thomas Brown, a millwright, settled in Henry county in 1845. Nativity^ 
Ohio. 

S. F. Hamlin, a millwright, settled in Henry county in 1849. Nativity, 
Ohio. 

Charles Sweet, a millwright, settled in Henry county in 1858. Nativity, 
New York. 

D. W. Frease was born in Stark county, O., July 28, 1837, is a son of 
George and Elizabeth Frease, who were natives of Pennsylvania, born in the 
year 1812, and settled in Henry county in 1842, where they still reside. Henry 
Willard, the father of Elizabeth F"rease, died in Henry county at the advanced 
age of ninety-four years. The subject of this sketch was married at Napoleon 
F'ebruary 16, 1 87 1, to Julia F'eighner, who was born in Pennsylvania, March 
15, 1845. Mr. Frease enlisted February 14. 1864, in Company B, Thirty- 
eighth Regiment, O. V. I., and served until the close of the war. He was in 
the following battles and campaigns, viz.: The campaign of Atlanta, campaign 



256 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

of Georgia, siege of Savannah and campaign of North and South CaroHna, and 
served until the end of the war. He is now a justice of the peace for Napoleon 
township. He came to the county with his parents in 1842. 

A. H. Tyler settled in Napoleon in 1847. ^^ ^"^'^s the first county clerk 
ever elected in Henry county. That officer, previous to the present con- 
stitution, was appointed by the court. He has since filled the offices of justice 
of the peace, county school examiner, and was a member of the constitutional 
convention that framed the present constitution, which was adopted in the 
year 1851. Dr. Tyler was born in New Haven, N. Y., January 27, 1819. 
He was married to Elizabeth B. Grannis, in Huron' county, O., October 29, 

1846. They had four children born to them. Mrs. Tyler died in . 

Dr. Tyler served as assistant surgeon in the Sixty-eighth Regiment O. V. I. for 
two years. He married again, and is now residing on his farm near Napoleon. 

Bennett Stenbird was born in 1822, and settled in Henry county in 1847. 
He enlisted in Company C, Fourteenth Regiment, O. V. I., at Toledo, Sep- 
tember 17, 1 86 1, and received his discharge at Atlanta, Ga., September 12, 
1864. 

Herman A. Myerholtz was born in Hanover, Germany, June 17, 1835, and 
settled in Henry county with his parents in 1848. He was married in Defi- 
ance county, O., March 17, 1864, to Louisa Shults, who was born in Prussia 
in 1844. They have several children. He has held several offices of trust in 
the county and township. He was township trustee, and justice of the peace, 
and treasurer of Napoleon township. He was the first infirmary director of the 
county. He, with his brother Henry, have carried on the business of grocers 
and provision dealers for many years. They also have been engaged in the 
manufacture of brick and tile for a number of years. 

H. F. Myerholtz, a brother of the above, was born in Germany June 24, 
1844, and married to Mary Gilson September 15, 1868. He came to Henry 
county with his parents in 1848. He enlisted in Company F, Sixty-eighth 
Regiment, O. V. I., and served until January 27, 1863, when he was discharged 
at Cincinnati, O. He re-enlisted February 9, 1865, and served until the close 
of the war. Although in active service from the time of enlistment until the 
close of the war, he escaped without the slightest wound. 

W. Linn settled in Henry county in 1849. 

Reuben P. Calkins was born in New York April 2, 1821. He was married 
in Ohio to Annie E. Thompson, daughter of William and Rebecca Thompson, 
of Stark county, O. Four children were born to them. Mr. Calkins's parents 
settled in Henry county in 1836. Mr. C. himself came in 1856. 

Christian H. Helberg was born in Germany November ii, 1833. He was 
married in Henry county November 17, 1865, to Anna Drewes, whose parents 
were natives of Germany, and who settled in Henry county, where Mrs. H. was 
born. Mr. H. settled in Henry county in 1848, and suffered the privations 



Henry County. 257 



common to the settlers of that period. In early times in this county it was not 
an uncommon thing for the farmer to shoulder a bag of grain and carry it to 
mill, as that uas frequently the easiest way to get it there. The forests at that 
time were full of game. Squirrels were very numerous, and materially assisted 
the farmer in gathering his corn crop. Mr. Helberg enlisted in the Sixty- 
eighth Regiment O. V. I., October 15, 1861. He took part in the siege of 
Vicksburg, battle of Atlanta, and marched with Sherman to Atlanta. lie was 
wounded, and the ball was never extracted. 

John Dancer was born in Jefferson county, C, June 3, 1823. He was mar- 
ried to Margaret Huston in Ashland county, O., November 5, 1849. Mrs. 
Dancer was born in Columbiana county O., May 28, 1827. They had six 
children. Their son George was a member of the Seventy-seventh Regiment, 
O. V. I., and served three years and ten months. Mr. Dancer settled in Henry 
count}- in 1848. 

William Mason was born in Milan, O., April 12, 18 17. He married Eliza- 
beth Smith, W'ho was born in Wayne county. O., September 23, 1824. They 
had four children, and were early settlers in the county. 

Hon. William A. Tressler was born March 19, 1824; was married Jan. 23^ 
1845, in Frederick count)-, Md., to Anna Elliott, w^ho was born Jan. 14. 1823. 
They came to Henry county in the spring of 1849. Mrs. Tressler died Nov. 
II, 1 88 1. Mr. Tressler has lived in the county ever since his first arrival. He 
has held the office of State Senator two years, was county treasurer four years, 
was mayor of Napoleon four years, marshal of the town two years, and justice 
of the peace eight years, which office he now fills. 

George Daum is the son of George and Margaret Daum, both of whom are 
deceased. They were born in France, in 1798, in the same town and on the 
same day and hour. The subject of this sketch was born in France, Jan. 12, 
1834, and married in Napoleon, O., in the autumn of 1871, to Rachel Spieth, 
whose parents were Germans. They have a large family of children. He 
settled in Henry county in 1846. He was at one time clerk of Pleasant town- 
ship, was elected sheriff in 1872, which office he held four years, was elected 
county commissioner in 1876 and served one term, was again elected sheriff 
and again served two terms, or four years. He was again elected count)' com- 
missioner in 1886, which office he now holds. Mr. Daum enlisted in Cleve- 
land Oct. I, 1862, in Company D, 124th Regiment, O. V. I. He was pro- 
moted from second lieutenant to captain of the company, in which capacity he 
served until the close of the war. He was wounded in the battle of Nashville, 
in the second day's fight. He also took part in the battles of Chickamauga, 
Resaca, Kenesaw Mountain, Peachtree Creek and Atlanta. 

Henry E. Gary was born in Huron county, O., Jan. 14, 1838, and removed 
with his parents to Henry county in 1S46. His father, Joel Gary, was born in 
Vermont in 18 14, and died Sept. 21, 1849. His mother, Harriet W. C. Gary,. 

33 



258 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

was born in Connecticut, in 18 18. and still resides in Napoleon. Mr. Cary 
was married in Napoleon, Dec. 27, 1886, to Amelia M. Roach, who was born 
in Providence, Lucas county, O., Jan. 22, 1845. They have three children. 
Mr. Cary enlisted in Company G, 163d Regiment, O. V. I. as lieutenant, and 
served ninety days. His bro.ther, Harlem P. Cary was a member of the 68th 
Regiment, O. V. I. On his way home he died with small-pox, at Chatta- 
nooga, Tenn. Mr. Cary claims to have the oldest grocery house in Napoleon. 

Homer P. Hopkins was born in Erie county, O., May 29, 1837, ^nd was 
married Oct. i, 1867, to Mary A. Neidhamer, who was born in Michigan, in 
1847. ^^>'- Hopkins enlisted in Company H, First Regiment, M. V. I., at 
Adrian, Mich., July 25, 1 861. The regiment was assigned to Hooker's brig- 
ade, and during the winter oi 1861 was kept as guard at Annapolis, Md. He 
witnessed the celebrated contest between the Moniter and Merrimac in Chese- 
peake Bay. He was in the battle of Mechanicsville, and was shot through the 
arm at Gaines's Mills. He took part in the siege of Richmond ; at Chancellors- 
ville he narrowly escaped death; while lying flat on the ground a shell burst 
and a piece struck the ground between his arm and head as he lay with his 
arm bent, and buried itself eight inches in the hard earth. After he was 
wounded he lived six days without food except a few berries He w^as in sev- 
eral of the hard-fought battles of the war, was with Burnside in the march 
from F"almouth, Va. He was honorably discharged at the close of the war- 
He has removed from the county. 

Mrs. Eliza Hill was born in Jefferson county, O., Feb. 16, 1825, was mar- 
ried in Holmes county, Aug. 16, 1844, to a son of Abraham and Sarah Hill, 
in Holmes county, O. They had nine children. 

'"■ Edward Lingle was born in Butler county, O., June 21, 1818, and was mar- 
ried in the same county to Margaret Weaver, Dec. 3. 1846. Six children 
w-ere born to them. The parents of this couple were all from Pennsylvania. 
Mr. L. held the office of coroner six years, and that of infirmary director, three 
years. He settled in Henry county in 1850. 

Jacob Bales was the son of David and Ann Bales, of Pennsylvania, who 
moved to Ohio in 1812. He was born in Wayne county, O., Sept. 27, 1821, 
and was married in the same county, in 1841, to Salome Sidle, who was born 
in Pennsylvania, Dec. 9, 1819. They had eleven children. Mr. Bales filled 
the office of assessor and township trustee. 

Conrad Clay was born in Stark county, O., April 20, 1822. He was mar- 
ried in Defiance count}', O., Oct. 9, 1851, to Julia A. Stoddard, who was born 
in Connecticut, Feb. 17, 1 834. They had nine children. He lost a valuable 
mill by fire in 1871. He, together with his parents, John and Julia Clay, set- 
tled in Henry county in 1 850, as also did William H. and Abigail Stoddard, 
the parents of Mrs. Cla\'. 

Andrew Sherman was born in Germany, and settled in Henry county in 



Henry County. 259 



1852. He was married in Sandusky City, C)., May 9, 1849, to l''\a Walter, 
also a German. He settled in Henry eounty in 1852. 

Henry Panning was born in German)', February 2 1, 1 821. He was mar- 
ried in Henry county, O., January 28, 1851. Miss Othnar was also born in 
Germany, December, 1824. They had nine children. Mr. P.'s parents settled 
in this county in 1854. His wife's parents came in 1858. Mr. Pannini:^ set- 
tled in this county in 1851. 

Henry Dachenhaus settled with his parents, who are Germans, in Henry 
county in 1850. He was born January 5, 1825, and married in Henry county, 
October 18, 1854, to Sophia Precht, also of Germany, where she was born in 
1828. Seven children were born to them. 

Henry Buhlart was born in Germany May 15, 1844. He was married May 
30, 1867, to Eliza Ludeman, who was born in Cleveland, April i, 1844. Mr. 
Buhlart, with his parents, Henry and Louisa Buhlart, settled in Henry county, 
in 1849. ^Ii*s. Buhlart's parents, Frederick and Catharine Ludeman, settled in 
Henry county, in 1845. Mr. Buhlart was a member of the Sixty-eighth Regi- 
ment O. V. Infantry, and was in a number of battles during his term of service. 

Robert K. Scott was born in Armstrong county, Pa., in 1826, and settled 
in Henry county in 1851. He practiced medicine five years, then engaged in 
merchandising. In 1861 he was appointed major of the Sixty- eighth O. V. 
Infantry, which he recruited. He was promoted to lieutenant- colonel Novem- 
ber 29, 1861; was at the battles of F'ort Donaldson, Pittsburgh Landing, then 
at the siege of Corinth. He commanded a brigade in the battle of Hatchie 
River. His regiment was placed in the command of Major- General McPher- 
son. He took part in the battles of Port Hudson, Raymond, Jackson, Cham- 
pion Hills and Big Black. He was placed in command of the Second Brigade, 
Seventeenth Army Corps. He was taken prisoner during the investment of 
Atlanta, was exchanged and returned to his brigade, with which he accompa- 
nied Sherman in his famous march to the sea. His brigade was mustered out 
of service July 10, 1865. He was made a brigadier-general January 12, 1865, 
and before the close of the war was made a major-general by brevet. In Jan- 
uary, 1866, he was ordered to take charge of the Freedman's Bureau, in South 
Carolina. In 1868 he was elected governor of South Carolina, and again in 
1870. He returned to Henry county in 1876. He married Jane Lowry, by 
whom he has one son, R. K. Scott, jr., who was for some time captain of Com- 
pany F, O. N. G. The governor is now engaged in manufacturing. 

William McHenry, the son of Dr. McHenry mentioned above, was horn in 
Seneca county, O., May 21, 1845. He was married September 3, 1873, to 
Anna M. Reiter, who was born in Henry county, January 15, 1855. They have 
two children. He enlisted in Company D, One Hundred and Twenty-fifth 
Regiment O. V. Infantry, October 8, 1862. He was transferred to Company I, 
in the same regiment, June 15, 1863. He took part in the battles of Chicka- 



26o History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

mauga, Mission Ridge, Dandridge, Kenesavv Mountain and Lovejoy Station. 
He received a wound at Dandridge, and another at Lovejoy Station, and was 
honorably discharged on account of disabiUty, November 15, 1864. He served 
five years as guard at the Ohio Penitentiary, during' a part of which time he 
filled the position of instructor of schools and librarian. He came to Henry 
county with his parents in 1850. 

David Meekison was born in Forfarshire, Scotland, in 18 12, and came to 
Henry county in 1853. He was married in 1835, "'' Dundee, Scotland. They 
had eight children. Mrs. Meekison died June 3, 1875. He married again and 
still lives in Napoleon. 

David Meekison, jr., a son of the above, was born in Scotland, November 
14, 1849. He was married August 24, 1881, to Clara E. Bowers, who was born 
in Henry county, August 4, i860. Three children have been born to them. 
Mr. Meekison made the first start in public life by joining the Fourth U. S. 
Artillery, in which he served three years as a private. He then returned to 
Napoleon, and received the appointment of clerk of the town, to fill an unex- 
pired term, after which he was elected and served two terms. His second term 
as probate judge will expire in December, of this year, 1887. He is an active 
and public-spirited citizen, and is foremost in all enterprises that tend to ad- 
vance the well-being of the place. He came to Henry county in 1855. 

Julius Chappnis was born in France, August 6. 1841. He was married at 
Texas, in Henry county, in September, 1861, to Ann Hardy, who was born in 
Virginia, December 24, 1837. They have six children. Mr. Chappnis settled 
in Henry county in 1853. 

Abraham L. Willard was born in Stark county, O., April 12. 18 19, and 
came to Henry county in 1852. He owned and ran a boat on the canal for ten 
years. He was never married. He still lives in Napoleon. 

Henry Otte was born in Germany, in 1831 ; was married in 1855 to Elsie 
M)er, who was also born in German)'. They had seven children, and were early 
settlers in the county. 

Jo. Christ Buchele was born in Germany, June 18, 1838, and was married in 
Henry county, in 1 854, to Christina Singer, who was also born in Germany, 
July 20, 1832. They had nine children. They settled in Henry county in 1853. 

John F. Oberhaus was born in Germany, July 18, 1842, and was married in 
Henry county, April 19, 1872, to Sophia M. Beaderstat, who was also born in 
Germany, Dec. 12, 185 i. Mr. Oberhaus had a brother in the Sixty-eighth O. 
V. Infanty, in 185 I, and served until the close of the war. They had several 
children. 

Julius Van Hyning was born in Summit county, O., January 3, 1822, and 
was married in the same county January 19, 185 I, to Sarah Willard, who was 
born in Stark county, January i, 1822. They had six children. Mr. Van 
Hyning belonged to the Sixty-eighth O. V. I., and took part in the battles of 



Henry County. 261 



Fort Donaldson, Pittsburgh Landing, Fort Henry, and was wounded at the 
battle of Crump's Landing, Tenn. He was honorably discharged from the 
service for disability. He settled in Henry county in 1858, and still resides on 
his farm near Napoleon. 

Nathaniel Hartman was born in Pennsylvania in 1835, and was married in 
Henry county November 2, 1856, to Lydia R. Ritter, who was born in Ohio 
in 1838. Seven children were born to them. Mr. H. was a member of the 
One Hundred and Sixty-third O. V. L during the " late unpleasantness," and 
died in Napoleon in 1886. He settled in Henry county in 1850. 

John Wait was born in Pennsylvania March 3, 1826, and married to his 
second wife in Henry county, September 5, 1871, to Annie M. Strole, who 
was tile widow of Milton Atkinson, who enlisted in Company B, One Hun- 
dredth Regiment, O. V. I., in 1862, and was lost in the battle of Limestone 
Ridge, Tenn., in 1863. His real fate is not known, but he is supposed to have 
been killed. Mr. Atkinson left four children. Mr. Wait had one child by his 
first wife, and two by his second wife. He belonged to the Ninety-sixth Regi- 
ment O. V. L; was in several battles and escaped unharmed. He settled in 
Henry county in 1867. 

H. H. Fast was born in Ohio, and settled in Henry county in 1852. 

William F. Daggett was born in Lucas county, O., May 24, 1830. He was 
married in Washington township, Henry county, December 25, 1855, to Al- 
vira L. Scribner, who w^as born in the same township January 24, 1833. They 
had eight children. He was recorder of the county six years and auditor three 
years. He settled in Henry county in 1852. J 

Charles E. Reynolds was born in Massachusetts June 15, 1844. He was 
married at Napoleon September 12, 1866, to Sarah E. Parker. Two children 
were born to them. He served as auditor for several years; also as county 
school examiner for many years, which office he now fills. He also served as 
clerk of Napoleon township ten years. He enlisted in the fall of 1861 in 
Company F, Sixty- eighth Regiment, O. V. L, and served until the close of the 
war. He entered the service as a private, and was promoted to quartermas- 
ter-sergeant. He was in the battle of Little Hatchie. At the siege of Rich- 
mond he was taken prisoner and sent to Libby prison, where he remained one 
month, when he was exchanged, but was afterwards again taken prisoner while 
on Sherman's raid, near Norton, Miss. He was confined first at Mobile, then 
at Cahaba, Ala., and lastly at that shed on earth — Adersonville — where he 
spent thirteen months, until the final exchange. Like all the unfortunates 
who entered that worse than hell, he suffered such tortures and privations as 
no pen has yet been able, adequately, to describe. The close of the war re- 
leased him, with such of his comrades as had survived. He now resides in 
Napoleon, and is engaged in the business of insurance. He came to Henry 
county in 1854. 



262 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

Patrick Ragan was born in 1800, in County Cork, Ireland ; was married in 
1844 in Canada to Norah Hagerty, who was born in St. Johns, New Bruns- 
wick, in 1822. They had six children. Mrs. Ragan died in 1856; Mr. Ragan 
in 1866. They settled in Henry county in 1854. 

James P. Ragan, a son of the above, was born in Gilead, near Grand Rapids, 
in Wood county, O., March 17, 1852, and came with his parents to Henry 
county in 1854. After teaching school a number of years he studied law, and 
was admitted to the bar March 16, 1878. He resides in Napoleon and is 
engaged in the practice of his profession in partnership with Hon. J. M. Haag. 

John Diemer was born in Bavaria, February 2, 1837. He was married in 
Napoleon, in i860, to Josephine Greber, who was born in Bavaria in 1840. 
They had twelve children. Mr. Diemer enlisted in the Fourteenth Ohio three 
months troops, and served four months. He was honorably discharged and 
returned to Napoleon. He was in many skirmishes and battles during his 
term of service, among which were Philippi, Laurel Hill, Cheat River and Car- 
rick's Ford. Since the war he has continued to reside with his family in Na- 
poleon. He has kept a meat marrket for many years. He came to Henry 
county in 1850. 

John D. Belknap came to Henry county in 1850, and was one of the first 
men to enlist in the Fourteenth Regiment, three months men, and was in- 
stantly killed at Laurel Hill. He was married before coming to this county. 
They had three children. His son, J. P. Belknap, is the editor and proprietor 
of the Henry County Signal. 

Jonas Shumaker was born in Wayne county, O., October 26, 1821. He 
was married in Crawford county, O., May 25, 1847, to Esther Speigle, who 
was born in Stark county, O., December, 1829. They had seven children. 
He was a member of the board of education nine years. He settled in Henry 
county in 1 850. 

Joseph Shumaker, brother to the above, was born in Wayne county, O., 
May 13, 1828. He was married in Crawford county, O., October 18, 1853,10 
Mary A. Weiler, who was born in Pennsylvania, of German parentage. They 
had seven children. Mr. S. came to Henry county in 1858. 

Jeremiah J. Thompson was born April 12, 1850, in Holmes county, O. ; 
was married in Henry county September 3, 1 871, to Mary Foncannon, who 
was born in Seneca county, O., May 21, 1853. They had two children. Mr. 
Thompson settled in Henry county in 1853. 

George Stoner was born in Maryland, July 16, 1828. He was married in 
Seneca county, O., November 16, 1852, to Louisa Wilkins, who was born in 
Ohio, January 31, 1 830. They have a family of eleven children. He settled 
in Henry county in 1866. 

Thomas J. Howell was born in Ohio, February 15, 1850. He was married 
in Henry county November 4, 1870, to Eliza Elarton, who was born in Sen- 



---r;T!^9!>^ 



P- M 



■r 




.^XN^^-v--^^vx;-~;^;Si^ 



^// 2 




Henry County. 263 



eca county, O,, October 15, 1852. Mr. Howell settled in Henry count\- in 
1867. Mrs. Howell's father, Samuel Elarton, enlisted in the looth Rc^Mnient 
O. V. I., during the War of the Rebellion. He served hiscountr\- three )'ears 
and died in Libby prison. Richard Howell, a brother of the subject of this 
sketch, belonged to the 113th Regiment O. V. I., and served three years. 

John Snyder was born in Ohio, August 13, 1841, of German parentage. 
He was married in Henry county October 31, 1864, to Catharine Leifer, who 
was born in Richland county, O., August 8, 1841. They had five children 
born to them. 'Sh: Leifer, the father of Mrs. Su) ^ler, settled in Henry county 
in 1853. 

William M. French was born in Licking county, O., July 18, 1847, ^^^^ 
was married in Henr)' county March 31, 1868, to Sarah E. Miller, who was 
born in Marion county, O., January 24, 1850. The parents of Mr. French, 
William S. and Mary G. French, settled in Henry county in 1862. 

Henry H. Freytag was born in Germany, in 1845 ; was married in Henry 
county June 24, 1869, to Catharine Rohrs, who was born in Germany in 1849. 
Mr. F. settled with his parents in Henry county, in 185 i. His wife's parents, 
John and Mary Rohrs, came to the county in 1858. 

Justin H. T\'ler was born November 15, 1815, in Massachusetts, and was 
married June 21, 1847, to Alice Olmsted, who was born in New York city, in 
1825, and died in Napoleon, January 2, i860, leaving two children. Mr. Ty- 
ler was married the second time, on February 21, 1 861, to Hattie M. Peck, at 
Shelbourne, Mass., where she was born June 21, 1832. Four children were 
born to them. Mr. Tyler was admitted to practice law in 1841. He first lo-- 
cated at Huron, O., where he held the ofiice of township clerk, and also was 
clerk of the \illage of Huron, three years. He then came to Henry county, 
where he has held the ofiice of prosecuting attorney four years. He was also 
a member of the Ohio Legislature two years; he was also school examiner for 
several years, and was the first mayor of the village of Napoleon, which office 
he held three terms. When he first came to the county, in 1852, Napoleon 
was a village of about three hundred inhabitants, and a large portion of the 
county was an almost unbroken wilderness. He has practiced law in the 
county thirty-five years. He does not now engage actively in the duties of 
his profession, leaving the bulk of the work to be performed by his son, Julian 
H. Tyler, who promises to fill with credit the position so long held by his 
father. Although Mr. Tyler is not a member of any church, he has been a 
most liberal contributor to the construction of church buildings, claiming that 
he has contributed to nearly every church built in the count}'. Mr. T}'ler ^-as 
originally a Whig in politics ; and after the disruption of that party he became 
an ardent Republican, and, although always in the minority, he continues firm 
in his allegiance to that party. He resides in Napoleon. 

Lewis Y. Richards was born December 20, 1831, in Greene county, O.; was 



264 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

married November 8, i860, to Harriet Augusta Brancher, who was born in 
1839, at Defiance. They had two children. He came to Defiance county in 
1846, and removed to Henry county in 1853. He enhsted October 3, 1861,. 
in Company A, 68th O. V. I., as second Heutenant. He was soon promoted 
to first heutenant, and afterwards became captain of his company. He was in 
the battles of Pittsburgh Landing, Fort Donaldson, Siege of Corinth, Hatchie 
River, Port Hudson, Raymond, Jackson, Champion Hills and Big Black. He 
was offered a commission as major, in 1863, but declined, and was mustered 
out of service at the expiration of his period of enlistment, November 24, 1864, 
at Chattanooga, Tenn. Since that time he has resided at Napoleon. 

Christian E. Axe was born in Wayne county, O., September i6,- 1837, and 
was married in Henry county December 9, i860, to Mary A. Freysinger, who 
was born in Wayne county, O., May 31, 1840. They had three children. Mr. 
Axe's parents settled in Henry county in 1849, ^"^ those of his wife in 1859. 

Thomas W. Durbin was born in Maryland, August 24, 1822, and was mar- 
ried May 22, 1850, to Lucinda King, who was born in Perry county, O., July 
8, 1832. They had five children. Mr. Durbin was clerk of the Court of Com- 
mon Pleas for Henry county during one term of three years ; he also held the 
office of county commissioner during one term, and has been county recorder 
since January 7, 1884, being now in his second term. He came to Henry 
county in 1843. 



CHAPTER XXVI.i 
HISTORY OF PLEASAXT TOWNSHIP. 

OF the early organization of this township it appears that no written records 
are preserved, but in common with many other of the county's civil divi- 
sions, the early records have been neglected and allowed to become destroyed 
or lost. 

The township occupies a position in the extreme southwestern part of the 
county and its territory was formerly embraced within Flat Rock. The earli- 
est settlers in this locality were George A. Hofricker, Henry Saur, Frederick 
Loesch, George ]Dirr, Andrew Gardner and Peter Grimm, who came here in 
the year 1836. The following year, 1837, there were others, some of whom 
can be recalled. They were John P. Hornung, George A. Young, Adam Min- 
sell, John Friberger and Paul Renolet. From this time down to 1844 there 
were Casper Mangas and his sons Peter, Jacob and Henry; Paul Eding and 

1 By James E. Scofield. 



Henry County. 265 



his sons Gerhart (Jared) and Harmon; Tlieobold Bolley, Georjj^c and Daniel 
Wolfe, John Bates. John Helrich, Stephen Byal, John Wilhclni, Daniel Des- 
granges, Frederick Martz, James Shasteen (the first justice of the peace), I ienry 
Schall and John Diemer, all heads of families, with exception of the sons of 
Mangas and Eding. About 1840 Mr. Easterbrook, an Englishman, taught the 
first school in the settlement and continued three or four winter terms of three 
months each. While thus engaged he wrote a pamphlet biography of his life, 
st\'ling himself David Crocket second. Among other things it contained rem- 
iniscences of his teaching among the "benighted beings," as he styled them, 
of the wilds of Henry county. James E. Scofield, tl.e writer hereof, followed 
him as teacher of the same school in 1844-5, two winter terms, of three months 
each, and remembers many of the inhabitants of that time, together with many 
of his pupils, including his wife, then a school girl ten years his junior. Here 
may be given the names of the younger heads of families, some of whom have 
married daughters of the first settlers: John Hofrieter, Joseph Schneider (a 
shoemaker), Henry Dirr, George Dirr, John Bawman, Charles Kesselmeyer 
(a wagon maker), and perhaps other names not remembered. The following 
are names of remembered pupils, now old men and women, ha\ing well im- 
proved farms and families of grown up children, some of whom are settled for 
themselves on farms and others in villages and cities, in business; George N. 
Wolf, Harmon Eding, Henry Grimm, Peter Grimm (deceased), William Saur, 
John Loesch, Henry Loesch, Meni Loesch, Adam Loesch (deceased), Andrew 
Loesch, Margaret Saur, Caroline Wolf, Elizabeth Wolf, Daniel Wolf, Phil- 
lip Dorider, John M. Young, Elizabeth Grimm (deceased), Henry Bates 
(deceased), 'Paul Heisch and others perhaps whose names are not remembered, 
children then between the ages of four and twenty years, and attending school. 

It is supposed this township was detached from Flat Rock in the year 1843. 
It was then a howling wilderness of water, frogs, wolves, bear, deer, turkeys, 
coon and other animals of various kinds, all of which have now disappeared, 
and this vast wilderness, by the energy of its inhabitants, made to blossom like 
the rose. The records of Flat Rock township show names of heads of families 
residing in town three, north of range six, east, now Pleasant township, then 
attached to Flat Rock. Their children, that is, of the families, enumerated for 
the public schools in the year 1838, were as follows: Joseph Waddel. i 
male; Casper Mangas, 4 males; Peter Hornung, i male and i female; Peter 
Hornung, jr., i female; March, 4 males; G. A. Hofrickter, 2 males, i fe- 
male; George Dirr, i female; Peter Grim, 2 males, i female; Andrew Gardner, 
2 males, 5 females; John Friberger, i male, 4 females; David Dorider, 2 males, 

2 females; John Bates, 2 males, i female; Helrich, i male, i female: in 

all 22 males and 19 females; total, 41 children between the ages of four and 
twenty years. 

In the four original surveyed townships, three and four north of ranges six 
34 



266 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

and seven, east, Flat Rock, Pleasant, Marion and Monroe, all these included in 
Flat Rock, contained 56 male and 51 female schoolchildren; total 107. None 
of these children were then enumerated in three and four, north of range 7, 
east, now Marion and Monroe. After the detachment of Pleasant and Marion 
from Flat Rock, Marion remained in Pleasent for a time (from recollection of 
the oldest inhabitants). It is known that James Shasteen was the first justice 
of the peace and officiated as such in 1844. Who were the first trustees and 
clerk is not certainly known, but it is supposed that Henry Schall was first 
clerk, and continued for several terms. A few years later Charles Hornung 
was clerk, and also justice of the peace for thirty-nine years in succession. It 
is also supposed that Theobold Bolley was first treasurer. The writer well re- 
members that he was treasurer in 1844-5, from the fact of drawing his wages 
as school teacher from him. 

The village of New Bavaria was known by that name from the name of a 
post-office situated on the Ridge road as early as 1844-5. Charles Hornung 
was postmaster, who has been continued since, with the exception of one 
year (i860), when he acted with the Republicans in the Lincoln and Hamlin 
campaign of that year, for which he was beheaded, and Henry Schall appointed 
to fill the vacancy. Immediately after Mr. Lincoln's inauguration Mr. Hor- 
nung was reinstated and has been continued since. 

New Bavaria was surveyed and platted in the year 1882, a short distance 
w,est of the old post-office site, at the crossing of the Ridge road and the To- 
ledo, St. Louis and Kansas City Railroad, and estimated to contain about one 
hundred inhabitants. This railroad gives it an outlet for the products of an 
excellent farming country surrounding it. Messrs. Charles Hornung & Sons, 
for a number of years, have been engaged in merchandising, together with 
farming and stock raising. Recently, Charles Hornung has retired from the 
mercantile business, leaving that branch with his sons, Jacob and John H., but 
attends to his farm and stock, of which he has a fine herd. Jacob Hornung is 
also engaged in extensive manufacturing, using steam power. He manufac- 
tures heading, hoops, lumber and staves, for which he finds a ready market. 
The firm of the store have a warehouse connection, and buy all kinds of pro- 
duce. This makes a home market for the products of the farms in the vicinity. 
J. Hammerer is engaged in the manufacture and repair of boots and shoes. 
About two miles south, on the same railroad, is located Pleasant Bend, a sta- 
tion established at or about 1879, at the time of the completion of said railroad, 
with a post-office of that name. Jacob J. Fraker is the postmaster. The vil- 
lage was surveyed and platted in 1882. It is estimated to contain about one 
hundred inhabitants. Jacob J. Fraker, in connection with the post-office, is 
dealer in general merchandise and grain, also all kinds of country produce. 
Being only a short distance from New Bavaria, the trade, from necessity, is di- 
vided, both places doing a thriving business, and each having the trade of an 





a/^ (fuyn^yium 



Henry County. 267 



excellent farming communit\-. j. W. Jones & Co., general merchandisers, to- 
gether with factory (steam power), manufacture lumber, hoop and heading. 
The village contains two saw-mills, t)wned b\- Philip Hurrel and William Martz, 
both doing a thriving business, and will, no doubt, so long as the timber lasts. 
There are no churches in either of these villages, but in the vicinity near, 
erected before their existence. The German Methodist, a fine, roomy frame 
building, situated a short distance north of Pleasant Bend and northwest of 
New Bavaria, near to both places, and well attended. The German Reformed, 
a larger, more expensive and commodious brick building, is located on the 
Ridge wagon road, about one mile west of New l^avaria. It is accessible from 
both villages and vicinity. It has a large membership and is well attended. 
It has mounted in its belfry a large, expensive bell of modern manufacture. 

Nicholas Laubenthal, the present clerk of the township, lives about two 
miles east from New Bavaria, along the Ridge wagon road. He is engaged in 
merchandising and the sale of agricultural machinery and wagons ; also, he is 
engaged in farming and saw-milling, — the latter when water is f)lenty, which is 
not in good supply only part of the year. A little farther east of him is now 
being erected a Catholic church edifice, of brick, at an estimated cost of twen- 
ty-four thousand dollars. This building is to replace the old one destroyed by 
fire some time ago. The society have a |arge membership, many of whom 
come from a long distance. 

Peter Mangos, one of the foremost farmers and stock dealers of the town- 
ship, commenced business for himself about the year 1844; then a poor young 
man, without any capital except his hands and energy. Now he has one of the 
finest of farms, of about one hundred and eighty acres, with good buildings 
and ah necessary implements for modern farming; besides this he has other 
wild lands. In about i8$i-2'he was united in marriage with Miss Sarah Jack- 
man. They have raised a large family of boys, who have left the parental roof, 
exce[)t the three younger ones, whose ages range from fourteen to eighteen 
years, and are yet under the care of kind and indulgent parents. The same 
may be said of Henry Dirr and famil)-. These gentlemen and the writer were 
much together in the early days of settlement of this township. Much might 
be said of many others of later date. 

Pleasant township is traversed from northwest to southeast by a beautiful 
ridge, which enters on the west line of section seven, one and a half miles south 
of the northwest corner ; thence passing through the central part through sec- 
tions seven to seventeen, part of sixteen, through twenty-one and twenty-two, 
and corners of twenty-three and twenty-seven, through twenty-six and twenty- 
five, where it passes out some distance north of southeast corner into Marion 
township. At a very early time there was a wagon road survey along this 
ridge for ingress and egress, which extended from Defiance and Independence, 
— the latter a small village four miles east of Defiance, — to Maderia, in Putnam 



268 History of Henry and Fultox Counties. 

county, where was erected a steam flouring-mill. Maderia, like Independence, 
is among the things of the past. Settlement was first made along the ridge. 
From this ridge the land immediately descends into lowlands on either side, 
which is of very rich soil. The ridge was crossed in many places by swales 
and rivulets which are now made into artificial creeks, thereby making an ex- 
cellent drainage outlet, thus rendering available an immense quantity of as 
good farming land as is in this or any other State. Along this road the very 
first settlements were made, as the vicinity afforded very passable roads. The 
land had also dry places enough for immediate farming, as fast as the woods 
could be cleared away, thereby giving the settler an early crop. 

HOLGATE. 

This village is situated in the northeast portion of the township, the corpora- 
tion line being on the township line between the townships of Pleasant and 
Flat Rock, in sections one and two, at the junction of the Baltimore and Ohio, 
and Toledo, St. Louis and Kansas City Railroads, and crossed by the Napo- 
leon and Kalida pike, a wagon road much used for many years before Holgate 
was known. The village having six directions for ingress and egress, — four by 
rail and two wagon roads, makes it a desirable place for business. It contains 
about thirteen hundred inhabitants, including about three hundred school youth 
between the ages of six and twenty one-years, within the school limits, which 
includes something more than the corporate limits of Holgate. It has also a 
large and commodious school-house, brick structure, which is presided over by 
Professor William E. Decker (editor of the Holgate Times), as principal, to- 
gether with his assistant. Miss Tillie Eager. This school has a large attend- 
ance. 

Andrew J. Weaver commenced general merchandising here in the autumn 
of 1873, at the time of completion of the Baltimore and Ohio Railroad, and 
laying out and platting the place. He has recently retired from business on 
account of failing health, and is now erecting a fine residence. The present 
business houses are those of E. W. Poe & Co., general merchandising; Daniel 
Fribley, general groceries, flour and feed ; Valentine, Kimmick and Frederick 
Spicer, boots and shoes, connected with making and repairing; B. W. Justice 
and Ed. Swartout, barbers and hair-dressers; Isaac Sadesky, general clothing; 
Roller, tin and hardware ; Newton S. Cole, general hardware, includ- 
ing stoves, farming utensils, wagons, buggies, and general farming machinery 
of all kinds. He commenced there in the spring of 1874, and is now erecting 
a large and commodious building of brick, for the accommodation of his exten- 
sive and increasing business. Henry H. Fast, general hardware, farming uten- 
sils, machinery, etc. He has only been in the business about four years, but 
has recently erected a fine residence. L. Gillet, general merchandise ; Henry 
Voigt, meat market; Y. H. Voigt, general druggist and pharmacist. In con- 



Henry County. 269 



nection witli liis drills he keeps clocks, watches ami jewelry. L. Al. 'riiriie\', 
general druggist and pharmacist ; William S. Schuyler, general merchandise in 
two separate buildings; Joseph Voigt, furniture and undertaking; physicians, 
Drs. j. Townsend, J. C. Becker, J. B. Archer and James M. Stout ; Brayer 
Brothers, manufacturers of staves and heading; Shelly Brothers, manufacture 
sta\es and hoops; Jacob Laubenthal, saw and planning mill, and sash and door 

factory ; Gates, saw-mill, sawing only sycamore for tobacco boxes ; G. 

W. Walker, general saw-mill; E. L. Hartman, flouring mill; William Kauf- 
man, postmaster and proprietor of the Kaufman\ille ])ortion of the city, origi- 
nall\- known as an asher}-. In connection with his business as postmaster he 
manufactures black salts. F. Buchenberg, merchant tailor and ready made 
clothing; Jesse Ware, blacksmith; Harman Binger, blacksmith; Mrs. Harris, 
milliner; Mrs. Mangas, milliner; Christ Brickie and Hartwick, wagon-makers 
and blacksmithing; J. M. McEwing, groceries; H. D. Tripp, bakery and canned 
goods; Frank Edwards, groceries; William Edwards, dentist; 1^. E. Nothstine, 
photographer. The present officers of the corporation are as follows : Dr. 
James M. Stout, mayor; Ed. Swartout, marshal; B. T. ISurrin, William Kit/.. 
Henry Bortz, Valentine Kimmick, Henry Meyer and Jacob Laubenthal, coun- 
cilman ; William E. Decker, clerk. The latter person, William E. Decker, is 
editor of the Holgate Times, published weekly. 

The village has five livery stables and seven saloons ; E. Minsor is a paper- 
hanger and painter. There are two hotels, the Holgate House, L. Heacock, 
proprietor, and the Forest House, S. Margrat, proprietor; other business inter- 
ests are, E. B. Linde, dealer in organs and pianos; G. Zachreck, carpenter, 
builder and general contractor; William Retz, Christian Stauber and Phillip 
Fahrer, general carpenters and builders; Lot Barter and Izadon Hurr, masons 
and plasterers. 

Holgate was surveyed and platted in the year 1873. The J^altimorc and 
Ohio Railroad was completed in the same year. The Toledo, St. Louis and 
Kansas City Railroad, built as a narrow guage in 1880, but changed to stand- 
ard in 1887. George W. Edwards, proprietor of one of the liveries with his 
father (now deceased) .settled near the vicinity about 1836, and has resided here 
ever since. The father was known as " Edwards, the bear hunter of Henry 
county." Mrs. Edwards is a daughter of Michael Hill (deceased), a settler of 
about the same time, and who opened up a farm on the banks of Turkey Foot 
Creek, northeast of Holgate. The writer well remembers the.se families as they 
obtained their mail as late as 1846 at Florida, he being a clerk in the post-office 
and store of that village at that time, and later was postmaster and proprietor 
of a store; he also surve\'ed the road along Turkey Foot Creek, through this 
settlement. 

The progress of opening up this wilderness was, of necessity, slow and tedi- 
ous, taking many years. After Napoleon, the beautiful county-seat, loomed 



270 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

up to pretentious proportions, equal to or in excess of Florida, this settlement, 
with its increasing numbers, used Napoleon for mail and other supplies, there- 
fore, the acquaintance became limited, and finally ceased almost entirely. The 
first settlers of Pleasant township in 1836, were of foreign birth, mostly from 
Eavaria, Germany, and some from Baden, and later from France. From these 
parents the present population, American born, are descendants, and are in 
active business, although many of the parents are yet living. Since the early 
settlement many relatives and their acquaintances have immigrated here, and 
settled the vacant lands in this and adjoining townships. They show much en- 
ergy, and are law-abiding, industrious citizens of which any township or county 
may feel proud. They speak the English language equal with any other 
American citizen, but retain their own, which is handed down to their offspring. 
Their native tongue is taught in their churches and Sunday-schools, and they 
are also taught to read and write their own language, which is invariable in 
religious worship of all denominations. 



CHAPTER XXVH. 

HISTORY OF RICHFIELD TOWNSHIP. 

THIS was one of the five townships originally organized in the territory 
at present embraced in Henry county. We know that it was organized as 
early as 1837, '^"t the misfortune of the fires makes it impossible to even ap- 
proximate its limits at that time, it certainly included, as late as 1854, the 
township of Bartlow, which in that year was detached and given an indepen- 
dent organization. The township, as now organized, embraces the thirty-six 
sections of land contained in the government survey of township four, north of 
range eight, east. The growth and improvement of these sections were very 
slow and limited, and became marked only in the last few years, and it re- 
mained among the last of the hunting grounds reluctantly surrendered by the 
professional hunter and the delighted sportsman. The onward march of pro- 
gress, however, compelled these men, step by step, like the poor Indian, to 
turn their footsteps westward, or yield and adopt the habits of civilization and 
the customs of social life. 

The fragment of the duplicate which remains of the year 1837, shows that 
at that time there was but one piece of land listed for taxation — the east half 
of section one — in the name of Dewald Macklin, valued at $321. Buildings 
were assessed at $321. There were four horses, forty-six head of cattle. The 
total value of chattel property was $328, and the aggregate tax $6.70. The 



Henry County. 271 



personal taxpaj-ers \\ere Angel Arnold, Peter Mewit, Joseph Macklin, )ohn 
Mason, David Murdock, William Piper, John Rowland, Jacob Sowers and 
John Sturgeon. In 1839, came Silas and Robert Rowland. The duplicate of 
that year shows 1,281 acres of land valued at $3,042, subject to a tax of 
$53.23, and chattel property worth $720, taxed with $12.60. A few of these 
early comers, a few only hunters, left as civilization and cultivation arrived, 
the majority, however, died on their first settlements, which are now con- 
verted into fine and valuable farms, and occupied by their descendants. We 
believe there is not one of the original stock now living. 

A contrast will show the rapid growth and improvement of this township. 
In i860 its population was only 277 ; this, in 1870, had increased to 396, and 
in 1880 to 857, and may at present be safely estimated at 1, 200. The dupli- 
cate of 1887 shows 23,003 acres of land, valued at $179,870, and $41,190 
worth of personal property subject to a tax of $5,194.94. The township is 
divided in eight school districts, and contains in each a good, comfortable 
school building. There is but one church in the township, and this belongs to 
the denomination of United Brethren. The township has no railroads and no 
villages, except in the northwest corner of section six were the "Clover Leaf" 
nips. At this point Peter Brillhart, on the 19th of May, 188 1, laid out an ad- 
dition to the hamlet of Grelleton, platted into twelve lots and four alleys, and 
four acres for stave factory grounds. The southeast corner of section sixteen 
has been named West Hope, and a post-office of that name is established there ; 
there is also a small country store, but no plat has ever been made, nor any 
division of lots laid out. 

I"or many years the roads in this township were in a miserable condition, 
and during the wet seasons of the year ingress and egress were almost impos- 
sible. This was due mainly to the absence of drainage, the natural facilities for 
which were not good. Beaver Creek is the principal, in fact the only, natural 
water course. The west branch of this creek enters the township in the cen- 
ter of section thirty-four, running northeasterly to the center of the south 
side of section twenty-four. The east branch enters at the center of section 
thirty-five, winds through sections thirty-five, thirty-six and twenty- five, 
uniting with the west branch at twenty-four, and then northeasterly through 
sections twenty- four, thirteen, twelve and one. The artificial drainage, both 
surface and sub-soil is now good, and money and labor expended on the roads 
have made them very fair and passable during the greatest part of the year. 

There is yet considerable very good and fertile lands to be obtained in this 
township at a moderate price. They are, however, being rapidly taken up by 
actual settlers, and as the valuable timber is about used up, these lands must 
be converted into farms, and in a few years Richfield will rank among the best 
agricultural parts of Henry county. 

When these lands are once improved and brought under cultivation, as 



2/2 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

many acres already are, the owner and occupant should indeed be a happy, 
and contented man. There is certainly no happier or more independent life 
than that lived by the farmer. No worry of business, no fear of bankruptcy, 
no bills to meet need disturb his sleep when his day's toil is ended. He, too, 
has the consolation of knowing that he is a producer, adding daily to the ne- 
cessities and comforts of his fellow man and to the substantial wealth of the 
world. The soil and the muscle of labor must produce all the wealth that is 
possessed, and he who cultivates a hill of potatoes, raises a bushel of grain, 
fashions the product of the mine into a useful implement of husbandry has done 
more for his fellow than all the millions who ever lived since the accumulation 
of wealth began. 

And think of the improvements which then and since have been made, and 
the aid they have rendered to agricultural labor. Farming has almost ceased 
to be labor and has become pleasure. Every day something new is intro- 
duced into farming and yet old things are not driven out. Every one knows 
that steam is now used on the farm for plowing and threshing and working ma- 
chinery, and one would have thought that by this time it would have super- 
seded all other motive powers. But while new things come the old do not go 
away. One life is but a summer's day compared with the long cycle of years 
of agriculture, and yet it seems that a whole storm, as it were, of innovation 
has burst upon the fields ever since we can recollect. 

The sickle was in use in Roman times and no man knows how long before 
that. With it the reaper cut off the ears of the wheat, only leaving the tall 
straw standing, much as if it had been a pruning knife. It is the oldest of old 
implements — very likely it was made of a chip of flint at first, and then of 
bronze, and then of steel Then came, in England, the reaping hook, which 
is still used there on small farms, and to some extent on large ones, to round 
off the work of the machine. The reaping hook is only an enlarged sickle. 
The reaper takes the hook in one hand and a bent stick in the other, and in- 
stead of drawing the hook toward him, the reaper chops at the straw as he 
might at an enemy. In America we had the cradle ; then came the reaping 
machines, which simply cut the wheat and left it lying on th^ ground. Now 
there are the wire and string binders, that not only cut the grain, but gather 
it together and bind it in sheaves, a vast saving in labor. 

On the broad page of some ancient illuminated manuscript, centuries old, 
you may see the churl, or farmer's hired man, knocking away with his flail at 
the grain on the threshing floor. The knock, knocking of the flail went on 
through the reigns of how many kings and queens we do not know (they are 
all forgotten, God wot), down to the edge of our own times. The good old days 
when comets were understood as fate, and witches were drowned or burned — 
those were the times of the flail. The flail is made of two stout staves of wood 
joined with leather. They had flails of harder make than that in those old 



Henry County. 273 



times — hunger, necessity, fate, to beat them on the back- and tlirtsh tlu-m on 
the floor of the earth. 

There was an old wagon shown at the Ro\'al Agricultural show in London 
said to be two hundred years old. Probably it had had so many new wheels 
and tongues and other parts as to have completely changed its constitution — 
still there were wagons in those days, and there are wagons now. Express 
trains go by in a great hurry, slow wagons gather up the warm hay and the yel- 
low wheat just as they did hundreds of years since. You may see men sowing 
broadcast just as they did a thousand years ago on the broad England acres. 
Yet the light iron plow, the heavy drill, the steam plow, are manufactured and 
cast out into the fields and machinery, machinery, machiner\', still increases. 

Machinery has not altered the earth, but it has altered the conditions of 
men's lives. New styles of hats and jackets, but the same old faces. The 
sweet violets bloom afresh every spring on the mounds, the cowslips come, the 
wild rose of mid-summer and the golden wheat of August. It is the same 
beautiful country, always new. Neither the iron engine nor the wooden plow 
alter it one iota, and the love of it rises as constantly in our hearts as the com- 
ing of the leaves. The wheat, as it is moved from field to field, like a quarto 
folded four times, gives us in the mere rotation of crops a fresh garden every 
year. You have scented the bean field and seen the slender heads of barley 
droop. The useful products of the field are themselves beautiful, while there 
are pages of flowers that grow at the edge of the plow. 



CHAPTER XXVin. 
Hi.^TOiiY OF ridgevillf; township. 

THIS townshii) is in the northwestern corner of the count)-, and the oni\'onc 
remaining of range five, being township number six, the balance of this 
range having been detached and given to Defiance at the time of the organiza- 
tion of that county. 

The area of the township is the same as that of Freedom, the two northern 
tiers of sections having been taken to form P'ulton count}'. 

Of the civil organization of the township little is known, the records having 
been destroyed in the fire of 1847. 1 lowever, it is known that it was prior to 
1840. 

The topography of the township varies slightly from the balance of the 
county, inasmuch that through the township, from north to south, runs the 
Belmore Ridge, and from this fact the township derives its name. The Ridge 
35 



274 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

is first noticeable at or near Lake Ridge, Mich., and then runs in a semi-circu- 
lar shape, continues through the northwestern part of Henry county, touching 
Defiance county, then back into Henry county through the southwestern part 
of the county, and finally emerging into the Black Swamp. The Ridge is well 
defined, being from three to ten feet higher than the adjoining country. At 
many places along the upper part of it are found huge bowlders, which, ac- 
cording to the theory of Dr. Newberry, were deposited there by icebergs, at a 
very remote period, when this locality was the bed of a lake. 

The township is devoid of natural waterways, with the exception of a couple 
of small creeks, or rather apologies for creeks. The bed of the Coldwater and 
Mansfield Railroad cuts the farms diagonally in the northeastern part. 

The principal thoroughfares are the Bryan and Napoleon pikes, and what 
is called the Ridge road. The latter runs nearly north and traverses the Bel- 
more Ridge. The first one is merely a continuation of the second one, which 
runs from Napoleon to the hamlet of Ridgeville. This is one of the main roads 
of the county, and is now one of the best, owing to the fact that it is being 
graveled. It was laid out by one Barton Palmer, at an uncertain but early 
date. Previous to this time all travel between Napoleon and localities north- 
west, was done by way of Gilson's Creek (which is about a mile west of Napo- 
leon). The creek bed was followed up to where the creek branches, in section 
nine, town five, north, in Napoleon township, then along a bridle path which 
is now the pike. 

From the duplicate of 1847 ^^^^ following names are found: George and 
John Tubbs, Joseph Bear, J. Fenton, George Harmon, Adam Rowe, Lorenzo 
Higby and Barton Palmer. These were the oldest settlers in Ridgeville town- 
ship. A few of them were here before Defiance county was organized, and 
when the county was organized, land that originally laid in Henry county was 
given to it, and thus a few of them live at present in Defiance county, although 
they never changed their residence. They have, however, sons who are now 
classed among the best and most thrifty farmers in Ridgeville township. 

Near the southea.stern corner of the township is situated the hamlet of 
Ridgeville Corners. The place was originally laid out by Barton Palmer, at a 
very early but uncertain date. He was also the projector of the several roads 
that lead into the hamlet. At a certain point in Ridgeville Mr. Palmer owned 
and conducted a tavern, and at that time it was the only house of accommoda- 
tion for miles around. Mine host Palmer conceived the brilliant idea of hav- 
ing all the roads of this immediate section center at his place of accommoda- 
tion ; (heretofore bridle paths were the only thoroughfares). He began imme- 
diately to set his plan into execution, and, as a consequence, Ridgeville Corn- 
ers is one of the main road centers of Henry county. It is at present a thriv- 
ing little place of about one hundred and fifty inhabitants, and has a furniture 
and undertaking store, two dry goods stores, and two groceries, one black- 



( ^ 



'1^- 

"^9^ 




V 




^■£^^ t/a^i^iijL 



c^ 



Henry County. 



75 



smith shop, two saw-mills and a tile yard. Mail is rccci\'cd daily by the some- 
what antiquated " o\erland mail." There are two churches, a Methodist and 
a Congregationalist. The latter was the first church established in the town- 
ship, and was in the year 1846. Previous to this time services were held semi- 
occasionally, and at uncertain places. No regular preacher was here, and 
some minister from an adjoining settlement would make " an appointment " at 
a certain house, and then the settlers would gather for religious worship and 
also for a "visit." Visiting was begun at an early period, — in fact in 1836. 
In this year George Tubbs and wife moved to this township, and, as soon as 
they were settled, two ladies from near Wauseon, having heard of them, came 
to see them, riding along what is now the Ridge Road, but then only a bridle 
path. On the following Sunday Mr. and Mrs. Tubbs, — the former on foot and 
the latter on horse-back, returned the visit, also expecting to hear a sermon 
from an itinerant preacher, but who failed to appear, and the people where 
they visited promised to send him over the following Sunday. He started, 
but before arriving he ate some cheese made from sour milk, and was com- 
pelled to turn back, and shortly after reaching the starting place was gathered 
to his fathers. 

The township is distinguished as the home of a large denomination of 
Mennonists, followers of Simon Menno, their founder in Germany. They have 
some peculiar notions, and " believe that the New Testament is the only true 
rule of faith, that the terms Person and Trinity ought not to be applied to the 
Father. Son and Holy Ghost; that there is no original sin ; that infants should 
not be baptized ; and that Christians ought not to take oath, hold office, or 
use physical force." They do not exercise the elective franchise, and take no 
part whatever in politics. They are distinguished for their sterling honesty and 
fair dealing, punctually fill every engagement, respect every promise, and be- 
lieve in strictly minding their own business. They have many peculiar customs; 
are simple in dress and manner of living ; abstain from litigation ; deal cau- 
tiously with those not of themselves ; their general business is usually advised 
and directed by one man selected for that purpose ; they are frugal, industrious 
and though exclusive, are, as a rule, good citizens. 

The township has very strong surface indications of natural gas, sufficient 
certainly, to justify more extensive investigation than has yet been had. In the 
summer of 1881 Herman A. Meyerholtz commenced boring a well for water 
on his farm near the Corners, when reaching the depth of about one hundred feet, 
a vein of gas was struck powerful enough to expel the drilling tools from the 
well, and greatly frightened the ignorant and superstitious people empIo\ed in 
the work; and upon light being applied to the combustible, a flame of twenty 
feet shot into the air. Haste was too slow to enable them to get away in time 
to escape the perils of what they supposed to result from a trespass upon the 
domain of the prince of darkness. The terror of the simple and superstitious 



276 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

residing in the neighborhood was so great as to compel Mr. Meyerholtz to fill 
up the well, which he did with considerable difficulty. Several wells have since 
been bored with similar results. 

This township has had some regard for her educational interest. Its graded 
school is maintained at Ridgeville Corners, and the balance of the territory is 
divided in six districts, in each of which a first-class common school is con- 
ducted, and where are taught arithmetic, English grammar, penmanship, 
geography and American history. 

The material condition of the township may be ascertained by the duplicate 
of 1887. Then we find that there were nineteen thousand nine hundred and 
eighty-eight acres of land listed for taxation, valued in 1880 at $31,840, but 
which has greatly increased in value. The chattel property is assessed at $65,- 
140, and the total tax paid is $6,441.96. The census of i860 showed a popu- 
lation of four hundred and twenty- four souls, which in 1870 amounted to seven 
hundred and sixty-four, and in 1880 had increased to eleven hundred and nine- 
teen. A proportionate increase has been made since. 

This township is fortunate in the recent discovery of valuable gravel pits, 
which will enable its citizens to not only get, at a comparatively trifling cost, 
the best of roads, but to contribute materially to the roads of the whole county, 
and the township is certainly to be congratulated on the enterpising character 
of its electors who were the first to follow the example of Napoleon township 
and vote upon themselves a tax to apply this gravel "where it will do the most 
good" — on the roads. 

Ridgeville is excellently ditched and drained, its farms well improved and 
under high cultivation; its residences and farm buildings well befitting every 
agricultural country, and it will ever rank as one of the most prosperous and 
thrifty townships in Henry county. 

In addition to the post-office at the Corners, Uncle Sam has provided an- 
other office named Tubbsville, on the Pettisville road about half way between 
the Corners and the latter place. A daily mail is received and the master, 
William B. Tubbs, keeps the office at his residence. 

The population of the township is mixed. Besides the Mennonists already 
mentioned, there is a large population of Germans, a few^ English, and the ma- 
jority of those residing at and in the immediate vicinity of the Corners, have 
come from the Western Reserve. 



Henry County. 277 



CHAPTKR XXIX. 

HISTORY OF WASHINGTON TOWNSHIP. 

.'T^MIS is the last township in alphabetical order, and possesses more intrin- 
J^ sic historic interest than any other of the townships of Henry county. It 
was the hunting ground of the last of the Ottawas, from which three chiefs 
and a small band of followers were reluctant to retreat from the advancing 
feet of Caucasian civilization. These three chiefs were Oxinoxica, Wauseon 
and Myo, the latter ranking third in the Indian degree of power. He was a 
small, but exceedingly wise, or more properly, cunning Indian. He died on 
the Maumee and his skull was for a number of years preserved by Dr. L. L. 
Patrick, one of the pioneer physicians who had the courage to combat with 
the malaria and bilious fever of the Maumee, and who was an uncle of George 
Patrick, now residing in Liberty township and well known as one of the most 
prosperous agriculturists of the Maumee valley, also an uncle of the first wife 
of O. E. Barnes who is well known to the citizens of Henry county as sheriff 
and clerk, for many years. 

This township was originally named Myo, in honor of the chief so called — 
" Little Chief" — but possessed of more judgment and distinction than the 
two who ranked him in authority. 

At the time of the organization of the township there were but eleven vot- 
ers and their names may be recorded among the pioneers. These were Ed- 
ward Murphy, Xoah Holloway, James O'Niel, Michael Connelly, sr., the father 
of Michael and James Connelly, who still reside on the old homestead, P-d- 
ward Scribner, whose descendants still reside in the count}-, William Angle- 
meyer, some of whose descendants still reside in the township, John Lamphier, 
now a well-to-do and prosperous farmer residing in Liberty township, on the 
west line of Washington, David Edwards, whose sole surviving representative, 
Martha, is now married to Robert Showman and now lives upon the old home- 
stead, David J. Cory, who was one of the first a.ssociate judges of Henry county 
and who died childless at Findlay at a ripe old age, having a large fortune, and 
was universally respected. 

The first voting place was in an unhewed log school-house, known as Mur- 
phy's school-house, situated near where the fine brick residence of Michael 
Connelly, jr., now stands. Abraham Snyder, now of Damascus township, was 
at that time, (1839) then a hunter in what was then the wilds of northwestern 
Ohio. 

The last known of Myo as a township on the dui:)licatc of the county was 
in 1847. Then there were 7,975 acres of land valued at $23,016.45, paying a 
total tax of $518.85, and an additional tax of $112.23 for school-houses. 



278 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

At this time John Biggins, still living; Dennis Bresnahan, dead; Peter 
Donnelly, living; August GrofT, dead ; John Grumling, living; Ephraim Hy- 
ter, living; Daniel Hartnell, sr., deceased; John Kettering, now of Harrison 
township ; Daniel Moore, dead (sons living on homestead), and Nelson Poison, 
had moved and settled in the township. 

Between the making of the duplicates of 1847 and that of 1848 the Mau— 
mee river was made the southern boundary of the township, and sections six, 
and parts of one, two, three, four, five, seven and eight of Damascus attached,, 
and the name changed to Washington. 

We then find on the duplicate of 1848 the additional names of Charles- 
Bucklin, David Mohler, William Anglemeyer, James Durbin, Thomas W. Dur- 
bin (present recorder), David Edwards, Edward O'Hearn, John Lamphier,. 
John H. Poison, A. Smith, Michael White, all of whom are still living, or leave 
descendants. 

This township was the last of the hunting grounds of the Indians in Henry 
county, and in fact- in northwestern Ohio ; a reservation for the last of the 
Ottowas having been retained in the possession of that tribe for many years 
after the whites had obtained a majority of population. The reservation set 
aside for the Ottowas extended into Henry county at the northeast corner, and 
was situated as follows : Commencing a little north of the half section line of 
twenty-four east, running southwest with the west line of the northeast one- 
fourth of section thirty-four, thence in a southeastern course to the Maumee 
River in the north half of the southeast one-fourth of section two, in the gov- 
ernment-surveyed township, five north of range eight, east. This is still one 
of the best sporting fields in the county. Game, however, is limited to the 
smaller class — pheasants, quail, rabbits and squirrel. The time, however, has 
certainly come to hang up the rifle and the |trap, and the rapidly disappearing 
forest also suggests putting aside the ax and the saw, and picking up the 
shovel^and the hoe, and learn that, 

'• He who by the plow would thrive, 
Himself must either hold or drive." 

The topography of this township differs materially from all others in the 
county. The southeastern part consists of what is known as "openings," i. e., 
quick-sand swamps — very w^et, where nothing but swamp grasses, shaking 
asps, and bull-rushes grow, and of sand knolls covered with "scrub oak." A 
few years ago this part of the township was not considered worth the widow's 
mite, but by thorough ditching, and at considerable expense, has been con- 
verted into productive and valuable farms. The balance of the township was 
more like the other parts of the county — very heavily timbered. But the tim- 
ber has gone, and it is too late to say. " woodman, spare that tree." 

What sad havoc was wrought in the early days when the " clearings " were 
being made, and when trees had no positive value and no market. It is only 
in later days that the value of forest or timber lands has been appreciated. 



Henry County. 279 



Think ! The forest lands of the United States, cxckiding Ahiska, embrace 
500.000,000 acres, or twenty-eight per cent, of the entire area. The farmers 
own abont thirt\--cight per cent, of the forest area, or 185,000,000 acres. The 
rest is owned by railroad corporations, mine owners, charcoal burners, tanners, 
lumbermen and speculators. The farmers are the most desirable class of own- 
ers, and they begin to learn the value of their wood, and devote time and 
thought to its preservation. Now they begin to cherish their woodlands, and 
add millions, yearly, of trees for shelter and beautification, and for subsequent 
profit to those who will come after them. The farmers' area of forest is in- 
creasing in all the Western States, and groves are plentiful as in the days of 
the Druids in England, or of the classic deities of Greece and Italy, and are put 
to much better purpose. One thing is to be noted, that trees will flourish on 
lands that will not return a remunerative crop. The conifers will thrive under 
apparently most inhospitable conditions. Forest trees return to the soil the 
nutriment the}- take from it, thus maintaining its productive power and en- 
couraging their own growth. The routes of transportation now render access 
to market easy, by land or water, and these facilities, with the extension of 
railroads, grow better every year. The railroads need many hundreds of ties 
for each mile (60,000,000 a year in all, at an average of two ties to a tree), 
and these ties must be renewed every seven or ten years. One acre of land 
may contain and perfect from four to six hundred trees. In a few years these 
trees will produce a rich harvest of ties, and the surplus wood will give an im- 
mense supply of fuel and fencing. The farmer, with a big wood lot, may well 
ask, " What shall the harvest be ?" and then look out for a rich jDrofit. As 
matters go, the thirty-eight per cent, owned by the farmers now will soon be 
seventy-five per cent, of the tree area, and forestry is commanding the atten- 
tion of our most thoughtful and considerate men. 

The duplicate of 1887 indicates the material wealth of the township, and 
shows 18,178 acres of land, valued in 1880 at $219,175, and chattel property 
valued at $130,854, listed for taxation, and a tax of $8,190.72 paid. The edu- 
cational interests have not been overlooked, and the township is divided into 
ten districts, with good, well-provided buildings in each. The spiritual welfare 
of the people is attended to in three churches; one, a Protestant Methodist, at 
Texas, and two at Colton, — a Church of God, and one Methodist Episcopal.; 

The population in i860 was 894; in 1870, 1,141, and in 1880 amounted to 
1,249. A proportionate increase has been maintained since that time. 

The township is situated in the same tier of townships with Freedom, 
Ridgeville and Liberty, and like these townships has contributed its twelve 
northern sections to the formation of Fulton county. It is in the eighth range, 
and is one of the oldest in the county, having had a settlement long before Na- 
poleon was thought of as a county seat, and contained a hamlet of good size 
before the woodman's ax had begun gnawing at the pillars of God's first tem- 



28o History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 



pies in any other part of the county. It had an important trading post before 
the surveyor's chain was stretched and the streets of the present county seat 
were marked, although it was not platted until many years later. Texas was, 
and is, the principal village of the township, and is one of the oldest in the 
county. It is beautifully situated on the north side of the Miami and Erie 
Canal, and on the north bank of the Maumee River. A ravine runs around 
the north and west sides, so that the town plat lies high and dry. The outlet 
lock of the twenty-four mile level of the canal is at this place ; and the slack- 
water in the Maumee River, caused by the dam at Providence, gives the river 
a great depth and a width of not less than one hundred rods. A public ferry 
connects the banks, the expense being paid by the county. 

The village was recorded April 2, 1849, by James Durbin, the proprietor. 
The streets were laid out to the cardinal points; those running from north to 
south are named mainly from the timber natural to the soil, and those running 
from east to west are named numerically, beginning at the canal. Through 
the eastern part of the town runs what is called a hydraulic canal. It leads from 
the canal and was built for the purpose of supplying motive power for the mills 
in the lower part of the town, which were the first erected in the county. The 
first brick burned in the county was made here, and the first brick court-house, 
the one destroyed by fire in 1879, was constructed of brick manufactured at 
this point, being transported from there by canal to Napoleon. The village, 
in its early days, was the most important trading point in Henry county, being 
the best market for miles around. It was also a formidable rival of Napoleon 
for the county-seat. 

In 1865 Captain George Carver conceived the idea of boring for oil, and a 
company was formed in February, 1866, under the name of the Henry & Lu- 
cas Co., Oil and Mining Company. Work was at once begun, and at a depth 
of about four hundred feet a vein of gas was struck of sufficient force to blow 
the tools, which weighed fifteen hundred pounds, clear out of the well. A 
stream of water shot into the air for twenty feet, and continued to spout for a 
couple of days. At last it sub-sided and work was resumed. Their method of 
boring was very primitive, for instead of casing the hole, they continued to 
bore in the water ; reaching a depth of over eleven hundred feet they discon- 
tinued, thinking there was nothing any farther down, not at that time knowing 
anything of the purposes to which natural gas could be converted. 

The vein of water which was struck was of a strong, sulphurous kind, and 
heavily charged with gas. By taking a glass of it fresh from the well, it is 
noticed to sparkle like champagne. It is impossible to fill a bottle of fresh 
water and then cork it lightly, as the generated gas will surely break the bot- 
tle. After the futile attempt to strike oil, the land was sold to Captain J. W. 
Geering, who, thinking that there was an opportunity to start a sanitarium, 
built a large hotel on the grounds, and thoroughly equipped it with all modern 



Henry County. 281 



conveniences. But alas! for human fancies! his dreams were doomed to be 
blasted, and now the hotel is a huge residence. 

At present the town presents an aspect that dimly recalls to mind the 
Sleepy Hollow of Irving's creation. There are a few stores here, but the 
weather-beaten siding, dingy inside and general look of dilapidation leads one 
to believe thats its peaceful inhabitants are enjoying the sleep of Rip Van Win- 
kle, or are soothing themselves with the fumes of tobacco which gave to Wou- 
ter Van Twiller his sublime indift'erence. They are still smoking, and the world 
wags on as they remain in a semi-morbid state, not caring, and much less think- 
ing of what goes on around them — a veritable Knickerbocker settlement minus 
the scheming "yank." 

The next and only remaining hamlet in the county is called Colton, and lies 
at the center of section twenty-one on the line of the Wabash, St. Louis & Pa- 
cific Railroad ; is twenty-six miles west of Toledo, and ten miles east of Napo- 
leon. The town plat was recorded July 14, 1855, and by John R. Osborn, the 
proprietor. At present it is a thriving hamlet of about two hundred inhabit- 
ants, and with a good hotel, express office, post-office, and does a comparatively 
thriving business. The population, like that of all the other townships of the 
county is small. The southeastern part is settled mostly by Irish or their de- 
scendants, who came here during the construction of the canal, and locally is 
known as " Ireland." The north is mostly German or of German extraction. 
A good sprinkling of the Yankee is also found here. The whole population is 
honest, industrious, thrifty and enterprising, except in the villages where a little 
energy, capital and modern attachments would certainly do good. 



HISTORY OF FULTON COUNTY. 



HISTORY OF FULTON COUNTY. 



CHAPTER XXX. 

THE ORGANIZATION OF FULTON COl'NTY. 

Ereition of F'ulton County — Act Creating- It — Fixing the Seat of Justice — Naming It — 
The First Court-House — First Term of Court Held in Pike Township — The First Jail — l'roi>o- 
sitions to Change the County Seat — Burning of the Court-House at Ottokee — New Court- 
House Erei.-ted — Removal of County Seat to AVauseon — Tlie New Court-House — The Jail — 
The Infirmary — List of County Officials. 

THE growth and development of the country in this section of the State had, 
about the year 1850, become so marked, that it was deemed prudent that 
a new'county'should be erected out of parts of the coimties in the northwest 
territory. Furthermore, the county of Lucas embraced a very large tract of 
land, and in the more remote portions thereof, especially in the west and south- 
west portions, the convenience of the people demanded the erection of a new 
county. In this locality then, as well as now, resided men of energy, integrity 
and determination, who not only felt the necessity of a new county organiza- 
tion in this region, but who saw the great advantages to the country by such 
a movement in case it could be carried out successfully. Among those who 
took an active interest in the project may be recorded the names of Nathaniel 
Leggett, William Hall, A. C. Hough, Stephen Springer, Michael Handy, Mor- 
timer D. Hibbard and a few others. These not only discussed the project, but 
gave such substantial assistance as finally completed and consummated the 
work, and made the erection of the county of Fulton not only possible, but an 
established fact. 

There has been, perhaps, no event of greater importance to tiie county, or 
its people, than that which gave it an existence, and it is therefore pardonable 
that the full text of the act creating it should be set forth. It is as follows: 

An Act jo Create the Cocntv of F'l'ltox. 

" Sec. I. Be it enacted, etc., That such parts of the counties of Lucas, 
Henry and Williams, as are embraced in the boundaries hereinafter described, 
be, and the same are hereby created into a separate and distinct count}-, wliich 



286 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

shall be known by the name oi Fulton, to wit: Beginning on the State line be- 
tween the States of Ohio and Michigan, at the northeast corner of township 
nine, south of range four, east of the Michigan meridian ; thence south on the 
township line to the southeast corner of town ten, south of range four, east, on 
the Fulton line ; thence west on said Fulton line to the northeast corner of 
town eight, north of range eight, east ; thence south to the southeast corner of 
section number tw^elve in township six, north of range eight, east; thence west 
on section lines to the southwest corner of section number seven in township 
six, range five, east, on the county line between the counties of Henry and 
Williams; thence north on said line to the southeast corner of town seven, north 
of range four, east ; thence west on said township line to the southwest corner 
of section number thirty-five in said town seven, north of range four, east; 
thence north on the section lines to the Fulton line ; thence west on said Ful- 
ton line to the southwest corner of section number eleven, in town ten,, south 
of range one, west of the Michigan meridian ; thence north on section lines to 
said State line; thence easterly with said State line to the place of beginning." 

Thus having erected and described the boundaries of the county of Fulton 
on the 28th day of February, 1850 (the same being so named in honor of 
Robert Fulton), provision was next made for the administration of its affairs 
by section two of the act, as follows: All suits, whether of a civil or criminal 
nature, which shall be pending within those parts of the counties of Lucas, 
Henry and Williams, so set off" and erected into a new county previous to the 
first Monday in April, one thousand eight hundred and fifty, shall be prose- 
cuted to final judgment and execution within the counties of Lucas, Henry 
and Williams, respectively, in the same manner as though the said county of 
Fulton had not been erected, and the officers of said counties, respectively, 
shall execute all such process as shall be necessary to carry into effect such 
suits, prosecutions and judgments ; and the collectors of taxes for the coun- 
ties, respectively, shall collect all taxes that shall be levied and unpaid within 
the aforesaid portions of their respective counties at the time of the passage 
of this act. 

By section three it was provided : That all justices of the peace and other 
township officers within those parts of the counties of Lucas, Henry and Will- 
iams, which are, by this act, erected into the county of Fulton, shall continue 
to exercise the functions and discharge the duties of their respective offices until 
their term of service shall expire, and until their successors shall be elected 
and qualified, in the same manner as if they had been elected or commissioned 
for tlie county of Fulton ; and all writs and other legal process within the ter- 
ritory hereby erected into the county of Fulton, shall be styled as of the 
county of Fulton, on and after the ist day of April, 1850. 

The election of officers for the county was provided for as follows : 

Sec. 4. The legal voters residing within the limits of the county of Fulton 



Fulton County. 287 



shall, on the first Moiulay in April, in the year 1 850, assemble in their respec- 
tive townships, at the usual places of holding elections (the voters residing in 
each of the fractional townships taken from the counties of Henry and Will- 
iams, shall assemble in the township immediately adjoining such fractional 
township and lying towards the center of said county of I'^ulton), and proceed to 
elect the difterent county officers in the manner prescribed in the act to regu- 
late elections, who shall hold their ofifices until the next annual election, and 
until their successors are elected and qualified. 

The succeeding section (5) provides for the annexing of the fractional 
townships not taken for the new county, and annexing the same to adjoining 
townships, or creating new townships out of them, as the commissioners of the 
counties of Henry and Williams may deem expedient; also, empowering the 
commissioners of the county of Fulton to annex the fractional parts taken 
from Henry and Williams counties to the adjoining townships already estab- 
lished within Fulton county, or to erect them into new townships as, in their 
judgment, shall seem prudent. 

Section six of the act provides that the county of Fulton shall be attached 
to, and made a part of the Thirteenth Judicial Circuit of the State of Ohio, and 
the Courts of Common Pleas and Supreme Court of the county of Fulton, 
shall be holden at some convenient house in the township of Pike, until the 
permanent seat of justice shall be established within and for said county. 

The next section (7), provides "That Laurin Dewey, of Franklin county, 
Mathias H. Nichols, of Allen county, and John Riley, of Carroll county, be 
appointed commissioners to fix upon and locate the seat of justice of said new 
county of Fulton, agreeably to the provisions of the act entitled " an act for the 
establishment of seats of justice. 

The first, and perhaps the most important duty in connection with these 
events was that of locating the seat of justice in the newly created county. On 
meeting for this purpose several sites were recommended to the commissioners 
— one near the center of the county, Etna, P^luhart's Corners, Delta and Spring 
Hill. After much deliberation, and the hearing of arguments by those inter- 
ested in the various places named, the commissioners decided upon the site 
nearest the center of the county, in the township of Dover, at a point that 
then had no distinguishing name. Several names were suggested by persons 
present, but none seemed to meet with general approval. One of the com- 
missioners observing Dresden W. H. Howard on the outer line of spectators, 
called upon him to suggest a name for the county seat, to which a reply came 
at once " Ottokee" (this being the name of a chief of the Ottowas). It was at 
once declared to be the name of the seat of justice of the county of P\ilton. 

The question of confirming this as the county seat was them submitted to 
a vote of the people of the county. At the first election, while Ottokee re- 
ceived more votes than any other site, still it had not a majority of the ballots. 



288 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

On the occasion of the second election the town received a clear majority, and 
became, by the will of the people, the seat of justice of Fulton county. While, 
by a majority of the popular vote of the county, Ottokee was the regularly 
chosen seat of justice, there had been a marked opposition to its selection, and 
that opposition by no means disappeared after the matter had been settled, but 
manifested itself by frequent murmurings of discontent from various quarters. 

The town of Ottokee was situate in southeastern part of Dover township, 
on an elevated tract of land, and a^ near the center of the county, geograph- 
ically, as it well could have been. In fact the location was well chosen, and, 
were it not for the building of the railroad through the county, several miles 
south of the place, it is much doubted whether the seat of justice would ever 
have been removed. 

In the next year, 185 i, the court-house was built. This was a frame struc- 
ture, two stories in height, having a frontage of about forty or fifty feet, and a 
depth of about eighty feet. The court and jury rooms were on the upper floor, 
while the offices for the county officials were on the lower, or ground floor. It 
was a large, commodious and airy building, presenting a tasty appearance with 
the large dome on its top. It was built by Amos H. Jordon, of Royalton 
township, and cost somewhere about five or six thousand dollars. 

It was provided by the act creating the county, that the courts should be 
held at some convenient house in Pike township, until the seat of justice should 
be fixed. In pursuance of this the associate justices, John Kendall, A. C. Hough 
and William Parmalee, designated the residence of Robert A. Howard, as the 
place for holding courts, and here the first term was held in 1850. Owing to 
the fact that the transfers of cases to the counties from which this county was 
formed were incomplete, and the further fact that there was but little or no 
business transacted at this court, in lieu of business, those attending indulged 
in a game of ball. It is said that on this memorable occasion, Oliver B. 
Verity (afterwards probate judge), W. A. Bates, Spencer T. Snow, Benjamin 
Hallett, William Sutton (then county commissioner), James, Augustus and 
William Howard, and others whose names cannot now be recalled, took a part 
in that sport, which has since become recognized as " our national game." 

Judge Saddler came on horseback to preside at the court, and the associate 
justices at this time were, Socrates H. Cately, Abraham Flickinger and Will- 
iam Parmalee. After the completion of the court-house, the courts were held 
at Ottokee. 

In the year 1853 the first jail was built at the county seat. This was a 
substantial frame building, lined with heavy, hard wood plank, and thoroughly 
spiked. Although built of wood, there was never an escape from it on account 
of its weak construction. There did escape, however, two prisoners, through 
the door, by reason of the carelessness of the watchman, he having left the 
safety bar out of place. 



Fulton County. 289 



Connected with the jail was the sherift's residence. The whole building 
cost about $3,800. The town of Ottokee continued to hold the county build- 
ings for a number of years, and the place grew in population and value until 
the building of the railroad through the southern tier of townships, when the 
question of removal was agitated. In the year 1863 Wauseon made an attempt 
under an act of Legislature, known as "an enabling act," but, on a submission 
of the proposition to the people, it was voted down. The town of Delta then 
asked that the seat of justice be removed to that place, and urged, in support 
of argument, that a tier of townships would be taken from the county on the 
east, thus increasing the area and population of this county ; and, furthermore, 
that the town, Delta, would then be situate in the geographical center of the 
county, as enlarged, and the most accessible place for the county seat. 

In the Legislature of 1864 an act was passed similar to the Wauseon act, and 
the question was submitted to the people, as to whether the county seat should 
be remo\ed to Delta, but on a count of the vote, the proposition was defeated 
b\' a very large majority. During this period of agitation and on the i6th day 
of July, 1864, the court-house building at Ottokee was destroyed by fire, and 
with it all of the county records and other valuable material in the offices of 
the county officials. The building was insured for about one-half its original 
cost. 

During the next year, 1865, the county commissioners entered into a con- 
tract with Hiram Pritchard, for the erection of a new brick court-house on the 
site of the old building. This was a one-story brick building, plain but sub- 
stantial, and cost about $5,000. It was arranged to be used only for court 
purposes, the county officers' departments being in a separate building, on land 
adjoining the court-house. This latter building cost about $2,800. 

These buildings answered the needs of the county for several years, but at- 
tending court, or transacting business with the county officials, or at the county 
seat, was attended with great inconveniences. The railroad had become a 
recognized thoroughfare of travel, and to all parties from outside the county, 
and those within it, as well, a carriage or stage ride of at least four miles was 
necessitated. This inconvenience was all the more marked, as the now grow- 
ing towns of Wauseon and Delta were on the line of the railroad, and soon 
again was another effort made for the removal of the seat of justice, this time 
with success. 

In the winter of the year 1869, the Legislature passed another enabling act, 
by which the seat of justice of Fulton county was authorized to be removed 
from Ottokee to Wauseon. The question was then submitted to the people of 
the county, and in the month of October, of that year, at an election held for 
the purpose, the proposition was carried. The enabling act contained a condi- 
tion that before the change could be accomplished, there should be raised by 
subscription among those desiring the change to be made, the sum of $5,000,. 

37 



290 



History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 



which sum should be paid over to the county commissioners, and used as a part 

of the building fund. 

On the 19th day of January, 1870, Isaac Springer, trustee of this subscribed 
fund paid the same into the hands of the commissioners, who were at the time, 
Joseph Ely, A. B. Gunn and M. O. McCaskey. Lots numbers one hundred 
and forty-nine and one hundred and eighty-nine of the original plat of Wau- 
seon were deeded to the commissioners, or their successors, for the site of the 
court-house building. These lots were situate at the southwest corner of Fulton 
and Chestnut streets, having a front on the first named. The bids for construc- 
tion of the building ranged from $43,000 to $56,000. The lowest bidder was 
F M Brooker, and the contract was let to him, but failing to give the required 
fidelity bond, the contract was awarded to Alexander Voss and H. B. Bensman, 
at the price of $44,350. The building is of brick, with stone chimneys, two 
stories in height, and with a tower and belfry on the Fulton street front, much 
hi-her than the main building. It is a building not only substantial, but ele- 
gant and an ornament to any town; one in which the commissioners, the archi- 
tect ' the contractors, and the people of the county have reason to feel just 
pride Its interior is admirably arranged, the large, well lighted and well ap- 
pointed offices for county officials occupying the ground floor, while the court- 
room judges and jury rooms are on the second floor. Access ,s had to the 
upper floor by two stairvvavs, one at the front and the other at the rear of the 
building. The total cost of the building, including extra work, amounted to 
$45,772.27. The contract for its construction was made on May 31, 1870, and 
the building was first used for court purposes in the early part of the year 1872. 
Although Ottokee ceased to be the county seat of Fulton county in the 
year 1 871 "the jail, the place of confinement for offenders, was maintained at 
that place' for nearly four years longer, and until the building of the present 
iail and sheriff- residence at Wauseon, in the year 1 876. The contract for this 
building was let on the i6th day of February, of that year, to John Lichten- 
berger of Ft. Wayne, Ind., at the price of $18,500. This is, in all respects, a 
model 'county jail, both in point of security and arrangement. The materials 
used in its construction were of the most modern and approved quality, and 
the prisoners do not at any time have access to any substance except stone 
and iron The building is located on Chestnut street, at Wauseon, in the rear 
of the land occupied by the court house. The sheriff-'s residence is attached to 
the jail and is well arranged as to comfort and convenience. 

The buildings at Ottokee having been vacated by the change of the county 
seat were still owned by the county. The increase in population in this local- 
ity 'the same as in nearly everv county in the State, the incoming of new fam- 
ilies the infirmities of age and the unfortunate condition of some persons who 
had 'become a charge upon the public, led to the establishment of an institution 
within the county, and to be maintained at the public expense, called the In- 



Fulton County. 291 



firmar}', b\- which it is commonly known throughout most localities, as a home 
for aged, decrepit and indigent persons. 

Early in the month of May, 1874, the buildiiig.s owned b\' the count>- at 
Ottokee, and under charge of the commissioners, were turned o\er to James 
Riddle. Robert Lewis and O. A. Cobb, as infirmary directors, and the work of 
making the changes necessary for its intended use was at once commenced. 
A tract of land, some three hundred acres in extent, was purchased in the vi- 
cinity and a sufficient county farm was established. O. B. Verity was ap- 
pointed infirmary superintendent, an office he filled for si.\ years, when he 
was succeeded by John T. Whittaker, who also served for the same length of 
time. lie was in turn succeeded by Samuel Atkinson, the present superin- 
tendent. The building will accommodate about scventx' inmates. 

County Ciyil Li si'. 

Having reviewed the various proceedings had in the formation of the 
county, and the several acts relating to change and location of the county 
buildings, to the final erection of the same and the establishing of the seat of 
justice permanently at Wauseon, it is proper, in this connection to furnish a 
list of those who have had a part in the administrative aftairs of the county. 
It will be remembered that in the destruction of the old court-house at Otto- 
kee, the records of every kind were destroyed and for that reason it is impos- 
sible to verify the lists prior to the year 1864, except from the recollection of 
persons generally conversant with the county's affairs. In the main, however, 
the list prior to 1864 will be found correct. 

The dates set opposite the names of officers represent the year of their elec- 
tion, where no date is given it will be understood to mean that the officials 
held during the years of which no record exists. 

Sheriff. 

George Brown, Charles Smith, Myron H. Hayes, Oscar A. Cobb, Jacob 
Huft'mire, 1864-6; Joel H. Brigham, 1868-70-76; Sullivan Johnson, 1872-74; 
Harvey L. Aldrich, 1878-80; Frank T. Blair, 1882-84; Daniel Dowling, 1886. 

Tre.vslkfr. 

Nathaniel Leggett, Isaac Springer, Julius Marsh, L. L. Carpenter. 1864; 
A. B. Canfield. 1866-68; David Avers, 1870-72; II. L. Moseley. 1874-76; 
Jared M. Longnecker. 1878; Thomas A. Kelle>', 1879; James M. Howard, 
1881-83; John B. Schnetzler, 1885. 

AUDFIOR. 

Mortimer D. Hibbard, A. C. Hough, Jason Hibbard, 1864; Ozias Merrill, 
1866-68; L. G. Ely, 1870-71-73-75; Isaac Springer, 1877-80 A. VV. McCon- 
nell, 1883; Thomas Kelley, by appointment ; A. W. McConnell, 1888. 



292 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 



Prosecuting Attorney. 

J. H. Read, A. Carniichael, N. Merrill, M. R. Brailey, J. W. Rosborough, 
1864, 1868, 1870; Octavius Waters, 1866; W. W. Touvelle, 1872; M. Handy, 
1874; H. H. Ham, 1876-78; W. H. Gavitt, 1880-82; Mazzini Slusser, 1885. 

Recorder. 

C. Allman, Joseph Jewell, S. B. Darby. R. H. Howard, J. K. Newcomer, 
W. H. Stevens, jr., 1866-69; Richard Taylor, 1872-75; Albert S. Bloomer, 
1878-81-84. 

Probate Judge. 

Samuel Gillis, 185 1-4; Lucius H. Upham, one month, unseated; Socrates 
H. Cately, 1854-58; Oliver B. Verity, 1858-1870; Caleb M. Keith, 1870-79; 
Levi W. Brown, 1879-88. 

The years given for the last above officials represent their terms of incum- 
bency of office, having been correctly ascertained. 

Clerks. OF Court of Common Pleas. 

Samuel Durgin, Naman Merrill, Harry B. Bayes, 1861-64; Samuel Dur- 
gin, 1864-67; Truman H. Brown, 1867-70; Daniel W. Poe, 1870-73; Al- 
bert Deyo, 1873-79; Albert ]3. Smith, 1879-88. 

County Surveyor. 

John Spillane, 1865; Osceola E. M. Howard. 1868; Anthony B. Robinson, 
1871-74-77-80; Lucius B. Fraker, 1883-86. 

Coroners. 
W. M. Schnetzler, 1864; Josiah H. Bennett, 1865; John Fenton, 1866; 
Charles M. Canfield, 1868-69; John Odell, 1871-73 ; S. T. Worden, 1875-77; 
Charles E. Bennett, 1879-81 ; George W. Hartman, 1883. 

County Commissioners. 

Christopher Watkins. William Sutton. Jonathan Barnes, Warren McCutch- 
en, Stephen Houghton, E. Masters, George Taft, Joel Brigham, James Cornell, 
William Dye,- Henry Jordon, Elias Richardson, 1864; Jo.seph Ely, 1865; A. B. 
Gunn. 1866; Milton O. McCaskey, 1867; Joseph Ely, 1868; A. B. Gunn, 
1869; A. B. Thompson, 1870; H. A. Canfield, 1871 ; Joseph Shadle, 1872, 
A.B.Thompson, 1873; D. B. Allen, 1874; Joseph Shadle, 1875; A. B. 
Thompson, 1876; E. L. Barber, 1877; Richard H. Scott, 1878; Charles 
Blake, 1879; E. L. Barber, 1880; Richard H. Scott, 1881; Charles Blake, 
1882, Charles H. Van Ostrand, 1883; James C. Vaughan, 1884; Henry H. 
V/illiams, 1885; Sylvester W. Baum, 1886. 



Fulton County. 293 



The present county officials are as follows: Auditor, Thomas A. Kelley ; 
clerk of the courts, Albert B. Smith; probate judge, Levi W. Brown; treasu- 
rer, J. B. Schnetzler; recorder, A. S. Bloomer; prosecuting attorney, Mazzini 
Slusser ; sheriff, Daniel Dowling ; county surveyor, Lucius B. Fraker ; county 
commissioners, J. C. Vaughan, T. J. Cornell, S. W. Baum ; infirmary directors, 
S. G. Aumcnd. L. H. Guilford. W. P. Cowan. 



CHAPTER XXXI. 

Geographical Location of Fulton County — Boundaries — Position of Townsliip.s — Streams — 
TopoLrrapliy — Ditching and Draining. 

FULTON county occupies a position, geographically, in the northwestern 
portion of the State, in the country incident to the historic Maumee val- 
ley ; and although no part of the river Mautiiec lies within the count)-, the 
early historv of this locality is inseparably connected with that valley ; it is 
auxiliary to, but not co-extensive with it. 

P"ulton was created by the surrender of portions of the counties of Lucas, 
Henry and Williams, the greater part, by far, being taken from the county first 
named. It is bounded on the north by the State of Michigan, east by Lucas 
county, south by Henry county and west by Williams county. 

The county is, perhaps, as regular in conformation as any within the State. 
Its townships number twelve, being in a range of four, east and west, and three 
north and south. Gorham township occupies the extreme northwest corner; 
east of that lies Chesterfield, then Royalton, and on the extreme east and in 
the northeast corner of the county, lies Amboy. On the second or middle tier 
on the west is located Franklin and next east of that is Dover ; then Pike, and 
on the extreme east Fulton township. Of the lower or southern tier of town- 
ships, first on the west is German, the largest in area of the county's sub-divi- 
sions ; east of German is Clinton, within the bounds of which is located the 
county seat, Wauseon. East of Clinton lies York, and on the extreme east 
and in the southeast corner of the county is the township of Swan Creek. 

The old " State line," or as it has otherwise been known, the Fulton line, 
passes an almost due east and west course, intersecting the townships of Frank- 
lin, Dover, Pike and Fulton. This line was the former boundary between the 
States of Ohio and Michigan, and concerning which boundary there was a se- 
rious complication between the authorities of the two States. A full and ac- 
curate account of this controversy will be found in the chapter devoted to the 
" Land Titles." of this work. 



294 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

Fulton county can hardly be said to be a well watered district, and there 
are but few streams of any considerable size within its limits. The largest, un- 
doubtedly, is the Tiffin River, or, as it is commonly called, "Bean Creek." 
This stream has its headwaters in the ^northern and northwestern townships, 
Gorham and Chesterfield, and in the townships north and within the State of 
Michigan. Its general course is southwest, through the east part of Gorham, 
into Franklin, which it intersects, and thence across the northwest corner of 
German and passes into Williams county on the west. There are many tribu- 
taries to Bean Creek in Gorham township, thus making it one of the best nat- 
urally drained townships of the county ; in fact, there has been a less number 
of artificial drain ditches constructed in this township than any other county 
except Franklin. The extreme northeast part of Gorham is drained by a small 
stream called Mill Creek. 

South of Bean Creek, and maintaining a general course of nearly the same 
direction, is Brush Creek. This has its source or head near Spring Hill, in 
the western part of Dover township ; thence it flows southwesterly, crosses the 
northwest corner of Clinton, enters German, and flows its general course south- 
west across the last named township and leaves it at the southwest corner of 
the county. 

The township of York has a number of streams that have their courses gen- 
erally in a southerly direction, yet artificial drainage has been resorted to in or- 
der to free its lands of their marshy or swampy character, and adapt them for 
agricultural pursuits. Its streams gradually find their course south into Henry 
county and discharge into the Maumee. 

Bud Creek has its source in the central part of Pike township, whence it 
runs southerly and with an inclination to the east, touches the northeast part 
of York, crosses Swan Creek and passes on into Henry county on the south. 

Swan Creek is a small stream having its headwaters in the southwest part 
of Fulton township; thence it flows south and east across the north part of 
Swan Creek township, into Lucas county on the east. The South branch drains 
largely the northern and eastern part of the township. It maintains a general 
course bearing east and passes beyond the borders of this into Lucas county. 
Blue Creek is a small stream flowing from the central part of Swan Creek town- 
ship south, and then east into Lucas county. Ten Mile Creek rises part in 
each y\mboy and Royalton townships and runs east and northeast past Meta- 
mora and into Lucas county. 

These are the larger and more important streams of this county, which in 
ordinary localities would be entirely sufficient to thoroughly drain the whole 
territory embraced by the county. But unlike the counties in the eastern and 
southern parts of the State, Fulton has no hills of any magnitude to give head- 
way or force to its streams. The hills are no more than a slight rise of ground 
in any portion of the county; while in many localities there seems to be a gen- 



Fulton County. 



295 



eral depression of the surface, insomuch that they cannot rid themselves of 
their surface water without resort to artificial drainage. 

The general slope of the surface is to the southeast and quite moderate. 
The lowest land in the county is in the township of Swan Creek, where the 
surface lies ninety-five feet above Lake Erie, while in northwestern Gorham the 
altitude reached is about two hundred and fifty feet above the lake. In the 
central part of the county, embracing the northern part of Clinton, nearly all 
of Dover, about three-fifths of Chesterfield, the southwest part of Royalton, the 
west half of Pike, and the northwest corner of York, is an elevated sandy 
plateau with an average elevation of about two hundred feet above lake water. 
Prior to about the year 1858, there was a vast amount of land lying within the 
county that was wholly unfit for agricultural purposes, on account of its 
swampy character, and inasmuch as there were no streams within the county 
available for water power, there was but little prospect for advancement 
or progress by way of manufacture, and the inhabitants must, per force, seek 
some channel or adopt some means whereby the county might be built up and 
made productive. This peculiarity of situation, if it may be properly called 
such, was not entirely single to this locality, but there were several counties 
similarly possessed. Here the climate, the soil and the natural situation of the 
land showed favorable for good results in agricultural pursuits as soon as the 
surface of the land could be properly drained of its surplus and sluggish water. 

The Legislature made provision for draining by the ditching process, and 
by this must the county stand or fall. It can hardly be within the province of 
this chapter to enter into a detailed narrative of the laws passed by the Legis- 
lature from time to time, bearing upon the subject of ditch draining, but sufl'i- 
cient it is to state that such was the fact; and under this act and its several 
amendments and supplements has the vast amount of draining been done 
within this county during the last twenty-five and more years While by far 
the greater part of the draining done in the county has been of that kind 
known as ditching, still there has been laid by the commissioners, or those act- 
ing in the work for them, a large amount of tile, or pipe made from the native 
clay. The latter is used where it may be laid to advantage. Tile draining is 
usually done by the individual in cases where he desires to carry the water from 
some depressed portion -of land to some already established ditch or other 
stream. 

It was in the year 1859 that ditching commenced in this county under the 
direction of the county commissioners, and since that time there are but very 
few square miles of the surface of the county but has in some manner been 
opened for this purpose. Of course there are localities where this is not nec- 
essary, on the more elevated lands of sandy character. The work is carried 
on to such an extent that each year, for several years past, there has been at 
least one hundred miles of ditching performed in this count}-. 



296 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

The following record, by townships, will show first, the date of digging the 
first ditch therein ; second, the number opened, or dug ; third, the number 
deepened or widened, or both, and fourth, the number cleaned out : 

Amboy, 1862; forty-eight new, sixteen deepened and widened, and three 
cleaned out. A total operated upoh of sixty-seven. 

Royalton, 1859; thirty-eight new, sixteen deepened and widened, and 
one cleaned out. Total, fifty-five. 

Chesterfield, 1864; thirty-four new, seventeen deepened and widened, and 
six cleaned out. Total, fifty-seven. 

Franklin, 1859; fourteen new, four deepened and widened, and one 
cleaned out. Total, nineteen. 

Gorham, 1865; twenty-eight new, five deepened and widened, and one 
cleaned out. Total, thirty-four. 

Dover, 1864; forty-six new, twenty-eight deepened and widened, and six 
cleaned out. Total, eighty. 

Pike, 1859; fifty-one new, thirteen deepened and widened, and six cleaned 
out. Total, seventy. 

Fulton, 1862 ; forty- four new, twelve deepened and widened, and four 
cleaned out. Total, sixty. 

Swan Creek, 1859; seventy new, nineteen deepened and widened, and 
twenty cleaned out. Total, one hundred nine. 

York, 1859; sixty-one new, sixteen deepened and widened, and ten 
cleaned out. Total, eighty- seven. 

Clinton, 1859; seventy-one new, twenty-eight deepened and widened, and 
twenty cleaned out. Total, one hundred nineteen. 

German, 1859; thirty-one new, seven deepened and widened, and one 
cleaned out. Total, thirty- nine. 



CHAPTER XXXH. 
GEOLOGY OF FULTON COUNTY. 

IT is a well established fact, the result of scientific research, that the whole 
country about this region has at some time, ages ago, been covered with 
water of unknown depth, and that these waters were constantly changing as if in 
motion, or by under currents, tides and waves. In the course of ages these 
waters receded, having found some outlet into the vast bodies of water that 
now so largely cover the earth's surface. Again, the labors of those who, dur- 
ing the last two hundred years, have devoted themselves to the study of the 



Fulton County. 297 



structure of the i^lobe, have resulted in the creation of the science of geology, 
and the claim which this department of human knowledge has to science, de- 
pends upon the symmetry which has been found to prevail in the arrangement 
of the materials forming the earth's crust. By the slow process of adding act 
to fact and by comparing the observations of the devotees of the science in dif- 
ferent lands, it has been found that the rocky strata of the earth hold defi- 
nite relation to each other in position, and hence in age ; that many of them 
are distinguished by constant or general features, and contain characteristic or 
peculiar remains of plants or animals by which they may be recognized where- 
ever found. This sequence of deposit forms what has been aptly termed the 
Geological Column and the changes which are recorded in the strata of differ- 
ent formations, both in regard to the physical condition of the earth's surf ice, 
and the organic forms that inhabited it, constitute that which is known as ge- 
ological history. Of this record the dififerent ages, periods and epochs follow 
each other everywhere in regular order, and form a grand and uniform system 
of change and progress, compared with which the successive eras of human 
history drop into insignificance. 

The observations of geologists have shown that the materials which com- 
pose the earth's crust form three distinct classes of rocks, the igneous, sedimen- 
tary and metamorphic. Of these, the first class includes those that are the direct 
result of fusion. These are divided into two subordinate groups, volcanic and 
plutonic, of which the first includes such as are produced by volcanic eruption, 
lava in its various iorms: pnniicc, obsidian, trachyte, etc. The second class of 
igneous rocks — Xhe plntonic — comprises those massive, rocky forms which 
are without distinct bedding, have apparently been completely fused, and yet 
Avere never probably brought to the earth's surface by volcanic action. Hav- 
ing consolidated under incalculably great pressure, they are, in structure, dense 
and compact, never exhibiting the porous and incoherent condition which is .so 
characteristic of purely volcanic rocks. The plutonic rocks are granite in 
some of its varieties, syenite, porphyry, and part, but not all, of basalts, dior- 
zVr.y and rt'^/^r/Zt'.y (greenstones). None of these igneous rocks are found in place 
in this region of county, although they exist in vast quantities in the mining 
districts of the west and on the shores of Lake Superior. From the latter re- 
gion numerous fragments were brought and scattered generally through this 
region during the glacial period, and they constitute a prominent fL-.iiinc In 
the drift deposits that cover so large a part of Ohio. 

Abundant evidence exists that the earth has been consolidated from .t -.is- 
eous through a liquid state, and that the consolidation resulted from the cool- 
ing of an intensely heated mass, but that near the center this cooling process 
has never been entirely completed and makes its existence manifest even to 
this period, through not infrequent volcanic eruptions. Again is it evidenced 
in penetrating the earth to a great depth, which, as it is increased, the higher 
becomes the temperature. ^^ 



298 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

It is a matter of supposition that the igneous rocks were formed first and 
that they constituted the primeval continents. As soon, however, as they 
were exposed to the action of the elements, they began to be worked down 
and washed away, and the materials derived from them were deposited as sed- 
iment in the first existing water basins. That process has been going on 
through all subsequent ages, so that by far the larger part of the rocks which 
we now encounter in the study of the earth belongs to the class of sedimentary 
deposits. These are commonly known as sandstone, shale, limestone, etc., the 
consohdation of the comminuted material having been effected by both chem- 
ical and physical agencies. The differences discovered in these sedimentary 
rocks are, for the most part, dependent upon very simple causes, such as are 
now seen in operation upon every coast. The rains that fall upon the land 
aive rise to rivers, and these on their way to the sea excavate the valleys 
through which they flow, transporting the materials taken into suspension to the 
points where the motion of the currents is arrested and their power of suspen- 
sion ceases, that is, in the water basins where they debouche. In the gradual 
arrest of the motion of river currents, the coarsest and heaviest materials first 
sink to the bottom, in obedience of the laws of gravitation, then, in succession, 
the fine and still finer until all are deposited. Shore waves are still more po- 
tent agents in the distribution of sediments. Whether they break on cliff or 
beach they are constantly employed in grinding up, and by their under-tow 
carrying away the barriers against which they beat. Nothing can resist their 
force and ceaseless industry. In time the most iron-bound coast and the 
broadest continent must yield to their slow but sure advance, and the com- 
minuted materials are spread far and wide in the rear of their line of progress. 

Rain, rivers and shore waves are the great destructive agents in geology — 
the greatest levelers known — but in the same measure that they demohsh, the 
sea builds again. She sifts, sorts and spreads anew and in regular order, the 
materials she receives from them, thus laying the foundation for new conti- 
nents. These, when raised above the sea- level by internal forces are again cut 
away, again to be rebuilt. 

Upon the retreat of the sea the surface of the land would be again covered 
with vegetation, acted upon by atmospheric influences, washed into hills and 
valleys, and locally covered with sand or clay, the products of this local wash- 
ing. Any excavations now made upon this continent would reveal distinct 
and legible records of this last inundation, viz.: Beneath the superficial, a lime- 
stone; below this, a shale; below that a sandstone, or conglomerate; and all 
these resting upon the rocky foundations of the continent; the result of a pre- 
vious submergence, and representing a previous geological age. To be sure 
these rules are not without some occasional irreconcilable deviations, some- 
times called faults, or exceptions, owing to a variety of causes, but are of not 
sufficiently frequent occurrence to demand any lengthy explanation, or any 



Fulton County. 299 



notice other than mere mention. Having followed the geological evolutions 
of our continent thus far, its importance to the average reader being an apol- 
ogy for its length, we may now turn and observe the geological formation and 
construction of this locality, as the same is laid down in the geological reports 
and surveys prepared by Prof. C. K. Gilbert, from which the strength of this 
chapter is taken, and to which is added the result of a recent drilling for oil in 
the vicinity of Wauseon, showing the different strata penetrated and its thick- 
ness. 

The bedded rocks of Fulton county are covered with a heavy sheet of drift, 
to a depth of from fifty to at least two hundred feet. These are mainly on or 
near the line of the Air- Line Railroad, and the rock struck in each case was 
the Huron shale — either the characteristic black shale or associated masses of 
pyrites. At Delta it was drilled through in boring for oil, and found to have 
a thickness of fifty-five feet. Under it was found twenty feet of soft gray 
shale, representing the Hamilton group, while the upper part of the Coniferous 
group appeared to be quits argillaceous. Comparing the altitudes of these 
beds in the neighboring counties, Henry and Lucas, where they outcrop, the 
general dip is found to be to the north and west, and it is probable that its 
continuance carries them under the Waverly group within the limits of the 
county. So far as can be judged the greater part of the county is underlaid 
by Huron shale, and this is covered in the northwest portion by the beds of 
the Waverly group. 

In boring for water near the south line of Gorhani township, cannel coal 
was struck, and was said to have been penetrated to a depth of three and one- 
half feet. Overlying it was the blue clay of the drift, but as the underlying 
material was not determined, it remains uncertain whether the coal was in its 
original position, or was merely a drift boulder transported from the Michigan 
coal field. All present information or knowledge tends toward the latter 
theory, although the nearest outcrops of the coal measures are about forty 
miles distant. 

The unmodified Krie clay (sand, gravel and boulders), appears in the north- 
western part of Gorham township, and presents the same features as are found 
in the county on the west, except that the deep marshes are wanting, or nearly 
so. The beach line which limits it crosses the west line of Franklin township, 
a half mile north of the " Fulton line," and runs northeast to Fayette, and 
thence to the Michigan line, which it intersects three miles west of the cast 
line of Gorham township. 

The lacustrine clays (post-glacial epoch), have resulted from the redispo- 
sition of the Erie clay, and differ from it in that they lack the coarser materials, 
are more homogeneous, and are deposited with a flat, and often nearly level 
surface. They cover the county generally. In Franklin, German, the south 
part of York and Clinton, and the eastern part of Amboy, their extreme flat- 



300 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

ness is remarkable, rendering it quite impossible with the eye to discover the 
direction of their slope. 

The beach ridges have but a small area, but crossing many farms otherwise 
destitute of sand, they form a desirable variety. Besides the upper ridge, the 
position of which in Gorham has been described, another, constituting the third 
beach, is well defined. Beginning on the Michigan line three miles west of 
Metamora it curves abruptly, first east and then south. Proceeding nearly 
south to the village of Ai, it then curves so as to take a course a little west of 
southwest, touches the northwest corner of Swan Creek township, passes 
through the village of Delta, and leaves the county near the middle of Clinton 
township. In its general character it is sandy, but at several points where its 
dimensions are small, it is formed of fine gravel. These gravel and sand 
ridges are desirable for roads, and are used at numerous places. In the north- 
east part of German township are several parallel ridges of fine sand, that are 
possibly beaches. They run from the edge of the central sandy plateau south- 
west over the clay plain, in which they are finally lost. 

In the regions of the deep sand a large part of the surface consists of a 
succession of knolls, or dunes, and short ridges, the latter being, occasionally, 
traceable for some miles. Interspersed with these, and enclosed by them, are 
numerous marshes, or wet prairies, large and small, which are slowly building 
up their surfaces with accumulating muck. When first occupied by the whites 
the only trees on these tracts were oaks, and these so sparsely set that their 
tops, as a rule, did not meet, and a wagon might be driven in nearly any di- 
rection. From this fact the county became known as the " oak openings." 
With the discontinuance of the annual fires set by the Indians, a dense growth 
of oak sprung up in many places, but the lightest of the sand acquired only a 
scrubby undergrowth. The more dry parts of the prairies became grown 
thickly with aspen.s, which also dates from the cessation of the fires. 

These deep sands cover a fourth part of the county. The principal tract 
is central, including central and southern Chesterfield, the western half of Pike, 
and a small area in southwestern Royalton. In the southeast the county 
limits include a portion of a much larger district that forms a broad belt in 
Lucas, Henry and Wood counties. In this county it covers the southeastern 
two-thirds of Swan Creek township, and a small portion of York. 

There can be no doubt that this sand, of whatever depth, rests on clay, and 
all around the margins of these tracts are belts of country, often several miles 
in width, where the sand is thinner, so that the underlying clay may be met 
in digging a few feet, and forms an impervious subsoil that checks largely the 
leaching tendencies of the sand. These belts have been as well timbered as 
the clay lands, and at their margins pass gradually into them. The depth of 
the drift as shown by examinations made in various localities, is about as fol- 
lows : Archbold, one hundred and forty-six feet; at Wauseon, one hundred 



Fulton County. 301 



and sixty-six feet ; at Delta, eighty-five feet ; at Phillip's Corners, one hundred 
and fifty feet; at Matamoras, one hundred and forty- five feet; I'\ilton town- 
ship, eighty feet. The water supply in the deep sand district is derived by 
shallow wells from the sand. Elsewhere recourse is had to the deep-seated 
reservoirs in the I'.ric cla\-, and these are reached by borint;. In frequent in- 
stances the clay has been penetrated to its base, but no supply obtained ; still 
more commonly water is found at the base, and even above it. There exist 
no surface indications, nor other data from which to anticipate results, and 
it is a notorious fact that of two holes bored but a few rods apart, one may 
furnish an abundance of water, and the other none. When reached, the water 
generally rises nearly to the surface, and in some limited districts overflows, 
making artesian wells; the belt of these, already described as crossing Will- 
iams county between the Ridge and Beam Creek, crossing Franklin and termi- 
nating in Gorham township. A fountain well is known in Clinton township. 
The water has the same general character, and the same variety, as that of Will- 
iams county. 

Clay, suitable for making brick, can be found in abundance in every town- 
ship, and a quality adapted to the manufacture of tile is not uncommon. Bricks 
are made to some extent, and the manufacture of drain-tiles, although a com- 
paratively recent industry, it is now large and still growing. The people. real- 
ize the importance of a thorough under-drainage to accomplish the best results 
in agricultural pursuits. This is all the more apparent in this county where the 
land is very flat. The excessive moisture became an evil, but unstinted ditch- 
ing under competent direction, together with the free under-drainage system 
that has marked the county during the past ten years, has made it one of the 
richest and most productive counties of the northwest territory of Ohio. En- 
dowed with no natural facilities for manufacture, she has had of necessity to be- 
come almost purely a farming county, and readily and heartily have her peo- 
ple responded to this necessity, and its results are shown in the full and abund- 
ant crops of each season. The deposit known diSpeat or muck, is found in mod- 
erate quantities in the marshes of the sand districts. This is serviceable as a 
top-dressing for the light sand lands. Marl'xs also found in the marshes, upon 
the borders of the sand areas, where there has been some drainage from the clay 
land. Bog iron ore has been found in similar situations, and, possibly, may be 
found to exist in considerable quantities. 

The existence of petroleum in this and adjoining counties is a known fact, 
but that it need not be sought or expected in paying quantities in this locality, 
is indicated by the experimental borings that have been made. Still, this non- 
succe.ss, is not a sure guarantee that valuable oil deposits are not underlying 
this county. It was thought that in earlier days there were sure surface indi- 
cations that would denote the presence of this product, but later theories, and 
later results, have exploded this fallacy. Borings for water that reached the 



302 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

underlying black shale have, in several instances, penetrated at the bottom of 
a gravel saturated with oil, and the discovery of a local deposit would not be 
remarkable. Still, a practical and well informed oil producer would naturally 
be inclined to the belief that this region is "off" the belt."" But this theory 
proves nothing, as oil, in limited quantities has been obtained, and whether it 
exists in quantities sufficient to warrant its production, remains for future dem- 
onstration. 

An accurate record, kept by M. Britton, during the process of boring at 
Wauseon, the depth attained being over twenty-one hundred feet, will show 
through what deposits the drill passed, and the thickness of strata. From the 
surface to the shale or slate rock, the drift measured one hundred and fifty- 
six feet, and from thence downward as follows : Black shale, 94 feet ; soft 
limestone, 30 feet; black shale, 70 feet; hme, 27 feet; hard brown lime, 15 
feet; soft lime, 20 feet; soapstone, 5 feet; hard brown lime, 15 feet; white 
lime, 60 feet; brown hard lime, 45 feet; magnesia, 5 feet; light brown lime, 
15 feet; lime and magnesia, 10 feet; chalk, 5 feet; light lime, 20 feet; dark 
hard lime, 15 feet; white pebble sand, 20 feet ; light slate, 15 feet; hard white 
lime, 65 feet ; floating sand over coal, i foot; coal, 8 feet; soapstone, 10 feet ; 
water lime, 70 feet; drab lime, 35 feet; hard lime with iron, 130 feet; water 
Hme, 45 feet ; brown hard lime, 48 feet; dark drab lime, 25 feet; white marble, 
no feet; dark lime, 90 feet ; colored marble, 120 feet; dark lime, 53 feet; 
slate, 90 feet ; dark slate, 280 feet; black slate, 3 10 feet; slate and Trenton 
rock, 30 feet. 



CHAPTER XXXni. 

Showing Title.^, Grants and Surveys, Xative and Foreign, to the Soil of Fulton County. 

THE territory now known as Fulton county, and now included in Ohio, was 
first explored, with its contiguous territory, by Chevalier Robert de la 
Salle, a French fur trader, who came to the valley of the Maumee in 1679, and 
where, in 1680, he built a small stockade fort at Miami, just below the present 
site of Maumee proper. The French claimed the country, and repelled by force 
of arms, every counter claim of the English-speaking settlers, who held under 
grants from Kings George or James of England, until 1763. For generations 
after the discovery of America by Christopher Columbus, in October, 1492, 
the country was the subject of wild conjecture and tales of wonder by the 
whole European world, and its visitors and explorers were but civilized ruffians 
whose only object was gain of gold and diamonds, and favor of their superiors. 



Fulton County. 303 



It is quite probable that this northwestern territory was first visited and set- 
tled by white men (French) a few years earlier than the visit of La Salle. 
Father Marquette, a F'rench Catholic missionary, visited the Upper Lakes in 
1668, and founded missions at Detroit and other places. Father Marquette 
has undoubtedly the credit of being the first white settler west of the Ohio. 
Yet history says, " early in the seventeenth century, before the landing of the 
pilgrims on Plymouth Rock, the northwest, and more particularly the Up- 
per Lakes, were visited by French explorers, missionaries and fur-traders, and 
this whole country west of the AUeghanies at once became familiar to them, a 
race of semi-vagabonds, acting in the interest of the French fur-trading com- 
panies. This knowledge of the country gave to the French what they claimed 
a pre-empted right to this whole country west of the Ohio and east of the 
Mississippi River, and north to the Arctic Ocean," over which they placed rul- 
ers as early as 1663. 

Robert de la Salle was the first to set up the tri-color of Trance, under 
a commission from Louis XIV, its king. 

This whole vast wilderness region was under the control of France just one 
hundred years, when the whole territory passed into the hands of the English 
by the treaty of Paris, 1763, France ceeding all her American possessions east 
of the Mississippi River to the North Sea. Thus finally ended F'rench jurisdic- 
tion over the vast western domain, of which they had claimed ownership, by right 
of discovery, for at least one hundred and sixty years and during this time of 
ownership by the French, it was recognized as the Province of Quebec, of which 
the city of Quebec was the capital. Soon after that territory passed under Brit- 
ish rule, the most of the Indian tribes in the west were dissatisfied with the 
English and preferred the French control, who, under the lead of Pontiac, an 
Ottowa chief, who lived on Pechee Island about eight miles above the city of 
Detroit, and who at this time was Grand Sachem of all the Indian tribes in 
the west, some twelve in all. In May, 1763, they made a simultaneous attack 
upon several forts, among them was Forts La Boeuf, Venango, Presque Isle, 
Michillimacinac, St. Joseph, Miami, Green Bay, Ouitonon, Pittsburgh, San- 
dusky, Niagara and Detroit, and by the secret aid of the French, the attack 
resulted in the most frightful massacre of the English garrisons at all the points 
except Detroit, Pittsburgh and Niagara. Those conquered fell into the hands 
of the savages. This success upon their part led to a succession of hostilities, 
which for a time retarded any rapid occupation of this country by the whites. 

No acme of peace was established until August 20, 1794, when occurred 
the final struggle between the Indian and American forces, the latter under 
General Anthony Wayne, on the lower Miami (or Maumee), which broke the 
strength of Indians and their white allies. But to return to our historical in- 
tentions of titles etc., in connection with events as they transpired. A little 
over one hundred years ago at a regular session of the House of Burgesses of 



304 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

the colony of Virginia, March i, 1784, by an act that body ceded all the ter- 
ritory northwest of the Ohio River, to the United States. Then, thereafter, 
by subsequent acts of the Federal Congress, the cession was ratified July 13, 
1787, which is generally called the "Ordinance of Freedom;" aside from some 
minor titles, Virginia had claimed title to the whole of this northwestern ter- 
ritory, by its several charters granted by James the I, of England, bearing 
dates respectively April 10, 1606; May 23, 1609; March 12, 1611, and like- 
wise by subsequent conquest. That Virginia had a paramount title above 
all other claims, when the prehistoric facts are all set forth, is undeniable. 
Under these she asserted ownership and exercised a nominal jurisdiction over 
the whole territory, as early as 1769, on the western boundary east of the Mis- 
sissippi River. But whatever the claim was founded upon, the State legisla- 
ture of Virginia waived all title and ownership to it (except to the Virginia 
military district) and all authority over it by directing the representatives of 
said State (Thomas Jefferson, Samuel Hardy, Arthur Lee, and James Monroe) 
to cede to the United States all right, title and claim, as well of sale as of ju- 
risdiction, excepting as above, to the secretary of said State, lying and being 
to the northwest of the Ohio River. New York, Massachusetts, and Connect- 
icut, soon after the treaty of peace of 1784, and for some time before, had as- 
serted claims to a portion of this northwest territory, and now composing the 
State of Ohio, although it was at once apparent that said claims were overlap- 
ing those of James I to the colony of Virginia, as facts seem to determine. 

Smucker, in his paper in the Ohio statistics of 1877, says: "The charter of 
Massachusetts, upon which that State's title was based, was granted within less 
than twenty-five years after the arrival of the Mayfoiucr, and that of Connect- 
icut, bearing date March 19, 163 l, both embracing territory extending from 
the Atlantic to the Pacific Ocean; and that of New York, obtained from Charles 
the Second, March 2. 1664, included territory that had been previously granted 
to Massachusetts and Connecticut ; hence the conflict of claims between these 
States, their several charters covering, to some extent, the same territory ; and 
hence, also, their contest with Virginia as to a portion of the soil of Ohio." 

Probably the titles of some, or all, of the aforesaid contesting States were 
in some way affected by the provisions of treaties with the Iroquois, or by the 
fact of their recognition by them, as appendants of the government of New 
York. New York's deed of cession was considered and favorably reported 
upon by a committee of Congress, May i, 1782; and by like acts of patriotism, 
magnanimity and generosity to those of New York and Virginia, Massachu- 
setts and Connecticut soon followed by similar acts of relinquishment of title, 
or by corresponding deeds of cession to the United States. The Legislature of 
Massachusetts, on the 13th day of November, 1784, authorized her delegates 
in Congress to cede the title of that State to all the territory west of the west- 
ern boundary of the State of New York to the United States, and the measure 



Fulton County. 305 



Connecticut, in September, 1786, ceded all her 
claims to soil and jurisdiction west of what is now known as the Western Re- 
serve, to the United States. Fi\-c hundred thousand acres of the western por- 
tion of the Western Reserve was set apart for the relief of the Connecticut suf- 
ferers by fire, during the Revolution, since known as the ' Firelands,' the In- 
dian title to which was extinguisiied by the treaty of Fort Industry {fKnc To- 
ledo), in 1805, Charles Jouett being the United States commissioner, and the 
chiefs of the Shawnees, Delawares, Wyandotts, Chippewas, Ottawas, and some 
minor tribes, representing the interest of the Indians. The remainder of the 
\\'estern Reserve tract, amounting to about three million acres, was snKJ, and 
the proceeds dedicated to educational purposes, and has served as the basis of 
Connecticut's common school fund, now aggregating upwards of two millions 
dollars. Jurisdictional claim to the Western Reserve was ceded by Connecti- 
cut to the United States, May 30, 1801." So ends all the conflicting claims 
by grants or right of discovery, and the ordinance of Virginia, fully and une- 
quivocally, and forever, places the great Northwest from under the shadows of 
these accumulated claims to territor}-, as far as the white race is concerned. 
We yet have to deal with the claims of the red man. As we must all admit, 
he was here before the advent of Europeans upon its soil ; that he has, at least, 
2L possessory right. To this land he held the right of pre-emption, "the time 
whereof the memory of man ran not to the contrary ;" and superadded to this,. 
" a patent from the Great Spirit, which established his right on solid ground." 
The first adventurers held that their Christian civilization gave to them a su- 
premacy, and that the pagan world had no rights which they were bound to 
respect ; a doctrine they fully carried out in the first two hundred )-ears after 
the discovery of America. 

When we reflect on what has been done, and view these past centuries over, 
and that now, in our greatness and acme of boasted civilization, the words of 
Cowper may justly apply to us : 

" O, could those ancieiu Inca.s rise again. 

How would they take up Israel's taunting strain I 

Art thou, too, fallen, Iberia? Dowe sec 

The robber and the murderer, weak as we ? 

Thou, that has wasted earth, and dared despise 

Alike, the wrath and mercy of the skies, 

Thy pomp is in the grave, thy glory laid 

Low in the pits thine avarice has made. ' 

We come with joy from our eternal rest, 

To see the oppressor in his turn opjjressed. 

Art thou the God, the thunder of \n hose hand 

Rolled over all our desolated land ; 

Shook principalities and kingdoms down, 

.\nd made the mountains tremble at His frown? 

The sword shall light npon ihy boasted powers. 

And waste them as they wasted ours. 

'Tis thus, Omnipotence, his law fulfills, 

And vengeance executes what justice wills." 39 



3o6 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

Now, as the treaty of Paris, of 1763, had adjusted all the disputes between 
the two rival governments for the possession of American territory, at which 
time all of the vast French possession, east of the Mississippi River, passed to 
and under the control of the government of Great Britain, and aside from her 
charter titles named, she based further claims by treaties with the great Iro- 
quois, or Six Nation Indians, who claimed to have conquered the whole coun- 
try, from the Atlantic Ocean on the east, to the Mississippi on the west, and 
from the lakes, north, to the Carolinas, south, and hence claimed that they 
were owners and had full power to dispose of the same. Great Britain, from 
1763, retained possession until the close of the War of the Revolution, when 
by the treaty of Paris, in 1783, and so ratified by the American Congress in 
January, 1784, possession and government passed to the United States in Oc- 
tober, 1784. That prior to this treaty with the British government, it is un- 
derstood that by the terms of the treaty held at Fort Stanwix, that the princi- 
pal chief of the Six Nations confirmed the Fort Stanwix treaty of 1784. As 
the Six Nations, having taken part with England in the Revolution, when the 
king's power fell in America, the Indian nations were reduced to the miserable 
alternative of giving up so much of their country as the Americans required, 
or the whole of it. That in said treaty the title of the Six Nations was extin- 
guished through all the valley of the Ohio, and by them Great Britain claims 
to have acquired a full right to soil and complete and undisputed jurisdiction. 
That the treaties of Fort Mcintosh and Finney, alone, held respectively in Jan- 
uary, 1785 and 1786, the Indian titles to all this territory west of the Cuyahoga 
River, and east of a line directly south from the mouth of the Maumee at its 
confluence with Lake Erie ; that in this soil and jurisdiction passed as well as 
the good will and perpetual peace of said nation. 

It is conjectured, and perhaps well, too, that the Indians were held in the 
military arena of this country by a few unprincipled speculators, and that they 
were the moving springs for their tardy adherence to treaties made and con- 
cluded at different times and places ; that the principal of them were McKee, 
Simon Girty and one Elliott, who, for gain, conceived that if the Ohio and 
Muskingum Rivers were made the boundaries in settlement, it would be no 
difficult matter for them to purchase it with trifling articles, and the worst of 
^}\ fire water (whisky), of which they largely dealt in at their trading post, De- 
troit. The conclusions of these treaties were anything but satisfactory to them ; 
and with the battle at Presque Isle (Erie, Pa.), forever resigned their hopes. 
They had seen the Indian nations hopelessly defeated in all their contending 
conflicts with the white, which proved to be the Indian's destruction. It is 
from these three men and their teaching, that most of the inhuman barbarities 
of the Indians came, in the West. 

Immediately after the severe campaign of General Anthony Wayne, upon 
the Maumee, and the successful defeat of the Indians at the battle of Fallen 



Fulton County. 



307 



Timbers, August 20, 1794, just above the rapids on the Maumee, and the ic- 
moval of their British alhes, peace again smiled, and men again appeared in 
tlieir genuine manhood as worth)- of the heroic age of the West ; as having se- 
cured peace with the savages, and rehef from their horrible atrocities. The 
government took immediate steps to secure a further gratuity of relief by the 
treaty of Greenville, which was concluded August 3, 1795, in which the In- 
dians agreed to a permanent peace. The Indians, as a price of their further 
peace, gave up an extensive tract of country, south of the lakes and west of the 
Ohio, and such other tracts as compreiiended all the military posts in the 
western region. And, as a guarantee, the government, as a gratuity, gave 
them $20,000 in goods, and further agreed to pay them $9,000 a year, forever 
to be divided among the twelve tribes, then in council, in proportion to their 
numbers ; and further agreed not to sell or dispose of their right to soil, or pass 
jurisdiction to any person or persons, or power other than the United States, 
which gave permanent peace to the country until the War of 18 12. 

Long before the white man had put foot upon the valley of tlie Maumee, 
or its adjacent territor)', there dwelt and roamed over this unbounded forest a 
powerful tribe of Indians, known as the Pottawatamies, with the fragment of 
another tribe named the Tawas, who had long been accustomed to hardships 
in every form, and taught to consider themselves invincible. They had learned 
to regard life as valueless, if its price was victory. Their hunting grounds 
were boundless, and game was plentiful from Lake Erie to Lake Michigan. 
Let it be said, to the honor of these Indians, that their white brethren were very 
seldom molested. 

Hull' s Treaty. — In the year 1807, at a council held with the dusky sons of 
the forest, at Detroit, November 17th, called by Governor Hull, who was then 
governor of the northwestern territory, they ceded the lands in the south part 
of Michigan, and the northern part of Ohio, to the whites. The tribes in coun- 
cil were the Chippewas, Ottawas, Wyandottes and Pottawatamies, who were 
the original owners. 

Boitudarics. — The boundaries fixed by that treat)- were as follows: Begin- 
ning at the mouth of the Miami (now Maumee) of the lakes, running thence up 
the middle of said river, to the mouth of the great Auglaize River; thence run- 
ning due north one hundred and thirty-two miles, until it intersects a parallel 
of latitude to be drawn from the outlet of Lake Huron, which lorms the River 
St. Clair; thence northeast, the course will lead in a direct line to White Rock, 
Lake Huron; thence due east until it intersects the boundary line between the 
L'nited States and Upper Canada, in said lake, through the river St. Clair and 
the Detroit River into Lake Erie, to a point due east of the Miami River; 
thence to the place of beginning, now embracing about two hundred and sixty 
townships of Ohio and Michigan. This treaty did forever extinguish all the 
Indian titles within said boundaries and no subsequent Indian claims have been 
attempted. 



3o8 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

Treaty of Chicago. — In 1821 a further treaty was made at Chicago, by 
which the Indian title to all the lands in the territory south of the Grand River 
was relinquished to the government of the United States, which cleaned out all 
the Indian titles west of the west treaty line, made by Governor Hull, at De- 
troit in 1807. These treaties comprehended all the lands in central and south- 
ern Michigan, and a large area in northern Ohio, and relinquished every ves- 
tige of Indian titles to all the lands now within the limits of Fulton county, 
except a special grant of a few sections in the southeast corner of said county, 
which was afterwards sold to the white settlers. 

That after the acts of cession from the Virginia colonies were fully com- 
pleted and confirmed by the Congress of the American colonies, July 13, 1787, 
that same Congress appointed Arthur St. Clair governor of the Northwest Ter- 
ritory, who arrived at Marietta, July 9, 1788, nearly one year after the cession, 
and entered forthwith upon the duties of his office. On July 27, 1788, Gover- 
nor St. Clair by proclamation, established the county of Washington, including 
all the territory east of the Sciota River, north to Lake Erie. The balance of 
the present limits of Ohio, reaching south to the present center of the State, was 
considered unorganized territory. On August 15, 1795, it, with the whole 
peninsula between the lakes, now called ^Michigan, was organized into one 
county, called Wa3'ne. The county seat of the same was fixed at the city of 
Detroit (then but a military post), and remained so until Ohio was admitted 
into the Union, February 19, 1803, when the boundary line upon the north be- 
tween it and the unorganized territory was established, at what is now termed 
the " Fulton line," which was afterwards run as established by the ordinance 
of 1787. Before this Northwestern Territory was subdivided into independent 
government divisions, the seat of government was at Chillicothe, O., to which 
Wayne county sent one delegate until the year 1800. In this year the Terri- 
torial Legislature convened at Cincinnati, at which the county of Wayne was 
represented by three citizens of Detroit, to wit, Solomon Sibley, Jacob Visgar 
and Charles F. Chohart de Joncaire. It was in this year that the Northwest- 
ern Territory was divided into two governments called "the Eastern and West- 
ern Divisions." The western was called Indiana, and the eastern the "Old Gov- 
ernment of Ohio." 

The county of Wayne was, however, excluded from any representation at 
Cincinnati in 1800, in forming the first constitution of Ohio, or in the organiza- 
tion of the State ; nor had the Maumee country any representation in the first 
Legislature of Ohio, which assembled at Chillicothe on the ist day of March, 
\? 



o- 



It was at this time that all of the unorganized territory (after the State of 
Ohio assumed State relations), was organized under the name of the " Indiana 
territory." In 1805 the Indiana Territory was subdivided, and the northern 
part (all north of the Fulton line, the boundary line of the ordinance of 1787), 



Fulton County. 309 



was organized into the Territory of Michigan, which gave tlie northern half of 
the present Hmits of Fulton county to the jurisdiction of the Territory of Michi- 
gan, which she as a territory controlled and held under government relations 
for thirty \-ears or more, until December, 1836, when the question of jurisdic- 
tion was settled in Congress, by the Territory of Michigan relinquishing all 
right to soil and jurisdiction south of what is called the " Harris line " (the pres- 
ent line of the State). 

This territory remained the county of Wayne until 1817, when the Territo- 
rial Legislature of Michigan organized the county of Monroe, and established 
the county seat at the city of Monroe, at the mouth of the River Raisin, and so 
held jurisdiction for nine years. 

In 1826 the county of Monroe was further subdivided and the western por- 
tion erected into the county of Lenawee (an Indian name signifying man), and 
so remained until the transfer of this territory to Ohio, in December, 1836. 
Tecumseh was fixed as the county seat. 

This county to the Fulton line, was surveyed by one Joseph Fletcher, in 
1 8 19, and finished when, by a proclamation of the president of the United 
States, March 15, 1820, it was ordered to' be sold at puhh'- -.i''- Inly 4. 1X20. 
(Where the sale took place wc are not informed.) 

Thus, while Michigan was under territorial rule from k^o5 lo i«S35, she was 
ruled over; by the following governors respectively: William Hull, from 1805 
to 1814; Lewis Cass, i8i4to 1832; George B. Porter, of Pennsylvania, 1832 
to 1834; Steven T. Mason, 183410 1835; John S. Horner, 1835; Steven T. 
Mason, from 1835 to its admission as a State. It was during the territorial 
government of the last named governor, Steven T. Mason, that occurred what 
is known in history as the "Toledo War," which was caused by a misunder- 
standing about the boundary line between the State of Ohio and the Territory 
of Michigan, and culminated in calling out the militia upon both sides, in Sep- 
tember, 1835, by an attempt of Ohio to resurvey the Harris line. Prior to this 
difficulty the General Assembly of Ohio, in 1807, under a resolution from that 
body, instructed its representatives in Congress to use their influence to obtain 
the passage of a law to ascertain and define the northern boundary line of the 
State, and fix the same agreeable to the proviso. 

In 18 1 2, the surveyor-general of the United States caused two lines to be 
run, one in conformity with the enabling act of Congress, and another as called 
for by the prox'iso. 

It was not until 18 16 that William Harris concluded his survey, to which 
Ohio claimed as by the proviso. In 18 18 John A. Fulton, under instructions 
from the surveyor-general of the United States, completed his survey under 
the enabling act of Congress, whicli is known as the "Fulton line," and claimed 
by Michigan. 

That the Fulton line was recognized as the true line by Ohio for a long 



3IO History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

period of time, there is no doubt, as that State afterwards made and completed 
her congressional surveys up to said line, and there stopped, while the United 
States completed the survey of the Michigan territory down to the Fulton line, 
and established in its survey the meridian line of the State down to said Fulton 
line, which was the western boundry line of Hull's treaty with the Indians at 
Detroit in 1807. In the attempt of Ohio, under Governor Lucas, to resur- 
vey the Harris line in 1835, " this act fired the heart of the young governor, 
Stevens T. Mason ; his loyalty and zeal would not brook such an insult. The 
militia at his disposition was called into requisition early in the spring of 1835. 
They were first put upon the trail of the commissioners and actually routed 
them, and took several of the party prisoners on the line some ten miles east 
of Morenci (near Phillips's Corners, in Royalton township, this county). These 
they held for a few days, then discharged some on parole, and others on bail, 
to answer in the district court." 

But the end was not yet. A majority of those living on the disputed ter- 
ritory in Monroe county were late emigrants from Ohio and Pennsylvania. 
They were thoroughly impressed with the importance to them of being a part 
of Ohio. The port of Toledo was just opening to the traffic of the lakes. The 
States of Ohio and Indiana were ready to bring in the great Wabash canal, pro- 
vided it could tap the lake on Ohio soil, and besides Ohio was already quite 
an old State and would be able to develop the territory much quicker. The 
territorial interest was all centered at Detroit, and Toledo, if it remained to 
Michigan, would only be a dependency paying tribute. With these sentiments 
prevailing the governor of Ohio was induced to put in force the laws of the 
State. Proclamation was issued giving boundaries to towns and counties, and 
for the election of civil officers. The election was held, officers chosen, and 
they assumed their duties. The militia was organized and commenced drill- 
ing. In short, we had two active and efficient governments, each striving to 
excel, and, as may be naturally inferred, the relations between them were not 
of a very friendly nature. The one acting as informers to Governor Mason, 
and the other mostly engaged in procuring bail to be relieved from arrests, 
preferring to have their transgressions settled by the courts to an open and 
violent conflict of arms. 

The governor's quick, impulsive nature would brook this double entendre 
no longer. The general government did not respond to this call; Ohio would 
not stop at his bidding ; the subjects were disloyal and refractory in their 
every act ; therefore it became him as governor to put a quietus on the whole 
difficulty. He called out the militia of the territory, to the number of about 
one thousand five hundred, early in the month of September, 1835, to prevent 
any further inroads upon the territory in dispute, and particularly to prevent 
the holding of Circuit Court in Lucas county, which had just been organized^, 
with Toledo as the county seat, where the first session of the court was ap- 
pointed to be held. 



Fulton County. 311 



This call was responded to readil\- in man\' parts of the territory, but by a 
very few, perhaps, from this count}-. The\- rendezvoused in Monroe county, 
and from there marched to Treniainsville on the afternoon before the court 
was to convene, where they bivouacked for the night. They were here three 
miles out from the objective point, and much hard work was to be done in a 
very short time to meet the emergency of the morrow, for an army was to be 
organized out of the material presented. Upon inspection it was found that 
some had muskets, others had clubs, but most had trusty rifles. These were 
assigned to companies and battalions, and in [the morning marshaled for in- 
spection by the commander-in-chief. They were by him pronounced com- 
petent, and ordered to March to the scene of the conflict. 

In entering the city they actually marched by the door where the court, of 
which they were in search, was in full operation, without knowing it. They 
had expected to find it guarded by an army that would be worthy of their 
steel. But where could they be ? They certainly could not be in Toledo, for 
the great army of our noble commander-in-chief covered the whole city and 
some of its suburbs. There could be but one conclusion. They had of course 
hied themselves to the spot from whence they came, and must be now on their 
way through the defiles of the Black Swamp. A council of war was held. 
The surroundings looked dark. They had come for blood, and without it there 
could be no remission, the enemy having ignobly fled the field. 

The usages of war would therefore make their way clear, and reprisals 
would be in order. If they would not let the issue be decided by force of 
arms, they could e.xpect nothing less, and must abide by these rules which had 
been recognized by all nations. 

In this strait it did not take the brave commander long to decide. His 
forces were soon marshaled — formed in two batalions, the one ordered to 
make an attack on the cellars and larders of the inhabitants, the others to move 
upon the magazines and commissary of the enemy, that a wag had informed 
them was stored in a barn owned by Piatt Card, who was known as one of the 
moving spirits in the rebellion, and who was then in bonds to answer for what 
he had heretofore done in inciting it. This last work was not to be trusted to 
raw recruits, or committed to an inferior officer. It was virtually the conquer- 
ing of an army, and none knew how strongly it was guarded within, or what 
might be the dangers of approach. 

That the work might be quick and eftectual it was decided that the brave 
commander should lead the charge. In reconnoitering the premises all was 
still, yet there were certain holes in the walls, reminding them of the post 
holes in ancient forts, and in which they fancied they saw grim messengers of 
death staring them boldly in the face. This could be endured no longer, the 
order was quick given and a broadside was poured into the pine siding of the 
barn, approaches were made stealthly and cautiously until they reached the 



312 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

door, which obeyed the mandate of the hand, and readily swung on its hinges. 
To the surprise of the noble commander and his comrades in arms, they found 
they had captured a very fine horse, as the warm blood flowing from many 
bullet holes attested. 

They had come for blood as a sacrifice to sprinkle upon the altar of their 
loyalty and devotion to their country, and who will deny at this late day that 
they found it? 

Returning to head-quarters it was found that the other battalion had made 
a successful raid, especially in the line of Major Stickney's wine-cellar, and 
from some others that gave a more exhilarating beverage, sufificient was ob- 
tained with which to wash down the hard army biscuit of which their knap- 
sacks contained an ample supply. Night approaching, each drew his cloak 
around him and gave himself to pleasant dreams over the experiences and es- 
capes of the last twelve hours. 

On the following morning an order was issued from the governor disband- 
ing the forces, allowing each to find his way home as best he could. Thus 
ended the great Toledo war and all strife on the disputed tract. 

The people of Michigan having called a convention and framed a State 
constitution, petitioned the Congress of the United States to be admitted into 
the Union, claiming as a part of their territory, the tract in dispute with Ohio. 
Congress, however, decided in favor of Ohio's claim to said tract and gave in 
compensation, as a compromise, to Michigan in place of this fertile strip along 
her southern border, about twenty- five thousand square miles of territory along 
the southern shore of Lake Superior, then only valuable for its wilderness, but 
now known to be rich in mineral wealth. 

Michigan came into the federal Union as the thirteenth State, January 26, 
1837, and this strip of land so long in dispute, forever after became an integral 
part of Ohio and was attached respectively to the counties of Lucas and Wil- 
liams. 

It was out of the throes of this very eventful struggle that Lucas county 
was formed, in the year 1835, from portions of Wood and Sandusky counties, 
in Ohio, and of what had been Monroe and Lenawee counties in Michigan, 
over which territory, however. Wood county had exercised jurisdiction from 
April I, 1820, then being one of the fourteen counties at that date, by the 
legislature, organized from Indian territory, the county seat being at Perrys- 
burgh on the Maumee River. In the year 1849, there arose a demand for a 
new county in northwestern Ohio, the projectors of which were such prominent 
men as Nathaniel Leggett, of Swan Creek; William Hall. Hon. A. C. Hough, 
of Chesterfield ; Stephen and Isaac Springer, Samuel Durgin and others, of 
Fulton; Michael Handy, Hon. D. W. H. Howard, Robert Howard and Ly- 
man Parcher, of Pike; Mortimer D. Hibbard and Reuben Tiffany, of Dover; 
Ezekiel Masters and Joseph Ely, of Franklin; William Sutton, Israel Mattern,. 



Fulton County, 



313 



W. A. Mace and Oliver B. Verity, of Gorham, to be composed of parts of Wil- 
liams county, Henry county, and the larger part from Lucas county. Ac- 
cordingly the necessary legislation was had in the general assembly of Ohio, 
and in the winter of 1850, February 28, the Legislature of Ohii) set off and 
erected into a new county, the following described territorx-: Beginning on 
the State line between the States of Ohio and Michigan, at the northeast cor- 
ner of township nine, south of range four east, of the Michigan meridian. 
Thence south on the township line, to the southeast corner of township ten, 
south of range four east, on the Fulton line; thence west on said Fulton line, 
to the northeast corner of township eight north, range eiglit oast; thence 
south to the southeast corner of section number twelve in township six north, 
range eight east, Ohio surve\'. Thence west on section lines to the southwest 
corner of section number seven, in township six north, range five cast, on the 
county line, between the counties of Henry and Williams; thence north on said 
line to the southeast corner of township seven north, range four east; thence west 
on said township line to the southwest corner of section number thirty-five in 
said township seven north, range foureast, (leaving the county of Defiance intact); 
thence north on section line, to the Fulton line (being the original line between 
Ohio and Michigan), to the southwest corner of section number eleven, in town- 
ship ten south, range one west of meridian ; thence north on section lines to 
the State line (called the Harris line) ; thence easterl}' with said State line, to 
the place of beginning, and named it the county of Fulton, in honor of'Robert 
A. Fulton, the inventor of application of steam for power. Nearl\' one-half of 
this county was of the Michigan survey, which had become an integral part of 
Lucas and Williams counties; hence the greatest part of the territory was orig- 
inally from Lucas when organized into the county of Fulton. The act of Feb- 
ruary 28, 1850, creating the county of Fulton, gave all civil and criminal suits 
which were and should be pending in the counties of Lucas, Henry and Wil- 
liams on the first Monday in April, 1850, to the respective counties, and were 
to be prosecuted to final judgment in said counties as though the said county 
of Fulton had not been erected. All justices of the peace were to hold their 
offices until their services expired, or until their successors were elected or 
commissioned for the county of Fulton. 

All writs or other legal processes were to be st}'led as of the count}- of Ful- 
ton, on and after the first day of April, 1850. 

The legal voters residing within the limits of said county, were to assemble 
on the first Monday in April, 1850, to elect officers of the county, to serve until 
the next annual election in October, 1850, and the courts were to be held in 
the township of Pike, at some con\'enient house (place to be designated b\' the 
associate judges of said county), until a permanent .seat of justice should be 
established within and for the said county. 

Lawrence Dewey, of Franklin county, Mathias H. Nichols, of Allen county, 

40 



314 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

and John Riley, of Carroll county, were appointed by the Legislature of Ohio, 
commissioners to fix and locate the seat of justice in said new county of Fulton. 
Pending said location, the associate judges, who had by said act been ap- 
pointed, to wit: John Kendall, Alfred C. Hough, and Socrates H. Cately, fixed 
the courts at the house of Robert A. Howard, of said Pike township. After 
the creation of the county of Fulton, and until the change in the constitution 
of Ohio, Nathaniel Leggett, of Swan Creek, John Kendall, of Franklin, Socra- 
tes H. Cately, of Swan Creek, Alfred C. Hough, and William E. Parmelee, of 
Chesterfield, and B. W. Fleckinger, of Gorham, severally served as associate 

judges of the court of common pleas; Saddler, president judge. At 

the April election of 1850, the following named officers were elected and en- 
tered upon the duties of their respective offices under the act to-wit : Mortimer 
D. Hibbard, auditor; Nathaniel Leggett, treasurer; George W. Brown, of Roy- 
alton, sheriff"; Carl C. Allman, of Delta, recorder; John H. Reid, of Pike, prose- 
cuting attorney ; William Sutton, of Gorham, Christopher Watkins, of Fulton, 
and Jonathan Barns, of German, commissioners ; Samuel Durgin, of Fulton, 
was appointed clerk of courts. (Then the common pleas judges had probate 
jurisdiction.) 

The locating commissioners ^appointed by the Legislature of Ohio, in the 
summer of 1850, came to the county for the purpose of designating the county 
seat, there being several points to them presented by the people of the county 
as their choice. One the center of the county ; Robert A. Howard's, in Pike ; 
Etna, in Pike ; Fluhart Corners, in York ; Delta, in York ; and Spring Hill, in 
Dover. The commissioners after carefully examining all the points presented, 
and hearing the statements of citizens, pro and con, decided upon the center of 
the county, and accordingly stuck the stakes, and at the suggestion of D. W. H. 
Howard, named the place Ottokee. (After an Indian chief of that name, who 
once resided and roamed over this territory of the Ottawa tribe.) The question 
yet had to go to the people for their endorsement, and after two strenuous trials 
by ballot by the people, the action of the locating commissioners was confirmed, 
and Ottokee was established as the seat of justice of the county of Fulton, and 
suitable temporary buildings were by the county commissioners forthwith pro- 
vided for the county offices and the holding of courts. Proposals for the build- 
ing of a court-house were given out by the commissioners, and at the time fixed, 
bids were opened, and it was found that A. H. Jordan, of Royalton, was the 
successful man, who immediately entered upon his contract to build a court- 
house, which was duly completed in the season of 185 i, at that day, a nice 
and very commodious structure of the kind, built entirely of wood, stone foun- 
dation ; and for a time Ottokee seemed to bid fair for a large county town, but 
the construction of the Michigan Southern and Northern Indiana Railroad 
(now Lake Shore), seemed to check its growth and prospects, and Wauseon 
soon after 1854 became a prominent railroad point in the county four miles 



Fulton County. 315 



south of Ottokee, and thereafter became a strong rival for the county seat, 
which was thereafter for a time upon the wing. In the winter of 1864 the Leg- 
islature of Ohio passed an act fixing the seat of justice at Delta, and the sub- 
mission of the question to a vote of the people at the next general election in 
October, which was largely defeated. During the contest between Delta and 
Ottok-ee, the court-house was burned, together with all the records of the 
county. The fire occurred about midnight of July 15 and 16, 1864, and was 
supposed to be the work of an incendiary. 

This same season the commissioners caused to be constructed a large line 
of brick oflfices for the county, and on December of the same year, the several 
officers of the county took possession of the same, under the approval of the 
commissioners. 

In the summer of 1865, the commissioners caused to be further erected a 
new court-house of brick, Hiram Prichard, contractor, and completed the same 
so that the October term of the court of common pleas was held therein the 
same year. Judge Alexander S. Latty, of Defiance, presiding. 

In the winter of 1869 another enabling act was passed by the Legislature 
of Ohio, fixing the seat of justice at Wauseon. At the October election of 1 869 
the people decided by a very small majority upon removal; whereupon in the 
spring of 1870 the commissioners of Fulton county to wit, Joseph Ely, of Frank- 
lin, Alfred B. Gunn, of York, and Milton McCaskey, of Fulton, fixed upon the 
present site, and commenced the building of a court-house at Wauseon, which 
was completed and accepted and declared ready for occupancy about the first 
of January, 1872, and all public records and business of officers were removed 
from Ottokee to Wauseon, in that month and year. 

That the old buildings so vacated at Ottokee, were, by the commissioners 
of the county, in March, 1874, set over to the county for an infirmary, and after 
purchasing in addition somewhere near three hundred acres of land, and build- 
ing a large and commodious barn, got the same ready for occupancy May i, 
1874, whereupon they appointed James S. Riddle, of Franklin, Oscar A. Cobb, 
of Dover, and Robert P. Lewis, of Swan Creek, as directors, who thereupon 
qualified, and all further business was by the commissioners turned over to 
them, and they immediately made choice of Oliver B. Verity and his wife super- 
intendent and matron respectively, who entered upon the duties of their posi- 
tion, May 2, 1874, and served until March, 1880. 



3i6 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

CHAPTER XXXIV. 

METEOROLOGY OF FULTON COUNTY.^ 

IN all ages of the world, and in all conditions of life men have been led, 
from interest or necessity, to study the appearance of the atmosphere and 
sky to arriv^e at some conclusion as to what the weather will be. 

It is not m\' province to give a treatise on the science of meteorolgy, but 
onl}^ to give a compend of my observations during the last eighteen years. My 
place of observation is in north latitude about 41° 36', west longitude 84° 7', 
and elevation above sea level, 800 feet. The instruments used are a barome- 
ter, thermometer, rain-gauge and wind-vane. Observations are made three 
times each day, at 7 A. M., 2 and 9 P. M. All readings of the barometer are 
reduced to the uniform temperature of 32°, corrected for instrumental error, 
and reduced to sea level, so as to make them comparable with observations 
made at other places. 

The following is a brief synopsis of the more important of my observ^ations 
for the entire period from January, 1870, to July, 1887, inclusive : 

The average mean temperature for each month during the years 1870 to 
1887, inclusive, was for January 22.5, February 25.6, March, 32.4, April 46.3, 
May 59., June 68.4, July 72.8, August 69.6, September 62.8, October 51.3, 
November 35.5, and December 26.3 degrees. The annual mean temperature 
was 47.7 ; Winter 24.9, Spring 45.9, Summer 70.1, Autumn 49.9; from No- 
vember 1st to March 31st 28.5, from May ist to September 30th 66.4, and 
from April ist to October 31st 61.4 degrees. 

The average range of temperature from 1870 to 1887, was for January 
64.1, February 61.5, March 60.8, April 63.2, May 58., June 51.5, July 47.6, 
August 49.9, September 56.8, October 59, November 58.1, December 61.4 
degrees. The annual range of temperature was 116.2 ; Winter 74.3, Spring 
85.8, Summer 56.7, and Autumn 83. degrees. 

The highest temperature occurring in any one month from 1870 to 1887, 
was on January i, 1876, 69.5, February 27, 1880, 62.7, March 31, 1875, 79.5, 
April 26, 1872, 87., May 29, 1874, 103.2, June 28, 1874, 99., July 7, 1874, 
104.5, August 20, 1874, 102., September 5, 1881, 100.3, October 4, 1884, 
87.7, November 11, 1882, 74.6, December 31, 1875, 70. degrees. The highest 
temperature during this period, 104. 5 degrees, occurring on July 7, 1874. 

The lowest temperature occurring in any one month from 1870 to 1887, was 
January 25, 1884, —31.7, February 13, 1885, —24.3, March 20, 1883, —17.4, 
April 5, 1881, —5.2, May 3, 1885, 21., June i, 1883, 34.5, July 20, 1871, 43.2, 
August 24, 1884, 38.9, September 30, 1871, 24.9, October 14, 1874, 12., No- 

1 Compiled specially for this work by Thomas Mikesell, esq., of Wauseon. 



Fulton County. 317 



vember 19, 1880, —8.5, December 19, 1884, —32.4 degrees. The lowest tem- 
perature, — 32.4 degrees, occurring December 19, 1884. 

The average mean temperature of the warmest days from 1870 to 1S87, 
was January i, 1876, 63.3, February 28, 1880. 56.1, March 31, 1875, 64.2, 
April 26, 1872, 73.4, May 30, 1874, 80.7, June 28, 1874, 88.5, July 7. 1874. 
S6.6, August II, 1874, 85.2, September 6, 1881, 84.7, October 5, 1884, 76.6, 
November 11, 1882, 66.1, December 31, 1875, 62.8 degrees. 

The average mean temperature of the coldest days in each month from 
1870 to 1887, was January 9, 1875, — 16.4, February 10, 1SS5, —12.6. March 
4, 1873, 2.5, April 4, 1874, 17.3, May 21, 1883, 33.9, June 4, 1882, 49.6. July 
20, 1871, 57.9, August 27, 1885, 53.2, September 27, 1876, 42., October 31, 
1873, 25.8, November 21, 1880, 3., December 29, 1880, —13.8 degrees. 

The average rain fall, including melted snow, for all the months from 1870 
to 1887, was for January 2.20, February 2.77, March 2.99, April 2.52, May 4., 
June 429, July 4.05, August 3.03, September 2.53, October 2.95, November 
3.05, December 2.37 inches; the annual average was 38.07 inches; the aver- 
age from December ist to February 28th was 7.42, from March ist to May 
31st was 9.68, from June ist to August 31st was 1 1.37, September ist to No- 
vember 30th was 8.53, and from April ist to September 30th was 20.86 inches. 

The average monthly snow fall from 1870 to 1887, was in January 11.9, 
February 8., March 11.6, April 2.9, May .4, October .2, November 6. and in 
December 109 inches. Average amount per year 52.9 inches; average depth 
per winter 51.5 inches. 

From January, 1870, to July, 1887, the latest killing frost occurred June i, 
1883, the latest frost June 30, 1871, the earliest frost August 3, 1886. the 
earliest killing frost September 2, 1885, the latest snow of one or more inches 
April 28, 1874, the latest snow May 22, 1883, the earliest snow October 6, 
1 87 1, the earliest snow of one or more inches October 21, 1873, the earliest 
thunder storm January 17, 1870, the latest thunder storm November 21. 1883, 
the latest freeze May 29, 1884, the earliest freeze September 2. 1885. 

Highest barometer from January, 1880, to September, 1887, was on Janu- 
ary 22, 1885, 30.784, February 4, 1887, 30.871, March 4, 1887, 30.651, April 
8, 1887, 30.513. May 29, 1884, 30.376, June 27, 1887, 30.389. J"ly 23. 1^82, 
30,247, August 9, 1884, 30.364, September 14, 1884, 30.461, October i6, 1883, 
30.550, November 23, 1880, 30.727, December 12, 1885, 30.748. 

The lowest barometer from January, 1880. to September, 1887, was Janu- 
ary, II, 1885, 29.204, February 18, 1887, 29.179, March 20. 1886, 29.084, 
April 15, 1884, 29.148, May 14, 1883, 29,400, June 6, 1880, 29,446, July 12, 
1883, 29.630, August 3, 1885, 29.454, September 8, 1885, 29.477, October 
29, 1883, 29.236, November 17, 1886, 29.273, December 9, 1885. 29.113. 



3i8 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 



Tornadoes. 

A toniado is that peculiar form of storm, characterized by a funnel-shaped 
cloud, small end dovvn, whirling with immense velocity in the direction from 
north to west, and south, and east, and having a forward motion to the east- 
ward. Wherever it descends to the earth it destroys whatever may be in its 
path. It is generally very small, and the greatest destruction occurs at the 
center. It is not the same as a cyclone, which is a storm at sea, of from lOO to 
I, GOO miles diameter, whose center is a dead calm and the destructive winds 
toward the outside. 

The first tornado in this county of which I have heard anything, occurred 
about the year 1824. This I get from Mr. D. L. Buler, who, in the winter of 
1836-7 came upon the " windfall" over the line in Michigan ; and having a 
curiosity to know how long since it happened, cut some of the new growths 
and found them about twelve years old. Doubtless it was the same windfall 
which started in the north part of this county and extended to the northeast. 
The track was several miles long, but not very wide. 

June 20, 1834, a tornado crossed the north part of York township. It first 
came down near the northwest corner of the township, about 2 P. M., and 
moved directly east nearly four miles, and then to the east southeast. The 
track was about three-fourths of a mile wide and six miles long. It was above 
the timber part of this distance. Near where it first descended Wm. Jones and 
others were camped. They ran into the open prairie, and, lying down, held 
on to the grass till the storm passed. They left their oxen tied to a tree, and 
after the storm found them completely hemmed in by fallen trees, but unhurt. 

John King and his son, William, had arrived on the bank of Bad Creek, on 
the ipth, and made a shelter by setting poles against a large tree, and cover- 
ing them. They were in the track of the tornado, and after it had passed they 
found all the timber down around them except the tree their shelter was 
against. Only the providence of God saved them. Settlers who came later 
were three days cutting a road through this fallen timber. The trees were 
turned out by the roots, tearing up great quantities of earth, which are not yet 
leveled down after years of cultivation. The storm (of which this tornado was 
a part), was felt in Indiana, in the forenoon of the same day, and by 4 r. .M. it 
had reached Wayne county, O. 

A separate tornado occurred the same da}- as the above, and about the 
same hour, about two miles to the north of this one. It was about one hun- 
dred feet wide, and took everything clean as it moved to the east southeast. 

In June, 1842 (this date is uncertain), a tornado passed over this place at 
an altitude of three hundred or four hundred feet, making a loud, buzzing roar. 
It was almost clear at the time. The cloud was funnel-shaped, very black, 
and the tail hanging somewhat behind and some distance below the body of 



Fulton County. 319^ 



the cloud, which was not very large. It did not atiect the wind at the ground, 
and there was no rain or hail from it here. It moved directly eastward about 
as fast as a man can run. It was not known to dcscentl till it reached Maumee 
City, where it demolished a brick building that was not yet finished. Two lit- 
tle girls, one white and the other colored, who ran up to the building to get 
away from the storm, were killed. It is possible that this was the same cloud 
which A. S. Fleet saw pass over North German township about that time. He 
says it was nearly clear except this one small, black cloud, from which hail fell 
thickly while it was passing. The hailstones were nearly three inches across 
by over half an inch thick. It was going to the east. 

About the first of June, 1844 (this date may not be correct), there was a 
tornado in the northwest part of German township, at about I P. M. It moved 
to the east- northeast, and cut a road about half a mile wide and three miles 
long. Sound white oak and walnut trees, three feet through, were twisted off 
or torn out by the roots. Everything was destroyed in its path. 

About the middle of August, 1852, at about 5 r. M.. a tornado descended 
on the prairie along Bean Creek, nearly west of where Peter Powers lives. On 
coming to the timber it leveled a strip about eighty rods wide. It destroyed 
the house and barn of John Martin, and carried a new wagon, belonging to 
Peter Powers, twenty or thirty rods, and dashed it to pieces against a log build- 
ing. Its last work was on the farm of Lyman Bebee, and as it rose it twisted 
off large trees twenty to thirty feet from the ground. The whole length of the 
track was about seven miles. It moved to the east-northeast, making a fear- 
ful roar, and was accompanied by heavy rain for several miles on each side. 

In April (about the 19th), 1856, another of these aerial monsters visited 
this county. As it descended it struck the house of Nathaniel Jones, in the 
northwest part of Clinton township, and took everything clean to the upper 
floor, — roof, timbers, bedding and furniture. The bedding was scattered for 
half a mile to the southeast, in the woods. It destroyed a part of his log barn 
and took part of the roof off the frame barn. Continuing on its course, which 
was southeast, it raised and passed over a piece of timber and came down in 
Isaac Tedrow's field, tearing the fence to pieces and even carrying the ground 
chunks away. Further on it caught William Tedrow, and the horse he was 
riding, and turned them completely around and dropped them. Then it raised 
till it passed on to the York Centre road. At this place C. H. Lozer was in 
the road, driving a team of oxen. His wool hat was taken off by the wind and 
rolled along the road several rods, and then suddenly caught up and carried to 
the southeast about a quarter of a mile, where it was found wedged in the fence. 
Mr. Lozer was blown along for a short distance ; and then a pail containing eggs, 
which he was carrying, was jerked from his hand and dashed to pieces against 
a stump at the side of the road (just in front of where I. K. Bayes now lives), 
and himself lifted and carried about five rods, only touching a foot to the 



320 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

ground once in that distance. It then raised and passed over the timber, and 
when over Wauseon it descended low enough to unroof some buildings, and 
move on its foundation the warehouse of E. L. Hayes, which contained a stock 
of hardware and about two tons of iron. This was the last heard of it. It was 
about twenty rods wide, and the whole track was about three miles long. 

The inrushing winds damaged several buildings and leveled much fence. 
On the left-hand side it took part of the roof off T. J. Case's barn ; and on the 
right, part of the roof from Isaac Tedrow's barn, part of Wright Bayes's barn 
roof, and racked Samuel Lozer's house. There was heavy rain with it. 

Between i and 2 P. M., on the 2d of July, 1864, Dover township was vis- 
ited by a tornado. It crossed over the farm of L. C. Cook and came down on 
C. B. Carter's, west of Ottokee, destroying a strip of timber about twenty rods 
wide. Its course then changed from southeast to nearly east, and passed on, 
not doing much damage till it reached Ottokee, where it unroofed several build- 
ings, among them the court-house. It then raised and disappeared. It was 
followed by heavy rain. 

June 5, 1867, one of these storms crossed Clinton township, about noon. 
It took the top off Barton's house, west of Lena, and east of this destroyed a 
barn. At Lena it scattered the lumber in the mill-yard. A boy at this place 
narrowly escaped being killed by the flying lumber. It leveled much valuable 
timber on John Miley's farm, and nearly all the fences for a mile wide, were 
blown down by the inrushing wind. The tornado track was about twenty 
rods wide and three miles long. It traveled a little to the north of east. 

About 4 P. M., on the 31st of May, 1880, a tornado passed over the north 
part of Clinton township. It uprooted part of Colonel J. H. Brigham's or- 
chard, and going to the east, it destroyed part of Ambrose Clark's barn and 
moved the house on the foundations, having passed between them. At this 
place a calf was blown over the board fence to which it was tied. Clark's or- 
chard was nearly all destroyed. Further on it twisted large white-oak trees 
off and blew down much timber. A considerable timber and a great part of 
the north and south fences for over a mile on the south side, and some dis- 
tance on the north, were blown down. The wind blew at the rate of about 
fifty miles an hour here, a little over half a mile south of the tornado track. 
The barometer reduced, stood 29.844 inches. The track was about eighty 
feet wide and two and one-half miles long. There was heavy rain with it. The 
ranifall here was 1.19 inches in less than one hour. 

June 6, 1880, at about 3:30 P. M., a tornado passed to the east- northeast, 
a little south of the county line, in Henry county, straight south of Wauseon. 
It was about fifty feet wide and passed between Bogart's house and barn, tak- 
ing the end off the latter. A half mile east it destroyed the house and barn of 
Eli Zull, and further on another barn. The track was about two miles long. 
This storm passed about seven and one-half miles south of here, and the \vind 



Fulton County. 321 



blew here at about thirt\- miles an hour. The barometer stood at 29.476 
inches. 

On the 24th of June, 1886, a tornado struck near the north line of this 
county. About 2:30 l'. M. a cloud came from the southeast and another from 
the west, and when the}- met the tornado was formed. There was a thunder 
and hail storm a few miles to the west at the time. As it descended it un- 
roofed the house of J. Stahl, south of Lyons, and crossing the road came to O. P. 
Barnes's house (which stood just north of the center of the track), and took the 
south side to the floor, but left the north wall standing. The house was made 
of plank, and the part taken off was dashed to splinters. A part of the roof 
of his barn was blown off. Mr. Barnes, who was in the yard, was jerked from 
the ground and carried about one hundred feet, passing over two apple trees, 
and falling in the third. A boy who was with him was thrown under a sled 
and a corn-crib dashed down over him. Another boy was lying on the lounge 
when the house was struck and was rolled off and the quilt carried over half a 
mile to the east. Mrs. Barnes was struck by something and seriously hurt. 
As it moved on it destroyed nearly the whole of Mr. Barnes's orchard, and 
then raised. The path of destruction was about ten rods wide by twenty rods 
long. Household goods were carried about four miles east and one mile north. 
The direction was a little north of east. It was funnel-shaped and moved for- 
ward with great velocity, being not over two seconds in passing a given point, 
and made a terrible noise. It was followed by rain and a little hail. The air 
was still till the tornado struck. It was about ten miles northeast of here. 
Barometer stood 29.698 inches. 

About I P. M. on the 2d of May, 1887, the last of these terrible visitors 
came into our midst. It first descended about three miles southwest of Wau- 
seon, at the barn of Dr. D. W. Hollister. It did not get low enough to de- 
molish it, but lifted it clear from the foundation and swelled the sides out like 
a barrel. It passed over the house without damaging it. About half a mile 
north of here (the storm moved north 20° east) it struck the brick school- 
house at the cross roads. This was completely demolished, the east, west and 
north, and bottom of south walls being blown outward by the instant expansion 
of the air inside the house when the tornado removed the pressure from the 
outside. The top of the south wall fell inward, and the roof was thrown from 
three to thirty rods to the northwest. The joists were dropped at the north 
end of the floor, falling on two boys, one of whom, Benton Gasche, was killed, 
and the other seriously injured. There were fifteen persons in the house at 
the time and the teacher and six of the children were hurt, besides the one 
killed. The tornado, at this point was less than forty feet wide. From the 
school-house it began to raise, and passed over Isaac Springer's barn, shaking 
it violently. A little further on it turned to the northeast, passing over W'au- 
seon high enough not to do much damage. 
41 



322 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

The inrushing winds did considerable damage on the right hand side, blow- 
ing down nearly all the fences for over half a mile wide, by about four miles 
long, which were standing across the wind (which blew the direction the tor- 
nado moved), while fences in line with the wind remained standing. Amos 
Turney was driving out of town at the southwest with a load of tile, and he 
and his son were blown from the wagon, which, with the team, was carried 
across the ditch at the side of the road. Part of the roof was blown off T. Ed- 
ington's barn, near the school-house, and John Haumesser's barn, just south of 
Wauseon, was blown from the blocks on which it stood, and crushed by the 
wind and fall, together. Northeast of town part of the roof was taken from 
Marion Fashbaugh's barn. On the left hand side very little damage was done. 
There was heavy rain with the tornado, and hail in some places. 

This tornado passed about a mile south of my place of observation. As it 
passed the wind blew here at the rate of about forty miles an hour. It rained 
here, .36 inch. The barometer stood at 29.897. 

Notable Meteorological Events. 

The following are some of the notable meteorological events of this county 
from the earliest settlement. In these some of the dates may not be correct, 
as it is very hard to get such things now, but so far as possible I have verified 
the dates from several sources. For this information I am indebted to many 
of the pioneers of this county, who have taken great pains to be as accurate as 
possible. 

The first notable event, after settlers began to come into what is now Ful- 
ton county, was a tornado, which occurred June 20, 1834 (see account in 
"Tornadoes.") 

The first day of March, 1840, was so warm that men came in their shirt 
sleeves from miles around to a meeting which was held at my father's house. 
Grass in the prairies was large enough for cattle to live out at that time. 

The winter of 1842-43 was a long one. Snow fell the latter part of No- 
vember, and sleighing continued from that time till after the spring election, 
April 3, which day it began to thaw. It came came off warm then and spring 
set in at once. 

The spring of 1844 was very early, and on April 12 peaches were blossom- 
ing. 

On the 25th of April, 1845, a hail storm passed over the southern part of 
this county, the heaviest ever known here. For about two days there had 
been almost constant rumblings of thunder in the west, and when at last it 
came, it deluged the earth as it is seldom done. It reached here just after dark, 
and continued about an hour. Hailstones of all sizes up to the size of hen's 
eggs, fell to the depth of several inches, and the ground, where there was no 
water, was covered yet the next morning, They fell down the chimney of 



Fulton County. 323 



my father's house so thickly that they were scattered all over the floor. When 
the hailstorm slackened rain fell in torrents till nearly midni«,dit. and low- 
ground everywhere was covered with water. There was not much wind with 
this storm. Some stock was injured, and roofs were damaf^ed. Jared Heebe, 
then a resident of this county, was out in the storm, and the horse he was 
riding was knocked down. There were marks made upon fences and logs that 
remained visible for more than a year. It is probable that a tornado passed at 
the same time as this storm, a few miles further south. 

In June (about the 2d), 1845, there was a frost which killed the wheat 
which was then in head, and corn, which was ten to fifteen inches high, was 
frozen to the ground. However, the com was not destroyed, but sprung up 
and made a good crop. At harvest that year, one morning there was so 
much frost on the wheat that men had to wait for it to melt before goino- to 
work. There was frost every month that year. 

In 1848 there were eleven consecutive days of rain, beginning July 4. 
Some days the rains were very heavy, and the streams were all overflowed. 
Wheat harvest had just begun, and much of the wheat sprouted before it was 
cut. 

The winter of 1854-55 was very warm till in February, and no snow. 
January i, 1855, was a warm, pleasant day, like Indian Summer, and wild 
geese flying over. In February a heavy snow storm, accompanied by thun- 
der and lightning came, and then it was cold, and the snow remained on for 
several weeks. May 13, 1855, snow fell one-half incliMeep. The summer of 
1855 was so wet during July that very much of the wheat was so grown that 
it was nearly worthless. It made what was called " sick wheat." The month 
was very hot also. 

The winter of 1855-6 was a long, cold one, snow laying on from Novem- 
ber till late in March. In the spring of 1856 there was a fearful hailstorm 
passed over the north part of the county. It came with a high wind from the 
northwest, in the afternoon. Hailstones as large as a watch fell so thickly 
that there was no escaping them, only by getting under cover. It was fol- 
lowed by heavy rain. The hail made dents on the siding of Cieorge Roos's 
barn, which remained there when the boards were removed thirty-one years 
afterward. Stock was badly injured, some animals being nearly killed. (The 
date of this storm I have been unable to fix, but it is very probable that it 
accompanied a tornado which passed across the count}- about the 19th of 
April). 

About the 12th or 14th of May, 1856, a sleet and snow storm, with much 
rain, occurred, and corn planting was thereby delaj-ed about two weeks. 

The fall of 1856 was very dry and smoky. Muck beds dried out so that 
they burned from one to two feet deep. C. H. Lozer found fire in the muck 
on the farm he now owns as late as January i. 



324 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

June 6, 1859, there was a frost which killed the early wheat. Many fields 
were not worth the cutting. Late wheat, and that protected by forests, was 
not much hurt. The Avhole month was rather cool. 

The summer of 1862 was very dry and hot. Oats were hardly more than 
a foot high on the clay, and yet yielded about forty bushels per acre. Sep- 
tember was very hot at seeding time. 

The great frosts of 1863, which killed the corn all over the county, oc- 
curred Monday and Tuesday mornings, August 31 and September i. The 
whole summer had been rather cool, and consequently corn was rather back- 
ward. 

The cold New Year's day was January i, 1864. The day before had been 
very warm (about sixty degrees), and raining, but toward night it turned cold, 
the rain changed to snow, and the next morning the temperature was twenty- 
four degrees below zero. This was a change of over eighty degrees in about 
eighteen hours. 

April 22, 1865, about five inches of snow fell. It melted the next day. 
August of this year was rather cool, the mean temperature of the month being 
about three degrees below normal. The highest temperature of the month 
was ninety-six degrees on the 31st. September was very warm, about four 
degrees above normal. The first killing frost occurred October 4. 

During March, 1866, there was almost continuous freezing and thawing. 
It froze every night except eight, and thawed every day except two. This 
was followed by a very warm and dry April, and, as a consequence, wheat was 
nearly all killed, and the crop that year was a failure. We had twelve bushels 
from twelve acres of good wheat land. July that year was warmer by about 
three degrees, than the average, and August was five degrees cooler than the 
average. Oat harvest was a little late, about the 5th of August. 

On the 6th of August, 1866, there was a solar halo consisting of seven cir- 
cles, some of them almost as bright as any rainbow. It began to rain that day 
and rained every day for six days. 

The fall of 1867 was very dry, and muck beds burned till about Christmas, 
when the rains flooded them. 

July 4, 1869, there was a heavy rain in the vicinity of Wauseon, which 
flooded all the low grounds and floated some of the sidewalks away. October 
23, 1869, about eight inches of snow fell and remained on the ground till about 
November i. The snow was very wet, and hung on the trees, breaking them 
badly. Many people had not taken care of their apples yet. 

In 1870, April, May, June and July were about three degrees warmer than 
usual; August was nearly seven degrees colder than usual, and September about 
four degrees warmer. 

The fall of 1871 was very dry, only 1.50 inches of rain in September and 
October. I sowed wheat on the 9th of September, and very little of it was to 



Fulton County. 325 



be seen till the snow went off, the next March. By the way. that wheat aver- 
aged twent\'-six bushels per acre on thirteen acres. 

July, 1872, was very wet, — 7.26 inches of rain during the month, it made 
it very difficult to save wheat. 

The 29th of Januar\', 1S73, was the coldest known here to that time, 29.2 
degrees below zero. April 6, 7 and 8, 1873, there were heavy rains, — about 
four inches in the three days. Rain fell on nineteen days that month. Octo- 
ber 21, 1873, there fell about eight inches of snow, which melted the next day. 

June 9, 1874, a heavy rainstorm passed over here, and 3.82 inches of water 
fell in less than seven hours. July 22, 1874, there was some frost on muck. 

Januar\- 9, 1875, ^^'^s the coldest day I have ever known. The mean tem- 
perature of the day was 1 6.4 degrees below zero, and the highest during the 
day was 10.3 below zero. To make it worse the wind blew from fifteen to 
twenty-five miles per hour all day. The whole month was very cold. The mean 
temperature of February, 1875, was only 11.3 degrees. The mean tempera- 
ture for the first twenty- one days was only 6.9 degrees ; and for the fifteen 
days ending with the eighteenth, 1.5 degrees. 

October 29. 1875, a terrific thunder storm passed over here from 1 1:30 till 
about 12:15. It rained .66 inch in about half an hour. It was so dark that 
lamps had to be lighted to see to eat dinner. 

December 31, 1875, and January i, 1876, were days like Ma}'. The tem- 
perature ran up to 70 degrees on the 31st, and to 69.5 degrees on the 1st. 
The mean temperature of the whole two days was 6^ degrees. Frogs were 
out in abundance, and so were the bees. 

March, 1876, was colder, on the average, than either January or February. 
December 21, 1876, a large meteor passed over, a little south of here, going to 
the east, with great velocity. It made a noise like thunder, the sound con- 
tinuing to be heard about fifteen minutes. The agitation of the air shook 
houses, and the light exceeded the full moon, though it was cloudy at the time. 

During February, 1877, there was only .8 inch of snow fell, and the rain 
and melted snow was only .12 inch. The month was generally warm, having 
thawed every day except two. In March, 1877, 41.7 inches of snow fell, 13.5 
inches of which fell on the 12th, and 10.5 inches on the i6th. This snow 
nearly all melted on the afternoon of the 30th. October 19, 1877, 2.77 inches 
of rain fell. Frogs were out the 19th of December, 1877. 

October 2, 1879, I saw that rare phenomenon, a hinar rainbow ; the only 
one I have ever seen. 

The night of the 4-5th of March, 1880, a terrific thunder storm, accompa- 
nied by high wind, passed over here It blew down considerable timber. 
During the last thirteen days of May, 1880, 5.56 inches of rain fell, 3.18 inches 
of which fell in the last two and a half days. 

On the i8th of February, 1881, 10.2 inches of snow fell till noon. 



326 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

June, 1 88 1, was a very wet month, there having been 8.43 inches of rain. 
On the 8th there were over 2 inches of rain in about an hour and a half; and 
about three and one-half miles northwest of here this storm was far heavier. 
About seven inches of water fell in an hour and a half. It flooded a tract of 
land about half a mile wide by nearly a mile long, to the depth of eighteen 
inches to two feet. 

September 5, 1881, the temperature ran up to 100.3 degrees; on the 6th, 
to 100 degrees; 7th, to 98 degrees. The mean temperature of the three days 
was 84 degrees. 

October, 1881, was the wettest month in my record, — 8.92 inches of rain, 
an average of .29 inch each day. 

November 17 and 19, 1882, there were the most brilliant auroras that have 
been seen in many years. 

March 18, 1883, was very warm till 2:20 P. M. The temperature rose to 
69.1 degrees, but by 4 P. M. it was freezing, and at 9 P. M., eight hours after 
the highest was reached, the temperature had fallen 55.2 degrees ; and thirty- 
two hours later it had fallen to 17.4 degrees below zero; a change of 86.5 de- 
grees in forty hours. On the i8th and 19th 12. i inches of snow fell. May 
21, 1883, sleet and snow fell to the depth of 6.5 inches. The summer of 1883 
was very cold, so much so that crops were held back. Wheat harvest did not 
begin till July 12. On the 23d of July .63 inch of rain fell in thirteen min- 
utes, and on the 25th .70 inch in fourteen minutes. During the fall of 1883 
there were the most brilliant sunsets and sunrises that it has been the privilege 
of this generation to see. 

There were great changes in the barometer on the 19th to 21st of Febru- 
ary, 1884. It raised 1.070 inches in the fourteen hours ending at 10 A. M., 
of the 20th ; in the next twenty-two hours it fell .582 inch, and then in thir- 
teen hours it raised .616 inch. July 29, 1884, there was a heavy hail storm a 
few miles west of here. Hail fell to the depth of about four inches. Much 
damage was done to crops over a small tract. The evening of the 30th 2.34 
inches of rain fell in two hours and a half 

The morning of December 19, 1884, was the coldest recorded here, 32.4 
degrees below zero. 

April 6, 1886, 15.7 inches of snow fell. It was one of the stormiest days 
I have ever seen. In the afternoon of the 24th of June, 1886, there was a 
heavy rain and hail storm in the north part of the county. It was in connec- 
tion with the tornado of that date. The hail fell to the depth of several inches 
some places, and cut crops badly. Corn was stripped of the blades, and much 
fruit knocked off the trees. The storm extended over an area about five by 
fifteen miles. In July, 1886, we had only .31 inch of rain. October 14, 1886, 
was a very windy day. The wind blew from thirty to forty-five miles per hour, 
and took the roof off W. R. McManus's barn, and part of the roof from the 



Fulton County. 327 



county jail, grist-mill, and some other buildings in Wauseon. Large trees 
were blown down in the forests. As this itorm passed away the barometer 
raised 1.264 inches, in forty-f<nii- hours. 



CHAPTER XXXV. 

Early Settlement North of tlio Fulloii Line- -Rei'ollcctions of Pioneer Life. 

TH.K pioneer settlement of Fulton county was commenced more than a quar- 
ter of a century before the county, as such, had a separate existence; even 
long before the proprietors of the enterprise of creating a new county of this 
name had an idea of such an event. It began while the territor}' now em- 
braced b\- it was known as Wayne county, and several years prior to the erec- 
tion of Lucas county, from which it was, in the main, directly taken. 

The county of Wayne was established by proclamation of Governor St. 
Clair, on the 15th day of August, in the year 1796, and was the third county 
formed in the northwestern territory. Its original limits were very extensive, 
and were thus defined in the act creating it; "Beginning at the mouth of the 
Cuyahoga River, upon Lake Erie, and with the said rixer to the Portage, be- 
tween it and the Tuscarawas branch of the Muskingimi ; tiience down the said 
branch to the forks, at the carrying place above Fort Laurense ; thence by a 
west line to the east boundary of Hamilton county, (which is a due north line 
from the lower Shawnese town ui)on the Sciota River); thence b\' a line west 
and northerly to the southern part of the Portage, between the Miamis of the 
Ohio and the Saint Mary's River; thence by a line also west and northerly to 
the southwestern part of the Portage, between the Wabash and the Miamis of 
Lake Erie, where Fort Wa\ ne now stands; ihence by a line west-northerly to 
the southern part of Lake Miciiig.m; thence along the western shores of the 
same to the northwest part thcieof (including the land upon the streams emp- 
tying into the said lake); thence by a due north line to the territorial boundary 
in Lake Superior, and witn the said boundary through Lakes Huron, Sinclair 
and Erie to the mouth of the Cuyahoga River, the place of beginning." 

The lands embraced by these boundaries formed a part of what is now the 
States of Ohio, Indiana, Illinois, Wisconsin and all of Michigan. 

When this erection was m kIc there could not, of course, havb been an)- set- 
tlement within the boundaiies of this Cfjunty, which was included within, but 
formed a very insignificant jiortion of the territory named. Such of the pio- 
neer settlement as was made in this locality, or within the limits of that which 
is now Fulton county, was accomplished just prior to and about the time of 



328 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

the erection of Lucas county. In fact this county was largely taken from Lu- 
cas county, and the portion thereof that was taken, was embraced in a sin- 
gle township, called York. The counties of Henry and Williams also con- 
tributed of their lands to the new formation of Fulton, although in a compara- 
tively small degree. York township was subsequently subdivided into several 
smaller townships, and the original name is now represented in one of the 
southern tier of the county's townships. The subdivisions of York, Amboy, 
Chesterfield, Clinton, German, Gorham, Royalton, Swan Creek, York, Frank- 
lin, Dover, Pike and Fulton were all made and completed while this territory 
was a part of Lucas county, excepting the original York, which antedates Lu- 
cas county, and the small portions from Williams and Henry counties which 
were annexed to the townships nearest which they were situate. 

This county was not organized until the year 1850, and with its erection it 
at once acquired a considerable population, Amboy having in 1840, four hun- 
dred and fifty-two; Chesterfield, three hundred and one; Clinton, three hun- 
dred and three; German, four hundred and fifty-two; Gorham, three hundred 
and fifty two; Royalton, four hundred and one; Swan Creek, four hundred 
and ninety-four and York, four hundred and thirty-five. Each of these town- 
ships was organized prior to 1840, and each of the others was formed be- 
tween that date and 1850. 

While the pioneer settlement of these townships is necessarily a part of 
their separate history, a general mention of the names of some of the pioneers 
will be found of interest and not out of place here. 

The question of land titles will be found fully discussed in another chapter 
in this work, and to speak of the settlers north of the old state line, the mean- 
ing will be fully understood. It is of these settlers that the principal mention 
will be here made. 

In the early part of the year 1832, Eli Phillips, with his young wife, came 
to the "disputed land." They were former residents of Michigan, in the vi- 
cinity of Adrian. Mr. Phillips located on sections ten and eleven, town nine 
south, range three east, on the loth day of June in that year. He still lives 
at an advanced age, enjoying the distinction of having been one of the very 
first settlers in this then almost unbroken wilderness. The deed for the lands 
occupied by this pioneer was signed by Andrew Jackson, president of the 
United States. L^pon this land he still lives, aged about eighty-three years. 
He has lived to see the forest lands almost entirely cleared of their timber, and 
where once was timber and marsh in nearly endless extent, are now beautiful, 
well cleared arid excellent producing farms. He stands to-day almost the sole 
living monument of pioneer days. Eli Phillips was followed soon after by 
other pioneers, among the names of whom are found Samuel Stutesman, But- 
ler Richardson, Hiram Farwell, John Jacoby, Warren Dodge, Benjamin Davis, 
Chesterfield W. Clemens, George P. Clark, Daniel Berry and his son, Nicholas 



F"ULTON County. 329 



l^erry, D. Barnes, David White, A. H. Jordan, Valentine Winslow and David 
Severance. These certainh- were here prior to 1835, and there may be, pos- 
sibl\-, others whose names are now out of memory. 

The \'ear 1835 witnessed a considerable settlement by other families, most 
of whom Ccime from the States east of this. These came to build for themselves 
homes and fauns in the new country which was tlien, .imong eastern people, 
considered to be in the far West, and on the frontier of civilization and settle- 
ment ; and so it was, at the time, the now known western country being a vast, 
uninhabited tract, occupied only by the American Indian and an occasional 
trader, who had ventured so far from the center of settlement, for the purpose 
of barter among the tribes that swarmed over the region. 

Among those that made a settlement north of the Fulton line, during the 
\-car 1835, are found the names of Charles B. Smith and family ; John S. But- 
ler and his father. Asa Butler; Garner Willett, Amaziah Turner, Ami Richards, 
Alexander Vciughan, Alanson Briggs, Joseph Cottrell, Erastus Cottrell, Gorham 
Cottrell, senior. Sarth's Cottrell, James Baker, Freeman Coffin, Clement Coffin, 
Martin Llo\d, Stephen Ch.ififee, Phillip Clapper, William Lee and others. 

In this \e;ir the "Vistula Road." from Toledo west through the disputed 
lands was laid out and built b\' the government. This thoroughfare has other- 
wise been known as the "Old Territorial Road." This construction opened an 
established route of egress and ingress for the sturdy pioneers of the region, by 
which they were enabled to convey their products to market, and returning, 
carry to their homes such commodities as were needed in the new settlement. 
It opened, furthermore, into the heart of the country, a route which was easy 
of access and travel for hundreds of newcomers, who were seeking homes in 
tiie land now being rapidl>- developed and occupied. 

There came to the region in the year 1 836 a number of families, among 
whom are to be found the names of Ansel H. Henderson, Harlow Butler, John 
P. Roos, John B. Roos, Asher E. Bird, sr., John McLaughlin, Daniel Donald- 
son, John Donaldson, and perhaps others. After the coming of these families, 
and sub-cquent to the year 1836. the lands became rapidly taken up and set- 
'kd, so that their settlement becomes lost in the general growth of the com- 
munity. " These early pioneers, the advance guard of a new civilization in the 
wilderness, were the blood and brains of the ICastern States, which formed the 
main composition of this growing territory; whose fathers had educated their 
ons and daughters for the practical work of life, and they have, in turn, left 
their impress upon the country by their determination, energy, perseverance, 
thrift, and their stern political integrity and loyalty to government." 

Of like disposition and character were the pioneer families of the various 
other localities <jf the count)-, but it is a generally conceded truth that the lands 
in the northern part of the county were hrst taken and occupied — the land on 
ihv disputed tract, which will be found fully discussed elsewhere in this volume. 

42 



330 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

James C. Vaughan, now one of the commissioners of the county, was un- 
doubtedly the first male white child born on the disputed tract, and Martha 
Turner, daughter of Amaziah Turner, was the first female white child born 
thereon. 

Recollections of Pioneer Days. 

The pioneers are passing away. In fact, so many of them have already 
gone, that with regret we note their vacant places, and realize that the inevit- 
able years will soon gather them all. They, in a general way, have written 
their own history, and have built their lasting monuments on exery farm and 
in every village of this county, but thousands of unwritten incidents and deeds 
worthy of record have passed from the memory of the living, and can never 
be recalled. The men and women who built the first homes for the white race 
in this important part of a great State, were not common people. They wore 
not broadcloth or silk, and fashion and useless polish were strangers to them. 
In their plain homes and primitive surroundings, with open hands and open 
hearts, they nut upon one common social level; nevertheless they were an 
uncommon people. From the icfined homes and cultivated fields of the east the 
bravest and the best went out with a determined purpose to build among diffi- 
culties for civilization, and to sow for posterity to reap. No ordinary people 
could do what the pioneers of this county have done. But a few short years 
ago, compared with the age of the State, they commenced the magnificent task, 
and by constant toil, seeking not for ease, through trials incessant, bravely fac- 
ing calamities, after long and weary waiting they saw gardens crowd away the 
briar and the thistle, and grain and grass wave where once was tangled marsh. 
All through these long years they were unconsciously weaving webs of a history 
which spoke the doings of an interesting band, every word of which ought to 
be cherished by us, and every possible fragment gathered and saved in memory 
of our fathers and our mothers, and to the honor and for the benefit of ourselves 
and those who may live after us. 

It may be true that no tongue can ever tell, no pen can ever write the words 
which bring back in realistic form the weary, homesick feeling, the anxieties, 
trials, hopes and fears of the dark days, or the happiness and sunshine of the 
bright days of the pioneer's struggle for better homes and a higher ci\iliz;ition ; 
but it is equally true that the incidents of his career are sacred facts, and that 
his victories in the great battle of an unselfish life are as worthy of our remem- 
brance as are the deeds of the men who fought the battle of Sedan, or led the 
famous march to the sea. The true benefactors are they who penetrating the 
wilderness drove back all features of barbarism, and built refined home^-, and 
created broad harvests to enrich the world; and it was a true heroism which 
enabled them to endure the privations and hardships of the past, which are fast 
being forgotten midst the comforts and luxuries of the present; for incompre- 
hensible were the noble motives and splendid purposes of the true heroes who 
built the primitive cabins. 



Fulton County. 



i3i 



ciiArTi':R WW I. 

SOCIETIES OF THE COUNTY. 

IN the count)- of l'""iilton there appeaj's to be in e.xistence three estabhshed 
ory;anizations, the interests of which are (.iepencUnt upon the count}- for 
support and maintenance. The)- are the Fulton Count\- Agricultural Societ\- ; 
the Fulton County Pioneer and Historical Association, and the Northwestern 
Ohio Fair Conij)any. The last named, the Fair Company, is a corporation, 
and while hardly to be cla'-sed as a S(^ciet\- of the county, it draws support 
largely from the county by way of attendance at its meetin<.;s, but its expenses 
are met b\- the stockholders, and who also p.irticipate in its profits, and while 
it may not be strictly termed a county society, it is, nevertheless, sufficientl\- 
such in its nature for tiie purposes of this chapter. 

The Fulton County Agricultural Society. This societ\- was organized in 
the year 1858, and is wholl)- owned, or controlled, by the count\-. The object 
of the society is similar to like institutions throughout the State, having for its 
chief object a friendly conipetition among the people, especialh- in tht pro- 
duction of farm and garden supplies, by offering prizes, or awards for the best 
of each class. This also extends to all articles, not farm and garden produce, 
such as works of art, useful and ornamental, and in fact nearly every branch 
of trade or occupation is, or may be represented at the exhibitions of the so- 
ciety, and prizes given for superior excellence in each. The result is whole- 
some and beneficial, as it stimulates the farmer to greater effort in his pursuit 
th^t his products may be of the best; and as it applies to farm production so 
it does to the results of other pursuits. 

The first meeting or exhibition of this society was held in the fall of the 
year 1 858, on a ten acre-tract of land v/hich the society held under a ten year 
lease. The place of meeting was at a point in Dover township, about a half 
mile east from Oltokee, then the county seat. Suitable buildings were here 
erected for keeping the exhibits, and the other purposes of the societ}'. The 
grounds were laid out with a trotting course for competition in trials of speed 
of horses. 

The result of ten \ ear^ o| existence in this localit)-, and on this limited tract 
of land, was beneficial to all die people, and at the expiration of the lease the 
society purchased a tract of about forty acres f)f land situate on the " west 
road," leading from Wauseon to Ottokee. The land was marsh>- and had no 
improvement, much of it being covered with timber. The improvements for 
the first year were made at an expen.se of about fifteen hundred dollars. This 
site was procured for the society by D. \V. II. Howard, Oliver H. Writy and L. 
L. Carpenter. The erection of buildings, fences and enclosures, and the con- 



332 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

struction of the track for exhibition of stock and trials of speed, cost tlie soci- 
ety several thousand dollars. Of recent years the society has confined its ex- 
hibitions mainly to the display of farm products, stock and art work, rather 
than to horse trotting, the latter being now incident to the meetings of the 
Northwestern Ohio Fair Company. 

The present officers of the Fulton County Agricultural Society are as fol- 
lows ; L. G. Ely, president ; L. W. Brown, secretary ; J. W. Howard, treas- 
urer ; executive board, A. C. Daniels, Adam Kanauer, H. S. Persing, James 
Fenton, J. H. Brigham, S. H. Cately, L. W. Brown, George Gasche. A. M. 
Lee, Peter Schug, D. W. H. Howard, W. A. Blake, William Waffle, E. H. 
Patterson and L. G. Ely. 

To the encouragement and support of the objects of this s(iciety the State 
provides a fund of one cent per capita of the county's population. This fund 
now reaches something like two hundred and ten doUais. Should there be a 
surplus of receipts over expenses the same is used in making improvements 
and premium awards. 

Any person may become a member of the Fulton County Agricultural 
Society by paying annually into the treasury the sum of one dollar. This not 
only makes them members, but in addition thereto, entitles such person to a 
voice in the administration of the society, and to four admission tickets to the 
exhibitions of the same. 

TJie Fulton County Pioneer and Historical Association. For a period of sev- 
eral years prior to the actual organization of this asr^ociation its necessity was 
recognized by the older residents of the county. It was felt that to the pion- 
eers, who at an early day located in this region, and who, by their lives, 
privations, toil and industry, succeeded, through a period of almost incredible 
hardships and sufferings, in laying the foundation upon which the superstruc- 
ture of the county has since been built and enlarged by new c )mers and later 
generations, there should be erected in some suitable mannei', a monument to 
their memory, and the memory of their deeds and lives ; a monument, per- 
manent and imperishable, that the children of all coming generations might 
know to whom the honor and credit of the early settlements of the county is 
actually due. It was therefore considered advisable that a societx' should at 
once be organized, the object of w hich should be to gather while possible, the 
facts and incidents relative to the pioneer days of the county, and to record 
them in substantial form for future use and reference. It was deemed im- 
portant, too, that this work should be- done, if ever, during the lifetime of the 
pioneer, while a complete and acurat<-- record could be made. 

To this end, and for tlie accomplishment of the purpose expressed, a call 
was made upon the older residents of the county, inviting them to meet at 
the court-house, at Wauseon, on the 22d day of February in the year 1883, 
that there might be a full and free interchange of views on the subject, and 
complete organization effected. 



Fulton County. 333 



In obedience to the invitation tiiere was a large attendance upon the occa- 
sion, February 22, 1883, and for the purpose of temporary organization, 
Miciiael Handy, esq., was made chairman and L. G. Ely, secretary. The ob- 
ject of the meeting was then fully and carefully outlined by Hon. D. W. H. 
Howard, substantially as set forth in the early part of this sketch, after which 
a committee on constitution and by-laws was appointed as follows: D. VV. H. 
Howard, Albert Deyo, Joseph Shadle, L. G. VAy and James S. Dean. Upon 
the report of the committee the constitution and by-laws were adopted, and 
the society to be known as the " Fulton County Pioneer and Historical Asso- 
ciation," was brought into existence. It was provided that the president 
should be the person vvho had resided the greatest number of years in the 
county, and that the vice-presidents should be the persons who had the longest 
residence in the townships from which they were respectively chosen, it being 
provided that there should be one vice-president from each township in the 
county. 

Hon. Dresden VV. H. Howard being the oldest resident of the county was 
made president of the association, an ofiRce he has filled most acceptably and 
capably to the present time. Tlie vice-presidents were as follows: John Jones, 
York; J. AI. Williams, Clinton; John S. Butler, Chesterfield; Heman A. Can- 
field, Gorham ; J. S. Riddle, Franklin ; David Ayers, Dover ; John McQuil- 
len. Pike ; James P'enton, Fulton ; Socrates H. Cately, Swan Creek ; George 
R. Belts, German ; Dallas Brown, Royalton; John Clendening, Amboy. The 
other officers were L. G. Ely, secretary ; Socrates H. Cately, treasurer ; Levi 
W. Brown, S. C. Biddle, Michael Handy, Ozias Merrill and J. P. Roos consti- 
tuted the executive committee, and Hon. Oliver B. Verity was chosen as the 
historian of the association. Meetings were appointed to be held on the 22d 
day in the months of February and August of each year. 

The object of the association being so worthy, has met with marked success 
during its brief existence, and from the first has steadil}- increased in member- 
ship, until it now numbers nearly all the old substantial pioneer element of 
the county. Its present officers are as follows : President, Hon. Dresden W. 
H. Howard; secretary, Thomas Mikesell ; treasurer, Socrates H Cately; ex- 
ecutive committee, S. C. Biddle, Rufus Briggs, Ozias Merrill, J. P. Roos and 
O. A. Cobb; historian, Hon. Oliver B. Verity. The vice presidents remain, 
one from each township, as stated and given heretofore. 

T/ic Northzvestern Ohio Fair Company. This association was organized in 
response to a feeling that existed widely that Fulton county ought to have a 
place for annual meetings and exhibitions, at which premiums and purses were 
to be awarded, and which was situate within a convenient distance of the 
county seat and a railroad station. The fact that the [grounds of the P'ulton 
County Agricultural Society were distant some miles from the railroad, and 
could only be reached by carriage conveyance ; that the grounds of that 



334 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 



society had no ample accommodation for stabling horses, and that there was 
no hotel, or public house within several miles of the place ; and from the fact 
that there was a general demand on the part of many persons who were in the 
habit of attending exhibitions of this character, both residents and non-resi- 
dents, a number of the substantial citizens of Wauseon and vicinity caused to 
be incorporated, in the year 1883, the Northwestern Ohio Fair Company, 
having for its object the same, substantially, as it set forth concerning the 
Fulton County Agricultural Society. W. C. Kelly was elected president; J. 
S. Newcomer, secretary, and E. S. Callender, treasurer. The grounds of the 
company are situate just north of Wauseon, easy of access and within a con- 
venient walking distance. The lands comprise something like fifty acres and 
are arranged with reference to convenience and good order. Substantial 
buildings and enclosures are erected for the display of exhibits of all kinds, 
while the trotting course (half mile) is one of the best in northwestern Ohio. 
The society is in good standing in the region and well supported. Its present 
officers are Frank E. Blair, president ; A. S. Bloomer, secretary ; E. S. Cal- 
lender, treasurer. The meetings of the company are held annually. 



CHAPTER XXX VH. 

Military History of Fulton County — Early Militia Organizations. 

THE early military history of Fulton county is so obscured by time that 
no statistics relative to the early organization can be found, and we have 
been compelled to rely wholly upon the memory of some of the early settlers 
of the county, among which we have received much information from Samuel 
Carpenter and A. H. Jordan, esq., of Royalton township. 

Before this county was organized, in 1850, most of the territory embraced 
in Fulton county was within the limits of Lucas county, and the military or- 
ganizations were called Lucas County Militia. There was a full regiment, five 
companies of which belonged to Lucas county and three, namely, Company 
A., captain, Lyman Parcher, first lieutenant, Samuel Stutsman; Company B. 
Charles Smith, captain, Elias Richardson, first lieutenant, and William Saw- 
yer, second lieutenant. Company C, commanded by Captain Treadwell ; Pe- 
oli Alwood, first lieutenant, and John Viers, second lieutenant. The regiment 
usually had two general musters each )ear, which were high old times, lasting 
three days, the last of which was usually, after roll call in the morning, turned 
over to general sports, such as shooting at a mark, running foot races, pitching 
the iron bar, throwing the maul, wrestling etc. ; and as whisky was cheap in 



FuLTOx County 



335 



those da)-s, only l\vent\- cents a gr.llon, a great quantity of the "creature" was 
usually disposed of on these 'CCasions. About the \'ear 1844, it being this 
part of the county's turn for the " general trainirig," as it was called, Colonel 
Briggs ordered the niM'rnMit to assemble at H. C. Jordon's corners for a one 
da}' muster. 1 iic ('rcier was generally obeyed, and as there was a vacancy of 
a lieutenancy in one of the companies, an election was ordered to fill it, which 
resulted in the election of a }oung soldier from Maumee. After his election 
he was required to make good his footing, which was to treat tiie whole regi- 
ment, but the newly elected lieutenant not having the necessary money and 
having forgot or neglected to bring alouL: a coon skin, the reijimcnt became 
violent and were about to declare tlie office vacant and proceed with a new 
election, when A. H. Jordon, good soul as lie is, and always was, came to ihe 
rescue and furnished the thing needful. Tlu- boys had become so thirsty b\' 
this time that it took five gallons to go around. The regiment was then or- 
dered into line and commenced training, but as they warmed up with the drill, 
the whisky also warmed up, and before noon about one half of the regim.nt 
were under arrest for disorderly conduct, and as it took the other half to guard 
those under arrest, this meeting was adjourned to meet at /Etna (now W'in- 
ameg) about one month thereafter. It met according to the adjournment 
for a three days' drill. It had a fine time at this meeting and was inspected 
and reviewed by Major General Charles W. Hill, of Toledo, who highly com- 
plimented the command for its proficiency in drill and good soldierly bearing. 
During the night of the second day's drill Colonel Briggs had occasion to be 
outside the guard line, and as he rode up to where True VVhiteman was stand- 
ing guard, the latter halted him and told him to dismount and give the coun- 
tersign, but the colonel had forgotten the countersign, and feeling his oats 
somewhat, endeavored to force his wa\- past the guard, but True was "true 
blue," and understood his dut\-, and, as the colonel rode up, persisting that he 
was Colonel Briggs and had a right to, and would pass at all hazards, the guard 
thought differently, and clubbing his rifle, promptly knocked the horse down 
on which the gallant colonel was riding and made iiim a prisoner until the ad- 
jutant was sent for, who conimunicated the countersign to the colonel, which 
he then gave to the guard and was permitted to pass. This was the last gen- 
eral muster in this county in ante-bellum days, although the regiment met af- 
ter that at Maumee and other jilaces in Lucas county. 

The \\'.\r ok 186 [-5. 

At the breaking out of the War of the Rebellion, Fulton county, in point 
of numbers, was one of the smallest counties in the State, numbeiing at that 
time, in round numbers, about twel\-e tiiousand population. There were, at 
that time, no villages in the count)- numbering one tlujusar^d inhabitants. 
Delta being the largest with a population of onl\- a few hundred persons, and 



336 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

all the other villages combined reaching less than twelve hundred. The coun- 
try was sparsely settled, and by a strictly farming people. As soon as Fort 
Sumter had been fired upon by the Jrebels, the people of this county, with 
one accord, sinking party affiliations for the time, sprang to the defense of the 
Union ; public meetings were held all over the county and, in a few days, two 
full companies were raised, under the call of President Lincoln for seventy-five 
tliousand men Owing to the rapidity with which Ohio's quota of the seventy- 
five thousand was filled, but one of Fulton county's companies could be ac- 
cepted. This company, ninety-seven strong, commanded by Captain E. L. 
Barber, of Wauseon, was mustered into the Fourteenth Regiment as Company 
H, and rendered good service in that regiment during its term of enlistment. 

The other company was ordered to Camp Herrick, in Swanton, where, af- 
ter being drilled for about one month, it was mustered out and paid off by the 
State. After Congress met in July, 1861, the president issued his second call 
for three hundred thousand troops for three years' service Ohio's quota was 
quickly filled ; the Fourteenth and Thirty-eighth Regiments were raised in the 
northwestern counties of the State ; Fulton county contributing to the three 
years Fourteenth Regiment at muster in, forty- seven men, and sent to the regi- 
ment as recruits, seven men, making a total of fifty-four from Fulton county, 
for that regiment. 

Fulton county furnished for the Thirty eighth Regiment two full companies : 
Company I, Captain M. R. Brailey, and Company K, Captain R. A. Franks. 
These two companies had an aggregate of two hundred men, and forty-one 
men mustered into other companies of the regiment ; a total at muster in of 
two hundred and forty-one men from Fulton county. The county, during the 
war, also sent one hundred and nine recruits to the Thirty-eighth Regiment, 
making a total of three hundred and fifty from this county for the Thirty- 
eighth. 

The countv furnished to the Forty seventh Ohio Regiment fifty three 
men. This w^as a squad of men raised for other regiments, but they being full, 
the men were mustered into the Forty-.seventh. There were recruited for the 
Sixty- seventh Ohio Infantry two hundred and eleven men, who were mustered 
in at the organization of the regiment from Fulton county, and the county sent 
them forty-nine recruits during its term of service, making a total of two hun- 
dred and sixty men from this county. 

The county furnished for the Sixt}-eighth Regiment one company of 
ninety seven men ; for the One Hundredth Regiment, one compan}-, H, was 
wholly recruited from Fulton county, added to which tlie count}- sent si.\teen 
recruits. The county also furnished twenty other men for thi-< regiment, who 
were mustered into other companies, making a total of one hundred and thirty- 
six. 

For the One Hundred and Eleventh Regiment Fuiton counly furnished 
sixty-two men, most of whom were mustered into Company K. 



Fulton County. 337 



The county furnished one whole company, D, which was mustered into the 
Forty-fourth Illinois Regiment of infantry. It also sent to the regiment, while 
at the front, twenty- seven recruits, a total of one hundred and twenty- four. 
Eighty-four men from the county enlisted and served in Michigan regiments. 

For the Third Ohio Cavalry there were were fifty-five men recruited from 
Fulton county, who served with that regiment during the war. 

There was recruited in this county for the Thirty-seventh German Regi- 
ment twenty- six men; and for other three \-ears Ohio regiments, one hun- 
dred and fift}'-six men, making a grand total of three years men who went into 
the service from this county of one thousand four hundred and fifty-seven. 

Fulton county furnished for the One Hundred and Eighty second Regi- 
ment sixty-one men, forty-five of whom were mustered into Company B, and 
sixteen into Company K, of that regiment. 

This county also furnished for other one year regiments, forty-two men, 
who were mustered into the following one year regiments, viz. : the One Hun- 
dred and Eighty-fourth, the One Hundred and JEighty- ninth, the One Hun- 
dred and Ninety- first, the One Hundred and Ninety-Third and the One Hun- 
dred and Ninety- fifth, making a total of one hundred and two men for the one 
year service. 

Fulton furnished for the three months service, ninet\' seven- men, mustered 
into Company H, Fourteenth Regiment; and ninety-eight men, who were 
mustered into Company G, Eighty- fifth Regiment, and twenty- one men, who 
were mustered into different companies of the Eighty-seventh Regiment, mak- 
ing a total of two hundred and sixteen, furnished by this county for the differ- 
ent three months organizations. 

In the spring of 1864. when General Grant assumed the command of all 
the armies of the United States, and was about to beyin his famous advance 
against the army of General Lee, it being necessary that he should have all the 
veteran troops of the Army of the Potomac for that purpose, President Lin- 
coln called together, at Washington, the governors of all the loyal States for 
consultation, and to devise means, if possible, to raise recruits for a short pe- 
riod, to guard Washington, and to do other guard and garrison duty in and 
about that city, and to hold places captured in rear of the line of march of 
Grant's army, and to guard the supply and ammunition trains for hisarm\', so 
that all the old, available troops of the Potomac Army could be at the front. 
The loyal governors assembled, and, after consultation. Governor Brough, of 
Ohio, suggested to the president and State governors, the idea of calling out 
one hundred thousand men for one hundred days service, pledging Ohio for 
thirty thousand of this class of troops. President Lincoln immediately agreed 
with this proposition, and, after a short conference, the other governors agreed 
to the proposition. It is needless to say that thirty thousand was much larger 
than Ohio's quota, yet the whole number was speedily raised, and about three 
43 



338 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

thousand surplus. The first regiment to respond was the One Hundred and 
Thirtieth, or First Oliio National Guards, wholly raised in the northwest cor- 
ner of the State. Fulton county reported with three companies, but, as there 
was a total of eleven companies reported, one company from this county was 
distributed among other companies of the regiment. Fulton county furnished 
for the One Hundred and Thirtieth Regiment two hundred and fifty-one men- 
Although the one hundred days men did but little fighting, they were of ines- 
timable value in holding the rear of Grant's army, preventing raids on Wash- 
ington, and giving to General Grant all the good fighting men of his army. 

For the cavalry service Fulton county did not send a great number to the 
field. It did, however, furnish for the Third Regiment of Cavalry fifty-five men, 
most of whom were mustered into Company H, of that regiment. There were 
also enlisted in this count)' and mustered into other cavalry regiments forty- 
three men, making a total of ninety- eight from Fulton count)- tor this branch 
of the service. In addition to the foregoing, thirty men from Fulton county 
volunteered, and were mustered into the First Regiment of Ohio Light Artil- 
lery ; thirteen men went into the Sharpshooters, twenty-three enlisted and were 
mustered into the different Ohio independent batteries, and eleven into the 
United States Regulars, making a total of eighty- seven men mustered into 
these miscellaneous organizations. 

Recapitulation. — Fulton county sent to the field and had mustered into the 
service for three years, one thousand four hundred and fifty-seven men. For 
the one year service this county sent to the field one hundred and two men; 
for the six months service Fulton county sent to the war ninety- four men; for 
the three months service there were recruited in this county and sent to the 
field two hundred and sixteen men ; for the one hundred days service this 
county sent two hundred and fifty-four ; miscellaneous organizations, eighty- 
seven men, making a total, for all armies of the service of two thousand two 
hundred and seven men that actually entered the service. 

It will be observed that in many instances no company roster is given in 
connection with the history of the command. In explanation of this absence it 
may be stated that no reliable record of individuals could be obtained of many 
of the companies that entered the service later than 1862; and even for that 
year all do not appear. Memorials and muster-out-rolls have been found from 
which an incomplete record could be made, and, in such cases, care has been 
used to make the data as reliable as possible. Again, in frequent cases, it ap- 
pears that only a small portion of a company was from the county, and in order 
to give a complete roster, each name should appear, and it has been found im- 
possible to determine just who of the company'were from Fulton. 

The Fourteenth Infantry — Three Months Service. 

There was not at any time during the progress of the war against the Re- 
bellion, a more hearty response to the president's demand for volunteers than 



Fulton, County. 



339 



under the first call for seventy-five thousand men for three montlis' service. 
Indeed, so proniptl)' and so faithfully did the men of Ohio answer to the ne- 
cessities of the occasion, that less by far were required than had volunteered 
for the service. Ohio had o\errun her quota by the thousands. 

In no place was greater patriotism and greater loyalty to the Union shown, 
than in the then young and struggling county of Fulton. Epaphras L. Bar- 
ber, then a resident of Wauseon, engaged in the real estate business, at once 
signed the enlistment roll, and his action was immediately followed by others so 
rapidly, that on the 23d da\- of April, just four daj-s after the enlistment began, 
the conipau)-, one hundred and twel\-e strong, went to Toledo. In perfecting 
the company organization, E. L. Barber, was elected captain ; Thomas M. 
Ward, first lieutenant; and Reason A. Francks, second lieutenant. Arriving at 
Toledo, the company was attached to the Fourteenth Ohio X'olunteer Infantry, 
and made Company H. 

The regiment was full\- organized by the election of the field officers as fol- 
lows: James B. Steedman, colonel; George P. Este, lieutenant-colonel; Paul 
Edwards, major. The Fourteenth, having close to one thousand men, left To- 
ledo for Cleveland where they arrived on April 25th, and went into camp. 
Two days later, April 27th, the regiment was mustered into service. 

The regiment was raised in what was then the Tenth Congressional District, 
embracing the country in the vicinity of Toledo. So great was the enthusiasm 
of the people, that many of the companies were more than full. This was the 
casein Company H, under Captain Barber, by whom a portion were sent back 
home. In this the captain exercised good judgment, and returned those whose 
presence was most needed at home, such as men having families dependent on 
them for support. 

Company H, as will be seen from the appended muster-roll, was made up 
mainly of young men, strong, sturdy fellows, taken from the. farms and shops of 
Fulton county, and not a man of them but fully realized the serious business in 
which they had enlisted; and although their term of service was short, and their 
battles few, they were, nevertheless, capital soldiers, and rendered such .service 
as was required of them promptly and well. 

When mustered into service the Fourteenth went into Camp Ta\lor, near 
Cleveland, for drill, and in this they were exercised to an abundant degree. In 
fact, there were here, as well as subsequently, numerous complaints on the part 
of a few of Company H, that they were being too much drilled, but later in 
the service (for most of the men became veterans), they profited by the drill and 
discipline they received from Captain Barber, as is shown by the fact that out 
of his company alone, twelve men became commissioned officers in other com- 
mands. 

On the 22d day of May the Fourteenth left Cleveland for Columbus, where 
they received their clothing, arms, and all necessary equipments, and on the 



340 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

next day, the 23d, proceeded to Marietta, at which place they were joined by 
the First Ohio Battery. They then on the 27th moved on toward Webster, 
sometimes riding, and frequently being compelled to march, acting as pioneer 
and construction corps, for the enemy and southern sympathizers had destroyed 
roads and bridges. At Webster the regiment was joined by the Sixth, Sev- 
enth and Ninth Indiana troops. The regiment then marched for Philippi, Va., 
which was performed on a dark and stormy night, and brought up in front of 
the place soon after daylight on the morning of the 4th, and at once a volley 
from the battery was fired into the town. Had the plan been executed accord- 
ing to its original conception, Philippi would have been captured ; but through 
some blunder on the part of one of the commands, the scheme failed of its main 
purpose. The rebels, however, quickly abandoned the town, which was imme- 
diately occupied by the Union forces. The rebel stores, and several wagon 
loads of arms and ammunition fell into the hands of the Union soldiers. 

The regiment then went into camp at Philippi, where they lay a few weeks, 
sending out occasionally skirmishing parties to attack and free the country of 
roving bands of guerillas that infested the country. On the 2d day of July, 
the boys received their first pay, in gold and Ohio currency. 

From this place, in early July, the Fourteenth marched to Bealington, on 
Laurel Hill, where the rebels had gathered in considerable force under com- 
mand of General Garnett. The enemy's pickets were driven and they sud- 
denly evacuated the place, closely pressed by the Union troops, the Fourteenth 
being in the advance of the pursuing forces. They followed on to (Warrick's 
Ford, where the rebels made a determined stand to save their trains of sup- 
plies. The Fourteenth received the first fire of the enemy, but returned it 
even before the second could come from the rebel guns. The battle raged 
fiercely for about twenty minutes when the rebel line was broken, their force 
routed, and fled in confusion, leaving their wounded, stores, ammunition, colors 
and supplies, all in the hands of the boys in blue. They captured here, also, 
two hundred and fifty prisoners. This was the only engagement in which the 
Fourteenth was actually under fire, and not a man flinched nor wavered, but 
stood bravely to their work. 

The regiment returned to Laurel Hill, where they camped for a short time, 
after which, their term of enlistment having expired, they returned to Toledo, 
and were mustered out of service. Many of the men, after a few days of rest 
and enjoyment at home, re-enlisted in various regiments then forming for the 
three years service ; but here the history of the Fourteenth — three months 
men — ceases, and their future reward belongs to other commands. 

It appears from the muster out roll of Company H, that the men joined for 
service on the 22d day of April, 1861, at Wauseon; and that they were mus- 
tered into service at Cleveland, on the 27th day of the same month. The fol- 
lowing roll will show the name of each member of the company, both officers 



Fulton Countv. 341 



and privates, their age at time of enlistment, and their town or l(n\ nship of 
supposed residence or address at time of muster out, althougli in giving the 
place of residence errors may appear. The list is compiled from the muster 
out roll, and such errors as appear thereon are copied here : 

h^paphras L. Barber, captain, age 30, residence, Wauseon ; Tiiomas Tvl. 
Ward, first lieutenant, age 45, residence, Ottokee ; Rcgin A. Franks, second 
lieutenant, age 26, residence, Wauseon ; Hiram McClatchie, first sergeant, age 
27, residence, Medina, Wis. ; Jacob Bartlett, second sergeant, age 33, residence, 
Pike township ; Erastus W. Briggs, third sergeant, age 26, Emmett Lusure, 
fourth sergeant, age 24, Worlen B. Leggett, first corporal, age 24, Albert R. 
Stranahan, second corporal, age 19, residence, Wauseon; Emanuel B. Cantel- 
bery, third corporal, age 21, Samuel Hanley, fourth corporal, age 33. residence, 
Pittsville ; Itham Culbertson, drummer, age 20, John B. Mikesell, drummer, 
age 23, residence, Wauseon. Privates. — Lewis Butler, age 23, William C. 
Barnes, age 22, Isaiah Bayes, age 24, residence, Wauseon ; Robert H. Betts, 
age 19, residence, Archbold ; Ezra F. Bragg, age 25, residence. Pike town- 
ship ; George Burer, age 26, residence, Archbold ; Sumpter Beckem, age 20, 
residence, Chesterfield ; Charles Courier, age 26, residence, Archbold ; Calvin 
Cass, age 26, Franklin D. Cass, age 18, Howard Cass, age 21, residence, Ted- 
row; Allen C. Clark, age 26, residence, Pittsville; Oscar Coleman, age 21, 
residence, Chesterfield ; Nathan R. Chudle, age 18, Charles W. Cornell, age 26, 
residence, Wauseon ; Thomas I. Childs, age 21, died at Marietta, O. ; Weber 
I. Colt, age 22, John O. Dowell, age 23, residence, Wauseon ; George W. 
Ellsworth, age 23, Christian Funkhouser, age 24, Emanuel Freistonc, age 20, 
Jacob Gilbert, age 19, residence, Archbold ; Shelly A. Gish, age 18, residence, 
Wauseon; John R. Gallop, age 19, residence, Ottokee; John A. Garberson, 
age 22, William Hamp, age 20, residence, Ai ; Orrin Hamp, age 18, John 
Hine, age 18, Josiah P. Hodges, age 21, Samuel D. Hodges, age 25, residence, 
Wauseon ; Josiah Hodges, age 23, sick at home at mus^.er out ; William H. 
Hishoe, age 20, Oscar I. Hale, age 23, Ezra Harger, age 19, Martin Hinckle, 
age 20, John G. Jewell, age 34, William S. Jones, age 19, residence, Wauseon ; 
George W. Jones, age 23, Emanuel Krouty, age 27, residence, Pittsville ; 
Frederick Konnaker, age 28, George W. Kobble, age 23, Jacob B. Lepley, age 
22, William Losure, age 26, Marion Losure, age 20, Marriott Losure, age 20, 
Paul Lingle, age 19, residence, Wauseon; Silas Lingle, age 18, residence, Ted- 
row ; Wesley Lewis, age 20, no address given ; Sylvester Lyon, age 27, Lo- 
renzo Lyon, age 20, John W. Miller, age 23, Hiram Miller, age 19, David 
Miller, age 23, residence, Wauseon ; John Miller, age 27, residence, Archbold ; 
William R. McManus, age 23, Horace Mixler, age 26, La Fayette B. Price, 
age 22, William H. Pelton, age 27, Wesley Pontius, age 21, residence, Wau- 
seon ; William Rogers, age 20, residence. Archbold ; George S. Royce, age 
38, residence, Ottokee; John Renaugh, age 23, P'rederick Renaugh, age 21, 



342 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

residence, Archbold ; Albert B. Smith, age 21, Henry T. Smith, age 23^ 
George Struble, age 21, William S. Struble, age 24, residence, Wauseon ; Jo- 
seph Snyder, age 38, residence, Pittsville ; Richard Shadle, age 21, residence, 
Ottokee ; William R. Saums, age 28, residence, Wauseon ; William Shoe- 
maker, age 23, residence, Archbold ; William S. Skeels, age 20, Edward F. 
Summers, age 20, Uriah Todd, age 22, Leander Taber, age 19, Augustus A. 
Wood, age 24, Henry L, Waldron, age 19, Samuel Wellman, age 23, William 
Wier, age 26, John S. Wise, age 23, residence, Wauseon ; George W. Williams,, 
age 18, residence, Archbold; Linas P. Woodward, age 21, Virgil Weeks, age 
21, Henry Yeager, age 20, residence, Wauseon. 

The Third Cavalry. 

The Third Ohi(5 Volunteer Cavalry was organized at Monroeville, O , in 
August and September, 1861. The regiment is purely a Northern Ohio or- 
ganization, fifty five men of which volunteered from Fulton county, mostly of 
whom were mustered into Company H, and the remainder in Companies A^ 
C, F and I. In February, 1862, the regiment reached Jeffersonville, opposite 
Louisville, Ky. On the i8th of March it arrived at Nashville, Tenn., 
and on the 29th left for Pittsburgh Landing. On the 4th of April the first 
battalion was detached by order of General Buel and sent to Lawrenceburg^ 
Tenn. Here the battalion to which Company H was attached, met Beffle's 
rebel cavalr}' and drove them out of Lawrenceburg, killing one and wound- 
ing several others and capturing si.x; horses. On the 6th a detachment un- 
der command of Major John H. Foster, seized a large quantity of bacon be- 
longing to the rebels. It arrived at Pittsburgh Landing on the 25th. On the 
4th of May while on a recconnoissance, it met the enemy's advance at Cham- 
bers Creek and drove them back to their main body. At a point about ten 
miles from Corinth, Major Foster's battalion, while m.aking a reconnoissance, 
had a spirited encounter with the enemy, but was finally forced back by the 
overwhelming number of the rebels. In this fight the rebels lost twelve men 
killed, among which was Lieutenant-Colonel Ingram. For the next two 
months the regiment was constantly on the march and doing picket duty, with 
frequent skirmishing with the enemy. On the 29th of July Major Foster, with 
the first battalion of the Third Cavalry and ten companies of infantry, was sent 
on a foraging expedition to Salem, and meeting a squad of the enemy with 
eighty-nine head of beef cattle immediately attacked them and captured the 
cattle. The regiment, with its divisions, left Winchester on the 14th of Au- 
gust, and arrived at McMinville on the 29th and was ordered across the Cum- 
berland Mountains to Dunlap. When half way up the mountain the enemy's 
messengers were met and captured with their dispatches from General Bragg 
to General Wheeler; thence proceeding, Major Foster drove in the enemy's 
pickets, killing and wounding six, and then returned to his division with the or- 



Fulton County. 343 



ders captured from the rebel messengers. On the 3d of September the divi- 
sion marched for Nashville, thence to Gallatin, and from there to l^owling Green, 
Kentuck}', where it arrived on the lOth, and from Bowling Green the Third 
Caxalry went to I\Iiimfords\-illc, K)'., where the first battalion had a live- 
1}- fight with three times its number, but after making three separate charges 
the rebels were driven inside their works. In this encounter the battalion lost 
two men killed and twelve wounded. The enemy's loss was twentj'-eight 
killed and sixty wounded, among which was Lieutenant-Colonel Brown. The 
regiment reached Louisville on the 25th of September, and on the 1st of Oc- 
tober joined in the pursuit of Bragg, and near Bardstown the first battalion of 
the Third Cavalry, reinforced by two companies of the Second Ohio Infantry 
and Third Kentucky Cavah}-, attacked the eneni)-, twelve hundred strong, but 
was forced to fall back with a loss of six men killed, twenty wounded and 
seventeen captured. Among the wounded was Major Foster. The Second, 
Third and Fourth battalions of the Third Ohio Cavalry, under Colonel Zahm, 
were stationed most of the summer at Woodville, Ala., guarding the Mem- 
phis and Charleston Railroad, and was repeatedly attacked by guerillas from 
the mountains of Alabama. An expedition, by order of General Buel, under 
Major Paramore, was sent out and succeeded in driving the rebel guerillas 
from this section of the State. In this affair the detachment lost six men 
killed, and about twenty wounded ; the loss of the rebels was much more se- 
vere. 

About this time the second and third battalions of the Third, were attached 
to the Second Brigade of cax'alry, commanded by Colonel Lewis Zahm, of the 
Third. With this brigade they formed the rear guard of Buel's army in its 
march from Nashville to Louisville, after Bragg. On this march they were 
almost daily attacked and harassed by the enemy, but they brought all the 
trains through in safety, and for so doing were highly complimented hy Gen- 
eral Buel. They engaged the advance rebel cavalry force of General Kir- 
by Smith, at Shelbyville, Ky., and drove them from the town, capturing a 
large number of prisoners. During the battle of Perryville the Third was en- 
gaged with the enemy at the ford of the Kentucky River, near Paris. After 
the battle, the Third went into camp at Dan\ille, and on the 19th of October, 
a detachment under Major Seidell, with a detachment of the Fourth Cavalry, 
numbering in all two hundred and fifty men, were sent, under orders from 
(jeneral McCook, as an escort to special couriers to Lexington on a forced 
march of over forty miles. While in camp near the old Henry Clay home, at 
Ashland, early on the morning of the 20th, the camp was completely sur- 
rounded by John Morgan's forces. They made an obstinate resistance, but 
were overpowered by force of numbers, and after being stripped of their valu- 
ables and horses, they were paroled by General Morgan, and sent into the 
Union lines, and from there sent to Camp Chase, O. An incident occurred 



344 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

here worthy of note. Private Weis, of the Third, enquired for Morgan, and a 
person among the rebels was pointed out to him as the guerilla chief Weis 
immediately drew bead on that officer and before he could be disarmed, shot 
and the reputed Morgan fell dead. It proved to be Charles Morgan, a cous- 
in of the general. The private was immediately killed by Morgan's men. 
From Danville the Third marched to Bowling Green, and were ordered to 
guard the railroad between that place and Gallatin with headquarters at 
Fountain Head Station. Morgan's forces at that time were at Gallatin. Col- 
olnel Zahm sent out a detachment of the Third to reconnoiter and learn the 
position and strength of Morgan's command. The rebel pickets were captured 
and the desired information obtained. The next morning the cavalry under 
Colonel Zahm, supported by a brigade of infantry from General Wood's divi- 
sion, commanded by Colonel Harket, attacked Morgan's camp and captured it^ 
together with his camp equipage, and a large number of prisoners. During 
thewint'^ra detachment of the Third under command of Captain E. M. Culier, 
under orders from Colonel Zahm, went up the Cumberland River to intercept 
a large drove of mules, and quartermaster's stores, which were being removed 
by the rebels, accompanied by an escort of Morgan's force. After a chase of 
twenty-six miles they succeeded in capturing the entire train, and drove off 
one hundred and forty-six mules, routing the escort and killing three and cap- 
turing seventeen, among whom were two rebel quartermasters and one pay- 
master. On the 27th of December the second attack was made on Franklin, 
in which the rebels were completely routed and driven from the place. The 
regiment then moved towards Triune, and before night again became engaged 
with the enemy, and on the 28th the enemy was again engaged by the brigade 
and was driven seven miles with great loss. After skirmishing during the 
day, on the evening of the 30th the Third was assigned a position on the ex- 
treme right of General Rosecrans's army. At two o'clock on the morning of 
the |3 1st, the first battalion of the regiment being on picket duty, apprised 
Colonel Zahm of the advance of the rebel forces. Tlie colonel immediately 
placed his brigade in line of battle and notified General McCook, command- 
ing the right wing. The third battalion of the Third Cavalry were thrown 
out as skirmishers. At four o'clock in the morning the skirmish line was 
driven in and the brigade attacked by Wheeler's rebel cavalry. After two 
hours' hard fighting against a rebel force, numbering more than two to one, the 
brigade was forced from the field, it having suffered severely in loss of officers 
and men. During the morning of the 31st, the rebels having captured Gen- 
eral McCook's corps ammunition train, were removing it from the field when 
the second and third battalions of the Third Cavalry, which had already stood 
the shock of the morning, and remained at their posts, made a dash at the en- 
emy and recaptured the train, taking one hundred and forty prisoners and kill- 
ing a number of rebels, and horses. During the afternoon the regiment lost, 
in sustaining a rebel charge, thirteen men killed, and forty- nine wounded. 



Fulton County. 345 



On January i, 1863, the Third Cavalry was detailed by General Rosecrans 
as guard to a train of four thousand wagons, for Nashville after supplies. The 
train was attacked by Wheeler's Cavalry, at Stewart's Creek. The Third being 
supported by the Tenth Ohio Infantry, repulsed the rebels with heavy loss. 
Later the same da}- the train was again attacked by the same force, and eight 
hundred men of the Fifteenth Pennsylvania Cavalry forming the rear guard, 
were completely routed. The Third Ohio Cavalry coming up, a sharp fight 
ensued, lasting until after dark, when the rebels were again driven back. The 
train was safely taken to Nashville, loaded with supplies, and returned to Mur- 
frecsboro in safety. After the battle of Stone River the regiment went in pur- 
suit of the enemy ; his rear guard was overtaken near Middleton, Tenn , and 
one of his trains captured and brought back to Murfreesboro. While the Third 
was in camp at Murfreesboro, in the winter of 1864, ^ detachment of the Third 
battalion, while on a scout under command of Lieutenant ISrennard, were sur- 
rounded by the enemy who demanded their surrender, which was refused. 
Lieutenant Brennard then ordered a sabre charge and successfully cut his way 
through the enemy's lines with small loss, at the same time taking a number 
of prisoners. 

After the battle of Chickamauga, in which the regiment took an active part, 
the command moved as the advance of General Crook's forces, in pursuit of 
General Wheeler's cavalry, and engaged them at McMinville and Farmington, 
at the latter place completely routing Wheeler's forces, large numbers of the 
enemy being killed and wounded. In this engagement the regiment lost two 
men killed, and twenty-three wounded. In November, Captain R. O. Wood, 
of the Third, had a tussle with the eneni\- near Dalton, Ga., in which he, Wood, 
-was killed. In January, 1864, the Third Cavalry re-enlisted for another three 
years, and, at this time, out of the original thirteen hundred at organization, 
only four hundred were left. It left Nashville for Ohio on the 4th of February, 
and returned after two years' absence to its old camp at Monroevillc. On 
March 2d it reassembled at Camp Monroeville, it having enlisted over one 
thousand new recruits while on veteran furlough, and on its return to Nichols- 
ville, Ky., it numbered over fifteen hundred men. It was re-equipped, armed, 
and mounted, and went into camp at Columbia, Tenn. It acted as advance 
guard of the Seventeenth Army Corps from Decatur to Rome, Ga. It was 
in the fight at Courtland, Ala., and routed the rebels under General Roddy's 
command, with a loss of a lieutenant-colonel, major, and upwards of thirty 
men killed and wounded. It was surprised before daylight at Moulton, Ala., 
the next morning, but rallied and drove the enemy from the field. At Rome 
the regiment was assigned to a position on the left flank of Sherman's army, 
and did good work in the engagements at Etowah, Kenesaw Mountain, Noody 
Creek, and the crossing of Chattahoochie River. It went to Roswell, Ga., and 
destroyed the rebel stores and factories at that place. On the 9th of July four 
44 



346 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

companies of the Third, commanded by Major Culver, had a severe fight with 
a superior force of the enemy, kilhng eight, and wounding a large number,, 
and capturing a great many prisoners and horses. It was engaged in the bat- 
tles of Peach Tree Creek and Decatur, and made a raid to Covington and 
Stone Mountain. In the Kiipatrick raid the regiment was in the brigade in the 
advance till the rear of Atlanta was reached. It was also in the Stoneman raid, 
under General Garrard, and suffered severely. In the flanking movement on 
Jonesboro, the Third was the fiirst to attack the enemy at Lovejoy Station, tak- 
ing possession of the railroad, after the capture of Atlanta. The regiment fol- 
lowed up Hood harassing his rear as far as Columbia, Tenn. At Franklin the 
Third was engaged with the rebel cavalry. It was also engaged in the battle 
before Nashville, and after Hood's defeat it followed his retreat across the Ten- 
nessee River into Alabama. It was engaged in the Wilson raid through Ala- 
bama and Georgia, and in the battles of Selma and Montgomery, Ala., and 
Macon and Grifiin, Ga. It was sent home, paid off, and mustered out on the 
14th of August, 1865, ha\'ing been in the service nearly four years, and en- 
gaged in more raids and fights than any other cavalry regiment in the service 
from Ohio, and having actually captured over five thousand prisoners. 

The Thirty-eighth Infantry. 

This regiment was organized at Camp Latty, at Defiance, and was recruited 
from the counties of Fulton, Henry, Defiance, Paulding and Williams. Com- 
panies I and K were wholly recruited from Fulton county, which also furnished 
nine men for Company C ; twenty one men for Company E , five men for 
Company G, and three men each for Companies A and H, making a total of 
two hundred and forty-one men from this county mustered into the regiment 
at its organization. Fulton county also furnished for the Thirty- eighth Regi- 
ment, during the war, by way of recruits, one hundred and nine men, making 
a total of three hundred and fifty. On the 28th of September, 1 861, the regi- 
ment was transferred to Camp Dennison, where it received its arms and equip- 
ments, and was drilled and disciplined, and then took cars to Cincinnati, and 
thence to Nicholsville, Ky., where it camped, on the morning of the 2d of Oc- 
tober. From this camp, about the middle of October, the regiment was or- 
dered to march to the relief of the garrison at Wild Cat, about sixty miles dis- 
tant, which place, after a forced march, it reached on the morning of the 19th 
of October, in company with the Fourteenth Ohio and Barnett's Battery, the 
last three miles of which was a double-quick, through mud and slush, up the 
Wild Cat Mountain. On the arrival was found five companies of the Thirty- 
third Indiana, hemmed in on three sides by rebel troops, under General Zolli- 
coffer. Barnett's Battery was unlimbered and immediately went into action, 
and commenced shelling the enemy, while some of the Fourteenth gained the 
summit and fortified it, while the Thirty-eighth was deployed in line of battle as 



Fulton County. 347 



best they could be in the broken and rocky condition of the narrow pass in tlie 
hills. The rebels made two chart^es but were both times driven back, with loss, 
and, being unable to take the little fortified position, abandoned the attack and 
hastily retreated in the direction of London, leaving thirty killed and wcnnuled 
on the field. They were pursued by the Ohio briga-de and battery, but find- 
ing that Zollicotier had already retreated from London, the brigade encamped 
a little north of the town and threw up fortifications. They remained here 
about two weeks, when orders were received to march back to Crab Orchard. 
This was a terrible march for the Thirty- eighth, and was ordered to take place 
in the evening. Captain Brailcy's Company, I, was ordered to assist in get- 
ting the wagon train and artillery over Rock Castle River and up the Wild Cat 
hills. The night was exceedingly dark, a heavy r.un filling, and the mud 
nearly a foot deep, and so slippery that the horses and mules were unable to 
draw the wagons and artillery. The river water was very cold, and about one 
hundred rods wide at the crossing, and hip-deep to the men. For two hours 
Company I worked incessantly, in the water, in lifting and pushing the wagons 
across the stream, and during the entire night, in pushing and pulling the wag- 
ons over the Wild Cat hills. So severe was this night's work on Company I, 
that on arriving at Crab Orchard, the next da\% over twenty of the company 
were so overcome that they had to be left in the hospital at that place ; and 
several of them were so completely broken down that they were never after fit 
for duty, and were afterwards discharged for disability. The Thirty-eighth 
then marched to Staunton and Lebanon, and, about the middle of December, 
was ordered to Somerset, where it arrived on the 20th, in a terrible snow storm. 
Finding at that place that the Twelfth Kentucky was engaged in exchanging 
shots with Zollicoffer's troops across the Cumberland River, Companies I and 
K, of the Thirty- eighth, were detailed as pickets on the north bank of the river, 
and remained there from four P. M. until two o'clock the next afternoon, with- 
out any rations, the rain and sleet falling all the time. The regiment went into 
camp lor the winter and threw up strong fortifications adjacent to the town. 
During the winter of 1861 and 1862, the regiment was constantly on duty. 
The measles broke out in the regiment, and camp diarrhoea and pneumonia 
were the order of the day; and by the middle of January, 1862, out of nine 
hundred and ninety men, less than three hundred were fit for dut}-. The mor- 
tality was fearful. During the month of January, 1862, the regiment had sev- 
eral skirmishes with the rebel cavalry, and occasionally captured a few of the 
enemy. On the 19th of January the Thirty-eighth was ordered out, and 
marched rapidly towards Mill Springs. On arriving at Fishing Creek they 
found it so swollen by the recent rains that a hawser had to be stretched across 
the stream for the men to hold on to to enable them to cross. This was slow 
work, and the regiment arrived at Logan's Cross Roads just in time to see the 
enemy routed and in full retreat towards their fortifications at Mill Springs. 



348 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

The Thirty-eighth joined in the chase after the retreating foe, and arrived 
at their fortifications about dark, too late to assault the works. The men lay 
on their arms during the night, the rain falling all the time, and the artillery 
shelling the works. At early dawn the Ohio brigade, to which the Thirty- 
eighth belonged, was ordered to charge the works, and on arriving at the place, 
found that the enemy had retreated across the river during the night, except 
one regiment, and a few sick and wounded, which were captured together with 
twenty cannon, all their camp and garrison equipage, and a large number of 
horses, mules, small arms, and other property. In March the regiment was 
transferred to Nashville, Tenn., and on the 19th of March it left Na-hville with 
the army of the Ohio, for Pittsburg Landing, but did not arrive at that place in 
time to participate in the battle, but did take an active part in the siege of Cor- 
inth. After the retreat of the rebels from Corinth, the Thirty-eighth joined 
in the pursuit of Beauregard as far as Boonville ; from there it marched back to 
Corinth and on the 20th of June, marched with the Army of the Ohio to Tus- 
cumbia, Ala. After marching around through Alabama about six hundred 
miles, it on the 7th of August, 1862, reached Winchester, Tenn. During this 
month several expeditions were sent out to reconnoitre through the mountains 
in the direction of Chattanooga, then the headquarters of the rebel army, in all 
of which the Thirty- eighth took an active part. A party of eighty men of the 
Thirty- eighth made a forced march of thirty-six miles, captured Tracy City, 
and after destroying a large amount of tobacco, whisky, leather, and other arti- 
cles belonging to the rebels, returned to camp, having marched seventy-two 
miles, and captured the city, and destroyed the above named property, all in 
less than thirty- four hours. On September, i, 1862, the regiment with the bal- 
ance of Buel's army began the retrograde movement, which terminated in the 
battle of Perry ville, October 8, 1862. Here the Thirty- eighth bore a conspicu- 
ous part. In all the marching and fatigue, in excessively hot weather, over 
dusty roads, and suffering for lack of water, they arrived at Perrysville. The 
enemy was found in position on Champion Hills, near the town. The Thirty- 
eighth participated in this battle, and afterwards in the chase after Bragg as far 
as the Wild Cat Hills. On the 27th of October it went into camp on the Roll- 
ing Fork. Here it received a detachment of recruits from Fulton county. 

About the 1st of November it took up its march for Nashville, Tenn., and 
guarded the railroad between Gallatin and Nashville. In the latter part of De- 
cember the regiment marched to Nashville to prepare for the fight which took 
place at Stone River, in which engagement the Thirty-eighth was wholly en- 
gaged. After the battle the regiment went into camp near the city, where it 
remained until the 13th of March, 1 863, when it marched to Triune, Ga., and 
on the 23d of June marched with the Army of the Cumberland, and took an 
active part in the Tullahoma campaign. On the 17th of August the march for 
Chattanooga began. The Thirty- eighth marched with the center corps, crossed 



Fulton County. 349- 



the Cumberland Mountains, and tlie Tennessee River on rafts built of logs, on 
the night of September 2, 1863, thence marching over Lookout and Raccoon 
Mountains, arrived in Lookout \'alle\' about the middle of September. The 
wagon train and everything else that was cumbersome, was sent to the rear. 
The entire train of the army was sent to Chattanooga, and the Thirt\' eighth, 
detailed by special order of General Thomas, was charged with the safe transit 
of the same. They started on the evening of the iSth of September, and be- 
fore morning were safely landed within six miles of Chattanooga. In conse- 
quence of this detail, the Thirty-eighth was not in the battle of Chicknmauga. 
On the 25th of November, 1863, the division to which the Thirty-eighth 
belonged, assaulted the fortifications at the foot of Mission Ridge, ascended the 
hill nnd carried the works, driving the rebels. The regiment was on the ex- 
treme left, and although Bragg had considered the slope entirely safe as against 
direct assault, yet they moved up, u[:), up, until the}' reached the summit. The 
fire from the rebel batteries was terrible, but the shot went mostly over their 
heads. In this charge the Thirty-eighth lost seven men killed, and forty-one 
wounded. After pursuing the enemy as far as Ringgold, Ga., the reginunt 
returned to Camp near Chattanooga, where it re-enlisted and returned home 
on veteran furlough. .Vt the expiration of its furlough, having replenished its 
depleted ranks by recruits while at home, the regiment joined the army there at 
Ringgold, Ga., and when Sherman started on his Atlanta campaign, the Thirty- 
eighth numbered seven hundred and forty-one effective men On the 5th of 
May it marched to Buzzard's Roost Gap, where it was deployed and brought 
into action, and after skirmishing tw(j days, a flank movement was ordered by 
the way of Smoky Creek Gap, nearly in the rear of Resaca. Here the Thirty- 
eighth entrenched itself and skirmished almost continuall}% and although no 
general engagement was brought on, the regiment lost thirty-five men in killed 
and wounded. The regiment took an active part in the affair at Kenesaw, skir- 
mishing almost continually, and on the 5th of July reached the banks of the 
Chattahoochie River. They crossed the river on the i/th, and on the 22d the 
Thirty-eighth had the honor of establi^hing the picket line of the Fourteenth 
Army Corps, near the city of Atlanta. It held this line until August 3d, when 
it moved to Utoy Creek, and on the 5th of August Companies A, C, and K, of 
the regiment charged the enemy's skirmish line with success, and out of one 
hundred and twenty men who charged, nine were killed, and forty- two wounded, 
of which four of the killed, and fifteen of the wounded were from Fulton county. 
On the night of August 31st the regiment took possession of the Macon Road 
near Red Oak Station, and on the night of September 1st, it was learned that 
the rebels were fortifying Jonesboro. The army was put in motion for that 
place, and about four o'clock P. M., came upon the pickets of Hardee's Corps. 
Este's Brigade, to which the Thirt>'-eiglith belonged, was brought up, and after 
an unsuccessful attack by Carlin's Division, assaulted the works. This brig- 



350 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

ade consisted of the Fourteenth and Thirty-eighth Ohio, Tenth Kentucky and 
Sev^enty-fourth Indiana. Colonel Este gave the command " battalion forward, 
guide center;" the brigade moved steadil}' forward amidst a shower of lead. 
A battery was brought to bear upon them with grape and canister, but they 
kept steadily on ; the abattis was reached, and with a yell and a cheer, the 
rebel works were carried, and a hand to band fight ensued. The rebels fought 
with desperation to hold their works, and not till many of them had been 
pierced with the bayonet, or knocked down with clubbed guns, did they finally 
surrender, and were marched as prisoners to the rear. In this charge the 
Thirty-eighth lost out of three hundred and sixty men that went into the fight, 
forty- two killed, and one hundred and eight wounded, making a total loss of 
one hundred and fifty, or nearly one-half of the men engaged. Of this number 
twelve of the killed, and twenty-three of the wounded were from Fulton 
county. 

At the beginning of the fight Corporal O. P. Randall had the colors; he fell 
lifeless ; Corporal Baird next took them, and he, too, soon fell dead ; Corporal 
Strawzer next seized them, and he fell severely wounded ; Corporal Dorsey 
then took the flag and bore it to the works. Of the five that had charge of the 
colors, but one, Corporal H. K. Brooks, escaped unhurt. He, although not 
wounded, had five balls pass through his clothing. This was the last of the 
severe fighting of the Thirty-eighth, although it marched with Sherman to the 
sea. It became necessary to burn a bridge on the Big Ogeechee River, and 
the Thirty- eighth was ordered to perform that dut\\ The regiment had already 
marched fifteen miles that day, and it was }'et ten miles to the bridge. After 
marching the ten miles and burning the bridge, it was still fifteen miles to w^here 
the army went into camp for the night. The regiment took the wrong road, 
marched six miles out of the wa\% and at twelve o'clock at night, got within 
the picket lines and went into camp, having marched forty-six miles that day, 
and destroyed a large bridge. After reaching the sea, the regiment marched 
with Sherman through the Carolinas to GoJdsboro, N. C, and after the surren- 
der of Johnson, went to Richmond, Va., and from there to Washington, D. C, 
attended the grand parade, and was reviewed by the president and his cabinet. 
From there it was sent by rail to Louisville, Ky., and on the I2th of July it was 
sent home and mustered out of the service, it having served three years and 
eleven months. 

Thirty-Eighth Regiment — Field and Staff. ^ 

Edwin D. Bradley, colonel, June lo, 1861; resigned Feb. 6, 1862. 
Edward H. Phelps, colonel, June 10, 1861; promoted from lieutentant-col- 
onel Feb. 6, 1862 ; killed Nov. 25, 1863, in battle of Mission Ridge, Tenn. 
William A. Choate, colonel, Aug. 12, 1861 ; promoted to lieutenant-col- 

iName, rank, date of entering service, and disposition. 



Fulton County. 351 



onel from captain conipain- ]\ Vcb. 6, 1862; to coli.iicl Nov. 5, 1H63; died 
Sept. 12, 1S64, from wouiuls received at JoiKsboro, (ja. 

Charles Grccinvood, lieutenant-colonel; Aug. 26, 1 861; promoted to major 
from captain company A, Feb. 6, 1862; lieutenant-colonel Nov. 25, 1863; 
resii^ned Aug. 12, 1864. 

William Irving, lieutenant-colonel; Sept. 5, 1861; promoted to major from 
captain company G, May 9, 1864; lieutenant-colonel Nov. 3, 1864; mustered 
out Jul\' 12, 1865. 

h4)aphras L. l^arber, major ; June lO, 1861 ; resigned Jan. 12, 1862. 

Andrew Newman, major ; Sept. I, 1861; promoted from captain company 
H, Nov. 3, 1864; mustered out July 12, 1865. 

Israel A. Coons, surgeon, June 10, 1861 ; resigned Aug. 13, 1863. 

James Haller, surgeon, June 10, 1861 ; promoted from assistant surgeon 
July 13, 1863; mustered out Jan. 4, 1865. 

Hazael B. Powell, surgeon, June 10, 1861 ; promoted to assistant surgeon 
from private, company B, July 19, 1863; to surgeon Jan. 29, 1865; mustered 
out July 12, 1865. 

RosTKR Company I. 

Moses R. Brailey, captain, Aug. 21, 1861 ; promoted to major Jan. 28, 
1862. 

lulward D. A. Williams, captain, Aug. 28, 1861 ; promoted from first lieu- 
tenant Jan. 28, 1862; resigned April 15, 1864. 

David Renton, captain, Sept. 5, 1861 ; promoted from first-lieutenant com- 
pany D Nov. 3, 1864; mustered out with company/ July 12, 1865. 

Elisha Fewlass, first lieutenant, Aug. 28, 1861 ; promoted to second lieu- 
tenant from first sergeant March 9, 1862; first lieutenant June 16, 1862 ; re- 
signed April 20, 1863. 

John S. Templeton, first lieutenant, Aug. 21, 1 861 ; promoted to second 
lieutenant from sergeant, June 16, 1862; first lieutenant April 20, 1863; dis- 
charged Dec. 31, 1863. 

Joseph B. Coons, first lieutenant, Aug. 25, 1861 ; promoted from second 
lieutenant company C, April 13, 1864; mustered out with company July 12, 
1865. 

Thomas W. Wright, second lieutenant, Aug. 21, 1861 ; resigned June 16, 
1862. 

James McOuillen, second lieutenant, Aug. 28, 1861 ; appointed sergeant 
from corporal Sept. I, 1862; promoted to second lieutenant April 20, 1863.; 
died Oct. 2, 1864, at Chattanooga, Tenn., of wounds received in action ; com- 
missioned first lieutenant and captain. 

Leonard Sindel, first sergeant, Sept. 4, 1861 ; appointed corporal May i, 
1862; sergeant, June i, 1862; first sergeant, May 23, 1863; died May 15, 1864, 
of wounds received , in action, near Resaca, Ga.; veteran. 



352 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

Martin H. Trowbridge, first sergeant, Aug. 25, 1861. 

John L. Douglas, first sergeant, Aug. 28, 1861 ; appointed sergeant from 
corporal Sept. 13, 1862; first sergeant June, 10, 1865; mustered out with com- 
pany July 12, 1865 ; veteran. 

William Stair, sergeant, Aug. 21, 1861 ; discharged June 12, 1862, at Cor- 
inth, Miss., on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Uriah W. Ladow, sergeant, Sept. 4, 1861 ; discharged Sept. 13, 1862, at 
Nashville, Tenn., on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

George W. Dinins, sergeant, Aug. 28, 1861 ; appointed from corporal JNIarch 

I, 1863 ; mustered out with company July 12, 1865 ; veteran. 

Robert J. Babcock, sergeant, Sept. 4, 1861 ; appointed corporal Dec. ii, 
1861; captured Aug. 7, 1862, in action near Decatur, Ala.; paroled; appointed 
•sergeant Dec. 11, 1861 ; captured Aug. 7, 1862, in action near Decatur, Ala.; 
paroled; appointed sergeant Dec. 11, 1863; mustered out with company July 
12, 1865 ; veteran 

John Kain, sergeant, Sept. 4, 1861 ; appointed corporal July 18, 1862; ser- 
geant -; mustered out with company July 12, 1865 ; veteran. 

Jonathan Enfield, sergeant, Sept. 4, i86r ; appointed corporal July 18, 
1862; captured Aug. 7, 1862, in action near Decatur, Ala.; paroled; ap- 
pointed sergeant June 10, 1865 ; mustered out with company July 12, 1865 ; 
veteran. 

Nicholas J. Baker, corporal, Aug. 28, i86r ; died March 25, 1862, at Stan- 
ford, Ky. 

Russell B. McCoy, corporal, Aug. 28, 1861; killed Nov. 25, 1863, in battle 
of ^lission Ridge, Tenn. 

John M. Hall, corporal, Sept. 4, 1861 ; appointed corporal; mustered out 
Sept. 13, 1864. on expiration of term of service. 

Charles Herrington, corporal, Aug. 25, 1 861 ; appointed corporal July 18, 

1862 ; mustered out with company Juh' 12, 1865 ; veteran. 

Charles Wilbur, corporal, Aug. 27, 1861; appointed corporal May 23, 1863; 
mustered out with company July 12, 1865 ; veteran. 

Thomas G. Adamson, corporal, Aug. 28, 1861 ; appointed corporal Dec. 

II, 1863; mustered out with company July 12, 1865; veteran. 

William S. Warner, corporal, Aug. 27, 1861 ; appointed corporal Dec. 11, 

1863 ; mustered out with company July 12, 1865 ; veteran. 

Thomas H. Wilcox, corporal, Sept. 4, 1861 ; appointed corporal Dec. 11, 
1863 ; mustered out with company July 12, 1865 ; veteran. 

Ezra Schlappi, corporal, Aug. 28, 1861 ; appointed corporal June i, 1865; 
mustered out with company July 12, 1865 ; veteran. 

Louis G. Aton, corporal, Aug. 28, 1861; appointed corporal June lO, 1865; 
mustered out with company July 12, 1S65 ; veteran. 

Harlan P. Hall, corporal, Aug. 8, 1862; transferred from One Hundred and 



Fulton County. 353 



Fifth O. V. I., June i, 1865; appointed corporal ; imistcred out with 

company July 12, 1865. 

Albert H. Herrick, musician, Aug. 28, 1861 ; discharged Nov. 20, 1862, at 
Columbus, O., on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Privates. 

Aton, Da\id, Sept. 4, 1861 ; mustered out with compan}- July 12, 1865 ; 
veteran. 

Aton, Levi D., Aug. 28, 1861 ; mustered out with company JuK- 12, 1865; 
veteran. 

Abbott, PVederick, Oct. 20, 1862; killed Sept. i, 1864, in battle ofjones- 
boro, Ga. 

Allen, Daniel O., Aug. 21, 1861 ; died Dec. 6, 1861, at Crab Orchard, Ky. 

Adams, Merritt. Aug. 25, 1861 ; died Jan. 27, 1862, at Somerset, K\'. 

Adams, John, Aug. 25, 1861 ; discharged June 17, 1862, at Columbus, O., 
on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Ayers, Jeremiah, Aug. 25, 1861 ; discharged Sept. 16, 1862, at Columbus, 
O., on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Kerkey, Horatio, Aug. 21, 1861 ; mustered out with company Jul\' 12, 
1865 ; veteran. 

Bryant, George E., Aug. 28, 1861 ; mustered out with company July 12, 
1865 ; veteran. 

Back, Ferdinand K., Dec. 28, 1863; transferred from One Hundred and 
Fifth O. V. I., June i, 1865 ; mustered out with company July 12, 1865. 

Batchman, John, Aug. 21, 1861 ; discharged March 18, 1862, at Clifton, 
Tenn., by order of war department. 

Bunda, William R., Feb. 16, 1864; discharged May 26, 1865. at Willett's 
Point, N. Y., on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Canfield, Pomeroy, Sept. 4, 1861 ; mustered out with company July 12, 
1865 ; veteran. 

Catterel, Eugene F., Jan. 29, 1864; mustered out with compain- July 12, 
1865. 

Catterel, Henry, Jan. 7, 1864; mustered out with compan\' July 12, 1865. 

Cornell, John W., Feb. 15, 1864; mustered out with company July 12, 
1865. 

Cole, John, Sept. 4, 1861 ; died July 27, 1862, at Ai, O. 

Cotilanti, Joseph, Aug. 25, 1861. 

Dowty, Hiram, Aug. 21, 1861 ; discharged May 18, 1862, at Clifton, Tenn., 
by order of war department. 

Daily, John, Aug. 25, 1861 ; discharged May 18, 1862, near Corinth, 
Miss., on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Dinins, William H. H., Aug. 28, 1861 ; mustered out with company July 
12, 1865 ; veteran. ^^ 



354 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

Dinins, Franklin, Aug. 21, 1861 ; mustered out with company July 12, 
1865 ; veteran. 

Daily, William, Aug. 25, 1861 ; mustered out with company July 12, 
1865 ; veteran. 

Dickson, Ezra, Sept. 4, 1861 ; mustered out with company July 12, 1865; 
veteran. 

Dayton, Travis F., Oct. 10, 1861 ; transferred from Company E, Jan. i, 
1864; mustered out with company July 12, 1865 ; veteran. 

Doty, Abraham H., Dec. i, 1863 ; mustered out with company July 12, 
1865. 

Daily, Hamilton, Sept. 30, 1862 ; mustered out with company July 12, 
1865. 

Douglass, Leroy, Nov. i, 1863 ; died May 13, 1864, at Chattanooga, Tenn., 

Dull, Jeremiah, Sept. 21, 1864; drafted; died Jan. 30, 1865, at Savannah, 
Ga. 

Ellsworth, Thomas, Sept. 4, 1861 ; died Nov. 25, 1862, at Delta, O. 

Elliott, James A., Sept. 4, 1861 ; discharged Feb. 24, 1864, at Columbus, 
O., by order of war department. 

Fashbaugh, John Q., Aug. 28, 1861 ; wounded Nov. 25, 1863, in battle of 
Mission Ridge, Tenn.; mustered out Sept. 13, 1864, on expiration of term of 
service. 

Fauble, Samuel, Aug. 28, 1861 ; mustered out Sept. 13, 1864, on expira- 
tion of term of service. 

Fashbaugh, Lewis, Aug. 28, 1861 ; died June 24, 1864, near Big Shanty, 
Ga , of wounds received in action. 

Francis, Lewis M., Oct. 8, 1864; substitute; mustered out with company 
July 12, 1865. 

Franks, William A., Aug. 28, 1861 ; transferred to Company E, Dec. ii, 
1863 ; veteran. 

Geitgey, Samuel, Aug. 28, 1861 ; mustered out Sept. 13, 1864, on expira- 
tion of term of service. 

Geer, David, Aug. 28, 1861 ; discharged June 30, 1862, at Columbus, O., 
on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Groff, Philip T., Oct. 7, 1862; drafted; mustered out Aug. 4, 1863, on 
expiration of term of service. 

Gay, Orrin P., drafted; mustered out Aug. 12, 1863, on expiration of term 
of service. 

Griffin, Carver S., Feb. 2, 1864; mustered out with company July 12, 
1865. 

German, Alfred, Jan. 13, 1864; mustered out with company July 12, 1865. 

Hilborn, Stephen P., Sept. 10, 1861 ; mustered out Sept. 13, 1864, on ex- 
piration of term of service. 



Fulton County. 355 



Hunt, Charles J., Aug. 28, 1861 ; absent, in hospital at Atlanta, Ga., mus- 
tered out to date Sept. 13, 1864, by order of war department. 

Howden, Thomas, Aug. 25, 1861 ; died r\'b. 6, 1862, at Somerset, Ky. 

Hoodless, George, Aug. 25, 1861 ; died April 12, 1863, at Murfreesboro, 
Tenn. 

Hall, Alfred M.. Sept. 4, 1861 ; discharged, 1863, on surgeon's certificate 
of disability. 

Hubbard, Chancy M., Aug. 25, 1861 ; discharged Aug. 18, 1862, on sur- 
geon's certificate of disability. 

Hunter, Johji W., Oct. 7, 1862; drafted; mustered out Aug. 12, 1863, 
on expiration of term of service. 

Herrick, Henry C, Aug. 28, 1861 ; prom, to drum major Sept. 10, 1861. 

Hedger, James R., Oct. 4, 1864, substitute; mustered out with company 
July 12, 1865. 

Herrick, Henry C, Oct. 5, 1863; mustered out with company July 12, 
1865. 

Hogle, Joel B., Aug. 10, 1861 ; mustered out June 23, 1865, at Camp 
Chase, O , by order of the war department ; veteran. 

Jackson, William H., Aug. 21, 1861 ; reduced from sergeant June i, 1862; 
discharged Aug. 28, 1862, at Columbus, O., on surgeon's certificate of disa- 
bility. 

Justice, Henry C, Oct. 8, 1864; substitute; mustered out with company 
July 12, 1865. 

Jones, Isaac N., Sept. 23, 1864; drafted; mustered out June 10, 1865, 
near Washington, D. C. by order of war department. 

Kershner, George W., Sept. 4, 1861 ; discharged May 18, 1862, at Corinth, 
Miss., on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Kennedy, John W., Sept. 4, 1861; discharged Aug. 16, 1862, at Colum- 
bus, O., on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

King, William G., Sept. 4, 1861 ; discharged Jan, 3, 1863, at Cincinnati, 
O., on surgeon's certificate of disability. 

Kershner, Jonathan, Sept. 4,ii86i ; mustered out with company July 12, 
1865 ; veteran. 

Kirkman, Robert, Jan. 27, 1864; mustered out with company July 12, 
1865. 

Kinniman, Harrison, Oct. 7, 1864; substitute; mustered out with com- 
pany July 12, 1865. 

Kennedy, William, Oct. 4, 1864; substitute; mustered out with comjiany 
July 12, 1865. 

Kessler, Peter, Sept. 23, 1864; drafted; mustered out June 10, 1865, near 
Washington, D. C, by order of war department. 

Kyper, Cyrus M., Aug 10, 1861 ; captured and paroled March 31, 1863; 
transferred to Veteran Reserve Corps Dec. 12, 1863. 



356 History of Henry and Fulton Counties. 

Lumbert, Nelson, Sept. 4, 1861 ; died Jan. 27, 1862, at Somerset, Ky. 

Lindsey, John O., Oct. 7, 1862; drafted ; died Aug. 6, 1863, at Winches- 
ter, Tenn. 

Lumbert, David, Sept. 4, 1861 ; discharged May 31, 1862